Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Moreno Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/22/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you see campus police riding around or parked in the front of the campus. we have emergency poles.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its cool.

    Great for these types of students

    Want to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the mountain you may counter mountain lions, snakes, rabbits and such. We have a time capsule! We unfortunately have no gym... we use fitness 19 instead.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable, cheaper then universities of course. Financial aid and the BOG waiver if one qualifies for it, it really helps.

    What to do for fun

    Fun hmm.... go climbing! Attend the events during college hour. go to the SAS building and watch a movie. Go into the Lions Den and watch/listen to music videos. Join a active club!

    Food and Dining

    On campus we have The Lions Den which serves various of foods such as hamburgers, corn dogs, burritos (create your own), salads, chicken and fries, and much more. We also have a Cafe that serves not only coffee but sandwiches, cookies, and so on. If your looking for a snack or ice cream, instant food, any type of drink, it would be located in the book store. Other then that, down the street we have McDonalds, Armandos Mexican Food, Starbucks, Edible arrangements, Al Carbon, Stater Brothers, Dollar tree, ect.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, one either lives near by, drives to and from, or rents an apartment near by.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't try to over pack yourself with 50 classes in one semester, take as much as you think you can handle and not stress out about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can print 10 pages free in the Student Activity Center! One should at least go once to the hill since it has a really nice view. Don't forget to check rate my professor before choosing your classes.

    In three sentences

    Since the campus isn't huge it is easy for one to know a good amount of people there. Our mountains have a trail that can take you all the way to Lake Perris. The parking lot gets packed real quick, and watch out for them mountain lions and snakes.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have their own campus police station so the campus is quite safe. just dont leave belongings in your car.

    Greek Life

    no greek life here that im aware of

    Clubs and Activities

    havent really participated in any clubs so far.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is geared more for the arts type of degrees but lacks little in science types. It's great for students looking to transfer to UCR

    Bang for the buck

    this school has excellent in state tuition fees

    What to do for fun

    There is a park and lots of extra activities put on by the school to do for fun

    Food and Dining

    This college has a great cafeteria and many options from local vendors nearly 100 feet away from the college.

    Dorm Life

    this college has no dormitories on campus but lots of housing nearby

    Academic Rigor

    the classes that I have taken here are great classes that challenge ones mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with a financial aid help attendant as soon as possible because scholarships and financial aid here are limited.

    In three sentences

    Overall, I give the Moreno Valley College four out of fie stars because of the advancing technology and advancement of the physical structures of the school. They are vastly improving this college and it makes me excited to attend.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i really don't know about this

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time, pay all dues and prepare to work hard

    In three sentences

    This College has Professional Instructors that will guide you through courses.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe security is there to help you to your car during night sessions. They are very friendly and approachable. Also instruction in case of emergency is practiced and discussed at the beginning of each semester to keep you updated.

    Greek Life

    This too doesn't apply due to the size of the campus. However, I would love the idea.

    Clubs and Activities

    A variety of clubs exists to keep student updated on campus activities and events. One I find very helpful to my individual need is the workforce prep. I love having regular resources to bring together work and education.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students looking to gain an education at an affordable cost, at their own pace and with great education programs in hopes of transferring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual location is the math lab that I discovered to be the most helpful this semester. It's small and in between floors yet the tutors and staff are so helpful if you need help on various math subjects.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely cost effective for families, first time and working students.

    What to do for fun

    Homework study groups and oh did I mention learn. Many of the students on campus are focused and driven with hopes of continuing education at a four year.

    Food and Dining

    The lions den is so affordable! Also cost effective, being a single mother at times we forget to take care of ourselves so during those moment when you forget to eat its nice to have a place to grab a bite and not break your pocket.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so dorms are not on or off campus. So this rating is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors have been nothing short of challenging yet I see my growth. I am thankful to be challenged because I know that rising to the occasion is why I decided to set my goals of achieving my bachelor degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to students is utilize the counselors on campus. They are there to help you make the best decisions for your individual circumstances which will help you to maximize you education experience.

    In three sentences

    Moreno Valley college has provided me with an opportunity to receive an education to not only better my future but to give my children guidance. I now have a way to obtain my bachelor degree because of their excellent program and counseling.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Reports of theft or safety concerns are not prevalent. However, be mindful of yourself and your possessions.

    Greek Life

    Moreno Valley College does not offer this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large handful of clubs available. The ASB keeps all the clubs involved through semester club competitions and campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who want a smaller campus and enjoy knowing most of the people that are walking around campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Halloween week, MVC hosts a Halloween Valley for little children. Clubs raise candy to participate in the event where they are able to host little games for the children. The clubs also compete in a door decorating contest where club members have to decorate a door and dress up according to the contest theme. The campus also hosts a really fun and frightening haunted house. All in all, the event is a really enjoyable time for everyone involved, club member volunteers, children and parents alike.

    Bang for the buck

    If you apply for the BOG Waiver and receive it (which most people do), all that is left to pay is textbooks.

    What to do for fun

    There are a handful of clubs, such as the Karate Club, Friends Club, Magic Club, and LGBT Club, just to name a few. I recommend getting involved because most clubs are outlets to community service opportunities and the ASB host many on campus activities for the clubs during the school year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very small and often full of people. The food is pretty good and reasonably priced. Their french fries are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Moreno Valley College does not offer any housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Be sure to take advantage of professor's office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the BOG Waiver. Register and complete the FAFSA ASAP. Don't be discouraged if the classes you want are full. If you can, get on the waitlist. Crash the classes you want and be persistent, it will increase your chances of getting the class. The Student Services Center is very helpful so don't hesitate to go to them with any questions. However, the lines get very long so try to go right when they open.

    In three sentences

    Moreno Valley college is a small, close knit campus. It does not have a large number of courses compared to it's partner college, Riverside City college. However, MVC is growing to be on par with RCC with the addition of a new science building and does exceed RCC in clubs and student involvement.

  • 08/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have been attending this campus for over a year now (both night and day classes) and I have never had a problem. That being said, you still have your random thefts and young adults who think they live in the hood. All in all, this is a great campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money. Students who aren't sure of their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college, the tuition is the same as any other California community college.

    What to do for fun

    The campus constantly has activities, but being a busy individual, I usually don't have time to partake. Anyone with some free time will easily find an activity to suit their needs.

    Food and Dining

    The people who work in the cafeteria are usually in a great mood and easy to talk to. The cafeteria is clean and the prices for food are very reasonable. It even has a microwave for anyone who brings food from home.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. But if living at home counts as a dorm, this deserves five stars. There are plenty of apartments surrounding this college, which makes it very convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    I only give this a three because it depends on which teacher you are taking. I have had my fair share of great instructors and then others who I wasn't so thrilled about.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip that I can give any student is do your research. While this college is great, it does have its downsides. For example, its very difficult to receive classes which may make transferring in a two year period very difficult.

    In three sentences

    Moreno Valley College is a relatively new campus with an exponential amount of room for growth. The instructors are deeply motivated for the well being of each student and their dedication to their field shows. Moreno Valley College is also centrally located in-between San Diego, Los Angeles, and San Clemente beach, making it a perfect college for those who want to enjoy southern California.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a number of police cruisers on campus and are always there to help and protect. You are never too far from a police officer when you want and don't want them there. There are multiple emergency telephones located on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life sadly!

    Clubs and Activities

    I, personally, have not joined any clubs or activities during my first semester at MVC, but I have heard a lot of positive experiences about each club.

    Great for these types of students

    All students should feel welcomed, this campus has a diverse amount of students attending.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I have seen!

    Bang for the buck

    Although the $$/units has gone up, I absolutely love the BOGW aide I receive, it helps A LOT. Plus the food is delicious, and the student store has a bunch of food and snacks to eat while you study that are at reasonable prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that are going on during the evenings at the school, including festivities based on holidays. There are also many clubs to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The food and snacks are cheap! Chips, soda, tea, noodles, you name it they have it. The Lion's Den AKA the cafeteria has numerous varieties of food and drinks, including coffee, icees, pizza, salad, energy drinks, they have everything in a cozy little mess hall.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there is no dorming available at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged in my courses, and that's a good thing. When you're studying to cure people, you don't want to be stuck on a disease that you have no idea on how to cure because the courses in school were too easy. I loved the challenge the courses offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to listen and when you need help, don't be afraid to ask, even if you feel it's a stupid question.

    In three sentences

    I love this college, the enrollment is simple and the teachers are there for the students. All my professors have been more informing and have taught me at a better pace than my high school teachers.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun at this college is meet new people and hangout with them and do different things with my friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve is pretty good, but the only bad thing is that it cost to much especially for someone that doesn't have money to spend a lot on food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here since its a community college but there is some apartments right down the street from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    There is so many different classes to choose from but it is less classes then other colleges because it is a very small community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get classes you're interested in so you don't fail the class and have to pay to retake the course.

    In three sentences

    Since I attended Moreno Valley College in Fall 2012, I really enjoyed every single class I have taken. All the teachers I have had are really nice and easy to get along with. I enjoy attending Moreno Valley College and I believe you would to.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It serves handicapped well. There have been ambulance there, and they attend to the students ASAP. I think it is safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club life is active. It is very competitive between the clubs, but it's all in fun spirit.

    Great for these types of students

    Academics Volunteer Public Service Resources

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a hiking trail near the back of the school. If you need a get a way from class, you can take a hike.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college, so I would suggest to finish your units and transfer as soon as you can. Get the real college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Stay involved with the campus activities. I was involved with a club there and I had a lot of fun working with fun people. Other than the clubs there is not so much to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is alright. It's like fast food in a way. It's convenient and it's decent.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms provided. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are not too hard, but their material is college material. As long as you stay dedicated to the work, it will not be too hard for you to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest that you stick to your educational plan. See your counselor and make sure you stay on track. MVC has helpful resources from campus clubs, ASMVC, Financial Aid and transfer center.

    In three sentences

    Moreno Valley College is a diverse campus. It seems small, but it is big at heart, and its dedication to their students. Although it has been about five years since I've been going there, I am glad I spent my time there to learn from the awesome students and faculty.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SOMETIMES YOU SEE ANIMALS ON CAMPUS

    Clubs and Activities

    FRIENDS CLUB

    What to do for fun

    JOIN A CLUB

    Food and Dining

    FOOD NOT EXPENSIVE

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT CLASSES. NO GOOD MATH CLASSES.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO RATE MY TECHER BEFORE YOU ACTUALLY SIGN UP FOR A CLASS

    In three sentences

    I LOVE MVC, IT IS GOOD COMMUNITY COLLEGE. THE ONLY THING I DISLIKE IS THE MATH TEACHERS, THEY ARE NOT THAT GREAT IN TEACHING. OTHER THAN THAN ISSUSE I GIVE IT 4 STARS****

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great lighting at night, police are always around.

    Great for these types of students

    Students on a budget

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a nice shady spot under a tree in the summer time to take a rest in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college, the books can be shopped for online and he professors are understanding that everyone is on a budget.

    What to do for fun

    Im a busy single parent to study for fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Come early to the first class to find a seat and where your class is meeting.

    In three sentences

    Nice campos, I have had great experiences with professors. They have had some nice remodels of their cafeteria and classrooms.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police everywhere. This campus is very safe in my opinion. They also have telephone booths that you may contact campus police located all over the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    Moreno Valley College does not have a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I used to be in Gospel Choir back in the late 90's in Moreno Valley College. It was truly a great experience. It was an outlet for students to release all of their problems and stress a couple of hours a week. I came back 2013 and they still have the choir. It was an amazing experience to have performed at different locations and touch peoples' lives through music.

    Great for these types of students

    It is very challenging for someone to go to school and not eat fast foods because of time constraints. Obesity is a great problem in the United States so people should prioritize their health just as much as their education. Because, without their health they absolutely have no future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I sit in my car and eat alone embarrassed of the food I eat. I eat fish because it is what I can afford and keep me healthy. I've mentioned before that I used to be morbidly obese and now I have a second lease in life. I am doing my best to maintain high grades and maintain my health at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    I was recently asked by my professor of Microbiology professor Lipkin if I was interested in becoming her Student Instructor. I said i would wait for the results of the 4th exam to see if I managed to get a high score. If I do get a high score, I would accept her offer. A few days ago, my score arrived and received a 93%.

    What to do for fun

    I try my best to stay active by jogging around the block and body weight exercises. This is what I do for fun. I recently bought a bike from a garage sale so I often bike around to maintain my health.

    Food and Dining

    I can't afford to eat at school so I bring my food from home. I also avoid eating out because I used to weigh 361lbs. now at 260lbs. I couldn't fit in a classroom seat before.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dormitory. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking Microbiology and Anatomy & Physiology 2B at the same time. Both of my professors are rated the hardest in the two subjects. I must say I am struggling to maintain low As in both classes. Regardless, I will finish this semester strong.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students must be ready to commit to their education. Don't go to school because your parents are forcing you to. Education is valuable and you must want to have it. If you want something bad, you will find a way to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I like Moreno Valley College. They have professors that are passionate about their field of study. They are not only well versed in their subject matter but they are also caring of their students.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The cafeteria is always full of talkative students taking a load off. It's always easy to meet someone new on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you plan your assignments and when you will complete them. it will help you stay on task.

    In three sentences

    Moreno Valley College feels like home. There are plenty of classes to take. The instructors are for the most part friendly and helpful.