Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Mountain View College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/20/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    -Intramurals -Various electives like dance, choir, and instruments -Work out the the school gym( free for students) -Help plant the biology/chemistry garden -Magic Club

    Food and Dining

    Mountain View has a subway on campus that offers healthy choices. The school store has a variety of goodies to quell hunger. There are also several vending machines located throughout the school to offer a pick-me-up snack inbetween classes.

    Dorm Life

    Mountain View College does not offer student living, However, the advisors and admissions are more than happy to assist in finding living arrangements for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses here vary in difficulty. Most of the professors are very good at what they do, get involved with the students, and are readily available to assist students and answer their questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved by joining a club, honor society, going to campus events or becoming a Mountain View College ambassador. Study abroad. MVC offers very affordable study abroad programs to places such as Spain, Germany, and France.

    In three sentences

    MVC offers flexible class schedules. The tuition is very affordable. There are many supplemental resoures available like the writing center and tutoring center.

  • 05/27/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus houses is own police department who are always patrolling the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have dozens of clubs, all with kind people who are accepting and will make you feel welcome.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a small school at a low price.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs to join who have activities and do volunteer work. There are also many events and festivals that go on throughout the school year.

    Food and Dining

    Including the numerous snacks you can buy at the school store, there is a Subway on campus to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, there are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The clases can be hard, and some of the teachers strict, but the teachers are normally willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're having trouble with math, feel free to go to the math lab. The people in there are incredibly helpful and will work with you till you understand. Also, don't put off an assignment because you have time. You'll come to realize that time flies fast and you'll be left trying to do the assignment the night before.

    In three sentences

    It's a small community college, with an average of 30 students per class. The people are nice and you'll be able to easily make friends. The teachers are helpful and are willing to work with you if you need any help or need to catch up.

  • 11/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club. They always come up with one fun activity or the other.

    Dorm Life

    I do not think they have a dorm. It's a two year college. Plus i stay outside campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to as much advisers, or current student as you can, before you register for classes; they are friendly enough to help you out. Get to know people at top positions or current students, and join a club. They would come in handy to help in any situation you are in. Before applying, go to the campus, talk to your adviser, and ask much questions as possible. Always communicate with your adviser.

    In three sentences

    Mountain view college is a good place to start your prerequisites in whatever major, before transferring to a 4 year college. It has a very comfortable, and friendly campus. The professors are amazing, and they do whatever they can to make sure you get an A.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Relax and take walks on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Be creative and have fun

    In three sentences

    Great campus , it is very creative and interesting . Everybody seems nice .

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The only place I have seen was Subway. I wish they had more variety.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    I like going to morning class because it is less traffic. Before attending go to the school and just walk around so you can know where everything is. Go the speed limit because mountain view police do clock you.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College administrators are helpful, kind and nice. The teachers kept up-to-date on the syllabus and on time. The security makes me feel comfortable and safe because they are always present.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work out, hang out with friends, and play sports

    Food and Dining

    There is only subway and the school store

    Dorm Life

    Mountain View does not have any dorms it is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    One very vital tip I recommend is to NOT PROLONG on ANY ASSIGNMENTS

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a very active, fun college to go to. Their is something new that is going on there everyday and the professors and tutoring are very helpful. Mountain View College will be a great community college to start your college life off with.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers around, outside and inside. There is nothing that goes unnoticed.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join. There are many things to do. - Spanish Club - Trio Club - Basketball, Volleyball, Baseball, Soccer - Weight-rooms - Student center

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway, the college bookstore, as well as vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but that shouldn't stop students from interacting with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    When graduating from Mountain View you are expected to know what you came there for. If you graduated with a associates in science, you should know something about science. That goes for any other degree. Get your money's worth.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Join at least one club 2. Makes friends, get to know the other students in class, form study groups 3. ASK QUESTIONS 4. Get to know your professor 5. Get ahead on homework 6. Read the syllabus 7. Have Fun

    In three sentences

    1. Mountain View in my opinion is the best DCCCD school because they do what it takes for you to walk across that stage. 2. Everyone I came in contact with wanted to see me as well as other students succeed. 3. Mountain View classes are well organized so accommodate students.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mountain View is very diverse and have activities for everyone such as soccer, basketball, specific clubs and organizations that anyone can be involved.

    Food and Dining

    There's no café or cafeteria, but there is an Subway which is Awesome. I think this the best choice any school could ever make, considering Subway being a healthy choice.

    Dorm Life

    Although you don't get the dorm life experience, Mountain View College is well worth going to due to the learning experience.

    Academic Rigor

    There are times the Academic rigor can be a little complex, that's where hard work, being responsible, and listening plays a major role.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever decide to attend Mountain View, my first tip will be responsibility. Mountain View courses are rather less complex than other Universities, so students tend to get off track due to easy assignments. Always be responsible for studying as well completing all your work.

    In three sentences

    Overall Mountain View is great school for potential graduates. The teachers and staff are extra helpful and provide lots of information for you to succeed. Even though this is a community college, I feel that this school is a great stepping stone to progress your knowledge to get ready for any university.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really good and the police officers drive around the parking lot just in case you ever need their help.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for those that want a smaller campus with people you will recognize from seeing them on a day to day basis. The professors know your names and try hard to get remember them as soon as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    I recommend this school for those who don't have much money to spend for a University or if you don't want to be in debt.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I loved walking outside on the campus because it has a beautiful campus. The small ponds are all very nice and there are plenty of places to sit down outside. When it's cold outside there is a small game center where you can play video games, air hockey, ping pong, or pool.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on campus which is there for a lunch break along with a medium sized cafeteria. If you're in need of a quick snack then I recommend the school store which has chips, drinks, and etc.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are challenging but are very enthusiastic about the subjects they teach which makes the classes all the more interesting. The teachers want you to think and be creative. The classes are respectively hard especially since they are college classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register as soon as possible in order to get the schedule you want. I also recommend renting the books from Chegg.com because it is cheaper. Also, go to ratemyprofessor.com to find out more about the professors so that you can pick one that suits your needs.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very clean and nice outside. The professors are very into the subjects they teach and like for the students to think outside the box.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has Police all over school keeping watch of our safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and Lots to do. Great place to take your shyness off.

    Great for these types of students

    GREAT FOR ALL STUDENTS OLD AND YOUNG.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus has a very diverse wildlife like bobcats so don't be scared if you see one.

    What to do for fun

    You do have a little time for fun, so you can get involved in many of the organizations that are provided around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    I love Subway there, but if you don't there are many stores around the block.

    Dorm Life

    Don't really sleep at campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They expect nothing less than great. They know you have the potential to achieve high that's why you are there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to always carry a watch and make new friends. ( They can help you alot. Be very organized and neat.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a College that will help you save money and guide you to your future. I attend here because I am in the Early College provided. It isn't like any other College because here you feel like at home.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not to much to do, sadly due to he weather there is not much fun outside the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    no food, just bending machines

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The only person that is telling you what to do is yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never drop a class. Be on time to all of your classes. Complete all your assignments.

    In three sentences

    You have free study resources available. Friendly school staff members. Open areas that allows you to get inspired.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lot is well lit. Parking is not bad. You can always find a relative close parking space to get to the building fast. There is campus security available.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about Mountain View Greek life. This is more at a university level.

    Clubs and Activities

    Set out looking for a club or activity that you are focusing on in college. It will help you to find friends with similar interests. Always talk to others about what they know. You are just one person and can't know everything. Others may know about schools, clubs, programs, or scholarship opportunities you have never heard of.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning students, new high school graduates, or older adults wanting to get a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is great to stretch out scholarship money or any other funding. Its about 1/4 of what a state university would be.

    What to do for fun

    Mountain View as a lot of organizations and clubs on campus for a variety of interests.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is on campus and the bookstore offers snack items. There are also vending machines around campus. You can go off campus to nearby food places too.

    Dorm Life

    Mountain View doesn't offer dorms. This means the school is a commuter school but this is ok. Again community college is a great transition from high school to university if you decide to go that path. I would recommend it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set for the subject and major and their are always opportunities for help. Don't get discouraged if college is harder than high school. Its meant to do that to ensure you are serious about earning a college degree. Just because a class is hard doesn't mean you can't get help. There are resources at hand to help all students so take advantage of everything that is offered. If a teacher gives extra credit don't hesitate on getting it done. This is a great way to boost your grade. Strive for success in all your classes. Some grades are hard to bounce your GPA on the right track. Work hard. Study.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great opportunity for transition from high school to a university. I would defiantly recommend going to a community college before university and Mountain View is the place to start. This is a good way to get all your basics out of the way before heading off to a university.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a great school focused on their students. There are many opportunities for help and guidance. Mountain View offers great programs and areas of study with great teachers.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a subway in the school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    MVC looks like a nice school, enough of the staff is friendly to saw they have a nice staff. The campus is clean and have a little river flowing in between the buildings, which is nice. Also, the prices for classes are decent.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, I've never had an issue. Campus police are always visable and easy to find

    Clubs and Activities

    so many .... lots of ways to socialize , network and connect with the staff, professors, fellow students and campus

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs for younger students and PHI THETA KAPPA for the Honor students who excell

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new H wing , is all glass and overlooks a pond with , lots of things to see . A jogging walking trail and fitness club.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and you are getting an education that rivals university level

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, take part in activities , take classes that you enjoy !

    Food and Dining

    I perfer to bring my lunch but there is ample places to sit and enjoy lunch all around the campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available at a two year community college, o

    Academic Rigor

    Challening and rewarding 5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a head start at the admission's process, learn the layout of the campus prior to the beginning of semester. Get to know your professor's and the staff. Make friends , join study groups, seek the help of tutors and never hesitate to ask questions

    In three sentences

    A awesome atompshere for learning, The Professor's are top-notch educator's with a deep desire to see their students succeed, the staff at this college are caring and professional at all levels. There is no other college I would prefer to attend to obtain my degree in Nursing .

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station on campus and there is always a cop in the parking lot. I consider the school a safe campus. There's never any drama.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mountain View offers many clubs and organizations that allow students to come together and make long lasting friendships.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the school is great. I felt comfortable with my surroundings and it's definitely a transition. The school gets you prepared for whatever University you decide to transfer to.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lounge for students to watch movies, play games, and socialize. There is plenty of space around the school to have peace and quiet. The pond area is definitely nice to be at when you need to think.

    Food and Dining

    Mountain View does have a school store, just as any other school has. Subway is also available as a healthy option.

    Dorm Life

    Mountain View College is a community college and does not offer a dorm life. However, it is definitely an affordable start to your college life. I recommend starting your basics there first. It's the smartest idea you could go with. It does not matter where you begin; It matters where you finish. Be smart about it.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors can only do so much. You have to put your part in if you want to be successful. Your expectations to do well are high and the professors expect you to meet their standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Starting college is a new start for you. It's an opportunity to do better than you did in high school. It's a chance to meet new people while establishing yourself as who you want to be, not what others make you out to be. Don't get caught up in your old high school ways. Do what you need to do and set your priorities straight. Focus on your grades because it gets difficult to catch up once you slack. Make a change and be in control of your life and the decisions you make.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College offers a wide variety of activities and a diverse atmosphere. They help start your road to college, walking you through everything you would possibly need to know. The school itself has many helpful resources and dedicated professors who care about the academics of their students.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is filled with police to enforce safety in the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs and activities throughout the year.

    What to do for fun

    One can go to the track and run outside. Join different clubs and also play in the game room or workout.

    Food and Dining

    In this campus we have subway and a school store to buy healthy food .

    Dorm Life

    Mountain view college doesn't have dorms because it is a college.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are determine and help us achieve and be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard it pays off because mountain View college a lot of fun groups one can join based on interest.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a great campus with a lot of determined professors. They help each and every student be successful.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You cannot walk ten feet without seeing the police, and it is not rent-a-cops that are security, it is actual Dallas Police members that have a station on campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something happening there, plus most of the time free food is offered.

    Bang for the buck

    One class for less than $200=perfect for students that are in financial binds.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out around camps or in the court yard.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on campus, no cafeteria; there are close fast food joints, like McDonald's or Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which professor you get, the course rigor changes, but even the hard: professors are the best and teach the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come early in the morning if you are applying or if you have financial aid. The lines get really long really quite. Ask around for the best professors, mostly the longer they have been there the better.

    In three sentences

    I love this school; they have great teachers and most of them really care about there students. The tuition is really cheap, it is about $150 per 3 credit hour class. Overall I rate this school a 4 out of 5.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    They are a great school. The teachers are very friendly. They also have a very friendly staff.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join choir! The Mountain View College Music program is really good. They have a great choir and jazz ensemble and the dean and head of that department are very nice.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Subway on campus. However,there are vending machines everywhere and a bookstore that has a lot of food also. The campus is also located around a lot of cheap fast food for poor college students!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college. People that go to that college usually live near by in the community.

    Academic Rigor

    There are various methods that teacher use at Mountain View. Some professors are very hard but they are most always very willing to work with a student that shows the desire to do well. There are also so very easy teachers but I have never come out of a class without learning something whether easy or hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure and do not skip classes. The classes are small so you will be missed. Participate in class conversations and get to know your professors because most of the professors see that as a dedicated student.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school that has made my education enjoyable. Not all of the professors are good but most of them are very helpful and willing to work with their students. The campus is beautiful with all of the trees and I love being there.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe, for the 3 semesters that I've spent here i am really enjoying and i will continue to enjoy for at least 2 more semesters before i transfer to a four-year institution

    Clubs and Activities

    the rising star club is interesting and helps students to stay focus and participate in activities that happened around the campus

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of students. students who want to transfer to a four year institution or for students who want to get a 2 year degree or for student who want to get a vocational program/ certificate

    What to do for fun

    The Rising Star program, which i am part of, is part of the many events and seminars that the school has. we form part of the making of the celebration of different holidays, such as decorating the entire school for Halloween trick or treating and buying candy to hand out to the elementary children that go trick or treating at the campus

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is nice, the high school/ college students have free access to their food, but we can also purchase it at an affordable price. they also have a subway in the first experience building.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, DCCCD colleges do not have dorms, therefore, at this point I've not had a dorm life experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The class syllabuses are very comprehensive, every student always has the challenge to go above and beyond what is expected from the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are determine that you want to say some money before transferring to a four-year university, Dallas community colleges are very helpful. i will definitely recommend Mountain view college as one of them.

    In three sentences

    I've enjoyed my time at Mountain View Community College because I've learned to be a more determine and responsible student. the classes are affordable and with a flexible schedule. it is the perfect place to start a college career.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The basketball team is okay.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but the only thing they have is subway which I don't want to eat all the time.

    Dorm Life

    Don'thave dorms there

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life their is really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Mountain View if you want to accomplish your dream

    In three sentences

    Mountain View is a really good college to attend. The teachers are really helpful to their students. A great college t o start off at.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a number of armed police officers at the campus, but anyone is allowed entrance without any form of security check

    Clubs and Activities

    MVC offer a great number of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are undecided on what you want to major in, or even if you know what you want to pursue, MVC is great starting point.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition has gone up, MVC is definitely a money saver.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations you can join as well ans athletic teams and recreational courses such as music, acting, physical education, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway restaurant inside the campus. Other than that, enjoy the snacks at the bookstore and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Mountain View College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and demanding. Expect to invest ALOT of work and time outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as your desired term registration starts. This is very important if you want to get the schedule you desire, not to mention you get first pick of classes and professors.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a great way to kick off your college career. It offers most or all of the required basics and many more courses. Since its a community college you can expect a lower tuition cost than a major university.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Very limited since it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Very outstanding, but there are some developmental classes that aren't necessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources provided by the school.

    In three sentences

    It is very diverse. It has many options in terms with associates degrees. The teachers are great at what they do.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe, they had school police officers there during school hours and all after school events.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer great clubs and activities, I'm not sure what all they have to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for social butterflies.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not really sure I just attended class and went home once they were over with.

    Food and Dining

    They only have a subway inside the school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, this is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school to attend if you are trying to get your basics out of the way. They have wonderful instructors and offer some of the best classes!

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice campus. They have up to day computers and software. I loved the vibe that I received while being there.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always driving around the parking lot. Safety is the key and their focus. You can set up to recieve alerts from them in regards to safety issue or concerns. Police have their own office if you need to go and report something.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are math, spanish, science and many many more clubs to be apart of.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and can be set up on a pay plan

    What to do for fun

    The is a trail to walk or run, shopping ,dining and nearby access to downtown for the deep ellum experience(nightlife).

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway !!! but if you want something different there are nearby restuarants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms :( but there are nearby apartments that seem nice :)

    Academic Rigor

    A+++!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to take some classes Mountain View is a great starting point. You will find that the instructor care and they have resouces to help with just about all your needs.

    In three sentences

    I have had some great semesters so far. The instructors are helpful and they believe in helping you to succeed.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security service around campus and a quick 411 call

    Clubs and Activities

    As far as activities, they sometimes plan a activity once awhile, but however it's sociable and fun.

    What to do for fun

    Join as many activities like dance club, choir, etc you can possibly enter

    Food and Dining

    They only have a subway and a bookstore for food.

    Academic Rigor

    . 80% of the current students are graduating this year with an Associate Degree or certificate. . Great academic selection . Available centers to help with your work

    Tips for prospective students

    .STUDY, STUDY, STUDY! _For those who want to be in the medical program like nursing, there's a lot of classes you have to go through in order to be admitted for the program. Participate in the available sessions the nurse coordinators provide and get info. . Participate in clubs and activities that help you in your classes like the writing club, math club, nurse association club, etc . Keep yourself motivated to keep yourself on the right track and become successful

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is organized, well-functional, and have great faculties and staffs that are willing to be at your service. Mountain View faculties are there when you need them within the school hours and good assistants with help with any problem in need. I'm not considering Mountain View to be the college for everyone, but when you first walk in the campus with a warm feeling in your body, Mountain View College might be the right college for you.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems like a safe place. Everyone acts like adults.

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't have many clubs, but it's easy to get one started.

    Great for these types of students

    People that don't have a lot of money for a normal university, like me. It's a really chill enviorment.

    What to do for fun

    I just hang out with my friends, and just explore the school.

    Food and Dining

    The subway is okay, and they have vending machines in every corner.

    Dorm Life

    They don't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy to stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    On your first day, get there a little early to just walk around the campus. The instructors are very nice, and the college offers many things to help you out.

    In three sentences

    They are very resourceful. Classes aren't so large, so you stay focused. The environment is very calm.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every three months or so, a group of imaginative students thrown on different personalities, and entertain the world. These students are calleed Actors. The theatre program at Mountain View has Theatre Plays every year, and it's always anticipated by the community.

    Bang for the buck

    After spending time at Mountain View, you'll later look in your wallet, and say, I totally forgot I spent money to go here! You'll say that because the education, excitement, and friendship you'll discover at the college will have you realize the school should be priceless.

    What to do for fun

    Music, theatre, eating, games, and just pure conversation is what flows smoothly through Mountain View College. Students there don't use the word fun anymore. It seems too much of an understatement for the students there.

    Food and Dining

    Luckily, Mountain View has a Subway in it, which provides healthy food for students. A foot long meatball sub with a side of bacon is what you'll find at Mountain View College, and there is no doubt that people will find it delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Mountain View College, but there is tons of students you will draw close to, and develop a friendship that roomates dorming together would also have. You can literally raech out and catch friendship at Mountain View. It's everywhere.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors don't just lay out work for you and expect you to complete it in a flash at Mountain View. The professors craft their students into academic machines, and turn them into pure success. Students help students as well. The learning environment at Mountain View is limitless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Joining as many clubs as possible at Mountain View is a tip students should grasp onto. Clubs keep students motivated, and hungry for education. It leads to intelligence neyond expectation, and follows up with friendships one would cherish till death.

    In three sentences

    If The Devil himself stepped in this school with the intentions of misleading Mountain View's students, he'd be fresh out of luck. The students, staff, and environment at Mountain View College is a joyful experience to have. It truly is a special place to seek education.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To be honest I feel very safe with this highly capable and from the looks of them highly experienced in the name of safety and protecting the rights of students or teachers.

    Clubs and Activities

    Musical traditions Acting and theatrical traditions as well

    Great for these types of students

    Calm or serious types of students. Looking for a great education but at the same time saving loads of their money.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am receiving special one on one attention even though I'm surrounded by other college students, but overall it's a great experience.

    What to do for fun

    Exercise at the campus Fitness Center. Learn how to swim at the campus outdoor pool. Use the Wifi that is at your disposal.

    Food and Dining

    One word=SUBWAY

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very compatible and fun time being able to learn from this well respected group of teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and stay proactive around the school campus. Explore new ideas of learning with your friends and teachers Express yourself in class and stay in touch with your teachers to get the full blast of the learning experience. Get in involved

    In three sentences

    My first thoughts and impressions of MVC is that being at an atmosphere such as this is a blessing and an awesome experience. Being around these dedicated and very interesting students and teachers is something of a complete and enjoying experience. Moving about to my classes is a very fruitful because it's easy and just plain interesting to know that I have other dedicated and committed students as much as teachers. In my first day, I have to say I learned a lot.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrol the campus often. However, there are some car break-ins that happen every now and then.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to choose from that will fit almost anyone's interests. Just go out and look for them.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus is great for students located in the S and SW part of Dallas. It is also ideal for students thinking about finishing their core classes and then transferring them to another public Texas university.

    Bang for the buck

    At $135 a course for in-county students, this is by far the best rate of tuition I've seen anywhere. Take advantage of this low tuition rate and take a class you don't know much about; you may end up discovering a new-found passion.

    What to do for fun

    The school likes to give students the feel of a large university by offering many student groups, clubs and organizations. There is a lot to do if you go looking for it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway that closes at 2pm. There is also a general cafeteria that I have never seen operational in all of my time attending MVC.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school. There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are taught by instructors who have received their Master's degree in the subject. However, there are also many classes in which an instructor would have received his or her Doctorate or Ph.D. What I am trying to make clear is that the classes are taught by people who have made it their careers and dedicated so much hard work and effort to the subject, so you should expect an enriching experience. However, you should also expect to do your share in absorbing the knowledge by independent studying outside of class. Some professors make this easier than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is an assumption that goes around which claims that if you attend a community college, you will receive less of an academic challenge and blow off classes. This is not true and all students should be prepared for a wide variety of college-level courses and expectations if attending Mountain View College.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is one of seven schools in the Dallas County Community College District. The campus serves thousands of students every year with a variety of different academic directions. Whether you're into aviation or business, Mountain View College probably has something for you.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always on the patrol to keep the students safe

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are posted throughout the school for students to participate all information is updated on a regular basis.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offer several things for entertainment for the students from video games to plays etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway on site and the food is always good. Also about 20 minutes from this location are a variety of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm at this location.

    Academic Rigor

    Learn all you can, and can all you learn. Ask for help when needed.5

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a made up mind to learn and you will do find.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is a awesome community college to attend. They go out of their way to make your college experience a easy and wonderful experience. If you are wiling to learn the teachers will go out of the way to help you obtain and meet your education goals.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very affordable, the books are a bit pricey though.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a Subway, BUT vending machines can be found almost everywhere! :D

    Academic Rigor

    Great qualified teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head high, and do your best!

    In three sentences

    Great college! The teachers are very welcoming and the student body is so nice. This college is a great for first time college freshman.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus and there have been very few minor incidents while I was there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was not really involved in very many clubs, but there are a lot of them there. I was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society though.

    Great for these types of students

    Mountain View is great for students who are looking to transition from high school to a university. I was homeschooled so having never been to a public school, Mountain View offered a smaller setting which provided a good place for me to gradually work my way into college life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every spring, the campus has a student recognition day which is kind of fun. It is to honor outstanding students in various studies and clubs. There is always a light reception afterward.

    What to do for fun

    My favorite thing to do for fun was hang out with my friends. If you like music, I would definitely recommend getting involved in the music department and the choir. That is where I spent most of my free time.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is the only place to eat on campus. There are restaurants down the road.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the professor. Some are very easy, while others require a lot more work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around about professors before registering for a class. It is really easy to find out a lot about a professor and his/her style of teaching and class requirements from other students. Look for your textbooks outside of the campus bookstore as it tends to be pricey. Take the time to meet and get to know each of your professors. It really pays off!

    In three sentences

    Mountain View is a great school and I loved every minute of being there. The faculty and professors are amazing and are very willing to work with the students. The small class settings made my experience there truly enjoyable.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There a friendly police on campus. Drills are performed every semester so that student will know what to do in time of emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs to choose from. Anime, Astrophysics, student association, phi theta kappa, new freshmen club, Spanish club, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Nerdy student Student who appreciate Art

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toward the end of the semester, they have different types of dance performance in the hallway. Always fun. Beautiful work of art by students are also displayed all over the school.

    What to do for fun

    Gym, library, interesting clubs, Game center in the student life office, SUBWAY!

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    You will never regret attending this college if you are a serious student.

    In three sentences

    Even though this school is a two year community college, It is a very good school. The teachers are literate and willing to help student to get better. Services are also available to help student to achieve their goals in life.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mountain View has their own police department patrolling the campus at all times.

    Food and Dining

    They have a subway on campus, which is not only healthy, but delicious. They also have vending machines for everyone's convienence.

    Dorm Life

    The good thing about this school is you don't live on campus. You can live where ever you want to and go to school here.

    Academic Rigor

    The counselors and advisors are all very helpful. They work with you to make sure you are getting everything you need from school, and they make sure everything you need to do is taken care of.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize, workout, swim, play piano, play basketball, run, online games, play game consoles, pool, air hockey....

    Dorm Life

    community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Take some time to get to know people.

    In three sentences

    This college is very well organized. I have met very important people who are helping me graduate as soon as possible. I am able to find a good person to study with or a good place to study at.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always available and always patrolling. The campus has always felt safe to me.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students, parents and anybody willing to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Payment options for tuition are available and that really helped me during the school.

    What to do for fun

    The student services building office of student life providing many activities. The college also has a variety of clubs and organizations to join and become involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The subway on campus was always fresh and the vending machines are located in many places with a variety of options.

    Dorm Life

    It was a community college no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe my professors challenged me in a way to where I had to do more than what was expected and that pushed me to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Utilize the tutoring labs. The tutors are very helpful and resourceful.

    In three sentences

    The administrators are helpful. The school provides a safe and learning environment. The resources provided are amazing.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every day when I'm walking out of the campus I see at least one of the campus police officers paroling the parking lot, and their office is easy to locate if you need help.

    Greek Life

    I haven't seen any toga parties but Ill keep an eye out for them!

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not personally in any of the clubs, but Ive heard great things about them from other classmates.

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school, returning to college after a break, or just wanting to learn something new, Mountain View is great for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is still growing as more space is needed, so it can get confusing when a new building has been added, but once you have been to class 1 or 2 times, it becomes very easy to find your way around the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The smaller classes are very efficient if your not used to the high paced college classes yet, and the entire district has the lowest tuition rates around, possibly even on a national level, but I'm not 100% sure on that one.

    What to do for fun

    There are several classes that you can take, being continuing education classes, that do not count for credit. Or if you are wanting something a little less expensive there are several clubs you can join, or just go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    Just like with the dorms, there is not a dining facility at this campus, but they do have several vending machines if you need something quick before or in between classes. There is also a Subway near the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the school, however there is a decent looking apartment complex right across the street from the school, but I haven't been inside it myself.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really know their stuff, and many of them have been teaching for years so they know how to handle the class-room setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that you speak with advisers early as the small classes can fill up quickly. Also, don't be afraid to talk to your professors one-on-one, they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    The School overall is great. Both the professors and advisers are friendly and very helpful. The smaller classes are easier to lean in with an environment similar to what I was used to in high school.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police on campus keeps the grounds safe for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have several clubs for you to join and keep yoiu active that way

    Great for these types of students

    This is a good college for slower students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I did not find or see any

    Bang for the buck

    Well the old saying is that you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Well I am an older student so therefore I did not look for fun. I am going to school to get an education and that is pretty much it.

    Food and Dining

    As far as food goes they do have a subway there on campus which is always good.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm there.

    Academic Rigor

    There is not much of a challenge there at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending that school you will need to stay on top of everything.

    In three sentences

    Mountain View College is good for a starter school, but if you want a school that has good professors then that is not the school for you. I was not impressed by that school at all. I could not get an honest answer on anything from the financial aide to the professors.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent Safety. The police officers makes an effort to know you and they are on top of their game as far as patroling the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students, but if you are older you will appreciate the not so busy environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition for a good quality education

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities always going on at MVC.

    Food and Dining

    Only a Subway and goodies at the bookstore, but MVC have plenty of vending machines

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy MVC, I attended El Centro College and hated it, you will enjoy your college journey here.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very laid back, professors are great. Classes are very easy to get too, there are a lot of younger people, but they act very mature, friendly and don't act up in class.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Muggings and car break ins are frequent and should be expected if you are taking night classes. Campus police are no where to be found when these events are happening.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, but you may find one right for you.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to attend a cheap college and get done with basic classes

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap classes

    What to do for fun

    Go home

    Food and Dining

    only a subway, but healthy fast food is still fast food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid night time classes due to safety reasons. Avoid expressing yourself when taking any kind of artistic class.

    In three sentences

    Great if you want to learn how to weld, become a nurse's aid, or a construction worker. Many people come for degrees like those, and to take basic classes and transfer to a university. Don't expect a lot from mountain view.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    most of the campus police are rude and there were vehicle break-ins last year but i haven't really heard of any this year.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of different clubs on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have club events and potlucks that are really fun! cathy edwards and the office of student life try to make every event and awesome event!!

    Bang for the buck

    some of my classes were totally worth my time and money while a few were a complete waste of both! there is a mandatory class they make all freshmen take with dr. pettiway & dershem.... complete waste!! and there are classes w/ prof. diaz, york, nichols & harris that i'd pay to take all over again!!

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway and vending machines....

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on this campus!

    Academic Rigor

    this really depends on the professor! so classes are really fun & informative and some are really hard & well, boring!! i've had some really demanding classes and some that weren't very challenging at all!

    Tips for prospective students

    know what degree plan you want and stick to it! get all info in regards to your degree plan from the school you wish to transfer too!!

    In three sentences

    the campus is fun, warm and inviting! we have some of the most intelligent and exciting professors.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe. the police is always on patrol in the school and on the parking lot. we dont have fights at the school at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have alot of clubs at the school such as, bso ( black student organization), trio, christian organization, and ect.

    What to do for fun

    you can go to the basketball games and sometimes we will have events at the school that be fun or one of the organizations might throw something.

    Food and Dining

    we have subway, the bookstore, and vending machines. if one of the organizations at the school have something going on then they will have food also.

    Dorm Life

    we do not have dorms at this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    if the teachers see that you are serious and attentive they have no problem helping you out with anything. if you need help with any assignments you can got to the writing center, math center or any of the labs and they have no problem assisting you either.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are very caring and helpful. the students are friendly. the campus is beautiful.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    comes first, as they have their own security force that shows it's presence on campus

    Greek Life

    honors societys only

    Clubs and Activities

    some of the highest ranked in the state.

    Great for these types of students

    it's great for all students no matter what type of student you are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the best place is the lion's den.

    Bang for the buck

    this school gives university quality education at a community college level, this is an experience you would cherish for a long time.

    What to do for fun

    this school has many avenues for social life, whatever you're interested in, the office of student life has it.

    Food and Dining

    mountain view college has an on campus subway restaurant and a general cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    this school employs instructors that give very thorough studies in the classroom, in my opinion, this improves the overall quality of education received

    Tips for prospective students

    develop good study habits early seriously concentrate while in class be sure to grasp the concept of everything you study take good notes from the instructor's lecture

    In three sentences

    mountain view college is affordable and has a quality about itself. this school holds a high expectation for all of it's students. this school even encourages every student to put their best foot forward.

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Serious and devoted students

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a good education and are serious about school; this is the school for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Mountain View!

    Am learning a lot

    Very informational education!

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    maybe