Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lee College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/03/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the classes you take and how many you take per semester tuition can seem expensive, but if you compared a full-time schedule at this community college to a four-year university, you realize what a great deal you are getting. A full schedule of five or six classes will cost you about $1,600, not including books or supplies. Professors are completely aware of how expensive textbooks can be and often encourage students to find their textbook much cheaper on Amazon, or do some searching for an earlier edition's pdf file free online. Sometimes, you won't even need the textbook at all, so always wait for the professor to tell you whether you need it or not. That will save you hundreds! FAFSA and applying for scholarships are a must, even if your family is well off or you have no issues paying tuition. You never know what kind of money is out there, floating around for you to claim as your own! Lee College is definitely worth the money I shell out semester after semester.

    Food and Dining

    The Rebel Roost is Lee College's cafeteria. They serve breakfast food and lunch items such as burgers, soup, sandwiches, and chicken wraps, as well as healthier items like salad and fruit bowls. None of the food is too expensive, their snacks and chips are plentiful, and they always have a variety of sports drinks, soda, vitamin water, and juices on hand.

    Dorm Life

    Since Lee College is a community college it doesn't offer housing on campus, but because of the proximity to Baytown and Mt. Belvieu, the journey to school is fairly easy and not very time consuming. You won't have to leave the house two hours early just to make sure you get to class on time, nor will you have to pay a few thousand dollars for a dorm room and all the commodities it would offer.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several classes offered at Lee College to help you get on your feet if you struggle with something. Supplemental courses really helped me when it came to math, and it was nice that those pre-math courses didn't count towards my GPA until I felt ready to take a College Level Algebra class. Supplemental English courses are offered as well, for those who struggle with the fundamentals of writing. However, not all classes are easy-going. Many others require the very best of your ability, and more. They challenge you and help you to grow, giving you a better understanding of the world around you and of yourself.

    In three sentences

    Lee College has been one of the best decisions I've ever made for myself so far because of the range of classes, the dedication to students, and the strength of those who taught me. Even as I was starting out and taking my first few classes, I learned that the professors truly cared about their students and wanted them to get the most out of their education. At this institution, I've grown more as a student, as an adult, and as a human being than I would if I had chosen somewhere else.

  • 08/17/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    does lee college offer adn programs?

    Tips for prospective students

    Does Lee college offer adn programs to become an rn?

  • 05/20/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there's no dorms

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a quick degree to help you get working in a year or two, or for students looking to transfer to a four year university, but want to save some money during the first two years of their education.

    What to do for fun

    I either go to the library to study, or play a little tennis if I'm done with all my studies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, just a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Lee College. It is just a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful and allow you to ask any questions you may have and try their best to work with you when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply and register for classes as early as you can. Don't put it off. The classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Lee College has been a great experience so far. The counselors and advisers are there to make sure you have all of your questions answered. The application and registration process has been a breeze.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security department is wonderful and very helpful for students and on informing them about emergencies on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of organizations and clubs on campus that help you interact with others in addition to helping your communication skills.

    What to do for fun

    Student Center, good way to relax and kill time in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive but some of it is worth it.

    Dorm Life

    You must live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great you just have to put in the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely and know where your classes are located.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful community college that seeks to help students move onto a four year university for their degree.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Decent. You can live off of a nice meal here.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is not an option for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Study. Study. Study. Every opportunity you get to study, take it. Focus on things that instructors endorse!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it easy. One step at a time. If procrastination is a gift for you, reject it!!! Get your FASFA done. Always talk to students and advisors on campus about any doubts or questions you may have. Stress and frustration will be part of an emotional challenge, but it's not forever.

    In three sentences

    The environment at Lee College is inspirational and it welcomes those who want to have an education worth fighting for and those who want to have some time to think about their goals. In accommodation to all kinds of schedules, this school gives students an opportunity to set a foundation for life term achievements. Amongst all, counselors are considerate and advisors are available during convenient times.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not the best part of town. 24 hour security.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student government is in the works. But I can speak high about the debate and music clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in need of a flexible schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    Good Price. Opportunity for grants and scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There is a campus actives board.

    Food and Dining

    There is a rebel roost the over is mediocre and over priced. If I'm hungry I'll bring my lunch.

    Dorm Life

    What Dorm? This is Junior College!

    Academic Rigor

    You have to apply yourself,this is not high school. Professors will not chase you down. But are you are treated like an adult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with your adviser.

    In three sentences

    The counseling program is okay,but you really have to stay on top of your degree plan. Thankfully my adviser was better at that than them. The music department is vastly underated.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't really eat on campus due to the fact that I live in the Baytown so I just go home after or before my classes start; however my friends have told me that the food is exquisite.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm because I live in Baytown and none of my friends do either so I can't really say anything about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the classes are very rigorous, the reward of earning an A on my assignments makes it that much more enjoyable.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rec room has some fun stuff to hang out and do

    Food and Dining

    The dinning facility was mainly fast food items but was pretty good the couple of times I ate there.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I took just the basics. Teachers were willing to help and answer questions. Tutoring is available - even for Dual Credit students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take all your testing - as with all colleges

    In three sentences

    Great college for Dual Credit Courses. Financial Aid office is helpful. Admissions office is also very helpful.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, I always feel like home when I am there.

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't really offer much for clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Lee is great for students who need hands on activities, that need to ask questions commonly, like me for example.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe going to a community college you get a lot more bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    They always have exciting workshops going during the day, and fun athletic activities.

    Food and Dining

    The snack lounge has delicious food! I love eating there for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Lee College doesn't have Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Lee College has a lot of Academic Rigor from their staff. They always make you excited about starting school, and keep everything fresh and new feeling!

    Tips for prospective students

    If I had the chance to talk to all new coming students, I would let them know, they needed to be prepared for what they are signing up for, and make sure they're are completely dedicated before they waste their time, and their teachers time.

    In three sentences

    I believe Lee College is a great school! It does not seem to have the most technology, or best academic instruments but, it's a great school with amazing teachers. I would recommend Lee College to anyone!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This school is a lot cheaper than four year colleges but it isn't the college experience most people talk about. That's fine though because you can still transfer from this school to another. The campus is still really great.

    What to do for fun

    In the student center there are pool tables, air hockey, ping pong, and nice hang out areas.

    Food and Dining

    I never really tried the food there...yet. I've heard good things though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take advantage of the fact that it's a community college, it is still very difficult and challenging like a four year college.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very well together. The instructors are all very motivating. It's not easy for a community college.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. They have drinks and sandwiches. They also have a nice dining place.

    Dorm Life

    Its a community college so there really is not dorm life.

    In three sentences

    Lee College is a great place to start. They have great programs and teachers who want you to achieve your goals. Also always places and people who can answer your questions.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security 24/7 at Lee College. There are also Emergency Stations all over campus and they blink bright blue when it gets dark, making them easier to find.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lee College upholds a reputation for having a wide range of sports clubs to Anime clubs. We try to reach each individual by enticing them through their hobbies and knick-knacks!

    Great for these types of students

    There's daily basketball games and volleyball games that support food drives. To get in, you can bring 5 canned goods for a free ticket!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lee College has an annual mascot tryout! Students would audition, bring food, and have a great time! We also began creating historical landmarks around the local community, providing children with adequate knowledge of Baytown's history.

    Bang for the buck

    Lee College's Rebel Roost and Bookstore have selected products that students need such as a healthy meal or pens/pencils for prices of half the local stores in town! Tuition is affordable and comfortable!

    What to do for fun

    Lee College Student Activities board do their very best to make sure each month holds a unique marathon of events that give back to the community as well as the students including self-designed license plates, food drives, blood drives, recycling races, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Lee College contains a Rebel Roost, which is its main cafeteria, and is the central complex for all food joints such as Subway, Jack-In-The-Box, McDonalds, and Caesars Pizza. Also, there are scattered grocery stores that provide nutritional substance to your every day meals, however, the Rebel Roost has a salad bar as well as a daily ever-changing meal menu!

    Dorm Life

    Lee College is such a small campus, we don't have dorms. However, the students we do have that are out of the nation says that the surrounding apartments are five stars!

    Academic Rigor

    Lee College has one of the most challenging and intense nursing program in the nation. Students cry during them! Lee College has an outstanding sports' program for those who want to compete with other community colleges (we've taken home first from Universities such as Houston University and Rice University!)

    Tips for prospective students

    There are no lockers on Lee College campus, or any campus for that matter. Be sure to plan what books you will be taking to class so you don't rip a whole in that nice, new expensive backpack of yours. Other than having a lack of lockers, Lee College is profound in professors, students, advisors, and community service.

    In three sentences

    Lee College's Honors Program is one of the top programs in the nation. Lee College continues to make academic history. Lee College is diverse, helpful, and will provide a stable foundation for the rest of my life.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one police vehicle that drives around the campus. There are also a couple of cops, 2, that walk around.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to stay close to home (ofcourse for those that live close by). The tuition is affordable versus a university, so for students who are tight on money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Benches outside are placed under tress so there are a lot of insects crawling around. However, once you get passed that, it is very nice to sit outside socialize or do homework.

    Bang for the buck

    The french fries basket is only a dollar, and it can be a good snack to feed two. I would advise not to get bottled coked, instead buy a cup in the cafeteria and have unlimited soda and ice. Let us not forget about the price of tuition. Classes do transfer to Universities so it is much more affordable to take basics here at this community college and transfer.

    What to do for fun

    Lee College contains a Student Center. The student center has a game center that contains pool table, ping-pong table, and a fooze table. However, I believe the game center does not have the sufficient amount of tables to allow various groups of students to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is suitable to satisfy, not to mention the prices are reasonable. The cafateria setting allows many students to grab lunch and have room to sit and study.

    Dorm Life

    Lee College is a community college therefore, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Lee College are not difficult because the classes contain around 25 students or less. Therefore, a student will have more time to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should not procrastinate when it comes to studying material or doing home work. Students should also attend class to make sure they do not miss important information.

    In three sentences

    Lee College provides abundant amount of courses to complete a viarity of certificates or degrees. Professors are interested in enlightening their students of the class they select to take. The community college is affordable for people that cannot afford to go to Universities.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have enjoyed my two years here and have gained the knowledge and skills to further my education at a four year university. Lee College has definitely prepared me for my future.

    What to do for fun

    The college has well known basketball team that the school proudly supports. Students can mingle and socialize at sporting events while cheering on their fellow Rebels!

    Food and Dining

    I can't say I have ever eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot say I live close to campus so there was no need.

    Academic Rigor

    With the option of taking classes on campus, online, and individualized study students are able to obtain all levels of difficulty and challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of summer time classes. No one wants to go to school during the summer but the classes are small and you will get the most out of your class because of that.

    In three sentences

    They have really great staff who care about the students and are willing to help. Financial Aid department is on top of their duties and although their job is stressful they are always cheerful. Access on campus computers and online curriculum is user friendly with minimal technical issues.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very good at Lee College, Secruity are always watching everything around the campus. Really helps the students feel safe and protected.

    Greek Life

    Their is no Greek life as far as Alpha Kappa Alpha, but their is Mu Alpha Theta, and The Business Club at Lee College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rotary club- Community Service Program, this will look excellent on your transcripts and job resumes. Also, their are many, many more clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    I really feel that Lee College could be good for all students looking to either take basics and then transfer to another school, or students whom wish to get their associates degree at a small but efficient school. Very good for students who may want that individual help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their are no unusual traditions for Lee College, well not that I know of at least.

    Bang for the buck

    Lee College also offers different things where you can enjoy for free. By becoming a Lee College Student you get an advantage over many people. Concerts, drama department, dance competitions, and many more, are available for Lee College students for free, or maybe a minimum fee.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many things to do for fun at Lee College. Student Center which has pool, ping pong etc. and we have the gym where you could run and play basketball, and we also have the pool located on campus

    Food and Dining

    Their are many food options their is our school caferteria, and we also have Books and Beans located on campus both very good sources to get something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms for Lee College students but their are dorms for the College Athletics.

    Academic Rigor

    About a 7.0

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask Counselors and other staff questions about scholarships, and ask them about the different helpful organizations that we have located on campus.

    In three sentences

    Lee College is a great school to attend especially if you want to get your basics out the way, to prepare you for a 4 year college. Lee College is a great school to attend, and the administration are really helpful to all students. I live not too far from Lee College and while being in College it has truly changed my life.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Become a student at your local community college in order to receive a discount and have more money left from your Financial Aid.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    4.5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Always start by filling out the financial aid application on FAFSA.GOV and decide on a school. Once you are approved, everything else will fall in to place with your determination.

    In three sentences

    Lee College provides simple step by step easy procedure to facilitate enrollment. They are well informed and offer many opportunities.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honors

    What to do for fun

    To many to mention. Always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task!

    In three sentences

    Top notch honors program, ranked in the top 10 and Lee is a only 2 year College. Southern hospitality at it's finest!

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus security office is manned by competent and easily visible and identifiable people. while providing good and adequate security, they are also very friendly and easy to approach.

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    lee college is great in my mind for two particular types of students. firstly it is great for those just entering college for the first time, mainly due to smaller class sizes, more personalized attention, and a simple and easily learned campus. it is equally excellent for those adults who wish to return to school to gain a diploma, for some of the same reasons listed above, but also because of its low cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown.

    Bang for the buck

    for the price, i think one would be hard-pressed to find a less expensive college. one can take 12 hours of college credit per semester and spend less than $2000.00 per semester (tuition and books). the question that settled the matter in my mind was, why spend a lot more money at a larger, more prestigious school, for the exact same classes?

    What to do for fun

    for a small two-year college, lee college offers a surprisingly variety of activities that would appeal to many people. there are activities and programs on an almost weekly basis. some of these are sporting events and others are more widely inclusive of the student body.

    Food and Dining

    lee college itself, does not provide much in the way of variety. it has a local snack bar which provides average food (that i happen to enjoy) in a relaxed atmosphere. if this does not measure up to individual standards, baytown offers many other options for the more finely tuned taste buds.

    Academic Rigor

    lee college provides you with a fairly precise level of structure to make the transition from high school to college. as with all schools of higher learning, there will be some variation from instructor to instructor. on the whole, i believe you will find your overall experience to be exactly what you need to succeed at the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    as with all programs of higher learning, each student needs to learn to become studious. our public schools are not always adept in instilling this in outbound students. lee college is a great place for you to learn and develop those skills if you have the drive to put some effort into your future.

    In three sentences

    lee college is an excellent two-year college especially for those wishing to pursue a bachelors degree or beyond. i believe this college to be very adequate in preparing students for the next level of education. while not having the depth of a four-year university, lee college provides a great foundation.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i've seen better.

    Dorm Life

    there is none.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are community-grade. nothing exceptional.

    Tips for prospective students

    i've heard this school is better than san jac, and i've also heard that it's worse. i guess that depends of which san jac campus you've been on, but this school is a good choice if it's your only choice.

    In three sentences

    not too bad of a community college. as a dual student i didn't experience the campus much, but when i did it was usually well groomed and the layout is easy to figure out. teachers are community-grade, you get what you pay for.

  • 01/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE Lee College. The school is not enoumouse and extreamly easy to find your way around. Even better, the staff is amazing. My first semester i took Biology, and my professor was so great. She took time out of her out side of school life to help me get the grade i was shooting for. Every professor I know at Lee is that way. They are always willing to give you answers to the best of their ability, help you get the grade you disire and offer everything they have. The campus is clean and well maintained. No matter what time of the year it is there are flowers, bushes and green grass. The campus makes you feel at home. If anyone plans to attend Lee I would highly recomend it.

  • 11/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're interested in ASL, they have one of the best programs and professors on this side of Texas. If you're interested in a smaller school with friendly professors and a helpful staff, Lee College is great for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to the professors here. One professor talked with me for a good 30 minutes on what I should do in and around Lee and I'm not even a student yet. Everybody's really helpful so just go talk to someone if you're interested.

    Will learn a lot

    I've taken one class here, and I learned more than I did in four years of high school.