Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Middlesex Community College - Connecticut Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/26/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get lit in the parking lot.

    Food and Dining

    Mom's kitchen is horrible and rude. Food is overpriced, and there are no health options.

    Dorm Life

    commuter college

    Academic Rigor

    I have a 3.9, and find the classes easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will have to really put forth the work to making sure you get and are where you need to be.

    In three sentences

    Nice little school on the top of a hill. Worth the drive. There are some interesting people here.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Is a Great starting school. They help me prepare for the 4 year colleges i am currently applying. The teachers are very helpful I am not scared to ask for any help.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly patrolling the campus in order to ensure the safety of the students.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or anything as such.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs available for different kinds of students. There are religious clubs, educational clubs and clubs just for fun--like the paranormal club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students (young and old alike) who are looking to save money whiles attending college (just about everybody) and are looking for a small college.

    Bang for the buck

    The support services at the school are phenomenal. Work study is available and flexible.

    What to do for fun

    Lie in the grass on a nice day. Talk a walk up the hill and into the woods behind campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a wide variety of foods and this variety increases and is diversified each semester. However, it's hours and availability are very limited.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any housing available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of general, lower level classes tend to be low but that of the sciences as usual, is competetive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many general education classes as you can here. You'll be glad you did. Also, as cliche as it may sound, GET INVOLVED!

    In three sentences

    Middlesex Community College is nothing short of spectacular. This college has a small college feel yet, it has a big student diversity. The quality of education is high and the most amazing? It is very affordable.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You may attend all college life activities and community events as they are always announced in the collge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look for scholarships in advance especially if you are facing economic hardship. Also make sure you apply for finanical aid whether you feel you may or may not get accepted. Also it is imparative to seek out education counseling when enrolling to college.

    In three sentences

    This collge is great in academis support. It also encorages students to other community resources. As well as that we stay current with the world through the new york time through what we call our roundtable discussions.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nice security team.

    What to do for fun

    The collage post activities ads and event advertisements, student that interested in activities or want to be more informative, should check on notice boards in the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The collage provide tools for student . The student need to learn how use them

    In three sentences

    The collage helps student to prepare to the university and to integrate smoothly into collage studies . The college instructors informative and helpful .

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards can be seen doing their jobs at any point throughout the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone, regardless of your interests.

    What to do for fun

    Picnic on the green. Engage in atheltic student activites. Game room which consists of pool, foosball tables and a tv.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes because the professors will not baby you.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere with professors who care not just about the students but the subjects as well. Down to earth students accompanied by a beautiful campus. There is always at least one person who can answer your questions.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus makes sure we are all probably looked after very well!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    No Experience

    Great for these types of students

    Career oriented students looking to shave some cash off their student loan obligations especially is you need a few classes before getting your Bachelor's or going to Grad school!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    CHEAP tuition for the same classes as the Universities!

    What to do for fun

    We pay a small student activities fee for various activities throughout the year! Take advantage of the learning and fun! It's YOUR money!

    Food and Dining

    Food is sub-par! ;P ack a sandwich!

    Dorm Life

    Best part is you can commute from home here!

    Academic Rigor

    With this school, you truly get OUT of it what you put IN to it. Take advantage!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all this affordable school has to offer! Look at the financial aid department for new scholarships and/or grants.

    In three sentences

    Middlesex is right for you if you're just starting out. Middlesex is your school if you want to save money for the same or better education as a University at a fraction of the cost! If you want to go through rigorous Biology courses, Middlesex and Professor Wallace is where you want to be.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around. They have booths and cars and are constantly making rounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, Student Senate, School paper, Sustainable earth, and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students not sure of what direction to go in their education, transitional students, older students. It is very diversified.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school to get your required classes in for a reasonable cost. Going for the first two years at a community college saves you a tremendous amount of money and you are getting a great education at the same time.

    What to do for fun

    Middletown is centrally located in Connecticut. Downtown Middletown has expanded and improved. Wesleyan University in in the same town and has many events the public can attend. There is a movie theatre, coffee shops, restaurants, town events, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you and prepare you for the next part of your schooling. Middlesex Community College is a respected school and opens opportunities to transfer to well respected universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment and visit the school. A community college is a great way to start your schooling. Costs are lower, you are getting a more personal touch, and the opportunities are boundless. This school is one of the top community colleges which gives you great transferring power.

    In three sentences

    My experience at this school has been very positive. The professors are tough but fair, and I enjoy the challenges. The school is small but that makes it more personal and I find opportunities are more available because of this.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    MxCC is a great place to start out your education. It is also a fabulous college for those students who thrive on personal attention, small classes, and a close community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! While the professors are fantastic in general, there are always a few adjuncts who are not up to par. Registering before the last minute insures that you will get full time teachers and not just part-time staff.

    Bang for the buck

    I felt as though I got an education that was fairly close to any private school standards. The only thing that seems to be lacking for the money spent is activities. I personally love learning experiences outside the classroom, and MxCC did not provide quite as many as I would have liked.

    Did enjoy being here

    This fall, I am transferring to another school, and it is bittersweet. I have loved every bit of my time at Middlesex Community College. Never have I met people who were so dedicated to their work and their students as the professors and faculty at MxCC. All departments were strong, and every professor I had went out of his or her way to help me personally succeed.

    Did learn a lot

    I absolutely learned a lot! Any student who applies him or herself to their studies at Middlesex will get the education he or she deserves. The professors are dedicated, well-educated, and know what they are talking about. However, I did not only grow academically, but personally as well. MxCC encourages individuality and independence.

  • 10/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like to ask question Middlesex is for you. The school also provides tutoring for certain classes. If you want to go to college but you need a stepping stone to the whole college experience, you should go to Middlesex.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip would be to learn how to effectively manage your time. Do not forget to look at the schedule each teacher gives you and study for midterms and final in time.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your require classes finished for much less money than other colleges. I would strongly recommend that every college student starts at a community college, mainly to save money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I go to the Meridan campus, and everyone is so friendly and nice. The Meridan campus lacks the real college campus feel, and a library. The main campus has a very helpful library and library staff though.

    Am learning a lot

    I am taking the required classes, and I plan on transferring. So, the classes I'm taking are generally simple since I'm a freshman in my first semester. I am learning a lot of different skills, and the information is very valuable.