Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Piedmont Virginia Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/22/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Trying to save a couple bucks knocking out their core requirements before going on to 4-year universities. I highly recommend looking into guaranteed admission to public Virginia universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The parking lot will confuse the ever-living heck out of you. You've been warned. Also I'm not sure if I've ever seen anyone get a ticket for not having a parking pass, despite the fact that they're totally free and the numbers on it aren't assigned to you in any way. (About 2/3 of the cars I ever saw in the parking lot had the parking stickers)

    What to do for fun

    I never really got involved personally, but I know they had lots of theatre and club events. Not sure how popular they really were though. They also had free movie showings every so often.

    Food and Dining

    First Run Cafe and the Mermaid Express are the only sources of food aside from the vending machines. The food from First Run Cafe was pretty good overall (I only ever really got the tuna melt and their french fries, which are fabulous) and the coffees and pastries from Mermaid Express were good for a little snack between classes as well. There aren't very many places to sit during peak lunch hours, though. The small dining area is usually packed and even the benches lining the halls are always occupied.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes are at the same level, if not lower than, many of the classes I took in high school. Others will make you work for your grade (especially STEM, writing intensive courses, and higher level language classes). Overall, however, not difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a straight-A student looking at PVCC as a step-stool to transfer to a competitive 4 year university (UVA, VT, etc), do NOT get comfortable. You will fly through a good majority of your classes with easy A's. I made the mistake of getting lazy (dumbing myself down), and now a junior at UVA, I feel overwhelmed at the amount of work that I would have scoffed at as a senior in high school.

    In three sentences

    PVCC is a small, high-school like community college in size and academic rigor. It gets the job done with a blend of eccentric, top-notch, and actually terrible professors. Conveniently located with a very good administrative staff and decent amenities.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a gym, baseball field, tennis court, and basketball court available to students. People can often be seen running around the edges of the premises on nice and even rainy days. Charlottesville has lots of options to hang out and grab a bite to eat or you can walk through the open air mall.

    Food and Dining

    The First Run Caf�© offers a great selection of food at reasonable prices and the Mermaid Caf�© is a good spot to stop for coffee or a good drink.

    Dorm Life

    There is no living space provided by the school but there are plenty of apartments and places to live near the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The Classes are engaging and the teachers give plenty of homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    Relax and pay attention. Just because your in a community college does not mean you can be lazy. People expect more from you than they did in high school. Enjoy your classes and work hard.

    In three sentences

    A wide range of classes are offered. The teachers and staff are friendly and helpful. The environment is great for learning and is not overly stressful.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Charlottesville has a rich culture for dining, music, sports, and the arts! There truly is something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    There's a coffee stand that's pretty good, serving smoothies and teas as well as the normal coffee shop favorites. There's a separate food shop that has made to order grill items, sandwiches, salads, fresh fruit, snacks, and drinks. Numerous drink machines and snack machines are also located throughout campus.

    Academic Rigor

    PVCC is just as intense as a regular university! Appropriate time must be given to study for success in the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes fill quickly so register as soon as possible!

    In three sentences

    PVCC is very affordable and is a great option for working adults! The instructors and professors are well-known. The class sizes are not too large so you feel like you can get more personal attention.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Piedmont has great nursing programs, I have heard nothing but best comments and I have been complimented for my decision to attend PVCC and being accepted int their LPN program.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alot of cameras all around the school and police officers.

    What to do for fun

    There are many academic sports and activities on the campus. Anyone can try out for an academic sport, activity, or club. Everyone is welcome to join through out the season.

    Food and Dining

    There food is served in a cafeteria. The cafeteria is always open during school hours and anyone is welcome. If the cafeteria is full, there are also vending machines and a little coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There isnt on-campus dorm rooms, but there are apartments that are close to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are hard if you don't take notes and meet with teachers for additional help. It is important to meet with an advisor if you are having problems keeping up with the courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before classes start, take a tour around campus, get to know other people that can help you, be on time for class, and apply for financial aid. Applying for financial aid can help you pay off some of the classes. It is important to keep in mind of theses factors.

    In three sentences

    The classes at PVCC are flexible and are made to fit your schedule. The professors are kind and get involved in class discussions. They help you with homework, assignments, and problems keeping up with the rest of the class.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Charlottesville is a relatively safe city. The campus has the emergency blue lights that when activated automatically call 9-1-1. However, lighting could be better in the parking lots, the blue light stations are not always working, and I have never seen security patrolling after about 4pm. Bottom line - to me no matter where you are, who you are, what time of day or night, or even which gender - walking with someone else is a good idea for safety. I have never felt threatened on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I am quite happy with the quality of my education for the price. I have heard better things about the nurses from this program than I have heard regarding other 2 and 4 year schools.

    What to do for fun

    Charlottesville is a nice city with a growing number of activities including a new theater, concerts and shows at the JPJ arena, bowling, miniature golf, shopping, golf clubs, spas, health clubs and fitness centers, great restaurants, and night life. PVCC has a fitness center of it's own and many clubs and other activities to be come involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for a two year school, but definitely not as good as the four year school I attended. One dinning option and a beverage (coffees, smoothies, other coffee type drinks) are available. The food is not as healthy as I would prefer and sometimes a little on the greasy side, but snacks and fruits are also available.

    Dorm Life

    Being that this is a two year institution there are no dorms available. However, there are many apartment options in the Charlottesville area to choose from and great public transportation if needed.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only attended this two year school and one other four year school. Thus far I feel academic rigor has been about the same. I do appreciate the small class sizes that PVCC offers because it allows more time for group discussion, questions, and potential one-on-one relationships with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a difficult program to get into, but the prerequisites are great preparation for what is to follow. Take those classes seriously, do well, and learn as much as you can. Those are the classes that help determine if you get into the program and are a great stepping stone to everything that comes next.

    In three sentences

    The nursing program thus far has been rigorous, but I have learned a lot. I have heard many wonderful things about how prepared nurses are coming from the PVCC Program. I am glad I chose Piedmont and have enjoyed my time here so far because the professor have been, for the most part, top notch and there whenever you have questions.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security people seem to do a pretty good job.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek. I wouldn't know.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only attended one club, albeit rarely, as I stated above.

    Great for these types of students

    It is very good for Liberal Arts Students and students who want to get into other prestigious schools in the area without much effort.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some weird rock things, some of which are carved into pillars and stuff out front.

    Bang for the buck

    What does that even mean?

    What to do for fun

    The Christian Student Fellowship was good, although I usually had to do the homework I had spent the rest of the week procrastinating instead of attending meetings. There are many sports-like activities available, as well as other clubs and organizations. Personally, however, I did not usually find that much in the way of fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food was costly, so I did not eat there regularly. However, the food was extremely delicious, albeit extremely unhealthy. The pizza and french fries are especially popular, and are said by students to be the best pizza and french fries around.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is fairly light. The majority of people procrastinate all of their work until the last minuet, or later, and then tend to do fairly poorly at their subject as a direct result. It is about as rigorous as a high school, perhaps less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study when you can. Get your work done sooner rather than later, and then in your free time do something productive, like get a job. PVCC is definitely a waste of time if it is the only thing you are consuming that time with, especially if you do not plan to use it as a stepping stone to a bigger and better college.

    In three sentences

    It is a small community college, and though it is small, it is very good within that requirement. Most of the teachers are very committed to making sure the students excel in the subjects, and gain a deeper understanding of them than they did before taking the class. The students there are mostly high school drop outs and under-achievers.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very tasty food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Science

    In three sentences

    This community college has very nice teacher, a great atmosphere, and amazing people.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None at the moment

    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse

    Food and Dining

    Great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Very enthusiastic about academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Study.

    In three sentences

    Not only is PVCC a good school, it's a very convenient place for learning. Everything is in one area. The professors make sure that their students understand what they're being taught.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems pretty safe. I've had no problems!

    Great for these types of students

    Homeschoolers, High Schoolers who are dually enrolled, Graduates that want to begin their 1st two years before choosing a university.

    Bang for the buck

    The MOST bang for your buck, especially if you can find used books!

    What to do for fun

    Study! Enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery!

    Food and Dining

    There counter cafe is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Math is tough, but I absolutely love the Honor's English teacher. She's one of the best teachers I've ever had.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the Honors Program, if you qualify.

    In three sentences

    I am a dually enrolled HS Senior. PVCC provides a fantastic opportunity for me to complete some core classes at a much reduced rate. This is a terrific school!

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I honestly feel as if I am wasting my time and money coming to this community college. I have had much better experiences elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong classes, strong content, amazing teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Long walks, great teachers, no advisor help, know your future before you start!

    In three sentences

    I would rate PVCC a D+. The teachers are absolutely amazing and will do everything they can to help you succeed. The campus is beautiful but be prepared for long walks to and from class. The administration is another topic altogether, please do not expect any sympathy or help from- make sure you can get everything done on your own with no help!

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Group activities and there is a small gym that has a little of everything.

    Food and Dining

    Food options could be changed a little more but prices are good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for future students is to join groups whenever you can and make a lot of friends. They will really help you out in all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    At Piedmont Virginia Community College the teachers that i have met care about the students. A problem I find is that most of the teachers post everything on blackboard and it just becomes so hard to keep up. The parking at some point in time can become so bad and you have to walk a long way.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has its own security team and patrol cars. Although, I don't think there has every been anything that they have had to handle except maybe jumping a few cars here and there.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student activities wall is always full, you really must check it out!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who have limited funds and may have extracurricular activities holding them to a particular area (work, clubs, etc)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful. There are trails that I am able to run on between classes. There is a wonderful view of the mountains and tons of quiet places to sit. During finals week, the school is always handing out free ice cream, donuts, and other treats.

    Bang for the buck

    At a community college the prices are naturally less than at a four year institution. While completing my associates degree I have saved at least $20,000 by attending a community college rather than an in-state public university.

    What to do for fun

    Charlottesville offers a great deal of exciting and interesting things to do! History enthusiasts can enjoy Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Outdoorsy people have wonderful opportunities at the many well-know, family run orchards (Carter Mountain Orchard, Chiles Peach Orchard, etc) as well as an unlimited supply of hiking trails out their back door. The artsy people have a vast amount of creative shops, classes, and museums. Charlottesville is also a great place for those who love music, with a great variety of venues attracting all kinds of talent. Another wonderful thing about Charlottesville is the amazing food. There is nothing like Charlottesville food (Bodo's, Marco and Luca's, and the downtown mall in general).

    Food and Dining

    There is a great place to eat on campus serving all the basics! Although, downtown Charlottesville has lots to offer and is very close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of the staff splits their time between PVCC and the University of Virginia. I am very confident that I am getting a top notch education here.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips of prospective students at Piedmont Virginia Community College would be to work hard. Don't discount the school because it is a community college. Your success here can play a large role on your success elsewhere. Also, I would stress to take advantage of the resources that the school offers. That is something that took me three years to learn.

    In three sentences

    Piedmont Virginia Community College was the best thing that could have happened to me out of high school. The staff (teachers and otherwise) are beyond helpful in teaching me how to succeed here at Piedmont, in the future at a four year university, and beyond. The education here is incredible seeing that a lot of the staff splits their time between PVCC and the University of Virginia.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have security, however they may be the laziest individuals you will come into contact with.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs of all kinds for athletics to educational to just random interests such as the Fine Tobacco Club...random right?

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Frisbee is odly a big thing here. Its odd and I dont get the crazy addiction.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are great!! If you are interested in transferring or not you know you are getting a fair price along with a great education. Most people need not take out a loan because of how low the prices are. If you are interested in transferring, rest assured that going into your junior year, the year most people transfer, you will have no debt!

    What to do for fun

    There are always school activities such as casino night, that really make college fun! Casino night has everyone dress up in their best and the school gets transformed into a Vegas poker house! Due to the beautiful location, there is always something to do outside, such as hiking.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a cafe, and it is not great and the prices are worse... However it is smack in town and if you just hop in your car or the bus you ca find great places to eat!

    Dorm Life

    The school does not offer and residences

    Academic Rigor

    While it is a community college and many people feel it will be easier, the school doesn't mess around. The professors expect the best from you and don't even try to miss classes unless you want to be dropped without warning!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to an advisor before registering for classes. They will put you in the exact classes you need for whatever your goal may be and will make sure you don't waste your time with classes you may not need.

    In three sentences

    PVCC is all about helping students of all backgrounds get their chance to further their education. The school and its advisors have an amazing transfer program and do step by step work to make sure all requirements are being met. PVCC is the perfect place for second chances.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Ultimate Frisbee, A Capella, Masquers, etc. Piedmont has clubs for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic. The cost per credit hour is a lot lower than a four year university's.

    What to do for fun

    Piedmont has lots of areas to hang out with friends, plus there is a basketball court and a baseball diamond.

    Food and Dining

    Piedmont has an on campus vender called First Run Cafe. They serve hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, and a couple of soups. The food is solid, but nothing to brag about.

    Dorm Life

    Piedmont does not have any on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Piedmont is just as rigorous as any four year university. In order to pass the composition classes, you must have at least a B. Piedmont also has honors classes, which add an additional level of difficulty with a more intimate class setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class!! A lot of material is covered in one class so it is easy to get behind and be unprepared for the tests. Also, most classes have limits on unexcused absences before it begins to affect your GPA.

    In three sentences

    The Professors at Piedmont are top-notch and love to get to know their students. I have had eight professors and enjoyed them all. The great teachers in combination with services like the Writing, Testing, and Math Centers make Piedmont a great college.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list, I enjoyed the chess club.

    Great for these types of students

    Working or married students with families.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't forget to explore possible financial aid options.

    What to do for fun

    They are tons of clubs/organizations you can join. The gym is nice, the basketball court could use some help, but the baseball diamond is OK.

    Food and Dining

    Limited, but what they have is pretty good. I'm addicted to the coffee cart!

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your area of study, but overall I would advise you to take it seriously, be organized, attentive, pro-active, and studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make like a Boy Scout, Be Prepared.

    In three sentences

    A decent College with a variety of programs available for study. I will be completing the Diagnostic Medical Sonography program this spring. They were not quite prepared to launch this when they did and unfortunately the first class to graduate from this program had some significant obstacles to navigate. The biggest disappointment was the school's decision to withdraw their application for accreditation. Having said that, there are some excellent instructors at PVCC, I learned a great deal, and I do feel prepared to enter the work force in my chosen career field.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's really safe, no trouble or fights break out here.

    Greek Life

    There's none.

    Clubs and Activities

    ALL kinds of clubs, from SGA to Volunteer Club.

    Great for these types of students

    If prefer to go to a cheaper school for two years in a quiet setting than this school is for you. Also if you prefer to be in a small community college with knowledgeable teachers than I would recommend going here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely a school to go to if you want to save money. It's a better and a more smarter option to go with in the long run.

    What to do for fun

    The only things that are considered fun at PVCC, is meeting new people and hanging out in the student block center. You can join the clubs offered too if you consider that to be fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food at PVCC is okay, I recommend going out to eat for lunch on your break times.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, it's a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The overall academics at PVCC is really good, it's college level work, just like any 4-year institution. A lot of teachers like to assign homework every class, so you'll be handed a lot of work to do. However, sometime it feels like you're in high school again with some of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go to class and do the work that is assigned to you, and you'll go far academically. Study for ALL test and quizzes, and pay attention and you'll do fine. Try to make friends to; it helps.

    In three sentences

    Overall, PVCC is a good community college to go. The teachers are really nice once you get to know them for the most part. They're helpful and really knowledgeable in their field. However, PVCC is a really small school in close knitted community so it's not confusing to maneuver around. The class room sizes are small, on average there's probably about 25 students in the class. So basically, you're getting a good education for a cheap price for two years.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus staff and security are really helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    a big variety for all different types of people.

    Bang for the buck

    like i've said a lot of professors also teach at uva, so you're getting the same general quality of learning for a fraction of the price!

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty basic (in a sense that there are limited variations) but the quality is pretty amazing, and not to mention reasonably priced. the coffee isn't so great.

    Dorm Life

    it's a community college, so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the quality is great, and the teachers are willing to go that extra mile, yet only if youre willing to do it with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    reach out into the community, people are here of all walks of lifes, age, and background. many people here can help you put your life into perspective.

    In three sentences

    like any other community college, pvcc is extremely individualised. the teachers like to be one-on-one with you and go the extra step when you need help. a lot of the teachers also teach at uva so youre getting a great deal for the same top quality professors. piedmont is a community.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I have never had any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    Piedmont has a lot of clubs and activities for their students.

    What to do for fun

    Students at Piedmont choose to hang out and socialize for fun. You can also go to plays that PVCC provides.

    Food and Dining

    The food at PVCC is not good. I would rather eat the over priced snacks in the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would give prospective students is to take it slow, don't overload yourself with classes just to get done. It's better to take it slow and get good grades than to overload and ruin your GPA.

    In three sentences

    I'm currently a student a PVCC and I think its great. The faculty and staff are great and helpful. It is a typical community college.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PVCC works for students whether they know what they want or if they still need time to decide where they're going. Ages vary widely. Personalities vary widely. Everyone can find their own niche!

    Tips for prospective students

    As mentioned before, try to buy books online well before the semester starts. The required reading lists are available on the school bookstore's website. Also, engage the teachers whenever you have a lecture class. It will be more fun. Lastly, you will get the most out of your experience if you focus on what you are learning instead of a score on some record. I find that good grades will follow if you are interested in what you study. Limited high school curriculums are a thing of the past now!

    Bang for the buck

    High school seniors often dismiss community colleges as second-rate education when compared to more prestigious universities. I was a bit skeptical myself, to begin with. Finance, however, is the big kicker when it comes to choosing a school you are paying for with your own nickles and dimes. I am excited to say that the classes here have repeatedly proven themselves to be well worth the cost of tuition for the quality of instruction. The teachers are interested and enthusiastic about their subjects and are genuinely pleased to interact with the students. Textbooks are bit pricey, though, so it is important to look online ahead of time to avoid being forced to buy at the bookstore.

    Am enjoying being here

    The staff of PVCC provides excellent support for the students. There is a learning center available with free tutoring if students need extra help and the instructors offer their time generously whenever they can. They are real people who treat their students with respect and expect to receive it in turn. There are couches inside and a beautiful mountain-view veranda to relax with friends in between classes as well as a deli to pick up some lunch. It is smaller than most colleges (it's a ten to fifteen minute walk to get from the main building to the furthest building). It also lacks the dorm experience for financial reasons which some students like and others do not. Overall, the atmosphere is very relaxed. Everyone has their own goals to achieve, whether it's transferring or learning a job skill, so it reflects a wide range of the local community.

    Am learning a lot

    What you learn at PVCC depends a great deal on how much you invest yourself. In a science class that I took, for instance, much of the material was a recap of high school. It would have been easy to merely swallow the given information and get the class over with, but by probing the instructor to give more details I felt the class was much more enjoyable and educational. In other cases, I have explored topics such as psychology and painting in which I had no previous experience. As a result, I not only expand my repertoire of skills, but I feel much better prepared if I wish to pursue these topics at the next level.

  • 06/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any! Piedmont isn't a college for a certain type of student. That's what's wonderful about Piedmont: there are people of different types and different ages. There are teenagers from public schools, teenagers who are homeschooled, college-aged students, and adults who are returning to school while working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take Honors classes if you can- they're well worth the extra effort because of the great teachers and amazing students you'll meet. Don't take too many classes. Visit the Admissions and Advising Center to get curriculum sheets- that way, you can see what classes you need to be taking each semester. Join clubs. Shop around for your books to get the best prices. Go to Piedmont's free movie nights at the Dickinson Theater; they show some great ones like the King's Speech. Attend Piedmont's social events: most of the time, food is involved! Visit the Monticello Trail located 5 minutes from campus- it's beautiful and fairly private. One last word of advice: if you take Spanish 101, don't buy the textbook at the Piedmont bookstore. The one they sell you at Piedmont will come as loose papers with no binding; you'll have to place them a binder. Also, the pages rip easily. Buy an older version online that's an actual textbook with binding- some of my classmates did this and it was cheaper to buy the old textbook and a new, unused workbook through the Internet than the Spanish 101 package at the Piedmont bookstore, which costs over $200.

    Bang for the buck

    Piedmont offers very affordable tuition: for in-state students such as myself, each credit hour costs $110. Like the faculty at Piedmont say, in order for you to get the most for your tuition, you need to use the services Piedmont provides. For example, you must pay a technology fee as part of your tuition. Last semester, I spent countless hours at Piedmont's computer lab, so the technology fee was well worth it. Also, your tuition pays for free tutoring at the Learning Center. You can get tutoring in almost any subject, so this is a real deal! The only part of the Piedmont experience I am dissatisfied with, money-wise, is the cost of the books we must buy. Although Piedmont now offers rentals, which definitely decrease the cost, some textbooks are only offered as new. And even used textbooks are pricey. My suggestion is to get your rentals at the Piedmont bookstore but new textbooks through another source. Last semester I shopped around on the Internet for book rentals but couldn't find better prices than at the Piedmont bookstore. For books that you can't rent, I suggest shopping around on the Internet.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE being at Piedmont. From kindergarten to 12th grade, I was homeschooled. Beginning college was made easier by the numbers of current and previous homeschoolers attending Piedmont. I loved the teachers I had during the past year: they enjoyed what they taught and actively engaged their students by asking questions, group activities, solving problems in class, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    This past year, my freshman year, I took a lot of repeat classes- NOT developmental classes- or classes that I had taken during high school and had to take again because I had to fulfill requirements or couldn't test out of them. Thus, I didn't learn a lot of new information. Still, taking classes at Piedmont helped me develop researching skills.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Piedmont Virginia Community College is great for every type of person. The great thing about Piedmont is that it is so versatile. Piedmont offers something for everyone, whether young or old or on-campus or off-campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should get involved with Piedmont Virginia Community College's activities as soon as possible. Piedmont has so much to offer, and students should take advantage of this as soon as possible. The Student Government Association likes to have new students as part of the organization. Every semester Phi Theta Kappa offers membership to eligible students. The second week into classes each semester, the Student Activities department hosts Club Day, where each club can recruit new members - a perfect opportunity for new students to get involved and realize all Piedmont has to offer. Students should also meet with the wonderful counselors. Even if a student is doing fine, the counselors help the student manage all the loop-holes of college and transferring. By visiting a counselor, a student can save so much time and money.

    Bang for the buck

    This past year, I attended Piedmont Virginia Community College for free between financial aid and scholarships. The year before, it cost me about $2000 and that was taking around thirty credits the whole year (without financial aid). Piedmont provides a high-quality educational experience for extremely cheap. Not only do they work to keep the tuition low, they try to help every student receive financial assistance.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved being at Piedmont Virginia Community College. Everyone from teachers to counselors love the students and work to make it an enjoyable experience. For being a community college, Piedmont offers so much to do. There are over thirty clubs, as well as many more events for the students. The campus is beautiful and well taken care of. While Piedmont is focused on excellence, it is also focused on making the students' experience enjoyable. Piedmont also works to here the students needs and concerns. If I could stay at Piedmont Virginia Community College forever, I would.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors and teachers at Piedmont Virginia Community College are fantastic. They know their subjects thoroughly and enjoy teaching them. I have had a number of teachers who teach/taught at the University of Virginia. All the classes I took at Piedmont Virginia Community College where at or close to 4-year college level despite being a community college. Piedmont Virginia Community College is also committed to teaching students to be servant leaders through the vast number of clubs and organizations, including the Student Government Association, the Volunteer Club, and Phi Theta Kappa. At Piedmont Virginia Community College, I have not only learned how to integrate functions, but also how to be a leader.