Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Norwich University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Leaders who wish to better themselves through hard work and dedication. You must be in good academic standing, able to handle being away from home and cut off from your family, and physically fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be motivated and driven. It is all worth it in the end if you just put out one hundred precent. Dont be afraid and remember to have fun!

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extremly expensive however by being in the Corps you will get the chance to experience a once in a lifetime college career unlike anything you imagined.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a Cadet in the Corps of Cadets here and i love living in the military environment. It gets stressful at times trying to balance corps and academics but it is helping my increase my time management skills and work under pressure, two skills very important for a future military officer to posess.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an Athletic Training major and I am learning alot of important skills here. My first aid class is very fun and it is filled with lots of hands on experience which i believe is the best way to learn. I am also enrolled in some basic classes such as biology, math, and psychology which have really captured my attention and with a lot of work, i am able to learn alot.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many of the classes are team-oriented, and have students working together on projects a lot of the time. If you work well in a team you'll go far at Norwich University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be stubborn, and refuse to give up. Especially for those of you looking at the Corps. It's tough and there are many mental games played, but if you manage to make it through all of the challenges, the feeling of accomplishment is the greatest thing this school has given me so far. Work hard an you'll go far.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich has an excellent reputation with the Armed Forces and with many businesses across the country, many of my friends from school found summer employment easily from Norwich alumni or from people who know Norwich's reputation. We're looked at with greater respect for the most part than more recognizable schools like Westpoint.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a Cadet in the Corps, I live an extremely unique life at school here. One-tenth of one percent is a saying I heard a lot my first few weeks. Very few students live like I do, and even fewer enjoy the close bonds that living in the Corps creates. I know my Rook Brothers and Sisters at school better than I know some of my family back home. The constant challenge to push yourself harder and further is in every aspect of the school; academics, Physical Training, extracurricular activities, and so on.

    Am learning a lot

    After adjusting to the new lifestyle (both the Corps of Cadets and the whole college life) I settled into my classes and found whole new sections of math and science to explore. New theories and rules keep coming as I go on in my classwork. I'm learning a lot, and sometimes it is stressful, but so interesting and exciting at the same time. And I've only just finished my freshmen year.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency towers all over campus. Security responds within reasonable time.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    New clubs and activities are always encouraged and endorsed by the University. The club hockey team is really good.

    Great for these types of students

    High Schoolers wanting the military lifestyle, to commission as an officer in the military, get their life straightened out, to get a valuable degree

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Plenty, that you will find out when you arrive.....

    Bang for the buck

    It depends what your major is and how well your ties are to Alumni. Alumni LOVE the University and poor money into it and are main sources of jobs in internships.

    What to do for fun

    There are weekly activities including yoga, karaoke, and late night programming. There is always a big name concert every year, for example Lee Brice.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than average at most Universities, they have a great selection: Vegetarian/Vegan, Deli, European, Grill, Pizza/Pasta, and Cereal/Bread. Food gets old after awhile, but I feel that happens at every University.

    Dorm Life

    The University is re-modeling all Corp buildings. By the Fall 2012, 4/8 buildings will be completely remodeled and look incredible. South, the new civilian building is the base of the remodels.

    Academic Rigor

    If you choose a major like Architecture, Engineering, or Nursing you will be part of a top notch program. If you come here as a Criminal justice, English or Communications, it's not very challenging and the Professors are sub-par.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn what the Corp is BEFORE you get here, and make sure you check the right box. Students come here for a reason, you don't pay $45,000 for partying here.

    In three sentences

    A small, private, expensive college placed right in the middle of a beautiful Green Mountain valley of Vermont. The Corp of Cadets is the base of it's strong traditions with a twist of mainly Architecture, Engineering, and Athletic Civilians. Some students (like myself) love it here, others despise it.

  • 02/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to commission in the military or succeed in the corporate world. Norwich has a great reputation, and a very big alumni community. There are a ton of opportunities, both home and abroad for Norwich students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit, especially if you are interested in the Corps of Cadets. Be prepared to take a lot of notes and sit through a lot of power point presentations, specially in engineering and ROTC classes. If you plan on doing he Corps, come physically fit enough to pass the Army PT test.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich estimated that I would receive a state grant of about $6,000. I only received $750. Norwich covered the difference and I did not have to take out another loan or pay out of pocket. There are a lot of work study and non work study jobs available to help students. I currently work sporting events on campus. Its fun, and if your a Rook it gets you out of the barracks.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a freshman in the Corps is hard, but it is worth it. You do a lot of fun things as a freshman, even in the corps.You meet a lot of people from different states and countries. There are exchange students from other military academies in different countries. Last semester there were German military exchange students and this semester Chinese military students.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and the teachers have enough time to help out a student when needed. Staff and teachers are friendly, helpful and approachable. If your in the Corps then you will learn a lot from your cadre(junior upperclassmen) and company staff.

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Definitely for those who have chosen a career in the Military. All branches are represented here. You will find that the trivial college problems are not problems at all at Norwich. We are taught to work together and we have a deep respect for all our 'brothers and sisters' in the Corps of Cadet program. A Cadet will not Lie, Cheat or Steal; this is not just a saying, it's a way of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to do your research before hand. The 'Corps of Cadet' program can be quite demanding. It is the first step before active duty Military, so don't expect the 'normal' college life.

    Bang for the buck

    It is somewhat on the expensive side, but I will be commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant into the United States Marine Corps upon graduating. This has been my goal for many years, and I am now getting my career on track.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a lifestyle that is not for everyone, but I have found the greatest 'Family' here at Norwich. I know this new family will be with me forever. This University truly cares for it's students.

    Academic Rigor

    The demands of the 'Corps of Cadet' life and the demands of the classroom have given me the tools that I need for my future. I've learned that hard work reaps the greatest rewards and I know I can do what I set out to do.

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for students who are looking for a career in the military and/or law enforcement, those who expect a challenge, those that are determined, those that work hard and those that are willing to push forward against many hard times. Expect Challenge Achieve Distinction -Norwich Forever

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming to this university as a member of the Corp of Cadets then do not plan on life being easy the first year. It is a big leap from being a normal student to being in the corps, but come here with strong determination. Also keep in mind our motto I Will Try

    Bang for the buck

    The cost may be a bit high but in the end so far I have seen has paid off. Many students that graduate I've seen have gone on and become great in their field or profession. Also in most of New England people would respect you if you caught with anything with a Norwich emblem or the class ring. Even around the country many people have either graduated from or attended Norwich in the past years. For me it is amazing to see so many people in the states as well as the world to have the Norwich spirit. Here you are not alone at all.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the this place has a sense of pride and tradition. Here I feel as a member of something bigger than a student in this university. Even the small town outside of the university supports us and in return when have supported them. Recently after Hurricane Irene hit, the school together voluntarily went out on their free time to help those whose houses were damaged. Our Mountain Cold Weather Rescue Team was deployed all around the state to help out flooded victims.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Criminal Justice major and as I am attending this school in all the clubs and in the life of the Corps of Cadets I learn many things. I have learned some of the ways military life will be like. Also, in my major I learn many ways on how the law works. In the HITS club I have learned how to act and/or react to situation both in the military and as a police officer.

  • 12/13/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Norwich University from my prospective is perfect for students who are seeking a commission into the armed forces. I view Norwich as being more intense physically and almost academically as the academies. If you want to better yourself, layout your future, and you will do almost anything to get there Norwich University might just be for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have only done an overnight stay here at Norwich University. I must say that you have to have a certain mind set just to survive here. I highly recommend that you do an overnight stay to see what life is like here first hand. I have never seen anything like it. To keep it short and sweet you will either fall in love with it or you will learn to hate every single second you stay there. (Corps of Cadets). Also, ask all of the questions you can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich University is surprisingly a normal price for an out of state college. Through my eyes being the best military college it is worth every penny. Especially considering if you apply before Nov. 15 you will get a good sum of money in institutional scholarships. Plus if you are seeking a commission like me, they (your captain in the ROTC), will fight for a full 3 to 3.5 year scholarship for you so long as you do well academically and act like you want to be there.

    Will enjoy being here

    Norwich is my dream come true. If you are looking for physical and academical intensity for at least 90 percent of the time you will love it. If your idea of a college is slacking off and partying it up you had better seek a 4 year home elsewhere.

    Will learn a lot

    I will not rate this just because I have not been put through a course yet and I do not want any of my information to mislead you. However, in my overnight stay I must say that while sitting through some of the classes that you are probably going to learn everything you need to know to enjoy a successful career.

  • 10/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Military, anti-social, arrogant techies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't jump on your acceptance just because they sent it to you 5 months before other schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth coming if your rich and have no money problems.

    Did enjoy being here

    Very dull and nothing to do unless your a upperclassmen.

    Did learn a lot

    You learn everything on your own. Nearly nothing from class.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a ton of nature around to hike and enjoy, also, the university has an on campus movie on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes and professor's office hours!

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing, has alot to offer its students both cadet and civilian alike!

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a structured, disciplined lifestyle in a great academic environment. (Corps of Cadets)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to come here and be a part of the Corps, be fully committed. Go in with the mentality that you will not quit, not back down, and you'll do great.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get valuable leadership experience here at Norwich that you won't get at any other civilian university. Additionally, having small class sizes allows you one-on-one time with your professors, which is infinitely worth the tuition in and of itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being in the Corps of Cadets is an experience like no other, you get really close with your platoon and other friends you meet and you'll take everything you've learned here into the future with you, it's definitely great being here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are outstanding, and the small class size allows me to get any questions I have answered so that I thoroughly understand the material.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do for fun, so you'll have to use your imagination. Burlington is about 40 minutes away and New Hampshire is about an hour. Sports and parties are the major way people have fun,

    Food and Dining

    One big cafeteria without a big selection and a smaller fast food type mill that's a lot better but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Only two dorms for civilian students, one of which is down in the dumps.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, the only classes that will prove to be a challenge are the science and math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Open for change, willing to work, and not a lot of financial help

    In three sentences

    Norwich has a beautiful campus. There are great people. Is in the middle of nowhere.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    variety of clubs and varsity sports

    Great for these types of students

    highly motivated, open-minded, competitive, leaders

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    military based. civilians are required to follow and respect certain military rules

    Bang for the buck

    excellent with scholarships

    What to do for fun

    burlington shopping, ben and jerry's, cabot stores

    Food and Dining

    excellent dining choices available

    Dorm Life

    i am a civillian student. campus and dorms are emaculate. being a small campus the dorm life is very home-like. get out and explore.

    Academic Rigor

    small classes that are very challenging and competitive. i am enrolled as a sports medicine major. classes are interesting and require self motivation while thinking outside the box.

    Tips for prospective students

    campus is a military majority. civilian students average 40%. should be open minded when attending the campus

    In three sentences

    smaller university with a home-like feeling. great education and leadership building opportunities. international studies and athletic opportunitites are available for prospective students

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are good and people fallow rules.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a cigar club, native american club just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is haunted, it is nations oldest private military college and with all of that comes many traditions it would be hard to list them all.

    Bang for the buck

    You over pay that is for sure/

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends, go out to eat, watch movies or go skiing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only go if you are willing to go somewhere that is in the middle of nowhere snow country so you can focus grades.

    In three sentences

    Great Academics, because the professors care about the students. ALso it is small in size makes it comforting. The military aspect is awesome. But it is very cold in Vermont.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is so safe. There are always RA's and First Sergeants (basically the same thing for each lifestyle) running around, and NU Security is all over the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options for anybody, especially for such a small campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Norwich is great for those interested in the military, or the military lifestyle. If you want to participate, join the corps! If you just want to sit back and observe, join the civilian side. Either way, you'll experience it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rooks, or unrecognized cadets have to walk in the gutter everywhere they go! It's fun to see them progress throughout the year!

    Bang for the buck

    It's just below $50,000 to attend Norwich, but the alumni are great when it comes to helping out graduates find jobs!

    What to do for fun

    There are many sports to participate in (or observe), many clubs, fun events held by them, and movies on campus every Friday and Saturday.

    Food and Dining

    The chow hall as we call it is the nicest I've seen for a school of this size.

    Dorm Life

    The barracks are renovated regularly, and the civilian dorm is brand new. There are always things going on around campus, but it is secluded enough to allow students to concentrate on academics!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are difficult, but there are many places for support including the AAC. Plus, the professors are always willing to help and know the students by name!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your finances set asap! It's much easier to deal with issues when you're not in a time crunch!

    In three sentences

    Norwich University is a small, beautiful, historical campus split down the center: One half is civilian, the other is the corps of cadets. The classes are small with about 20 students and the work is challenging, but very rewarding. The University has a large price tag, but a lot of benefits accompany it.

  • 09/05/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    hello everyone. I'm thinking about attending Norwich University. I am a US Army reservist from California. I would like to know how are Asian ( Filipino) students doing population wise? Do you think I'll be able to fit in. For students from California who are studying at Norwich, how is your experience like? If I get accepted, I am joining the Corps of Cadets Thank you.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a career in the military, structured, and highly motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really read into detail about the scholarships and programs that the institution offers, it will blow your mind!

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come physically and mentally ready, keep your mind open to the new experience.

    In three sentences

    Norwich is a challenging place. Anyone who comes here should be ready to live the Norwich motto I will try and to work hard. Norwich becomes a love hate relationship, you will love the people, but the challenging times will test your wills.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i would say this is pretty good food for a campus. i've gone to other campuses and not too many had options for vegetarians. it was a bit enlightening to see this and i was able to eat something for once.

    Dorm Life

    the barracks were well kept and it did give you the feel of being in the military and how it will be after you graduate given you stay and commission.

    Academic Rigor

    not to sure because i haven't gone here yet but from what i've experienced and saw i would say the rigor of the academics depend on the major and what life style you choose. my choice should be relatively hard because i'll be doing cadre and nursing.

    In three sentences

    to be quite honest when i went here for the scholarship competition i was blown away not only by the campus but by the corps of cadets and how the teachers taught the classes. i found it to be my dream school because of every aspect i was looking for in a school was hit. other than the price i would tell everyone to go here regardless if they're civilian or corps.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    we are all a family.

    Clubs and Activities

    special forces

    Great for these types of students

    want to challenge themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    military traditions, unusual but useful.

    Bang for the buck

    people would change to be better here.

    What to do for fun

    get out off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    be here and observe for a while. suggestion time, september, october and february.

    In three sentences

    it is a great place to change yourself and to do something good. it is a place to train yourself to become a better person. it is all about traditions.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is on campus. college is a dry campus so no drinking is allowed at all by anyone on campus, except in designated areas. there is a pub on campus, the only designated drinking area, but it is a two drink maximum. the military presence adds to the sense of security.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    student government association, campus activities board, and tons of other clubs for all interests (fencing, board games, ballroom dancing, zumba, and more). also, many academic clubs exist, as well as clubs within the corps.

    Great for these types of students

    people who want to go into the military and who want an rotc program. also, people who want a military college experience but don't want to contract with the military or who want a civilian lifestyle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the corps of cadets has a lot of traditions and a huge presence on campus. the school is an rotc college, so people are walking around in uniform all the time, rooks are marching everyday, and the atmosphere is very military friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    they award great scholarships, especially if you have a nice gpa/ sat score, which are scholarship programs (you get awarded x amount each year). however, tuition increases 5% every year, but scholarships do not. if you are struggling, there usually isn't much they can do for you.

    What to do for fun

    there are great restaurants downtown, plenty of on campus activities like movies and comedians. a lot of people hang out in the dorms together and play games (board games and video games).

    Food and Dining

    people complain about the food but it isn't bad. there are a lot of options. room and board covers a great meal plan which allows you to go to the cafeteria multiple times per day.

    Dorm Life

    corps of cadets and civilians live in separate dorms. the corps dorms are pretty minimal, but the civilian dorms are very nice with a lot of amenities (study lounges, tv lounges, pool tables, etc.)

    Academic Rigor

    depends on your major. for example, the nursing, engineering, and architecture majors are notoriously difficult, while others are less rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    bring rain boots! it rains nonstop in the fall and spring. and pack warmly, the winters are brutal.

    In three sentences

    a great mix of college fun and military seriousness. for those who love the military and those who are fine with the civilian life. a beautiful, rugged vermont campus.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus

    Greek Life

    No Greek life, however ALL Corps males are inducted into the Theta Chi fraternity as Norwich is the founding School.

    Clubs and Activities

    New clubs are added every year and there is never a dull moment...well unless a Commandant is giving a speech.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all are welcome. we have civilian and military personnel as well as international students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the buildings are haunted especially the old infirmary, Ainsworth Hall. We also have a brand new outdoor rec center. There are so many traditions in the Corps side that cant be spoken of outside the Corps, so if you want to experience them, then come to the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is definitely worth it, but the room and board standards lack in luster and awesomeness.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Don't be that kid sitting in your room twiddling your thumbs. Hit the gym, the SHAW outdoor Recreational facility, play a sport... there are so many things to do. New clubs are added every year, and if there isn't one you want then make it yourself!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexho takes some time to get used to, but it isn't that bad and when prospective students, parents, and alumni come the food is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are outdated, however you get the military experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The engineering department is one of the best in the country. Some of the professors are hard graders, but you will get one of the best and most applicable engineering degrees out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always listen to your cadre if your in the Corps. It is a hard life but if you do what you're told, when you're told to do it, you can't fail. Take it head on and if you fall get right back up. STUDY, yes even I am going to say it, but it does help.

    In three sentences

    Norwich University truly promotes diversity and leadership. Everyday is a challenge, but take it head on and you will succeed. By far some of the best people I have ever met have attended Norwich.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't any Greek Life.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun, especially as a freshmen in the Corps of Cadets. However, if you're a civilian or upperclassmen you may go to Pain Mountain and go hiking, bike riding, and get a little workout. On the weekends the campus has exciting hockey games in the winter, movies on campus, lazer tag, fairs, and several campus activities. If you choose to go off campus you can go to Burlington, VT where there is a small mall, and a lot of different stores, restuarants, bars and clubs. Theres a bar, called the rustic 3 miles away from the school as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It can be better, but you have a lot of different selections.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean, and you make a lot of close friends here that will look out for you for the rest of your life. The bonds you make here are incomparable to any friendship you ever had.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers stress being successful in the classroom, which is great. They will help you get to where you want to be and assist you in anything you're unsure of.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest to be physically, mentally, and morally ready to take on Norwich. You will be challenged in school as well as upholding the standard in the Corps. Don't take anything to the head, and be strong.

    In three sentences

    Norwich University has been quite the experience, especially as a rook. The Corps of Cadets at Norwich are motivating and well-trained leaders. You learn to be a follower as well as to develop as a leader , whether you plan on going into the military or the civilian sector.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall safety is good, nothing major has happened and the school is almost 200 yrs old. There are minor things like vehicle break ins and dorm room break ins but if you keep everything locked you should be fine.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    I cant begin to list off how many clubs and activities there are on campus, I promise that you will be able to find one that you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    If you plan on joining the Corps of Cadets then you have to be willing to change, and take orders from other people who are above you. If you want to join the traditional students then you can not be intimidated by the military because the Corps of Cadets makes up a large percentage of the student body and they do wear the uniform and have formations like the military. You also need to have respect for the military.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Norwich University has two lifestyles on campus. One is the Corps of Cadets which are students who are also enrolled in military training. The other is the traditional students which is just like every other college lifestyle. The Corps of Cadets is basically a fraternity open to anybody and freshman year is very difficult because we make you earn the title of cadet. We also have Junior Ring ceremony which has been a tradition for the Corps of Cadets for a very long time.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school to me it is worth it, but it isn't worth it to some people and some just cant afford it even though they want to go. Its unfortunate but it happens. Overall its not bad but it is expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Every Friday night there is Karaoke on campus available to all students. Its a good time and you can sing or play pool. There is a campus movie played every weekend. Throughout the year we have different campus activities such as bonfires, ice skating, laser tag, etc...

    Food and Dining

    The food is good for the first two weeks of every semester. Then the food starts to a get a little repetitive and you get sick of it but it isn't bad. There are a lot of options every day but it goes through the same options every other week and stuck eating the same thing.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part the dorms are pretty good. They are quiet during study hours which are every night except Friday and Saturday so you are able to get work done. They are also well kept and for the most part clean and orderly.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very academically demanding. For most majors except science majors freshman year will not be that bad, but after freshman year every major starts to pick it up. You will spend a lot of time doing homework and studying for exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you decide that Norwich is where you want to go make sure you at least visit, but try to do an overnight stay with a freshman. Its a great school but it is not for everybody so you need to do everything you can to make sure you fit in before you decide to spend 4 years here. Try to talk to student, and professors from the school not just the admissions office.

    In three sentences

    Norwich University has a great atmosphere, but it is very unique we like to call it our very own society, because it really is so different from everywhere else. The teachers are usually really great and they are required to have office hours which are times they have to be in there office throughout the week, so you can always go to them. Class sizes are very small, for the most part it doesn't get bigger than 20 students except for the really general classes, my average class size is 10 and I am a junior.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure

    Greek Life

    Little if any

    Clubs and Activities

    Rock climbing was a great activity. Countless others

    Great for these types of students

    Military centered/orientated

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Location can be considered desolate. Closest mart is about two miles away (Freshmen have restriction in automobile access). Can be depressing on a serious note.

    Bang for the buck

    No. Standard operation procedure for switching lifestyles, change in academic standing, and medical complications (among other reasons) results in reduction of financial aid from the University.

    What to do for fun

    Mainly student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall has the occasional bad/bland taste but overall sufficient.

    Dorm Life

    Traditional dorms are modern, clean, and up to date. Cadet dorms are built like most barracks i.e. bear bones.

    Academic Rigor

    Even with a little hard work and dedication there is no reason why you should fail a class because there are organizations/activities there that prepare you for success. That doesn't mean even with as much work as you can put in you will never come out with a C.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not commit unless you have not only visited but willing to suffer for the greater good. I have seen many in struggle while others in denial. It truly is in the eye of the beholder, however, if you plan to be a traditional student at Norwich I do not recommend you attend because you will not get the full benefits that the University offers its Cadets.

    In three sentences

    An experience you should't regret. Through all the suffering there are important lessons to be learned. Not for the faint of heart -- there is no shame in accepting if this place is not for you.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety if taken seriously at Norwich. Constant fire drills and emergency procedures get us ready for anything unexpected.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities are offered. From sports to acting and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for people interested in the military. You have a great opportunity to contract for any branch, and you will be an officer in the military. Graduating from Norwich is a big deal, the ring will say it all

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am in the Corps of Cadets and we have a long list of traditions. Physical training is our fuel and the UP is where hell brakes loose.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do here at Norwich. On a good day, a good run can get your blood flowing. Not many places offer a variety of hills like these in vermont where we can run and get fit.

    Food and Dining

    Cant complain. The food is great, except if you eat too much, your stomach will go mad.

    Dorm Life

    Every individual here is respectful. We treat each other as family for these faces will be the ones we will see for many years to come.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is our first priority. Without good academic standing, nothing can be enjoyed. No clubs or activities. If your grades are good, then your time at Norwich will be a great one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your mindset straight. If in the Corps or even if not, Norwich is very challenging, and it will be what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    Norwich university is a well organized and very challenging university. It offers a life in the Corps of Cadets which calls for lots of responsibilities and dedication. It is also highly motivating to achieving your goal in life.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Academics is key, school first before anything else. Build your resume with community service and leadership. Get into physical shape now.

    In three sentences

    An exceptional college that is a Senior Military College which gives it more prestige. Good academics and athletics. Decent corp of cadets. 8 out of 10.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    zero

    Clubs and Activities

    Relatively good amount i think

    Great for these types of students

    Serious, dedicated and goal oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Id tell you but I'd have to kill you.

    Bang for the buck

    48,000.... kinda expensive

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING :P Ski, hike, other.

    Food and Dining

    Kinda just college food xP

    Dorm Life

    The barracks are basic but still nice. They lack floor specific amenities.

    Academic Rigor

    Studious but not killer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace the suck, it will be over eventually.

    In three sentences

    It is beautiful but very hilly. The students are serious about their studies but still know how to have fun. The Corps of Cadets is stellar.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very rarely does anybody get assaulted, in any way, there have only been 2 or 3 crimes reported all year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, however, many of them are very poorly organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Many shy/quite students thrive here, as well as athletes. Pretty much anybody can succeed so long as they pick the proper major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of ghost stories all around campus. There are all kinds of odd traditions that the corps has, the kind of things that you just have to experience/witness.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can tolerate the campus it could be worth it. You will graduate with a great alumni network, and a degree with a name that bears a lot of weight; chances are you won't have that much debt either.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs to join, you can go hiking and you can go on trips to Burlington. Northfield itself is pretty dull, the occasional party at house in town is all there is.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually good, but it is Sodexo as are many other schools across the country.

    Dorm Life

    The res-life staff is extremely strict (even on the most tedious of rules), and people tend to stay in their rooms with the doors closed all day.

    Academic Rigor

    Many students are constantly concerned about keeping their GPA high enough to hold their scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit multiple times before committing, it may not be as it seems (for both corps and civilian).

    In three sentences

    One of the least friendly atmospheres I have ever been exposed to. Individuals are ridiculed for being unique, and hostilities remain high between the corps and civilian lifestyles. One great thing on the other hand is the financial aid and teaching staff.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent - surrounded by 100's of military trained personnel. very safe campus!

    Greek Life

    almost non existent

    Clubs and Activities

    Good variety available but not lots of time to participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Military, excellent math and science students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Remote location but cant leave campus first year - nothing in local town. Need a car to go anywhere no bus transportation.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive way to get into the military. Excellent computer and engineering courses.

    What to do for fun

    First year - SLEEP when you can - none allowed between 0530 - 2200 until you are recognized.

    Food and Dining

    good food, long lines, holiday meals are very good, excellent variety.

    Dorm Life

    crowded, older building, no luxuries allowed first year!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are superb - easy to approach but expect challenges and to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in really good physical shape, start reducing social networking and fb activity because you wont be using it first year. Learn to iron - it will save lots of time!

    In three sentences

    Superb Professors and administrative assistance. Corps of Cadets is difficult journey but with current Defense cutbacks contracts are not easily available anymore. Expect to pay for 4 years if not coming in with a current NROTC?ROTC scholarship. Just due to budget cutbacks!

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not many specifics

    Dorm Life

    Have not heard very many specifics

    Academic Rigor

    I've heard that it is quite the challenge, and I accept.

    In three sentences

    Seems to be a very great school for students who want to get a lot out of their education, but seems a bit isolated.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe around here

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You have to be in the Corps of Cadets if you want to learn these.

    Bang for the buck

    The place deffinatley has its qualities and perks expecially for Corps students.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Clubs, Movies.

    Food and Dining

    food is not always that great.

    Dorm Life

    Once again what you make of it.

    Academic Rigor

    Im a com major so my work load isn't to bad but make sure you keep up with work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most out of it, its what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    You need to make use of free time, go play a sport or join a club. This place can drive you crazy.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always walking about and the blue lights are always noticeable from any part of campus. Very safe area.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs for everyone's interest, and if there isn't a club that fits your interest you can start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones who are self motivated and willing to learn and engage in new experiences.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of traditions, but to see them and know them, you have to come to the college.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich is very expensive. but it does offer a lot academically, and more. It also does give extensive scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are various things to do depending on your interests. There's hiking, biking, running, ice skating, and tons of clubs to join. Also a day with your friends just mucking about on the campus green is a great way to spend an afternoon.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great. Lots of options for everyone, including myself who is a vegetarian. The food services does a great job attaining to everyone's needs and allergies, as well as listening to student feedback. Though at times the food does get repetitive, as it would in any college.

    Dorm Life

    As a civilian, dorm life is great. Though the dorms may be a little small, they definitely have a get to know your neighbors feeling. Each floor can be said to be a family, as everyone would know each other and people would be out in the lounge just relaxing after a tough day of classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an architecture major, and this is a very demanding major, especially here at Norwich. The professors in every department push to your limit as long as you show an interest and are willing to learn. The key is to talk to them, go see them during their office hours and let them know you and you get to know them. Over all the small classes are a great benefit for individual attention and leaning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit to make sure it is the right school for you. It is a great college but because of it's military lifestyle it may not be the college for you, so definitely visit.

    In three sentences

    Great experiences, mixing civilians with corps of cadets. Gives life lessons of individuality and responsibility. Has vigorous academics.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe walking around at nighttime on campus and I am a girl. But at parties there is a risk when drinking, always keep the buddy system and use safe rides when coming back to campus from parties.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs, I do suggest if you are in the core for the first year that you join clubs, it gets you away from your cadres.

    Great for these types of students

    Active. Really patriotic. Confident. Natural born leaders.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do have to say this school is full of traditions and stories of its history and past but thats just something you have to experience if you come to the school

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty overpriced for the education you are getting but the leadership skills will be helpful for the rest of your life. They have really good finical resources for the first year and then after that they will make it harder for you.

    What to do for fun

    If you can find a friend who has there license, skiing and snowboarding is an option for the winter time. Hiking is always an option. Make friends and find things to do with them. Honestly there isn't much to do and that being said I do have to say that just in my first year I made friends that I will have for the rest of my life because the school is so small that you learn to love each other and gain friends and bonds that will last a lifetime.

    Food and Dining

    The food stinks, there is no nice way to put it. They try really hard, but the only safe thing is cereal.

    Dorm Life

    The civilians dorms are really nice. The core dorms can get pretty cold in the winter and pretty hot near the end of school.

    Academic Rigor

    It goes in waves, some of my classes were pretty easy and others were a little more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering the core, you should do an overnight during the fall semester when they still have a lot of rules still in place, so you know what to expect.

    In three sentences

    There are two completely different lifestyles between the core and the civilian lifestyle. It takes a while, at least for a civilian student to get accustomed to the military traditions without actually being in the core. At this school there are a lot of people who care about their body images and staying in shape.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No one gets hurt.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Go NU Football! BE ONE!

    What to do for fun

    Go hunting, skiing, biking, running, or to the weight room. Do anything to pass time,

    Academic Rigor

    Good academics

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Embrace the suck

    In three sentences

    Lots of dudes. Not any good looking women. In the middle of nowhere.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports are well-celebrated in the Norwich Community.

    Food and Dining

    Food is delicious and there are plenty of options to choose from daily.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in Norwich is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Norwich is very critical of academics. They are very strict but they will never leave you behind, that way you really learn everything that's there to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early! Norwich's academic advisers are great mentors and they are very helpful throughout the admission process.

    In three sentences

    Norwich is a great school that targets holistic development. It has excellent academic programs and extra-curricular activities. The faculty and staff are great, they are all very efficient.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Low crime rate for the state of Vermont. Campus safety is not an issue.

    Great for these types of students

    Working professionals with many job related/adult life responsibilities

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent return on investment! Relatively low tuition for a degree from a moderately selective school that is rated high in US News best schools rankings.

    What to do for fun

    1 week residency at the University required for graduation. Numerous activities in the state of Vermont during the summer and winter months. Fall and spring are filled with the beautiful colors that the nearby wilderness and mountains bring.

    Dorm Life

    NA for Graduate programs

    Academic Rigor

    For Graduate programs, their is approximately 1 research paper due every 3 weeks that is about 2000 words long or roughly 8-12 pages including title page and bibliography.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know APA writing guidelines, participate in weekly discussions and gain real world knowledge. Hardest part is applying!

    In three sentences

    Excellent Graduate program for working professionals. Competitive programs with excellent Professors who are industry professionals in their field. Military friendly.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is a private military institution in the middle of a secluded valley in Northern Vermont, constantly guarded by those who serve Rotational Guard Duty, and University Security Personnel that keep trouble to a minimum as each barrack and overall campus is assigned Duty Officers. Trouble rarely finds its way here at Norwich as a freshman.

    Greek Life

    Nope, had one (being the Alpha Chapter for Theta Chi), but not anymore...The Corp of Cadets can literally be viewed as one giant Fraternity/Sorority instead...

    Clubs and Activities

    Mountain Cold Weather Team, Norwich Rangers, Norwich Artillery Battery, Cavalry, Band, Semper Fi Society, Golden Anchor Society (Navy), Spec Ops (Air Force), Semper Paratus Society (Coast Guard), Norwich Officer's Christian Fellowship, Norwich Drill Team, Norwich Regimental Band, Ranger Challenge This School has a lot of Physically and Mentally demanding, yet fun and gratifying clubs you can be apart of to make your mark in this school.

    Great for these types of students

    Local, People who seek to be in the military, People who want a challenge, People who need structure to perform.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'd certainly love to, but that would ruin the Norwich experience. You really have to be here to fully appreciate everything the school has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    45k to receive the military experience, per year? Uh, unless you are under scholarship, or have the GPA to certainly receive one within your 1st or 2nd year here, it has more negatives than positives as this school is very costly. As much as Norwich has a solid Corp of Cadet Program with a state-of-the-art Engineering, Nursing, and Criminal Justice program, you'll have to be the one to weigh whether this is a good move. Frankly, I'm still here, so I think its worth it...

    What to do for fun

    Snowboarding, Rucking, Hiking, Lifting, Watch Club Hockey... Yeah, being in the middle of nowhere does have it's downsides...

    Food and Dining

    Ah Sodexo... Besides the pasta, salad, deli, and fruit bar, everything else will either impede your health physically, as the food at Norwich inarguably causes some form of discomfort to you. The healthy foods at least give you a leg up on any physical activity. Even though the common foods like the hamburgers, pizza, and fries are good comfort food, they will make

    Dorm Life

    As a rook, you live on the same hall as your fellow Rook Buddies, or guys in your Platoon and whatnot, making this a little family as you will be going through the challenges here together, but never alone. You're really going to be appreciative of that. As far as the Dorm, they are quite nice, as most have been renovated, with the exception of 3 of the 6 upperclassmen dorms, which are under planning within the next couple of years.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor comes with balancing this with your sleep deprived, regimented lifestyle, as many can't perform without the simple necessities, causing many to do poorly their 1st semester of their Freshman year. However, if you apply yourself and join the Academic Achievement Center, they will most certainly help improve you academic success to counteract lack of sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to be in the Corp of Cadets, determination to succeed through the trials of our Rookdom is essential; physicality means nothing if you don't have the motivation and willpower to persevere through the challenges here. Physical Fitness however, is also important as you are held to a higher standard, by meeting Army's standard of fitness (no matter what ROTC you take here). Also, if you come here as a Rook, be ready to get WAY out of your comfort zone, as Rookdom makes you appreciate the little things by depriving you of sleep, peace of mind, and freedom; every Rook is placed under Campus Confinement until Recognition. However, the camaraderie formed here by the platoon you are with for the duration of the year is incredible, as you really look out for one another to succeed in life here. Everyone who's still here that was in my platoon last year is still real close with one another. Do you dare to take the challenge?

    In three sentences

    If you're Corp of Cadets side, you'll quickly be immersed in a completely different environment as you are quickly set restricted from many liberties that are taken for granted in High School, by being in a military setting. You'll gain either an attachment to the militaristic lifestyle of the many traditions here, or gain a respect for it; the Corps isn't for everyone. Being a Rook here at Norwich is a grind, as you are expected to hold a higher standard and be essentially treated poorly, but that builds character and sets you apart from the Keg-stand Universities out there that tend to usually made poor decisions.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is running 24/7 and there are emergency towers all around campus following the regulations.

    Greek Life

    The oldest in the nation, the corps of cadets!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities, and if there isnt one for you, you can start your own with plenty of funding money!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor loving people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rook week. All the freshman that are looking to be in the corps of cadets come to school a week early and go through rigorous military style physical training before school even starts, and then it continues into school until second semester!

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich is pricey, but they will give out good scholarship money.

    What to do for fun

    The great outdoors! Theres plenty to do outside all the time with the school being placed within a mountain range and there are also major cities only an hour away!

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    They are in the process of building a brand new student dorm that will improve both civilian dorms to 5-star dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, like all schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school with good academic rigor, military lifestyle or to experience it, athletics, and a school located in the middle of the Vermont mountains, Norwich is a great place to be!

    In three sentences

    Norwich is an amazing school that integrates a military based lifestyle with a civilian lifestyle. These two completely separate lifestyles are brought together in the classroom, on the field or court, in the dining hall, and most importantly in the real world. Norwich is a place for people who want to expand their knowledge, be integrated with new lifestyles, and make life long friends.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    constantly patrolled by a security detail, and there are special phone booth type things to run to encase of emergency.

    Greek Life

    unfortunately, Frats got banned, however, Theta Chi was founded here. If you go to any Theta Chi house and say you're from Norwich, they'll welcome you with open arms.

    Clubs and Activities

    Norwich is one of the few schools that have clubs that revolve around warfare. There's the ranger company, which practices special warfare type stuff, mountain cold weather which practices mountain warfare type stuff, and a plethora of others.

    Great for these types of students

    military types who literally can't get enough it (especially army).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is one of the most haunted in the U.S.

    Bang for the buck

    Norwich is a great school, but honestly, it's gotten soft. As a rook, you will get what you are expecting as far as a military experience goes, but after that... The issue is that people who don't belong in the corps are allowed to stay, which shouldn't happen in a military academy such as this. That's not to say there aren't good leaders there, but society as a whole has made it this way. Go there for rook year, stay if you think you can change it.

    What to do for fun

    snowboard, paintball, if you're the outdoorsy type, this is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    not going to lie, sodexo sucks.

    Dorm Life

    as a cadet, you will make life long friends with others in the corps. You will find that you treat everyone wearing the same uniform as if you've known them since childhood.

    Academic Rigor

    This is indeed an incredibly tough college, but not impossible. If you go corps, you will have to find a balance between the corps and school, which can be insanely difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't let the corps get to you. Remember that all things end eventually, and if you endure, you will be rewarded.

    In three sentences

    A place not for the weak of heart. As a civilian, you will be pushed academically. As a cadet, you will be pushed, physically, mentally, and emotionally.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Try to do as much as you can to entertain yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are from far away consider the decision to commit to a distant university, especially one as stressful as Norwich. If you don't join the corps definitely bring something to do or be active on campus otherwise you'll be bored out of your mind.

    In three sentences

    Norwich is a great place to get a taste of military life. The balancing of the corps, academics, and sports is really challenging. It is a great place to be from.

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in the military, or anyone considering engineering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the bricks outside of the library, because you'll never graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can make the education worth your money, it's worth it. But you only get out of the experience what you put into it.

    What to do for fun

    If you like to party, it probably isn't the place for you. But there are movies every weekend, plenty of clubs and academic research opportunities (if that's what you like), and all the outdoor activities you can imagine.

    Food and Dining

    It's not your mom's cooking, but it's not awful. The downside is that there is only one dining hall to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I preferred apartment life, but the dorms aren't bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    When they say expect challenge, they aren't kidding.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very expensive, so make sure you are prepared for that. It's definitely worth the money, though.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful, but be ready for a workout on the hills and staircases. The professors are very smart, but I had trouble communicating with them when I needed assistance. There are so many resources at your disposal, for your academic, professional, and social success.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Most students would agree that the degree is satisfying here, but only then. It costs a lot to come here, but the very end result is generally positive.

    What to do for fun

    Listen to music, go walking, go to the WCC, hike nearby campus; pretty much anything you can do to occupy your time here.

    Food and Dining

    Not usually known to be stellar food, though it also isn't the worst.

    Dorm Life

    Not very much to do on campus. NU students are known to find the smallest things to entertain themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are a good balance of challenge and empathy to student requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to join the corps lifestyle, do not expect it to be easy, especially considering it requires a very high, rising tuition rate to attend here. Bring a lot of warm clothing otherwise.

    In three sentences

    NU is a pretty typical military college. It's isolated in Vermont - not very close to social areas. Very good professors, at a cost of a very high tuition.