Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Peru State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one benefit of a small school is the security. there is always a member of campus security walking around, checking into anything that might be suspicious.

    Clubs and Activities

    there aren't really a whole lot of clubs available on campus. there are some activities sponsored by the school, but they are more of a monthly thing.

    Great for these types of students

    science majors, pre-med or pre-dental students, and music majors.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is relatively cheap here, and since the school doesn't take residency into account, it's a great financial opportunity for out-of-state students. most of the professors are very good, and are willing to help students succeed long-term, rather than just get good grades.

    What to do for fun

    if there is one down-side to a small, rural school, it's the social life. if you want to go shopping, there is a walmart about half an hour away, or you can drive an hour and go to either lincoln or omaha. there isn't really a whole lot available to do.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has some great meal options, and there is a small cafe located in the library with a small selection of food choices available.

    Dorm Life

    the buildings are a little outdated, but construction goes on to help fix that problem.

    Academic Rigor

    the science program is definitely the most rigorous department in the school. the professors expect you to learn the material, and learn it well. the other departments are adequate, but science is definitely the most challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors. almost all of them are very friendly and have a genuine desire to help the students they teach.

    In three sentences

    peru state college is a great financial choice for someone looking for post-secondary education for a fair level of tuition cost. it's a small campus with a magnificent science department. it's a great place to be, and the cost makes your education very affordable.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Peru has great programs for teaching, sciences, and music. If you want to be in a big city then its not the place for you, but you are and hour away from Lincoln and Omaha, 20 minutes from Nebraska City, and two hours away from Kansas City. It is a quiet campus but has many activities and clubs to get involved with.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not a big college, but it is a great setting for learning, it has a beautiful campus, and you will make good friends.

  • 10/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small town kids, people who want to be an educator, music lovers, and accounting students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out make sure that the small school thing is right for you. Don't just apply because it is inexpensive, you can get cabin fever that way.

    Bang for the buck

    On average I spend about 5,500 a semester on everything!

    Am enjoying being here

    There is so much to do. Yes there are some days when you are bored, but you can get that anywhere. The Campus Activities Board plans awesome events from live music, dances, and a variety of college themed activities. you develop a family here.

    Am learning a lot

    It is wonderful. The environment is so loving, everyone cares about you as a person. The professors take time to know your name and know things about you. The courses can range from challenging to cake walk it just depends on what you are good at.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i do not feel particulary safe on this campus. before i enrolled at psc, a student went missing from around this campus. there was also a student who lived in one of the dorms committing sexual assaults, i think.

    Greek Life

    there is phi beta lambda & alpha chi.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many activities to participate in on campus. many clubs that students can join. if you are into sports, you can enjoy that too.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional students & anyone wanting an education at a budget friendly 4-yr college; people with low incomes.

    Bang for the buck

    i am an out-of-state, non-traditional student. psc is great because i do not have to pay out-of-state tuition! in fact, all things considered, that is the main reason why i am attending psc.

    What to do for fun

    there are many activities to participate in on campus. many clubs that students can join. if you are into sports, you can enjoy that too.

    Food and Dining

    i make my own meals, so i give myself 5 stars. cuz i am a star!

    Dorm Life

    i hear a lot of horror stories with regards to students putting feces everywhere. i rent an apartment, and my heaters do not work properly, so i am cold most of the time.

    Academic Rigor

    math & science are good, but some of the professors in psychology would rather have social hour than teach psychology. class time is for learning! i can socialize later.

    Tips for prospective students

    brace yourself for life in a small (teeny) town...

    In three sentences

    if you value having access to your professors and getting their advice attend peru state college. nice, tree-lined campus. living close to campus means little-to-no commute.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe on campus even at night time

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends

    Food and Dining

    yummy food and lots of choices.

    Dorm Life

    seems to be easy to live on campus and lots of activities.

    Academic Rigor

    there are lots of high academics

    Tips for prospective students

    you will enjoy the school and the instructors will get to know you.

    In three sentences

    great school to attend, small class sizes and low tuition.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is pretty good campus safety here. security usually is driving around at night, so if you are walking back to the plex by yourself late you can wave and they will give you a ride. you can also call and have them give you a ride if you don't want to walk alone at night. they are really nice about it and pretty quick about getting there.

    Greek Life

    unfortunately there is no actual greek life really on the campus. there are a small hand full of people who are in fraternities and sororities at our school but they had to go through the greek process at another campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    everyone should go to the softball games because i am on the team! come support us. there are also other athletics and there are also intramurals. intramurals are pretty popular so get involved in one of the teams.

    Great for these types of students

    it's probably best for people who are from smaller towns. it's a small school out in the middle of no where. most people here graduated with a class of about 30 students. i on the other hand came from a larger school with a graduating class of over 350 students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    homecoming weekend is the best time of the year. there are so many people who come down.

    What to do for fun

    there really is not much to do unfortunately.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not very good. there are not many options and most times nothing looks good. i love their corn though! they should have corn more often.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are okay. they could be better. but for the most part they are pretty nice for our school's budget. (at least morgan hall's dorm is..)

    Academic Rigor

    i am only a freshman so school is not too hard right now. but my online classes are pretty tough. but i enjoy the new things i am learning.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Moderate security presence. Security cameras are set up in various locations. A security guard either walks or drives around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    PSC offers men's basketball, football, and baseball. It offers women's softball, cross-country, basketball, and cheerleading. It offers a moderate selection of clubs including Cab, PBL, photography club, and quite a bit more that I can't remember.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the underachievers. Also, for people from small towns who likes to know everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Great educational opportunity at a very modest price.

    What to do for fun

    People watch tv. Play football on the band field. Hangout in their rooms. Additionally, one can always go to a nearby town to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    I hope you like chicken because it's a constant item on the menu. The food is rather decent. There is always a salad bar offered at lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    Dezell sucks. No A/C with the exception of a doctor's note. Peru has unclean water. The other dorms are quite nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not difficult to be the smartest in a class. It is easy to achieve an A if you only moderately apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Peru State is a small town. Therefore, there is not much to do. The parties are more like social gatherings of a repetitive nature.

    In three sentences

    Peru State would receive a 6 out of 10. It is a college to attend with the purpose of getting a degree rather than an exceptional education. However, the classes are small, which allows students to get the one-on-one help they may require.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very close community and we are located in a very small quiet town. Everyone looks out for everyone and the Security officers and police are always very prompt and handle situations very well.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Sororities or Fraternities on our campus, but there are several active honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations available for students to join and get involved with. The Campus Activities Board is our largest group and they host at least one event every week that are always free and fun for students! Some events include Free Movie nights at the local theater, Free Bowling nights, Dances, Laser tag, Tie Dye Shops, and several other exciting activities that students would not otherwise get much of a chance to experience.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who is looking to go into Education, Wildlife Sciences, or Business and Criminal Justice! The campus is great for anyone outgoing and willing to be part of a friendly community!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are the oldest college in Nebraska and many of our buildings still contain at least some of the original building materials. Our Football field is very unique because it is centered in a small ravine or valley with the stands built into the hill. This field is called the Oak Bowl. Our campus is also a Nationally Recognized and Registered Arboretum. There are hundreds of different species of trees on our campus and it is beautiful!

    Bang for the buck

    We are one of the most inexpensive colleges in the country, especially compared to the quality of education we receive.

    What to do for fun

    There are always sporting events going on and we are located right on the Missouri River so you can take a trip to the riverside with your friends. The Activities Board also hosts multiple events every week!

    Food and Dining

    We are a small campus with a single cafeteria that has two dining areas. One is a basic line with things like pasta, chicken, a salad bar, cold sandwiches, a desert bar and a varying array of homemade dishes. The other side is a Grill where you can order burgers, fries, pizza, and other fast-food type items.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a very close community, especially in the freshman dorms. There are several friendly Resident Assistants in the buildings who are always around to help. The Upperclassmen dorms are actually apartment suites and give the older students a nice transition to apartment living.

    Academic Rigor

    The Science program that I have experienced is incredibly tough but rewarding. The professors expect you to put your full effort in and think like a scientist. They are preparing us to be independent thinkers who ask questions and want to know more about our surroundings. I have had to work hard, but I have gained so much from this program.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is small and very tight-knit. Be ready to know everyone and make some wonderful friendships. The best tip as far as classes go would be to show up! You cannot excel if you don't attend class.

    In three sentences

    Peru is a small campus community with excellent opportunities. The education I have received thus far is absolutely invaluable and I am excited for my final semesters. This campus has given me so much and I hope that I have been able to return the favor in some way.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not have a problem driving to Peru for classes. Great for those students who like online classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academic college.

    In three sentences

    Was a good college when they had the annex in LaPlatte, Ne. They closed it and now you have to travel all the way to Peru for classes. I enjoy the online classes.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Peru always has at least one security guard on duty for the safety of the students and faculty.

    Great for these types of students

    Peru is great for any type of student. The campus offers a very diverse group of kids! Friends for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Peru is one of the cheapest colleges in Nebraska!

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the little things in life. We go on walks, camping, sporting events, and anything else we think of.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be a lot better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing fancy, but they get the job done and meet all my basic needs.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I am getting a great education for a low price at Peru.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know how to make the best out of little things.

    In three sentences

    I love Peru State College. I love the small town feeling that the community offers! It is a great place to attend school at!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Peru State is also an arboretum. Many of the trees are marked, so biology majors don't have to travel far for lab classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Peru State College definately gives a quality education for the tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    Almost every week there is some activity on campus, whether it be a dance, a speaker, or a concert. In addition to these, being involved in activities like the theatre group, sports, or the clubs for certain majors is always great. The two nearest towns to Peru are Auburn and Nebraska City, and in them can be found movie theatres, bowling alleys, and other distractions from school life.

    Food and Dining

    There are three options for dining at Peru: the cafeteria, the Bob, and the Den. The cafeteria is buffet style and usually has a salad bar, a sandwich bar, desserts, cereal and a line or two of hot food. The Bob is the fast food option, and it is really greasy, but also has some variety. The Den is a coffee shop that also has granola bars and other prepackaged food. All three can be used with a meal plan, cash, or credit/debit cards.

    Dorm Life

    The residence assistants complete several weeks of training each summer on first aid, conflict resolution, and other important topics, so you know they are well-informed.

    Academic Rigor

    Peru State is an open enrollment college, so sometimes the classes seem a little on the easy side, particularly if they're considered a gen ed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Since Peru is so small, it is easy to familiarize yourself with the faculty and staff, and most everyone is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Peru State College is wonderful for anyone who enjoys small town life, like myself. The campus is beautiful, and the class sizes are small. However, some students feel cramped because the nearest city is an hour away

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay informed about the school you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    I think the online school is helpful. I think there is a lot of potential for growth. I am excited about attending Peru

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Does not apply to me

    Greek Life

    Does not apply to e

    Clubs and Activities

    Does not apply to me

    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are a great opportunity for those older students with families and work, who are actively pursing their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Does not apply to me

    Bang for the buck

    More affordable than the University, and definately feel I'm getting a great education. Instructors are interactive via online classes, and help with with any questions.

    What to do for fun

    PSC has numerous activities and clubs for students to engage in.

    Food and Dining

    Does not apply to me

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me

    Academic Rigor

    Does not apply to me

    Tips for prospective students

    If doing online classes, be sure to stay current and not procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Amazing online classes and interactive instructors!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe walking across campus at night or anytime. The security will even escort you if you would like them too and will help you with car troubles!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety and all do different activates. It is a lot of fun and it is easy to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a small town school so if you come from a big city it might be a little of a shock. If you're looking for that small town feel, this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    I think all prices seem fair except for the meal plan. There really isn't a cheap option and I don't eat near as many meals as what I have to pay for. Some guys might, but as a girl I don't!

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a lot of activities that you can do. The river is also close so you can fish and hike, run, walk, bike, or whatever you would like. There is a movie theatre a town over, as well as a few stores.

    Food and Dining

    The offer a wide variety and do their best. It's no different than food in high school, it's cafeteria food nothing to fancy.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms. You met so many people from different backgrounds. The dorms are not mixed sex and I actually like it more than I thought I would. The dorms are amazing and the girls hall just was redone!

    Academic Rigor

    There are both challenging and easier classes. The teachers provide amazing help and are friendly. If you have any trouble they are willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared of rooming with someone you don't know, that's how I made my best friend! Participate in the activities that the activities board put on, they really are fun. Don't forget to get involved on campus too. They offer many fun clubs and organizations that will interest you.

    In three sentences

    Peru has a friendly and welcoming environment reminding you of home. The school offers many fun activities to keep you involved on campus too! You will make friends quick attending Peru State with its' small campus and have an amazing experience.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My friends and I like to walk to the cemetery because it is a beautiful view from up there. On the way to the cemetery there is a place called The Whispering Benches where ghosts are supposed to talk to you but I have failed to hear them :). Personally think it is the most gorgeous site at night to look down on campus and to see the milky way.

    What to do for fun

    They have numerous clubs and the activities board tries to keep us from being bored. They usually host free movie nights at the local theater. If you aren't involved in anything, you will get bored. I was quite bored the beginning of the semester because I had didn't have any homework and there weren't any activities to do. Having a car, or a friend with one, would be needed here so you could drive to nearby towns if you are bored or needed to shop.

    Food and Dining

    The food is similar to my high school's food. It's really great some days and other days it's meh. I don't mind the food too much, except the eggs, but they have brownies which makes up for it.

    Dorm Life

    I really love living in a dorm! I am near my friends or a hallway from my RA. They remolded the girls dorm in 2011 so it is all new. I have friends who live in the co-ed dorms who like it because of the kitchens.

    Academic Rigor

    So far my classes aren't too difficult but it depends on the level of difficulty, who is your teacher, and how many credits you are taking. I am taking gen eds right now so it isn't too hard but I have a friend who is taking 19 hours and is swamped.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take college credits in high schools because they will most likely transfer here which means you get to graduate earlier. Also, check out other schools and keep a notebook. After each visit write down points about each. I did that and I am really glad I did because I forget how big the rooms were or which college had free printing. Get involved in events as well! Looks good on a resume both for colleges and future employers.

    In three sentences

    Peru State has a very nice campus and the club that is in charge of student activities really try to get students involved. It is very one on one here because the class sizes are usually 12 or so students. Since it is in the middle of nowhere you do have to drive to other towns to grocery stores but the longest drive is 30 minutes.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do for fun around Peru unless you are involved in a lot of activities. There are surronding towns however that have a few things to do such as; going bowling, going to movies, and going out to eat. Peru is what you make of it, if you want it to be fun it will be but if you don't put in a little effort you are going to be bored out of your mind.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is okay at best most of the time, but on occasions the cooks can surprise you. There are always healthy food choices, and quite a bit of variety for a small school. I would recommend visiting the BOB INN as much as possible though becasue you will find much better food in their.

    Dorm Life

    Delzell might be one of the worst dorm rooms you could imagine but everybody in there tries to make the best of the situation. The students are nice and also friendly so that makes them better than expected. Also it is right on campus so you can easily walk to any classroom, the library or the dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be a bit challenging depending on your major. Some of the professors do a really good job of teaching you the material and then other professors don't even seem like they want to be their so it goes both ways. Be sure to remember to study for classes or you could be in for a pretty rough semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend class as much as possible. Find someone who you get along with to be your roommate. Remember, you only get out of your classes what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Peru State College is a great college to attend if you want to become a teacher. For males, Delzell, the only male dorm on campus, is a terrible place to live, it is basically a prison without air conditioning. The scenery is beautiful though and if you would like to get to know everybody on campus it would be pretty easy considering there is about 900 kids total.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and Organizations

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat. :)

    Dorm Life

    Guys not updated but fair and girls updated and good.

    Academic Rigor

    Tutors there if you need help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Deadlines come fast so do everything ASAP.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. Although small it makes it up for all the fun things to do on campus.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    athletes and social butterflies

    What to do for fun

    bunch of activities always happening!

    Food and Dining

    good effing food!

    In three sentences

    a great school

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The amount of activities and clubs to chose from is unbelievable! From Concerts, to free bowling night, to projecting a movie on the side of a building. There are endless activities. There isnt much to do in the actual town of Peru, but there are always numerous things going on at the Campus to chose from!

    Food and Dining

    the food is fantastic! The Bob Inn works great for a late night snack or food on the go!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is one of a kind! There are so many different opportunities to chose from as to activities and your dorm itself!

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at Peru State are beyond fabulous! The professor to student ration is 1:20 which is more of a high school setting. Its comfortable and not overwhelming one bit!

    Tips for prospective students

    Making friends will not be an issue at all! there is a lot of programs and clubs that allow you to make friends very easily! If there is a program you're interested in but is yet to be established, you can do so yourself!

    In three sentences

    Peru state is incredibly cozy, and a very tight necked college. The campus is small which results in more one on one time and attention between student and professors. Its easy and convenient to make friends and the quality of education is one of the highest in the nation!

  • 11/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like any college in the country, Peru State does have the college experience tied onto its history. Nonetheless, Campus Security is always on the move and even offers students rides to the dorms when it is cold, snowing, or late at night. I always know when I need to call Campus Security, they have always been my number one speed dial--they are that reliable!

    Greek Life

    Peru State does not have a Greek Life System.

    Clubs and Activities

    American Red Cross Club, Art Guild, Biology Club, Black Student Union (BSU), Bobcat Arnis Defense Club (BAD), Campus Cruscade for Christ (CRU), Campus Activities Board (CAB), Council for Exceptional Children, English Club/Writerâ??s Guild, Kappa Delta Pi, Lambda Alpha Epsilon, Music Educators National Conference (MENC), PSC Rotaract, Physical Education Activity Kinesiology Students (PEAKS), Peruâ??s Individual Leaders of Today (PILOT), Peru Theatre Company (PTC), Photography Club, Peru State Psychology Science Club, Psychology/Sociology/Criminal Justice Club, People Respecting Individual Differences and Equality (PRIDE), Peru State Education Association (PSEA), Phi Alpha Theta, Phi Beta Lambda, Resident Hall Association (RHA), Student Athletic Advisory Council, Student Sente, and more clubs pending!

    Great for these types of students

    Students from small towns and big cities are usually interested in Peru State. Nonetheless, any high school graduate, college transfer, or nontraditional student looking for an affordable, enriching education should consider Peru as their top choice. It is a great college to start somewhere new!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    â??Gooey Grubâ?? first night on campus for incoming freshmenâ??freshmen slide down the campusâ?? band hill on a Slipâ??nâ??Slide covered with smashed bananas, dish soap, and water from a hose. The campus has also over one hundred forty-seven years of history, but an addition to our campus was made between the years 2001 and 2002. The Little Red Schoolhouse, set to be torn down in 2001 as it was located in the junction of Highway 75 North and Highway 67 West, but former Peru State President Johnson along with many private donors funded this project and moved this monument from its original location to Peru State College. It was also a coincidental discovery to find out that the first teacher to teach in this particular one-room schoolhouse was a graduate of Peru State, which was Peru Normal School at the time. She was just fourteen at the time and taught children from ages five to nineteen.

    Bang for the buck

    In recent years, Peru State incorporated the â??One Rate, Any Stateâ?? declaration. This declaration encourages many students from any state to apply, enroll, and study at Peru State because whether you reside in or out of Nebraska, tuition and fees at this college remain the same. Thatâ??s over $20,000 in savings! Peru State offers numerous scholarshipsâ??from art to music, to a recommendation sent in from your high school counselorâ??to an ACT score of 25 or higher, there is a scholarship for anyone. Itâ??s hard to enter Peru without any financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of students like to take road trips to Wal-Mart and McDonaldâ??s in Nebraska City for fun. There are free movie nights, free bowling nights, and other innovative activities for students on and off campus provided by CAB (Campus Activities Board). Netflix date nights with friends are a popular choice.

    Food and Dining

    Students at Peru are offered a few different options in regards to meal plans. Incoming freshmen are required to have the unlimited meal plan and any other students may choose this option as well or opt for the fifteen meal plan. The food is separated into sections: grilled, homemade meals, the salad bar, the sandwich corner, the dessert table and the breakfast nook. Students can choose any food they want to eatâ??it is served Buffett style and tray less to be more environment friendly. A lot of students choose to work in Dining Services because it is a flexible job and is on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Peru State only selects the best fitting candidates to play the Residential Assistant and Resident Hall Mentor role(s). Roommate changes are available if you do not get along with your given roommates. Living with up to three roommates isnâ??t as hard as it sounds, especially if you all get along. You will have different schedules from your roommates, but it is important to be considerate of sleeping and homework schedules. Always tell your R.A. if you feel uncomfortable in your room or you have a question or concern. Peru State R.A.â??s have at least two weeks worth of extensive training, and take their job seriously! Quiet hours at Peru State are strictly enforced. Your roommates could turn out to be your best friends at Peru State because they are experiencing the same sort of college lifestyle as you are. Living with different people makes you a better-rounded person!

    Academic Rigor

    From day one as a student, you are responsible for the amount of credit hours you obtain as a student. To be considered a full-time student, the minimum credit load is twelve, but the maximum credit load without special permission from the Dean of your specified majorâ??s school is eighteen. Every class is different as far as a level of difficulty; it really just depends on the class and professor. Use your professor as a tool for successâ??that is why they always list their office hours in every syllabus. A lot of scholarships encourage and require students to do well in school and maintain a specific G.P.A., so this can cause some stress when it comes to classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are into an independent lifestyle, Peru State is the college for you. If you can make your own fun by establishing friendships and professional relationships with your professors, consider Peru State. Our football stadium, the Oak Bowl, was just recently renovated for $9 million, and is now ranked one of the top football stadiums used in the nation. The rededication ceremony to the Oak Bowl was held September 6th, 2014, right before the first football game of the 2014-2015 season. Class sizes range from 20:1 You are responsible for choosing your own classes but you do have an advisor to help you choose which college courses fit your four-year college career path. Peru State is the college that encourages students to get involved and get out of their comfort zones, because that is how you can grow and learn, especially outside of the classroom. There is always someone there to help students like myself succeedâ??professors, classmates, club sponsors, department coordinators, and even two licensed student counselors on campus. President Dan Hanson and First Lady Elaine Hanson are very involved with activities and events occurring on campus. They also like to get to know students throughout their college experience. The town of Peru is very supportive of the school and its student body.

    In three sentences

    Peru State is one of the few colleges that is easily defined as â??up front and personalâ?? in the state of Nebraska. It is not only the oldest college in Nebraska, but specializes in Education, Criminal Justice, Psychology, Business, Liberal Arts and Natural Sciences. Students return to Peru State each year because lots of student relationships are made here and the town, being a college town, is very supportive of the collegeâ??s efforts each year.