Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lewis University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/02/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lewis campus Safety is the best their is. You feel safer there then at home. They have real police walking around campus all day. Never seen or heard anything frightening happen.

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis is worth what I've spent. lewis offers a lot of help as well.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I walk around the campus and enjoy the view. I like to get involved in school activities. I have made a lot of friends. The Zumba is one of the things I love from Lewis. You relieve stress and workout.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school everyday but when I do I enjoy my meal. Its not the usual cafeteria food that no one likes. It has a good flavor and the price is moderate.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter but the friends that do live there say they love it. Sometimes I want to stay on campus one semester to have an opportunity to experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Its difficult the instructors expect you to think for yourself and they prepare you for the future

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in your school. Enjoy every minute of the journey. Study with friends and have fun while you learn. Make it a life style. It will be worth it just as eating clean and exercising.

    In three sentences

    This University focuses on quality over quantity. The teachers are great and care for their students. The campus is huge and beautiful.

  • 06/15/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lewis have a lot of events that are posted around the school that any student can attend for fun. Also, Lewis have games and pool tables in their cafeteria's. The school have different groups you can join for fun such as the Lewis Gospel Choir.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria's in Lewis is really well made because it focuses on dining while eating. The food is good and affordable. Also, they have pool tables and games in the cafeteria's. The best thing about Lewis cafeteria is that they have a variety of choices of food to buy and eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is fun and you can meet a lot of different ethnic people. Also, living the dorm life will help you participate in a lot of events that happen at Lewis.

    Academic Rigor

    Lewis has a lot of Academic classes for your major and the teachers are willing to help as much as possible for you to graduate. Lewis also has specific buildings for certain majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It will be cheaper to commute from Lewis University because you can either use your vehicle or use the pace bus that stops right in front of Lewis University. Also, their is a lot of walking from different buildings so I suggest a parking permit from Lewis.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to attend because it is a private school and it is convenient for me. Also,the school has a lot of one on one help with teachers and students. Graduating from Lewis can help with job opportunities.

  • 07/21/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining room is decent in size and it is very social place.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm size I stayed in wasn't as big, but it was livable. There is a temperature control so that you are able to set the temperature how you would like.

    In three sentences

    The Lewis Campus is amazing. There is plenty of room to walk around and the buildings aren't far from each other. I picked my classes during SOAR, and they all care about your intended major and try to set up your schedule how you would like it.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play sports, join clubs, and work on campus.

    Food and Dining

    it is ok if you like a variety of different foods.

    Dorm Life

    Has plenty of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but not too tough to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you want to better your education.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is very friendly. There are lots of academic resources. Lewis has good sport teams.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's all kind of clubs and activities available. There's clubs for all majors. There's clubs for all kinds of sports. They have intramurals all year long and have championships where people can win things.

    What to do for fun

    The den is a great place to hang out with your friends,eat, and play games. Sport events on campus. Recreation center.

    Food and Dining

    No matter where you eat on campus, the food is amazing. Everything is cooked well and it tastes wonderful. It's 1000 times better than the food you eat at your high school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, but I heard that the double rooms are kind of small and it's a great way to meet new people

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are rigorous and they involve a lot of reading a textbook and studying to do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop relationships with the right people. They will make great references for future jobs! Get involved around campus. There are plenty opportunities to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a great university. A lot of professors will go out of their way to help a student out, whether it's helping you find your way around campus or guiding you to someone who will answer the questions you may have. The campus is beautiful especially during the summer.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXTREMELY SAFE. Own police force

    Greek Life

    Non-hazing fraternities and sororities. While they are secretive as tradition, the requirements and pledging process is extremely watered down.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over a hundred clubs and organizations to choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Dozens of clubs and events as well as intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is decent. Many people often complain about it, but to me it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    While being a resident costs a bit more money to attend school, it is usually worth it in teh end with so many amazing people around campus to interact with.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, classes can be easy or difficult depending on the individual. The teachers are all great and have a phenomenal amount of experience. The small class settings make it easy to talk to teachers for assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get involved on campus as much as possible and meet new people. That is what college is for! The more you join, the more you find your true calling.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University is a great private college with many academic opportunities. The people and teachers are great and it has a great atmosphere of enthusiasm. I definitely picked the right college!!!

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being really close to a prison and on the outskirts of both Romeoville, Joliet, Plainfiled, and Lemont nothing really happens at all. it is very quiet out here in nowhere.

    Greek Life

    is here but is not as big as other colleges because we are a small catholic university.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and new ones every year. not a lot of activities or at least being put out there.

    Great for these types of students

    Biology, Nursing, Aviation, Education and sports

    Bang for the buck

    no. the atmosphere doesn't give that feeling of amazement, that i am getting what i paid for and that i don't want to leave.

    What to do for fun

    Making friends and then making your own fun is the best way. Networking with people or join a club. if you cant join a club, make a club.

    Food and Dining

    3 dining locations and only one really changes on a daily basis, meanwhile the others would add extra food for a certain time or because of the season.

    Dorm Life

    some of the dorms are showing age and can not be fully cleaned for that matter. the dorms are also far from classes and food places.

    Academic Rigor

    General education classes tend to be more rigorous than classes pertaining to your career path.

    Tips for prospective students

    the workshops help bust your grades and gpa.

    In three sentences

    Has great career paths to follow or at least learn about. There isn't much to do at all on or off campus. Rules are strict for freshmen, but gradually get lighter as you continue through school.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have a night class, and I'm never worried about walking back to my dorm due to campus security. However, in the event I were feeling uneasy one night - we have these phone booth like machines and you just push the button and someone (security/campus police) will escort you to your destination! Super safe campus environment! (: Gates close after hours, and anyone wishing to get back to campus must show their ID on the way in.

    Greek Life

    Our Greeks are very involved with the community, and going out of their way to recruit new members. No hazing process. Since freshman have to wait a semester to apply, Greeks are usually open to hanging out with us in order to get to know each other and see if the sorority or fraternity life is for us.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to join on campus, and if for some reason you're unable to find one for you - you have the option to create your own! (: All you need is a total of five other people I believe - as well as a supervisor. And of course an appropriate club category.

    Great for these types of students

    Lewis University is great for students who are ready to start a new life, but aren't exactly sure how. It's big enough for you to be your own person, yet small enough to where you're able to have a genuine support system. Also any aviation, nursing, or psychology majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have what students call the c-store, it's basically a mini seven-eleven. It's open 24/7, very beneficial for both late night snacks or when you need to get to a computer (homework/print).

    Bang for the buck

    I think it's awesome we don't have to pay for laundry or to use gym/ recreational center! We also have a nature trail, I think it's about a mile and some change. (I haven't had the chance to check it out yet).

    What to do for fun

    As I said before, there's always something to do. In order to guarantee this, I suggest joining any and everything you can as long as it's something that truly interests you. Make sure to put yourself out there, make friends. Remember, it's quite a friendly campus!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food has it's good days and it's bad days. There's not really much of variety. Two of the three options sell the same meals everyday and the one place that switches it up for lunch and dinner (same breakfast items everyday) is either hit or miss. On the plus side, every so often that same place has crave events where they choose a theme: Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Seafood and serve meals based on that theme - it's pretty cool ... and yummy.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not much of an expert on dorm life, considering I'm not staying in a freshman dorm - however, I love my suitemates as if we've known each other for years (and yes, they are also freshman). I also have a great bond with my RA, she's been so helpful through the course of my first semester. It's also fun getting to know a lot of the upper classmen that stay above and beside my section.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, most of my teachers are pretty easy. They're also not that different from high school teachers. They still get on your back about assignment - and I don't know, maybe it's because I'm a freshman - but at the same time, if you don't turn an assignment in that'll just be the end of that conversation. (For some teachers, I have friends who've said otherwise). Also, the teachers are generous with their free time, in case anyone needs help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Due to the fact it's a diverse campus, just always remember to keep an open mind. Don't judge a book by it's cover. Everyone is worth getting to know!

    In three sentences

    Although a small campus, Lewis University is very beautiful and quiet school. The student and faculty body is very friendly and diverse, which is one of my favorite aspects. There's always something happening on campus, rarely ever dull moments.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    EXCELLENT. FIVE STARS! We have our own police unit on campus. I feel extremely safe here 100% of the time.

    Greek Life

    So many sororities and fraternities. Not really my thing, but I am friends with a lot of sorority girls and they are very close.

    Clubs and Activities

    WAY too many to list. Honestly.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get ahead and want to exceed in the classroom! We have a wonderful aviation program and we have the top nursing program in the state. Excellent school for business majors, psychology majors, education majors. and even sports management majors. There are so many different majors to choose from and the faculty is great in all majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Although we don't have a football team, we do have homecoming week and even a homecoming dance! Like I said, Lewis is all about the studies but that doesn't mean we don't have fun! :)

    Bang for the buck

    YES. As expensive as Lewis may be, they offer so much financial aid and you know what? I love it here so much that it is SO worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Too much to list. Seriously. There are several activities that you can't just choose one. Exercise, swim, hang out in friends' rooms, play outside, have bonfires, play sand volleyball, play intramural sports, join clubs, go out to dinner with friends, dances, etc. There's always SOMETHING to do here.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. A bit pricey, but it's worth it. I enjoy the coffee a lot!

    Dorm Life

    Awesome dorm life. I've met the most wonderful friends here by living on campus. I definitely recommend it. Again, it is not a party school, so a lot of people don't like that but if you are focused on what's important, which is school, then you will absolutely love the dorm life here. It's very nice, comfy, and the rooms are pretty big. There are always renovations happening on campus and in dorms so you'll always enjoy new stuff!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing. The class sizes are small (student to faculty ratio is 14:1) which ROCKS because you get to participate in class and get the most out of your experience! You get to build relationships with your professors which is very important. At Lewis, you are not just a number, you are important! Professors get to know you as a person and care about your well being and want you to get the most you can from their classes. The main focus is LEARNING the material - not memorizing it for tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Seriously. You must get a feel of this beautiful campus for yourself. I knew it was my school the moment I stepped foot on campus. Speak with your admissions counselor. They are so helpful and kind and they will make sure you have all the information you need. Think about joining activities and/or clubs. Lewis offers hundreds of activities so that you'll never get bored! It's a great experience so make the MOST out of it!

    In three sentences

    Lewis University is an excellent school. I feel welcome, safe, wanted, appreciated, and loved here. I belong to this school because it is not only a wonderful educational experience, but it is also home to me.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun, but they do provide many activities. Especially if you're very athletic, their gym facilities are free to students and there's always a different type of workout set for different days.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and there is a cafeteria ini about three buildings of which I've visited thus far.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but from some of the students that do room there, I've heard nothing but positive things.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as the Nursing program is concerned, it is definitely rigorous. Don't expect things to come easy. There's definitely a lot of studying time that has to be put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think it would be a good idea to tour the campus. It is definitely a sight to see, and you might just fall in love with the campus and the environment.

    In three sentences

    Just started the Nursing program here at Lewis and so far I really love the environment. All the teachers are very helpful and approachable. I definitely love how the campus is set up and there's lots of opportunity to get resources and be able to study.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I will report after this semester.

    Greek Life

    I will report after this semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    I will report after this semester.

    Great for these types of students

    I will report after this semester.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I will report after this semester.

    Bang for the buck

    I will report after this semester.

    What to do for fun

    I will report after this semester.

    Food and Dining

    I will report after this semester.

    Dorm Life

    I will report after this semester.

    Academic Rigor

    I will report after this semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am unsure at this point in time but I will give my feedback at a later date.

    In three sentences

    I am a newly accepted incoming freshman and as for what I have experienced so far I would rate the University as average.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe but sometimes it takes awhile for campus security or police to respond. A gate goes down after hours and only students with ID's are allowed on campus. There are a few security boxes around campus but I don't think they are used too often. For some dorms though student's tend to let anyone in if they're waiting outside and that could be problematic.

    Greek Life

    There aren't house like other public schools but the fraternities and sororities get along quite well and support each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs offered and it's fairly easy to start a club or organization if there are enough people interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Lewis is known for aviation, Nursing and it's science majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some greeks paint rocks at night and most freshman hang out in upperclassman dorms such as Ryan or North Hall.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college Lewis offers plenty of scholarship opportunities. The academics are great so going here won't be a waste of money.

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports are offered year round. Most people go off campus to have fun since the mall, movie theater and restaurants are close by.

    Food and Dining

    Food can get expensive since buffet dining isn't available. There are three places to eat, Charlie's the main dining hall, Flyers den which is mostly fast food, and the Courtyard which would be our version of a panera place. Sodexo is over all our food places including Common Grounds, our convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    Founders is one of the major freshman dorms and at times it's chaotic. Student's are fun-loving but don't really take into account others study and sleep habits. Dorms stay fairly clean because of the staff but at times it can get messy in the bathrooms and halls.

    Academic Rigor

    Lewis is very academic based. That being said coming fresh out of high school I had to change my study habits. The teacher/ student ratio is decent where most teachers are available to help outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Weekends tend to be boring since everyone either goes home or out of town. During that time is the best opportunity to get work done since campus life is quiet.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a close knit community where it's fairly easy to make long lasting friendships. They are very academic based and are known for their science and aviation majors.

  • 03/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors are lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid, double check your credits will transfer if you are transfer student.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are awesome, but when it comes to Advisers and financial aid it is a nightmare.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful school campus, Teachers are helpful, variety of students on campus is nice. Parking in ample. Great School!

    What to do for fun

    D1 Men's volleyball is fun to watch. Basketball games are good. Zumba classes, plays. Play pool, hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is OK. Lots of choices

    Dorm Life

    My building is Sheil Hall, brand new remodel this year. I would recommend for that reason. RA's don't really monitor the hall ways, people always running up and down, some nights can be noisy after 10:30.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, Study, Study. If you study and know your stuff you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school, with a quiet campus, Lewis is for you. Work with your couselors to set up classes and the FA office.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Small class sizes. Food is ok.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone mentions the aviation and nursing departments, which are fabulous, but I'd like to add that the Lewis science programs are excellent and, luckily for me, the theatre and music programs are very good as well. :)

    Bang for the buck

    For a private school, the price is great for all the benefits (I'm biased - for me there are a lot of pros to attending). Particularly when you add in scholarships!

    Academic Rigor

    I've been told the first couple of years doing gen ed are a little breezy for gifted students, but the academic programs I've researched are thorough and involved, with students working with genuine experts in their chosen fields.

    In three sentences

    From what I know, Lewis University is one of the best bets college-wise in suburban Illinois. Their programs are credible and prepare students to launch a diverse range of careers. As an added bonus, the campus happens to be absolutely gorgeous.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The money you spend on your education is worth it for coming here. If you put in a 100% of the effort into the school work here, it will pay off in the long run no matter what your financial situation is after.

    What to do for fun

    Lewis has a Den called The Flyer's Den where you can eat and play games with friends. also all the types of different events that are hosted around campus are fun if you just go to them.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging like any other college, but it is doable as long you put the effort into all your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind. If you are thinking about attending Lewis, at least take a tour and i promise you will enjoy it. You have to see what it is about here in order to know what its like.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a very friendly enviroment. You get to make friends with people of different ethnic backgrounds. The Professor are very helpful and there is not one that wont do anything to try and help you succeed, they all want to help.

  • 02/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are free exercise classes everyday which are tons of fun especially with a group of friends. The student union also has a mini arcade with bowling, pool and other arcade games.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to dine and they all have different types of food. There is also the C-store which has a bunch of snacks and other necessities.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. The RA's try to get you to meet others on your floor it is a blast.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though you might be a commuter try to join and clubs or organizations which will help you meet others and enjoy your college experience. If you every need help on homework or writing papers there are tutors to help you for free.

    In three sentences

    Lewis has small classes which allows teachers to focus more on helping their students. The teachers are great and always have time for students. There is a variety of fun clubs and organizations to join in the small community of Lewis.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is only one entrance to campus, blue emergency lights everywhere, and campus safety constantly patrolling, so I always felt safe, even at night.

    Greek Life

    What greek life?

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, nursing, and those who want to be able to go home a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Since lewis gives a lot of financial aid, for the little you actually get, it's worth the little money you have to pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're an out of state student, look elsewhere. There is literally no life on campus on weekends and you'll be spending most of your time alone. If you're looking for eays A's, you're in the right place.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Education

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A fun activity at Lewis would be going to the sporting events, especially the Division 1 Men's Volleyball games! There are also many clubs, organizations, and events that go on throughout campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are three main places to eat on campus including Charlie's Buffet, the Courtyard Cafe, and the Flyer Den. The food is pretty good but also quite pricey. I recommend the Courtyard Cafe because of their sandwiches and soups!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Lewis is exciting and fun, plus there are air-conditioned dorms, and not to mention they include a fridge and microwave. There are several dorms on campus, including three freshmen-only dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect of Lewis University is extremely challenging. The nursing program is extremely difficult, but very worth it. It will push you to think critically and become the best student you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take a tour or an overnight visit of the campus. It is relatively small, but don't let that change your mind. College is what you make of it, and Lewis University has been a really enjoyable college experience.

    In three sentences

    I feel that choosing to attend Lewis University was the best decision I have made for my education in the nursing program. The teachers are devoted, the campus is friendly, and I feel I am getting the best education possible. The nursing program is challenging, but will prepare me for what I need to be a nurse.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lewis University has its own Police Department on campus! They are always walking around and helping out students!

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities on campus. They are very involved in the school. They host bbq's and other fun activities!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do on campus! There are intermural sports, and tons of different clubs! Anyone is welcome to join in the clubs and they are fun to get involved with!

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, Nursing, Pre-Law(paralegal), and chemistry or biology majors!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a little wooded trail that you can walk on campus. It takes about an hour to go all the way through it but it is very neat!

    Bang for the buck

    Almost all of the students here receive some form of financial aid or a scholarship from the college. The school is so involved with student life, and the classes are not blow off classes that will never matter in your future.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities to get involved with on campus. You could join an intramural team, or an academic club. I am in Mock Trial and Mediation. There is also a free recreation center that offers fun classes like yoga or ab lab!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. You can have virtually what ever you want on campus. You have have something like panera, subway, chinese, or a fancy burger place anytime, or you can go to the cafeteria for whatever they are serving that day! The food has yet to disappoint me!

    Dorm Life

    I live on campus and there are so many friendly people around! The dorms are all being upgraded! My hall is very nice, my room is spacious and the furniture is nice! We have a pool table and ping pong table with a large TV in our basement for anyone to use! There are also free washers and dryers for our clothes!

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers are what you want to be! I am here for law and my teachers are practicing attorneys! They expect a lot out of you, but that ensures that you will graduate and be prepared for the future!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare for homework, your teachers do take the courses seriously. Make sure to spend time making friends your first week here! If you can visit campus make sure you do! Sit in on a class! Try to get involved in the intramural sports here on campus!

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has a small, friendly campus. When going to Lewis expect to have great professors who know what they are talking about. The campus is small, but the school is so involved with student activity I hardly ever find myself with nothing to do!

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lewis University offers a vatiety of clubs and organizations to join. Greek life is also very big at Lewis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lewis provides prospective students with what is called SOAR, which is like a welcoming to Lewis before starting school. Attending this helps students get to know the school, side activities and programs that Lewis offers, and best of all, you get to meet other prospective students and build a friendship.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University is a great school and offers a variety of courses regarding to different fields. It is a small school, very easy to get around, and everyone there is very friendly. Professors are very easy to get in contact with and are very helpful. Class sizes are also small which makes is a lot easier to understand and communicate with the professors along with students.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has a major role on our campus we have our own police. Who takes their job seriously making sure that the campus is safe for students.

    Greek Life

    We have a wide range of Fraternities and Sororities that are active on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs that you can join and activites. We have intramural games that many students participate in through the year.

    Great for these types of students

    In my opinion Lewis is a good school for any student its what you make of it yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the basketball and volleyball games which is packed every game. We have our certain chants. Overall each student has there own experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis Is somewhere you can relax when you want at anytime. I enjoy it every year when I go to school. I have a schedule where I can go to class then go workout play basketball with different friends as well. There is much to do in the area so I enjoy where I'm located.

    What to do for fun

    There are fields where you can play soccer, basketball courts as well as a fitness center. Which is open to all students daily which has much to to including a field house for students use at anytime. Last is any student can swim year around we have our own swimming pool that is well taken care.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good located at Lewis there 3 different places you can get food. First is the C store where you can get different items including candy, snacks and more. Second is the main cafeteria where there is a sandwich station and different selections to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice and peaceful with kitchens and free washing on every floor. In most dorms there are labs where you can go at night time to study which has Mac computers. Other than that all dorms are co-ed with many friendly people.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors push you to use your previous knowledge from other classes. At the same time they offer you the knowledge to use after you graduate to make it in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    know exactly what you want to pursue your degree in. Lewis has excellent programs t offer and you can finish in a timely manner. another tip is using the resources the university offers. When thee is a problem with your work. They offer student help mostly will be student who excel with in the class. They understand everything you do so it comes in handy for passing classes.

    In three sentences

    Lewis has a great program in every major that any student decided. Lewis has a helping learning community for struggling students. Last but not least is that any student can enjoy the environment Lewis offers.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The fitness center provides many opportunites to work out while having fun.

    Food and Dining

    I commuted to school and brought my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted to school.

    Academic Rigor

    I took all aviation classes towards my major so I found them extremely fun and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to professors for help! All are willing to help you make and learn the most out of your college education.

    In three sentences

    Lewis Univeristy has a great Aviation program full of knowledgeable teachers. This school is a close-knit campus.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a gaurd desk in the front of the campus.

    Greek Life

    Normal

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a ton of clubs and activities you can participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    They have a payment block, so no matter how many credit hours it is the same price in different blocks.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my daughter.

    Food and Dining

    It is close to orland park which has everything you can imagine.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea, I don't live on site.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just double check the school before you register and get stuck doing a semester there. Make sure they are a good school with a nice and friendly staff.

    In three sentences

    They are great, they have a staff that is always willing to help you with what ever you need.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will see campus police everywhere for students' safety.

    Food and Dining

    Lewis has a couple of restaurants with good food. If you are resident there, then your only choice is to eat there because there are not many restaurants close to the campus, unless you are willing to drive a couple miles.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are nice but a little bit small. As you move up to being a junior and senior, the dorms get nice and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics in this school are challenging but with great effort, students can achieve good grades in their classes. Family members that attend this school say that anyone will do fine as long as they put their time and effort into their studies.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has a great environment with a beautiful campus. It has large amounts of majors and professional programs to offer students. Lewis has helpful staff and counselors that can make a difference in the students' life.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mass on Sunday

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, programs, events, and also the occasional movies they play at night. There is also The Den, where they have a bowling ally with two lanes, arcade area, dining area, and pool table.

    Food and Dining

    Good food choices, but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor, from my perspective all depends on the individual teacher. Some teachers may give an extension on homework or papers, and others will say the date is the date.

    Tips for prospective students

    Once you find out what books you need for the semester, don't settle on the school's book price-- shop around online.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are very accommodating for those who like more one on one time with the professors. As a sophomore, I have had good experiences with all of my teachers. Lewis has clubs and programs suitable for the various liking's of the student body.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There isn't much violence on campus, but if there is the campus security and police respond quickly. Also, they don't hassle you about random things, their actually really cool to talk to.

    Greek Life

    There were a good amount of probates during the year. A lot of students crossed over to the Greek life and I feel Lewis is going to have more going on now that more people went Greek. The Greeks don't have houses on campus but they like to claim houses off campus as their main house.

    Clubs and Activities

    I found it easy to join numerous clubs and it was also really fun. They have a variety of clubs such as Choir, Campus Activities Board, Student Governing Board, Art Club etc.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like a small campus and freedom, Lewis is good for you. It's not a strict school, and our staff are actually cool people to talk to. Lewis is honestly a really chill school, not too much goes on but then not to little does either.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Majority of the food places are on the north side of the campus while majority of the dorms are on the south end. It can become annoying walking through the snow to get something to eat or going to events.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is kind of pricey but I do think it is worth it. I love it because the school fits me. I can easily focus on my work which is obviously a priority yet still enjoy my college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Events are happening almost everyday from Greek events, casino nights, regular school parties etc. Sometimes you will have to make up your own fun but it really are those nights were I have had the most fun.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many places on campus to eat, in fact its really only 3 and like a 7eleven on campus. It can become easy to get tired of the food, so its good to bring your own food from home or buy it from a store so you can have a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus. My dorm room was bigger than my own room at home so I loved it. There were a lot of movie nights, game nights, people just hanging out and literally anything you can think of. Sometimes everyone would just hang out in the lounge of the halls or play the games in the basement.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes Lewis provides can be difficult but since its a small school usually the classes don't exceed 30 so the professors are actually willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students, visit as many events on campus as possible. The organizations and Greeks plan really fun events on week days and week ends and you never know, you might actually be interested in joining organizations or getting into the Greek life and want to put on a event that people might really enjoy.

    In three sentences

    To be honest, Lewis is a really great school. It's a small school and it has good people on campus. As cheesy as this sounds, it really does have a family feel to the campus.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Find things to do that are interesting to you. Go to the movies or bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Be budget conscious.

    Dorm Life

    Keep your dorm room clean and clutter free. It shows respect for yourself and your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is the primary purpose.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a prospective student stay focused on the tasks presented to you. Make sure to develop good study habits and make maintaining good grades as your number one priority.

    In three sentences

    I am transferring to Lewis from another university. I am excited to start making new friends. I am eager to continue my studies here.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events, lectures, and films that go on during the week. There are also many clubs and organizations you can join. The Pulse brings in magicians, comedians, and other forms of entertainment. There are intramural sports that go on throughout the whole year.

    Food and Dining

    Food is unhealthy and very repetitive. The prices are very expensive except for lunch time. Lunch time at Charlie's is the best and least expensive! The chefs and workers are very nice!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is dead on the weekends. This is not a party school. Depending on which dorm you live in, some rooms may be very small or very roomy. North Hall is the party dorm, but it is for upperclassmen.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a nursing major and the program is very time consuming and rigorous. General education courses are more simple than your major courses. You need to be dedicated and study to do well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on top of your work. Be organized and ask for help when you need it. Enjoy your college experience, but prioritize between school, work, and friends. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has a beautiful campus filled with a diverse student body. The teachers are very helpful and classroom sizes are small to fulfill the needs of every individual. The food may need some work, whereas it is very unhealthy and contributes to the obesity epidemic.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out to the Den! it offers a bowling lane, DDR for all you twinkle toes, and other arcade games; they also have a pool table and smoothie bar.

    Food and Dining

    Although there is not much to look for on the outside of campus, they do offer great food service. youll definitely be satisfied with what it has to offer, and you don't really ever get sick of it.

    Dorm Life

    Again i am going to start school this fall but the dorms seem really cozy. When you're done moving in your things, it will definitely feel like home. They offer pool tables, a t.v., and lots of ways to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    I will start my first year this fall but from what I've heard the classes will challenge you in a way that by the time you graduate, you will be prepared to enter the world of opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Involved. get to know your school and its faculty. Everyone at Lewis is really friendly and they just want to get to know you. Have fun and be safe.

    In three sentences

    Lewis university is a beautiful campus with lots of opportunities. It has nice open fields and is a great school to be in if you want to stay focused. Classes are said to range no more than 20 students and offers ways to get involved with society such as community service.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus at all times. Even though we're located next to statesville prison, I never feel unsafe walking alone, even when it's super late at night

    Greek Life

    Greek life is ok. We have national and local organizations on campus. For African American fraternities and sororities, there aren't many students to have big chapters so they do the best they can to make their presence known.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are enough organizations on campus for studetns to join. There are a variety of them, some I wasn't aware of. There are great ones for students seeking leadership roles and many of them are really useful when it comes to reaching out to the students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the weekends many students migrate to either North Hall or Ryan Hall just to hang out and have small parties.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not the most exciting school in the world, but I think it's a pretty decent school. They have enough organizations, activities and people to have a cool college experience. It's all about what you put into making it a great one.

    What to do for fun

    This one is difficult for many students at Lewis. There are campus events, not many big parties but there are small parties held in dorms. You have to make things fun in order to enjoy free time at Lewis. You have to be willing to find something to do and find some friends to hang out with. There are places off campus like bowling, laser tagging, shopping, movies, etc., but you have to make the best of it.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't many options on campus. There is the courtyard which has soups, salads and sandwiches. The den serves fried foods. The cafeteria has a variety of different foods and desserts. And the common grounds with is like a 7-eleven, and open 24 hours. Most people like to eat off campus because you can easily grow tired of eating at the same places.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fine. There are 3 freshmen dorms and the rest are for sophomores and upperclassmen. I enjoy living in dorms because I meet new people every year. They have the traditional singles and doubles, but what I like most are the suites where you can stay with up to 5 people. Living with other students is a cool experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are pretty difficult depending on your major. It's an aviation school so anything in that department is more challenging. Also the nursing department is really great. The nursing students are always in the library studying because they fully loaded courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join as many clubs or sports, etc as possible. Students complain of being bored but if you're involved in activities, you'll always have something to do. Bring a car! Because Lewis is literally in the middle of nowhere, you need a car to get anywhere off campus. Don't eat in the den everyday. Its nothing but fried food but it is pretty good.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a small community filled with different people with different attitudes. It feels like everyone knows each other, like a small family. The more you are involved in campus activities, the better the experience.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you were home schooled or simply like more one-on-one teaching, then you should come to Lewis. The small classroom sizes make it easier for you to be an individual and not a number. The professors here are really eager to help you outside of classes and we have a tutoring center (LARC) if you wish to receive additional assistance outside of class hours. Again, this school doesn't have many parties, so if you are coming to college to party away your money, this is not the campus that will make you happy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Are you a lover of the paranormal? Well, our campus is kind of haunted. It's pretty cool actually. It used to be an aviation school for World War II aviators. That means this school is pretty old. And everyone knows that a school this old has its fair share of hauntings. I know that in South Hall, it is rumored that a girl committed suicide in the back rooms, which they converted to study rooms. They say that she went into the bathroom and hung herself. Occasionally, you can hear things moving and no one would be around but you. I personally didn't hear things move, but I did hear someone running down the hallways at around 3 am every morning. Creepy huh?

    What to do for fun

    When I want to have fun, I walk the nature trail with my friends. I go to sporting events, exercise, go to group dinners. I go off campus and go to the mall, downtown Downer's Grove, Michigan (the state, not the street). In all honesty, it depends on your friends and what you like to do. I do strongly suggest having a car.

    Food and Dining

    I personally am not a big fan of the food here. I don't like Sodexo (a catering company) much, and that's what they have here. Charlie's place is the main cafeteria. Courtyard Cafe is like a mini Panera Bread, serving sandwiches, soups, salads, and pastries. And The Den is like McDonalds, a burger and fries joint. If I had to rank these from greatest to least satisfying , I'd go Courtyard, Charlie's, Den. We also have a 24-hour convenience store that we just call the C-store. It tends to be well stocked with the artery-clogging, high-cholesterol and sodium snacks that often make up a college student's diet, as well as cereals, coffee, and ice cream. I love the C-store. End of story. But beware, for it can result in you gaining the freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of small depending on where you chose to live. North Hall is the only apartment-style living facility on campus. However, Seniors and Juniors usually populate North. Freshmen get their own dorm halls (Sheil, South, and Founder's Hall) and they offer singles and doubles. I lived in South my freshman year, and the rooms were approximately the size of a jail cell. Yet, it came with a closet, microfidge, sink, bed, dresser set, mirror, towel rack, desk, and chair. And once you decorated the room, it became cozy. Most rooms in all halls come with these items, give or take the sink, towel rack, and mirror. This is a commuter campus, meaning there's not much to do on the weekends. There aren't many parties, but we do have occasional raves and dance parties. During the weekdays there are plenty of things to do. You can go to sporting events, magician/hypnotist shows, concerts, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a nursing student. Therefore I can only speak for the nursing program. If you want to party hard every weekend and hang out with friends all week, this is not the major for you, especially if you come to Lewis. Just to give you a taste of the program, you cannot fail 2 classes within the program itself. If you fail once (a 76% and below is failing) you can repeat. If you fail the same class again, you are out. If you fail another one later in the program, you are out, but they will try and work with you if you are truly struggling. As for the classes, I know for clinical nursing alone I had to type out 20-30 page care plans, and this is just for one class. You have to learn how to balance out your schedule and use your time wisely. I never pulled an all-nighter studying for a test or writing a paper, but you will see a drastic decrease in hours of sleep per day (I fall asleep at about 12 am and wake up at 6 am. On clinical days, 12 am-4am). No one said college was a breeze, and believe me when I say it isn't. But, if you manage your time properly, college can be the best years of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming to college for the massive parties, do not come to Lewis because they are all about business. If you do not like small campuses or a small town type of environment, I also would not suggest coming here. They are known for their Aviation and Nursing programs in particular. Therefore, if you are interested in these particular majors, I suggest coming here. Also, get your finances in order since this school can cost around $36,000 a year, possibly more if you are interested in study abroad and things of that nature. I also enjoy walking along the nature trail and working out at the gym (students can attend exercise classes and use the pool for free).

    In three sentences

    If you love trees and nature, this is the university for you since it has been deemed a Tree Campus by the Arbor Day foundation. If you like you're teachers to know you as Lindsay and not #3, then come on down to Lewis. It is a private, Catholic university that believes in small class sizes and bringing a family-feel to the campus.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great and healthy, and there is plenty to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean, and diversed.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently majoring in biology, the professor have been really supportive.

    In three sentences

    great school

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are diligent and take safety seriously. I feel safe at all hours on campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm a member of Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honors Society, and it's this amazing group of others who share the same interests and are a constant means of support and a reservoir of fun activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's always fun to see what the kids in Medieval Fight Club are gonna do on the Green when it's nice out.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students. However, there are specific options available in some residence halls for students who prefer quiet, study hours and being in a suite with people of the same major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Flyer Red Friday is always something to look forward to.

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis surpassed my expectations. It is a private university and therefore a little pricier than a state school, but in every way it is worth it. The people and the campus are both amazing and extremely accommodating.

    What to do for fun

    There's a nature trail to explore or do some jogging on campus. There's the game arcade in the Flyer's Den in Student Union. And there are a few nice places nearby to head out to if you have a car.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexho provides Lewis, but it's always nice to have a legitimate dinner away from home.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are comfortable and everyone I've met in my hall are amazing and extremely friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    I am constantly being challenged at Lewis, but in a way that it's flattering that the professors have such high expectations. You want to make them proud, it's not a chore.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the campus tour; you'll be a pro after a single day. Make use of the Rec Center since membership is free for students and they have fun activities and classes.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a small campus with warm individuals ready to help. The teachers and academic advisers always have an open ear and time available. The classroom sizes are manageable and cozy.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a really good school with a gorgeous campus and a very friendly staff and faculty. Nursing, teaching, business, and aviation are among the biggest and strongest fields of study at Lewis University. Brother James (The President) will be seen around campus greeting everyone by name with a handshake and a smile. It's strong llasalian education and ideology are what make this school so great.

    What to do for fun

    we do have soccer teams, volleyball teams, and basketball teams along with many other sports, clubs and greek life which are all a big part of campus life as well.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, especially at Charlies, but it does get repetitive after a few trips to the Den and the Courtyard...

    Dorm Life

    Campus life at Lewis is fairly slow. Being that it's mostly a commuter based school weekends are fairly quiet and it makes for a terrible social atmosphere but the events planned on campus during the week are fairly entertaining! Freshmen dorms aren't great but they get better when you become upperclassmen, there are rennovations being done to some of the freshmen dorms this summer which will be great to see!

    Academic Rigor

    Its a great school and it's challenging but as long as you make an effort and seek out help when needed, you will excel; as with any other school it depends on the instructor as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Wi-fi connection isn't great, the food is pretty good especially Charlies place although after a while it can get repetitive, dorms are really nice especially for the upperclassmen. Social life isn't great because it is mostly a commuting school but the campus is really safe and people are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a great school. People are very friendly and polite, and the campus is very safe. The teachers are resourceful and the campus is well kept and gorgeous.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security. Well lite

    Greek Life

    No as popular on our campus

    Clubs and Activities

    So many activities and clubs...plus they are great about helping a student come up with a new club of their own.

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation! we have our own airport!! Runners we have our own paths!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is an arboretum ITs beautiful and we grow our own flowers and plants in our green house!!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but so worth it. Im a nursing student and i've gotten so many job offers becuase of my schools nursing reputation!

    What to do for fun

    The list goes on and on

    Food and Dining

    Not bad...I had a hard time due to my gluten allergy

    Dorm Life

    A lot of fun..You will meet alot of people

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on Degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard Have fun Join Groups/Clubs Live on campus for at least the first two years

    In three sentences

    Comfortable/safe enviornment

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their intentions are for the best, the LUPD is there to keep you safe and out of trouble. The campus is a closed campus with only one entrance/exit and a guard on duty. The gate is closed after hours and only those with IDs would be allowed back on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are at least a hundred different clubs and activities to join at Lewis. Whether it be major based like the science club, community based like GSA, or something to do as a hobby like flight team, there's always something to be involved in

    Great for these types of students

    Aviation, Nursing, Science

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The nature trail is a nice walk to see deer or to just relax, and the fraternities and sororities do go out at night and paint rocks.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it may be on the pricier side of schools, it's not one of the most expensive private schools. Lewis offers many scholarships and grants to those who work hard throughout high school. There are a few scholarships obtainable to those who plan to transfer to Lewis after a community college, but the major benefits come to those who enroll right out of high school

    What to do for fun

    The weight room, track and pool are almost always open to everyone with a school ID, there's basketball, volleyball, and track to either join or watch, and there's always a different intramural sport going on to join throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't really what you'd expect, but like they say, it's college. The food service is run by Sodexo, so there isn't a McDonald's or Burger King on campus, although there are at least a dozen restaurants down the street, all within driving distance. All students that dorm are put on a meal plan which is adjustable through the first few weeks of the semester. You pay for what you eat, so its not a buffet style meal plan. It's nice they have three different places, you can get your not so fast food at Flyer's, your sit down meal at Charlie's, or your quick sandwich at Courtyard. You also have the C- Store which is a 24 hr convenient store in the middle of campus. (you really pay for the convenience of it though)

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are some of the best in the area, you have the chance to meet and/or choose your own roommate and choose your living style. Most of the furniture is loft-able/bunk-able and you can arrange your rooms however you'd like. Although weekends can get a little boring, it gives you a chance to catch up on homework, meet up with your friends or go out into town.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers push you to do your best. It is tougher than community colleges, but it's that transition that's just right from high school. The gen eds may seem like a joke, but Lewis requires these to help their students stand out from others in the future fields of choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up all four years of high school, including your senior year. Just because you were accepted into the school before you graduate doesn't mean they can't/won't drop you for falling grades. The better the grades, and ACT, the better the scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is an amazing school. There are many different types of majors and degrees offered and it has the top rated Aviation and Nursing programs in the Midwest. Lewis is a small, close knit and friendly community.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in a lot of organizations at school to keep me busy, so I have fun with friends doing the things I enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to Lewis, be aware that Lewis is a school for academics.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University is a family oriented school. We receive personal one on one attention from our professors. It is a home type of feeling that I get from Lewis.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing ever happens on campus and the school just got a police department that they are currently expanding and getting bigger. That way it stays the way that it is, where nothing ever happens.

    Greek Life

    I'm not involoved in greek life, but it seems interesting. They are really about the academics and community service a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are great. I joined several clubs and activities and I made a lot of friends that way. Therefore, I believe that every student should join them to find the friends that they are looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student. There are all types of students at the school and each person will find their specific group that they fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Koininia is a retreat that everyone on campus wants to go on, but it is only limited to 50 students each semester. When a student goes on it they are not allowed to say what goes on while they are there so that it is a suprise for the students each semester. Also, the students that go on it become great friends and a lot of times continue to be friends after the retreat.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is worth the money that you pay. It is shown how the money that we pay gets used. The science building was just redone and now looks really nice. Also, one of the dorms are currently being expanded and the academic building will be remodeled shortly. So the school is always finding ways to improve.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or organizations, or maybe a fraternity or sorority. Or join a sport or intramural sport if you don't make a team.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it gets old after a while. Other than Charlie's place, there is always a variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Although there are many people that live on campus, it is not that fun on the weekends. There usually is not much going on around campus on the weekends and many students go home for the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers teach the classes great. You will learn a lot from them and it will help you in your future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore the different activities and organizations offered on campus. Make sure you get involved, you will be able to meet a lot of great people and have so many friends. Also, explore your options for what degree you have, talk to your advisor because they will help with finding the degree that is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has a variety of degrees for any student. There are so many extra curricular activities to join at the school, as well as on campus jobs. Everyone is so friendly here and it is easy to make friends that will be around for a long time.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live in chicago and lewis is in Romeoville so I don't socialize in that area

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get financial aid and scholarships because your account will get suspended if you fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University can make it difficult for students financially. They are quick to put a hold on your registration and send you to collections if you are behind on payments. I do not get financial aid and pay for my education out of pocket,

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never have herd a bad thing about it. No one on campus is ever harmed and they keep all students informed on what is going on around campus.

    Greek Life

    Not big on campus, some small organizations, but nothing like the state schools have.

    Clubs and Activities

    Volleyball is the big one. They rank D1 and do very well, create a huge following on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Aviation majors, you could not find a better school around. You get the best training from some of the most knowledgeable people that choose to teach in their field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have experienced yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Lewis is an expensive school, but the majority of their students have received scholarships to attend there. The school is always building and making it the best place to learn, but somethings get overlooked like bathroom updates and other issues that should be addressed.

    What to do for fun

    There is sand volleyball, endless amounts of club sports you can join whenever, fun fitness classes like yoga and zumba, a game room with bowling, pool tables, you can rent movies from the library, and a lot of placed to go with friends to hang out, study if the library is not good for you or just to relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    It is all very good, but the food gets old fast, not very many options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    It is what you make of it. Some people have the time of their lives making new friends and exploring everything the campus has to offer and others sulk about tiny things that could easily be over looked.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard, taught very well, but you need to stay focused on your school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind about everything. Many things offered are things you may not have ever thought about before. Go in positive, get a feel for the school, and try your hardest.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has offered more than I hoped they would. I have access to many opportunities and so many places to grow. The university allows its students to explore many aspects of any major, and everything is accessible whenever needed.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency poles all over campus so if you tend not to feel safe at anytime you can easily go to one of those pole, press a button and police will come to you. The University has its own police and security.

    Greek Life

    There is a variety of Greek life here at school. Mostly all of them do fundraisers at school and they all introduce themselves to students who are interested in joining a Greek organization.

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone here is so respectful! They are very kind and it is very comforting especially for incoming freshman.

    What to do for fun

    There are mini events people can go to. People usually go support the schools team when they have games on campus. The gym is always a good place to release some stress especially because they offer free zumba and cardio classes to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but after eating it everyday you'll eventually get bored of it.

    Dorm Life

    The school has many resources students can use, so you'll never be bored. As far a rooms, they're a decent size, not too crowded unless you bring lots of things with you. Usually freshman are put in freshman halls so its less intimidating because the people you'll be living with are around your age.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are always there to help. Some give their personal information so you can keep in contact with them if you need any help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try applying as early as possible so you can get a scholarship from the school.

    In three sentences

    Lewis is a great school, I have had so many good experiences academically and socially wise. The university has a variety of resources students can use everyday to get there work done. Overall the campus view is amazing.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With an outstanding police force and emergency call centers, campus safety is a very high priority of Lewis University. Although it is not a major issue, it is nonetheless a very significant factor of Lewis University, and many students are assured that they are safe and comfortable on campus.

    Greek Life

    While Greek life is not as influential at Lewis University as it may be at other campuses, it is still an important aspect of school life. Lewis does not have separate houses, but students can join a variety of both academic and more socially based Greek life organizations to meet fellow peers and get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus for students to get involved in. Some examples are religious activities, social clubs and Greek life, and numerous events sponsored by diverse social groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Lewis University is excellent for students who are academically interested, friendly and outgoing, and appreciative of cultural diversity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lewis is located in Romeoville, Illinois, and is very accessible for most students.

    Bang for the buck

    I have personally really appreciated and enjoyed my time at Lewis University. I feel the students are welcoming and friendly, it is a very safe campus, and an advanced learning environment. While the classes are challenging and the tuition a bit expensive, scholarships and academic aid are readily available for all.

    What to do for fun

    On Lewis University's campus, there are quite a few things to do for fun. Students can visit the Flyer's Den for arcade games, pool tables, a wide-screen television, and even a mini-bowling alley. There is a beautiful university green landscape for students to enjoy in the summer, and a variety of club and athletic activities for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Lewis University has outstanding food, provided by Sodexo. From a 24 hour convenience store to daily ethnic meals, breakfasts or dinners on-the-go, and much variety and taste, there are excellent dining facilities at Lewis. Best of all, there is no tax on the food, and the meal plans are affordable and accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    While dorm life at Lewis University is nothing too special, it is more than adequate and enjoyable nonetheless. Students can often enjoy each other's company in a dorm, and there is reasonable space available for students. Free laundry facilities, wi-fi access, and heating as well as air-conditioning also make the dorms at Lewis University solid places to stay for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Lewis University is challenging academically, but certainly manageable. Contacting teachers and fellow students for help, as well as visiting the tutoring lab, are excellent ways for students to succeed in their studies and overcome their learning challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    The greatest tip I could provide for prospective students would be to practice balancing between school work and social life. While this is challenging in itself, learning one's own academic style will help succeed in school. Being able to know when to stay in and study and when to enjoy the company of peers is essential to success.

    In three sentences

    Lewis University has a wonderful academic and social atmosphere for students. In addition to excelling in scholarship and athletics, cultural diversity and extra-curricular activities are very important to campus life. Lewis University truly provides its students with the skills and resources they need to succeed in their careers later on in life.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    does not do their job, so many psychos have been on campus, and do you think security helps????

    Greek Life

    They haze, it really is not worth joining, and they don't even let you have a personal life, always intervening. Idk who would even join one....they paint rocks

    Clubs and Activities

    could offer more. I feel there is more missing. Student life lacks, takes a long time to get approval.

    Great for these types of students

    laid back, quiet...we have some loud party animals on weekends, but they have nothing better to.do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Play a game at Flyers Den, spring birthday bash

    What to do for fun

    order pizza, walk the trail

    Food and Dining

    yuck

    Dorm Life

    Could be better....avoid Fitz, cody and ryan no AC, and they are not the most clean.

    Tips for prospective students

    avoid Greek life at all costs. Do your homework. Watch out with Gen Eds they can be a killer

    In three sentences

    Good school, Greek life doesn't offer much, Subpar food.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    aviation, education, nursing, and criminal justice

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm at lewis, however i have hung out with students that dorm and it looks like they have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes, from what i have taken are not very difficult. i am a criminal justice major, and i am not having any trouble with my classes. there are some nursing students that i know that are struggling with their classes.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun yu hang with friends and just do whatever come to mind.

    Food and Dining

    4 places to choose from on campus. its a private campus so the only food is the ones that are on campus unless you go out to eat and or buy groceries

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have questions with anything, don't be hesitant to ask.

    In three sentences

    lewis is a private small and beautiful campus. the classrooms are as big as high school classes. faulty and students are very helpful.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can join lots of the clubs or even start a new club.

    Food and Dining

    i do not like the food here, there are few options.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun but most people live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    i've only been taking general education classes and as long as you stay on top of things you can fly by.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are alot of commuters that come here but dorming.

    In three sentences

    lewis has very small campus with classes on the smaller side. everyone here carries a kindness about them. the library is very big.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are everywhere

    Greek Life

    no housing for greek life

    Great for these types of students

    nerd and athletic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    flyers den

    Bang for the buck

    If you seek the right help.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of space to play outside or even play inside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get a well constructed plan of graduation before starting your freshmen year.

    In three sentences

    Very dedicated professors and admin that can get you to the path you want. They also put a great deal of time in to be able to work one on one. The campus is very relaxing and the facilities are newer.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to sporting events is the most fun, there is a game room in the Den which has pool tables. This is fun, but can get old fast.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very average, quite a few choices and very accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    It has a very up beat and college feel during the week, the weekends seem a little bit dead though.

    Academic Rigor

    As a nursing major, I think that the curriculum is quite intense, as any nursing school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Weigh out your options, a lot of people commute which makes it difficult to make friends. Give it a chance and then the social life will come.

    In three sentences

    I think that it has a good solid program, I wish there was more campus activities. It is small, but provides a good community of people. It would be better to have more options for things to do on the weekends.

  • 10/28/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus itself is beautiful in all seasons! Lewis is school if you are interested in a smaller school.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to go back to high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a school with small class sizes and something similar to high school but with slightly more responsibility then you'd probably like Lewis. But if you're looking for a school where there is always something to do, like football games to go to (Lewis doesn't have a football team) and there is more people, and you truly want that full on college experience, go somewhere that isn't a commuter school. Though the parking lot was always full at Lewis, it was full of commuter cars, people just coming for class and then leaving.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have a scholarship, then price is not too bad. I paid roughly $15,000 after books and parking and such for the whole year. However, if you don't enjoy your time here, have bad teachers, and plan on transferring to another school later, it's not really worth it. Many of my credits wouldn't even transfer to JJC for anything but electives. So many of the general ed classes I took at Lewis University I had to take again, such as my math class which was too low for even JJC...and that is the basic math class that Lewis has it's students take. Don't sell your books back to them either, go somewhere else you can get more money.

    Did enjoy being here

    I was a commuter student. I recommend living on campus so you can actually try to get involved in activities and make it worth while to be there. I knew a few people who lived on campus and they said they enjoyed it for the most part. I knew more people that were commuters and said they didn't feel connected to the campus and the student body even if they tried to go to clubs and such. It's a very pretty campus in the spring though. and its nice to sit outside and do homework with friends.

    Did learn a lot

    I went here for my freshman year, and did not really learn that much. I was a Biology major at the time, and my Biology teacher was horrible. All she did was read off the power points, which were available to us on BB...half of the students dropped her class, the half of who was left failed her class because her tests were ridiculous and she barely taught us. My chemistry class was the exact same way, except that our professor was kicked out for not teaching us adequately enough so a brother taught us instead, and he was not any better. My psychology teacher spaced out in class all the time and started talking about her family, her dogs, or the giant umbrella she had. ICE, the freshman year class, was the only one that was actually worth while. My second semester wasn't any better...one of my professors fell asleep in class. One of them treated us like 3rd graders. My math teacher had to do 20 examples on the board just to keep us in class because the material was way too easy...I learned probability in 7th grade and was learning it again...and I was in the 101 or 105 math class or something. My theology teacher was the best one I had because I actually learned something from him, all of my other professors were awful.

  • 01/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to choosing a school there is a lot to think about. Firstly, if you want a small class size or big class size. Lewis University is a very small class size and is more personal and feels more home-like. When I was choosing colleges, this is what definitely helped me narrow my decision down because I did not want to go to a school were i was going to be taught by a projector or with a class size of over 100 students. I love that they care so much if your present or not. I cannot stress enough how well these instructors do their job. I love Lewis University so when doing college visits, Lewis should be on your list .

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not cheap BUT they are very good with scholarships. When you apply, you automatically get a scholarship for your grades. Also, if you went to a Lasallian high school, you get money for that as well. If the money they give you is not enough, they also have an extra scholarship online which you can apply for, it gives you an extra 1,000-5,000 dollars depending on your answers. Overall, this school is not cheap, but it is worth every dime.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my choice. Everyone is so nice here. I have not came across anyone who is rude. People are so accepting of different races, cultures, and opinions. There is a place for everyone here. They have so many clubs. I, for example, am in LASO, which is the Latin American Student Organization. I love it because I am around people like me. But there is also a BSU, Black Student Union, a Muslim club as well, and even a commuter council for people who are commuters and still want to be involved. I personally love being here, the more involved you are the more friends you have and the better your experience will be.

    Am learning a lot

    Every instructor gives you their personal phone number if you need help with anything, so that's neat. Class sizes are very small, so you get a lot of one-on-one with your instructors. Lewis University also provides a help center for people who are struggling with any subject it is called the LARC Center. Teachers go into so much depth and after every class, I feel ten times smarter.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like smaller schools, more personalized education.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARLY for an earlier review for a higher chance for a scholarship because the amount of money distributed is limited. Take any interview offeres to try to get more money. FILL OUT THE FASFA. Unlike my family, you most likely will get more money. Take advantage of the overnight visits. It helped me decide to go to Lewis. It will show you what people do on campus, and you can see if you will like it.

    Bang for the buck

    I also recieved a $12,000 scholarship so it will cut the cost almost in half for me. I also got offerend another interview to recieve even more money, and I got another $1,000. Tutition is not cheap, cheap, but it's worth the money. Plus free laundry, and free printing. Use those to your advantage!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus looks nice and people and staff are friendly. Staying overnight, I met a lot of new people. They were so welcoming, and willing to help you in any way. Everyone knows everyone on campus. Even teachers and your consuelor will know your name. It makes everything seem so personal.

    Am learning a lot

    I shadowed two classes during an overnight visit. I visted a Bio2 class and a Graphic design class. The bio class seems very intensive, but the teacher is very engaged, and students are really focused. Graphic design is such a chill class. You just make random pictures. I heard that if you get Dr. V for bio, drop out immediately.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any major really especially Aviation majors and Nursing majors. Criminal justice or pre-law major is great since their Mock trial is nationally ranked.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep that GPA high. If it isn't as high as you want it to be do things that will prove that you are a great student and person. Volunteer as much as you can this will show the admission counselors that you are a good person and that you are Lewis material.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so the cost is higher than other schools, but they give very good amounts of financial aid especially if your GPA is high. They offer a lot of free help/tutoring and free events which always give out free food so if you take advantage of all the FREE things they offer than you will definitely get your moneys worth!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is BEAUTIFUL!! I love being a student here. The location is not too far from my home which is nice. It is a very safe campus since there is only one one entrance and one exit (security is right there too). The dorms are nicer than any other schools I have seen. Everything is so calm here and it is really fun being here.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are GREAT! Because of the small classes the teacher will know who you are and will help you if you ask for it. Most of my teachers are super laid back and they are easy to talk to. My teachers are so helpful and very nice.

  • 04/18/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    AVIATION!!!!

  • 11/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 12 people found this review useful. 57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are seeking a degree, but don't want to have to work their butts off for it. :D

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an easy school to attend when you are seeking a degree in an Arts and Sciences field. I've heard that the Nursing Program and Aviation Programs are harder, but I've had no trouble as a Psychology Major. I recommend applying, don't be turned away because of the high cost. They offer sizable scholarships based on GPA and they also offer Tuition Payment Plans that are reasonable.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 16 people found this review useful. 58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Education, Forensics