Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

National Park Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Few guards, and many maintenance personnel.

    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, PE, arts, nursing and other various groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Young, fresh out of high school, or someone trying to start taking classes.

    Bang for the buck

    For low tuition, this college will help you get started.

    What to do for fun

    Excellent gym and extra curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Soup and Salad shop plus various vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The rates may be low, but various aspects of this college are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Act fast to get the classes you want, and to get an appointment with an adviser.

    In three sentences

    Small town Community College to get you started or to obtain an associates degree. I have been there two semesters and it works well with my hectic schedule. The VA department is very supportive and helpful.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hit the gym, join the few clubs, play ping pong or pool in the student area.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok, one restaurant called Soup N Sandwich is expensive for what is offered.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    people WILL steal your books.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers. the faculty try to find activities and events for the students to do, which isn't much but its better than most community colleges. Has a great nursing program.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    -tourist town -theme park -hunting/fishing -camping -lakes/boating -Art Galleries -beautiful country

    Food and Dining

    full cafeteria and vending machines as well as close and convenient eateries of all fancies and rare tastes.

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and competitive in every level with national standards for transferring to 4 years colleges and exciting online courses that will push the bounds of what you could ever possible think a community college can be. This college will inspire the most distracted of students and create a scholar that passionately digs for success!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to NPCC be ready for a beautiful gem disguised in the back woods of a bustling tourist town in Spa city. This lovely and diverse atmosphere and old world cites adds to your overall experience at NPCC.

    In three sentences

    National Park Community College is Dedicated to the success of every student. They are beyond excellent in their presentation and motivation for each and every student and more than willing to go the extra mile for anyone willing to better their future with a degree. This is more than a community college, This is a life college for amazing and spectacularly diverse students.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security going around campus making sure all is right.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's academic clubs and student activities as well as a religious group that hosts activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Who want to be near home and that are easily stressed out.

    Bang for the buck

    It's well priced, the only reason I'm able to go to college.

    What to do for fun

    They have student activities for people to join and I think that's a good way to throw a little fun in between all the stressful classes.

    Food and Dining

    There's vending machines and a little food place in the cafeteria, but I personally would rather go 30 seconds down the road and get some McDonald's.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are more laid back and there's always someone there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress yourself out.

    In three sentences

    National Park has a very welcoming and helpful environment. They want to make sure that each student is successful in what they want to do. Being such a small campus has its advantages: small classes, helpful hands, and getting to know each of your classmates.

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Silk screen!!

    Food and Dining

    The hamburgers are the best.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say. Never lived on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to take a tour. The scenery is as beautiful as the classes.

    In three sentences

    Helpful staff, great courses, wonderful environment.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe

    Great for these types of students

    National Park is great for any kind of students as long as you do your best

    What to do for fun

    Read, draw, babysit, hang out with family and friends

    Food and Dining

    I'm brand new to the campus, but I have heard it's good.

    Dorm Life

    I'm still going to be at home with my family while attending National Park.

    Academic Rigor

    I know National Park is going to give me the education to go as far as possible in my career choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mrs Phyllis Brooks is a great counselor to use for setting up class schedules.

    In three sentences

    National Park is really close to my home address. National Park College staff is very helpful and friendly. They have helped me set up a class schedule that would fit my lifestyle.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe it's a pretty small campus but there is security and a law enforcement officer on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs you can be a part of but I'm not really into that.

    Great for these types of students

    For people like me who are changing careers or just starting one I'd say you can't beat the scheduling and cost.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not for sure on that.

    Bang for the buck

    Price wise it is more cost effective to get your basics or associates here then transfer to a university if your going for a bachelors or masters.

    What to do for fun

    I'm sure there is activities to get involved with but I just attend my classes and head out.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lunch area with a sandwich shop and a smoothie king but downtown is only about five minutes away with plenty to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are relatively easy if you don't overload yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is relatively small and parking can be a issue but allow yourself just a little extra time. As for the classes just take good notes and prepare yourself for exams and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    I am really enjoying the flexibility of my schedule. The professors are very knowledgable and I enjoy the classes. I'm quite surprised at how well that I'm doing since I've been out of high school for 18 years. I was concerned about being older and out of place but there are people of all ages and backgrounds.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All there is on campus is a Souper Sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    National Park is not difficult if you are determined and responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early in order to get a decent parking spot! Also, if you're going to take any sort of physical education classes, make sure that is your last class of the day.

    In three sentences

    National Park is altogether a decent school. The classes are smalled and more personal, so it is easy to have one on one time with an instructor. Although, the counselors there could step it up a bit.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many of the students are able to hold full time jobs and care for their families, even single parents, while being a full time student.

    What to do for fun

    There are occasionally student activity days where students and teachers can get a free lunch. The activities can be anything from making shirts to watching a hypnotist preform. There are several events and many departments hold special events. The Mid America Science Museum will sometimes allow students free entry.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Soup or Salad in the student center that has good food at reasonable prices. There are vending machines with snacks and drinks in the student center, lab science building, and the gym.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others, but most maintain a level of challenge without it being so much that it is overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is prohibited to smoke on campus or the surrounding areas as most of the surrounding properties are private businesses or the museum, so if you smoke you will have to drive off campus for a ways.If you are prepared to study and do your work you should be able to succeed with ease. Parking can be difficult to find, especially at the very beginning of a semester, but towards the midway point and just before last drop day it gets easier to find spaces. You can easily walk over the entire campus, so you don't have to worry about driving from one building to another. The entire campus is set up to be easily navigated by handicapped people.

    In three sentences

    National Park has been a wonderful experience for me, not just through the classes, but the people help as well. The teachers are knowledgeable and more than willing to help in any way they can, there is free tutoring available for many classes, and the classes themselves are engaging. When I first joined I was apprehensive, but being on this campus really helped me conquer my fears about college, which seemed so scary when I was in high school.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Provides a very safe, comfortable environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all groups of students. Seemingly higher than average percentile of non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    From my experience, NPCC's Bang for the Buck value is unparalleled.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Basketball Court in the Physical Education building, as well as some other equipment.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Soup and Sandwich Cafe located in the Student Center. The food is pretty good. There are also many restaurants and fast food locations not too far from this location.

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing; does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled by the 'small town college' environment. Many courses, at least those of which I have taken, have the same challenging material of those offered at other establishments. The advantage here is that the smaller environment allows for personal connection with the instructors, giving you a greater advantage and higher chances of success in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a solid education for less! National Park Community College tuition pricing will be extremely difficult to beat. You can check with the ADHE's Arkansas Transfer Course System if you plan on attending a major state university to finish your degree, and save money!

    In three sentences

    NPCC, although a smaller school, has much to offer. I am very satisfied with the staffing, both in and out of the classroom. I have had too few negative experiences to say that I wouldn't recommend this college to anyone seeking to improve their education.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would have to give this five stars this is a very safe campus. We have 24/7 security and the annual security report I read is proof of that.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of activities and different clubs to join. Every month there is something going on for the entire student body, from free lunches to free t shirts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a very nice nursing program here. I am not going for nursing but the building we have for it has an ER station in it. I thought that was neat.

    What to do for fun

    Hot Springs is a beautiful place to live with numerous lakes and things to do. It is a resort town so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of places close by and we have a soup and sandwich in the student center that is very good.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2 or 4 year community college we don't have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very helpful in any aspect that you need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor they are very helpful. If it has been a while since you have attended school it can be scary going to college but they were very helpful in alleviating my fears and now I have a 4.0.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with great instructors. They are so helpful in getting you started.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are wonderful, and they work with the students. You have to plan your classes wisely to not get overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time wisely. Never give up and take advantage what is offered to you (tutoring ect.) Put your best effort forward.

    In three sentences

    Very delightful, rewarding, and accommodating. Interested in the student's education, not just their paycheck. Beautiful campus.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read the Word/Bible, spend time with my 5 year old son, teaching him how to write his letters and numbers, how to box and fight; so that he'll be able to defend himself against bullies, when he starts school this year.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know anything about this either, so I can't rate this one either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm, so I can't really give a specific rate on this one.

    Academic Rigor

    They are strict when it comes to rules and regulations. However, this is a good thing in most situations. It keeps the students and faculty safe. As much as can be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip that I can think of: Is to make sure that you enroll early, instead of waiting until the last minute. That way, you'll get into what ever course you want.

    In three sentences

    All of that I had the pleasure of interacting with Professors were cool/ friendly. They were always willing to work with you on anything. Almost everyone there at I had the pleasure of interacting with were very helpful, understanding and non-judgmental.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security for the college by hired security company and the county sheriff's department. The college also has plans implemented for student safety for all situations.

    Bang for the buck

    The college does its best to make it affordable for all students and will help you with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are groups to get involved with and student government. If you get involved and meet new people you will have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small student restaurant in the Student Center that serves soups and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college there are no dorms on campus. But the campus is centrally located that communters have an easy drive to and from college.

    Academic Rigor

    The class schedule and structure is made to suit students. You can chose from online, web-enhanced, and lecture type classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!!! Even if it is just in class. The teacher are there to help you succeed. The more they get to know you, the better they will be able to assist you.

    In three sentences

    National Park Community College is a wonderful place to obtain your associates degree or get your start before transferring to a four-year college. The faculty and staff are more than willing to help each and every student no matter what the situation. I am more than happy to say that I am a student at National Park Community College.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not look at their nursing program their nursing program is rude and only cares for their ratings.

    In three sentences

    This school gives loads of experiences in many courses. I enjoy the courses I have taken. Wish that they would be more than a 2 year college.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is the safest campus I have been on. This past year they upgraded campus security by adding one of Hot Springs finest. There have been no major security issues that I am aware of in the past 3 years.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is a great organization to join. It was kind of dragging when I joined, but the last president made it shine. There has been a lot more participation. If you are an over achiever, this is the group for you!

    Clubs and Activities

    This past year student government was brought back. They done a great job their first year of putting things together and leaving an imprint for the next group to follow. This is a very active group, and you don't have to be the President, V. President, Secretary, or Treasurer.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a nurses club, I believe. They work together to raise money for scholarships for the nursing program. There is also a Relay for Life team that is a joint effort from all organizations and students on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tapping, done by the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, is invitation extended to students with a record of over achieving. Members of the society are supplied a list of students that meet the criteria for membership. Then they go from class to class and hand deliver an invitation.

    What to do for fun

    You can head to the student center for a bite to eat, a game of pool or table tennis, or sit down and relax for a while to watch t.v. This is where most of campus activities take place.

    Food and Dining

    There are two small cafes on campus. The prices are reasonable and the food is decent at the one on the front side of campus. I never ate at the other one.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The specialized computer classes move fast. You have to pay attention. If you don't understand something, don't wait to ask - the teachers are more than willing to spend time making sure you understand everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a goal in mind when you start. Talk to the counselors and make sure you know how to figure academic progress. Have a back-up plan if you have classes get canceled, this can hurt you.

    In three sentences

    It is really easy to slip through the cracks if you are not on top of your game at this college. You need to have a goal and stick with it. Be careful with necessary classes being dropped, they will hurt your academic progress and cause you to loose your financial aid.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria in the student center, food is good, sometimes a little pricey, employees are friendly (don't pay with a $20!).

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    on par

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, get to know your professors and use the math/english learning lab!

    In three sentences

    This is a smaller college giving a better student teacher ratio thus making the transition from high school to college easier for many students. The teachers are very genuine and caring. I love this campus and wish I could continue here after my associates!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have speaker systems in place all over campus to warn students if they need to leave the campus or go inside. They also send txt msgs and emails when necessary. They hired a full-time policeman to be on campus this year.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of clubs and activities if you want to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to apply themselves and get their core subjects out of the way before attending a more expensive 4-year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing really unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Good way to save a little money on your first two years of college by not having to pay such a high price per credit hour and not having to pay to live on campus.

    What to do for fun

    A 4 times a year or more the college provides some time of entertainment during the middle of the week such as a magician or illusionist as well as lunch.

    Food and Dining

    The have a variety of food available at the student center and occassionaly will have free food for lunch at the Baptist Student Union.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    I try to get my on campus classes all or Tues./Thurs or Mon. Wed. Fri, and then I take the rest of my hours for the semester on-line so that I have days free during the week to study.

    In three sentences

    Teachers seem to care about whether you learn the information. Some classes are offered on-line. Able to check your grades and register for classes on-line at home.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe when on campus:)

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently unaware of all of the clubs and activities, but there is a lot of advertisement for them around the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student. I have seen single parents, disabled students, all kinds of different ethnicity's, and all ages.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of at the moment.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, I am certain that I will get my moneys worth out of this school.

    What to do for fun

    Hot Springs has things to do for fun for all types of students that attend this college.

    Food and Dining

    Never been to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, so I do not know.

    Academic Rigor

    Good!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your information!!!! Look for scholarships and grants elsewhere, because I have had no luck with such things at the college.

    In three sentences

    So far it seems like I will love it. The only complaint I have is there is a lack of returning emails from the employees here, but sometimes that is understandable. I am looking forward to starting here in a few weeks.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local students who may not have the money to go off to a four year university when they graduate high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome tuition prices!

    What to do for fun

    No intramurals, but you can enroll in a Life and Fitness class, which was very fun.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely hard, some extremely easy. Just depends on the teachers you take

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you enroll ASAP

    In three sentences

    It is a nice and cheap way to get your basics out of the way! It has decent facilities and above average teachers. It's a great stepping stone in one's pursuit for achievement!

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police and the Hot Springs Police Department continuously patrol the campus and the vehicles of students

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone truly wanting to learn. NPCC has students from ages 17-70.

    Bang for the buck

    National Park Community College is one of the cheapest in the state and, in my opinion, is one of the best.

    What to do for fun

    The school often holds various activities for student/teacher interaction. Other than what there is to do on campus, you can go into Hot Springs and find shopping centers, movie theaters, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The only place to eat on campus is in the cafeteria where students can get a meal at the Soup 'R Sandwich. It's somewhat cheap and has tasty food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching staff are true professionals and know what they're doing. One of the history teachers graduated and taught at Oxford University in the United Kingdom and one of the math teachers has a chemical engineering degree from the University of Honduras. They're experienced and love teaching eager students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of the library.

    In three sentences

    My time studying at National Park Community College has been wonderful. All of my teachers and other staff members have been more than helpful in my learning endeavor. It's a great school with great people.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    take a pe class! national park community college has many extra activities that are very exciting, such as kayaking, canoeing, and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    i have never eaten at the college, but i have heard great reviews.

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not live in a dorm. i do, however, have friends that do. they speak of the cleanliness and great organization of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i have not found a class yet that i have been disappointed in. thank you national park community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips for prospective students would consist of three main factors, stay focused, time management, and learning techniques. make a goal and stick to it. watch your time on all classes to ensure achievement. find your personal learning technique and conquer. national park is the way to go, whether it is online or in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    i have been taking as many classes online as possible seeing that i am a single parent trying to work, go to school, and provide for my daughter. the online classes that national park community college are not only well-outlined and organized, but the teachers are very caring and passionate, just as if i was in a classroom. national park community college has worked with all my needs and availabilities to ensure that i can further my education to achieve my goal of becoming a teacher.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sleep. there is nothing exciting gonig on here.

    Food and Dining

    there's a mcdonald's and a burger place right down the road. plus the gas station food. the college has a soup 'r salad but it's pricey and not that great. and there's some vending machines with doritos and cheetos, my personal favorite.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on the teacher. some are lazy, some are too difficult, others are really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    everything is your repsonsibility. the administration and financial aid people appear helpful, but in reality they're just giving you the run-around and aren't really concerned.

    In three sentences

    national park has a very diverse student body, from recent high school graduates to middle aged adults. since it's a community college, there isn't a whole lot to do as far as extra curricular activities. they do have a very high enrollment, so the administration gets a big head and doesn't really care about the individual students.

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and allow them to assist you in your studies. They do care!

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You might need some study skills which you can get from Success Seminar and i suggest Mrs. Murphy. She will help you relax and get comfortable with the college staff, surroundings, and other students. Also, to keep all your papers neat because the teachers will surprise you by asking for the whole semesters work. If you are taking a language class, the neat thing about NPCC is that you are allowed to take lets say Spanish II and pass it and get credit for passing Spanish I and II. That is a GREAT feature and helpful so you can graduate as fast as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh Definitely. NPCC is mis-judged by a long shot. Yes, it is close to home but they definitely work you just like any other college. Most of the classes are transferable so you will be able to transfer to a 4-year University with ease. Some of the classes are a challenge too which means it is not a blow-off college which i think most people think about a 2-year college. The Nursing Program is one of the BEST in the state and if you go to St. Joe's College that is located in Hot Springs, they will say that most of their staff is from NPCC.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy being at NPCC because the student-teacher ratio is great and people are very friendly including the staff. The ratio is fantastic especially for me because I tend to ask many questions and I don't feel embarrassed to. The staff will help you with any problems you are having. The counselors are great too for helping with choosing classes and degrees and transfer credits.

    Am learning a lot

    Heck to the Yes! In all of my science classes, I have learned so much information that just keeps getting bigger and bigger each semester. I have come to LOVE genetics because of my Biology class with Mrs. Gentles. I will point out to people if they are recessive or dominant and explain why. I also use more specific terms for the body and such when talking to people because of Anatomy and Physiology I.