Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Our Lady of the Lake College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety of the college is help at a very high standing for the college. Any problems are reported to the police on campus or the security. Police are always patrolling the campus making sure that nothing will hurt anyone that is on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs at the college are mostly community service clubs the raise money for hospitals and other things for communities.

    Great for these types of students

    Our Lady of the Lake is great for the type of students that want a small campus, a one on one relationship with their teachers and counselor, and the motivation to keep on tracks to reach your goals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is actually surrounded by little private practices with doctors that can come of campus to talk to students about what really goes on in the profession that they choose. Even though the campus is small is has 12 buildings that is location around the hospital.

    Bang for the buck

    Our Lady of the Lake is a very affordable college that only cost about 12,000-14,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    Our Lady of the Lake holds a lot of events on the campus, and football games. There is also a lot of stores located around the campus and an outlet that is no more than 5 miles away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    Our Lady of the Lake is surrounded by fast food restaurants and has the Our Lady of the Lake Hospital across the street that has a lunchroom.

    Dorm Life

    Our Lady of the Lake does not really own its own dorms but the students that wish to have a dorm environment may stay at the LSU dorms with their students plus the college is surrounded with available apartments at low prices.

    Academic Rigor

    Our Lady of the Lake College is a small college and has the environment of a high school classroom with each classroom holding up to 22 students. The teachers do everything in their will to give the students the materials, education, and motivation to reach the degree and goals that they set out for themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I would give prospective students is to enroll as early as possible and to make sure that they have all of the information that will be needed to enroll into the college. As soon as the student gets a email to go see a counselor about scheduling classes go immediately because classes get full after about 2 days.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake is a college that is based off of it's religious beliefs. The faculty and staff is very welcoming and guides students step by step but also gives students the independents that they want and need. The college is very free going, help communities, and hold many events that will keep the college experiences fun.

  • 09/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs , inquire

    Great for these types of students

    Intelligent students who like studying

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library

    Bang for the buck

    Try to find used books to save money !

    What to do for fun

    Study Groups

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms !

    Academic Rigor

    Science seems rigorous , from what I seen .

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all you transcripts and tax documents in order , it makes the admission process speed up.

    In three sentences

    Costs are reasonable.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It can get quite expensive, but at least they attempt to provide plenty of financial aid options.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend events.

    Food and Dining

    Have healthy conscious vending machines, and some food joints in the surrounding area, but not on campus.

    Dorm Life

    None, it's a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    The biology courses can be some of the toughest.

    Tips for prospective students

    An interest in healthcare based careers is a must, it is their specialty.

    In three sentences

    The school's values really shine through with so many efforts to help the community. Not only do they attempt to help the community outside, but their students as well, from tutoring to providing some food and fun.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun any where you are at. It's all a matter of perspective and attitude. The college has clubs and events that take place periodically that engages the student body to participate. For example, for the first week of school the student council committee held an event with free give-away's every day during lunch.

    Food and Dining

    The school does dose not have a cafeteria, however there are several restaurants and fast food dinning within walking distance. I typically pack a lunch to save money and if I need to heat up my food there are several locations on campus that have lounges with microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    Out Lady of Our Lake College is a commuter college. There are not any dorms. Students commute from their homes to attend class and clinical rotations.

    Academic Rigor

    I come from a previous medical background and have some knowledge of the material being taught. So far the classes are not too difficult, however once clinical rotations and classes in Medical Surgery begin I will change my mind. I look forward to the challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dear prospective students, Be prepared to be disciplined and dedicated to studying. The health care information learned in the LPN program should be taken seriously, as it will serve to honor the lives and the health of other people who will be your patients. Stay positive and patient with yourself and the school you choose to go attend. Nursing is a life long learning process.

    In three sentences

    I would rate is nursing school to be an 8/10. I have only been in the LPN program six weeks and am making A's so far, which speak volumes for the amount of studying I do and the great instructors. I feel this school was a great choice for me and is a asset to the community.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    Provide lunches at the library commons.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned a lot at OLOL College.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in a small, private college, this is the college for you! The faculty and staff are very supportive and helpful throughout your entire college career.

    In three sentences

    Our Lady of the Lake College has shaped my life. OLOL College has taught me professionalism. I love OLOL College!

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    WHo are intrested and willing to do things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be good or be good at it

  • 02/10/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that can memorize the business pages size phone book in 3 days or less with 100% accurracy because the tests are basically 45 questions 5 being drug calculations. Students that have previous copy of test.

    Tips for prospective students

    Our Lady of the Lake Accelerated Nursing Programs in New Orleans and West Jefferson are SCAMS! Do not come here. Louisiana is a giant swamp and jobs are few. Most truly educated people leave! Only come here if you can memorize the Business Pages in 2 days and be given 50 questions over it with 100% accurracy. The program is designed for you to fail the first time. The tests are the same, for every program, year in year out, that is why they go through so much extent to keep them private! You will also pass if you know someone that has failed before and if they are not stingy, you will know exactly what is on the test and Pass! Another way to pass is to hook up with students that have a previous copy of the tests, these students will be the really quiet ones that walk out the room a lot and do not pay attention, merely show up, and before the test they are on their phone or listening to music instead of studying, yet miracleously pass each test by missing only 1 or 2 questions. The instructors DO NOT CARE! Only one instructor actually taught, and she lives way in Prairieville. The other teachers merely read their notes and fuss at the class about petty things like dress code. They are lazy old nurses that show up for the money, miss numerous days and are late a lot! They all cover for each other. They do not review before a test, only after. The clinical teachers are better, if you make it to them! One must beware of any organization that is Evil yet hide behind the disguise of being Christian! Many students that moved from out of state wasted their time without refund! Beware of Our Lady of the Lake Accelerated Nursing Program, it is designed for you to fail once, then you will know everything that is on the test and pass the 2nd time. Louisiana sucks in general, try a different school in another state. I wish I read a post like this before I moved here. Took over 2 years to earn a 10 month certificate. Basically because the Accelerated Nursing Programs are 7-8 months apart! Most of the NCLEX preparation is online, so I wouldve done better becoming a LPN in 14 months then earning the RN completely ONLINE, while I work and earn income! Parking sucks in New Orleans, but is better in West Jefferson Campus.

  • 12/12/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    hard-working Roman CAtholic

    Tips for prospective students

    only college in LA to provide actual forensics program!!!