Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Montgomery County Community College-West Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 06/20/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i love attending montco because of the one on one i have with my teachers. my classes have been challenging, but not overwhelming. tuition is very reasonable.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCCC has security available 24 hours and they are always very helpful and aware of everything that happens on campus. At this college campus security even has door to door car service. Also this campus is a drug-free zone. In addition, both north and south hall have cameras throughout the buildings .

    What to do for fun

    There is always some kind of college activities that are taken place on campus. For example, movie night, trip to amusements parks, dances, and etc. People can hang out with friends, join a club, or become involved with student government. Red Cross Blood Drive, March of Dimes, Rita water-ice, Healthier Ways of Living Foundation, Positive Direction Program are just a few in which student may want to join and become a part of while at MCCC.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is located in the main building and is affordable for students. There are varies of menu choices and the food is delicious. Also there are plenty of seats and large tables for students to eat and to do there homework. In the café there are flat screen televisions, microwaves, a Ping-Pong table, and connection to free Wi-Fi.

    Dorm Life

    Students live off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    MCCC makes it affordable for each and every student to be able to earn an associate degree or certificate of their choice. The staff is great with working with each of there students on a needs basic to make sure each of their students pass their course and learn something that they can take with them. If you keep your GPA up to a certain average then you can be honor by make the dean's list or asked to join the honor club on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry! There is always staff and people their at the college that will help you. Don't be afraid to ask for help or to ask question! At MCCC (west campus) you are assigned to your own personal counselor that is there to help with academic planning so you can focus on being a student. You will be fine at this college because on campus there are a lot of student services that are available to everyone that are FREE.

    In three sentences

    Is a well-rounded and close knitted college that offers a lot of help and support for their students. Staff is always there to full and meet students need in the classroom and outside the classroom. Located in a great area that is easy to find.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have many clubs on campus. If you are looking for something to do after classes, we have a mall and movie theater close to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafe has good food. They also compare prices of restaurants in the area. School is a better buy and is healthier than places like Mcdonalds.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms at the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged at this school academically, but it is for the best. The teachers never overwhelm you, but give you a decent amount of work to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Involved! Join clubs, volunteer, and make the most of your time at this college.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending this community college. The class sizes are smaller and the teachers are very helpful. It is also very easy to navigate around campus.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't used there cafeterias so I can't judge.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I take classes online, so classes are not too bad. They give you enough time to do your work. However there can be more of you teaching yourself in online classes.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    MCCC is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    West Campus has over 12 active clubs which include; human rights, community service, entertainment, student government, religious groups

    Food and Dining

    delicious!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is not applicable to Montgomery County Community College, both campuses are commuter

    Academic Rigor

    The medical based majors are far more competitive... radiography, nursing, dental hygiene are highly competitive but well worth the pressure if that's what your interest is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early, they will fill up. Fill out your FAFSA early to get as much available aid as possible. Parking is limited, especially the first few weeks of classes (also lots are full during finals week,) arrive to class early if you want your own parking spot, car pool or walk to school if it's an option. Make a schedule appointment with an academic adviser. Allow yourself one course a semester that you're talking 'just for fun,' or 'because it seemed interesting.' P.S. make sure you have your parking permit, and that it is visible at all times : )

    In three sentences

    Available course selection is rather diverse. The professors are passionate about the subject they teach, and it shows in their lecture(s.) Academic Advisers are extremely helpful, I suggest making a scheduled appointment rather a walk-in appointment.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the security guards patrol on and off campus parking lots. they also patrol on foot while on campus.

    Greek Life

    fraternities and sororities won't be found on or near campus because everyone commutes however there are clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many to get involved in at central campus. west campus has some but not as much. a few collegiate sports and intramural sports are offered. clubs can rang from spiritual, music, greek, or volunteer based. off campus you can go to the mall, the philadelphia premium outlets, target, walmart, applebees, and chillies. you can find more options as long as you hop on 422 or rt. 100.

    Great for these types of students

    montco has online, in class, and hybrid so the classes can fit into any one's schedule. great for those right out of high school, transfers, those going to college for the first time, single parents, or even senior citizens.

    Bang for the buck

    very inexpensive even if you are out of county.

    What to do for fun

    they do host community events and you can always find someone to talk to who is on break otherwise go off campus.

    Food and Dining

    this last year they really tried to put more vending machines around so you didn't have to go to the school store to buy food or drinks. there is a small cafe but the food isn't anything special. your options are vending machines, cafe, school store, and going off campus. they also have microwaves in the lounges so you can heat up so left overs.

    Dorm Life

    everyone commutes and if your looking for a place to live, you can go into the student success center they can get you help in housing.

    Academic Rigor

    if you take any a&p classes then good luck because people are complaining all the time about them. all the other classes are pretty easy though outside of those. all professors have a masters or a phd and they are small class sizes. there is a learning lab on campus for those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    most professors are laid back so as long as your in class and doing your work you have an a. if you need help with anything when it comes to what classes to take or transfering, go to mike ondo in the student success center.

    In three sentences

    if you are looking for diversity and a cheap education montco is the place for you.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of clubs & activities, i haven't joined any yet, but i will soon.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    riverfront festival can be fun. lots of freebies, lol.

    Bang for the buck

    montco has reasonable prices for attending.

    What to do for fun

    love hanging our with friends & family.

    Food and Dining

    i occassionally aet in the cafateria, but other than tat i am at home.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    academic vigor can be challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan to attend montco, west campus, see mr. ondo, he is the best.

    In three sentences

    on a scale from 1-10, i would rate this college a 9. my reason for only a 9 is that i seemed to always have an issue with financial aid. other than that the teachers are great as well as the college.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, I've never felt uncomfortable, even when leaving campus late at night.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are busy, working, parents, or for someone like me who likes to work from home and occasionally take a class or two in person. MCCC is really for all types of people- old, young, working, straight out of high school...the list can go on and on!

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before, with the quality of the professors at MCCC and their education, you really can't go wrong this community college. Also, financial information is easily explained and obtained just by stopping in to the friendly financial aid office.

    What to do for fun

    MCCC offers many activities and events at night. Some things are movies nights, guest speakers, free workshops to improve your life, and a variety of organized trips and events. All of the activities are emailed to students so it's easy to stay involved.

    Food and Dining

    While MCCC doesn't have much to offer food-wise on either campus, you don't have to drive very far to find a good deli or pizza shop.

    Dorm Life

    N/A, MCCC doesn't offer student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I went to a state university before coming back to MCCC for my second associates degree and I definitely like MCCC's programs more. The professors are educated and qualified; many of them have worked at prestigious colleges and universities before coming to MCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early because classes fill up quickly. Whether you're attending straight out of high school or coming back after many years, MCCC will make you feel comfortable and right at home.

    In three sentences

    MCCC has small class sizes, attentive professors, and a variety of options to complete your degree- online, in class, or a combination of the two. Both campuses are accessible and the staff is helpful and friendly.