Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Manchester Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/07/2017

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This college is amazing! I went to there open house and everyone is so friendly, nice, and extremely helpful. I can't wait to attend MCC!

  • 01/12/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are reliable, and keep us all safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many different clubs you can join! They also always have something going on!

    Great for these types of students

    Busy students who work as well as go to school, new college students, first semester college students, people who want to go back to school as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fireside commons is a great place to go and study, its located in a room inside the library that has a huge fireplace and nice couches and lounge chairs, as well as desks. This place is great for studying, no one is allowed to talk in there!

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, great payment plans!

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs you can join, and they always have something going on to take part in. Whether it be concerts, performances, events held at MCC on Main. It is a lot of fun, there is always something!

    Food and Dining

    They have great choices for food, all different kinds!

    Dorm Life

    You can not dorm here, for it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here push you, but in a way where you do not feel overwhelmed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Here at MCC I recommend going to your professors for help if you are stuck, or need help in the work assigned. They are really very helpful, and are willing and want to help!

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is an amazing school. The staff and professors are so friendly, and they push you to become the best you can be. The professors are all very helpful, and willing to help you succeed!

  • 01/11/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police department on campus so there are usually no threats.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several varieties of clubs such as: Honor Societies (Phi Theta Kappa) Music Club Spanish French club And many more...

    What to do for fun

    I'm mainly in the practice room playing the piano for other students and sometimes professors.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is very delicious. It could be healthier though.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes are very challenging but it all comes down to time management. Students who fail to manage their time wisely are bound to do badly in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine your goals for college and after college. Stay focus and work towards those goals. Seek all the help from the college in your academic pursuit. Study hard and do your best.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is supportive of each student's goals in life. The professors are willing to help both in and outside of the classroom. The students also help to motivate each other.

  • 08/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Join Phi Theta Kappa

    What to do for fun

    Yoga, gardening, diving.

    Food and Dining

    Never tried it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend a community college to keep the cost of education low, but at the same time getting quality education.

    In three sentences

    Great teachers, the college looks really nice, friendly atmosphere. The classes can be on ground, hybrid or online. Lots of perks offered to the students.

  • 02/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School is safe!! on campus security.

    Greek Life

    Phi Keta for honors students

    Clubs and Activities

    Habitat for Humanity, Student government and many more..

    Great for these types of students

    Those unsure of what they want to do in life. Stidents looking to get prereqs done for lower cost, students still transitioning into the college life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a farmers' market. They have a sister's to sister and brother to brother program for minorities, although all is welcomed, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC is a great cmmunity college. Due to its great programs and courses offered, there are students from all over CT. Theey have many agreements with other colleges sucha s UCONN for the GAP program and is really helpful. It just depends on you exploring the many options they have and using it to your advantage.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activites on campus such trips to new york, conventions, and mcc birthday bash; but not much to do otherwise.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome food choices. A lot of variety from fresh veggies, to deli, and more. Students can request for options on the school website. However, wished they had gluten free choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher and subject, classes can range from easy to difficult. You can achieve an A if you put in the time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend being mindful and getting to know the faculty members more because it can lead to opportunities and job offers on campus. They have tutoring center, free tax refund assistance, workshops to help you build your resume and, and never try to self advice, seek guidance counselor, and there's scholarships each semester. Join a club and apply for FASFA!!!

    In three sentences

    There is diversity on campus, but a majority is mostly african americans and hispanics. You can be really successful and make a transition if you network and get involved. Always ask for help when you need it, it sure helped me a lot!!

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do offer several cafes and many vending machines for your convenience.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this school

    Tips for prospective students

    The work load is decent and the teachers are firm but flexible. If you have a hard time focusing on school, commute to a community college for you first year to test the waters. Try college out before you go spending thousands of dollars on a four year school when you don't know what its like or if school is for you. If you have any doubt in your mind about going to college, try this school first, you will be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is a spectacular way to start off your college career. Right out of High School, College can be a scary thought, but the staff and professors at this establishment understand this and will work with you every step of the way. They respect and realize that community college students do work, have families, and usually a full school schedule and are willing to help in any way the can to make your experience the best it can be.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to live near school and away from parents check out http://www.aspencommunities.com/apts-manchester-ct-aspen-woods/

    In three sentences

    Excellent school and great teachers. I had a great time here.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    part time and full time both.

    Food and Dining

    good food worth paying hard earned money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time & Stay awake in classroom. Take your education seriously. GPA is very important so keep it up.

    In three sentences

    I had a wonderful experience, Great instructors. Flourishing community,Help you to achieve your goals.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus before. There are security guards throughout the school and surveying the parking lots.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you take classes with good teachers, you are absolutely getting your moneys worth.. But if you decide to take a class with a bad teacher, you will not be getting your moneys worth.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafe and vending machines. vending machines are not overpriced, however I have never eaten at the cafe.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken, although there is a decent amount of homework, as long as you keep up with the homework then you should be able to keep up with the class itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you submit all of the necessary documents before applying. You should write out a check list because when there is a hold on your account, you can not view that the actual hold is for. I had to drive to MCC just to find someone who could tell me what was missing.

    In three sentences

    4 stars. I am impressed by the diversity. I am also impressed by the amount of artwork displayed throughout the school; it encourages creativity.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    National Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Working, busy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid hopefully gets you covered.

    What to do for fun

    MCC often offers student trips, I went to a Celtics game for $20 with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    2 Food courts, and vending machines in all places.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorming

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome library, very useful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get books online, not in bookstore, very expensive!

    In three sentences

    Awesome, great school to get on your feet, flexible classes, nice people and faculty.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe when I am on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not actively participate in clubs but from my friends who do, I hear they are great and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended three semesters so far and have had to pay $0 in tuition. I was even able to get my book paid for. This next semester I was not as lucky, but the price is nothing compared to big named schools.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited services because it is a community college, but the staff is always friendly.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college, there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    College is meant to challenge you, just because this is a community college doesn't make it any less difficult then a four year private college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a bunch of random classes and from there find your niche. It took me a year before I found my passion. Now I am working with my professor and learning more than I ever have. The professors here want to help you learn and succeed.

    In three sentences

    If you take advantage of the classes offered and working with your professors this will be one of the best experiences of your life. It is unlike any other school. If you are willing to put in the work you will be rewarded.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent they make sure that all of the students feel safe going to school each day and if something happens they will take care of it. It is a very safe campus and very rarely does anything major happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that students can join with a vast amount of interests that could fit any student type.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for really any type of students may they be social butterflies or people who would rather read a nice book in the corner to the library along with studying for their exams. It really is what you make it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't many traditions that are upheld at the school except for the annually spring arts and music festival that is held where all the music groups of the school perform for the patrons and also there is the Evening of Fine Wines which is a fundraiser for the school where there is food and live music and also a wine tasting it is a bit pricey but it is worth going to alot of different people in power come to support the school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth more than what people pay for tuition because of the quality education students receive at the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot that students can do for fun if they want to drive a little ways. Manchester Community College is about 5 minutes from Buckland Hills Mall where there are many different shops to go to, restaurants and also Rave Motion Pictures is in the same are so students can go see a movie if they want to.

    Food and Dining

    The food is limited because all of the students are commuters and are coming from their own homes so there is no dining plan. Depending on where students go on the campus they can get very good food but there are not a lot of healthy options for students looking to watch what they eat. But if students have transportation at their disposal they can easily go off to one of the many restaurants around campus to get something to eat if the food at the school doesn't catch their eye.

    Dorm Life

    It is a commuter campus with no dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is excellent and the teachers are dedicated to having the students learn. They challenge you with as much as they feel you can handle and they want their students to succeed and go on to bigger and brighter things and be successful. Students definitely have to work hard in order to get the grades and just can't slide through school much like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep up with school work and work hard, sure Manchester Community College might be just a 2 year program but other universities take highly into account the work that is done by student. But also don't have the schoolwork pile up and consume your entire social life a student needs to find a balance between the work and play and have fun because they are in college and in the real world.

    In three sentences

    There is a beautiful open campus. Students are the friendliest people you could ever meet in the diverse student body. Faculty will do anything to help a student succeed.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are so friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Make the library your home until the year is over that way you are acclimated with what it has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely an investment!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are fun, so is doing homework. They offer lots of homework to students.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a bit pricey, buy it at your own risk!

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuters college.

    Academic Rigor

    Better than what most universities offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak up to you professors. They encourage communication with their students.

    In three sentences

    I believe this is a great school where you can definitely get a university education for such a cheap price. I have benefited quite a lot from this school and I hope to serve this school one day as a role model for other students.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always walking around and making sure students are safe. It's a comfortable atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Join some of the clubs, and participate in the activities. If you want to learn where and how to find them then just visit the student activities office or ask a student!!

    Food and Dining

    The food at MCC is great, the cooks are wonderful. I recommend getting there just before 11 a.m. to get freshest of the fresh.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have a dorm but the atmosphere at MCC once you've learned to get to know a feel people is great, especially in the Cougar Cave.

    Academic Rigor

    If you want good grades you need to work hard, and the teachers don't expect C+ work from any student. They strive for A+ students, and you should strive to achieve it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend scheduling a campus tour, and visiting all the hidden corners of the school like the computer lab located upstairs near the math and english labs. Along with the art wing, and gallery located below.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College welcomes all ages, and ethnicities. It is an open community for learning, and provides many opportunities.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms which is not that good but the school is worth the drive.

    In three sentences

    Manchester community college is a great school. in my one year there i loved it and plan to continue there for my culinary degree. it is beautiful with great teachers.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is 5 star.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sister 2 Sister

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of student...young and older, from all walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student activities celebrate all cultures. We always have an opportunity to learn about how our classmates celebrate life.

    Bang for the buck

    Tutuion is affordable and payment arrangements are available.

    What to do for fun

    Work out at the gym. $25 for the year. Amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus only

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum's are tough and demanding requiring 100 percent attention and focus. You will find yourself in a jam if you don't seriously participate in your education. Even so, there are tutors, programs, advisors and resources at your disposal if you find yourself in a jam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all resources, tutoring and counseling offered immediately when struggling. Don't be reluctant to ask for help during hard times. Waiting until the last minute to seek assistant may cost you.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is a greatly diversified two year school that provides the greatest assistant and the best resources to non-traditional students as well a traditional students education.

  • 10/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere you go you can spot campus police. They are constantly watching out for the students. They also help with traffic in the parking lots when students can't find parking spots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for students to take part in the clubs. They have everything from criminal justice club to hip hop dance club to knitting club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who either one) is not a big university person and prefers smaller rooms or two) is saving up to transfer to an university

    What to do for fun

    There is a circle in the middle of the village where people sit on the benches or in the grass and hang out with friends. Groups of people are always seen playing football or hacky sack in this circle as well. There are also a variety of clubs available to students.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty great. There are two cafes (The Cougar Cave and the AST tower cafe). Both have different choices of hot or cold foods as well as different kinds of drinks. They open pretty early and are open late for late classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are very advanced. Every teacher has a passion for what they teach which helps students become more involved in that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to go to this college then make sure you care about what you're learning. Teachers here can tell when a student is really trying or is just going through the motions of being in class.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very advanced and close community college. Every teacher that works here truly cares for each and everyone of their students. The students here are also easy to get along because we are so close in a classroom.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are sports teams, clubs, and working on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is kind of expensive there, but it tastes pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at MCC.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some very educated teachers here...Like the ones you'll find at any University.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend this college, make sure you stay on top of your financial aid because it is a long process. You should also try to make friends so they can help you with any problem you come across.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is a place where you can get a good quality education for less money. The professors here have nothing but your best interest at hand. You will truly learn something here.

  • 09/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    joining clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    just ask for help, when you need it.

    In three sentences

    clean, friendly, professional

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple campus police officers visible at any given time. There is a magnet high school on campus, so the security has to be very good to assure the safety of the high school students. There are emergency call boxes located throughout the campus, and the campus police presence is easily noted.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure if there are any fraternities or sororities on campus. I never had an interest in them, so I never had a need to look into if there were any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know there are different clubs on campus, but the only one that I am familiar with is the administrative professionals club. I was member for a couple semesters, and co-president for one semester. (My schedule changed and was no longer able to attend meetings and had to resign.) But. I do know that there are clubs on campus. As for activities, I am not too familiar with them, as I am not on campus other than to attend class.

    Great for these types of students

    This college would be great for students who have just graduated high school and still aren't sure which direction to take. It is also an excellent institution for those who work full time, or have other full-time obligations, such as children. It is a great place for students to earn credits towards a four-year degree at a two-year degree degree price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not seen anything other than the farmer's market that is held at the Band Shell on campus. A little local garden has been started on campus recently, as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly reasonable, especially when compared to the universities and larger colleges in the area. Although textbooks are still outrageously priced, there's not much of a difference from any other institution. The scholarship foundation is very generous, as long as it receives generous donations from local organizations.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't been able to spend more time on campus looking for extra curricular activities, but there are always fliers advertising something that is going on.

    Food and Dining

    Prices are reasonable, and most of the items are tasty and healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply; there is no on-campus housing. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic policies are quite strict, but in general, the academic rigor of the professors can vary; some are strict, while others can be rather lenient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that before the semester starts you locate your classrooms on the campus map, and, if possible, actually go onto campus and look for the rooms before the first day of class; the campus can take some time to learn. If you drive, you want to get to the campus about a half hour before your class starts, in case you need to wait for parking.

    In three sentences

    MCC has a very student-focused atmosphere. The campus is very beautiful and accommodating. The faculty and students are generally friendly and respectful.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Manchester Community College has their own dedicated police department! These full-time officers keep the peace and provide for a safe learning environment. I also learned by experience that they're willing to help with your school projects :)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are platy of different clubs all around campus. Its rare to walk around the campus and not see anything going on. Each club seems to be both already well represented, and accepting towards new members.

    Bang for the buck

    For the cost of tuition and classes at MCC, you get some of the best instruction and professors around. Many of the prof.'s here are also instructors at other universities, such as Central Connecticut, University of New Haven, and even Yale! So don't be afraid of the part-time professors.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cougar Cafe at MCC was surprisingly tasty! Don't forget to try the sandwich shop!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at MCC aren't your typical community college level of difficulty. The professors expect their students to work. However, they are also understanding when things come up, and realize that the students have a life outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get all of your financial aid sorted out early in the year, or as soon as possible. There's always a huge line at the Fin. Aid Office. Also, the Rec. Pass is totally worth the $25 if you're at all sporty, or just looking to hit the gym!

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College was surprisingly one of the most professional and high-quality institutions I have ever had the privilege of being associated with. With only one exception, every professor was top-notch. I enjoyed my time there more than I could have ever imagined.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are 2 cafeterias with multiple vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer room and board

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but allows for success with free tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit their academic advisers when a student meets any difficulty.

    In three sentences

    This school is extremely helpful for students searching to complete a higher education with a low income. They offer free tutoring services with knowledgeable teachers. Also, this school makes transferring to a 4-year university easy with an extremely knowledgeable advising staff.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of anyone getting robbed or hurt. Police are always present and very friendly.

    Greek Life

    None that I saw.

    Clubs and Activities

    Poetry club is great. Bible club is pretty good as well. You can go to the Office of Student Activities anytime to check a plethora of clubs and activities all available to you for a meager student activities fee paid at the beginning of the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types really. If you want to get in and get out to get on with your life, its very easy to do that as academic programs are laid out very well for you. If you want to chat, make friends, or even have research opportunities, its all available there.

    Bang for the buck

    Professors are really top-notch; several have doctorates, have been in multiple careers, and are extremely patient with teaching. Very unlike a lot of professors at 4-years.

    What to do for fun

    Many intramural activities you can do as well as a pretty decent gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. When in doubt, go for the pizza...or the wraps, or the chef-prepared entrees, or...okay just go have lunch and enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, though it is a possibility in the near future that is widely speculated about.

    Academic Rigor

    It certainly doesn't feel like grade school, and you can achieve an excellent grade while still knowing that you are prepared to enter into University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take the school lightly because it is a community college. Stay on top of all your tasks as you would in any other academic setting. Stay focused and you'll do fine.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College is what a community college is supposed to be: affordable, accessible, and academically achievable. The professors are top notch and likely teach or are professors elsewhere, adding to their reputations. And the food is not half bad either. :)

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are everywhere and there is an MCC Police office as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    A huge variety of activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students and commuter students, as well as allied health students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the art galleries!

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable tuition prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are many student clubs and organizations here. Also, there is a fitness center and after school activities such as art shows, plays, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    A cafe and vending machines offer tasty food at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program you are in, it can be very vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit your FAFSA as soon as possible and make sure your forms are all completed before registering for classes.

    In three sentences

    Manchester Community College has a beautiful recently remodeled campus. The campus staff are very friendly. The teaching staff takes their jobs seriously and is willing to help in any way they can.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus life is the bestvery one is real chill and done to earth.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have all types of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for people who cant afford to go to a 4 year school. also for people who want to start off at a 2 year school.

    Bang for the buck

    really inexpensive

    What to do for fun

    special events all the time.

    Food and Dining

    great food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    doesnt have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its great

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Take advantage of all the that help that is offered.

    In three sentences

    They have wonderful teachers. They have a great academic support center. The class sizes are small which is very good.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing with lots of choices. I would say there is something that would appeal to anyone.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Though some classes feel like a joke I believe I learned more in one semester at this school than I did when I was at a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your work and study even if there isn't a test the next day because it makes studying for a test easier.

    In three sentences

    There are good teachers but the relativity with some is tough. The course work is fun. All the faculty and students are very welcoming and friendly.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always security guards walking around and their office is easy to find. they are friendly but still enforce the rules.

    Bang for the buck

    it's inexpensive and you still get a great learning experience. if you're tight on money this can be the place for you to start. you'll save a ton.

    What to do for fun

    this school has a few things for fun. you can workout in the weightroom for a small semester fee or play basketball in the gym. there are also clubs and lounge spots just to hangout.

    Food and Dining

    i was surprised here. i thought the cafeteria food would be gross but i tried it and loved it. the wings are to die for.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here. must commute back and forth to school.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are just like any other school. challenging but simple enough if one gets their work done. smaller classes than universities so you can get more one on one time with the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    register as early as possible. if you're in danger of missing the deadline don't panic. come in and talk to the faculty. they're very helpful and make things a lot easier.

    In three sentences

    mcc is an amazing school. the instructors are very helpful and want to help students succeed. the design and decor of the institute is beautiful. there are man places to relax and get your work done, with help or alone.

  • 08/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    self driven, low on cash

    Tips for prospective students

    financial aid office is worse than waiting at the DMV but definatly worth it

  • 02/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students, older students, people who aren't sure what to major in, people unable to afford university classes or living expenses elsewhere, students not quite ready to leave home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the clubs, stay in contact with your teachers and classmates, and bring a map.

    Bang for the buck

    MCC is great almost PRIMARILY because you get an excellent education and all of the perks of a university for a fraction of the cost. MCC is rapidly becoming one of Connecticut's top community colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love MCC's campus. For a community college, it's fairly large and the buildings themselves are beautiful; a great learning environment. The library is huge and has so many resources. There's even a fitness center you can sign up for, in addition to the growing number of clubs and groups. School isn't boring here!

    Am learning a lot

    After just a little more than one semester here at MCC, I've been enrolled in eight classes. Some of these subjects I've never had the privilege of taking before (like Ceramics), and I learn so many new things. Other subjects I've taken previously and never understood (like Algebra), but I receive a lot of help in terminology I understand from teachers that actually care. Overall, the education here at MCC is fantastic and I really appreciate the quality of

  • 12/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Manchester Community College is great for any type of student. Students who are looking to save money early on in their college career will appreciate MCC the most. MCC gives you a university education, without the large university cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students: Just because MCC is a community college does not mean it is easier than any other university. Come to class prepared and expect to work. Show up early to find a parking place and at least bring a piece of paper and a pencil. Community college is not easier just because it is a community college. Take your higher education seriously.

    Bang for the buck

    After I used 2 scholarships after high school, I paid for MCC on my own as a part/full time employee of a small grocery store. Anyone can pay for MCC's tuition as long as they can budget their money and apply for financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since it is a community college, there are many people coming and going all the time. It is hard to meet other students and maintain new friendships since schedules change every semester. Other campus' have student centers or buildings just for commuters to feel welcome. Well MCC is an entire commuter campus, some days it's hard just to find a parking space, let alone a table to study at.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Manchester Community College are great. Many of the professors that I've had for general education classes and for specific social services classes are extremely informative, organized, and all around great professors.

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for anyone. They have clubs devoted to each kind of race or nationality. The school also has many events that goes on around campus. When it is warmer, they have little concerts, for the people who enjoys music and being around people, and the school has a quiet study center for the types of students who enjoys resting, having peace, and getting a little work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to stay in the area because you do not want to lose your job, or you just don't have the resources to go to an out of state university, MCC is a great college to go to. It is inexpensive and near restaurants. You can make a lot of new friends, and build relationships with your professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I did not have to come out of pocket for school. The school offered me a generous amount of financial aid. The money that you do not use can either go into a direct deposit account, or you can receive a check back in the mail. The school is a little pricey when it comes to cafeteria food, but it is all worth while.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being on campus. The atmosphere is great and the students are friendly. The staff is very helpful. MCC is a great place to hang out and get some work done at the same time. It's very fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors actually care about your education. They offer to help students outside of the classroom by sending e-mails, setting up office appointments, and giving 1-on-1 help with the students in the classrooms. I am learning many new skills at MCC. It's a great school overall.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For a community college, I love it, the atmosphere is pretty good, the kids are laid back, the library is amazing- hence I study way too much! The professors are awesome and they will always be a friend when you need advice, help with school, and a person to fall back on. Build relationships, because it'll help in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    I find that ratemyprofessor.com, or grademyprofessor on myspace helps big time when trying to find the right professor for your class. I also google up the professors name to read and hear what people have to say. When you have a good professor you tend to learn so much better.