Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Madison Area Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/27/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The school systematically discriminates against the mentally ill. It is very expensive. The transfer program is a lie.

    Tips for prospective students

    I attended for 2 years when I was first out of school. I tried attending again 7 years later. They promised me while I was paying off the money from the two years, that I could attend again. I dropped out and lost aid due to a mental breakdown because of a bad medication reaction. They gleefully told me, right after I finished paying off the loan that I in fact "shouldn't go back" because my grades were to low since I was essentially catatonic for a year and a half and during that time I didn't withdrawal from classes since... I was catatonic. Pretty much spent $3000 to have a mental break down that was related to genetics and happenstance with a bad prescription. Now I have no prospects since I had been working for the last 7 years believing that I could make a better life for myself. I know I was wrong now.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's kinda out of the way and spread across the city.

  • 02/13/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who wants to learn by themselves and pay lots of money for their teachers

    Bang for the buck

    I do not trust this school, they dont teach well and make the academics as easy for them but as difficult for the students

    Academic Rigor

    the test and readings are irrelevant, no slides from the professors and no feedback. They dont care

    Tips for prospective students

    please DO NOT GO HERE, this is a scam school who only wants to make money off of you , your worth is your ability to fill their pockets.

    In three sentences

    please DO NOT go to this school! I took a couple courses as transfer courses and it was super expensive (more online compared to in persons). the teachers I had didnt give a damn about their job and we ( the students ) were more like a hobby to them. I never got ANY feedback on my work, the exams were made of irrelevant questions made to make you fail (like for example I had exams asking" where does x hide her cigs?" really?? who cares) and they say they care but they dont. You can complain and they never respond like they promise.

  • 09/02/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I seen a couple of the campus locations not having anything for security with anybody off the street able to just walk in grab something and walk right out door with little no staff watching over campus areas. Doors open to anyone with all the homeless people downtown on streets able to walk in and grab something out of a classroom and nobody there to even notice.Once again the efficiency and quality very poor with some of their campus locations.

    Bang for the buck

    With my attendance as a 48yr old in a variety of universities and technical colleges in Wisconsin areas throughout my life, and especially last 11 years, Madison MATC is very low in ranking.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of things to do for fun no doubt about that living in a big city. However, costs are plenty as well.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown campus offered only pizza and salads at their bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms or housing offered directly by MATC.

    Academic Rigor

    I see this as very poor as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking more for one on one and personal involvement with teachers it is not the school for it. The city housing costs could be ranked as MATC Madison being #2 in most expensive with Milwaukee MATC being #1. The city itself is certainly entertaining and diverse people. You will need a GPS system on your phone to find your way around city with most people seen with their phones in hand telling them which way to walk and get to where they are going. Madison is well known for its difficult downtown streets and getting around all the one-way streets.However, should the few years in college be focused on fun and games or studies and learning ?

    In three sentences

    Quantity vs. quality ? I found the school not having very good efficiency with its staff, departments, advisers and overall system itself. The quality was poor with the quantity of students attending.

  • 03/23/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has never been a safety issue on campus as long as I have been attending MATC. The campus has a very active and centrally located public safety area and the local security guards are friendly, approachable, and can be seen roaming the halls at any time of day throughout the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Psychology, Geology, Film, LGBT, student newspaper, African Student Association, Anime, Math, Performing Arts, are just a few of the numerous clubs available to students at MATC. There is also the option for any student to start up a club of their own, all that is required is a few friends and a scheduled place to meet.

    Great for these types of students

    There are elevators and handicap parking for anyone with disabilities or difficulty getting around, there is a LGBT club for anyone with different sexual orientation, and there is a very active Phi Theta Kappa chapter at the school as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Great quality for low tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and programs set up by the college and students for the students to get involved with. There are frequently movies, guest speakers, meetings, and other events that are available for anyone to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options for hungry students at MATC. There is a regular cafeteria with great seating and food, there are plenty of vending machines for quick snacks, there is a gourmet dining room with fabulous cuisine prepared by the culinary students, and there is a coffee stand with lattes and pastries available throughout the day. The campus is also conveniently located for anyone who wants to go out to local restaurants for a quick bite.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MATC, but there is affordable housing in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent. There is hardly anything available at top notch schools that is not available at MATC. There are many very intelligent teachers that have transferred from large universities because of the smaller, more intimate classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour if you have any doubts. Once you get to the school, you will feel very comfortable and at home with the diverse student population and friendly staff.

    In three sentences

    The teachers seem to be very knowledgeable about their class subjects and generally care about their student's success. The tuition costs are very good for the education and there aren't any crazy hidden fees. The college also has many clubs and opportunities for student involvement.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great price but sometimes programs take awhile to complete.

    What to do for fun

    There are sport games to attend, a student lounge, an just socializing with other students.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy food options available that tastes good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not as difficult as a university but it can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and talk to different advisors and the actual college your program is in.

    In three sentences

    They have great programs and good professors. Tuition is affordable but wait lists for programs can be long. I have had some issues with the advising services.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who cant afford to go to a four year right away

    Bang for the buck

    good for transfering students, paying 4,000 a year vs 25,000 for the same classes at UW

    Food and Dining

    food is overpriced and gross, only a 10% discount for students with an ID

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty easy, go to class and do the work and an A isnt out of reach

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Meet with an advisor from the school youre looking to transfer to since the advisors at MATC arent very helpful

    In three sentences

    Good stater school. Not a good place to meet friends, older demographic of returning students. Not a good place to get involved in activities like football or basketball games.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MATC has a large presence with their security forces. The school offers a program for those that wish to go into public safety and law enforcement and there are always officers around. You can certainly feel safe at MATC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great Math Club and Chemistry Club at MATC. They bring in wonderful lecturers from all over the country.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a school for transfer students and those who are looking for high-quality technical certifications/degrees.

    Bang for the buck

    If you intend to get your 4-year degree, start at MATC. You will spend far less money for a comparable education. You may miss out on some of the college experience that comes with living in dorms but the money you are saving is entirely worth it. If you are looking for a technical degree MATC offers a few programs that are the best in the country. Specifically the Electron Microscopy program and the Bio-Diesel program are phenomenal.

    What to do for fun

    You are close to downtown Madison, there is always something to do. The school offers discounted ticket prices for the symphony, orchestra, theatrical productions, and films all over Madison. The fitness center is great with widely accessible hours.

    Food and Dining

    It's great that there is a dining area geared directly towards people with dietary restrictions. I am vegan so having great tasting healthy options available is a big deal. The Whole Bowl, as it is called, offers locally sourced organic vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, and grass-fed omnivorous options. The only drawback is the limited hours. Outside of The Whole Bowl, there are standard cafeteria foods available at multiple sites on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is non-existent at this school as it is a commuter college. This is not a bad thing in my opinion. You can save money by living at home if your family lives in the area and living in a dorm is kind of lame anyway.There are also a lot of cheap apartments around if you don't mind a bit of a commute. I find that the commute forces me to stay at school and study so that I can avoid extra driving.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the instructors at MATC are professors at UW-Madison as well. The school works very closely with MATC to make sure that the majority of courses attain a level of rigor that allows the credits to transfer to most 4-year universities. In the highly technical courses, expect a high level of rigor that you won't find at other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Some programs have long waiting periods.

    In three sentences

    MATC offers an inexpensive high-quality education with significant flexibility. You can acquire skills here that you can't get anywhere else. You'll be grateful for the lack of acquired debt that you will see when you go to MATC.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student government is promoted and is accessable to every student who wants to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to do school when they want to with online classes; there are no required login times. Great for students who want choice in classes. Great for students on a budget. Very good overall!

    Bang for the buck

    (see above)

    What to do for fun

    They have a writing contest each year and publish a journal with the entries. They also offer a gym, pool, and sports. And its also downtown so there is lots to do outside campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer both first year classes (starting with 10-) and second year classes (20-) so it is well worth the money.

    Tips for prospective students

    They can register you into class up to the day before, you can drop without paying until the day before, and they have a good financial aid process.

    In three sentences

    They offer the best program hands down for state residents to earn their first 2 years of their bachelor degree at tech college costs. They have tech college low costs (they are required by the state to hold the same cost as all other tech colleges). They have many class choices. And they have many classes online, offering 2 whole degrees online, either go with liberal arts or sciences. And they offer a complete associate degree for your completion of your first 2 years.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    *This varies greatly on which campus your classes take place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the help that is offered- from getting help to get your free Madison Metro bus pass to career path assistance- it's all there for you!

    In three sentences

    The classes within my program (Human Services) have taught me more than I thought an institution could. I've learned not only professional skills but personal skills that have improved the relationships within my life.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a note for Cappex. I left my college prep work to spend 45 minutes to an hour writing responses to all these questions. I was thorough, tried to be eloquent, and VERY happy with what I was contributing. I really NEED a scholarship. But I finished, hit the submit button and am told the server timed out. I can't possibly recreate my thoughts and at this moment am completely discouraged by this glitch. I NEEDED to study. Chose not to, to review my college only to have this happen. I now have to choose to forego the chance at qualifying for this scholarship at this time. Discouraged and disheartened.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events throughout the year to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Not a fan of the prices vs what you get.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, off campus living only.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on what you are studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get here before 7:30 a.m. or after 3:00 for good parking, or be ready to walk a while.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is newly renovated and looks amazing. Classes offered multiple times a day to meet your schedule. Student ages vary making it a fun learning environment.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are securities within the building at all times and also a number where you can reach them easily.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that can be found with Student Life: volleyball, basketball, student council, Asian club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Diverse, undecided, low income, and students with a lower GPA who wants to enroll in the Liberal Arts Transfer program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing much goes on because the Downtown campus is very small, but there are events from time to time.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very low compare to other colleges that's why I decided to attend here.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the Downtown campus and it's right next to State St. There are many restaurants and stores that you can visit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, keep in touch with your professors and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is small and easy to get to know the faculty members there. The classroom size is perfect for effective learning. I love that it is very easy to reach and talk to the professors.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security that patrol the school and perimeter.

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    You should join one. There are several available. You have lots of fun and contribute to your classmates as well as the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs and unions

    Bang for the buck

    The student center offers plenty of academic assistance to help you achieve your goals.

    What to do for fun

    I love to read and spend time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    Several options are available to please every palate.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but housing is available locally.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursesbut well worth the effort. are challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and stay focused on your goals.

    In three sentences

    This school offers a several different programs. They have a great support structure. They even offer a free health club and clinic to registered students.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the neighborhood the campus is in, is a bit ghetto, but there are a lot of security guards walking about, and normally there is always so many people around you don't have to worry about being alone.

    Greek Life

    if there is one I don't know about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a long list of clubs, I have yet to include myself in one though.

    Great for these types of students

    great for the geeky and dorky students who don't want to deal with the cliquey crap that other bigger colleges have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am still very new to the campus so I am still learning the unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    yes, the classes are expensive, but it is worth it. it is a small campus so finding everything you need is a piece of cake. Oh and there is frequently a banquet of some sort. There is even a cake banquet at the end of the semesters. They just added new buildings, and the new library is amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Our drama department is always on its toes with plays and musicals. joining in on it is very fun and an amazing experience. Or just going to watch is nice too.

    Food and Dining

    food is on the pricey side, but their fruit smoothies are the bomb! always plenty of places to sit down and the food staff is VERY friendly.

    Dorm Life

    there is not a dorm life that I know of.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not a challenging school. for the most part if you are failing your class, you are really not trying very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk and meet the people in your classes, it makes a world of difference in your education. Take a dance class there, you will have a total blast. If you want to get into a program there, get on it NOW because the waiting lists for the programs are miles long could take a year to get into one.

    In three sentences

    It is a very friendly environment. The teachers are amazing. I love how easy it is to get around the campus.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The neighbor hood is great and the campus police are constantly making rounds. I have not once felt unsafe at MATC.

    Greek Life

    You'll find it here, along with everything else.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally, I didn't participate in to many clubs or activities because I am a working student but the school provides many opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can find a spot in a class at MATC, if only you care enough to try.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The MATC campus recently added two new buildings along with an extension to the main building. Unfortunately, the two new buildings are placed in, what was part of, the student parking lot.

    Bang for the buck

    My main reason for attending MATC was because I wanted to get a feel for where I wanted to take my career. The reason I stayed is because I am saving more money here, completing my requirements, than at UW Madison.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many different activities going on throughout the semester along with different groups people can join. If by chance someone would want to play billiards, the school happens to have a few table set up in the Wolf Den, where they serve even more delicious food.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is surprisingly quite delicious. They have a few different areas where they can prepare the food immediately and most importantly, fresh. The reason I gave Food and Dining three stars is because the prices are slightly more steep and it may be more efficient to bring food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for students. I have been living in apartments my entire time while attending MATC. That being said, there are plenty of housing opportunities around the school or within convenient busing distance.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been in primarily science courses which have been more challenging than some of the general courses. That is why I am giving this section four stars. However, school is what one makes of it. If you want an easy schedule, I am sure it is possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going here, go to classes. The teachers take attendance and most stick by it. Also, don't waste your time enrolling if you don't intend on showing up to class.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a growing resource utilized by average people, looking to get a basic degree or just a foot in the door to a bigger school. It's classes are held to the same standards as other universities and can be demanding. The teachers, like everywhere you go, are a random assortment, some difficult and others... not so much.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is available all over the campus. I 'm a female and feel safe. If you need a security officer to walk you to your car, he or she will do that.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Black Student Union is awesome! Plan on joining and getting to know the members

    Great for these types of students

    Madison College is great for anyone. But if your not sure about your career path, give them a try.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Make your own!

    Bang for the buck

    Your tuition

    What to do for fun

    Fun is getting involved and hanging out with your new friends. Plenty of campus activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of food. You can dine in at the college food court or just walk within minutes from Madison College to find your favorite eating place

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms. You will have to apartment shop. Bulletin board is full of students looking for room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Select a good advisor to help you with the academic rigor. They will steer you in the right direction. Take a time management course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all of the activities going on in Student Life. Get involved and you will meet a lot of new friends. Communicate with your professor's and they will be there for you

    In three sentences

    Madison College is an awesome place for students to start out at. They are very helpful and want to help you succeed. I have had a great experience attending Madison College

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a very cost-efficient school.

    What to do for fun

    Madison is a decently sized city so there are plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not overwhelming yet enough to make sure you are ready for a 4-year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to set your priorities early for the best results.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is a great gateway college to success. It is small enough to get the attention students need, yet big enough to get that college experience. Excellent institution.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have cameras, and security guards. Ive never felt in danger on campus or walking to my car

    Clubs and Activities

    Im not currently in any clubs, but there are hundreds of clubs and different activities to join in on.

    Great for these types of students

    any type of student is welcome here

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is cheap and it gives a great start towards a 4 year degree, also easy transfer options to the UW

    What to do for fun

    I bow hunt, work, fix cars, hang out with friends, work out, and target shoot in my free time

    Food and Dining

    there are plenty of places to eat on campus and several other within walking distance to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    there is no need to live in a dorm here and there are plenty of apartment options within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be challenging, but the teachers are always willing to help. there are different places people can go for help as well, such as the tutoring center, math, science and writing center, the library and the learning center. all the help you could need

    Tips for prospective students

    The school welcomes everyone, and the advisers are good at what they do, even if your not sure what your doing here someone will be able to help you out, students, teachers and other staff are all over.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a great school, lots of diversity, friendly people and plenty of activities and clubs to join. The teachers are great, helpful and friendly. and the tuition price is manageable for anyone, with financial aid and grants available.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Vending machines and occational treats from students

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging if you are prepared to take them but the resources here to help you is incredable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with the office staff and they will help you to the best of their abilities.

    In three sentences

    I would have to say that this is a great stepping stone school for anyone who is just getting started. The staff are warm hearted people who are willing to help you in any way they can. My overall experiance here is a 9 out of 10 just because I know I will not be graduating from Madison College.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    MATC will definitely be worth the money if you put the work into it, my father graduated from MATC and got a job right out of graduation.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends, sometimes play video games, work on graphics in photoshop or for my games, g around and take pictures, but sometimes I just need to rest.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, it can be a bit expensive if you buy every day so it's best to regularly bring your own lunch, make it the night before or in the morning.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say much about dorm life, I live in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Just work at it, don't slack off, get your work done before you decide to go out to a party, it's all condensed into small sections of time, a yearly course in high-school is one semester in college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well MATC itself hasn't given me many tips but some of the people who work or have gone to MATC have outside of their work or class explained some tips to me, which is study a lot of the COMPAS test because if you take calculus but you are rusty on all your trigonometry they won't place you in calculu. There's also just generally working hard, it's mostly about just putting the work into getting your homework done and studying. Ask questions if you need to.

    In three sentences

    I would say seems like a nice school that is easier to get the work done that you need efficiently as their are not as many distractions, the classes are smaller which makes it easier to do one on one with professors.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I live in Whitewater and the MATC Fort Atkinson campus is 15 minutes away, from my small town. It is unusual for me to see such a small campus in Fort Atkinson.

    What to do for fun

    Just attending class is fun, because a lot of the professors have a great sense of humor.

    Food and Dining

    The Fort MATC is a very small campus, but there is a lot of restaurants that are close in range.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the MATC dorms. However, I heard it is a lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and don't slack. Pay attention in class. Be on time and don't miss any class sessions.

    In three sentences

    MATC has been the best thing, that has ever happened to me. It is a great school to attend. The school has a motivating faculty.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well most of my time is spent working for my internship at the Fire Department. I find that to be my passion and I can't wait to get to work everyday after I get my fine education for the day.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat while at school as well as a fine dining hall for a special evening. The food is quality and all for a reasonable price. It's nice to know that with in a few steps I can have a nice hearty meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MATC Madison

    Academic Rigor

    I can't say that MATC Madison is as rigorous as an Ivy League school. But if you're trying to complete your education in 2 years in order to transfer, then you have to take about 19 credits or so each semester. You could see how the first 4 semesters might be a little busy.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that just treat college like you're trying to achieve something. Strive for your goals and exceed your own, and others expectations. Class sizes are relatively small so i promise there will be more of a personal connection while being taught and you will learn much faster than a large University.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Madison Area Technical College. I haven't had one teacher yet that hasn't been a great asset to my education. I'm in the Fire Protection Technician program and everything has been going extravagantly so far. I couldn't have wanted to go to any other college for my first 2 years.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club. Occasionally some fun event is going on in the courtyard or cafeteria. It can be musical performances or readings.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is good. They have hot and cold food.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so it doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, the workload can be great or minor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to what your teacher says you need to do to succeed and take what they say seriously. They are there to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    The teachers really want you to succeed so they are willing to help you as much as they can. The classrooms are comfy and nice. People, in general, are very friendly.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually patrol 24/7

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons and has sports.

    Great for these types of students

    any, or who don't mind not having a campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, just research your teachers beforehand.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs and sports events.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, not a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Academic Rigor

    I did not find the classes to be academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    research your teachers beforehand.

    In three sentences

    They are inexpensive. They have a great sports program. Get what you paid for.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is one of the safest campuses I have ever been on. There was never a time when I felt any level of discomfort or concern. Great place to relax and just enjoy building your career!

    Greek Life

    Phi Thetta Kappa Clubs and plenty of associated activities such as rock climbing trips, camping trips, leadership training, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Wolfpack offers Basketball, Swimming, Baseball, and plenty of other sports right here at MATC Madison!

    Great for these types of students

    If you would like to get started on your career, but don't want to commit to a 4 year college right away, then MATC Madison is ideal. It lets you take many of the GER classes while you are still figuring out exactly what direction you may want to take. Even if you have that figured out, MATC Madison is a great place to begin.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wonderful location with access by bike, bus, car, taxi, vanpool, even walking!

    Bang for the buck

    With the level of instruction you receive for the cost, this is one of the best deals around. Since MATC Madison works with many of the other Universities in the UW Wisconsin system, if it is your goal to transfer after a year or two it this is the best way to get started.

    What to do for fun

    Down town Madison has all kinds of activities for the student with some time to kill. From the Union building terrace to State Street shopping there is always something going on, and a very diverse atmosphere keeps things lively.

    Food and Dining

    There are some great cafe's set up right in the school itself, so lunch is a quick walk away.

    Dorm Life

    While there is student housing available, I was able to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was very impressed with the classes here at MATC Madison. The software and techniques taught were based on real world experience, and the professors were very dedicated.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to get many of your first and second year GER classes out of the way while saving money. I would highly recommend you check out what this school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    This school is the best bang for your buck. Small class sizes enable more interaction with professors. Comfortable campus atmosphere with many options for transfer students.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, security is always on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and great student lead organizations to join.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many of the other technical colleges in the Madison area. Madison College offers challenging and engaging courses for half the amount than most two year colleges would offer. Anywhere from $100-$200 cheaper per credit.

    Food and Dining

    From quick snacks to gourmet style dinning, the college host a plethora of foods and snacks for all taste buds and budgets.

    Dorm Life

    There is no boarding dorms for Madison College.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are always engaging and challenging. The standards you would find at a four years institution can be found within the Madison College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry if you're not sure about major. Madison College create a open environment for exploration through education and student led events and projects.

    In three sentences

    I couldn't be more satisfied with my time at Madison College. The faculty and staff are dedicated to making sure all students have a rewarding and productive college experience.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall, the campus safety is fairly well, as there are secruity officers in the building at all times, and lockers available to students who want to keep their materials safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to choose from, allowing students to engage in activities for almost any interest! The intramural sports available offer both competitive and non-competitive leagues, allowing students to choose if they want to play recreationally or competitively.

    Great for these types of students

    Madison College is great for those who are: looking for an affordable way to pay for college, looking to return to school, seeking a two-year degree or certification, or for those who want to fit school into their work schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Downtown Madison campus resembles much of a high school setting, as the building isn't all that big, making getting to classes very quick. The only drawback to the Downtown campus is that you may have to pay for parking. The Truax Campus is the largest of all the classes, giving you plenty of opportunities to meet and socialize with others!

    Bang for the buck

    Madison College is very affordable, and is cost efficient for those who are looking to take their general credits and then transfer. Madison College is in a partnership program with the University of Wisconsin-Madison, so when you fulfill your general credits, you can make a seamless transition to one of the best universities in the nation, not to mention the amount of money you would save!

    What to do for fun

    Madison College offers a variety of clubs, intramurals, and other leisurely activities for students to engage in during their spare time.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't as many options as there would be on a four-year campus, but the quality of food is still adequate. The only drawback is that you pay for everything, which makes it resemble a more upscale food mart.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a technical college, there aren't any dorms. The city of Madison, however, is a great college city to live in if you plan to live in or by the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are less rigorous than others, but there are plenty of classes that will test you intellectually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and prepare for the COMPASS test, as this determines which classes you can/cannot take. Decide which campus works best for you and where you plan on living at. Sign up and enroll for classes early in the enrollment periods!

    In three sentences

    For a technical school, the now referred to Madison College is a great school that gives first year college students a glance at college life. Madison College has adequate resources available for every student (current/prospective) to assist them in their questions or concerns. Multiple campuses throughout Wisconsin allow students to choose which location works best for them.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty tight sometimes to tight.

    Greek Life

    no fraternity houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great you get from them what you put in.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones wanting to get in a field right away.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely great for the price.

    What to do for fun

    State street, college parties, plenty of parks, museums, anything you could think of.

    Food and Dining

    Great meals ranging from cheap fast food to fancy dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are alot more helpful then 4-year teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and attend class.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is great. They have experienced teachers as well as top notch equipment.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As to every school, almost the same, safety is one of those things we take in consideration a lot. Safety is our priority. We have something that's called Walk in partners in which we have certain students walk a student female/male to their parking/cars. We take it serious.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of their clubs/organizations are just friendly, challenging but helps one in inner self confidence and that chance to give back to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    MATC is great for students who want to have that personal feel to be taught and have one and one experience with professors and classes. Also, the size of the school, small but easy to get around. IT's perfect for students who want to have higher education, but at an affordable rate/ pay for college tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    MATC is challenging, outrageously fun, small, diverse and most of all an affordable school!

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs that one can identify with, from deca to Latin club to santa's list. I love that their activities/ clubs are like one wants them to be, familiar, friendly and that thirst to help and give to the community. Also, that opportunity to challenge oneself.

    Food and Dining

    It's great, yummy and affordable just as classes. Who wouldn't want affordable classes and food? The atmosphere is just fantastic!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just taken seriously as when you are with a University professor. MATC students studying in here, have a great level of challenge in every class they take.

    Tips for prospective students

    * Attend all classes, you actually learn, specially if planning to go to a University, don't waste it, value everything about small classes. * Have fun! * Explore in such small but right fit classes. * Take the opportunity that MATC offers.

    In three sentences

    Madison Area-Technical college has been just right for me because it's so affordable, it's like my perfect match. my mate. I mean, as students wanting to better ourselves we have to look for colleges or Universities that are, are fit, that match what we are wanting to study, not something that's probably our all time wish, but it's just too costly or not our type sort of speak. We as students have to choose our fit, our goldilocks type story theme. God bless.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am still new to the school, so I'm not really sure what there is to do for fun at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is generally very good, however, it can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Being that there are no on campus living opportunities, this question does not apply. However, I do like the separation of school life and home life that living off campus creates.

    Academic Rigor

    Although I'm sure the academic rigor depends greatly on the program in which you are enrolled, I believe that MATC has a good balance of academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to visit the college and apply early. It is also a good idea to fill out the FAFSA and apply for scholarships early on in the year in order to gain the best financial opportunities available.

    In three sentences

    Madison Area Technical College has many opportunities for all different types of students. Whether you're fresh out of college, changing careers, or furthering your education, MATC has a program for you. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a great school at a reasonable price.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems with safety.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa all the way!

    Clubs and Activities

    I good variety of clubs. The only thing Madison College lacks is a good Christian club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Walking down the hall, you see all types of faces and hear all types of languages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't been able to venture around too much, so I honestly don't know of any traditions of spots.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education with tuition that is unbeatable. You defiantly get bang for your buck here at Madison College.

    What to do for fun

    Anything. There is never a dull moment in Madison, WI. Walk downtown, go shopping, go to free concert, go the movies, go to a football games, go hiking, go canoeing, go to a political rally, go to a party, and please go to church.

    Food and Dining

    Madison College's food doesn't appeal to me. But there are hundreds of other places in Madison to choice from.

    Dorm Life

    There is no student dorms at Madison College. Students either live with parents or find roommates to share an apartment. There are many options for housing in Madison, WI.

    Academic Rigor

    Madison College is a great school for learning. You will grow and challenge yourself here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be discouraged about not having enough money to pay for school. Seek and you will find. There are many grants, scholarships, and loans out there. And don't be afraid to step out of your comfort zone to join new things and ask about services. You will be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is Great! There isn't a better city for a college then Madison and there couldn't be better tuition rates then Madison College. It is the best community college I know.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    slim

    Great for these types of students

    transfer

    Bang for the buck

    great transfer program.

    What to do for fun

    mingle

    Food and Dining

    Good but pricey.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on keeping on. Keep your head up. Don't stop beliveving.

    In three sentences

    It is up and coming. They have resonable tuition. They also have great instructors.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym, play basketball, swim. Or just hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best food in the world, and prices are a little expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Its the same Academic standard as UW Madison, but its just smaller classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes earlier as the classes get full very fast.

    In three sentences

    A great, afordable college, with very nice facilities and awesome teachers.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because of the degree courses for police work/security truax campus is never short of patrol etc. Downtown campus has no security on staff, but sends texts called the 'wolfpack alert' should there be reason to.

    Great for these types of students

    Has options for disadvantaged students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the 5th floor of the downtown campus is a dental office for students in training. The basement has a salon with amazing prices as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You can take a class you are interested in without worry of wasting a lot of money.

    What to do for fun

    Its Madison, there is always something fun to do. State street is probably the most well known option for a great time.

    Food and Dining

    Downtown campus location has limited dining options. Truax campus has great dining options.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty would depend on the course you are enrolled in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind about the future, and explore your interests.

    In three sentences

    Madison College has helped me reach new levels of higher education at a reasonable cost. My adviser has become a motherly figure to me, and is always there when ever I need her. I have received excellent training throughout the program, and will receive job placement after graduation.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Downtown and Truax are both located on busy streets, and it can be difficult crossing from the parking lot/ramps to the actual campus without almost getting run over.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have various options for clubs, I'm guessing almost anyone could find something that interests them if they are looking to join a club or participate in college activities.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say MATC could be a great fit for any type of student really, but especially non-traditional students. As a stay at home Mom and someone who has been out of school for quite some time, MATC has been the most flexible school for me and my schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable, and they have a lot of degree options.

    What to do for fun

    They have an awesome fitness center or the wolfpack den.

    Food and Dining

    I actually haven't had any of the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    MATC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that it's just hard enough to make it worthwhile and keep you on task, but as long as you stay on top of things it's certainly possibly to succeed here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the student planner to keep track of homework, and always ask your teacher if you have any questions - they are very helpful and understanding!

    In three sentences

    They have affordable options for just about any type of student. They offer a multitude of degree options whether you want to take online classes, face-to-face classes, or even telepresence classes.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am not taking part so therefore I really do not know, but I do believe there a one club for those that meet the GPA requirements.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is quite a wide variety!

    Great for these types of students

    I would that that the reasons for attendance varies widely and the age of does as well. Honestly, it is good for all students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure as I do not have much free time to take part.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors are very much qualified for the positions they teach. Also, many of them will try to avoid having students buy the book if they can to help save money.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always have something going on.

    Food and Dining

    I actually like the cafeteria food and I don't feel like the prices are too much.

    Academic Rigor

    Expectations are high but not unattainable.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's best if you can come prepared, the teachers really respect it. Also, maintaining an open communication throughout the entire semester with all your instructors will really help in the long run!

    In three sentences

    I have been almost completely satisfied with all of my teachers and courses I have taken so far. I feel like the teachers all try to teach self independence and esteem, which naturally boosts ones responsibility in completing assignments.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, school provides shuttle between campuses and shuttle from the parking lot to the campus building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Madison College offers more than 60 clubs. Conferences, social events,competitions, community service projects.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Outgoing and students who love sport.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable prices for classes and school supplies.

    What to do for fun

    So many different communities student can attend.

    Food and Dining

    Fresh good, clean cafetieres and friendly personal.

    Dorm Life

    Convenient and reasonable prices

    Tips for prospective students

    Don not skip classes. Use student services for any kind of help.

    In three sentences

    Great professors with awesome teaching styles. Very flexible class schedule. A lot of help services for students.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to meet with an adviser to plan your classes, also make sure your financial aid is processed correctly and nothing is overlooked

    In three sentences

    Is a wonderful school. The classrooms are small and you get the attention you need. The teachers are wonderful as well.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe! There is campus security that patrols the halls throughout the day & into the evening hours. They are all helpful & willing to walk you to your vehicle if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports (basketball, baseball, golf, softball, volleyball) Weight Room Lap Pool Various types of food Huge lounge room Pool table Occasional music bands

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students! The staff makes everyone feel welcome & part of the class even if some students don't feel the same way....They are open to suggestions on how to change their classes & if you struggle with something, they will assist you! But you have to ASK! :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't really have any that I can think of! Wolfie, our mascot, comes to basketball games sometimes!

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely had my bang for my buck! I have learned a lot in the field of study that I am going for & will continue to learn a LOT more until next May when I graduate!

    What to do for fun

    Volleyball Basketball Golf Softball Baseball Chill (or study) in the Lounge Eat in the Wolfpack Den or in the cafeteria Workout in the weight room Swim laps in the pool Play pool in the lounge

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but obviously a little pricey!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are provided on campus! Apartments are available near school!

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am in is tough, but I will definently enjoy my future career! Staff is willing to assist you when you need it! Don't be afraid to ask!

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early & on time! Make sure to buy everything you need before class starts! Stroll around school to find your classes, get a parking pass, look at the bulletin boards to see if any students are selling books that you might need! (They'll be cheap!!) It will be tough, but no one said college was easy! Stick with it & you will thank yourself & your teachers in the long run! Have fun & Study hard!! Don't be afraid to ask questions!!

    In three sentences

    MATC is dedicated to the students' well being and strive for them to be successful. The program I am in is tough & the teachers really push you, but they are also there to help & assist you. No matter what problem you have, MATC staff is there to assist you in any way that they can!

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Ale Asylum is just one block away. Hit it up. It's worth the trip.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good. Plenty of healthy options to go with all the cafeteria standards. And cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter College

    Academic Rigor

    It's all good, babe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive. There is a large number of students and if you don't try to stand out, you'll fade into the background.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful school for the money. Professors aren't usually Ph.D's but they have the real-world experience to make up for it.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There classes are very affordable. Although classes can be very crowded.

    Food and Dining

    All there is are a couple vending machienes.

    Dorm Life

    Reedsburg campus has no dorm. I live with my parents so it wasn't a big deal.

    Academic Rigor

    I took a cna class, so I did expect it to be not very flexable. For Example if I missed 1 day of clinical I would be kicked from the class due to there being no way to make up the lost time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check online if there is space available. The secretaries sometimes think a class is full, But someone may have dropped out leaving a space.

    In three sentences

    I was only at the MATC Reedsburg campus, I did a cna course. There prices for it were excellent. The professors are very knowledgeable

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    Greek Life

    some

    Clubs and Activities

    many

    Great for these types of students

    working, parents

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    old school buildings

    Bang for the buck

    great

    What to do for fun

    spend time with my family

    Food and Dining

    good cafeterias

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as hard as the universities but the class size is much smaller

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do and make sure to take the time for yourself so you don't overload. Always keep the instructor aware if you will be out or have a problem with an assignment. Check all the services that you have coming to you.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are more down to earth and know that life happens. The locations of the schools are in good and safe areas. I am learning a lot here.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    does well, just make sure to get a parking pass!

    Greek Life

    unsure

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Great for these types of students

    great for people who want to get into the field of work or those that want to change careers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Good education for the money you spend

    What to do for fun

    There are all sorts of groups that you can get involved with

    Food and Dining

    Good areas to eat and good fresh food to choose from

    Dorm Life

    For this College there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    A tech school is the same as a state school, except smaller class size and less money!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a student couselor right away, dont feel ashamed to ask questions, go to your professors!

    In three sentences

    Overall I have had a good experience with MATC. The staff is helpful but sometimes you get opposing information about how to go about things.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I arrived at school, I do feel safe. I have never seen anything out of the ordinary. I sometimes see security walk around the campus to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs to join, such as math clubs etc. I have not joined any but I do plan to be more involved this fall.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of student, the working student, mom, dad or single parents. You can always find a class schedule that fits into your busy schedule of work and life. MATC tries to accommodate your busy life into their schedule offering classes at many different times.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe at the price you pay for matc classes, it is well worth it. You get more credits for your money than some of the overly high priced schools and education is immaculate.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities you can enlist in, like social groups that are interesting to you. Holidays there are parties giving for you and your family. It helps money coming into the school with donations as well as teaching others about the school and its offerings with these events

    Food and Dining

    There is a small store located in the school that sales food if needed. West Towne mall is walking distance with variety if food selections.

    Dorm Life

    Matc Madison to my knowledge does not offer dorms or living on site for students. Students either have their own apartments with roommates or live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    This is the place to be academically challenged. It is a public school but offers a lot of programs and will even help with transfer if you are interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell a prospective student to only take classes you know you can handle. Studying hard will take you where you'd like to be in life. If you have time in between classes it is always a good idea to study in the library which is open at all times. There is always a librarian available and they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    I think Madison Matc is a great school. There are some teachers willing to work with you to succeed. Madison Matc can be flexible with your class schedule which is very important for family oriented students.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I love doing things with my family. I have three children with a lust for living. We spend evenings at various sporting events, and afternoons at parks or plays. Recently I started running it is a challenge and I am enjoying it.

    Food and Dining

    I am frugal so I pack my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on or near campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started my classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions.When starting the college process I hadn't been to school in over 15 years.I would be foolish to think I new all the answers,and some questions need to be answered by more than one person so keep asking.

    In three sentences

    Living in Waupun the drive is about an hour one way. Although other schools are closer, the options in Madison were much more tailored to my needs and interests.Since the school offers so many options I was able to create a full schedule that only requires three days of driving a week.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated minimalists, the financially challenged

    What to do for fun

    Go to class?

    Food and Dining

    Convenience store foods at mediocre prices. And pizza.

    Academic Rigor

    I spent more hours weekly in class than doing work out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Technical college feels a lot like high school - whether or not that is a good thing is up to you

    In three sentences

    I chose this school based on its cost and location; in those regards I am mostly satisfied. After one semester of classes I would feel my education is worth what I am paying for it. Yup.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the thousands of dollars spent on each student at a four year college, I believe I'm getting the same or even better teaching because they are smaller classes.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining are of high standard, a lot of room to sit and interact with each other. Only major complaint is that the food can be pricey.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers clearly explain each course taught, and students struggling are given opportunities outside of class to catch up. With that said, I have heard of teachers not doing much to assist and explain course documents, but I have not seen this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack on homework, that's what hits most of us the hardest. Most classes are attendance based, so don't skip to sleep in This is where you will meet lifelong friends, brush up on your social skills

    In three sentences

    Madison Area Technical College has been very easy to work with, and have had very helpful staff in getting my Army National Guard benefits. The teachers know what they are doing, and work with each student's abilities. The overall campus has a high school atmosphere, which is by no means a bad thing, students interact with each other making it a campus full of life

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. Campus security is always walking around ensuring student safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a limited amount of clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    MATC is great for students who want to get an education without paying an arm and a leg. Also, it is great for students who want a flexible schedule, lots of night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for very little money!

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is okay. There is plenty of good food choices with in driving/walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    MATC is not a very rigorous school. In most classes if you put in the effort you will get a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early for classes to get the best schedule. Shop around for your books because the campus bookstore rarely has the best deal. Also wait until after the first day of classes to buy your books because usually the teacher is okay with earlier editions which are cheaper.

    In three sentences

    MATC is a great school for the price! The teachers are helpful and knowledgeable. The classes sizes are small!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask questions if you do not understand the homework.

    In three sentences

    I love Matc everyone is very friendly and helpful. Matc is dedicated to helping their students. The classes are very good too.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch

    Great for these types of students

    Working full time Older students Students of any age

    Bang for the buck

    Shop the used book sale.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic assistance available. Up to date information. Fast paced

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to navigate registration. Wide range of classes. Affordable tuition.

    In three sentences

    Convenient modes of instruction. Knowledgeable instructors Wide range of programs.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus is safe, the area around MATC is kind of iffy. I wouldn't live around there, but you'll be safe on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who are working and going to school. They have online, hybrid, and on campus classes. Most professors will work with you if you have any problems. It's great for people who didn't do so well in high school and need to higher their GPA to get into a four year college.

    Bang for the buck

    It's so much cheaper than any university. I am paying for my education on my own, and chose to go here specifically so I could save money on my first two years.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do in Madison! It's a really active community, a lot of great bars, and friendly people. Bowling, golfing, biking, hiking - great outdoor things to do within a city!

    Food and Dining

    Food is overpriced. There are cheaper places to go eat around campus. The coffee is good, though. Your second cup is free!

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    It's great for someone looking to just get generals out of the way. They work directly with UW-Madison. Most of the classes aren't too difficult, but may be harder if you're not just there for generals but in an actual program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find places where you can look up professor ratings. There are a lot of great professors at MATC, but there are also a lot of not so great professors.

    In three sentences

    Madison College is great for those looking for small class sizes. They have a lot of great programs, and an excellent transfer program. The credits transfer to almost any university!

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was impressed with how good the classes were and how much I learned even though MATC is only a technical college.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of ways to get involved, and a lot to do on State St and around Madison, WI

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life :(

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to really research all the classes MATC offers. There is a huge variety and many different campuses to consider.

    In three sentences

    MATC has tons to offer! They have great professors, good classes and knowledgeable staff.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety are very vigilant and attentive if you are having an issue. They will escort you to the back lot if you feel uncomfortable. They are also very nice and caring.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports are a great way to meet new and motivated people to keep you on the right track. Or Individuals should get involved in the groups that are associated with their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Wolf Den is a great place to relax in-between classes or studying and then you can go to the study lounge and catch up on work if the library is to busy for you.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the best Bang For your buck. just because you aren't paying more doesn't mean your sacrificing anything in terms of your education.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of Fun things that go on on campus to help newer students feel welcome and meet new people. I know they had a comedian and Dancing, and job Fairs to help place students with jobs in there field of interests.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning at MATC is good. Many options and not everything is very expensive they give options for fast pick up for busy students.

    Dorm Life

    I have only lived off campus here but I have visited the dorms that are associated with MATC housing they are alright fair prices. The location is close to campus so transportation is not an issue .

    Academic Rigor

    In regards to the Veterinary Technician Program the standards that are maintained and up held by the students/ professors is unmatched. The product that is produced at graduation is employable which means a lot these days.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the initiative early to get to know your professor they are good assets to you. Every new student need to think of their education as a full time job because not every one has this chance and you only get to start out once. No do-overs.

    In three sentences

    I think that the specific program's are to be taken seriously and very creditable. I love the atmosphere on campus. They will give you a good support system but you need to take responsibility for your self.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    54 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    Phi Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    Great for these types of students

    Any group of students

    What to do for fun

    City of Madison has ma things to do whether you go out or stay indoors/

    Food and Dining

    Good, many options.

    Dorm Life

    None, but apt living can be expensive!!

    Academic Rigor

    Strong yet fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in touch FinAid departments. Get in touch with instructors before class starts.

    In three sentences

    Quaint, practical, intellectual @ bargain price

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Compares to other 2 year schools, they have their purpose. I would recommend that anyone thinking of starting a 4 year program start at a 2 year school for your gen ed requirements.

    What to do for fun

    School offers a variety of sports to participate in although I can't because of my work schedule.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good but expensive for what you get..

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    So far it has been what I expected. I am taking a technical course and the study demand has been on par with the class credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the library for a study location..

    In three sentences

    Reasonable priced alternative to a 4 year university. Informed teachers and staff that is always willing to help.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have campus police and security. there are cameras in many locations. i feel quite secure at this school. even with an event taking place parking overnight is mostly fine.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    mentioned earlier in detail but there are over 50 clubs from math club (which is actually fun) to culture clubs. there is a phi theta kappa chapter on campus which can really boost your career and resume. look into it if you haven't. there are many diversity and volunteer groups and activities. we also have a newspaper which really puts out outstanding writing and covers the gamut on topics. intramural sports and loads of athletic and gym offerings. we have full size pool and athletic classes.

    Great for these types of students

    commuters. people who want good education for lower cost until they transfer to 4-year degree. those seeking associate's degrees or technical degrees. if you are uncertain what you want to do get your general education courses out of the way while trying different types of classes in different fields or disciplines. older students, handicapped or disabled students.

    Bang for the buck

    the only reason why i do not give it a five star rating is because the advising is incredible poor and if they make a mistake you might be paying for it and it often is not resolved. there is a lack of follow through with the student life office as well. often promises are not kept for student support. but don't be scared as the education and concern of professors is really on a level with a university.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs, groups, and volunteer opportunities to get involved along with continuous offerings from comedians to large events with free tye-dying and food. there is also a great leadership series where we do things from caving to snow-shoeing. there is a student center with pool tables, televisions, and games. there is a athletic workout center which is excellent! with pool, ellipticals with tvs attached, and weight room. we also have zumba to yoga classes. always and event or contest happening. hard to really keep up with the events offered.

    Food and Dining

    haven't tried the gourmet dining room yet but there is that option. they do continue to improve and do have espresso shop, coffee, tea, juices and a myriad of healthy and fast food options. they often have events with great food too. however, for me i would like better options.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms. however, there are many clubs, groups, and volunteer opportunities to get involved in along with continuous offerings from comedians to large events with free tye-dying and food. there is also a great leadership series.

    Academic Rigor

    the three rating is because you get in what you put in at this college. many professors will really work with you on deadlines, will often make it quite simple for the class to succeed if they do a minimum of work and do not do curves and eliminating types of grading. however, if you work on your critical thinking and dig into the material and really want to obtain deep core knowledge then this college can be quite rigorous and gratifyingly so. you can really receive and uw-madiosn level of education but often professors here are more understanding of life circumstances and offer more flexibility than a university; especially if you are working diligently.

    Tips for prospective students

    be certain about class enrollment as you only have two weeks to swap without loosing money. take some considerable time to decide on the classes you need. best tip: find out what math and sciences courses you need and get started right away as they are consecutive!

    In three sentences

    education and professors are outstanding and provide world class education. the advising is sub-par and i recommend seeking counselors, advisers, and trusted people to help you obtain important information. there are wonderful organizations, clubs, and staff but there is also a lack congruity in the departments and it can be difficult to obtain the support you need sometimes.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 57 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security also walking and driving around although I've never seen anything to effect my safety

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS

    Bang for the buck

    Great place. I took 19 credits my first semester and it only costed me a little over 3k

    What to do for fun

    The wolfpack den. Besides that, nothing

    Food and Dining

    They have a coffee shoppe and a pizza cafe that are amazing

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher. Many are easy while lots are pretty tough

    Tips for prospective students

    Start here

    In three sentences

    Seems like the staff actually cares about you. A great starting point with the classes being smaller. Awesome decision before going to a university

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy pratical experience mixed with theory would enjoy the EET program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like math and have an interest in electronics and working hard, but in the end all hard work pays off ten fold.

    Bang for the buck

    The EET program saves you thousands of dollars with the chance to transfer to a four year college.

    Am enjoying being here

    The EET program teaches you something new everyday making the time being there very enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers in the EET program are some of the best I have encountered. These teachers really know their stuff and know how to peak a students interest.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nearly everyone I've met here has transfer plans to go elsewhere, usually to UW. If you are a student hoping to transfer, you will fit right in.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are probably going to want to eliminate your expectations for college if you go here. There is no large campus with dorms for people to congregate in and socialize, so its a bit more difficult to meet people. Also, plenty of the people you meet will be parents; A number of my classmates are teenage mothers and fathers, or older parents and grand parents. In general, despite the range of ages enrolled, the whole place is very reminiscent of high school. To be fair though, the downtown campus WAS a high school at one point, so the building itself creates an immediate mental bias.

    Bang for the buck

    Since you pay for your classes individually rather than a hefty lump sum tuition fee, you are almost sure to save money.

    Am enjoying being here

    All of my classes are at the downtown campus, so I can't speak for everywhere, but all of the faculty who I have interacted with have all been extremely helpful and nice. My fellow students are pretty nice too. The downtown campus is conveniently located only a few blocks from my apartment, which is wonderful. Walkers beware though, there are some crosswalks where cars just never stop for you. Leave with plenty of time to get stopped for a few minutes by traffic. Although I enrolled at MATC with the ultimate purpose of transferring, I am enjoying my time here so far.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently taking 6 classes and most of them are very informative and fun. I have a few where I feel like there is no reason to go to class because no information that isn't already in the textbook is provided, so essentially nothing is done in class but review. Since this is my first semester in college I have no frame of reference to know if this is unusual or not, but I don't particularly enjoy feeling like my time in class reviewing is time I could better spend doing other things. Despite the heavy reliance on textbooks, I feel like I am actually learning the subject matter. My English class in particular, as left me realizing how little I was actually taught in all of my previous high school English classes, and thus how much I don't know about academic writing. That realization is a bit refreshing.

  • 08/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking to transfer to UW-Madison, this is the best place to be as they have a transfer agreement with the university. If you are looking to transfer elsewhere, many of the classes transfer to most universities. Just make sure to check which classes transfer and which ones do not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Financial Aid. My financial aid covers all of my classes and I am a full-time student. If you are on a bus route make sure you know the bus schedules as the buses can be very prompt at times. Do not be afraid to ask for help, the tutors are very helpful.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable with the classes they offer. Taking gen-eds here are better than at a university.

    Am enjoying being here

    They are expanding throughout the Madison area, so there are quite a few campuses. The city is very livable although the downtown area can be busy at times. The nice thing about MATC is that it the campuses are in the heart of the city so it may feel like you are attending UW-Madison.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning experience is one that should not be overlooked at MATC. They offer a wide array of classes for degree and non-degree careers. There are many options, and I have learned more than I thought I would have from the teachers here.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    61 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to transfer to a university. If you want to be a fashion stylist, or basically anything fashion related best program in the state for that; however if you want to be a buyer like me you will need a four year degree you don't need to take the fashion classes but you will learn a lot about all the different jobs and its a lot of fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy a parking pass or ride the bus if you don't you will get fined. Also pack a lunch I tended to go broke when I bought the amazing pizza everyday. Get a locker they are FREE all you have to do is buy the lock it will save you a lot of heavy caring to the very far walk to the parking lot. If you are having trouble in a class go to the tutor lab they will be glad to help. I needed help on a paper and someone gladly reviewed it and helped me fix mistakes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a more expensive tech but still way more cheaper then any universities. Both of my gen eds that I took there transferred to UWO. The fashion classes that I took however did not.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed the school just not the city with my living situation being downtown to loud + no sleep - cranky person.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot from this school. I was in the fashion marketing program which I highly recommend having the teacher Betty Hurd she is the best. I learned a lot from her I even decided what I want my future to be from this class. Also my math teacher Mr. Davis was the best math teacher I had in my life he will help you if you don't understand something by coming in to his office hours if you don't want to in class. I highly recommend him.

  • 07/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for students wanting to transfer. It is also good for students looking for various associate degree and non-degree programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet your financial aid requirements, don't wait for them to tell you what you're missing. Ask lots of questions, not just for financial aid, but in class as well. Also, try not to miss too many days. I've seen plenty of classmates fall really far behind because of it. Last, but not least, remember to have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    My classes have always been worth the cost. This way I'm saving even more money when I transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    My classes are fun and interesting and there are also a lot of school and community activities to keep my interests sparked.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers I've had are really great and they are always there to help. My teachers have not only given me useful tools for my career, but they also make class interesting so it's easier for me to learn.