Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pierpont Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is something that takes some time to adjust to. Pierpont/Fairmont Ra's do fun little activity that help students meet others. And if you have any problems telling an Ra and they will do what they can to fix it!

    In three sentences

    Pierpont is a nice school that doesn't require a lot of time to get through. They have very friendly staff, that answer your questions as fast as they can

    What to do for fun

    I hanging out with friends for fun there are fun little things are the school. We love taking midnight trips to McDonald's. And staying up late to watch movies or to tell each other gossip

    Food and Dining

    The food at are school is pretty decent and there is a wide variety of food to choice from. Staff in the kitchen are always happy to see you and are very friendly.

  • 05/23/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is safe, you just have to be moderately responsible about your things and pick after yourself. like everywhere there are people who will steal from you, so protect your belongings, dont run your mouth about what you have and dont be careless. as far as physical safety. its fairmont. safe if you dont go looking for trouble, and if you just keep your wits.

    Greek Life

    there are a few frats of campus tbi tke another one that i cant think of as well as sororities

    Great for these types of students

    types of students; i want to be away from home but not too far i want to relax and not be caught up like i would at someplace like wvu i am looking for something relatively affordable and that i can just go i like meeting new people, and having a variety of friends and class mates im independent and dont need people riding me about what i do and when

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    painting the bell in the center of campus, usually only tagged by frats and organizations but its a new color often every day to every couple of days.

    Bang for the buck

    for the price you pay, the school is pretty spot on. its very decent visually, as well as administratively and in other ways. this is the embodiment of the want a nice place to go thats not home but still depend on fafsa starter pack.

    What to do for fun

    fun is when you...fun is...kinda...sorta like... so basically fun at fairmont/ pierpont is in interaction. when i was staying on campus, large scale video game matches, lots of food hoarding, big trips to walmart, wendys, even around the surrounding area or chilling on campus was fun. fun is friends, its hanging out on lazy weekends and staying up all night. its the occasional party, to get your blood moving, fun is the memories!

    Food and Dining

    i wish i can put .5 stars in this category. the dining is 4-5 stars, great sized and accommodating space for students of all interest and type. balcony, window views of campus, large rows and comfy seats. the food is good, with alot of character and mainstays such as pizza, ice cream, and a morning omelet. the only lacking detail is sometimes things can get a bit routine, a problem fixed when the weather is warm with all types of special menues and programs. if the cafeteria isnt quite your style, theres a small goldmine in the shops that take your points from the meal card. be forewarned, you will run out rather quick of those points if you dont watch it, so just try to find a balance.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is the highlight of the evening. large communities of folks, watching college and pro sports, lots of movies and streaming, heated video game sessions, and also plenty of warm atmosphere to study, talk, meet, and the occasional meetings from resident life which sometimes include their own activities. this may not be a party school, or any high caliber frat location, but people do get together. when i attended everyone knew each-other by name or face and all interacted, protected and helped each-other.

    Academic Rigor

    course work is not very inherently difficult on its own. the trick is you have to be on task, its way easy to fall behind because its not a "princeton" and isn't pretending to be. the rigor is good enough to bring reward to your handwork, that being said if you do not work hard there isn't any free passes, or throwaways.

    Tips for prospective students

    know why you are coming to this particular school before you step foot here. what makes pierpont/ fairmont special in your mind? be independent, nobody here will be pressing about things you need to do, thats where you come in. be honest, confident, and about your work and you will be a shining star.

    In three sentences

    its a very independent atmosphere, lots of people from outside fairmont, and a good number of first time west virginia folks from the dc metro area. everything you see is exactly what you will get, with few surprises. the communities on campus are essentially the life blood, find your spot rather you are a stay around home type, club type, frat or other, there is usually a few groups to accommodate your style.

  • 01/09/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the falcon center and library that is all.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is a really great school to go to.

    In three sentences

    Its the most fun I've had in school in a long time. the teachers are awesome and i get to have freedom.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great. It's a well lit campus and security is always somewhere close.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can go to sports games or join a sorority.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the greatest. It's always typical cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't bad. Internet and cable and decent hours.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to push yourself and make yourself get the grades you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with school work because professors aren't going to check in with you or force you to go to class.

    In three sentences

    Pierpont is not a very one on one school & will not check in on students. They seem to change academic advisers all the time. It's not a very good college but it's smaller and more affordable.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very affordable, and you won't find a better bang for your buck in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Work out in the Falcon Center or hang out in the library.

    Food and Dining

    Food is yummy :)

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are adequately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class, and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Pierpont has a great Criminal Justice program. Teachers are very friendly and helpful. Scheduling classes and getting started is very easy.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our share of situations but I honestly think the worst I've heard of lately has been an attempted burglary and some vandalism. We don't have stuff like stabbings, shootings or rapes. We have college/campus security and the city & state police are not far from campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you have an interest, there is a club for you. We have everything from various on-campus bible studies to a Gay and Lesbian Student support group

    Great for these types of students

    Great for small town students or any student who wants a small town atmosphere

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bell that has been on campus for several years and the sororities & fraternities take turns painting and decorating the bell to express school spirit. It is an old oil barge bell called the Victory Bell and the City of Fairmont presented it to Fairmont State College in 1940.

    Bang for the buck

    Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College is perfect for me. They are so flexible with classes by offering day, evening, night and weekend classes, as well as on-line courses. The staff are wonderful. The atmosphere is awesome. It's a great place to learn and grow!!

    What to do for fun

    The school is not far from the interstate; only 15-20 minutes from either Morgantown or Clarksburg so there is lots to do!! Within Fairmont you have shopping, movies, close to waterway with boating and jet skiing, and the Three Rivers Festival. In Clarksburg you have the Italian Heritage Festival, shopping, movies, specialty shops, dining, dancing, clubs/bars. In Morgantown there are the same things as well as WVU Football/Basketball, etc; concerts; plays & art.

    Food and Dining

    There is a full cafeteria in the student (Falcon) center on the third floor. There is also a fast food establishment on the second floor, as well as an ice cream parlor. We also have (on the second floor of the student center) a small convenience type store called The Nickel. There you can find hot and ready, quick-grab food items for breakfast, lunch and dinner; a variety of drinks (soda, water, milk, juice); snack foods; and made to order food items. There are also restaurants, pizza places, and student cafes/bars close by.

    Dorm Life

    I have always lived off campus so I really can't be a good judge of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are some professors that make things pretty easy, a large majority of them try to challenge the students, make them learn and genuinely care about the success of the students. They don't just want you to pass the class, they also want you to succeed!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Merely researching the school on line is not enough. You have to visit the campus and experience the down to earth atmosphere and genuine compassion of fellow students and campus staff to get the full picture.

    In three sentences

    Very happy with the school, staff, and opportunity here!! It's close to home, the campus is a close-knit atmosphere, and classes are relatively small. You are able to be a person with a name and get help from professors when you need it!!

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The class i took was challenging but it was fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class its fun and you never know who you will meet.

  • 04/24/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For those students who are worn out on high school but still want to go to college this is definitely the choice for you! It's small and very personal.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very inexpensive school.