Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mount Mercy University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe here. I've never felt threatened by anyone. The parking lots are lit well at night and there is a public safety car that drives around throughout the day and night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge amount of clubs and activities - from sports, to clubs depending on your major, and way more. You'll have to look on the website because there are so many options to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting a smaller class size and more hands on experience!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mount Mercy campus has underground tunnels between buildings - take advantage of it in the rain, snow, or cold!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a more expensive school if you compare it to the state colleges, but it's well worth it. You have a smaller class size, the teachers are available at different times throughout the day, and there is a tutoring center and library that can really help with your studies that is included in tuition (as well as a gym!)

    What to do for fun

    Mount Mercy provides a lot of chances for a fun time! Teachers will mention whats going on sometimes, you can find it online, and there is also a news flyer that goes around on emails, as well as "toilet talk". "Toilet Talk" is a poster that's in all the bathroom stalls that has general info on it about what is going on. We have movie nights, sometimes they have mind readers, sometimes they have musicians, sometimes plays - there's a wide selection of fun on campus! It's also close to the local mall and downtown area.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria for residents that has a large selection of foods and there is the "Hilltop Grill" for anyone - residents/commuters/teachers/etc. The grill has super yummy food such as fries, sandwiches, burgers, pizza, but they also provide snack foods, salads, and a large selection of soft drinks and sports drinks. There also vending machines in a couple of the buildings.

    Dorm Life

    I do not personally live in the dorms, but when my friends talk about it, I always hear about it being great. No one feels crammed in them and I heard they come with lofts so you don't have to buy one!

    Academic Rigor

    You are treated at a higher standard than you would be in high school (of course) but it's in the best way possible. You learn a lot - even if it may be from your mistakes sometimes. The teachers here will always be there to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to walk the hill - it's a long ways up! The school sits on top of a hill (I believe the highest point in Cedar Rapids), so make sure whatever you're wearing makes you able to walk up it. There are underground tunnels from building to building, so that's a plus side as well. My biggest tip - be yourself. You'll find friends and get along better with everyone that way. There are so many different people at this school but everyone seems friendly. Our class sizes are smaller, so that helps quite a bit.

    In three sentences

    Mount Mercy can be intimidating when you see how much it costs, but the education that is given is well worth it. The teachers and advisors are all extremely helpful and, because it's a smaller sized school, they get to know you and really help with anything you need. I will always recommend this school - especially for nursing, education, business, or psychology majors!

  • 10/02/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt like something bad was going to happen to me on campus. It sits on a hill so we do not get random visitors often.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    They have really good clubs and activities around campus the only problem I have with it is that they sometimes do not do a good job at advertising it.

    Great for these types of students

    If you do not mind meeting the same faces everyday then this college is right for you. the problem with big colleges is that you can get to know some really good people for one day and then never see them again because of the sheer school size.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Year the University dedicates a specific theme that they talk about most of the start of fall. Last year they talked about the Vietnam war and this year it is about Immigration.

    Bang for the buck

    Mount Mercy University is a private institution which means that they can give a little more money than other schools can especially if you play a sport, have good test scores and are a really involved individual.

    What to do for fun

    The Clubs in the University often have really good events around campus that are entertaining. For example, M2AP Board often brings in really good Bands to play on campus and basically has one of the best events on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Mount Mercy University has a good selection of food from where to pick from. The Salad Bar is diverse and basically if you wanna try something new, you could make it. On thursday Mornings they have breakfast burritos that are just to die for!

    Dorm Life

    Some Dorms Do not have AC but it is basically a trade off. People are more open in the Regina Dorms Whereas in the Andreas dorms are a bit more secluded and less open.

    Academic Rigor

    Unless you are taking Honors, Classes should not be to tough, As long as you follow the syllabus you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the Honors Program if you are up for a challenge be involved at school events and clubs attending socials at the start of the year helps make friends for life work on your time management when classes start

    In three sentences

    A university dedicated to providing service to those indeed. A really good University in terms of it's size and the opportunities that it can bring to students who are interested. It has a really good Political Science Program.

  • 01/18/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know I am safe here.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities and clubs to get involved with on campus. One thing that I like about Mount Mercy is that every Friday a different club gets to host Club Friday. Club Friday is a social event for everyone on campus and you can win really cool prize and there is really good snacks as well.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of student! There is something for everyone at MMU! Trust me you will find something!

    Food and Dining

    School food is school food but the staff in the Cafeteria is great! They are so friendly and fun! Its hard to not enjoy your meals in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't that small and it is really nice to be close to all your friends and classmates! Sure community bathrooms aren't what you want but you only have to deal with that for a year! You can meet so many great friends just on the floor that you live on!

    Academic Rigor

    If you put in the effort in you classes you will find that they aren't that hard! Do you homework and study for your test and you will find that it's just time, it not overly difficult! Plus the teachers are great and so easy to talk to if you need some help!

  • 01/08/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe here.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently the junior president of International club and they seem to be a good group of people. There are ton of activities during the start of the year but the school always does there best to hold activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that hold close Mount Mercy's core values of compassion and service.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People here love to camp out to get in line for some of the activities offered here. I think it is fun because we all end up waiting in the hallways with blankets and pillows!

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy being here, it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Mercy has a game room in which you can play Pool and ping pong. There is also a bunch of couches in the University center in which you can watch TV or play WII games that the university has. Mount Mercy's library is also underated. It's very large in size so if you are a reader it is a good place to find a good place to read in peace.

    Food and Dining

    I would say the food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I enjoy being in the dorms even though they are a bit small you are able to meet a lot of fun people here. Those who stay on the weekends end up having fun,

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are tough and some are not

    Tips for prospective students

    Always apply early! Because this is a private school they can offer more money, especially if you worked hard in high school.

    In three sentences

    I would say that this is a solid school in terms of nursing. I am currently a political science major and I really like the lectures.

  • 04/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing. This is a nursing college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Under ground tunnels for when weather doesn't cooperate.

    Bang for the buck

    Well known for academics so it'll be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities on campus but there is much more when you go into the city.

    Food and Dining

    A cafe with food everyday but they're not open all of the time.

    Dorm Life

    Smaller rooms than expected and room and board pricing are high.

    Academic Rigor

    Very tough classes and very well known as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do before choosing a college.

    In three sentences

    A great small campus. Right out of the middle of Cedar Rapids, IA. A quiet place but not too far from the real fun in Cedar Rapids.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. There are tunnels to use from building to building when the weather is bad.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in any.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is expensive and not very well connected, technologically speaking.

    What to do for fun

    I don't participate in any on-campus activities because of my non-traditional status.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe and grill serve outstanding food!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy, some are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that certain programs require more output from individuals that others.

    In three sentences

    It has been an overall good experience. Non- Traditional students can be overwhelmed by the workload but it is possible. It is easy to become part of the Mount Mercy Family.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many different options for food and dining at Mount Mercy, they have your traditional Dining buffets that is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. They also have a girl option that students can order burgers/wraps and fries on the go as well as drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Mount Mercy University are not very big, but are available for students who are wanting to live in them.

    Academic Rigor

    Mount Mercy is always looking to improve its curriculum and strives to provide the best materials for its students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take a tour of the great campus as well as sit in on classes. The professors love to have interested students sit in on a lecture, and are not afraid to include you in on activities and conversation.

    In three sentences

    Mount Mercy University is a great place to get your education, the teachers care about there students and go above and beyond to help you learn as much as possible in preparing you for the real world. I would recommend Mount Mercy University to anyone interested in pursuing a degree in the Cedar Rapids Area.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Loved the food! Lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Small, but very cozy. Come with the lofts already!

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun join a club. You can go to a comedy show or magic show. There are also activities sponsored by clubs that you may attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very good. There is not a lot to choose from. If you are a vegetarian all you will be eating is salad.

    Dorm Life

    There is no air conditioning in McAuley and Regina. There is always a problem with the internet. The rooms are small and not enough closet space.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers are very hard and others are easy. The nursing program is very difficult. If you study for exams then you will not have a problem with passing class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a minority and want to become a nurse this school might be hard for you. If you are a athlete for track be wary. Get involved in school activities.

    In three sentences

    Mount Mercy University has a very nice campus. The social work program staff are very friendly and are always there if you need help. The class is small and the teachers always have time to help you.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    -be prepared to go to class

    In three sentences

    mount mercy is a tight-knit school that has a very personable atmosphere. the professors are generally nice and well-read. it is a school that expects a great deal, however.

  • 10/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like (generally) class sizes. Those who like being able to spend time with a professor when they need it. Those who like having other students in your major to help you out (personally or through our Academic Center of Excellence). Those who love having fun. Those who like having a chapel on campus. Those of ANY religion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do a tour before you decide for sure. It's a great campus, you may fall in love. Try to talk to people that go to school there and see if you can arrange for an overnight stay, it gives you a glimpse of what college life is like. Ask your tour guide lots of questions! They love to talk about our amazing UNIVERSITY!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is quite high and it's (obviously) even more with room & board, but most students get a decent amount of scholarships

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though I am a commuter, I spend a lot of time on campus, whether it be hanging out or doing homework

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and atmosphere to be in. Very conducive to learning.

  • 09/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It costs a lot but they give a lot of financial aid to the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    They have tons of activities that anyone with any types of interest can do.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are just the right size and easy environment to learn in.