Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ohio Wesleyan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Economics, zoology, and psychology majors. Undecided majors who want a well-rounded curricula. Social justice activists. Liberal minds. Vegetarians. GLBT and Women's Rights supporters. International Students. Catholics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call Admissions and ask to talk to current students. We're pretty honest about what's good and bad on campus, and we love to talk about OWU. Visit Slocum Hall when you're on campus, the stain glass is gorgeous. Delaware, OH is a small town, but don't let that discourage you because it promises plenty of opportunities for community involvement. Apply Early Action, that's when all the scholarships are given out. Visit campus! You can't feel the energy and community if you don't.

    Bang for the buck

    OWU gives out a lot of financial aid, so the sticker price is rarely what you pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    OWU is the perfect balance of community and academia. It really holds to its mission statement changing you, so you can change the world. The entire campus is a family, and everyone works together to improve society, domestically and abroad.

    Am learning a lot

    Although it has a 66% acceptance rate, the classes are far from easy. Class sizes usually fall between 6 and 30 so participation is a must. Professors are fully invested in the enrichment of the students, so as students, we are expected to be focused on knowledge as well.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Level-headed students. Personally, I've always been motivated to do well, but I'm not a big study-aholic. OWU is great for that. It allows you to work hard when you want and take classes you enjoy. In the higher level classes, there aren't any pointless assignments. The classes are fun yet highly informative, and you learn a lot about yourself constantly. If this sounds like you, then OWU is just for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't live in Stuyvesant. It's not an option right now, with renovations, but just don't. There are parties constantly, slamming doors, mysterious clouds of smoke in the stairwell that make you lightheaded. If you are there for studies at all, just don't do it. My personal recommendation is Smith East or West. The dining hall is in the basement, the suites are well laid out, and there's air conditioning - a big plus for August and April. Also, I don't know about frats, but the sororities seem like a waste to me. There are dances and mixers, but other than that, it's just cupcake icing and other stuff for recruits. I'm friends with quite a few sorority girls without even being in a sorority, so I don't really recommend it. If you want, I don't think it'd be bad, I just don't see the point in spending the money for it.

    Bang for the buck

    OWU is expensive, but their merit scholarships are easy to apply for if you're in good standing. All in all, I think my yearly costs are actually around $22,000 versus the full price, but it's worth every damned penny. I wouldn't trade going to OWU for anything else - I absolutely love it. When I enrolled, I knew that I was going to have a good college experience, but I never could have predicted how much fun I would have, how many friends I would make, or how much I'd learn about myself in addition to my studies. It's not just a university - it's a life experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like every campus, there are the people you want to avoid, but there's a lot fewer of them at OWU than there were at my high school, so I really can't complain. The dorms are fantastic, the food is pretty good; Smith dining can get a bit repetetive, but whatever it is, it's usually good - that's more than I can say for my mom's cooking! The professors are, for the most part, very laid back and welcoming. Whatever you do, you have to take HMCL 122 with Elias - he's hysterical! I was taking his course the same semester as Calculus, and I loved going to his class - even at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays - just for the laughs. The excellent readings, discussions, and jokes kept me sane while I was biting my nails over integrals and derivatives.

    Am learning a lot

    During my freshman year, I knocked out a lot of my diversity course requirements: Computer Science, Mathematics, Foreign Language, Electives, etc. I'm an English Major, so Computer Science and Mathematics were a bit tough for me. Mainly Calculus. But at OWU, the professors expect you to have common sense. In the introductory courses, it really is introductory - they don't expect you to know everything ahead of time, which is really helpful. I highly recommend CS 103 with Zaring - he's an awesome professor. But, as easy as they make it for students learning the field from nil, I learned a lot over the past two semesters. Not to mention my musical skills that have grown exponentially over the past year. I don't come from a big school district with an overly fancy music department with correlating budget, so I was always the top player. When I got to OWU, Dr. Griffin had those same expectations, and more. He challenged me to improve, not just for the group, but for myself.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest universities on one of the safest counties in Ohio. There are no dangerous spots on campus, has a Blue-Light system, Public Safety, and the city fire and police stations are adjacent to the middle of the campus. Many organizations dedicated to helping students return to housing with no questions asked if they feel unsafe for any reason. It's so safe that an event when a group of students in a car in town *thought* they were being menaced by a person in an adjacent car, the entire campus buzzed for a week. Some call that boring; I call it almost amusingly safe.

    Greek Life

    Good, with 6 fraternities with on-campus buildings, one fraternity with an off-campus house, and one newly-returned frat with no house. I believe there are 7 sororities here as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great diversity, something for everyone. Club sports are great ways to have low-pressure fun. Students here pride themselves on the university's reputation for charity participation, with many branches of organizations like Habitat for Humanity and Key Club on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Academics! Those who major in: Economics, accounting, or management, english, statistics, and several sciences. How many schools with 1800 students have a dorm dedicated to econ/management students and a scanning electron microscope in the science center?

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tons of historic buildings. Apparently, ghost hunters love this place too, since it has buildings from before the Civil War. Huge and beautiful mirror in University Hall. There is a myth that someone who stands on the university seal in front of it, says something that I can no longer remember, and turns around, will find the first person they see in the mirror to be their future spouse. Most university traditions, however, are particular to clubs, teams, and other organizations, and almost all of them have at least one.

    Bang for the buck

    This one varies. I've said before you get back in proportion to what you put in here. If you put in some work, you can come here quite cheaply. And if you work hard, you can excel and benefit greatly here. In this case, it's incredibly worthwhile. However, if you just want a degree and will work minimally, sure, you can probably do it, but you'd be better off elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    I'm going to do a list, because that's easier. Essay-lovers, my apologies. --Varsity sports --HUGE (again, for the size) number of club sports --standard and special interest clubs --foreign culture and arts clubs --huge variety of charitable organizations to work with Less officially: --partying can be found on any given weekend, typically in the super-hospitable and generally friendly frat houses --partying in off-campus (aka houses on streets adjacent to university) houses where students live

    Food and Dining

    Least favorite part of the university. They granted a long-term contractual monopoly to one company. As an economics student, I'm appalled on principle. But again, the university manages of offset some of the negatives with a surprisingly huge variety of eating locations on campus and has partnerships with a rotating selection of five student-selected, in-town restaurants to take the university's meal plan points.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are ok. Typical college dormitories, with nothing to impress you. The university tries to keep students from living off-campus as part of the college experience, unless conditions merit otherwise. However, it does offer a pleasing variety of alternative housing, from themed small living units, to fraternities, to on-campus apartments, senior housing, and even housing for those with specific academic interests. Quite surprising for such a small school.

    Academic Rigor

    More than you'd expect given its acceptance rate. It has easier programs, just as any school does, but if you're looking for a challenge, you certainly don't have to look hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is expensive at face value, but the *average* aid is over half of the total tuition. Put a basic amount of work into it, and the cost drops to super-affordable levels with surprising rapidity. At the end of all my scholarships, it was cheaper for me to come here than to go to OSU. In regards to academics, know you get out what you put in at a very high rate. Work hard and you'll be rewarded in a thousand ways.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school, but one where you only get out what you put in. This school has a surprising degree of academic rigor, but only if you seek it out; it has a lot of advanced and specialist scholarship opportunities, but only if you seek them out; lots of fun programs, clubs, and teams; but again, only if you seek them out. Not a school to write off from the face value of price, size, and typical college statistics.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for serious students. This school is really good in the sciences. We have a scanning electron microscope that certain classes get to use. I would say this University is great for anyone who is looking for a smaller college that still has the opportunity that a larger school has. Probably not the best school for people who hate cold, rain, and wind. It is Ohio, and we do get the lake effect weather. All-in-all this school is amazing, and if you are looking for a smaller University where the Professors actually have time to build a relationship with you then this is a great school. =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school before you decide on coming. It is in a very small town, and there is not much to do in the town that isn't part of college life. Even though this is a D3 school, we take sports pretty seriously, and you really bond with your teammates so going out for a sport is really good. Check out each of the dorming situations before you decide where you want to live as well, bacause each building has a different set-up.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very expensive, but most students don't pay the full amount. They have a lot of endowments and they readily give out scholarships. the one-on-one time that you get with your professors, and the different types of classes that the school offers, this place is definitely worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    The University is a truly amazing place. No matter what kind of person you are you can always find someone who has your interests, even though it is a pretty small university. There are clubs, and intramurals, sports, and the school is really good at giving us entertainment like plays, and live music. The food is decent, not great, but decent. The parties are great if you know where to go. There is not much to do in the town of Delaware, but there is a mall 15 minutes (drive) away and Columbus is only 30. I love this school, and I am so glad that I came here

    Am learning a lot

    The Professors actually care about the students and teaching. Their office doors are almost always open, and they often give you another way to contact them if you need extra help. There are also study groups made for many of the classes. By learning from the professor and not from a T.A. I believe you get a lot more out of lectures and discussions. The professors here are also passionate about what they teach. They are enthusiastic, and it is amazing what you learn from them.

  • 05/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GLBTIQ students undecided majors international students students of any religion environmentally conscious students

    Tips for prospective students

    visit campus! definitely the best way to really get a feel for the OWU community get involved! there is SO much to do at OWU, and the happiest students are those who are involved with multiple extracurricular activities, not just classes. check out Greek life! Greek life has the potential to do so much for those involved, including the development of leadership skills, the personal growth of the individual, and preparation for the future, not to mention making some wonderful life-long friends and sisters/brothers.

    Bang for the buck

    OWU gives out a good amount of financial aid, but the money can still add up to make it a pretty expensive school. Even so, what OWU can do for you can definitely make what you pay worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    With everything OWU has to offer, it is easy to get involved and find a place to be happy. It's a tight-knit community, where everyone works together to make things happen. Along with all of the activities to get involved with, OWU and individual campus groups also have many speakers come, and hold demonstrations and other events throughout the year on a huge number of topics, which make it even easier to find what you like and be happy.

    Am learning a lot

    There is ample opportunity to learn so much at OWU, and not just in class. Yes, OWU, being a small liberal arts college, has a great selection of classes, from the natural sciences and business to women and gender studies and a class completely dedicated to Hitler, but it has so much more to offer. There are an abundance of opportunities to be involved with extracurricular activities, having a job on campus, being a part of Greek life, and studying abroad with great programs through OWU, which, if taken advantage of, can teach you so much about the world, other people, and yourself. It is a challenging school, that's for sure, but with everything it has to offer and how much there is to learn, it's an excellent choice for a college.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who come here are those who generally like to get involved. All of my friends are in at least one club/organization. The biggest ones on campus are those that have to do with community service and philanthropy. Our campus has won the President's Award for Community Service and we are quite proud of that. We hope that if you join us, you too will continue with the tradition of service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should sign up for a campus event known as Slice of Life. During Slice (as it is known to current students) there are plenty of fun activities available to visiting prospective students. Everyone who I have talked to has thoroughly enjoyed their time at Slice. You should definitely check it out! However, not everyone might be able to schedule a visit like Slice. That being said, the best way to check out OWU is to simply pay the campus a visit. Overnight stays are a plus. I know from personal experience that students can be totally set on a college, but that can all change with an overnight visit. It gives you an insider's look as to what the people are actually like.

    Bang for the buck

    College has a cost and due to economic times, that cost has continued to rise. Ohio Wesleyan is no cheap school. That being said, the folks in the financial aid office work very diligently to provide monetary assistance for every student. There are also plenty of ways to get some extra dollars in your pocket. Departments offer scholarships as to various organizations on campus, like Greek Life (fraternities/sororities). What you DO get for the price tag is a full, deep college experience. There are plenty of ways to get involved outside of the classroom; Everything from varsity sports to theater, volunteer service to badminton club, improv comedy to LGBTIQ awareness groups. There is something for everybody here at campus, some thing that you might not even find at a larger campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I visited this school, I never stayed for more than an afternoon, but always had such a warm feeling each time I left. Lucky for me, that warm feeling has continued to stick. I truly enjoy the college that I attend. There is plenty of opportunity for personal growth, a diverse student body, and a special sense of community. This campus has grown on me and I don't think I could imagine being anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    Ohio Wesleyan is a liberal arts college in every sense of the phrase. Students are required to take classes in wide variety of disciplines: Natural and Social Sciences, Humanities, Arts, Languages, Mathematics, and so on. There is much to choose from in terms of areas of study. Students have plenty of time to figure out what studies interest them the most, so don't be too worried about declaring a major right away. With so much to take in, it's impossible not to learn something in the process! Professors at OWU really favor students who actively pursue help in their classes and will make sure they are taken care of. There are other resources available to assist in the learning process besides the professors themselves, like personal tutors and scheduled study tables. Personally, I am learning quite a bit, thanks to such a breadth of academic courses and services available. I'm studying what I love and love doing it.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you had good grades in high school, then you should have a good chance of receiving a scholarship. This school is great for those students who want to be challenged and enjoy small classes. All the classes are fairly rigorous, and you have to be a dedicated student to do well. The professors are very passionate about what they teach, and if you enjoy working closely with your professors, you will find Ohio Wesleyan to be a perfect fit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ohio Wesleyan is a fantastic school! The only problem I have run into is with financial aid. If you plan to attend here, you must make sure that your finances are in order, especially since tuition goes up every year. Apply early and you will have many opportunities for scholarships.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely good. Never worry about walking from point A to point B.

    Greek Life

    It is very strong here but you can live without it and still be welcome at the parties.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school but you can double major which I would suggest doing so you can get more out of the money you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot. I am an athlete but there are school sponsored greek parties every weekend and house parties to attend. Other fun things are here like cheap movie tickets, tons of clubs, and random activities during the week.

    Food and Dining

    It is college food. Do not come in looking for 5 star dining.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm room is really nice. We have three 9x11 rooms for four people. We brought a couch and TV and made our own private commons. There are only two a/c dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only a freshman but some of my classes are pretty tough. Don't think you are just going to fly through college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know how to study. Some of my classes only grade's are tests. Home work is not too bad but I came from a school with a lot of HW.

    In three sentences

    It is good school with small classes and teachers/programs there to help when you need them. Most students are athletes with a large greek life. Most stay on campus on weekends and they sleep in dorms or frat houses.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, the public safety office has been working year after year to make the campus a lot safer.

    Greek Life

    A lot of people are involved and its a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of different clubs available even though its a smaller school. This allows you to play a bigger role than you might at a large school.

    Bang for the buck

    good people

    What to do for fun

    Sleep, Local Bar, Paintball, swim in the school's pool

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but it isn't readily available. Do take into account that I am used to eating at odd hours and if you're on the typical schedule for meals you'll be fine.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not bad at all. I've visited friends and the size of ours are nice. Make sure you bring rugs and posters though.

    Academic Rigor

    There are easy classes you can take but being a Neuroscience/Physics double major my classes are pretty tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a real professor teaching your classes and to be able to make some real close friends, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    The small school experience is amazing, its great to be able to walk down the street and recognize everyone. The campus is really nice and pretty big in comparison to the number of students.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    OWU is great for students seeking a small, rural setting with top-notch academics. Keep in mind, however, that the capitol, Columbus, is a short 20 minutes or so away.

    What to do for fun

    Despite the rural setting of OWU, there are numerous activities going on almost constantly. For example, various student-led clubs frequently host social events, like ice cream tastings, lectures, debates, pizza parties, and even intramural athletic competitions. For those who are more artistically inclined, there are many performing arts activities, concerts, and the like. Perhaps one of the most common activities for make-shift fun is simply meeting in the common area of a dorm to simply hang out and chat with your neighbors.

    Food and Dining

    OWU's dining rooms offer a nice variety of cuisines, so it is easy to find good, healthy, and diverse options. For example, many of the salad bars are more extensive than what you might see in a restaurant. Also, the small town of Delaware, OH has pretty cool dining choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    While there are very modern dorms at OWU, some are a bit dated and cramped. Most rooms accommodate 2 students, and the floors of most dorms are single sex. The options for studying in the dorms are good too, as each building has comfortable, well-lit common areas, desks, and or tables for group studying.

    Academic Rigor

    OWU offers classes and programs that fit nearly every level of desired rigor. Therefore, you can challenge yourself and discover new limits as you see fit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Here are my tips for prospective students: 1. Explore the breadth and depth of OWU's academic offerings. 2. Determine if a rural environment is for you. 3. Consider OWU if you want to get to know your teachers well (and not just teaching assistants). 4. Plan to spend a semester abroad, because our generation will be tasked with solving problems way bigger than what we see in the US! 5. Think about playing a sport, if for no other reason than to stay fit.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan is situated in quaint, rural mid-west environment with a 10:1 student to faculty ratio, making it an awesome place to learn first-hand from a very talented and dedicated group of academics. It offers a broad range of student activities, ranging from special-interest clubs to foreign study programs to highly-competitive Division 3 athletics. For the student seeking a high-quality education without the distractions of a large city, I strongly recommend visiting OWU in Delaware, OH.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security on campus and in the dorm areas are specific offices that also offer a lot of security

    Greek Life

    owu does offer greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a number of clubs and activities and the college also offers greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    this is a great place for any student who is looking for a place where everyone fits in and can be accepted. there does not seem to be a lot of attitudes for the most part.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is very expensive, but with the scholarships and grants that the school offers, you rarely pay the ticket price. if you can get in to owu it is well worth it as most of my classes are approximately 10-20 students and as my mom tells me...this is a set-up for great learning.

    What to do for fun

    i hang out a lot with my softball teammates at other school sporting events or we go shopping or to a movie.

    Food and Dining

    the food options are amazing and you can always find something open. also the meal card is able to be used at a number of local restaurants and business'.

    Dorm Life

    i love the dorm life and the variety of roommates that i have in my specific dorm. i have students from a number of different backgrounds including other countries.

    Academic Rigor

    it is a very high academic school and as a previous resource student this can offer challenges; however, the school administrators, coaches and professors all help with this and the college writing center is amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are a student athlete, find a college that feels like home and offers the degree you want and then work the sports into it. i feel this is why i am so happy at owu as it felt like home before we brought in the sports piece.

    In three sentences

    i have found my home here at owu. owu is a great college that fosters individuality as well as offering a number of activities and ways to meet people and make friends. i am involved in the softball program and i am loving my first year at owu

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nightlife, Campus Programming Board activities, Club activities, Greek Life, Sports, Intramurals, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of opportunities to dine, but the options are very limited and quality worsens throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are more social than others. Smith Hall tends to be the least active.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect you to ask questions and do additional reading and studying. Some classes will require you to write multiple papers and read a lot. However, there are also a lot of easy classes, but they are still very educational.

    Tips for prospective students

    Declare your major as soon as possible because you can always change. The benefits of doing so are that you will receive news from the department, which will allow you to engage in departmental activities, which might help determine whether this is the field of study for you. Ask for help and talk with people as much as you can because they are very friendly and will be willing to assist you.

    In three sentences

    The academic programs are generally of high quality such as the math (statistics program). The social life is vibrant as there are a lot of opportunities to meet with a diverse group of people. The financial aid package is generous, but is becoming stagnant with the increasing financial need of students.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is a lot of fun at OWU. DO IT! Be More. Be Bold. Be Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASL/Talk to the Hand club is AWESOME!

    Great for these types of students

    International.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We used to have the oral sex tree, but they cut it down two years ago. Check out Stuy, it's newly renovated.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Alpha Sig cookouts on Fridays!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to Clancey's. It's sketchy! The Backstretch is SO much better!

    In three sentences

    OWU has wonderful professor-student relationships. The administrators and faculty actually care about the students. The campus is beautiful.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Within my first year we had some conflicts with safety but it was mostly students walking around campus to night time alone. OWU is set right in the middle of a town. People live right around the corner so as long as you always have a walking buddy you will be fine. Public safety will always be there when you call them. Put them on speed dial as soon as you get acquainted on campus!

    Greek Life

    We have both sororities and fraternities. All the frats and sororities have houses. But for the ladies, the house are not to be lived in. But with all the Greek Life opportunities, you are sure to find the one you belongs to.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs! Singing groups to religious clubs to ASL Club. You can find anything and everything here. If you don't see what you want, then create a group yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    If you like close friends and teachers this is the place for you! Because the campus is small you know lots of people very fast.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Presidents Ball! Its a big party at the beginning of the year where everyone gets dressed up and goes to the Science Center to dance the night away. It's a great way to make friends at the beginning of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much more to Ohio Wesleyan than I thought when I first applied. There are so many activities, beautiful facility's and great people. It is expensive to attend but OWU is great about helping students with expenses by giving scholarships and grants galore! Being a music major, I have lots of responsibility and classes but I always know that with the help of the fantastic professors at OWU will help every step of the way. That is one of my favorite things.

    What to do for fun

    Because OWU has many open grass areas, you can play Frisbee with your friends, go to a hill and watch the sunset with your sweetie or even ask to have a class outside when it's nice out.

    Food and Dining

    We have many choices. From a buffet type of dining to a convenient store that you can buy all your favorite snacks from. And all on campus dining is close enough that it won't be a hassle to walk to.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on where you are. We recently had a HUGE renovation on a dorm and it will open a lot of rooms and should be very beautiful. On all the dorm floors, there is a kitchen so that means you don't have to eat campus food all the time! And, you can have a hamster (and other animals) if you want!

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great. They want you to learn and they will help you no matter what. You just have to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    First off, never let money decide your future. Sky is the limit for talented kids like us! Get to know the teacher who could be teaching you if do attend OWU or any school in general. (who is in charge of your major) Attend the student orientations and gatherings. You will be sorry if you don't, decide to attend OWU and then not know where anything is.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan University is a beautiful campus! It has a very great 'home' feel because of the small campus. The campus layout is very easy to get used to.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is always on hand to help out with stuff. If you're at the library at night and don't feel comfortable walking back to the residential side by yourself, they have the SafeWalk program to escort you back to your dorm.

    Greek Life

    We have a very active Greek community. However, our sororities are not residential. :(

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities and sports for every interest. And if they're lacking and interest, start your own club!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are studious and serious about getting an education, this is where you want to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During exam weeks we have Midnight Breakfast, where one of the dining halls stays open late and the professors (and the president of the university!) serve us breakfast food.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, it's a great value, but I'm also receiving over 3/4 of the value in scholarship. OWU is a great school, but I also wouldn't kill myself or my bank account to go here.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on campus. Between the music department, the drama department, and the other university-wide lecture series, you won't be bored. Every weekend there's a party at one of the frats or you can go hit up a movie in town at the Strand.

    Food and Dining

    The food here at OWU isn't the greatest. Sunday night dinners at Smith Hall are the best because that's when the prospective students are there and they make the best food. We really do love the prospective students. :D

    Dorm Life

    This year, dorm life wasn't the greatest because one of the residence halls was under construction, so they put the freshman in increased occupancy halls. Next year, however it should be much more tolerable. I made some great friends though!

    Academic Rigor

    All of my classes made me work for my A. The ones I really succeeded in were the ones that I loved the most and tried my hardest in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you love to learn and you love a close-knit setting where the professors know you by name, even in the largest classes, this is where you want to be!

    In three sentences

    I love the professors and classes at this University. The learning environment is very engaging and effective. However, beware the food.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Other than Spring Street after dark, which isn't on campus, but it is a popular walking route, I have not heard of any incidents, and Security is quick to let everyone know what happened and when it happened.. the ps (public safety) officers are amazing, and you will probably get to know most of them your freshmen year. They don't try to get you in trouble, they just try to keep you safe... The town police are an entirely different story though.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prevalent, but not overwhelming... most girls on campus are in a sorority, but no girls live in the houses. You feel the presence of the Frats more, but that is because they have houses and they are always throwing parties

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally something for everyone, no matter what you like, you can find something to do with it.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who doesn't like the idea of lecture halls, millions of students, and TA's. People who do not mind having only 2,000 students around, and those who take their academics seriously.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dorm Stuyvescent is haunted, and has just been renovated, so there is probably going to be many interesting things happening there. Gray's Chapel has an amazing organ... that must have over 100 pipes, and is so gorgeous to listen to. Unusual traditions, im not sure, although the Life Raft Debate is always interesting, and I have never heard of any other school doing it... Life Raft is basically where professors from different departments argue why if the world came to an end there department should be saved.

    Bang for the buck

    OWU may be pricey, however you really are getting an amazing education out of this school. I love my school, and I am so gld I decided to come here.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on campus. If you are an unaffiliated female, the sororities always have mixers going on, there are a TON of club sports, and even more actual teams. there are many clubs that you can join, and literally a club for anything you want. There is always a party somewhere every weekend. In town, there isn't much of anything unless you like antique shops, however we are only a 20 minute drive from a mall and a thirty minute drive to Columbus, so if you know someone who has a car, you can do anything.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not something to go crazy about. You basically have 2 dining areas and then 3 'cafes'. To dine, if that is what you want to call it, you have Smith, which is in the Smith Dorm, it is all you can eat style, however everyone hates the food. It is always greasy and over cooked, and your only option of fresh veggies that are not covered in cheese is the salad bar. they are open for lunch and dinner Monday through Friday, and brunch and dinner on the weekends. Ham-Will, located in Hamilton Williams, is better, but more expensive. They have a variety of food, that is if you like burgers fries and chicken tenders, they are not all you can eat, and always crowded, they also offer fresh made breakfast sandwiches. they are open all three meals on the weekdays. There is the bishop cafe that makes sandwiches (all bread and no meat) which is only open for lunch. then there are the cafes, of which there are 4 but the library one is open only at weird hours, and basically just there for all your coffee needs while vigorously studying. there is one in Hmilton Williams, on in the SC Science center, and one in Gray Chapel. they all serve the same thing, chips, drinks, coffee, pastries in the morning and sandwiches at lunch. The one good thing I will say about the food services is that the people that work there are amazing, they all have great personalities and will brighten your day up if you are feeling down.

    Dorm Life

    My Freshmen year was a little off-putting because a dorm was under renovation, so we were crammed into a 4 person suite with 6 people, however, the dorms are nice enough, and if you get to know the people who are living around you, you will always have a grand time when you are at 'home'.

    Academic Rigor

    In both the sciences and classics you are rigorously challenged every single class. I do not know much about the other majors, but I also hear that music, economics, and math departments are also very challenging. A lot of it has to do with the professors that you have, but all-in-all I would say that it is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes and layer, the campus is small enough that you just walk everywhere, and in Ohio, you never know how many times a day the weather will change. Really pay attention in your classes, the classes are so small that your professor knows everything that you are doing. Get involved with the on-campus groups, the town is small with not much else around, so being in clubs, sports and groups gives you a lot to do, and makes you really become part of this small community.

    In three sentences

    OWU is a small and tight-knit community. You professors will take the time to know your name and other information about you. There is something for everyone, and their sciences and classics programs are great!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's danger on any college campus, but OWU does a great job of managing it.

    Greek Life

    A good presence on campus, but no pressure to be Greek. Good bunch of kids!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great music and theatre extracurriculars, competitive and intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    All of them! :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are underground tunnels connecting some dorms and buildings - old, creepy, and awesome!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes! Tuition is expensive, but they give GREAT scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Delaware is a cute little town, and it's not far from Columbus, where there are lots of museums! There's a nice mall about 20 min away from campus too.

    Food and Dining

    For college food, it's great! A little iffy sometimes, but what school food isn't?

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty well kept, and they're working on slowly renovating all of them, which is nice. Most students do have to live in the dorms, which can be a downside, but when everyone you know is there it's a nice place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Rating this a four because classes are challenging, but not so challenging that you feel lost or fail frequently. And professors/students are super helpful when you have trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't bring a car freshman year! Find a friend who has one, and decide from there if you need one with you.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan rapidly became my home. The students and faculty are so welcoming and warm that you immediately feel like you're part of the community, and the academics are wonderful. As a Theatre major especially, I love my program and my school.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Don't try everything at once!

    Great for these types of students

    Theres something for everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ghosts! And lots of em'.

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid is FANTASTIC. You will be really surprised at how many scholarships you can get from OWU.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Delaware is wonderful for exploring and shopping. They have a lot of locally owned shops and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    OWU's meal plan is unique. You can get (really good) food from the bakery or other one stop campus dining places and only use points for the food you get. There is also an all you can eat buffet for a set number of points.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms look tiny and dreary. You just have to have a little imagination. ResLife does a wonderful job with roomate assignments too.

    Academic Rigor

    I plan on enrolling in the honors program. The 2 classes that I sat in on were very informative, but easy to follow.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor! They are so very helpful and helped make my decision.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do either on campus or in town. There are so may clubs to get involved with. I currently play on an inter mural dodgeball team. There are almost always dance parties on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Some days are better than others. I definitely prefer HamWill to Smith due to the quality of food but if your looking for quantity, Smith is the way to go.

    Dorm Life

    I love my dorm and my roommates. The whole thing is almost too good to be true.

    Academic Rigor

    I have to apply myself in every class. There is no easy way out and that's how college should be.

    In three sentences

    It's an extremely friendly university with incredible professors. The opportunities here to make your dreams come true are endless. I couldn't ask for better college experience and education.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and public safety is constantly on patrol and on call. The school is located in a smaller town.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many extracurricular activities to become involved in to have fun. These groups also hold events for nonmembers to participate in. Delaware Ohio is also about half an hour from downtown Columbus which has tons of fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are numerous options during the week to eat at, that can fulfill just about any craving. However, on the weekends only one dinning hall is open which can be problematic.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. There are many options for living at Ohio Wesleyan, there are suites, singles, doubles, and actual houses you can all apply to live in. Everyone tends to be friendly and the residential staff is very helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are extremely challenging at this University. The science program is especially rigorous and a great program to be involved in if you wish to major in the sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved in everything you want to be involved in. There are so many fairs and other events groups reach out to new students at. These groups are a great way to make friends and also find things you are passionate about. Do not hesitate to try something new or meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan is a small school that is very in-tune with their students. Professors are always available and there are numerous opportunities for all students to become involved in something. This school is a great place to be if you want small class sizes and a friendly atmosphere.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things you can do for fun on campus. You can join a club team, hang out in the lounge of your dorm hall and watch television, go watch a movie down the road from campus, work out in the weight room, or the Welch workout room, go to the library, or check out the media library and rent a movie to watch in your room with your pals.

    Food and Dining

    The food quality really just depends where you go on campus. The food in the smith dinning hall is terrible. It's a buffet style of eating, but the quality and taste is terrible. If you go to Hamilton-Williams Campus center, then the quality gets a little bit better, and the best food on campus is the Bishop Cafe, but they are only open during lunch, which limits options for dinner dramatically.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life, as a freshman, is alright. The only big problem I see so far is our heaters not working properly in Bashford Hall. There are several work orders that have been put in to get them fixed, but maintenance crews have yet to get to the heater problem. This year, Stuyvesant was just reopened. It was closed for a year for renovations. It's probably the nicest dorm that we have on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the professors here really want you to get your education. Every one of my professors know my name, strengths and weaknesses. They all have high standards and really want you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get Involved! Ohio Wesleyan has many friendly people on campus, and a great way to meet them is by getting involved in sports, clubs, and Greek life!

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan University is very welcoming. About 50% of students are out of state, so the people that attend college here are very accepting of one another. Ohio Wesleyan is also a great place to mix athletics and academics.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety officers have a very visible presence on campus and there are emergency services located within a few blocks of campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is prevalent on this campus, but it is not like a typical school. The fraternities and sororities are not known for their raging parties and there is a high commitment to service.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has a wonderful assortment of clubs and if they do not have what you are looking for it is very easy to start whichever club you want.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is very open to LGTBQ and is a perfect setting for liberals and moderates, as a result conservatives are often shunned and many hide their beliefs as a result.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to the average to mediocre quality of night life, options around town, dormitories, and very pricy tuition bill this school is an ok investment. Most students get some financial aid or scholarships and as a result it can be extremely cost effective for them.

    What to do for fun

    Delaware has a few good casual restaurants and is home to one of the oldest continuously running movie theaters in the country, but it has virtually no night life other than a few sketchy bars near campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining services on campus do offer a variety of options on campus, but the quality of the food and the availability of hours is often inconvenient especially during the late afternoon, evenings, and weekends.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very different dorm to dorm. Stuy was recently renovated and is absolutely beautiful and has many new places to study in addition to the new cafe that was installed. On the other hand dorms like Smith are often dirty and not taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Ohio Wesleyan is what you would expect for a small liberal arts school. The professors aim at challenging the students, but they are always willing to help in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming here based on the scholarships and price make sure you remember that tuition increases annually and scholarships do not increase unless your financial situation changes drastically. As for academic policy, read your catalog you cannot count on your advisor to ensure you graduate on time. As adults you need to make sure you read the fine print and establish your goals and stick to them. Each advisor is different, but they will be a wonderful tool if you need them.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan's greatest assets are the professors and academic options. If you want to do something you can from creating your own major to triple majoring. As for campus life, that is probably the biggest downside to life here at Ohio Wesleyan specifically certain dorms.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot. It is so diverse!

    Bang for the buck

    Could be more.

    What to do for fun

    Walk aroung dowtown delaware or take the bus and go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but do have a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard especially sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply apply apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    People are super friendly. It's a small college. It has a very good food point system.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    LGBTQ

    Great for these types of students

    The stoop is great for cigarette smokers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The steps going up to Thompson Hall is known as the stoop. It is where the smokers hang out.

    What to do for fun

    frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    I refuse to eat anywhere on campus except for ham-wil. I personally thinks its just nasty.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is not always fine and dandy. Sometimes, your roommate gets on your nerves. Sometimes, you get stuck with a sloppy roommate. The maintenance ladies are pretty nice though. They always have a casual conversation with you while you're brushing your teeth in the morning.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes at Ohio Wesleyan are tough. They prepare you for graduate school. This college is a sure fire way to become smart.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not apply to live in Smith, either of them. Try to stay away from Hamburger Inn because it doesn't set well on the stomach. If you ever get homesick, think about where you'll be in four years. Dream Big

    In three sentences

    The buildings at Ohio Wesleyan are beautiful. The music department is not the greatest but it is definitely a fun place to be. The academic side is extremely time consuming.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ohio Wesleyan does a fantastic job at making everyone feel safe. Public Safety is always around should you ever have a problem and the Delaware Police are nearby as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty big on campus. The sororities and fraternities here are so nice and welcoming though, that even if you aren't part of Greek life, it is still possible to fit in and find a solid friend group.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are countless clubs and activities here on campus that can allow you to get involved in whatever you would like!

    Great for these types of students

    One of the great things about OWU is that multiple kinds of people can fit in easily here. Whether you are a jock, a thespian, a writer, a scientist, you can find a place at Ohio Wesleyan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Day on the Jay is one of the most fun days on campus. They have one in the fall and one in the spring and the university brings in huge inflatables, free food, music. It's an awesome day for everyone on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Ohio Wesleyan is an extremely expensive school to attend. They do have scholarships available but more scholarships is always a good thing. However, the learning atmosphere and college life that is possible at OWU is great, just a little pricey.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus and Polaris Shopping Mall are both within a half hour of Ohio Wesleyan. Downtown Delaware has some fun stuff to do. If you are willing to explore and be creative it is possible to have fun here in Delaware.

    Food and Dining

    While options are sort of limited, the food is pretty average here. A bonus though is the off campus food points that we get, I just wish that they gave us more of them.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is awesome. There are many different options for a smaller school that allow you to sort of pick and choose the kind of atmosphere that you want to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a variety of courses offered here, all with different levels of difficulty. However, the university does a great job in providing the resources necessary to exceed and do well here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to seize the countless opportunities that are presented to you at Ohio Wesleyan. Getting involved is probably one of the best things you can do once you get to college.

    In three sentences

    While the university is a bit small, the learning atmosphere created at OWU is astounding. You can reach any goal you may have in an atmosphere that promotes learning and growth. If a liberal arts education is something you are looking for, Ohio Wesleyan is one of the best schools for it.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It's great! Not exclusive. Very welcoming and loving to non-greeks. They add to campus!

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds. Unless you want a big a school, OWU is entirely open and welcoming to every type of student there is!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Day on the Jay! It is by far my FAVORITE day on campus! Campus Programming Board gets all these fun activities (i.e. moon bounce, ice cream trucks, catered food, henna artists, etc) to just relax the common college kid's brain during a stressful end or beginning to the semester. Always fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Room&Board is way over priced. However, the educational experience has been worth the money so far.

    What to do for fun

    Columbus is only half an hour away! SO many fun things to see in the city (rent-a-car service now available!) while still getting the calm nights in a small, sweet rural town like Delaware.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Be willingly to try everything, then choose what you like -Get to know your professors -Step outside your comfort zone.. OWU is perfect for that!

    In three sentences

    OWU is a family of students, professors, faculty and community members of Delaware. Everyone at OWU encourages others to excel in all possible ways. Thinking and venturing outside the box is necessary to keep up with academics at OWU.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of dining options on and off campus. But I would still bring food from home/ go grocery shopping sometimes because these options are not open 24/7.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice, and personally I live in the Honors dorm, Welch. Only Stuy and Smith have AC though. The rooms do not come with mini-fridges, microwaves, or TVs. But laundry and cable are free!

    Academic Rigor

    The class may start off easy, but they tend to get more difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your deadlines and apply early to get the best scholarships. Do go to one of the visit days, they give you free stuff. If you are spending the night, be nice to your host, they are sharing their personal space with you.

    In three sentences

    The people are friendly and helpful. They really make you feel welcome. The school is small, intimate, and truly personalized.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ohio Wesleyan is not located in a dangerous part of town, but we still have public safety who patrol campus on bikes, even late at night, to make sure that all is well. They are very friendly and are to get you out of a tough situation and even to walk you home, late at night, if you're afraid. Public safety even teaches self defense classes, to prepare students for dangerous situations.

    Greek Life

    As a freshmen, I can not be a part of Greek Life, yet, but there are many events that invite us to many fraternities/sororities/small living units, to learn what they are all about. Don't worry, though! The weird myths about the college movie initiations are not true here and you will not be pressured to do anything like in those movies!

    Clubs and Activities

    As a member of numerous clubs, I feel like a more well-rounded being because many of our discussions help you evaluate your choices and decisions in your life and help mold the bridges that you're making. Clubs and activities are also a great place to make friends, so if you ever need them, they will have your back.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to always be busy, or like to be free to make plenty of choices, or if you're undecided of what you want to do, then always take the time to check out Ohio Wesleyan. You're bound to find something you like, just by looking OWU up!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite building is Slocum Hall, on the second floor, because the study area is an open oval room, full of historical wooden tables, that have been there, practically forever! The tables alone have so much history. There is beautifully-colored stained glass of Great Philosophers, when you look up, and when the sunlight hits it, the sight is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter where you go, college is always going to be a big adjustment, because there will always be challenges/obstacles: environmental, class courses, peers, etc. I'm the only child from a big city, and decided to go to a small, diverse, liberal arts college. I do not regret this decision one bit, because I like the caring atmosphere and enjoy the personal relationships that I'm creating, along my journey.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun, depending on your interests because there is a club for everything. If your interest is not available at Ohio Wesleyan, then you can always start your own club, because there is always someone else on campus who has a similar interest as you.

    Food and Dining

    All of the dining areas on campus are delectable and you can eat whatever you want, when you want; you could have chicken and waffles for breakfast or dinner! There are also a couple places off campus where you can use your food points, if you're not hungry for what's on campus or just want to go out on the town.

    Dorm Life

    Out of all person living on campus, I have only heard of two roommates who do not get along, but the feeling of community on my dorm floor is easy going. One of my dormmates broke her leg, and our entire floor is wishing the best for her upcoming surgery. With that said, we are a caring close-knit community, that welcomes and supports everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Your professors will expect a lot out of you, but they are also will to negotiate and help you out if you're having a hard time learning to material or if any other events arise in your life. Everyone is here to help you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone is here to support you, especially the professors, so always ask questions and feel free to stop by their offices even just to say hello!

    In three sentences

    The campus is small in size, but it is extremely diverse and is home to many international students. With that said, there is a grand array of clubs, sports, events, languages to take, and things to do. Our motto at Ohio Wesleyan University, is to Never have an ordinary day!

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can join multiple groups from the over 100+ clubs and activities on campus, also the school sponsored parties are also fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, it is not the best, but it suffices.

    Dorm Life

    There are great opportunities to meet a lot if interesting people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are rigorous, but the professors are caring and will work with you to help your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work and learn a lot. Do not take this school lightly because it is D3, it is still very rigorous. Do not limit attend this school if you are not comfortable with a lot of different cultures because this school is very diverse. Attend this school if you are hardworking, sociable, and enjoy learning.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan University is fun, but challenging. It is fun in the sense that there are a lot of clubs, groups, and events to attend on campus. It is challenging because of the classes, they have to be taken seriously or they will become overwhelming.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad has ever happened to me.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for studious students, and people who are looking for a small school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a theory on campus that every residence hall and the Great Chapel building are HUNTED.

    What to do for fun

    I hangout with my friends a lot, eating out with them, and party together.

    Food and Dining

    The food can keep me away from being hungry.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate and I get along very well, and we don't have much of an issue sharing and living together.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get along with your roommate(s). 2. Get some advice from the upperclassmen, and choose class carefully. 3. Get sufficient amount of sleep, you are going to thank yourself the next day in class. 4. If you don't like the food in the cafeterias, go get or make your own.

    In three sentences

    Ohio Wesleyan is a small liberal arts university which is a good fit for me. The courses here are intensive and challenging to me because if you don't keep up with your study, you might fail the course. It is very easy to make friends here.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are all very friendly and ensure that you are safe. They are always on call. 24/7 The public safety office is located in the Smith dorms

    Greek Life

    Greek life is present but not dominant. Men can live in frat houses but women cannot live in sororities although the houses are there to use.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs on campus. I am a member of the Active Minds Club which raises awareness on mental health.

    Great for these types of students

    People that are interested in Pre-Med and Psychology.

    Bang for the buck

    School is very expensive but they do provide a lot of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    ....frisby, and student formed events of course which can be pretty fun. Parties are not very present.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple dining places on campus. There are three major dining locations: Smith Dining Hall (located in the Smith dorms), Thomson Convenience Store (in Thomson dorms), and Hamilton-Williams (located in Hamilton Williams Campus Center) There are also food carts located in some buildings and a starbucks in the library.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are ok. There are two freshman dorms (Bashford and Thomson), an all girls dorm (Hayes), a co-ed dorm (Smith east & west) and an honors dorm (Welch) Welch and Thomson are connected by a gym and convenience store. There are also non-dorm living choices. These include SLU's (Small Living Units) and themed houses such as House of Black Culture and House of Thought. Fraternities offer living options but sororities do not (Ohio Law?)

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is intense but it is a given since you are attending college. It is to be expected of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit all parts of the campus! If you're planning to be a music major, take into consideration that the music building is 10-15 minutes walking distance from he academic side of campus but only 2-5 minutes from the dorms depending where you choose to live.

    In three sentences

    The students are very involved and exciting. The school definately gives a lot of scholarship help. Everyone is extremely friendly.