Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a really safe place. Guards at every entrance.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student clubs are really active, lots of activities. Every department has various clubs and associations. They also make from 2-4 activities for all the students at the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They have a main cafeteria and a couple of other places to eat around the campus. And the variety of food is great.

    Dorm Life

    I actually don't personally know, I live at travel distance. But I have heard that is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The school offers a range of great programs. The science department is awesome. All the classes that I have taken have been worth it, even those extra classes you have to take but didn't want to take. The professors are A+, they are really helpful, and always available on office hours.

    In three sentences

    Great academic programs. Its actually much better than I expected!

  • 01/11/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The university has an area called the student center that is located in the center of the accessible college for all students, beyond the playroom is located, the game room has billiards, board games, computers and other distractions. They also have a platform where they perform different musical activities, works, leading artists, talent at the university or outside .It active in the different times of the year and holidays. The university has recreates outdoor areas and gardens where you can chat or share with your classmates study.

    Food and Dining

    The food is varied, for all tastes, healthy food and fast food. Variety of salads, fruits, pizza, sandwiches .The food cooking the same day under strict rules hygiene is prepared, sold at good prices, also have drink and snack machines .If the student has a specific diet or illness, can notify so you are preparing your food separate from others and want every day. The dining menu is a comfortable, clean and with several, has tablesâ?? area, is also closed to keep out insects to the area of food, has a buffet. It is located within the university in the rest area, accessible to all students and employees have microwaves if you want to take food from your home can be heated in them .And like all areas of the university has rules and standards of conduct within this area.

    Dorm Life

    Life at the university, the area of hosting the bedrooms are organized, clean and classified by gender, girls on one side and boys on the other side .are safe and have rules to follow to permanence gay in them, also schedules remain there. Usually the nuns are in charge of discipline these accommodations, visits are restricted in the area of the bedrooms, in a minimum room are two people. The building that is located near the university, are safe and in an area illuminated. Are pretty close to supermarkets and shopping and areas of study. They have allowed discrimination between students living in the lodge.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is very good, classes are prepared diligently and time requires to that students learn in a comfortable way and understand as fast possible. Are evaluating students through exams, remains in envied their academic scores for development. New studentâ??s exams are conducted to analyze their learning abilities, he s offer specialist tutoring, and teachers are trained, through seminars for offer can a better learner the student. Students not offer degree or scores that have to keep within this institution to put more effort into their studies are penalized. They also reward or recognize their efforts to students who have maintained good scores.

    Tips for prospective students

    1-My biggest advice is to read about this university, if appropriate for what you want to study, the benefits you can get it and how you can get it and how you can get out of them. Find a counselor that offers information on what you will be studying there and if the university offers this race. If you play sports or have a disability, find information about benefits, grants and other economic opportunities that the university has for these students. If foreign student, my advice would visit first university before being admitted to see the area in which it is located, visit the lodges inside and outside the university to see which is right for you and on budget looking for a place to stay private. If will know the people with whom you are sharing the room and how safe you are in. And last but not least, make the right decision before starting their studies, so that you can easily achieve your diploma or degree and they can help with your future goals, be a good student and if you have questions immediately find whoever eastern correctly.

    In three sentences

    1-I would like give a ten points, because I learned all or most of what I need for my studies and to prepare myself as a professional for the job. Teachers who are trained and prepared are enough to help you get your degree. It is a great university with good opportunities for study and academic progress. 2-Help students to orient career he decided to study, preparing it brings the time it may take to get this title and employment opportunities that can then get to complete their studies. Offer scholarships financial aid, help the disable student and the university is prepared to receive these students with disabilities. 3-At this universityâ??s student rights are respected, there is no discrimination by race, gender and social guidance, if any student or teacher is penalized, it is a safe to study and buildings are modern or well built, rather lounges are spacious, comfortable and safe environment.

  • 07/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent! There are security guards at every entrance

    Clubs and Activities

    Many students organizations, gym, and differents activities.

    What to do for fun

    They do various activities throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    Nice!!

    Dorm Life

    I live close, so I do not use.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent University!!

    In three sentences

    It is a complete university with many options. Attending the academic and personal area of the students. The staff is competent and make easy every process.

  • 07/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not had a chance to eat there, but have a coffee shop and a variety of foods. Which I infer that it is very very good.

    Dorm Life

    I will not stay in college, but have a hostel for girls and one for boys. It is seen that is comfortable, spacious and good quality. It also has an extraordinary surveillance and are very strict schedules.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken classes there, but I am eager to begin. Since I'm going to study my passion and I really want to learn and educate. To also become a professional future.

  • 06/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You need make friends. When you study a program like Bachelors in Nursing, your classmates are your family, so with him you pass so much time to study and have fun too.

    Dorm Life

    Is super the stay in the university. Some people are scared because they think that we always are talking about God, Christ, or Religion, but its not like this. You make friends in the residency. You can wake up at 7:30 if the class is at 8 (or more late), and you always be not late. Is an excellent place.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to study for every class, special if you're a nursing student. The professor is very comprehensive, but besides this, always you need study. And beside that be an excellent university, the cost of life and study are a little expensive, so you maybe need a job, or a scholarship.

    In three sentences

    The Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico is an excellent university. Have a passive and happy environment, and a wonderful place to study. Finally, the classes are excellent, same to the faculty.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Usually the students go out the Thursday. They go for some clubs around. Have a cinema 5 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Have a cafeteria in the university. But if you don't want to eat inside the college it's have many restaurants and fast foods around.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know how is the dorm life because I live with my grandmother and travel daily for college.

    Academic Rigor

    The students need to have 3.00 to continue in the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involve in all the clubs and activities. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    This university is a great place to have the opportunity to learn. Have greats, advance and adequate classrooms. Is a place where graduates becomes well prepared professionals.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing they are cops in every entrance watching and in the parking.

    Greek Life

    I consider my self a Greek so my life is pretty occupied with things of the university.

    What to do for fun

    They are a lots of groups and a lot of activitis that they do like for sports, dance etc the are always planning things so they sould help us.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They are a little plac that we called Building Coca cola becouse is red and they served diferents food and taste really good.

    Dorm Life

    I really not know the dorm life because is really hard to get in but I heard that is really good and the are very discipline in the apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    I will give 6 stars if that possible because they deserve them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for them are to fight for what major you want no matter what is all that I can say.

    In three sentences

    Pontifical Catholic University Of Puerto Rico is a great place to study. You feel peace and calm everytime you walk through the gates and in to the classroom. The service and the teacher are very discipline..

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gym Swim Dance team Zumba Action

    Food and Dining

    Have cafeterias with different meals.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not a user of the dorms in college but I know from my college partners that it's a good idea but they have rules that they have to comply.

    Academic Rigor

    They're looking that the students have excellent grades, but are always to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help from professionals and teachers from the beginning.

    In three sentences

    In my college, the teachers are always available for some help. Everybody is full of kindness. They support your decisions.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    College have many social activities during the semesters. Also have a choir, dance team and a music band. At college we have recitals, plays and other activities. Not far from college, at Ponce Downtown, we have many places to have good moments with peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have to be aware of due dates.

    In three sentences

    Have a nice an suitable environment for students. Provide students high quality courses and most of the professors are student oriented. The administrative personnel treatment for students is personal and gentle.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has an excellent safety equipment, and security guards every hour are ensuring the wellbeing and safety of students.

    What to do for fun

    To have fun, monthly the college perform a series of activities that are pleasing to the young people. They bring entertainment of music, art galleries, games, and more.

    Food and Dining

    Currently has several pavilions with a variety of food styles that are tasty and healthy most of them at a good price.

    Dorm Life

    Right now I do not use the service dorms, because I live with my parents at 30 minutes from the university. My classmates are using it and have told me that it is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    It is strong because the purpose of them is to learn to work under pressure and in a competitive environment, by the time you graduate and you face this kind of challenge can be victorious and by knowing how to manage pressure you can be able to provide excellent ideas.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think the most important is to be clear what are your goals, what is your north, and based on that plan ahead and focus on achieving it. Be respectful, listen to your teachers and be diligent. And finally, enjoy this experience, college life, which will mark you for your entire life.

    In three sentences

    For me, my university has been a great blessing. It's a good environment to study and have high class teachers, willing to teach and to bring up the best of you. I love knowing that I am in a place that challenges me but that is also preparing me not only to face the challenges that you are in the business world today day, but also to contribute ideas on vanguard that not only impacts corporate level but also positively to the social level.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I listen music,read books and sometimes, I write poems.

    In three sentences

    The Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico is a proffesional university. Also,a great one for the careers you want to study. And a great invertion.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    listen to music, surf the Internet, movies

    Food and Dining

    Creole food

    Tips for prospective students

    Good preparation

    In three sentences

    The Pontifical Catholic University has a good preparation in their education. In my studies in psychology have had a very good experience and good preparation. I want to continue my doctoral studies in this institution.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    La universidad realiza constantemente actividades educativas y entretenidas para los estudiantes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Mi consejo para los proximos estudiantes es que luchen por lograr todas sus metas pero que siempre recuerden que no se trata de llegar primero, sino de llegar y haber aprendido y disfrutado el camino.

    In three sentences

    Es una excelente universidad. Los profesores y todo el personal administrativo siempre buscan la manera de ayudar a los estudiantes y ademas de ser muy competente academicamente, es una institucion donde predomina el respeto y los buenos valores.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is good. You can see security guards in the entrances of the university, in the main offices and around campus. Although their are many guards you have to be careful if you are going to study in the night because the university gets very solitary.

    Greek Life

    There is a very active Greek life. You have many sororities, fraternities you can join and some are coed. They have initiation mainly in the summer or January(over winter break).

    Clubs and Activities

    They are a big variety of clubs. Some clubs I can mention: The English Student Association, The Criminology Association, The French Association, Political Science Association, Pre-med club, Biology Association and many many more. Also they are many sports team, a dance team and a cheer-leading team. Tuesdays and Thursday in the universal hour, that when every student has no classes and the association and clubs have their reunions and activities, the university or the associations organize different activities in the student's center.

    Bang for the buck

    The university offers a study and work program. They will place you in an office or in the library. Some are placed depending of their major and future plans. For example if you are planning to attend law school you can be working in the law school of the university and in the library of the law school. This study and work program is depending of your financial aid necessity.

    What to do for fun

    For fun inside the campus you have a variety of association you can join or just hang out with your friends in the various spots. Outside campus you can go to the plaza(the center of the town), movies, shopping mall, and bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    They university has four different cafeterias. The main one is located in the student's center where you will find typical Puerto Rican food like rice and beans. The other cafeterias are located in the different academic buildings, and they offer mainly sandwiches, pastries and breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a college dorm, but I know a little about the dorm life in the university. They have a curfew and the residents are not coed. They are very close to the buildings were you are going to take your classes especially if you are a science or business major.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very good. You will find a variety of professors. Every professor has his style some are very demanding, others not so much; nevertheless, you should maintain good grades and a good academic performance because later you can be eligible for different scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application form done early, so you can apply for the different institutional scholarships. Explore all the academic programs because they offer a variety of combine programs with different medicine ad pharmacy schools. Also you can combine a bachelor's degree and a master's degree.

    In three sentences

    A very good university with excellent academics programs. The university has a variety of associations and clubs, so you can unite and meet people with similar interests. Also it has a great campus, very beautiful and in a centric location.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a little too big for campus security. Few guards giving rounds.

    Clubs and Activities

    The club of the history department makes trips to Europe every year. The French club activities in the year ago There are a variety of clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to medical school

    Bang for the buck

    Very little expensive for what they offer. Departments such as arts and music, lack of materials and space. The library needs urgent improvement as filtered water every time it rains. The desks in classrooms, are written, and sometimes broken air conditioning does not work sometimes. Rows to serve in the offices are huge and few people attending. Many mosquitoes around. In the days of rain, almost always suspended classes that flooded almost the entire campus.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. The game room is small for the number of students. Most of the machines are damaged. In the green areas one can sit and talk with colleagues. A few times a year, the activities university ago, inviting bands and artisans.

    Food and Dining

    The university has a cafeteria where they make a good breakfast to choose and lunch. The food is good, prices a bit high ls for students. Vending machines have most of the buildings in order to eat snacks. There are snacks kiosks in different departments.

    Dorm Life

    More or less, although I do not use their facilities, I've visited.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very academically rigorous. The classes provide enough material, but some teachers are not very organized and that makes the information or part of it is lost.

    Tips for prospective students

    In any university, not only in this, each student must also explore your department to be sure it is equipped and ready to welcome you as a student. Walk around the campus, visit the library which is a essential tool throughout your career as a student. Know your college, explores and makes a decision.

    In three sentences

    It has a wide field with lots of nature which makes it look that care about the environment. They have some very good teachers who care and help the students but other are awful. My experience at university has been more good than bad, but, as with everything, there are always things to improve.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have guards every where and their always checking everything on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's super fun and you will never get bored.

    What to do for fun

    Get involve in everything you can there's always something fun to do in college and is all amazing.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria makes a delicious food but I'm more of a home meal, I don't change that for anything but still the food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not so sure about the dorm life but I heard from friends that is fun and very interesting is a new experience.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to give a 100% in every course, but once you start it jus gets better and better

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure what you want to do and use he resources that the University has to offer. Get involve in extracurricular activities, study hard, but most of all enjoy your stay, because College is the most amazing experience in the world.

    In three sentences

    The Catholic University is a solid institution that provide students with the necessary tools to succeed on the professional world. The students learn while they develop moral values. The professors don't only help you to earn a degree, they also care about students and motivate them to continue graduated studies

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Talk with the guys

    Food and Dining

    It was good

    Dorm Life

    I wasn't never in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Made an effort

    In three sentences

    Great facilities Professionalism Great ambient

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team are very helpful and they keep the campus safe from any harm. In times if there's an emergency situation such as an student needing medical treatment they offer the student a ride to the nearest hospital.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently a member in the J-Club (Japanese club). In our club we spread the Japanese influence to all those students that are fascinate with the culture. We manage to go to Japan on 2010 and it was totte mo tanoshi desu! (It means very fun) and we are planning on going again next year.

    What to do for fun

    The is a variety of clubs that you can join such as the France language club, Poetry group, choir, band, Theater, J-Club (japanese club). In the sports area they have basketball, softball, tennis, Judo, and more.

    Food and Dining

    There are many locations for eating inside the campus as outside as well. Inside the campus are 4 dining places one is located at the very center of the campus, there's another in the administration study department area, another one by science studies building and the other one is for law students.

    Dorm Life

    Not the bigger dorms but, they carry everything that is essential for living such as water service and electricity. Some have laundry service but I think is extra to the dorm fee.

    Academic Rigor

    Each department have there own way of teaching. According to each subject the right professor looks for dynamic ways to teach it. They create a fun and educational environment for the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The are all kinds of help in the university, they even have groups for those interest on making internships or group travels. They're very proud of there athletics so sports is one of there strong suits. They teach a variety of languages such as french, italian, japanese, chinese mandarin and more.

    In three sentences

    The campus is really vast and has multiple places for studying purpose and also for fun. The facilities are in great shape and they're great equipped. Each department have great professors that are wiling to help whenever is needed.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    have a lot of university cops

    Clubs and Activities

    clubs are really nice we know a lot of students in this activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    when some people die they take the coffin to the university and offer a religious service

    Bang for the buck

    the college are very expensive and don't have many aid and scholarships

    What to do for fun

    we have different educational and social organization that are really good

    Food and Dining

    the food is expensive

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in university but I have a friend who lives there and she does not like it

    Academic Rigor

    if you study and do your works the class are easy and funny

    Tips for prospective students

    Be part of all the extracurricular programs. The professor are really nice, tries to know them outside the classroom

    In three sentences

    This college have an excellent atmosphere of study. The administrative and educational personnel are excellent. The facility are appropriate.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On tuesdays their is always an entertaaiing activity for the students at the uiveersal hour. Where all students have no class.

    Dorm Life

    I am unfamiliar with dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not the most difficult university if you prepare yourself well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and review everyday so you don't fall behind in your classes.

    In three sentences

    A highly acknowledged university. It has a very comfortable environment. It is completely professional in all aspects.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    CHRISTIANS, RESPONSABLE AND FUTURE PROFESSIONALS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE CATHOLIC AND TEOLOGY CLASESS

    What to do for fun

    COME TO THE GONZALEZ PATO STUDENTS CENTER AND FOR THE CAMPUS WITH OTHERS STUDENTS AND SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCES AND MAKE FRIENDS.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. ITS A GOOD ELECTION 2. THE EDUCATION HERE IS NOT ONLY ACADEMIC, AT THE SAME TIME IS SPIRITUAL AND ONE OF THE BEST.

    In three sentences

    IS A GOOD UNIVERSITY, WITH GREAT CHRISTIAN VALUES, THAT PROVIDES TO THE STUDENTS THE ACADEMIC AND SPIRITUAL PREPARATION FOR THE FUTURES PROFESSONALS OF PUERTO RICO. I SELECTED THIS UNIVERSITY FOR THE DIFFERENT STUDENTS THAT COME FROM OTHER CULRTURES AND FOR THE SPIRITUAL PREPARATION THAT THE PROFESSORS GIVE FOR THE STUDENTS.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL type of students would love this university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to be amazed!

    Bang for the buck

    For students like me, with economical limitations it can be a little bit too much; but its worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is big and eco-friendly. You'll have no problem finding your perfect spot.

  • 06/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will always receive a continuous education from the best professors that will make you not only understand the high demands of your profession, but you will also enjoy furthering your education in Grad School.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've been here since I graduated from High School.