Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Norwalk Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/22/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    NONE

    Greek Life

    NOTHING

    Clubs and Activities

    WEIRD IRRELEVANT UNEDUCATIONAL CLUBS

    Great for these types of students

    FRESHMAN COMING OUT OF HIGHSCHOOL

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NO QUIET STUDY ZONES SHITTY LIBRARY THE ONLY THING THE PROFESSORS CARE ABOUT IS IF EVERYONE PASSES THE BOARDS, THEREFORE THEY ONLY SET UP ABOUT HALF THE PEOPLE IN THEIR CLASSES TO ATTEMPT TO DO SO.

    Bang for the buck

    Only 50% of their students graduate, allowing them to maintain their 100% passing rate on the boards. The less students they have to take it the higher their chance of keeping that rate. ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS SCHOOL IS THAT THE COMPUTER LABS HAVE FREE PRINTING

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING DO NOT START THIS PROGRAM. THERE ARE OTHERS IN CONNECTICUT THAT ARE WORTH TRAVELING THE DISTANCE TO AVOID HAVING TO BE STUCK IN THIS PROGRAM WITH PROFESSORS WHO DO NOT CARE IF YOU PASS OR FAIL THEIR CLASSES.

    Food and Dining

    THE MOST DISGUSTING PIZZA I HAVE EVER TASTED IN MY LIFE. THE WORKERS ARE LOUD AND OBNOXIOUS AS WELL AS UNFRIENDLY.

    Dorm Life

    DOES NOT EXIST

    Academic Rigor

    This schools Physical Therapy Assistant program is a huge waste of time. They only accept people based on a point system, not your past experiences/background or anything relevant to you as a person. They only have two teachers in their entire program who are too busy all of the time to help you with any and all questions you may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    THE ADVISORS AS USELESS AND DO NOT ANSWER THE PHONE OR RETURN CALLS AND E-MAILS IN A TIMELY MANNER. BETTER WALK TO CLASS OR TAKE THE BUS BECAUSE THERE IS NEVER ANY PARKING IN ANY OF THE LOTS DO NOT APPLY!!!

    In three sentences

    NORWALK COMMUNITY COLLEGE FALSELY ADVERTISES. THEY DO NOT SET UP THEIR STUDENTS FOR SUCCESS AS THEY BELIEVE THEY DO. THE PROGRAM AND SCHOOL IN GENERAL NEEDS MORE STAFF.

  • 01/04/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will meet someone who believes in you when you self doubt yourself.

  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classes do feel like they are college level. The classes are small, the most would be a size of 28 or 30. There are many different tutoring services that will be recommended to you by the professors. Usually if you feel like you're are having trouble they will send you to the tutoring center.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every single major.

    Bang for the buck

    Great to go if you're starting out college. Doing the general classes here will be a lot less money and worth it. It's quality learning for a lower price. It costed me $2,000 to take 13 credits for the semester. It really is the best way to save money. They have so many scholarships as well, it is money that they actually want to give away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in one building and a small cafe in another. I personally have not tried the food from the cafeteria because I hear that it is slightly overpriced. The cafe good food but not a very big menu. Somethings in there are overpriced but some aren't.

  • 06/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A joke

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few

    Great for these types of students

    - Tight budget -Low HS GPA

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None. A lot of drugs on this campus and the staff doesn't do anything to help the situation.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs

    Food and Dining

    Terrible, dirty cafe. Buy lunch off campus

    Dorm Life

    None here

    Academic Rigor

    It is ok. The math curriculum is a joke. Not practical whatsoever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dr Apfel, the Disability Coordinator is TERRIBLE. She seems as if she never even went to school and treats you as if you are stupid and can't understand what she is saying- she is VERY RUDE, the most unprofessional and unqualified person at this college. Im surprised she has a job here, and question her credentials. Avoid the math department if possible, horrible quality professors who don't care.

    In three sentences

    Some good, some bad, and some terrible aspects. Terribly overpriced for what it is. Disability coordinator is a joke

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a clear security presence around the school, so it's easy to feel safe. Also, people are generally nice and friendly, so there is also a very relaxed atmosphere.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a Community College, so you're definitely not going to have to worry about high costs. Also, there seemed to be a fair few ways for people to get help with payments even then!

    What to do for fun

    There's quite a few clubs that meet throughout the week. They advertise events on bulletin boards throughout the campuses, so it's not hard to find out where they are and what they'll be doing at a given time. I can't say too much because I hadn't the time to join a club, though.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafes; one on each campus. The East one is much smaller and more geared to on-the-go dining, while the West Cafe is much more like a lunch room. On the food, I found it pretty tasty, and moderately priced. There's vending machines that are always available, and the cafeterias are open for most of the day. They only get busy around noon, which is to be expected. Otherwise, getting food in a hurry isn't too hard, which I can personally attest to.

    Dorm Life

    I give this a four, because I think that if there were dorms, they'd probably be pretty good! Especially if the niceness of the common areas are any indication. Again, it's a Community College, so there's not actually any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't take a wide swath of classes, but for what I took, it's really not difficult to do well as long as you are present for every class. The Math department is special, though, in terms of rigor. You are only graded on your tests, so while there is a lot of temptation not to do the homework, it will certainly hurt you come test time. Math classes are also somewhat fast-paced, so attendance is especially key.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important things, I think, would to be make sure to get the FAFSA in on time and to make sure your health record is up to date. Otherwise, it's no trouble to get in and be able to pay for classes and such.

    In three sentences

    Whether you're trying to work out what you want to eventually get a Bachelors in, or are just trying to shore up some of your skills, NCC is a great choice. The facilities are appealing and accessible, the registration process straightforward, and the classes are numerous! I went there to get a few of my academic core classes through before moving on to finishing my Bachelors, and I think that it was well worth it.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You really do get a good education for what you pay. NCC has very qualified professors who are amazing and always there to help! I have received more attention and help at NCC than ever before. I have had professors who will come and meet with you around your schedule not theirs! Sincerely, NCC has better professors than many schools not only that, but professors who care for their students!

    What to do for fun

    NCC has tons of clubs you can join. They really do try to have a variety of clubs so each students has something to do on their spare time as well as make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have two cafeteria one on each campus. The food is not very good and a little over price. The good thing is there are tons of fast food chains down the street!

    Dorm Life

    Sadly there is no dorm life at NCC for it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Really depends on what professor you have. Overall, they are pretty much happy to help you! However, they are very strict on attendance if you miss a number of classes you will fail the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't pick random professor if you can avoid that! Try looking up professors and seeing how other students feel about the class and professor. Will save you tons of time worrying if he/she is good at their job and money!

    In three sentences

    NCC has its flaws like many schools. However, there you can mature intellectually and physically. There are numerous amounts of help, they ultimately want their students to succeed!

  • 02/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Plenty of serious but friendly security guards that are horrible at directing traffic.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many interesting clubs but I unfortunately am unable to attend. The money management class is worth taking weather your on a tight budget or not.

    Great for these types of students

    Non single parents going to school for their nursing degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwalk Community College is affordable and worth every penny for the students without children. It is truly the best place to get your associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of holiday events you can bring your family to. Movie of the month (my favorite), trunk and treat for the little ones in October, dance classes, a beautiful gym with brand new workout machines, and many other activities you and the family can enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    There are two food courts. One in west campus and one in the east campus. West campus is your best bet if you like variety. It's inexpensive and most of the time pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally never attended any other college but I have been told, by many of my class mates, that Norwalk Community College prepared them for their 4 year college. Most of the classes will have you break a sweat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to as many different advisers as you can. Norwalk Community College has plenty of useful programs for reaching your career goal but most programs are not advertise as much as they need to. So stay on top of the advisers. Get involved in student government and the many clubs that are listed. The more involved you are in the school the better chance of receiving the help you need when you need it. Plus, it looks very handsome on your resume. Explain your situation to the teacher on the very first day of class (something I should have done) to see if this professor is right for you. This my not be possible to do but it's always good to get to know the teacher. It will sometimes pay off at the end.

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College can be a great school if they offer more support to their many students who are single parents. Most of the professors are understanding and sensitive to such situations but there are some that refuses to work with you which would result in a failed grade that is far from deserving. Overall, Norwalk Community College is a good school to attend if you're working with a tight budget but are not will to sacrifice quality education.

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a variety of hot and cold items on the menu,

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging, but the instructors give you the necessary resources to pass. The teaching staff is wonderful and they offer their help whenever needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I can offer advice it would be just to be serious about what you are doing. I think you have to be in the right mind set in order to achieve your goal. I see many people who throw away their chance at furthering their education because they are just not ready. This school is wonderful and has a staff and facility that wants to see you succeed. The choice is up to you.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with NCC. The school is organized and the application, enrollment, and registering process is easy. The staff is very helpful and the school is clean, and has many resources to help you reach your goal. I think it is a wonderful school to receive a QUALITY education. I have attended other schools and by far I am the happiest here.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms at this community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait until the last minute to sign up for classes, and buy books. Classes fill up quick and the line for the book store grows bigger with in seconds.

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College is a great place to start. My expectations were low for this school considering the high drop out rate but its a rich and intriguing experience here at NCC. The professors are awesome and the students are friendly.

  • 09/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus and work hard

    In three sentences

    Its a great school

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The study areas are a good place to hang out, as there are many people there you could meet and/or seek help from if the Teacher isn't readily available that day. There is also a room in the West Wing, not too far from the Cafeteria, that is devoted specifically for people to hang out in and have fun. Be it on the computer or just sitting around and chatting, it's meant for you! Even that only scratches the surface, as the plethora of clubs and after hours activities can entertain you further.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. A little pricey sometimes, but it also fills you up something nice. Getting to the school early for a hot stack of pancakes, or a sandwich between classes can sometimes be just the thing you need to keep going throughout the day.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so there are no dorms to stay at.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are definitely going to require you to put your full effort into them. There is no skating by. They either require all of your work, or you won't do well at all. Not to mention higher learning courses have pre-requisites that you need to succeed at or else you won't even be looked at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your Professors as much as you can. You're paying for them to teach you, so if they offer help, don't be afraid to take it! Most are very flexible and are willing to have one-on-one time with you.

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College is a very friendly and welcoming environment. The people who work there are always helpful and willing to do whatever they can to get you where you need to go or get you what you need. On top of that, the Professors are just as willing to help and give you the tools to succeed.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Food and Dining

    great !

    Dorm Life

    leave off campus

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College is a wonderful school with awsome programs. The teachers are outstanding.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always walking around the school.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters and anyone trying to save money on educational expenses.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a community college it is inexpensive and you still get a great education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves the typical: pizza, hamburgers, blt, salads, etc.

    Dorm Life

    No residence life, everyone is a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    There are the easy classes and there are the hard classes, just like every other school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out who your program adviser is and visit them at least once a semester to plan out your class schedule. Having a relationship with them definitely helps when trying to graduate, or transfer.

    In three sentences

    A good local community college that offers many different classes with top notch teachers. The science department is amazing and there is a newly built science building (just as amazing). Great school for how much it costs to attend.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are always around helping direct students and open locked doors. They direct traffic for students to cross the street and walk through the hallways making sure everyone is safe and well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are life at Norwalk Community College. Not joining one is foolish.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone is welcomed. You wouldn't how many countries make up the student body here!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely, except for the book store. They have a tendency to not buy back books for the following year.

    What to do for fun

    There is literally a club for everyone at NCC. They also have soccer tournaments, video games, and place for you to kick back and meet some really interesting people. NCC is so diverse that there is nothing more fun and entertaining then meeting people from all over the city/country/WORLD and hearing their stories.

    Food and Dining

    Quality food and a reasonable price. The cafeterias are a great place to meet new students and club advisors are always their looking for people. Great place to relax and enjoy a great snack.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet rewarding. Do the work, and the results will be shown immediately. Take it from someone who never did any work in high school and is now on his way to a four year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Norwalk Community College has some many things to offer that not joining or starting a club is foolish. Don't let the club take control of your studies though. Everything is possible and NCC is a great starting point.

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College has taught me that my goals are always attainable, and that if I want something, this is a good place to start. The advisor and teachers are their for you, not for themselves. Norwalk Community College opens their arms to any and every student.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Norwalk Community College offers many activities throughout the entire school year. Activities to suite your needs are offered throughout the 70+ clubs from Speech club,Biology, Wellness club, Phi theta Kappa etc. There are also workshops that are held in the auditorium, where conferences, graduation, poetry, dance, music amongst others where you can attend and become informed. There is a day set aside for Spring activities which isn't limited to anyone. You can sit along the beautiful paths and soak up a little sun and under the trees on a beautiful warm day. Fun is in the hands of the individual who wants it.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias on the campus, the main one being on the west campus. It offers wide ranges of assortments such as pizza, salads, hot/cold sandwiches,wraps, nuggets, fries etc at an affordable price. The food is well prepared and presented and customer service is always on point.

    Dorm Life

    This institution does not offer dormitory accommodation. Students are responsible for commute to and from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your outlook of this, the academic rigor could be hard or easy for you. There is always help available if your weak in a particular subject. The tutoring center, writing center, academic counselor, teachers, advisers and friends are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, set your goal from the beginning and work to achieve it.

    In three sentences

    This institution is where any ambitious and persistent individuals who are determined for success should attend. Many associates, degrees and certificate programs are offered here, where someone is always present to help you succeed. Create your future at Norwalk Community College.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. Just use practical wisdom and you'll survive. Security is always walking around.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities. At almost every hallway you will see posters and signs for a club or an activity/event.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is ok. They actually cook what you ask them to, at the moment.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends on what classes you take. Since I only take allied health classes, they are rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't focus on everybody else at campus and the bad rep they give NCC because they tend to fail the majority of their classes. See NCC as a good stepping stone and be serious. It's your life. Take responsibility of it and start off good.

    In three sentences

    My allied health programs are challenging, informative and rewarding. New building with up to date technology helps you learn and apply theories. You definitely get great results, if you come with a serious attitude.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Do not get the specials.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since an abduction a few years ago, campus security has significantly increased.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are driven to succeed, students who plan to transfer, or students who want vocational training in certain areas. Self starter.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    To get you where you need to go, it is an excellent option.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious!! Many vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    Commuter School.

    Academic Rigor

    Each department is different, but you definitely need to put work into your education here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get your liberal studies done a cheaper way, this is the way to do it. If you are not sure what major you'd like and don't want to commit to anything, you can take a wide variety of classes here to get a feel for things. When you are taking lower level or basic college courses, you will deal with many students who clearly are being forced to take classes or who just really don't want to be there. Don't let them ruin it for you. Once you start to take higher level classes or more interest specific ones, you will have a great time.

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community College has a wide variety of options for students who would just like a two year degree or who have plans to transfer to a 4 year institution. There are some excellent teachers and staff at this college who truly want to see the students succeed. If it weren't for this school, I would not be where I am today.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe campus. Security patrols all the time.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa which is the honor society

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally take advantage of the Art Club, which provides students with trips to Manhattan to see museums at reasonable prices. They also hire nude models for art club drawing after school at no extra charge.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for art students (photography, design, architecture, fine art, studio art....) They have a great nursing program from what I hear. And I also experienced very good teachers for Math, English and Accounting.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you get great professors who teach you as much as the professors in first two years at a 4 year college - for lot less money! If money is concern - get accepted to a four year college, check if they take transferes from NCC and study as many credits as possible here (NCC) - it will save you a lot of money

    What to do for fun

    It is only 2 year college and all students live at home. However this school does have many clubs. I personally take advantage of the Art Club, which provides students with trips to Manhattan to see museums at reasonable prices. They also hire nude models for art club drawing after school at no extra charge.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing special, but what bothers me is that it is only one company that has rights to serve students - which makes this company a monopoly. I do not support monopolies, so I hardly ever eat there. I would like to see this school to push for competitive food environment, but I hear that students would have to sign a petition or some such thing (I am not sure if that is true). You can bring your own food (they even provide a microwave in one of the wings, I think) or visit one of the fast food restaurants near by

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are more easygoing than others, but ultimately all of them want their students to learn as much as possible. So if you do all your work, you would have no problem academically. Some of the academics are pretty tough, but if you do all your work, you can come out with high grades and great transfer possibilities

    Tips for prospective students

    Before I sign for a class, first I check who is teaching that particular class. Then I research the professor. Then I check how many students signed up for the professor. The great professors have always the highest number of students signed up for their classes. I am also very easygoing and studious type, so I had never had any problem with any professor. Some of NCC professors teach at a 4 year colleges/universities - so you get your money's worth.

    In three sentences

    I love to attend Norwalk Community College. The administration keeps updating facilities - recently a new wing for nursing students was added and this year they refurbished many classes in west wing and moved all art department there. This college is very popular among students for financial aspect and for many great professors.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Free for me, including books so I give it a 10/5

    What to do for fun

    Kick it in the cafe

    Food and Dining

    Food is straight.

    Dorm Life

    .. No dorms. duh

    Academic Rigor

    Simple classes. Minimal homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to class and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    Great Professors. Easy Classes. Flocking with females

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs at NCC, from soccer club to engineering club to anime clubs. While on campus there may not be much selection for activities, they make up for in clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is actually good. There is a cafeteria and a cafe. The cafeteria usually hire students who are in the culinary courses at NCC.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, so everyone is a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class you take, it can be easy or hard. It is all about the effort you put into the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize everything they have there, from the tutoring center to the success center. There are many professors and staffs who are more then willing to help you

    In three sentences

    NCC is a great school to start at, especially of if you do not know what you want to do with your future yet. Has plenty of majors that allow you to expand you knowledge of the different areas to study in. Also is a worth every penny spent.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's great for people who still need to save up for a future four-year college to transfer into. The tuition is literally $30,000-$40,000 dollars less than a regular university!!!! And success is guaranteed just as much as four-year universities. Especially in this economy I highly suggest going to a community college. The statistics say that most people who are successful at their jobs today went to at least one year at community college. Must have been all that money saving!

    Food and Dining

    The two cafes we have are located on both campuses. The food it not great but if you need a quick bite before class than they are good enough. Also at the end of the street where NCC is located there is a KFC and other take-outs if your looking for something better to eat.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms sorry! you have to travel to campus everyday so hopefully you live locally! Don't drive? Don't worry! There is a shuttle bus that is in connection to the town of Norwalk. If you you live in the Fairfeild County area it shouldn't be a problem to get to school if you don't drive.

    Academic Rigor

    You may feel that some of the academics are below your potential in the first three weeks but trust me as the year progresses it going to get harder. Professors expect a little more from you than your teachers did in high school. Remember to keep up with the work and whenever you need help with your academics then feel free to visit the wonderful tutoring center we have. There is a separate math lab and an English center for people who need help in these areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    It may seem like a different environment than high school but it really isn't. I suggest in getting involved in clubs and programs where you can meet fellow students and make lasting friendships. If you want to transfer, than participating in clubs still looks good on your transcript.

    In three sentences

    The most reliable service from professor that your ever going to get from a community college. Classes are not filled up easily so scheduling classes for the right time is very flexible. College staff and instructers are easy to talk to and are willing to be at your convenience whenever you need help. There are tons of support groups in case you need it. This place is the perfect experience especially for people who aren't ready to pay the expense to go to a four - year college. Whenever you are ready though you can easily transfer by meeting the right requirements for the university of your choice and by meeting with your transfer adviser.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alarm posts in every sidewalk and parking lots, Security guards roam the hallways on both campuses while classes are in session. Security is on foot and on wheels during the morning, day and night.

    Greek Life

    Nothing out of this world. Most fraternities and sororities are based on academics doesn't mean you can start your own.

    Clubs and Activities

    More than 40 clubs to choose from. Last semester my friends and I started our own club which is pretty awesome if you ask me, so you are not limited to what you can join or create if there isn't a club at that moment.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for commuters, students on a budget or who don't want to be in debt after graduation. Great for students who plan to transfer to a four year school or who only need a 2 year/associates education to start working in their field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that come to mind

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable compared to the same education you will get your first two years at a four year school. You can get your associates at NCC transfer to your desire in school and at the end of the day use all those credits and money you saved and get your Bachelors at your desire school.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of college clubs to join. Gaming club, soccer club etc. Norwalk has a great downtown atmosphere during the day and also a great nightlife on Washington St.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not a WOW delicious but its not that bad either. Different things on the menu everyday for the buffet area. Two campuses, two cafeterias. There are fast food restaurants, and other places to eat at a walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in this community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically NCC offers a lot programs for either your associates or certificate programs. A placement test is taken before registering for classes. A curriculum is laid out for each major which makes very convenient to break down what classes you need to take. The professors at NCC all work in their field and are top-notch just as good a professors in a four year school or even better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to start your college experience, gain credits to then transfer to a four year school. As far as I know and the reviews I read about Community Colleges, NCC is up there as one of the best in the nation. You save money and are also getting a high level education to earn your associates or certificate to then take those credits to the school you decide to transfer to. Make sure you talk to an advisor to set your goals before registering for your classes. It does same time and helps you set up a timeline of what classes you need to take so you don't waste your time or money. The more you know of what major you would like to major in or even if undecided at the beginning you know what basic classes you need to take while developing the idea of what career you would like to take on if you talk to an advisor first.

    In three sentences

    NCC is a great community college located in Fairfield County in the tri state area with 40 minutes away from NYC and 40 minutes away from New Haven, CT. They do offer a great amount of programs to get you associates and/or certificate. Very affordable in-state and out-state tuition and it is very close to I-95 interstate highway.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. The security guards will escort you to your car if you need it. They are easy to get a hold of and they patrol often

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid here is awesome! Just make sure you apply early and keep your grades up. Do NOT slack off, or you'll have to pay for it!!

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of student activities! You can even start your own club if you want!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent, but can get expensive. There are a few places to eat nearby that are a bit more wallet-friendly

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but students post room shares, apartment shares, etc. all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be tough, but there are some that are pretty easy. It depends on who you get. Get to know students who are already attending, so you can get a feel for what professors are like before you sign up for a class. That's helped me a LOT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid early. Make sure you take advantage of your professors' office hours and the Tutoring Center as often as you need. Don't struggle unnecessarily!

    In three sentences

    This is a great school where you get quality education at an awesome value! Many of the professors teach at major universities, including Yale. Many professors care about the students and want them to succeed!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are patrols everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There is only Phi Theta Kappa which is the honor society.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons for a community college and you can make your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents or full time workers.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing!

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging enough to make sure you actually learn, yet the professors understand that there are responsibilities out of school. Many people who attend have work or children which can take a toll on their academic achievements, Norwalk Community College is aware of these needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the cost and how easy it is to transfer to a 4 year school, NCC is a must. The scheduling is amazingly easy and since it is the biggest Community College they have numerous degrees and class options.

    In three sentences

    Simply the best community college in Connecticut. No other college in the area will put in the dedication and effort to see their student succeed. Great professors that actually care, you are not a number you're a student.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    a lot of different kind of club activities which helps to improve our society and have fun

    In three sentences

    One of the best prestigious community colleges, most of the logical persons consider this. It has well know and competitive Math deportment.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you meet people in your classes

    Food and Dining

    i've never tried the food

    Dorm Life

    no dorming here, you commute from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good quality classes, at a university level

    In three sentences

    Norwalk Community is a very highly ranked Community College. It gives people who either don't have a great financial situation or aren't sure where they want to go in life an opprotunity to go to a good quality school for a cheaper price. I would give the college 5 out of 5 stars.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any Student.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not sure on what you want to major in, the counselors will help you. Dont be afraid to harass them from time to time. Make sure to keep your GPA up so it woud be easy for you to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes!!

    Am enjoying being here

    Im a part time student. Since this is a Community College,I would have to say I am enojoying it here.

    Am learning a lot

    Well I have been attending Norwalk Community for two years now. September will be my last semester. I would have to say This school has taugh me what they could. I dont think I have learned that much. I would have to say a person should choose their professors wisely. Many are here to help so do not be afraid to walk up to him or her and ask for help.

  • 06/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are smart but whose high school grades don't reflect it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your placement test seriously, otherwise you will be wasting your time and money in English and Math classes that don't count for anything. And find a group of friends that are taking school serious.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwalk Community College is very affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't like being at Norwalk Community College, a lot of the students are not serious about their studies and are just there wasting time, it is easy to get caught up with the wrong crowd.

    Am learning a lot

    Norwalk Community College is like an extra year or 2 of high school. Its a good school to use as a stepping stone to a 4 year university.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students that don't know what they want to major in yet.It gives you an opportunity to discover your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose to go to a community college.You will save alot of money.You will discover what you want to major in.

    Bang for the buck

    I get access to alot of technology.There is many clubs to join for free.Many activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being at Norwalk Community College because the school is big.I also enjoy all the technology the school offers.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning things I never learned before.I am gaining more knowledge.