Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Merced College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/28/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have seen the school and my cousins daughter goes here school told me that it's a pretty f*k school and so of the people that work their they are mean and nasty their. If it were my kids I won't not send my child to this college. And the staff that work their they don't care about the students they don't give enough resources to the students.

  • 09/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the Los Banos campus, there is security constantly patrolling the grounds which makes you feel safe. If something does happen then there are teachers or staff that are close by to get a hold of something if one of the security guards are not available.

    Greek Life

    There is the library, computers, and the student lounge for those that like to keep to themselves while studying.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the Los Banos campus, there are meetings held for clubs from time to time. could use some more clubs though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    for such a small campus, there are meeting held from time to time but the advertising for the meetings or important information is super good.

    Bang for the buck

    At the Los Banos campus, the teachers are willing to help you when you need help and they care about your success in the class. The classes are filled with information, so definitely worth the buck.

    What to do for fun

    At the Los Banos campus, there isn't much for entertainment between classes. The is the lounge, the library or sitting outside. You can always talk to other students or leave campus.

    Food and Dining

    At the Los Banos campus, there is no cafeteria. Just the local taco truck that sells on the campus sometimes and a lounge with vending machines with super small snacks.

    Dorm Life

    For the campus of Los Banos there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load isn't so bad that you won't ever have a life until you graduate. If you know how to manage your time when it comes to homework and other things then you will be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you write down all the information about how to get into contact with your teachers. Make sure you also do everything to be as successful in that particular class.

    In three sentences

    It has what you need to succeed or to get you on your way to succeeding. The only thing you need to do is ask!

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security around campus. Some walk around or are in their office. If you need help they are around. Merced college has emergency boxes around the campus and as soon as you press it, they're there for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers a lot of clubs for certain majors or certain types of people. The clubs have some nice and cool people. Joining clubs can really help to pass your classes or to better understand your major

    Bang for the buck

    You have to figure out what you want to do in life or you will be here longer than needed. Get your educational plan ready and pass classes.

    What to do for fun

    I have no idea what the college offers that is considered fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is alright. There are some good dishes but they're pretty expensive. The cafeteria is not that big and is usually crowded. Some rooms are louder than others which makes eating there not so fun or relaxing.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm and I do not hear much about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The homework can be difficult but as long as you ask for help, it should be fairly easy. Some teachers have some easy homework but then again where is the challenge in that. Depending on your class, you may get a lot of homework. It's best to do homework before it's due instead of procrastinating. Some exams are hard which is why you must study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's smart to always take good notes. Before exams, rewrite notes so the information stays in your head. Do not skip class. Although it may be easy to just not go, it's important to always be there. Make friends with your teacher. Most of the teachers here are amazing and being more friendly with them can help you in the long run. Go to ratemyprofessor.com to find which teachers are the best. Never take teachers for granted and always ask for help when needed.

    In three sentences

    Merced college is a decent college. A lot of the teachers are good and are able to help when needed. Merced college is a good stepping stone towards your bigger goals in life.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is honestly nothing to do for fun in Merced. Most go to Fresno or Modesto for things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Just ok. A bit too expensive. Cheaper just to go off campus for better food.

    Dorm Life

    A commuter school, as most junior colleges are.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were difficult (math and sciences, but hey, I'm an English major), but no matter what subject, professors were always willing to help. They were almost always accessible, either over email or in office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that interest you. Most elective classes count towards either transfer or graduation (or both), and it's a good way to figure out what you really want to major in.

    In three sentences

    The best choice for a junior college I could have made. Close to home, able to get out on time, not impacted. I'm glad I decided to stay to get my AA.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to hang out with friends, spend time with family, and also study with a group of friends.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Merced College tries its best to meet their students needs and has a variety of classes at times you are comfortable with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get a certain class apply immediately classes get full pretty quick.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a small campus but is beautiful. There are a lot of classes to choose from. Most of the students attending Merced College are very nice and friendly.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is not only security on campus, but also policemen. The Merced Campus is kept safe by the Merced PD and the Los Banos Campus by the Los Banos PD

    Greek Life

    There are two (so far as i know) Greek societies (one of which i am a part of) and those are the Alpha Gama Sigma Honor Society and the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join.

    Bang for the buck

    It only costs about $45 per unit, but they do accept the BOG fee waiver. Books are pricy.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and organizations to join. The social science club for example; goes on field trips throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a dinning area and food services, but the Los Banos Campus does not.

    Dorm Life

    As a community college there is no on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Academia is highly valued here at Merced College, especially if you are a part of any clubs, organizations, or programs available. If you do not keep a c average you can be put on academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the various programs available to you here at Merced College because they will be helpful throughout your education here, and in the future.

    In three sentences

    Merced College has been a pleasant experience for me. They have a variety of professors and staff that are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The classes offered are very diverse, and interesting to study.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The usual things you'd expect

    Food and Dining

    Good food near and on campus

    Dorm Life

    I live near by

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough but it is collge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your educational plan ASAP.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is committed to our education. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The school is not over populated

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    never even heard of a problem

    Greek Life

    very little

    Clubs and Activities

    everything you can think of

    Great for these types of students

    ones who want to make something of their lives

    What to do for fun

    main street is full of everything

    Food and Dining

    food every where and fun on main street

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take a semester off push trough it you will be happy you did

    In three sentences

    i rate this college very highly. instructors are nice and willing to work with you. and financial aid is easy to obtain

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gun range in the next town north of Merced. There is a movie theater, and lots of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Taher runs a clean, professional business.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your financial aid and assessments early!

    In three sentences

    A small, personal school centered in Central California. The professors are friendly, and approachable. The campus is clean and friendly.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, there are police officers on campus in case of problems.

    Greek Life

    There is an honors sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite an array of options to choose from, one should be involved!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money going to a community college and enjoy a smaller school population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore prices are fair

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or student government. The mall is a mile down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and the prices aren't too expensive. The cafeteria is a popular place so expect some people to be there usually all throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's difficult enough to keep you on your toes, but there's no reason for you not to pass the classes when you have every resource necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get acquainted with your professors, take advantage of their office hours. Make friends with people in your classes for notes or assignments when you miss class.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school easy enough to navigate around. The teachers are friendly and want you to succeed. There are many different clubs and organizations to chose from so one should be involved.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I talk to friends. However for those interested, there is a game room in the student union(cafeteria).

    Food and Dining

    There is good food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned exactly what the course describes in its criteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all the prerequisites you need before trying to enroll in a course.

    In three sentences

    Some areas are actually rather attractive to the eye. As far as I have experienced, the professors are good teachers and easy going people.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems pretty safe but unfortunately the campus police aren't the nicest people

    Greek Life

    Greek life doesn't exist on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs here

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are trying to save money up to transfer to a bigger college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't go into the tv room in the cafeteria. It smells like sweat and body odor.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap since its a community college

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright. Service can be a bit slow. One spot of the cafeteria smells horrible

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms on or off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Its not the hardest but it also isn't the easiest. Just have to stay focused

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the services provided to you such as study central. It will help you tremendously if your struggling in a class.

    In three sentences

    Teachers abilities here range from excellent to just not knowing what the heck there doing. The campus is a fairly nice campus. Very easy to pay for.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria open late for those with evening classes due to work. Catch a quick dinner before or after class for energy.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been on probation due to my own fault. Now as a returning student with a 3.43 GPA I can say that most general education classes are very simple and similar to those taken in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that if you are taking evening classes, arrange for a few days to be able to present yourself physically when dealing with administration conflicts.

    In three sentences

    The library is open late, which is helpful to us who have day jobs. However most administrative offices are unavailable after 4 pm, which is an inconvenience for us with jobs with regular business hours. However contacting them by e-mail is a great resource and you can expect both administrative office as well as professors to reply in a timely manner.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent way to knock out general education courses.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs on campus and concerts to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time! Do not put it off.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the amount of sections offered for each class. It has been very easy to get into the courses I need. A nice experience overall.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangnout in the cafeteria and friends, also hand ball courts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep pushing for your goals, because it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Merced junior college does its best to provide there students with the knowledge needed to become successful in their carreer or major. Students and staff work together to make a postive change for merced and its growing community. So we work together to help grow and make merced a better place to live.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sometimes I didn't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Depending on the major.

    Clubs and Activities

    All. I'm not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone is welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing. People aren't really that involved. Its a commuter school.

    Bang for the buck

    Normal price range of 6-10 dollars.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. It's a boring town.

    Food and Dining

    Could improve on the dining. I recommend to eat off the campus site.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major of your choice. Science major is pretty demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    A wonderful choice of schooling.

    In three sentences

    It offers a lot of great opportunities for students. It provides amazing professors and career paths for people planning to apply.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe on this small campus. There is a hot line and campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Merced College has great Honor Societies that are in the community and other choices of clubs from International Club, History Club, and Geology Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who have not chosen the UC or CSU path right away, but want to transfer instead and stay home for the first two years or more. or those who not sure what they want to do. A lot of areas to adventure and gives time for them to find out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Middle of North Merced in the background is farm land and mountains. Close to Yosemite and Mariposa for a weekend getaway if you choose and a Lake.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you save more money attending Merced College than another college due to how much you save on dorm fees, tuition which is reasonable, and books.

    What to do for fun

    Merced College has a lot of clubs like honor societies and club activities. There is rush week, and classes activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. There's a variety of dishes between pizza, sandwiches, and asian dishes. Good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes range from Math to Gardening. There is a lot to choose from, but I have found that I was always being challenged in my classes. Just because Merced College is a community college don't think you can slack-off. These is not a high completive atmosphere here, but if you are a serious student who wants to succeed and transfer every class has its mountains and hills.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do is to go to admissions and start an Ed Plan (a form that corresponds the classes with the school you hope to transfer to). It will save you time and money in the long run. Meet with the transfer counselor right away for him to help you with the process. He is very nice and helpful. Every semester meet with him to make sure you are taking the classes you should be taking-rather be CSU or UC. Beware, make sure you are taking classes that fulfill your UC or CSU general Ed, the Merced College general ED, YOUR MAJOR REQUIREMENTS, AND YOU'RE A.A REQUIRMENTS! That's a lot to think about but it's the truth if you want to graduate from Merced College and that why I advice you do your research about the school and see your transfer counselor every semester. If you don't want to graduate from Merced College and get an A.A and transfer you still can but meet with the counselor :-)

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a great opportunity for Students who have come out of High School and decided to stay close to home for the two years and then transfer. I have found the experience an advantage in cost, personal growth, and school smarts. I have learned a lot going to this community college in how to study through workshops, transfer ideas due to the great transfer staff, and clubs for activities. I will take what I have learned from Merced College to my University when I transfer.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have plenty of officers on site that take care of students' needs and there is plenty of lighting for the night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs on site but I do not feel that it is a big part of Merced College.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting a quality education at Merced for what you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Other than what is on campus, there is not much to do in Merced.

    Food and Dining

    Just average cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    Currently their is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that Merced College is not over challenging and not too easy. It is a well rounded school with many options.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending Merced College, be your own advocate in your education.

    In three sentences

    Merced College has been a great school to attend because it has been a great place to start my path to becoming a nurse. They have helped me in every way except when it has come to financial aide: they did not do a very good job giving me all the information I needed to pay for school. the teachers at Merced College are awesome also.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Merced College provides students with beverages and healthy food like sandwiches and salads at a reasonable price. Health is an evident priority in this college and no junk food is available, but if you are craving a snack there is restaurants available nearby. Food is made accessible to students and it is easy to reach the cafeteria that is located near all classes in the middle of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Merced college. The town is small and no dorms are needed. Although if rooms are needed there are plenty of friendly homes in town that are willing to rent a room to a college student.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone knows that college isn't going to be easy and that effort is needed to achieve your goals. Here at Merced college that load is lessened with programs like tutoring and counseling. Sacrifice is necessary but the education is essential for everything now, whether its a job or socializing. Here at Mercedes college all of the knowledge, support, and academic strive is here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you`re interested in enrolling to Mercedes College you should know that it is located in a friendly town and that there is a lot of programs to help you out with school stuff. The teachers are nice and dedicated they will work with you and make your classes enjoyable. So if yours looking for a small town to go to school and really concentrate in your goals, this is the perfect school for you.

    In three sentences

    The campus at Mercedes College in Los Banos is new and the administration seems like they`ve been there for years. All the counselors are friendly and really helped me when I went to go sign up for my classes. Now I feel prepared for my summer class and looking forward to starting soon.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a mall, movie theaters, and other forms of entertainment nearby.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of yummy food is available.

    Dorm Life

    There is currently no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and get your core classes as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a wonderful place to begin my four years in college. It is filled with amazing people and awesome teachers. I am so glad I just decided to attend her for two years.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are good at monitoring the campus and parking lots. If you don't feel safe while walking to your car at night they will escort you to your car.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some clubs but very few.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back students who don't like to be in the city.

    Bang for the buck

    The unit fee for in state is good out of state not too bad as well.

    What to do for fun

    The mall is 2 miles from campus. Small community so you don't got much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Mostly pre-prepared food. There is a grill where they will make you food but it is extremely expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus but if you need housing they will help you find an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the level that you are in. It is one of the best places for nursing students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early to get the classes you want. Speak up when there is something you don't understand or think something that was said is wrong.

    In three sentences

    Good community college for the area. The teachers are great with the ability to have a one on one conversation. Small school so you can make friends easily.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much time for fun as students but the movies and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Okay dining.

    Dorm Life

    Enjoyable and quiet. Great place to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Many professors push their students to succeed but a teacher can only do so much if a student refuses to put in the effort. It's important to give 110 percent, at the end of the day the effort will be worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task, dreaming big doesn't get you anywhere. Doing the work is what makes the dream come to life.

    In three sentences

    Merced College prepares many students to succeed. The professors there are helpful and come out of their way to help you learn. Merced College is a great place to start.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided majors, Students unsure if they want to attend college, adults who wish to further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that my years at Merced College were very well spent. I saved a lot of money by taking my prerequisites here than at a traditional 4 year college.

    Food and Dining

    Good choices

    Dorm Life

    None available

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging yet very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you speak to a counselor to ensure you take the proper courses. Apply for all of the financial aid that you can. Take advantage of the many programs to help you in you college decision making.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school that prepares you well to transfer to a 4 year college. There are plenty of resources available to help you decide which school to apply to. Merced College is a great place to begin your college years.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Professors are very helpful and the staff is always there for help

    What to do for fun

    clubs, sports, and games

    Food and Dining

    excellent service

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Biology

    Tips for prospective students

    Come early to find parking spots

    In three sentences

    The school tuition and fees are low than compared to other colleges. Nice cafeteria and library. Access to internet throughout the campus.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police right on campus and really safe environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Students returning to school, and those right out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many clubs that are offered to students, but like I said I just focused on my education.

    Bang for the buck

    I received two A.A. degrees through this school at little cost to me. They helped me sign up for programs and opportunities to help me with cost

    What to do for fun

    Many activities within the school but I stayed away and just focused on my education.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and nice dining

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fair but challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your professors and get involved. Try to attend every class and turn in all of your work

    In three sentences

    Merced College has helped me grow as an individual and as a student. There are some extraordinary professors here and all around great people. I would rate them high as possible for the effort they put into every student.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than going to a CSU or a UC

    Dorm Life

    No dorms provided

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    definitely the best option for getting all prerequisite classes completed before transferring.

    What to do for fun

    Check out a Blue Devils Game!

    Food and Dining

    Food is very overpriced! There is only one option on campus. It is main cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Merced College

    Academic Rigor

    4 unit classes definitely can be alot of work. 2 and 3 unit classes usually alot easier

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to finish all prerequisite classes here. They are alot cheaper than going into CSU or UC first.

    In three sentences

    It is very overcrowded. Merced College has professors that are really interested in their students success. They try to push for undergrad school.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are old concrete pathways with minor cracks. There are many areas accessable to wheelchair students.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is best for students that don't quite know which major to choose. It's also better to get more academic help from your teachers at a community calloge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is small and most of the area is standard.

    Bang for the buck

    Community Colleges are very affordable to get your basic classes finished. The prices are rising but still cheaper than a University.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities and clubs on campus. Many are spread by word of mouth, so communicating with others is important.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is very good. I recommend the brownies.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. But there are nice apartments accross the street from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers provide the class with the same education level as they would recieve at a University.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is hard to get into classes. If you are waitlisted for classes, just show up and you have a higher chance of being added into the class.

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers care about your situation. They are more personal and easy to talk to. The classes are interesting while you are learning.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs on campus. From business to science to political clubs.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a lowe income student with children so I am able to attend without being financially burdened.

    What to do for fun

    There's not many activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is mediocre. There are healthy choices and a variety of freshly cooked items during the week. Most important, a wide variety of coffee at all times.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms :(

    Academic Rigor

    Merced College is a community college so you can expect a certain level of difficulty. As long as you are placed correctly and try not to stray or fall off course you should do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an education plan done in your first year and make sure you follow it. Attend the workshops in Study Central they are very helpful for almost any issues or questions you might have being a new student. Last but not least, decide what your goals are early on and have faith that you can achieve your them.

    In three sentences

    I have been here for 3 1/2 years and I love it. There are so many opportunities including: clubs, workshops, tutoring, math lab, awesome counselors, and a very supportive faculty. I am transferring with two degrees; I will definitely miss this place!

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Collegiate Entrepreneur Organization club is for building up business leadership skills.

    What to do for fun

    Read outside under a shaded tree at Merced College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Challenge yourself in the extreme classes because it may look extreme but in reality it is not.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is has the tools you need in order to reach your goal. It gives you the opportunity to discovered your field of interests and also help you make decision regardless of your plan or if you don't have one. Merced College is all it takes to help you realized your future.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on the move, supervising the grounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Honor Society, a gay-straight club, and various other clubs one could join.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletics is very popular at Merced College, as well as agriculture.

    Bang for the buck

    Needs improvement.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and groups you could join, but not much else.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has reasonable prices, but the food could be better. There is not a wide selection for vegetarians or vegans.

    Dorm Life

    There are many apartments in the area, but no dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load isn't so bad, but sadly many teachers demand too much of the students, and many teachers are not as caring as they should be. However, there are some teachers that are amazing, and will become your friend, as well as your teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to take only classes that you really need, otherwise you will be stuck at Merced college for a long time.

    In three sentences

    Some teachers are on power trips and are not very understanding, and some actually care about the students and make learning fun. Choices for different classes are very limited, and it can be hard to get into classes you want. Overall, I give the school 2 and a 1/2 out of 5 stars.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for someone who lives near-by and wants to stay near home. Also great for someone who doesn't have a very high budget.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY!! There is not many clubs, so much of the fun things to do are non-school related

    Food and Dining

    There is not much to choose from, however the food that they do have is pretty satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very few classes are extremely challenging, most are easy to get by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the syllabus given to you by your instructor. Try 100% no matter what, sit in the front row. And lastly always ask questions, that is why the professors are there for, to help us.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a good college to go to as a backup plan in my honest opinion. The downside of it is that tuition keeps rising, book prices are rising and the professors seem to change them every other semester, and some professors are truly careless, and lastly some of the people that are supposed to be there to help you in offices are really rude and disrespectful. The good thing is that for some it is close to home, some professors really do care and have rigorous courses, and lastly it is still not as expensive as a university.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Money-savers will appreciate this college.

    Bang for the buck

    This college can provide you with a lot for a little. You can even obtain high-paying careers without needing to leave/transfer out of Merced College (such as Registered Nursing). There are a few vocational programs, a 2-year Psychology degree that is popular, a Business program with the opportunity to participate first-hand in a T-shirt making business run by the campus CEO club, and many other neat opportunities and degrees available for much less than at larger or higher-level campuses.

    What to do for fun

    Every year the main campus holds a diversity week (a multicultural fair), there are dances during the fall put on by the CEO club, there are a variety of local art and theatre related activities and non-credit classes, and the campus frequently has fun events such as concerts and shows held in the theatre (chorale, chamber singers, jazz band, guitar orchestra, plays by drama students, etc.). Other local activities include charitable events, relay for life, exercise classes and clubs, movie theatres, and so on. There are more campus events as well, such as a fair-like week for clubs, club field trips, swap meets, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, but expect to pay a lot if you eat in the cafeteria. However, there are lots of stores and restaurants all around the campus that offer more good-tasting and budget-friendly options for eating out.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of attending Merced College has to do most with what you are pursuing and your level of commitment to excelling. It can be easy or hard, depending on what you make of it, as well as your personal class choices. The science-related programs at this college are likely the most rigorous out of all the programs offered through the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage new students to find out about the clubs and honors societies on campus, as well as the student government. There are a wealth of opportunities and resources on campus, including work study, study abroad, internships, field trips, and university visits. There are many ways to grow as a student here.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a great community college! The campus has a variety of active clubs, a thriving student government, a helpful staff, and is diverse because of its location and the programs it offers to international students. This is not just any old 2-year college- the staff truly cares about the role it plays in the community, and takes the extra steps to give students the best experiences possible.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some students play hacky sack under the tree with their friends in between class periods.

    Bang for the buck

    They have night classes.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    Food is too expensive and low quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fairly easy compared to most Colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who want to come into Merced College should take advantage of the services that they offer. Staff members are always eager to help.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a great school for students who want some educational background and/or to transfer to a 4 year College. I would rate it a 6 out of 10, because it needs a lot of work and more class options. The atmosphere is a bit disappointing because it feels crowded and classrooms are too small.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and organizations to join and alot of nature life around.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good for being a college cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very good at making sure that people meet the needs and take the classes they need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with something in a class don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Merced College is a very good school for people who have busy schedules. They work with you and help you when you need it. I would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police patrol the school just enough for you to feel safe but not so much as they are breathing down on the nape of your neck.

    Bang for the buck

    it's cheap to live around here.

    What to do for fun

    walk around, hang out in the cafeteria, go into the library,

    Food and Dining

    food is expensive but decent. at least it's not fast food. freshly cooked on the spot if you plan to have the chefs cook for you

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    tests can be demanding on tough subjects. lots of information

    Tips for prospective students

    free tutoring. there's a study central. workshops are held often. special classes with supplement instruction. which i'm currently taking by the way.

    In three sentences

    the teachers mostly are good. a casual type of school and not too hectic. many places to get help from.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    merced is a safe campus. campus police are always on sight.

    Greek Life

    there are not fraternities nor sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    merced does have many clubs about school, religion, civil liberties, study central, tutorial, math lab.

    Great for these types of students

    any student who is looking to transfer and save money, or anyone who is working full time and wants to earn their degree or general education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are really no traditions for merced.

    Bang for the buck

    merced is fair in price.

    What to do for fun

    there's not much to do for fun except the football, basketball baseball games. all the people that attend merced simply go to class then leave. they don't bother staying or hanging out on campus.

    Food and Dining

    there are fast food restaurants near by campus.

    Dorm Life

    it is a community college, no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors at merced do a well job in lectures, some do better then others but at the end of the semester you will have learned the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    good community college.

    In three sentences

    good college for new students going to college for the first year. they offer all the classes to transfer to a csu or uc for lower cost than going to a csu or uc straight out of high school. they have good instructors.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities that go on at the campus such as games, competitions, surveys, and so on.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has various kinds of foods that are both affordable an great tasting.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are currently attending merced college or planning on attending, you should not be shy in asking for help in planning your career path. there is so much assistance for students because they look forward for us to either graduate or transfer.

    In three sentences

    merced college is a great place to start if you cannot afford expensive four year colleges. everyone is there to help you get to where you want to be in the future. so far its been a great experience and the teachers are awesome!

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is excellent

    Dorm Life

    Will be living off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Still a new student

    In three sentences

    Just enrolled for the Spring 2012 semester. Don't have any input to give yet.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school has great Allied health programs and courses available.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever need help or guidance go see a counselor. Do not be afraid to ask questions and seek financial aid, you will never know if you are eligible if you dont apply!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost here is comparative to most community colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been here off and on since 2003 and the campus and faculty are always friendly and inviting.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great! I always get fast responses in class and in emails from them. I tend to get into the classes I need easily too.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Merced College is great for pretty much any students, whether they be social, non-social, Art or History or English or Math or whatever kind of Major/Minor. Merced College can and does provide when need be, even if working with Administration can be somewhat difficult at times (but it seems every school is like that)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to gather a serious education that is definitely within a good price range and you don't have to make costs for Tuition, Board, Food, and everything else soar to more than 10k, then Merced College is a great start and even a great finish to your College Education.

    Bang for the buck

    The price couldn't be better. Even with rising fees and expensive costs, Community Colleges still far outrank most Universities and Private Schools in terms of cost, even though the education can get looked down as being less than for the price. It would be as my mom always told me, Buying by the brand doesn't exactly make the quality any better.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being with every student here is great. Most students you can strike up a conversation with and just chat about anything really. Social life here is amazing for being a open campus without dorms. You occasionally get some of the locals here and there for fun stuff in the quad.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Music Major/Computer Minor attending Merced College. The courses and classes I am taking here are quite nice and giving me much of a education and focus into taking my career to the best potential it could be, or at least to the next step.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I have been on the campus several times and I never want to leave. It is so student-friendly and awesome.

    Will learn a lot

    I am not as student yet but I have heard a lot from students there and a staff member there. The environment is extremely friendly. Students have a lot of positive feedback to say about. I am looking forward to being apart of their success.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for any students who needs to save money and get the general education courses out of the way so you can focus on your major preparation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, especially for you guys that will transfer because the tuition is expensive at a 4-year university. This also includes the ones for private and out-of-state schools. There are some clubs such as the honor society, psychology club, and criminal justice club because it is important to impress the college admission.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is less expensive than going to a 4-year university, especially for those who are living with a low-income family. Also, if you are in the honors program, you will receive more scholarship money than the ones at a 4-year university.

    Am enjoying being here

    Social life is both good and bad. You get to hang out with your friends, but different schedules can be an issue because it is not the same as the one in high school.

    Am learning a lot

    The curriculum is pretty straightforward, but some can be difficult. Overall, it is important to know the materials when it comes to doing well at college.