Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Lorain County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need flexible schedules because of the optional online classes. Also great for anyone who wants to save thousands of dollars and get the same degree!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! It's not fun whatsoever if you don't get involved in something you enjoy, unless you want to get in and get out. The only time I've ever enjoyed going there was when I did the musical last year. There is virtually something for everyone, you just have to find it!

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part, I would say it's decently priced considering that it's a community school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't like being there for my own personal reasons, but it's a different experience for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    I think most of the professors are extremely intelligent and know what they are talking about. I've liked all of my professors so far and I've taken a lot of classes. Even your teachers online have a number of helpful tools to get you through the course.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lorain County Community College offers a 24 hour security service that can be accessed easily by email, phone, or in person. Services such as lost and found, medical emergency services, and prompt and responsible reply time are just some of the advantages to LCCC's security force.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities are available, I suggest you check out the website for all the details, I'll list some samples here: Accounting & Business Association, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), Anime Society, Black Progressives, Campus Crusade for Christ, Collegiate Middle Level Association for Teachers (CMLA), Crescendo, Digital Forensics and Cybercrime Club, Duck Radio, Early Childhood Education Club, Gamers Paradise, Los Unidos, Math Club, Multicultural Club, Muslim Student Association, Network Gaming Association, Nurses Christian Fellowship, Outdoors Club, Philosophy Club, Phi Theta Kappa, Photography, Physical Therapist Assistant Association, PRIDE Club, Psychology Club, Role Players Association, STAND OUT! Talent Group, TheStudent American Dental Hygiene Association (SADHA), AAssociation of Respiratory Care (SARC), Students For Life, Students In Free Enterprise (SIFE), Student Nurses Association, Student Senate, Tai Chi Club, The Collegian, The Society of Professional Journalists.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in genuinely learning, saving some money, a local atmosphere, and a great time on campus are going to like LCCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many cool places around the campus. When I say that I mean it is very easy to find a comfortable spot to either study or hang out with friends in, seating in nooks and crannies are everywhere! And nature trails are also located around campus and can be enjoyed year round.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the best features of LCCC. It is an excellent place to get significant financial aid and at the same time complete challenging and transferable classes that will serve you in your future. This college is absolutely worth your buck, an education is really an education here

    What to do for fun

    There are many various clubs and organizations, official and unofficial, that you have the opportunity to get involved in. Whether your into sports, writing, anime, photography, radio, theatre, music or really just about anything there is something you can get involved in. There is also a Regal Cinema nearby so when you feel like a movie and popcorn it won't pose a problem. Various acts blow through occasionally and perform for free or low prices in the LCCC Stocker Center, as well as student productions that are put on frequently and are always worth checking out! Local parks are located nearby for nature lovers, where you can bike, skate, walk, run, or just enjoy the outdoors. Fitness enthusiasts have access to the state of the art gym and indoor track on campus, where you can work out to your hearts content. Quaker Steak and Lube, down the street, hosts concerts occasionally and have bike nights for anyone with a vehicle on two wheels. There is really an endless variety of activities to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    The campus and surrounding area is full of unique dining experiences. LCCC boasts the College Marketplace, which offers a vast variety of food in a mall cafeteria sort of way, with different stores for different tastes. A Starbucks for coffee drinkers like me, a Corner Bistro which serves some great sandwiches, the University Center Student Lobby and the Bass Library Bridge, they offer some healthy alternatives for those of you who may be vegan or a vegetarian. The surrounding area also has SHEETZ, Steak and Shake, every fast food restaurant you can think of, Quaker Steak and Lube, Cracker Barrel and two pizza joints! Trust me when I say finding a meal will not be a problem.

    Dorm Life

    LCCC does not provide dorms for its students because it is a local college. However there are two apartment complexes, Commodore Arms Apartments and College Park Townhouses, that are located directly across the street from the college. They offer a variety of features, including Internet, washer and dryer, patios, air conditioning, and much more. They also offer a $1000 dollar scholarship for LCCC! They are close to shopping centers and major highways, making them ideal spots to live if you do not or cannot live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as Academics rigor at Lorain County Community College goes, it all depends on how hard you try at completing classes to the best of your ability. Laziness will result in failure, being able to get yourself going is an absolute must, however that is true of all colleges. Time management is essential as well particularly with online classes. None of the classes are impossible, the staff and students can be a huge support in motivating you and helping you out when your in a tight spot! You will be challenged, but that's a good thing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Starting off at Lorain County Community College, either as a PSEO student or after graduation, is a smart decision when it comes to saving money. Financial aid is a major part of LCCC and whether it be GPA, extracurriculars, athletics, or government assistance it is always possible to find some kind of aid. Basic classes can be gotten out of the way in coordination with your career or college plans, and its also a good place to start out at if you are not sure of your direction yet. And always remember that the tools to build your future are in front of you, all you need to do is take advantage of them! LCCC will give you those tools if you are willing to use them.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is an excellent stepping stone for those who want to save money while getting a good start in they're college education. A year or two here will prepare you for whatever future you choose, whether its continuing your degree here, transferring, or joining the work force. The local atmosphere is a comfortable setting as you continue your education, and staff and students alike are always friendly and helpful.

  • 10/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants to get the precs for any major you might be thinking of taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is a bit of a problem so I suggest leaving 25 minutes before you classes start.

    Bang for the buck

    Lorain County Community College is a great deal because it allows you to get all of your basic classes out of the way. It also has a university partnership program that allows you to take classes from other university at Lorain

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending Lorain the other students are pleasant to be around and the teachers are all entertaining

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Lorain are very helpful when it comes to helping you learn the material that you are covering and will take time out of their schedule to meet with you and go over said material.

  • 06/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure that everything is taken care of at least a month before the next semester between financial aid and enrollment services. Also you should check your student account daily as things seem to change frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college that costs about 1500 a semester it's decent. Especially if you are looking for a place to get your foot in the door. I'm sure plenty of other students had wonderful experiences, I ,unfortunately, did not.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have had a pretty hard time getting the education I really wanted here. I had a hard time dealing with the enrollment services department and never felt like I was getting a direct answer to my questions and often it was even the wrong answer.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are amazing. Unfortunately not all of the classes are as challenging.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    problems rarely happen and are usually minor offenses. campus security is easy to reach. if you feel unsafe going to your vehicle, you can even call them and ask for an escort.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a diversity of students on campus, so everyone from the everyman type of person to the guy who thinks he's weird should do just fine.

    What to do for fun

    the campus holds events regularly, and the clubs all do events as well. the arts and humanities center has a play or a music performance at least once every month or so.

    Food and Dining

    there are several places to get food from on campus, and if you dislike what is on campus then there are plenty of other places to eat within ten minutes of the college.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes can give a student a challenge, depending on what classes they take. if you are a diligent student you should not have any problems getting good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    if possible, find out ahead of time what books you will need for your classes. on the first days of the semester the line in the bookstore can make you wait for nearly an hour just to make your purchases. also, use the library to your advantage when possible because it has nearly everything a good study or classwork environment needs.

    In three sentences

    the campus isn't too big or too small, and the faculty do a good job keeping the buildings looking respectable. a majority of the teachers are knowledgeable on their topics and act professional. despite the occasional issue, it's a good community college.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a ton of student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Its a campus. So at best decent.

    Dorm Life

    None on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough. You are not going to easily slide through here. You will however find that their are many resources to help you get through and suceed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the online offerings to fit your schedule.

    In three sentences

    Lorain is a great school with many different degrees available. I like going here because of the flexibility in their scheduling for my classes. They also offer a university partnership where you can earn a 4 year degree at the community college price.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The campus offers many different types of clubs and activities for a wide range of students. There is a club or group out there for just about every different personality type.

    Bang for the buck

    Lorain County Community College is very affordable. If by any means you are unable to afford attending, there are different options one can take in order to acquire help.

    What to do for fun

    Lorain County Community College offers sports for students to par take in and picnic type days where they provide food and entertainment for it's students. I personally just attend choir courses and maybe a band concert here and there for my own enjoyment.

    Food and Dining

    Lorain County Community College has many different options for food. The cafeteria is a great place to get a meal or just a snack to enjoy between classes. Or if you are in a hurry, the campus offers smaller concessions to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at LCCC, but there are apartments near by for students to take advantage of. And the school's location makes it an easy commute for those who live nearby,

    Academic Rigor

    Lorain County Community College has a very rigorous academic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only real tips would be make sure you take your courses seriously. A community college is not any easier or harder than a four year college. Do not wait until the last available second to do your work; take advantage of the free tutoring if needed. Even if you do not need tutored, use it as a study tool.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is a great community college for students to attend in order to get a few steps closer to their career choices. My personal experience at the school has been very much gratifying and I am very pleased with my decision to attend.

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Did enjoy being here

    I love LCCC's campus, especially the diversity of students there. There's alot of students fresh out of high school, and also a lot in their 50's or so returning to school, plus whatever else in between.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Eat & Dine, Have Welcome Back Week (Cook Out, Music & Dancing) Hang With Friends.

    Food and Dining

    Great Food.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Academic Programs & Professors (From A Business Majors Point Of View)

    Tips for prospective students

    Have An Open Mind. View All Of Your Opinions With This School.

    In three sentences

    This College Is More Than What You Would Expect. Its Saves You Money. Its Very Great School To Attend.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. If a student does not feel safe walking to their car, one call is all it takes to be escorted by security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus. I could not begin to name them all.

    Great for these types of students

    LCCC is great for any student. I have seen students from high schoolers to students in the fifties and sixties. There are classes for all ages.

    Bang for the buck

    I have found the education that I have received to be very challenging and very much worth what I have paid.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is offered is very reasonably priced and rather good.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found the academics to be very challenging, which I have really enjoyed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that students take the time to study for exams/ quizzes. I would also suggest utilizing the tutoring center before he/ she finds that she is not doing well in the class. It's also a great idea to find a study partner; that has been a very great benefit for me.

    In three sentences

    I have received an amazing education. The professors are genuinely interested in seeing each and every student succeed. The tutoring center has been an amazing resource.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a second while walking on campus where I didn't feel safe. Its in a good location and there isn't alot of crime. So it's nice knowing!

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are just as many clubs, sports, and activities for students to participate in on campus. Although they are not NCAA teams, they certainly are teams!

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely Non-traditional students. By non-traditional I mean students who work full-time and attend school on a part-time basis. Also, students who have families and are attending school during the day while the kids are in school. Or students who only attend night classes because they are trying to advance in the career they already have. This type of school is great in that aspect because alot of people don't have the ability or time to attend school. With the flexibility that the scheduling and having night classes available provides they are able to attend school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is only one unusual location on campus and that is the gamers lounge between the business building and the student cafeteria/ information center.

    Bang for the buck

    Being that it is a community college you pay less for a quality education. So there is definitely more bang for the buck. Less money per credit hour is required but you're still getting the same education as someone attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned before this is a school for mostly non-traditional students so there isnt alot put into activities for students. However there are picnics at the beginning of the Fall semesters and they hold events in the student lobby of the new student center. The theatre department also puts on plays and musicals throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat on campus. Each building has a snack station or a cafe & bistro. There is a brand new cafeteria in the student center and a bistro in the Medical building. Also there is a cafe in between the library and the student center. They all have different food so whatever you're in the mood for its not too far away!

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus residency.

    Academic Rigor

    So far all the courses I have taken have been very fast paced and geared towards higher expectations. Since it is a community college it is held to a higher standard as it is for mostly non-traditional students trying to further their careers or start a new career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on track. Always read the chapters when assigned. Never wait until the last minute to complete an assignment!

    In three sentences

    A great choice for Non-Traditional Students. A beautiful campus with alot to offer. Great Faculty and Professors willing to help in any way that they possibly can.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and secured with cameras and security guards. i have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I think we have this club, but i have never been a fan, and have therefore never checked.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any clubs because i live about 50 minutes from the campus, i drive there twice a week and cannot afford to miss work and the gas money to join a club. they do have quite a few though, there are always billboards about what a student can join, i know we have a radio station and have a club week at the beginning of every semester to spark students interests.

    Great for these types of students

    LCCC is great for anyone who doesnt really know what they want to do yet, they have a huge amount of classes that will transfer to most state colleges. It is a reasonable price, and you can work and live at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a strange place though, called the gamers lounge. It is a smelly hallway that the gamers have dominated, they have tvs and little tables stationed all throughout the hallway. It is between the pc building and the student center, just hold your nose while passing through.

    Bang for the buck

    It is rather affordable to go to this school, about 1500 a semester. Plus books, but if you work and live at home it is a nice price. They have a few scholarships and FAFSA normally provides a decent amount of money, i honestly got paid to go to school at one point. I had extra financial aid and got a check for about 500 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is nice outside, so walking is lovely in the spring and fall. There is open studio time for art majors, a huge library to please any reader, art shows, and a lot of other little events throughout the year. Also a gym that is free to use for any student.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't too bad, rather pricey. The breakfast food is the best, along with the classic starbucks positioned right next to the cafeteria. Also there are how many restaurants stationed around the college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, so i cannot say anything bad or good about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are challenging, while others are kind of simple. Just depending on who is the teacher and the students abilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a nice cheap school, you can still work and live at home while going here. The classes are offered online too, which is really convenient for those who work late and live far away (like me).

    In three sentences

    This school is good for those who wish to transfer to other schools, so for a transfer associate degrees. The people are nice, and relatively normal. The professors...a little mixed on that one.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus and surrounding areas. I have accidentally left my keys in my unlocked car in many parking lots on campus and in the area and have never had a problem. Never felt threatened or unsafe ever!

    Greek Life

    It exists but is limited.

    Clubs and Activities

    All the same type of academic, collegiate, and sports organizations that you would find at any other college and some eclectic organizations that are from the local flavor/traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    LCCC is a good place to get a great education at a very reasonable price!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of fun things to do in the area: movie theatres, clubs/bars, great restaurants, bowling/rollerskating, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Excellent central dining hall with plenty of options to chose from. Also many outside vendors (stabucks, ect.) on and near campus.

    Dorm Life

    LCCC has no on-campus housing but there is plenty of affordable housing in the near community.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are challenging and inspiring. Although the classes can sometimes seem daunting, the professors are always willing to give any extra time to students to be sure they are receiving a top quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    LCCC is a very good place for students to start their college degrees. Many two and four year degree programs available to chose from. Helps to save money. Fun campus/college experience.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful and well planned out closed campus. Excellent professors and instructors. Ample and easy to find resources on campus. I love it!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt completely safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sometimes there will be an activity where students can do some volunteer work such as planting or working for the family festival. There is a multicultural club which is good for american students to get involved in to help give the international students a better experience studying abroad and aid in the exchange of understanding different cultures.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that are interested in learning and are maybe not sure what they want to do exactly. It's also good for students that need to save money and need a more flexible schedule if they work or have kids.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Halloween the campus will be open for kids to come and go trick or treating. Students volunteer to hand out candy. The family fest is interesting and I think more enjoyable if you get involved in it.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is really good for Lorain County residents. The school has many good teachers and the cost of tuition is the same for 13 to 18 credits, which saves money for full time students.

    What to do for fun

    The school will hold some events from time to time, for students to get together, eat some food and play some games. Other than that, there are not a lot of options for activities. They have a gym that is open when there is no class using it.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to get something to eat without much wait. I didn't eat much there, but I think the prices and quality are about average. I think it is best to bring your own food, there are microwaves available to use if needed.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, everyone commutes to campus which gives it a completely different feel from a traditional college campus. There are students of many different ages, so in a way there is more of a mature atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    You won't be asked to do a crazy amount of work, but you will have enough to keep you busy. If you do some schoolwork each day, you won't have a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your classes seriously and always go to class and do your assignments. Take classes you are interested in and don't hesitate to talk with an advisor or counselor to help guide you in making your decisions and learning about different options available for you.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College's campus is small but comfortable. The classes are not very difficult if you study, although it's not always easy finding a good place to study but you can find them. They have classes that can be taken at all different times.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It all really just depends on the individual itself. But myself, I love going to the concerts and different speakers and lectures that are made available. Also, when the holidays come around, they always try to have a public event so the students and anyone in general can enjoy what they can provide.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. Everything is prepared fresh everyday. And the people are friendly and willing to help any way possible. There are a lot of open seats and clean places to eat as well.

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus. So I can't honestly say what the dorms are like.

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately take the time to talk to an advisor. And just be patient with them because they want to help you the best they can. They want to help you succeed. Give them a fair chance.

    In three sentences

    The advisors and teachers are so kind and helpful. Financial aid has been so amazing with helping me figure everything out so I can go to school and make a life for my son.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take online classes, but when I visit the campus, I do see the campus security out and about. I do feel safe when I have to go there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much information as possible before your classses start.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very nice. Although, I had a few issues with not getting all the information that I needed to start my classes and even get my books. I hope that my first impressions are changed throughout the school year.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of open ground on campus to allow anyone ot hang out in the sun and nice weather.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices in the dining hall and the prices are great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are correctly challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    I give Lorain County Community College an A. It is easy to get around campus and the teachers are nice. The application process is very simple too.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Parking lots are all well-lit, I've never felt unsafe walking to my car in the evening. Campus security once had to get into my car because I locked my keys in on accident, and they were very quick and friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save some money, live at home for a few more years, explore their career options, or get education for a career change.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, especially with the university partnerships.

    What to do for fun

    There's a good deal of clubs to get involved with, the notorious 'gamer hallway' (if you're into that stuff), hang out in the college center or outside. And, midway mall is only a few minutes away, even if it is pretty dead now.

    Food and Dining

    The starbucks is a great addition, and I like how the cafeteria has a 'grab and go' section with pre-packed salads, sandwiches, fruit cups, etc. I'm a vegetarian and never had a problem with finding an option for me. There's also vending machines all over the place.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there are no dorms, however there are some apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the teacher you get, but that's true of most schools! The compass test ensures you won't be stuck in an english or math course that's too hard for you, but if you still get stuck, you can also ask your teachers for extra help. The hybrid classes are a bit tougher, simply because you have to remember to do the online work and still go to class every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY MOTIVATED!! Don't be afraid to take fun classes that don't relate to your intended major, but you still have an interest in. They'll help break up a stressful week and will make you a more well-rounded student. Also, the financial aid and registration process tends to take awhile and can be frustrating. Make you sure you apply for classes and financial pretty early, to make sure you get in the classes you want and to see how much aid you'll get. And of course, the closer it is to the deadlines, the longer the lines get!

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!! Being a part of a club or different social scenes will greatly influence the college experience. There are local parks and a nearby movie theater to catch a flick.

    Food and Dining

    The Starbucks is a great stop for a morning coffee or a study break between classes. There are a few tasty cafes located around campus, which are great for a quick bite after class or during a lunch break.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the classes at LCCC have challenged me in many ways , but the educators are always willing to work with students in order to get them to pass a class which they are struggling in. Academic tutors are available in an awesome tutoring center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always leave with over five minutes to spare in order to park and get to class on time, the parking lot is always busy.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is an easily accessible school for local students in Lorain County. This college is a less expensive alternative to bigger schools. The experiences I have dealt with will help me later in life.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the four years I have attended Lorain County Community College, I have witnessed no incidents that threatened the safety of students on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    Students and staff members involved in a variety of clubs and organizations are diverse, friendly, and eager to obtain new members! LCCC is an all around multicultural campus.

    Great for these types of students

    LCCC is perfect for EVERY type of student. Their wide range of programs are suitable to even the most eccentric individual, and LCCC continues to grow!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual thing that a freshman at LCCC might find is the appearance of fresh faces from the eighth grade! This is because LCCC supports the renowned Early College High School, which I myself attended and graduated, where students works toward their high school diploma and Associate of Arts degree over the course of four years.

    Bang for the buck

    LCCC is considered as the Harvard of community colleges! Its low cost makes a higher education affordable for all different types, allowing you to find a flexible schedule whether you are a single mother, fresh out of high school and undecided about the direction you should take, older and just returning for the benefit of owning a degree, or just love to learn. LCCC is the campus for you!

    What to do for fun

    There are a wide range of clubs and organizations including but not limited to a Writer's Society, PRIDE Club, Honors Society (notably Phi Theta Kappa), and Student Life.

    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat much at LCCC's Marketplace though they have a variety of choices, both healthy and indulging!

    Dorm Life

    LCCC is a community college so there is no campus housing, however there are many comfortable and quiet hideouts.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses at LCCC are not particularly difficult, but the pace will definitely challenge you. Your instructors understand reasonable road blocks but they anticipate that you will stay on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as soon as you possibly can, you get the best pick that way!

    In three sentences

    LCCC is a proud and proactive community dedicated to coach, advise, and encourage students to reach their full potential. The staff and President truly want success for you. All of the available resources and alternatives make reaching your goals possible.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth plus ten times that.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a rec center, a track, and a gym. Along with tennis courts, soccer fields, and baseball fields. You can also take a nice jog around the gorgeous campus.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent food choices at great prices, they have a campus grill which serves a variety of food that is healthy and they also have Starbucks.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors make it tough so you do not leave their classroom without learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are worried about not being able to afford a good college education Lorain County Community College can help. It is very affordable and they have many degrees to offer along with the University Partnership program.

    In three sentences

    Amazing education at an affordable price. I love the atmosphere and the professors care about giving students a good education. They offer so many degrees and the UP partnership is an amazing opportunity.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is a great amount of diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    A quality education at affordable prices.

    What to do for fun

    They have many outreach activities and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisors and counselors. Manage your time wisely Be on top of all financial issues.

    In three sentences

    The atomosphere is positive. The staff is helpful and exeeds all expectations. I enjoy Lorain County Community college because it is a quality education.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The LCCC Campus is an extremely safe place. It is not located in a big city, so you don't have to worry about all the big city safety concerns.

    Bang for the buck

    Lorain County Community College is an extremely affordable place to go to school, yet it packs a powerful punch in terms of academics, campus life, and many other aspects. The beautiful campus, wide variety of classes, and level of rigor in each class is all provided at an extremely low price.

    What to do for fun

    From the many plays that the Stocker Center puts on to the movie theater right down the street, you won't be wishing there were more things to do. There are always events happening on campus and in the surrounding area. It is pretty hard to be bored around here!

    Food and Dining

    The nearby Cobblestone Commons has plenty of places to eat. Some of these are Steak & Shake, Ruby Tuesdays, and various others. Also, right on campus there is an amazing food center. They have delicious french fries and offer everything from burgers to salads. There is also a Starbuck's located right inside the Student Center. LCCC has all the food you could want.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but that is something that could definitely save you some money.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are excellent. One would think that a community college wouldn't have the greatest professors, but that just isn't the case here. You'll encounter nationally renowned names and well-versed minds in the professors here at LCCC. If you're looking for academic rigor but don't have the money to spend on a big university, LCCC is the place for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    To the prospective student I say, do not go into your classes thinking Oh, this is just community college, this will be easy. The professors and instructors at LCCC are definitely worth your money. They will challenge you and teach you very well if you put in the effort you need to.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is a great place to start your college experience. Its classes are by no means easy and the campus is up to the standards of any public or private university you could attend. Overall, this is a great place to start out, but maybe not a fantastic place to get your full education from.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    LCCC is a great, affordable way to obtain your degree.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some type of event going on around the college, be it a job fair, college fair or blood drive. There's always something to do to help your community.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, Plus, STARBUCKS!

    Dorm Life

    No available dorms

    Academic Rigor

    These classes are challenging, there is no skating by with an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and ask questions when you need to, Also take advantage of office hours if you need help, the one on one teaching is great!

    In three sentences

    LCCC has an amazing staff of teachers, advisers, and any other position you can imagine. They are so helpful, whether it be campus based or online classes. The partnership program is also an amazing way to obtain your bachelors degree.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy drawing and going fishing in the summer.

    In three sentences

    The college is very close to my home and my job. I am hoping with my grades I can attend with some assistance from the college. I plan to come here for my first two years then transfer to bowling green.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of any major problems here, we have campus secrurity that patrols the campus parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and activites to peak anyones interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students coming out of highschool, students planning on going to a 4 year school (get 2 done here then transfer), and older adults who may be returning to the classrom after some years of personal time.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it is $113 dollars per credit hour here and that is honestly a big help. Most colleges are 300 maybe 400 dollars per hour. What I'm saying is milk this college until the utter goes dry then transfer to a 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    On my down time I go to the fitness/rec center and play basektball, it's free to any current student at LCCC.

    Food and Dining

    College center has great food to select from. $2 pieces of pizza, hamburgers, salads, cereal, fruits, and many more options to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors really care about their students, not very fond of their counselors and advisors though, it's almost like when you go there you are doing all the talking and they are nodding their heads...

    Tips for prospective students

    I say come here and see how you like it. I wasn't a fan of going off to college right after highschool for two reasons, I didn't want to get knocked off course by partying and I wanted to learn in a serious environment, LC was the perfect choice. There's no dorms so you live off campus, either with a parent(s) or roomate. I highly suggest you stay at home as long as you can, the real world is expensive i'd rather start paying until completely essential for me to do so.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is the absolute BEST idea for any Northeast Ohio student planning on obtaining a degree from a 4 year college. They have very affordable credit hours, but most books are high priced. I highly suggest this College for anyone that wants to obtain an affordable Associates degree that'll transfer out to most colleges.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of campus security vehicles around and a lot of wide open spaces and windows. I've never felt threatened there and nor has anyone else I've ever come across.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of neat clubs from gaming to anime to improv. There's a bazillion clubs here and that's wonderful.

    Great for these types of students

    -Transitory students -Students who are still figuring out what they want to go into -Adults coming back to school -Students who work a lot -Students who like to take online courses

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Say hi to the professor on the Segway. Always.

    Bang for the buck

    You're not going to get much better when it comes to the tuition/education pay-off especially if you're using this as a stepping stone to future universities or programs offered by the University Center partnership which is really unique.

    What to do for fun

    There's always great theatrical performances and world-renowned performers coming to the Stocker Arts Center. The tickets are incredibly cheap especially for students! Lots of restaurants nearby and a really nice movie theater. Plenty of clubs and the like to join. The Midway Mall is pretty close by too.

    Food and Dining

    Overall, the food is very good! Definitely sidestep the main lunch area and get food from the little bistro area by the arts and science areas because the lines are shorter and the food is just as good.

    Academic Rigor

    It's like how it is at any school...some teachers give you a good amount of challenging work that makes you better, some work you to the bone, and some do nothing. It's a mixed bag but overall I've had a good experience with most of the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    -The Early College teachers aren't as skilled or usually as good as the other ones on campus but the Early College program is still an excellent opportunity. -Don't go down to the bottom basements unless you're super sneaky. They used to let students use the passageways but there was a fire down there a couple of years ago so now it's a big no-no. -The president is a bit of a chump but most of the faculty is actually pretty great. Try and talk to them and come to them for help. -Try to get food in between classes. Otherwise, you'll be waiting around a while.

    In three sentences

    This place is super affordable...if you like having extra money, you will like this place. You'll get a lot of (overall) pretty nice, dedicated, and well-educated teachers. Even though community colleges get a bad rep, going here is actually a pretty good college experience albeit a bit strange.

  • 06/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are cheaper!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities or clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here. Made fresh everyday and students help.

    Dorm Life

    I do not current have a dorm here, there are apartments students can live in right by campus. Or online classes.

    Academic Rigor

    It's okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this college if parties or fun isn't your idea of continuing your education.

    In three sentences

    Lorain County Community College is a very diverse and unified college, saying that. Everyone from anywhere can continue their education here and with this you can made a lot of new friends from anywhere. This Community College isn't just for students of young ages, many older people take classes here for their benefit and you can learn a lot from them.