Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Naugatuck Valley Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/11/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many events hosted by sga that go on all semester. there are a large number of clubs to join for meeting people with similar interests. there are auditions for plays as well that can get you involved with the school.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay but there are limited options. luckily, there are a lot of nearby dining options.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at nvcc.

    Academic Rigor

    there are a good amount of challenging courses available but they are not impossible to pass. you get exactly what you put into the courses. so put in the effort and you will be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    start the process early to ensure getting your first choice classes. that way, you can make your class schedule accommodate your lifestyle instead of the other way around. research professors before choosing to take a course with them. ratemyprofessor is an excellent source to check into before setting your sights on a particular professor. do not take 8 am classes. it seems proactive at first until you're falling asleep in the middle of an exam.

    In three sentences

    as a current theatre major, i can say that the theatre program is excellent an full of opportunities. professor tedesco is so brilliant and helpful. you will learn a lot with him.

  • 02/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who work part or full time and are willing to work hard.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    One small cafe with pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will not get thecollege experience

    In three sentences

    Naugatuck Valley provides a cheap and, for the most part, quality education. It is a great school if you have a job while attending. NVCC is also a good stepping stone to universities if one is not sure exactly what they want to do.

  • 08/20/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many options

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    went there yesterday and I was treated like garbage by Terry Latella Capps Advisor, her behavior was so low class. She also did some illegal things like share my son disabilities with the Secretary and Teacher of course they all work there wont say anything. We were there at the door listening. She acted like she have mental problems. I was very upset but I did not go down to her level, I wanted to say excuse me You need to respect me Im an adult and there wasnt a reason for her psycho behaviors. I did not say anything i feel pity for unhappy ppl like her. She was ghetto and low class. I am a Social Worker, I loveeee to help people and cant believe humans like her are in these positions. My children were very sad and my son had fever right after he was sooo sad not understanding why this woman was so nasty to us. She definetely made my son College Experience a miserable one. She need to becareful everyone post on social media now and record ;) I would never say anything i dont have proof about it. Nice material to send to the media (channel) She did not need more words to insult my son in his face too. The woman was soo delusional and hurts because We always treated her with alot of respect. I was going to apply to take some classes no way , I wont give this school one dollar from my pocket hun. Thanks NVCC for a blessing experience ;) another soul who needs God.

    What to do for fun

    Join The Clubs

    Dorm Life

    none

    In three sentences

    Low Class Capps Advisor Terry Latella very uneducated, Good Price and Beautiful School

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not the highest presence, but they are there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not involved in them.

    Bang for the buck

    Education quality is great, professors care and work with you.

    Food and Dining

    Okay but not the best. Good for on the go.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    About average, some teachers are heavy into reports and papers and other more realistic as every college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a regular college if you have the option

    In three sentences

    The only down side is the absolute lack of class times for all the computer networking classes every semester. Only two options every semester and they both suck. One class on Mon/Wed 12:45pm-2:45pm no one who works can do this or the other option Thursdays 5:30pm - 9:30pm. Just what every person wants after a work day to go to a mini seminar.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food here is good, but is a little pricey. I do believe that all college food is pricey so i guess it is acceptable.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    okay if i could say anyone thing about the college, its that the teachers here are EXCELLENT. These teachers know and feel where your coming from, and try to work with you in such a way that you could be at your most comfortable and produce great results.

    In three sentences

    I find the college to be a pretty good experience for anyone looking to find themselves. This college also has a decent amount of opportunities to lead a person in a positive direction. I do think however, that the college lacks in collaborative projects with other colleges.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you need to get the rest of high school out of your system.

    In three sentences

    Cheap.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    unknown

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    unknown

    Great for these types of students

    unknown

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    i'll be finding out soon

    What to do for fun

    unknown

    Food and Dining

    unknown

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    I'll be finding out soon. I plan on going for CAD/D

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early when applying

    In three sentences

    NVCC, campus is beautiful and convenient for a community college. i like how nice and open the staff is in helping you with your goals and questions. I am very excited about attending because there classes are flexable and manageable.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen or heard of any mischief. It's safe!

    Bang for the buck

    Not too bad, worth what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs are interesting, and the school has a lot of interesting stuff hanging around.

    Food and Dining

    It's a small reminder of what High School was like. Except people just sit with each other to eat.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers teach harder than others, but they put the effort in so they can see you succeed. You'll only fail if you choose to.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really diverse, so prepare yourself for a batch full of random students. They will range from exciting to a complete snore, but overall getting through the day is always manageable.

    In three sentences

    Teachers that I've met are wonderful, and considerate. The financial aide office can drive you crazy sometimes. I haven't made a single college friend.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join depending on your interests. You'll find a psychology club, a hispanic club and much more! There is a shortage on sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. typical cafeteria food. nothing really impressive. There is a good deli right outside the campus. The deli is called, Lenas westside Deli that deli is very good. They lots of good food there. Better than the cafeteria food!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a bit inconsistent. I will have to say, refer to rate my professor

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early! Really... register early, we are talking midnight when course registration opens up. Get good seats, do your homework and check who your professor is going to be. You can either luck out with a good one or with the kind that only teach for a paycheck.

    In three sentences

    A good school. It's a place where student go to get their education, and either transfer or begin to work right away.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    none

    Greek Life

    that one frat boy that got kicked out of his real school for selling drugs

    Clubs and Activities

    ganglife

    Great for these types of students

    students who have never received any other education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    drug dealers in the bathrooms

    Bang for the buck

    no bang for buck go buy a nice computer and software and do it yourself

    What to do for fun

    avoid crackheads in the hallway

    Food and Dining

    got sick and its overpriced

    Dorm Life

    sit in my car between classes cuz i dont wanna catch anything

    Academic Rigor

    I entered the digital arts program to further my career in video production which I am already well on my way to doing working in danbury and surrounding areas. I decided it would be a good idea to go back to school so I could learn more about my field. When I got to class I realized that although I had a awful video production class at my highschool I was not paying for it and naugatuck offers nothing more then a highschool class taught by a highschool teacher who was clearly just trying to double dip his curriculum and take on a college night class once a week. Software was outdated and nothing was learned that could not be self taught unless you honestly know nothing about computers. My suggestion would be to rent the new 6.0 adobe premier software and learn yourself. The industry is changing extremely fast believe me. Almost everything I was taught was outdated and I got tired of telling my teacher how it is done now adays Ill send anyone the assignments for the class so you can do them yourself emails Hobbskw@yahoo.com. My thoughts are due to low class sizes I was more or less tricked into thinking the class would benefit me. Further more I searched for the teacher of the advanced classes and his professional videos are good although I would not consider them to be anything I would model after. Hope this helps I know its a total diss and I have a different view going into school then most but the class was a nightmare for me the idea of taking time to make a childish skit or moc news report and having to pay for it while im turning down actual jobs in the field valued at 100s of dollars a hour is insane. I hope this has helped anyone seriously pressing a career in the video production field.

    Tips for prospective students

    I entered the digital arts program to further my career in video production which I am already well on my way to doing working in danbury and surrounding areas. I decided it would be a good idea to go back to school so I could learn more about my field. When I got to class I realized that although I had a awful video production class at my highschool I was not paying for it and naugatuck offers nothing more then a highschool class taught by a highschool teacher who was clearly just trying to double dip his curriculum and take on a college night class once a week. Software was outdated and nothing was learned that could not be self taught unless you honestly know nothing about computers. My suggestion would be to rent the new 6.0 adobe premier software and learn yourself. The industry is changing extremely fast believe me. Almost everything I was taught was outdated and I got tired of telling my teacher how it is done now adays Ill send anyone the assignments for the class so you can do them yourself emails Hobbskw@yahoo.com. My thoughts are due to low class sizes I was more or less tricked into thinking the class would benefit me. Further more I searched for the teacher of the advanced classes and his professional videos are good although I would not consider them to be anything I would model after. Hope this helps I know its a total diss and I have a different view going into school then most but the class was a nightmare for me the idea of taking time to make a childish skit or moc news report and having to pay for it while im turning down actual jobs in the field valued at 100s of dollars a hour is insane. I hope this has helped anyone seriously pressing a career in the video production field.

    In three sentences

    I entered the digital arts program to further my career in video production which I am already well on my way to doing working in danbury and surrounding areas. I decided it would be a good idea to go back to school so I could learn more about my field. When I got to class I realized that although I had a awful video production class at my highschool I was not paying for it and naugatuck offers nothing more then a highschool class taught by a highschool teacher who was clearly just trying to double dip his curriculum and take on a college night class once a week. Software was outdated and nothing was learned that could not be self taught unless you honestly know nothing about computers. My suggestion would be to rent the new 6.0 adobe premier software and learn yourself. The industry is changing extremely fast believe me. Almost everything I was taught was outdated and I got tired of telling my teacher how it is done now adays Ill send anyone the assignments for the class so you can do them yourself emails Hobbskw@yahoo.com. My thoughts are due to low class sizes I was more or less tricked into thinking the class would benefit me. Further more I searched for the teacher of the advanced classes and his professional videos are good although I would not consider them to be anything I would model after. Hope this helps I know its a total diss and I have a different view going into school then most but the class was a nightmare for me the idea of taking time to make a childish skit or moc news report and having to pay for it while im turning down actual jobs in the field valued at 100s of dollars a hour is insane. I hope this has helped anyone seriously pressing a career in the video production field.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem, it is well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus. There are less activities, but SGA does allow new clubs to be started.

    Great for these types of students

    New and returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great money saving option, and the teachers are great.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a lot of trips.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on which program you attend. Allied health programs are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check online for ratings on professors before taking their classes. Register at midnight the night classes open.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school with a lot of great teachers. This is a school where you can gain a great career within 2 years. This school is a great starter school, to gain a good GPA and transfer to a 4 year school.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. It is very cheap and a very smart choice if you are low on money but still want to further your education.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe that serves pretty decent food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard, but the professors are very understanding with the course work and that makes the classes a lot easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to not spend a lot of money and be in debt, this is a great choice of a school for your first 2 years.

    In three sentences

    You definitely get your moneys worth at the school. It is nice and affordable but is a good quality school. The professors are very understandable with school work.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards all over campus offer safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, music club, student government alliance, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Students going back after a long time out of school, or students trying to save money without going to a 4 year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition, credits aren't expensive so it's afforable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria sells food Monday through Friday, and are open from 7am to 6:30pm. Decent food, not the best though.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are helpful and the classes are small enough where you can get time with the instructor if you need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    NVCC is a good college for saving money on getting started on your degree.

    In three sentences

    Naugatuck Valley is great college to start off your education, or finish a degree. It's cheap, and the classes aren't large so you can have time with the instructor if you have questions.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safty was never an issue. Staff are always around to solve any situations that may be weird or dangerous.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many options here!

    Great for these types of students

    Who are starting out and don't know what they want to do yet or students need to take pre-req courses and don't want to spend a lot

    Bang for the buck

    The value is exceptional!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at Naugatuck Valley you can join for fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, I recommend eating off campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early!

    In three sentences

    Naugatuck Valley has the best value for the price you pay. There are lots of resources to excel at Naugatuck Valley. Class times are very flexible.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Really worth it if you take the classes you need and finish out your degree here so Connecticut colleges are required to transfer all your credits so you don't get stuck re taking classes at a more expensive price!

    What to do for fun

    Some clubs, some activities, try and make a friend and attend events together to try and form a social group, it's difficult due to everyone's different class schedule. Not many people end up hanging together since they come in for their class and leave right away.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food you can grab quick in between classes, as well as lots of vending machines for when the kitchen is closed.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. Commuter school

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure all paperwork is in, double check information at registration to make sure you are being advised for the right classes.

    In three sentences

    A school where kids can stay home and explore what they want to do in life. It gives them the freedom and flexibility to also be able to work so they can earn money while attending college and try to fit their schedule to match.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, god area

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    any club you can imagine, and if they don't have it... they will help you create it.

    Great for these types of students

    great school for those struggling with money, students who are not sure what career path to pursue. They help you pave the path.

    Bang for the buck

    it's an inexpensive school, you get a great education for minimal cost!

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, get involved in the community!

    Food and Dining

    great cafe!

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is not a competetive school, it is challenging in very good ways. People who work hard are the people who do the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research, speak with the advisor before enrolling in a program Take advantage of the ACE center (academic center for excellence) for great tutoring Register for classes early!

    In three sentences

    NVCC is run by exceptional staff who are willing to go out of their way for the benefit of their students. The past two years there have been incredibly challenging but a rewarding experience. I highly recommend this school to anyone of any age.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Aside from the occasional smokers lounging about doorways where they shouldn't be, there isn't much of a safety hazard here. There are cameras and security guards about the school, but not so many that you feel like you're living in 1984.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list! I'm in the Philosophy and Psychology clubs, but there are many others that are very diverse; Human Services, Chess, Student Nurses, Veteran's, Hobby Gamer's Club, Music and Arts, Black Student Union, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being active with school politics and extra-curricular activities will find many opportunities for experience here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Much of the advising staff is very friendly and helpful -- just remember to be courteous and respectful and you're more than likely to receive the same. Same as anywhere else in the real world. There are mostly small classrooms ensuring attention to those who need extra help, most professors also offer office hours and there is a tutoring center. Many clubs, active falculty, student opinions matter, plenty of FREE parking close to campus, there is a newspaper, etc.

    What to do for fun

    There are a diverse range of clubs that host activities and events regularly and a theater that that is always putting on shows and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large cafeteria that has only improved since I've been here offering a full deli and grill with vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free options. Vending machines are spread across campus for quick-snacks and there is a pizzeria and another deli right off of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school itself has a Curriculum and Educational Affairs Committee that attempts to improve curriculums to ensure a worthwhile education of which student representatives are encouraged to give input. As always, there will be great or poor professors. Check websites like Rate Your Professor before registering for a class to be safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of student activities! There are honors programs, an active student government, tons of clubs, etc. I can almost guarantee that all of them will be worth your time. Of course, don't let this impede on your schoolwork. Study avidly.

    In three sentences

    Naugatuck Valley Community College has many extra-curricular activities that are a fantastic supplement to the course-load. On campus activities and events (plays, concerts, performances, dances, etc.) happen regularly. Like with all colleges, there are great teachers and poor teachers for any given subject, luckily at NVCC there is an center which offers free tutoring in almost any subject if you have the misfortune of having a poor teacher.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For any student who is dedicated and hard working. There are no right or wrong students for this school, there are only lazy students or achievers, and you decide where to fall in this spectrum.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is excellent and has much promise for you and your future. But, to succeed in Naugatuck Valley Community College you just have to work and study hard. Don't be discouraged by failure or downfall, persevere in all your subjects. If you have academic troubles, ACE is available. Have the right attitude upon entering this school and that will definitely make all the difference.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely, if you want to save money and get a good education, this is definitely the place to go. Your dollars go a long way in purchasing books, classes and tuition are very affordable, and the school does everything it can to help you pay for your education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the school environment, it is very positive. The facilities available to this school are awesome. I enjoy going to Classes here and would recommend anyone interested to study in this school. There are always celebrations and events in the school to attract students. Pizza parties, zumba dance, free food, and other student events are common in the school and they host these events in a very tasteful way.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are very knowledgeable in this school and are patient in answering any questions you may have. They make learning possible for any student regardless of where they are on the i.q spectrum. The teachers cover every crucial aspect of materials so that when it comes time to discuss your studied subject, you can do so with ease.