Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Middlebury College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/06/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 16 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Middlebury's rural setting may be a difficult adjustment for students from fast-paced urban areas, like NYC. However its agrarian surroundings and confluence with nature lends to a great sense of peace. It is a great school for students who are looking to be active and outdoors at a school rich with both culture and history. The Greek system of fraternities and sororities has long since been extricated from Middlebury. Students who are looking for a close, tight knit and highly motivated community would greatly enjoy Middlebury.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask to sit in on classes that seem interesting to you. Teachers are very open-armed and helpful to prospective students, as is the admissions office.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is one of the most expensive in the country. Furthermore, Middlebury does not offer merit-based scholarships.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most of Middlebury's social life is centered on campus. There are plenty of events, dinners, music and art shows, what have you. Small town Middlebury features some good shopping and classic dining while close-by bigger cities Burlington and Montreal offer a nice urban getaway. Not to mention the great outdoors, the beautiful Adirondacks and Green Mountains right in your backyard! Middlebury even has its own ski mountain. Many students love to get outdoors to relax.

    Food and Dining

    Midd food is amazing. Lots of the ingredients are locally sourced and organic, and Midd offers a wide range of foods for everyone - even people with dietary needs (i.e. gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, Kosher, Halal, etc). Every day it's like eating in a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Midd is consistently ranked as one of the colleges with the best dorms. From Starr Hall featuring skylights and wood panelling to The Chateau, a palatial French-style building with rooms featuring wooden floors and balconies, the dorms at Midd are spacious and offer great views! There are lots of events for your commons/building/floor that allows everyone to get to know each other and become great friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Middlebury students tend to be very laid-back but make no mistake - they're some of the most intense, most serious, hardest working students around.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Take advantage of all the opportunities offered by Midd - in academics, extracurriculars, volunteer opportunities, outdoor heritage - get all you can out of it!

    In three sentences

    Middlebury is an energetic and engaged campus full of people who take their education seriously. While the focus on academics is undeniable, it's not all work - Midd is situated in beautiful Vermont with countless opportunities for skiing, backpacking, and biking, and the student body is a vibrant and fun group that lives by the work hard - play hard mentality. With a strong reputation for academics, a notable commitment to the environment, and a campus full of some of the most fascinating people you'll ever meet, this school is a great pick.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although Middlebury is very expensive, it is totally worth it. Plus, they are well-endowed and fair with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    I am so excited that middlebury is one of only two colleges in the country that has its own ski area!

    Tips for prospective students

    Vermont really isn't that cold!

    In three sentences

    Midd has been my top choice since fourth grade. Its language programs are the best in the country. Every faculty member and student that I have met has been amazingly supportive and intelligent.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -quirky, intelligent, passionate, athletic, outdoorsy, motivated, oh and realllyyy attractive.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Visit! overnight if you can -eat at the dining hall. It allows you to observe the social life and the types of people that attend with seeming like a total creeper. And also, the food is amazing. -check out the panoramic views from the chapel, if that doesn't catch your attention I don't know what else will.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, yes, it's very expensive. I will be working my tail off all summer to pay for it.

    Will enjoy being here

    It's Vermont! It's beautiful! Ahh, I cannot wait for winter to try out the snow bowl! Also, I'm used to small classes so I'm excited to be in a small and intimate setting again.

    Will learn a lot

    Despite the small student population, there are so many academic options available. Many of the departments are respected throughout the world. One of the major reasons I decided to apply was the Spanish class I observed on an overnight visit. The immersing style was so wonderful and much more realistic than my experiences in high school Spanish.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The language program is fantastic! I'd love to be accepted, but we'll see.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security personnel around most of the day

    Clubs and Activities

    movies are shown in different languages and weekend activities include dances

    Great for these types of students

    studious and high achievers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unusual locations for me was the observatory room

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located near the downtown of Middlebury so visiting the bars, coffee places or just the nice town square is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Many food options during breakfast

    Dorm Life

    Small rooms but they have windows with nice views

    Academic Rigor

    Master level classes are challenging and interesting

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should enjoy all the opportunities to diversify their knowledge through guest speaker events, foreign movies, even having meals at the cafeteria.

    In three sentences

    Middlebury College is a small university where students can complete their education successfully. Professors are professionals who care about helping students advance. The Vermont campus is wonderful and has all the facilities one needs.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None :)

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Favorite study spot: The greenhouse on the 6th floor of BiHall.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I love the outdoors, and I have found plenty of time to hike and ski around campus. We are 1 of 2 schools in the USA with our own ski mountain! I also have been involved with clubs on campus, and Community Friends, which is a system similar to Big Brother, Big Sister.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! As a vegetarian, I have never had a problem finding good healthy food. Midd also prides itself in finding awesome local food to advertise. There are 3 dining halls on campus, and one Grille.

    Dorm Life

    The Commons System really makes Midd unique. There is a lot of attention and focus put on the people you live with your first two years here. This helps to create a really nice sense of community on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Even though I came from a tough private high school, I find Midd to be intense academically. The nice thing is that everyone enjoys working hard, and this is not a competitive school whatsoever. If students are stressed, it's because they bring it on themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely remember the importance of staying involved in high school. In your application, try to show your personality, and excitement for life. Remember to show that you are well rounded. Becoming a Feb is always a great option!

    In three sentences

    Middlebury is an awesome school, with great diversity, atmosphere, and intellect. Even though I am just a freshman, I find there are plenty of opportunities for me to get involved on campus. I would love to see more midwesterners here!

  • 12/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great for the most part. Plus, public safety are the kindest ever!

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist - which I thank the lord for everyday. Although we do have social houses which are very similar but don't possess the ugly culture of greek life and are much tamer.

    Bang for the buck

    It's bloody expensive. But I'm on full financial aid, so it doesn't bother me either way. They are pretty generous to most people.

    What to do for fun

    If you are looking for a huge party school, you're definitely in the wrong place. A lot of people complain about the social scene on campus, but there is PLENTY to do. the activities board alone receives $300,000 a year to put on awesome events from concerts to dance parties to free food - you name it, they'll consider it and make it happen. Beyond that, there are social houses that put on parties every weekend. Also, all of the athletes host parties every weekend (not really my scene - but some people love it). There are plenty of performances and shows to go to as well. Not to mention, the cute little town that is a short walk away.

    Food and Dining

    My mother is a chef, so I have high standards. But as far as college dining hall food goes, it's not too shabby. There are quite a few options too.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you get placed completely determines whether you're living the 5-star luxury life, or the 2-star hanging-on-by-a-thread life. Buuut, I personally was in the 2-star life for freshman year and the community atmosphere made it all worthwhile! Besides, you will hardly spend much time in your dorm anyway (some people sleep in the lib over finals). Aaand, as you move up in years, there are more and more options. My favourite thing is that very few (less than 100) people are allowed to live off campus - which makes the community even stronger!

    Academic Rigor

    Damn, it's tough. But once you get in to the swing of things, life gets easier and you start to realize how much you really are absorbing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Middlebury admissions is never going to focus solely on one aspect of your life, so neither should you. They want a full package - so don't just focus on academics, volunteering, extra-curricular activities etc. alone, because that won't get you very far. Well, unless you're a damn good athlete, because then you'll probably be recruited and then you don't have to worry.

    In three sentences

    A great place to learn with amazing professors who know you on a first-name basis and incredible facilities that allow you to do whatever you please. Although the student body is small, there are plenty different groups of friends where you'll be sure to find friends for life!

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small and beautiful town.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have quittage!

    What to do for fun

    Middlebury,VT is rural. Being from Chicago, this will definitely be an adjustment. But nonetheless, the town is beautiful and offers a lot of things to do in nature. Middlebury College also offers endless amount of clubs and activities to part take in.

    Food and Dining

    The food was yummy when I visited. However, I have heard the food is best when prospective students visit. Fact or False? I'll see on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't that great. They are average I suppose. All of livable but don't offer much space.

    Academic Rigor

    Middlebury is challenging and is considered to be a little Ivy

    Tips for prospective students

    Show interest. Visit. Apply.

    In three sentences

    Middlebury College is beautiful and while the school is not as diverse or close to home as I wish it were, I am still so excited. The opportunities the school offers are endless. I can not wait to get on campus.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots. No matter who you are, you'll find groups or people who share your sense of style of fun. Every week and day, presentations, games, parties, and meetings happen on this campus. You will not be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food's good and varied not only in the dining halls but when different groups host their own dinners. The town also has some restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    People here are generally friendly and so you have a great roommate your first year. Second year and beyond, most people can get singles or share large suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Some say that this college gives out more work than ivy league schools, so be careful! Learn to manage your time!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Ask questions and double-check if you're unsure about something. People here are very helpful. 2. Make a list of clubs you may want to join so you don't feel overwhelmed by all the opportunities. 3. Contact your professors and coaches and let yourself be known.

    In three sentences

    A bustling, environmentally-friendlier college full of life, ideas, and breathtaking people. The college has a diverse student body that comes from different countries or states, speaks at least two languages in most cases, and is passionate about different causes. Not only are the students beautiful, but so is the surrounding community and natural scene.

  • 11/20/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    $1 million is set aside every year to go toward clubs/activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely expensive, but, to me, it seems worth it.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a vegan and my tour guide made sure to emphasize that there is food in the dining halls to cater to basically any dietary need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit Midd! Based on a great deal of research, I decided that I wanted to apply (due to pretty much every aspect of the school), but my campus visit was great. It allowed me to be more confident in my decision to apply because I could genuinely see myself taking on the role of a Middlebury student. The information session was particularly inspiring.

    In three sentences

    This school just gives off an incredibly passionate vibe. The campus is gorgeous (especially in the fall) and people generally seem to be extremely invested in the things that they love to do. I think staff also made an effort to highlight the most unique aspects of their school, which was wonderful.

  • 02/04/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to study, this is the campus for you.

    What to do for fun

    Middlebury has something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Has Vegan and Vegetarian options

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into Middlebury carefully, see everything it has to offer.

    In three sentences

    To me it looks like a beautiful campus with a lot of promise. Their Environmental Studies program is perfect for me, allowing me to pursue a focus in chemistry. The campus really fits all my needs.