Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Perry Technical Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have awesome food. The smell always pulls people in for a bite.

    Dorm Life

    For me there is no dorm needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Perry Tech is up to pace, they are very organized by how they go about their time with you.

    In three sentences

    They are focused on helping you achieve. They really care about what you have to say. Perry Tech has a lot of options to chose from for your study.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety seems to be on the priority list of the staff and students here.

    Great for these types of students

    Perry Tech is great for all types of people in any stage of life they are in. I have recently started Perry Tech and before this i was working for a mill for 13 years, when i was laid off work. Perry Tech is for those who want to be successful in a job when they are done.

    Bang for the buck

    At Perry Tech you get what you pay for. You are set up for success when you are done and they show you how to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with my family and enjoy my kids' sports.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good here and the prices are friendly, they take into perspective people who are on a student's budget.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classroom work can be a little daunting, but once you get in the swing of things it's not so bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn. Make sure the field you're going is the one you want to make a career of because that is what you get when you are here. If the work is hard for you, like it is for some of us who have not been in school for awhile, don't get discouraged the instructors here and willing to help you the best they can as well as other students.

    In three sentences

    It is a place that is dedicated to teaching you the in's and out's of the program you're going into. It combines hands on training with academic training so you are better prepared for the job you are seeking when you graduate. It's a great environment; gets you ready for the workplace by implementing a workplace atmosphere and setting, and they set you up for success.

  • 07/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    What i did notice is that Perry has security on their parking lot which is very large. They give you a permit parking so you can have a parking space. If you don't have your permit they will tow your car. Their's also a security guard driving by, making sure they all have permits and not bad is going on.

    What to do for fun

    They always have special events going on. We just had a blood drive. This events can always help to do community service for you resume. You do get an e-mail (if you are enrolled in perry)for the events happening that week.

    Food and Dining

    Perry Tech has a food store were students buy there lunch if wanted always available. Our department is far from main campus so they deliver to us. Our dinning is an ok space has everything we need and we get to know each other better.

    Dorm Life

    I actually don't live on campus i drive to school every day. I believe is pretty nice to live on campus. If you need to work on homework easy access to everything.

    Academic Rigor

    So far what I have heard is that most students that graduate from Perry Tech have a job right after. That was one of the most interesting things about Perry that caught me interest in this field. Also i have heard that they give recognition to all perfect attendance students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm in the Medical Assistant program and some tips i can give out some tips. This field makes it seem just like work. Always be on time, responsible, organized and always have energy to work and learn.

    In three sentences

    To me Perry Tech has been great. If it were to rate I would definitely give it a 10 out of 10. Its practical, right to the point and makes it an every day routine.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a field but not much to do at school with activities.

    Food and Dining

    there is a lot to eat with different verity of food.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm so your in the comfort of your home.

    Academic Rigor

    the instructors are here to teach from experiences out side in the career we are studying for so they have done the work so they teach with accuracy.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you looking for a career come to perry they are very on hands on with work and study's if you like a small class room size this is the place.

    In three sentences

    perry is a outstanding school, As a student here i have learned a lot in the career I'm currently very help full and supportive over all turd out to be the best school with best ways to teach.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems pretty safe its in a busy area so the traffic flow gets heavy at times.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that don't want to just go to school but to want to be there and know they will have a great career in the end.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Get together with friends/classmates for study sessions, movie theaters, playing sports at local parks and BBQ with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of food choices in Yakima, also have some pretty good food on campus and its pretty cheap.

    Dorm Life

    They have dorms off campus at the nearby community college, nothing fancy but its a place to call home for a little bit. Also have a lot of apartment and housing available through local agencies.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well educated staff. Very friendly. And they help you with any bumps in the road. The best decision I have made by far, cannot believe I waited so long to even get into college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in as soon as you can! Dont hesitate to get info on the school and explore your options before setting your mind on your lifetime career path.

    In three sentences

    Perry is an excellent school of choice. Very easy going environment and friendly staff and students as well. Perry makes it possible to live the college dream.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are all about safety on our campus. You would feel safe.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    Yes. Any student would find this school very friendly and fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has been around for about 80 years. Its great.

    Bang for the buck

    They will make sure they get you into the school.

    What to do for fun

    What there is to do for fun is studying and hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. Pizza everyday and they just expanded the little food store they have.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Thats the only bad part but they do help you with finding a place near b.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are amazing. They focus only on the subject you are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be on time and never miss a day. 2. Keep away from the drugs. 3. Do as much studying as you can. 4. Always try your hardest. 5. You will have a life after Perry Technical Institute.

    In three sentences

    Perry Technical Institute will help as much as they can with any of your needs. The Dean takes you in the direction for you not to fail with Perry 101. I believe Perry Technical Institute is my best decision.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great security!! no worries!

    Great for these types of students

    If your a hands on person and think out of the box, its perfect for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitly worth the money and you gain valuable knowledge and experience towards your career. pays dividens in the long run that you will never regret!

    Food and Dining

    Its ok. Good food resturants around the school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging if you push yourself to succeed. But hard work pays off in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn and ask questions. Have a great attitude.

    In three sentences

    The school is very prestigeous and honorable with a Outstanding reputation. The teachers are very highly educated and have alot of field knowledge. Great place to go with a great atmosphere.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Perry is very rigorous, but as long as your hear and study you will be fine staff is very helpful .

    In three sentences

    awesome school. teacher are caring and supportive.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The have BBQ, and after school things to do. Like Basketball Volleyball, and dodge ball.

    Food and Dining

    They have a great deli, and the food is really cheap!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend this college you will learn so much. I have learned more in the 3 months i have been at Perry's than i did in 4 years of high school.

    In three sentences

    The best life choice i have ever made. One amazing school the want us to succeed and want us to get the best education available. This is where it is at, no better place to get your life on track.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Perry is great bang for your buck when you consider their high success rate in helping their graduates to find jobs in their fields upon graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't a lot of great activities in Yakima, WA but some of the classes will do things like dodgeball tourneys in the field next door, basketball, barbecues in the summer, pizza party study nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    For a school cafeteria, the food is actually pretty sang good.

    Dorm Life

    I've never a tally been in the dorms. I know that they're offsite and a ways away from the actual school. They're pretty standard from what I understand.

    Academic Rigor

    Studying is required every day of the week with quizzes almost every day and tests a couple times per week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the full campus tour and try to have an understanding of all the different fields if study before you choose yours.

    In three sentences

    Perry is a great school that can set you up for success if you're willing to buckle down and get it done. Most everyone in the school is friendly and there because they actually want to be. The facilities are nice and all of your teachers have had careers in your field of study.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Veterans alliance

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on learners

    Bang for the buck

    I have wanted to attend this school since I was young, now I am living the dream of attending a very prestigious school.

    Food and Dining

    Awesome!

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Studying every day, quizzes daily

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and take the full campus tour

    In three sentences

    Perry Tech has changed the course in my life. The opportunities that I have been offered here are endless. They truly care about the future of their students.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual location on campus is that the parking lot for the new students is located quite a bit away from the actual school.

    Bang for the buck

    If you attend this school you are definitely getting the best bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a wide selection of extracurricular activities. Usually we just set up sports to play between classmates on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a deli located inside the cafeteria. They don't have a large variety of different food but there is open campus so you are free to get food from the surrounding restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus although the school has made a deal with another local college to set you up in their dorms. The dorms there are what you would expect from a typical college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes are surprising as some of them require all your focus and attention. The ITCS program is the one I'm attending and requires a good knowledge of math.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking into attending you can be sure that your are getting the best educational quality for your dollar. The teachers and staff are able to assist you with and potential questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    This school is of very high academic standards especially for the cost. I'm not too fond of the strictness of their attendance policy. Acquiring a job after graduating has been said to not be that difficult.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Come to work have fun on the three day weekend.

    Food and Dining

    One word Yummy!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing good comes easy, good is what comes from what you make from nothing. Perry Technical Institute is a fast paced environment and with a four ten schedule Monday through Thursday you can expect homework quite often. Manage your time well and tame your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attendance at Perry Technical Institute is key to your success. Showing up is the easy part, the rest of the day you get through. Attendance is critical. When attending Perry Technical Institute come with goals to choose a career and the Perry staff will help you accomplish them.

    In three sentences

    Demonstrates true personal interest in there students and there goals. Real hands on experience with up to date literature and technology With a friendly staff and beautiful campus, attendance is enjoyable.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    mostly older students who watch out for each other.

    Bang for the buck

    fantastic placement and failure rate.

    What to do for fun

    not much in yakima, wa to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    good food.

    Academic Rigor

    tough on making sure you learn everything correctly the first time.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to the staff and get to know them. they can help you a lot.

    In three sentences

    great advisers and teachers. they have a high placement rate. they also care about each student.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the school has really good food, and also if you going to live in yakima you have to eat at minors!!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are found on another campus down the road. they arent the best but its a place to live.

    Academic Rigor

    the school is tough, but as long as you study hard, and pay attention you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention to detail, and when the teachers assign book work in the first semester, it just the weeding out process so hang in there.

    In three sentences

    perry tech is a very well organized program, the school has a well thought out plan to get to through quick, easy, and with little error. if i had to refer a friend to a vocational school i would with hesitation say perry tech. im glad to have been enrolled at the time i was, do to the waiting list until 2013.