Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus police

    Greek Life

    one honors group

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on and very outgoing students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hamburger Hill

    What to do for fun

    Most people around here create their own fun. There is shopping and a swamp, but also auctions, Lehman's and bowling. The RA's set up a lot of activities to do off campus. We also have a recreational center for students.

    Food and Dining

    You should definitely learn to cook for yourself however if you are looking to save some money and time, the blocks here are great food in the Cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The housing is great, and everyone is very friendly. All of the RA's are very involved and very easy to get along with.

    Academic Rigor

    If pursuing a transfer degree the rigor gets more intense, however the two year degrees are not made to test your abilities they are made to teach you what you will need in order to go out into the industry of choice,

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are committed to school when you come here because there are no excuses for laziness. You should also learn to cook for yourself.

    In three sentences

    A very friendly Ag based school. The teachers are willing to help anyone and everyone. The also have great living arrangements.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus safety is spectacular because they always have the police campus going around checking up on the streets at least 2 or 3 times at night or maybe more.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has many clubs and activities. The activities that they have here are very fun and enjoyable they are ; bowling, archery, agronomy club, ffa and many others.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun at this college, you have the choice to go up to the student center as we call it the sac and play pool, work out, play basketball and so on. There are many programs that you can get into that are also fun such as; the folk and square dancing and also the archery.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at this school is very spectacular. I think this because the cooks and students that are there are very nice and they get your food right to you and do not make you wait for it. So far all of the food that I have ate from here has been cooked fully. I also think the dining is very nice, especially with the way it is set up.

    Dorm Life

    I find that the dorm life here is really good because you always have people here to help you when you are having problems and also if there are problems in your dorms than the housing people are right on it to help. I also think that the apartments/ dorms are very nice compared to main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are not many academic things here to do because it is all at main campus mainly but they have a lot of good academics. Some of the good academics is bowling, golf, volleyball, and so on.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to new students is to always be yourself when coming to this school, because more than likely you are to find someone here that has the same similarities as you. Also when coming to school here there could be a lot of drinking and parting, but what school does not have that., Just make sure you have your head screwed on right and you are making the right choices, because when coming here you do not have mommy and daddy to be here to tell you what to do.

    In three sentences

    To me I think Ohio State UNiversity Agricultural Technical Institute is a great college. I think this place is great because you have a lot of hands on activity and you get a lot more help by the professors if you were to go to here than to main campus. To me this school is a place where many could fit in and have the same similarities as back home and it could also remind people of being back home. I would also like to say that the housing is very good at solving problems, so it is a good place to live on campus.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ATI is very safe. There are always cops around making sure everything is going smoothly. The cops are friendly and are always looking out for the students safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    ATI has many clubs that are open to anyone on campus. Some of the popular clubs are Hoof-N-Hide, Bee Club, Agronomy Club, Dairy Club, Construction Club and Landscaping Club. All of the clubs are based on the different majors at ATI and allows you to know different things about that industry and plans events accordingly.

    Great for these types of students

    If you come from a farming background and want to be around other farmers, hunters, out doors people then ATI is a great place to go. Everyone is laid back and helps out whenever you need it.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do around the campus, such as playing inter-mural sports and joining different clubs such as Hoof-N-Hide. Everyone is welcome wherever they go and it makes you feel like part of a family.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe Carmen is a great place to meet friends for a quick lunch. They offer healthy food along with the more traditional lunch and breakfast foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at ATI is very welcoming. The residential advisors try to make you feel at home while the neighbors are always nice. It is mostly an open door policy which is nice to know you can turn to anyone for help!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors like to push students to their limits and help them achieve their goals academically. It is nice to know your teachers want to help you understand the new material and want to see you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before attending ATI, make sure you have your mind set on the degree you would like to pursue. It is hard to change majors half way through and stay on track. It is a very high paced learning environment and you don't want to get stuck behind!

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time here at ATI. The professors are very helpful and try to find new and hands-on ways to teach the students to make sure they understand the information. The students, professors, staff and general atmosphere all add to the learning experience.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. It is in a rural area which is nice because it is pretty quiet. Also, we have our own campus police department. The fire station is also right down the road as well as the highway patrol. Needless to say, there are very few problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs that this school has to offer. There is a club for just about every major and they even go beyond that. The best part is, you can start your own club as long as you have enough people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to have fun while being in school would love this school. Also, if you are interested in agriculture whatsoever as a career. This school also has very small classes. It is comparable to a high school class size and you get a lot of one on one attention with the professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a burn out contest every year where people do burnouts with their big trucks. It's really cool. We also have mud volleyball, zombie nation nerf gun war, and we love roping out back!

    Bang for the buck

    I personally did not get a meal plan. Because there is a lot of kitchen space, I normally go grocery shopping and eat food that I prepare at home. This saves me a lot of money. I have also found that there are many majors with only a class or two of difference. I am getting 2 degrees for the price of 1! I would look into that if you are planning on going here as well. It's well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, the housing directors hold a lot of events in the community room. Movie nights and game nights are pretty common here. Also, there is a student activities center with workout equipment, basketball court, tennis courts, etc. The students on campus also enjoy having bonfires in the fire pits behind the dorms. There are many events held by clubs on campus as well. Getting involved in clubs is a really nice way to meet people, get involved, and take a break from studying as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Cafe Carmen is actually very delicious. There is a wide variety of choices and they are all very tasty and consistent. The only complaint that I have is that some meals are a little pricey. If you plan on eating there frequently, you should definitely get a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are really nice. They are actually apartments and they are very spacious. There is a full kitchen and living room, as well as a dining room. The housing directors and room advisors actually plan a lot of activities in order to create a more diverse and social group. Students on campus are very close.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school require you to think and apply yourself. The way that the information is presented requires you to find the answers to your own questions, which makes you feel like you've learned and accomplished something.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that this is the number one school in its field in the United States. The knowledge that you can gain at this school needs to be taken advantage of and put to good use. The professors here know what they are talking about and they really prepare you for life and your career goals as well as your personal goals.

    In three sentences

    The Agricultural Technical Institute is a school that one should be proud to attend. The experience, relationships, and knowledge that you gather here does not compare to anywhere else. The atmosphere is so different than any other school because it is in a rural area.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an entire Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute police force on campus at all times. The fire station is actually right next door as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many agricultural related clubs at The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute such as FFA, beef, goat, dairy, swine, etc. They are good to get involved in to meet new people and build knowledge.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is really good for those who don't like a whole lot of change right off. It is also good for those who would like to stay out of the city.

    What to do for fun

    The area around Wooster, Ohio is not super busy. The downtown area has a lot of shops and restaurants to try, but there is not a whole lot other than that. The campus itself has a student center where a lot of people go to meet new people. The common area is also a good time when people plan activities to have. The common area is an open grass area with fire pits in the middle of all of the apartments.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute is not very large. I recommend that you do not get a meal plan unless you know that you want to eat that type of food. I just used my own kitchen to make meals because I wasn't into the food there.

    Dorm Life

    The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute offers townhouse type dorms. They are very spacious and really nice, especially for a first year. The dorm life is awesome. Because there are so few people, everyone is really close. There are also a lot of planned activities that make it more fun. The fire pits in the middle of all of the apartments are my favorite part.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge at The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute is ever changing. If something is too easy, the faculty members are always challenging and getting you thinking which is important in education. Nothing is going to benefit you if you are doing things that you already know to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Propective students should know that The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute is a great stepping stone into a career in agriculture. The best part about it is that you can transfer to the Ohio State Columbus campus to ensure a bachelors degree. The hands on experience that you receive at The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute benefits you more than some of the experience at the Ohio State Columbus campus. The only thing to watch is to make sure the classes transfer to Columbus.

    In three sentences

    The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute is the most helpful and welcoming college that I have ever dealt with. SOAR, the orientation program, is probably the most reassuring and helpful program that I have experienced. The faculty members of the school are always very knowledgeable in their answers and know exactly what they are talking about or who to directly refer you to when trying to come up with an answer.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are always patrolling and are really fast to get to you. Amazing.

    Greek Life

    About one or two on campus. I think.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activites. You'll find something you want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They had a paint slip and slide the first day of school. That was pretty awesome. And trick or treat on halloween.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of stuff. Wooster has a lot of stuff to do and the housing office does their best to find ways to entertain students.

    Food and Dining

    Not much offered here. Because you have your own apartments you do a lot of the cooking yourself. Cafe Carmen is open every day for breakfast and dinner. Food is really good there despite visit days food being horrible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks. The people are not very friendly at housing and had an awful year.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and work hard to gain a relationship with your proffessor. You never know what could happen. You might even be offered a job the first year out of college.

    In three sentences

    A good small school with a lot of hands on access to things. Class size is usually small and teachers really help the students succeed. Everyone there is there to help you.

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone that would need hands on learning or that is interested in going into an agriculture career. I was really dreading going to school, but going to ATI wasn't the experience I thought it was going to be. It was so much easier to adjust to campus life. If you are going to work in the barn, you have to get up pretty early, so that is something to think about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! When you tour ask as many questions as come to mind. Ask about anything and everything that you are curious about. Be willing to study for your tougher classes and willing to work, the instructors take notice.

    Bang for the buck

    Going here is expensive, but I think the facilitis are worth it. I am in the Horse program and the barn is really nice and fairly easy to work in. The labs for several classes happen at the barn and that keeps things interesting. The apartments are decent, and the handy man is prompt in fixing problems that arise.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a home-body, but living on campus hasn't been as bad as I expected. The RAs are friendly and try to help you get involved. The housing office is there to help you if you have a room mate problem or if you want to switch room mates or something like that. There are plenty of clubs and activities to be involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of the learning is hands on and interesting. I entered the school with a pretty good background in my technology, so I wasn't starting from scratch as some others were. I like most of the classes I've taken, but some of the information covered in various classes has been a little repetitive.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people that want to get involved with agriculture and get the hands on work from ohio state!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out!

    Will learn a lot

    Its all hands on learning!