Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Purdue University-North Central Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is excellent!

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities ):

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from and they are smaller so you are able to step up and take leadership!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students serious about college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pride week is the best! Free food, games, and fun!

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth it. I always wanted to go away to school and the money was just not worth it. So, I would give it a shot!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, get involved with events, make friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, I wish they had more options but it's decent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I heard they're nice. Very expensive though.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically we are challenged. I am a nursing major and my studies are very difficult. But, the professors are helpful and try their best to get us through.

    Tips for prospective students

    I came here because it was cheaper. It's only about $3,000-4,000 per semester and your degree will say Purdue University. The downside is you don't get the college experience. But you definitely are able to get involved and focus on school.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful campus full of artwork and the grounds are kept really well. We have many different ways to get involved through clubs and events. Also, the education provided is excellent and not too expensive!

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I'm giving you my perspective.

    In three sentences

    Purdue North Central is a college mostly based around engineering and communications. PNC's perks are that it's a small campus, the teachers are very helpful, and there are lots of activities set up during the school year.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Purdue North Central is one of the safest campuses I have ever been on.

    Greek Life

    I have not heard of any Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    While at PNC I was involved in the Social Work Club and ASL club.

    Great for these types of students

    Purdue North Central is the type of school that is for anyone really. It is best suitable for those that want to stay at home and perhaps save money and still be able to work as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Each semester we have a Purdue Pride Week. I look forward to it every semester. It is amazing time to get involve and help out.

    Bang for the buck

    Purdue North Central is an amazing school where you are truly getting your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like to help out in the community and hang out with family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Purdue is amazing. It is a lot different then other schools. The staff in the cafeteria are very nice and funny people to interact with.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. However I do have numerous friends that live in the apartments across from Purdue and they love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor comes from believing in yourself, working hard both as an individual and in a group. It also involves knowing there are people on campus who not only want to help but also see students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus life.

    In three sentences

    Purdue North Central is a place that provides a quality education not far from home. Purdue North Central offers in individualism help if needed. Purdue North Centrally is a campus that is constantly growing in both education and campus life.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs. S.T.A.N.D. Is a nursing club designed by PNC to help guide nursing students into Leadership roles by offering opportunities outside campus for social communication.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball courts, tennis courts, pingpong table, gym, walking path

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is good food and lots of seating.

    Dorm Life

    PNC is not a dorm Campus, but apartments are nearby to accommodate needs.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program is intense. It takes motivation, Concentration, and Willpower to complete the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor that understands your view and goal. Take one step at a time. Try to take some moments to yourself especially during the last month of terms.

    In three sentences

    Campus offers great opportunities for career choices. Location is easy to find. Teachers are very personable and able to answer questions.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good.

    Greek Life

    ? not really

    Clubs and Activities

    Nice variety

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This college is just a close to home college for me so on campus I just go to class and study. It is around some neat things like the Lighthouse mall though.

    Food and Dining

    I do not like to eat on campus, I would much rather bring my lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I guess if you live in one of the apartments there they are nice I have only been in one once.

    Academic Rigor

    I think some classes can be difficult but most are pretty simple to understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have enough time to spend and study. Also make sure you have internet access all the time because a lot of teachers use online programs.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small in size, so you get can talk to teachers easier. The campus is easy to figure out. I don't like that some teachers did not go to school for teaching college and some of these teachers don't have very good teaching skills.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I have traveled to Greece twice already with my father and enjoy learning about my family history and also the history of Greece on a broader level. It is an experience that will live with me forever.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn and earn a degree without a lot of spare time outside of school courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not have a lot of time for extra curricular activities at school due to working a full time job.

    What to do for fun

    Hunt, Fish, and hang with friends. And work, work, work.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay near or on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors have many positions in the college and may make it difficult to cover all their class times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your course studies are available to you in a way that you can also work a job to help with commute expenses. I am able to work full time and go to school full time with only 3 long days of classes.

    In three sentences

    Campus is convenient because it is a smaller campus. Lots of study areas for students. Class schedules are somewhat easy to accomidate full time student in 2 to 3 days. Parking can be difficult at times but that comes with the territory.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secure campus, feel very safe

    Greek Life

    unsure at this time

    Clubs and Activities

    Different clubs to join. Basketball is an option and I heard of the school planning to bring soccer.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live nearby, and do not plan on going away, you can still receive a great education with a purdue diploma

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none so far

    Bang for the buck

    Well priced,

    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs, I have not participated in one, but a friend is in the sword club and enjoys it.

    Food and Dining

    Have not ate on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Go early to walk the grounds, and distinguish the different buildings. Also check out the book store early.

    In three sentences

    Purdue university-North Central is an expanding college on its own grounds, making it an easy transition from high school to college. The grounds are emaculate.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have 4 beautiful children and an amazing husband. We spend all our free time together.

    Food and Dining

    off campus

    Dorm Life

    off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    Not to be intimidated and don't be afraid to ask for help! They off all sorts of extra help for math, science, etc...

    In three sentences

    I think they have a wonderful selection of courses. I enjoy the atmosphere. They made returning back to school easy!

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police unit, alarms, fire systems, yeah...normal safe small campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of them and very easy to create the clubs that are not available yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students, professional/working parents, continuing education students, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Great way to get a quality degree without paying the large university or large city costs!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, play the fantastic disc golf course, enjoy the outdoor art exhibits or hang in the tech lab with the geek squad and nerd out! Or you can go to the lounges where there are pool, ping pong, video games, etc. available.

    Food and Dining

    Low cost meals in a comfy cafeteria setting, with decent healthy options like salad bars, pre-made fruit and veggie trays, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent it is a commuter campus, however there are a bunch of nice apartments practically across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    The specific courses demand study, organization, time management, and concentrated knowledge tested on many levels (understanding, memorization, applied knowledge, etc.)

    Tips for prospective students

    You must ask questions in order find the advisers, academics, and mentors that will make the experience valuable and inexpensive.

    In three sentences

    A commuter campus focused on career oriented Majors. Great for young parents, returning students, and working class people aspiring to finish/undertake higher education. A smaller quiet campus useful to those who take advantage of its' competent faculty and staff.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police patrol the parking lots constantly. There is plenty of lighting and openness. I am there after dark most of the time and have never felt afraid or unsafe. Usually the campus police car is parked in the parking lot watching the students as they leave late a night.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for the traditional college student, but not for the non-traditional. Most clubs and events happen during the day.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Students get a great education for the money. I like it because my diploma will read Purdue University... which means a lot. The university name is well known and respected.

    What to do for fun

    The university owns over 200 acres, much of which is open lawn space. There is plenty of room to throw a ball or frisbee. There is a game room with ping-pong tables and a recreation room to work out. The university recently put up a disc golf course on campus for anyone to use.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria is open into the evening which is great for us non-traditional students that come straight from work. They offer a variety of foods. The coffee house also offers a nice selection of drinks (just like those popular chain coffee houses).

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very knowledgeable in their subjects and will challenge you to think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework! The one thing that I have found helps me tremendously is to keep up with all homework. Homework points are the easy points to earn.

    In three sentences

    Purdue University North Central Campus offers a large variety of Bachelor's and Associates Degrees for a small campus. What I like about the smaller campus is the smaller class sizes that give more one - on - one time between instructors and students. What this campus lacks is the ability for the non-traditional working student to complete their degree within a desirable amount of time because the required classes may only be offered during the day.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent. There are lights all over campus so it is never dark and there are police call stations located around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who need to go to college but still want to be able to live at home. Students who are older or have families also attend this school because its close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    Well rounded and affordable school.

    In three sentences

    PNC is a small, yet well rounded school. The teachers strive in helping you reach your goal and they are very encouraging.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food for being a school cafeteria. No major food chains, with the exception of Seattle Coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus. There is off campus living, with University Apartment complexes across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major and the professors teaching. Get to know your professors, when you can. If you are nice to them, usually they will go out of their way to help you get where you need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a look at the plan of study for your major before starting, it's nice to know where you should be headed when you go to your advisor.

    In three sentences

    PNC has a great campus! There are lots of student clubs and organizations, as well as sports. Most of the professors are wonderful!

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an exceptionally safe campus. Safety officers routinely travel the entire campus and are easily found if ever a reason arises.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs & organizations...and the campus is the site for regular events and activities that will appeal to most students.

    Great for these types of students

    PNC is exceptional for non-traditional students. The average age of students there is over 22, and most of the students have jobs during the entire time they are students here. PNC offers a plethora of evening courses...and 101 classes are frequently offered at venues in the communities from which many students come: LaPorte, Michigan City, Valpo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've attended courses at PNC three times. My first endeavor there, as a nursing student in the early 1970's, included a wonderful evening at Cornstalk - a celebration of music and food...etc...modeled after the world-famous Woodstock event. We called our party 'Cornstalk' because PNC is built on land that was once corn fields.

    Bang for the buck

    Being able to control living expenses by staying at home is one way to reduce your college costs. PNC's course fees are extremely reasonable, and graduates are easily able to repay any student loans after securing jobs that utilize their degree.

    What to do for fun

    My concept of fun (at the age of 60) is far removed from that of the significantly younger student. I am a published author of non-fiction books and articles in journals, newspapers, magazines and on websites...so writing for the PNC newspaper has always been one of my favorite activities.

    Food and Dining

    The 'restaurant experience' at PNC is wonderful - delicious, cost effective and served in a great atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in my own home, with my husband, his mother, and four of our six children while attending PNC full time; I also worked a full-time job.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any higher education institution, academic rigor is dependent upon the course and the teacher. I had an English professor who flunked me because I refused to attend the classes during which he showed slides of the Victorian furniture he purchased during his trips to England - while I was traveling more than 200 days per year as Director of Marketing & Sales for an international manufacturing company while trying to finish my BA. On the other hand, I had professors who made their courses fascinating...which is a challenge with a Statistics course!...and professors whose passion for their topic was passed on to their students. I believe that academic excellence is only achieved by those who put their time and effort into their course work - regardless of the professor or the class topic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an A parking pass. Join a club or organization so that you can meet other students who share your enthusiasms. Learn how to take good notes and then study them diligently for each class you take.

    In three sentences

    PNC offers broad range of degrees, majors and courses. The campus is easy to manage and offers art culture as well as natural beauty. Professors and the Chancellor are available to students and eager to be of assistance.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pnc is located in a small town in nw indiana. it doesn't get much safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is something for everyone at pnc.

    Great for these types of students

    i highly recommend pnc for all freshman to adjust to college life before going to the bigger campuses. i also recommend this university to adults who have been out of the academic world for a while. with less students in each of your classes, compared to the big campuses, you get all the help you need.

    Bang for the buck

    i went back to school after being a stay-at-home mom for thirteen years. i was a little intimidated at first. purdue university n.central helped me to adjust and feel secure in my ability to accomplish my goals of obtaining my degree.

    What to do for fun

    pnc has many extra curricular activities for the sports oriented, and many clubs for a variety of interests. every semester we have a pride week that displays the variety of options to our students along with fun activities and food. pnc also has a gym and game room for their students.

    Food and Dining

    pnc has an 'on-campus' cafe that supplies a variety of foods including: pizza, deli, salad bar, daily well-rounded meals, and made to order options. pnc also has a coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    university apartments are available right across the street from the campus and are designed to be energy efficient and affordable. rent includes everything excluding energy bill (which is the lowest i've ever paid in my 20 years of paying my own bills).

    Academic Rigor

    community or tech college may be easier however, employers know this. i'm getting a well-rounded education at pnc and i'm proud of it. all the tutoring you need is made available to you at pnc.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the financial aid department at pnc to see what you might qualify for.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy attending purdue university north central. i feel that i'm getting a good education in comparison to the neighboring community and tech colleges. the administration is always there to help when needed along with all the necessary tutoring when i need extra assistance.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you feel safe, just make sure you lock your car!

    Greek Life

    no frats or anything here! just clubs based on academics...

    Clubs and Activities

    there are always little activities there, nothing too big, lattely there have been more pushes for more clubs and stuff like that, but overall not too much.

    Great for these types of students

    if you want a few more years of high school, or want a small setting, go here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing out of the usual. lots of kids though because of so many adult students, so don't get freaked out if you see a five year old in your class...

    Bang for the buck

    not a bad price for what you get, but sometimes there is a lack of seriousness in some classes. like i said, if you want high school over again, go here.

    What to do for fun

    pnc is always having little events on campus. with student growth more clubs are coming in, so more oppertunities arise. they need to start doing more student based things there instead of just limiting it to purdue staff.

    Food and Dining

    pnc's cafeteria serves up some good food, not a whole lot of choices, but what they do have is good. also the coffee shop they have on campus is very good and well priced!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here, it's simply not big enough! there are apartments across the street from pnc, but most students live in the area, and just put up with the drive.

    Academic Rigor

    most professors are part time, or this is their second job. some of them put their heart into it, and some are just like eh, its another job. it's a hit or miss with some professors. i have had to deal with both kinds, and the ones who don't put an effort forward makes it hard for all the students in their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you want small everything, go to pnc. it's just like high school all over again, if that's what you are going for than go here!

    In three sentences

    small classes. small campus. small community.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    PNC is very ideal for any one who has a hectic home schedule. I work full-time and have family obligations. The people at PNC are welcoming and understanding. I truly feel like I am appreciated and well cared for at this university. I would recommend this school to any one who appreciates good academics in combination with good people.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    * Degree Undecided * Having Problems choosing a school * Want a year to save money * Want a year to work close and go to school * Want to take prerequisites and transfer the next year

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy books online. It helps seniors to buy books online. You save so much money. Great deals for new books on Amazon.com. Another tip for college. Come to class, do not procrastinate. Seniors you are paying money for these classes go to a class. Don't skip unless you are sick. Procrastinating get's you nowhere in college. I can honestly say, I am a big procrastinator myself, and I was so tired for my first semester trying to still get good grades. Another tip. Start your first year at PNC and then transfer. Seniors get your life together before you transfer somewhere big. Some people at PNC will be on the same boat as you, trying to find out what they want to do. It will be cheaper trying to find out what you want to do at PNC.

    Bang for the buck

    Oh excellent pricing, if I had to do my freshman year all over again, I would still go to PNC. I saved a lot of money my first year of college, which is excellent because next year I have to transfer to finish my degree. With getting prerequisites out of the way, I will have more money to spend on transferring.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am somewhat enjoying it here at Purdue North Central. I just wish there was more activities. In high school I was in band, pep band, and marching band, and now I do not do anything fun in school. I mean I have fun classes, but if PNC had something to make me stay I would.

    Am learning a lot

    Hey High School Seniors. I am Angelina from La Porte. I have to say my first semester at PNC was an experience. I did learn many things, and surprisingly college is a blast. Most of my teachers are great, and I learned many things from there, and there are teachers who are not so good. You always have your bad and your good teachers. Work is pretty much like high school, but you are not as stressed to get your homework done, that is if you do not procrastinate. There are less hours put into school and you get several breaks here for your learning abilities. It is so much easier to focus. In high school, getting up early was hard; well, in college you can pick how many days of the week you want to go and what time you would like to come in.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a quality college education.

    Tips for prospective students

    PNC has a limited number of majors so I would make sure they have the major you want along with a back up you desire just in case. Also, PNC doesnt have dorms so if your heart is set on a dorm, PNC might not be the school for you. They do on the other hand have apartments across the street that are treated like student apartments The pricing is cheap, but its a high standard of living with appliances included along with a computer room, gym, pool, & game room.

    Bang for the buck

    Purdue North Central is a small campus, lower prices, and its still a Purdue degree! When you obtain your degree it will say Purdue University. It will not specify the north central. So you get a small, cheaper campus...with the power of a Purdue degree!

    Am enjoying being here

    Ive made more friends at PNC in my first semester than I ever thought I would. The school may be small but it is full of Panther Pride! Im happy I chose Purdue North Central

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are extremely helpful and break the material down so its easily understood by all. they are also willing to give you one on one attention if you need it. They are also very helpful in getting you a tutor if you would feel more comfortable being taught from a peer.