Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

New York College of Health Professions Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the food over here,

    Dorm Life

    Excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Very Good

    In three sentences

    I took a few years off of school after I graduated high school to save up. Next thing you know, I' m a secretary at a law firm because is the only place hiring in the area. Not my ideal job. So I looked for schools that offer medical training and ended up deciding between becoming a medical assistant and a licensed massage therapist. For those of you considering which one is best, massage therapists can choose their own hours if they work for themselves, whereas massage therapists can't. THAT was the biggest difference for me that sold me on becoming a massage therapist. I wasn't really ready for the level of education this school offers and my first year was really tough but the faculty was SO helpful. By the end, I aced my finals AND learned the real value in being a student here.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in SERIOUSLY studying holistic therapies like massage therapy and acupuncture. This is not the school for anyone who will take their education light-heartedly.

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the open house and go for an interview. It will help you get a better idea of the school's atmosphere, people and principles.

    In three sentences

    The school is geared towards individuals looking to make a career out of what they learn. Before you make a decision on which school to attend, be sure to visit NY College and talk to their faculty and former graduates. It will give you a good idea if this is the right school for you or not.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yahh.....! Totally Secure

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a professional , I strongly suggest you look at their list of CE classes.

    In three sentences

    I have attended a C E course here and am pleased to say that it had exceeded my expectations. As a licensed Acupuncturist, I wanted to learn more in acupuncture as I'm always growing.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Execllent

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Conducted with rigor and in full accord with the standards of profession.

    In three sentences

    Great school to attend. I study massage therapy and have long classes, but the faculty keeps my attention and takes time to thoroughly explain anything I have trouble with. I like the cafe we have as well - it's convenient, inexpensive and a good combination of comfort food with quick snacks. The staff is very friendly too and considering the amount of time I spend there, it has become a second home.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A word of caution! Think long and hard before applying to this place not even fit for dimwits and misfits. I especially made an appointment for a one-on-one meeting with an admissions counselor, instead of an open house, because I had a lot of questions and I wanted the counselor's undivided attention. I made the appointment ahead of time so I could prepare my questions and be ready for the meeting I called the admissions counselor the day before to confirm. She never said she wasn't going to make it nor going to be late. When I told her I was excited to be registering and taking my first step towards being a massage therapist, she didn't match my excitement. I was on time for the meeting, despite delayed trains, heavy rain and my leaving the house late. I was told by a young lady that the admissions counselor was running late. But I was never told by her the day before or anyone else she would no longer be meeting with me. Instead I met with a substitute admissions counselor. I found this unprofessional because when I called the day before, the admissions counselor never said she wasn't going to make it. This meeting was a disappointment. I prepared my paragraph on why I want to study massage therapy many weeks in advance. As I was writing my paragraph on why I want to study massage therapy that I prepared many weeks in advance, this substitute wouldn't let me finish writing my paragraph. She brushed it off as if it wasn't important. As we were filling out the financial aid application, the substitute didn't have the four-digit school code ready. Instead she kept going to the office across the hall and came back with two incorrect school codes. We had to call New York Hesc three times. Due to this, I had to wait seven to ten business days because the fafsa was automatically sent while I was waiting for the correct school code. As I was doing the fafsa, the substitute was constantly texting on the phone and instead pointed to the guide on the right-hand side as help despite my not filling out fafsa in nine years. While making the schedule for fall 2013 courses, I didn't feel involved in the process at all because the substitute never made eye contact, nor was she was listening. I had many questions. the substitute answered my questions in between paperwork. The substitute was uninformed on two questions I felt she should have known the answer to. The first was if internships were paid or not. The second was if the school had a dean's list or not. Her excuse was that there was a new dean and that she knows that there is recognition at graduation. The substitute wanted to do schedule fall 2013 classes before answering questions. This place is more worried about getting you in, then you getting the questions out. Then, in an unusual turn of events, the admissions counselor I spoke with the day before came in to the one-on-one meeting almost three hours later to check on me. Then when this admissions counselor came in, the substitute said if I have any more questions I could ask the admissions counselor while she was there. I felt that the meeting was rushed. The substitute was impatient at times specifically when writing the essay and when I was asking my questions. She was uninformative. She didn't include me nor my concerns during the scheduling process. Then when I let the school know about my experience, the Interim Director of Admissions called in a I-could-care-less-tone only to see if I was still interested in attending the school and not about anything else. Another clown from the admissions dept. called me at about 9:30 at night to see if anyone reached out to me and followed up on me. The guy at the lounge downstairs is gay and flirted with me because I was, as he said, well-dressed for an one-on-one meeting with a counselor. Then there was another guy checking me out as I was getting in the elevator. As a man of God, I don't condone homosexuality. So that also set a bad tone. A word to the wise, I wouldn't even put this place on my list of choices. Look elsewhere!

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good quality food

    Dorm Life

    Like it.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    In three sentences

    Quality is what I think when New York College comes up. The school sets high standards and expects everyone â?? from the faculty to the staff to the students â?? to follow it. However, each student receives the help they ask for which can be so rare in health care schools. Typically those schools stuff their classes with volume, without much consideration for the quality of education. Considering Oriental medicine covers a myriad of techniques and principles and is a masters degree course, individual attention is a MUST and New York College instructors provide it.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Above my expectations

    Dorm Life

    Very Good

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    In three sentences

    Iâ??ve always wanted to study massage therapy, but finding the right school was a challenge for me. Iâ??ve heard too many horror stories about people wasting their money on a program they got sold on. Any time I called schools, I would be very skeptical of the people at the schools telling me how great their programs are and it all seemed staged to me. When I went to the New York Colleg e open house, I was greeted genuinely and was impressed that they have flexible schedules in multiple places which was what I needed to fit in with my current job. It was re-assuring and working out great for me.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in studying healing therapies such as massage therapy, acupuncture, oriental medicine, herbal medicine, etc. It is oriented more towards professionals as it is not your typical undergraduate university. However, you see anyone from 18 years of age to individuals in their late 50's studying here.

    Food and Dining

    Love the food here

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with admissions and make sure you get the most out of it. Talk to professors, students, graduates, and staff and explore the location to get a feel for the school to see if it is the right one for you.

    In three sentences

    If you are interested in studying the therapies mentioned above, visit New York College's open house or offices. Keep in mind that they do have 4 locations - 3 in the city and 1 on Long Island - so choose the one most convenient for you.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I like it.

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    In three sentences

    I started last year in massage therapy and I really like it. I came here straight from high school which I don't think a lot of people do because most students here are older than me, but I prefer to be in a more sophisticated atmosphere. It definitely is no-thrills College as there aren't many (if any) clubs or Greek life, but it definitely helps focus on studying for the career ahead.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The students that would benefit most from this school are those set on pursuing a career in a holistic health field. Students that flourish in smaller, more individualized classes will enjoy the Collegeâ??s environment.

    Food and Dining

    Its Very Salubrious

    Dorm Life

    Awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Complacency

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend that you stop by an open house at any of the four campuses in the New York area so that you may get a â??feelâ?? for the school. Typically, professors, current students, as well as some alumni are there to provide you with any information you may need.

    In three sentences

    Students that are looking to pursue a career in a holistic health field, such as massage therapy, HAVE to visit New York College. Their private-school environment allows for professors to deliver high quality education to students, while providing them with individualized attention.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I enjoyed food and dining very much.

    Dorm Life

    Brilliant

    Academic Rigor

    Satisfactory

    In three sentences

    The one aspect that attracted me the most to New York College is how the information is taught. Being that the College is a non-profit, private establishment, the professors are able to dedicate more attention to each student. For me this is necessary as I have been in private schools my whole life and I learn best in such an environment. Many of the professors are practicing in the field and itâ??s comforting to know that I am being taught information that will be relevant once I graduate.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Above Satisfactory

    Dorm Life

    Pleasant

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    In three sentences

    I recently enrolled here and I already love it. The classes are small and personal, which is important when learning and practicing massage therapy, and the professors are well-educated and many are practicing in the field so they know what to teach. They provide one on one attention a student might need. My favorite part is the hands-on approach, which is preparing me well for my future career. If you are looking for a career in massage, this is a great place to learn.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who wish to get a good education in massage in a small, private college environment.

    Food and Dining

    Hygenic

    Dorm Life

    Excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the open houses at any of the four campuses in the New York area. You will be able to talk to teachers and current students, as well as get a feel for the school and the field.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at this school care so much about the students, guiding them through the educational process towards a successful future. The small environment promotes learning and allows students to receive all the help they need. If you are looking for a quality education with a strong background at an affordable price, this is the school for you!

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I enjoy eating here

    Dorm Life

    Very Friendly

    Academic Rigor

    Above Expectations

    In three sentences

    This is my second year at the school for the Oriental Medicine program and I am really enjoying my time and education here. I am in my 30Â?s and already have a career in the health care field so I wanted to make sure that the school I attend is geared towards professionals. I like that unlike in a lot of undergraduate colleges, the staff and the professors treat each student as an adult (maybe because I attend a graduate program). Each student is responsible for bettering themselves and seeking out the help if they need it. Help is readily available by the professors as well as the staff.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Fresh and Healthy

    Dorm Life

    Very Good

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    In three sentences

    Be ready to learn! ThatÂ?Â?s what you attend college for, is Â?Â?not it? The massage therapy curriculum is loaded with thorough information that is necessary to be a successful professional. It proves to be too much for some people, but graduates find employment rather quickly and are generally well-prepared for the field. New York College has tough, but fair standards so if you want to be the best massage therapist possible, this is the right school for you, but be sure that you are ready to give your all.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent

    Great for these types of students

    Great for professionals who want to better their career or students that are determined to practice in a holistic medicine field, especially massage therapy.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe on site that sells hot food and high-quality snacks and drinks

    Dorm Life

    Excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    First, decide on what you want to study. I have seen several students leave because they decided they do not want to study the subject they originally picked. To decide whether you want to study at New York College or not, visit the open house! You will get a great idea of whether this is the school for you or not.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time here and I have seen many successful practitioners come out of the school. Be sure that you are ready to keep up to their standards and spend your time off studying.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is my second year at the school for the Oriental Medicine program and I am really enjoying my time and education here. I am in my 30â??s and already have a career in the health care field so I wanted to make sure that the school I attend is geared towards professionals. I like that unlike in a lot of undergraduate colleges, the staff and the professors treat each student as an adult (maybe because I attend a graduate program). Each student is responsible for bettering themselves and seeking out the help if they need it. Help is readily available by the professors as well as the staff.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn how to have successful careers as massage therapists, acupuncturists and Oriental medicine professionals.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of food and drinks is sold at the cafe and the prices are very reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the open house to decide if this is the school for you. They give a lot of information at these events. They have 4 locations in New York but you can usually attend the one closest to you regardless of the campus you plant to attend. You will get to talk to the students, teachers and staff so your decision should be easy to make after the event.

    In three sentences

    This has been a great school to attend. The teachers are great, the staff is helpful and I feel well-prepared to work as a massage therapist.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety? Ha!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to rack up students loans for nothing but stress and anger and helping the president afford her Jaguar.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a real unusual tradition of firing teachers who students like the most, teachers who try to voice an opinion. There is also another tradition that they say they offer flexible scheduling but really you'll pull your hair out trying to figure out how to get the classes you need in a particular semester because they only give you one option for 98% of the classes. You won't want a job while you're attending this school.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay a lot to get very little. You'll be lucky to learn with how angry you will be at how this school is run.

    Food and Dining

    The janitor clips his toenails near the hot food. I would never purchase food that is not sealed from them.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a tough school because you have to teach yourself a lot. They have unqualified people teaching classes that are the meat and potatoes of this field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else. Anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    Horrific. They only care about the money you're giving them. There are no flexible options for scheduling and your favorite teachers will be fired.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The library at NY College is very extensive; it has a broad collection of extremely helpful material regarding Holistic medicine.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    well in my swedish technique, we do hands on massages. that's very fun for me.

    Dorm Life

    this is actually a private community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your interested in an small environment where you meet new and different people, great professors and instructors, this would be a great college for you.

    In three sentences

    well since i attended this college, i've enjoyed every bit of it. i've made my own schedule at different times and its is going good. and i love my class: anatomy & physiology, fundamental holistic health, swedish technique and physical art (tai chi).

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is friendly. hi mike!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there is absolutely no student live or comradaree because students are just trying to survive in a drowning environment.

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't want to learn anything and just pay a lot of money as they coast by. those who will be taught how to pass a nys board but come out with little substantial knowledge of their profession.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unusual turn over rate of admins and teachers. student will have to carefully monitor that their paperwork is taken care of because registrar turn over rate is high and they end up putting the student services person to do that job and they there is no one to guide the students. they have expanded campuses to brooklyn and manhattan despite the turnover rate and their poor reputation, trying to make a buck off of financial aid and student loans.

    Bang for the buck

    run by corporates who have no clue about the industry. equipment and environment poor. students struggle to get by. faculty that speaks up against he poor conditions get fired. few solid teachers left. president is a lawyer and is out for a buck, should be fired, same with mary, no business being in charge of this institution. board of education should know about the illegal and immoral business that goes on at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    avoid this school at all costs!

    In three sentences

    the worst place to study massage. find another school fast!