Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Queens College, City University of New York Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/06/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe. The dorms have implemented new guest policies to tighten security, and there are always public safety officers driving around campus and sitting in the security booths. As of next semester, the front desk at the dorms will be staffed by security 24/7, rather than students during the day and security at night as it is right now. Aside from the dorms (which requires a FOB and ID), there is only one building I know of that you need to swipe ID to enter, which is Queens Hall (off-campus behind the track, a bit of a walk away). There are plenty of lights at night, and emergency blue boxes all over campus. I've never personally felt more unsafe on campus than anywhere else, even as a young woman walking alone very late at night or very early in the morning before classes have started. The fact that the campus is gated and the security at the main entrance and Reeves entrance ask for ID when entering after hours makes me feel a lot safer, too.

    Greek Life

    I know there are frats and sororities here, but I'm not into Greek Life so I don't keep tabs on it or anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not really a part of any clubs at the moment because I have a lot on my plate, but there are always club-hosted events happening on campus and I honestly haven't heard anything bad about any of the clubs so I'm assuming they're pretty good.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard-working students who are not afraid to keep an open mind and who value diversity and learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind Klapper Hall are big orb-like sculptures with cutouts in them where students can sit and study outside, which I thought were really cool when I first saw them. There is also an art gallery/museum in Klapper Hall. In the Aaron Copland School of Music there is a basement level where only lockers and practice rooms exist. At the dorms there is a stuffed animal making event on Valentine's Day that's quickly becoming an annual tradition. There are always food carts on campus; usually it's halal food or Latin American food, but there is also a fancy waffle cart that comes around once in a while that everyone gets excited over. The Honors Hall building is for some reason at a different level than the other buildings so the entrance is actually a staircase down to the door that looks a lot like a sketchy subway entrance but it's not actually sketchy, I promise. It's a little hard to find but if you follow the campus map and look for the sign you'll find it.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is low and the educational value high. CUNY Queens College is a public school with curriculum comparable to private schools; for students attending as part of Macaulay Honors College, the educational level is comparable to some Ivy's. It's almost absurd how much you get for what you pay; just be sure to pay your fees and tuition on time so holds aren't put on your account. The dorms are expensive, but given the location and the amenities, it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on on campus, especially during free hour on Mondays and Wednesdays. Everything from self-defense classes to educational speakers to club activities are offered here at some point during the year. There are a ton of clubs to join and several Club Days hosted for students to check them out covering a wide range of topics and interests. There are often free student recitals in the Aaron Copland School of Music during the week, and some bigger performances like operas, musicals, and plays in Colden Auditorium. There is an AMC movie theatre a short bus ride away from campus in Fresh Meadows where students can get discounted movie tickets if they show their student ID, and many good restaurants in the area; Gino's Pizza on Kissena Blvd. is a popular destination if you need a quick meal. It takes only about an hour to get to Manhattan if you take the bus to the F subway on Hillside Ave or the LIRR at Jamaica Station, and there are two malls not too far away from campus, Queens Plaza and Sky View. There is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't use the dining halls on campus much because I budget my own groceries, but the food is good quality and can often be made to your specifications. There are vegetarian and kosher options available. It would be expensive to eat here everyday without a meal plan, but there are meal plan options available for those looking to use them. At the dorms every Wednesday is resident appreciation day so there is usually something free to eat or drink in the lobby.

    Dorm Life

    The staff here really care, and they always do their best to make your experience as comfortable as possible. A vast majority of the students at CUNY Queens College commute, both those who live here have a very nice home to look forward to. It is a bit pricey, but worth it considering the amenities- a full kitchen, a living area, and two bathrooms per suite, heating and AC, free cable and WiFi, 24/7 gym and music practice rooms in the building- and the excellent service provided by maintenance, desk and office staff, and RA's. This is truly a fantastic place to live, especially if you have great roommates like I do :)

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in Macaulay Honors College in addition to being a regular student at CUNY Queens College. Both schools' curriculums are challenging. They force you to think and develop your thoughts and ideas. Every professor is different though, so always ask upperclassmen or check out RateMyProfessor to check how rigorous their classes will be! As a Performance and Psychology double-major, I can attest to the rigor of both the Music and Psychology Departments' rigor as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Always ask your professors if buying earlier editions or international editions of books is okay. You could save a lot of money that way. -Participate! There are events on-campus all the time and it's always worth your time to participate. It's valuable learning experience and often very entertaining, as well as a way to make new connections and friends. -Adhere to your professor's policies on technology. Always keep a spare notebook or looseleaf paper in your bag in case you forget and have an electronics-free class. -Study!!! You can't pass most classes here without taking them seriously.

    In three sentences

    CUNY Queens College is a diverse school with incredible teaching staff. The grounds are well-kept, the view of Manhattan is breathtaking, and resources available to students are abundant. Queens College is a place where students learn both in and out of the classroom, and grow into better people.

  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school challenges you greatly, but are still able to come out on top. The professors are great and know their information very well. The campus is a very nice size and feels very safe.

  • 08/07/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    - play soccer on the lawn - go to the pizzeria not far from the campus

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    queens college is a school that is academically challenging. the school has great teachers who know what they are teaching. lastly the campus is very large and has gorgeously manicured lawns and trees along the whole campus.

  • 12/15/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors were awesome!

  • 11/25/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All the security personnel are very friendly and if you need help getting somewhere on campus, they are very helpful and will show you the way. They're very polite and nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's a good idea to attend club day. There are a lot of clubs to choose from and everyone is very friendly and eager to meet new people and get to know them. The gym and fitness center on campus is great- there's tons of machines and weights to use.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a pretty well rounded school so I'd say that it's best for both introverted and extroverted people. The people here are pretty friendly and open. It's great for commuters and for those who don't want to leave NYC for college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad is really nice and it's nice to sit by the fountain during the warmer seasons.

    Bang for the buck

    Queens College made the list on Washington Monthly (along with a few other CUNY schools) and among other places. It's really worth it going here.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of activities throughout each semester and there's almost always something going on. It's best to explore around campus on your own or with a friend and see what's going on. Definitely join a club to make friends, play games, etc. There is a festival that the school holds on one day during the fall and spring semester (Fall Fest and Spring Fest, respectively) where there are a ton of FREE things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I've been to both the Q Cafe and Student Diner. There's kosher and halal food and there are vegan/vegetarian options as well. It can get pretty pricey though. There are plenty of other places outside of campus to eat too and they're all very close by. There's always vending machines in most of the buildings and there are food trucks that are parked on campus too.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm; I commute here as many others do. But I've been to the dorms a few times before and the rooms are pretty nice. The rooms are pretty large, with two bedrooms (that have two beds and desks each), and two bathrooms that houses four people. There's a kitchen a small living room too so it's comfortable. The Summit also has a gym.

    Academic Rigor

    It generally depends on the professor and the class subject. It's a great idea to use ratemyprofessor when you start making your schedule. The professors definitely love what they're doing and they do enjoy teaching. The ones I took had great reviews on ratemyprofessor; so all the more reason to use it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely join a club when you enter the school. It's a great way to meet new people and make friends. Always always always keep in touch with your major department adviser before registering for classes and if you have general questions about the major and for planning ahead. Keep up with assignments and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Queens College is an affordable school with excellent professors and great academics. There are plenty of on campus events to attend and the campus itself is very clean, well kept, and has a gorgeous view. People here are really nice and friendly and don't mind helping you out!

  • 01/12/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join lots of clubs, but also study a lot. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    So far in my first semester at Queens College I found most classes to be challenging, but very informative and educational. The professors are pretty good here and even though some may be particularly difficult, it will be worth it at the end when you actually learn something from that class. The campus is well kept and most of the people and staff are polite. The security guards at the library were rude to me a few times for no good reason. Its also difficult to to make friends here.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If you are in the Queens, NY area this is a great and reputable school to attend.

    What to do for fun

    School clubs and daily on campus events

    Tips for prospective students

    Always speak to a grade adviser before registering for any classes. Just to be on the safe side.

    In three sentences

    This school offers great classes and great teachers. Plenty of school clubs, activities and events on campus. Best of all this campus a extremely spacious and has a great scenic view of Manhattan.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I feel like Queens College is great for shy, introvert students as well as people who like to have fun. You can choose to stay alone or make a lot of friends- it's up to you! But if you are a study freak and somewhat Ivy League material, this might not be the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening in the Student Union building (where all the clubs are) and check out notice boards on other campus buildings to see what interests you. Or if you just like peace and quiet, the library is always open till late. there are also tennis courts and may be other courts i didn't see yet (it's a pretty big campus by foot) for those who like sports. Oh, and did i mention the gym? It is HUGE, probably because of the indoor pool (haven't been inside that) but I'm sure it has other things. And if you like theater, this is your time to see famous Broadway actors perform for only ten to twenty bucks! I've attended some of the plays and trust me- they are GOOD.

    Food and Dining

    I don't really mind the food and dining there. There are lots of places to eat here and there on campus as well as outside campus (but you have to walk a little!). And if you get hungry, there's always a vending machine down the corner! They also serve Halal and Kosher food at the Q Diner's and have Halal food carts just outside campus.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly speaking, I do not dorm, but I heard it can get pretty quiet there...

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the intensity of studies is how much you want to push yourself, as well as what major you are taking. I enrolled in pretty tough math classes and they really 'make my brains work, even though I plan to major in English and don't really need it. In the end it all depends on how much you want to, or can, take.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a homey, relaxing campus where everyone is not in a hurry to get to places, this is the place for you. It is not so small that everybody knows your face around campus but not so big that you would feel lost. Get out and join clubs, make friends and have a good time! (But remember to hand in your assignments!) For bookworms out there, Queens College library is really, really beautiful. And for music majors and liberal arts majors, the courses offered here are pretty good. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    Queens College has a beautiful campus: the ups to that is that it is beautiful during spring, summer and fall and you can take lovely walks; the downs, however, are that you have to walk a lot, which can be hard in the winter. There are small, interactive classes as well as large lectures, whichever suits you. And people there are really nice- they hold out the door for you!

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Aside from the lack of community and low social interaction, the school has great professors and facilities. It doesn't cost much to take classes and there are some really cool classes to take. It's worth your money if you aren't a socialite and are solely interested in getting a good education.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of people play pool and ping pong in the patio room near the dining hall which is fun. The Hillel always has events going on; bingo night, karoke night ect. At the dorms, there are some movie/game/study nights in the flex space. Not many students participate though. For the most part, everyone just goes NYC. It's kind of a hassel to get there though - its a bus and subway ride to get to Manhattan. It takes about 40 min to get to Midtown by public transportation.

    Food and Dining

    Since I live at the dorms, I spend a lot of time eating and cooking there. But the dining hall and student union have some good options to eat for breakfast and lunch. They have a kosher side of the dining hall as well. You have to get dinner before 5pm because the dining hall and student union closes at 6 or 7.

    Dorm Life

    I wish I could give this two ratings - one for the actual dorms themselves and the dorm life. The actual dorms are SO nice. You get a kitchen and two bathrooms, shared by four people. They are super spacious and comfortable (I give it 5 stars). On the flip side, there is no dorm life unless you are on a sports team. The sports teams clump together and don't really invite anyone else to their parties. It can get very lonely (1 star).

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the class and the professor, as it does in every college. The music and science classes are definitely the most difficult. Try to use ratemyprofessors.com when deciding what classes to take because the reviews are fairly reliable. I chose to have one of the best professors for my journalism class last semester through ratemyprofessor. Overall though, the professors are extremely helpful and willing to take time during their office hours to discuss problems or difficulties with the material you may be experiencing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to have help from no one. The advisors are not helpful; they are very do-it-yourself type people - and that can be good for some students. But when you really do need help, it will probably have to come from a professor or a friend who has more experience with the CUNY system. There are also 3 different portals you use for grading and assignments (blackboard), CUNYfirst (add/drop classes) and your degree audit (CUNYportal). This is generally frustrating. Get to know these portals before starting classes so you aren't lost when you need to use them. Finally, take classes you enjoy or are interested in - especially if you are undeclared. Don't spend too much time trying to fill in the required courses; or if you can, use the required courses to figure out what you do like.

    In three sentences

    Queens College provides students with a great education for an affordable price; the professors are very knowledgeable and willing to help you further your studies. However, because it is a commuter school, the school doesn't provide students with the typical college experience, even with the on-campus dorms. If you are a music student looking to apply to Aaron Copland School of Music, I would advise against it because the music curriculums are outdated and do not provide necessary classes related to technology and music production.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are numerous dining places that you can choose from with a wide range of food. The servers are very friendly and the food is quite good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm. Queens College is mostly a commuter school. But I've been to my friends dorm. It seemed quite comfortable. Especially the fact that you have your own space with couches, fridge and stove in between dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and workload aren't that rigorous. The workload that they provide to the students is just enough so that the students can retain the information but not enough for the students to feel pressured and challenged.

    In three sentences

    Cuny Queens College is an affordable and accommodating college. It has a wide range of majors that you can choose from and intelligent teachers that can guide you. With the knowledge acquired in queens college, you will definitely excel in whatever career path you put your mind to.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join student clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    good high school grade holders should definitely apply

    In three sentences

    according to its website, i found it to have a lot of majors increasing the diversity of its education

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great place to forget about safety, police officers are polite and nice, yet once student breaking the law, violence or fight, those nice guys will show up and show how nice it is to break a rules in QC. Great place to dorm and study until late nights.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs, events, honors societies, and creativity of a student, only if students wants to see and attend too.

    Great for these types of students

    This place is great for students who wants to study, who wants to spend money, invest, into the future. QC college looks not so great from outside, but ones student in then most fun can be found.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A quad, place where student can find and lose beloved, loved, one. Campus dining hall, where each student enjoys its own food, brought from house, library place where student can spend 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for 50 min of exiting midterm or finals, place where one can find good friends from whom he or she can cheat during test, or just meed a friends talk and exchange ideas and methods of achieving greatness.

    What to do for fun

    Study to get good grades, college free hour club meetings, free foods and a lot of events proposed by college

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, forget about social life and study only for the future goals. Listen to the professor and conquer that hill so you can achieve greatest in this competing world.

    In three sentences

    College which prepares future Students, integrates all the required knowledge to become a MD. Great professors who works for the knowledge not for salary, who forces students to get better in science. College that works for the student who is willing to spend time to learn many aspects of the worlds science and pre med world.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't used to thousands of people and walking miles to get to your next class would be prime candidates. Those who don't want to leave New York City, stay local to obtain their education and want to save a few thousand dollars should go to Queens.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club and/or organization, they offer so many it's hard not to. Do some community service. Try out for a sports team or just keep in shape by taking advantage of Queens' gym and indoor swimming pool.

    Food and Dining

    Multiple options to choose from, all equally satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be dorming but from what I heard the summit is a small dormitory but the experience of living on campus is fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The science department is one of Queens' strongest and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want to take before enrollment period comes around. Make sure to check out the professors and his/her reviews online before enrolling. Definitely join a club or organization, it helps to get to know people and make connections during your college experience.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school that is focused on its students. The campus is beautiful and so are the buildings and departments. There is an array of classes and majors to choose from yet each individually challenging.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I saw a playground in the campus. There was also open spaces where I could sit and enjoy the sun. I also like the fact that there is a library. During my free time when school starts in fall, I could go to the library and have fun. I love reading very much.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know about the food since I never really ate any food there. However, on the Freshmen Reception, I like the cupcakes and drinks. They were delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not doing dorm. However, on my tour visit, they took me to a dorm to see what it is like. I liked the view from the window. There was also an exercise room in the Summit.

    Academic Rigor

    I just got enrolled, so I do not know much about the education there. However, I heard education is good there and is on the same level as any well-known colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    During your free time, you can admire the view and relax under a tree. One student there stated that you can also meet people with the same goals as you; become best friends with them.

    In three sentences

    QC is a broad place with many buildings and trees. It has many types of people, both friendly and nice. Also, education there is worth it.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything Monday and Wednesday is our free hours and where the club activities are held. The fun part is Queens College would host annual Spring and Fall festival on campus for student to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students in Queens College are hardworking, mostly are full-time student with a part-time jobs.

    In three sentences

    Queens College located in Flushing, Queens. It is a small college compares to other colleges. Also, it is very diverse.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. The campus itself is in a very nice area. It is quiet, clean, and safe.

    Greek Life

    There is a Greek club. I see them almost everyday! Nice bunch I must say. The President of the Greek club sometimes gives us free pizza.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are so many activities on campus it is unbelievable! Just this past week they had rides, (yes rides!), a horse and carriage (yes a horse and carriage!), and free food! (yes, F-R-E-E!). There are a host of events one may attend and also there are celebrities and alumni that are always visiting. Just the other day, there was an event with Bill Cosby!

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it, quite affordable. Yearly tuition+books will run you $7,000. This is a City University of New York school so it is subsidized by New York City.

    What to do for fun

    This college is in New York, need I say more?

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias on campus and some food carts right outside the campus. Eating out can get expensive so I recommend carrying something light in order to save money.

    Dorm Life

    They do have dorms however I stayed off campus. I was told they are quite comfortable though.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load can become a little overwhelming. However, you are here to learn. This assists you in organization, time management, and academic skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! This is a challenging school which is why I highly recommend it. Never take the easy way out. Their programming helps develop a sound work ethic and a character of great resolve.

    In three sentences

    This school has an amazing campus, amazing programs, and amazing professors. I have attended many colleges in New York but have never felt more comfortable than here at Queens College.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Relatively safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many

    What to do for fun

    There are lectures, movies, workshops, music and theater performances all the time. Many programs are free or discounted for students.

    Academic Rigor

    4 - 5 stars!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can use public transportation, it is much cheaper than parking.

    In three sentences

    I am in the Master's program for Library and Information Studies. It is an excellent school.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety guards at every entrance. I feel safe walking around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very good value for the education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Volunteer and join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I do not buy food on campus. However, I do buy coffee and the coffee is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. It's mostly a commuting school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard and the teachers expect a lot. By the end of the semester, you know your material well and are able to apply it to your volunteer experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in school activities and clubs. Study abroad.

    In three sentences

    The teachers expect the best from you. They're experts in their field and encourage extra activities for you to master the material. It's tough competition at school, everyone brings their A game.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty good. There are always security guards around to make you feel safe.

    Greek Life

    There aren't too many fraternities and sororities. Due to many students still commuting, there aren't many who dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that a student can join. Some are sports clubs, arts clubs, and a student has a chance to create a group and make one themselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to meet a wide range of people from other cultures and nationalities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fountain in the quad is nice. There are little areas around campus that allow for relaxation and peace and quite.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're in-state then you definitely get a lot of bang for your buck. Out-of-state is still fairly cheap, but not as god of a deal.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports leagues and different competitions over each semester that students can do. In addition there are plays, music events, and other performances of the arts. The fact that Q.C. is close o NYC also gives the option of going out to the city to have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options at the dining hall at Q.C. There are foods for specific dietary needs and restrictions as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm on campus that is steadily increasing, making Q.C. more an more a dorming college. However, many students still commute, so there isn't a feeling of Q.C. being a dorming college.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically speaking Q.C. is not at the top, but also not at the bottom. I think that some programs do give a rigorous test of academic ability. However, many majors and programs are not difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should be made aware that although Q.C. has a dormitory, there isn't a feeling that you're in a dorming school. Most students still commute, which makes college life and extra-curricular activities scarce.

    In three sentences

    Queens College is a diverse school with its students coming from many different backgrounds and cultures. In some areas Q.C. could do better, especially in career placement programs. I believe that overall Q.C. has some room from improvement.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    pool table

    Food and Dining

    not so great

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    manageable

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus tour is very important. Make connections with students. Plan your major ahead of time if possible.

    In three sentences

    It is a huge and lovely campus. Professors are very helpful. The departments are helpful as well.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much on campus to do. Since this school is in queens, you will have a lot more options in the nearby city.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a hit and miss and can be pretty pricey. Too many theres insn't too much to eat near by either. Limited options.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm, however I have not heard too many good things. This is a cuny school so most of the students commute (driving/public transportation). Dorm life isn't too lively, mainly the few out of state students and athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. I hear the music program is tough to get into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to upper class men with the same major as you. There are advisers but they may not be helpful.

    In three sentences

    Overall this is a good school. A lot of the instructors are adjuncts, but most are willing to help. Considering it's location the space of the campus is fun to have. And best of all you can't beat the price.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards on campus are not only friendly, but always around campus.

    Greek Life

    The sorority and fraternity members of Queens are easily identifiable and very friendly. They respect laws and do not practice hazing or any illegal activities for that matter.

    Clubs and Activities

    During the summer, Queens has a special day for incoming freshmen and all other students to acknowledge the many clubs available. The Quad is usually packed with tables, posters and flyers advertising from sororities and fraternities to environment and culture clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Queens is great for commuter students looking for a low-cost college with high academic standards.

    Bang for the buck

    Queens definitely gives you more bang for your buck. The tuition is incredibly low and the academic standards are pretty high. Plus, the New York skyline can be seen from the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a wide variety of things to do for fun on campus. There's a game room with pool tables, ping-pong tables, air hockey tables and video games for students on break or just hanging around.

    Food and Dining

    The food that Chartwells provides is always amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are beautiful and the people are very friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs here at Queens aren't that tough. Time management plays a key role in any course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Queens with an open mind and you won't regret it. The tuition is affordable and the education you receive is of such high quality.

    In three sentences

    Queens College offers not only an amazing variety of academics, but a beautiful campus. The diversity is vast and well acknowledged by many. Professors here are very understanding and easy to talk to.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    everything can be eaten , vegetables and fruits , meat and dairy products , bread and sossages

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a pool hall in the cafeteria, with tennis, p.s and many other games to choose from. or you can just hangout with friends if you are not into those.

    Food and Dining

    its not bad, there is always good food, snacks and other edible items for sale on campus.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus but from what i see and hear, its a great place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    not that much rigor to me

    Tips for prospective students

    take your studies really seriously, have a study schedule. you do not want to get a low gpa during your first year because that is when you start building up your gpa

    In three sentences

    its one of the best cuny colleges. it has good faculty. there is a good student relationship

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Queens college is located in a very nice and safe area. Inside campus is pretty safe, no one will rob you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many active club. I've herd suggestions to join fraternity as they have more activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who just want to learn. As all the classes i've been to are plain boring lectures. not much social activity so it's abit hard to make friends in class.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap college. 3k a semester.

    What to do for fun

    I haven't found anything for fun, tho there is a place to play pool and ping pong with very cheap hourly rates. Sports center are there if your interested in theses things, they have swimming, gym, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They have two cafeteria, nothing special, and no fastfood chains.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm here, so i wouldn't know. What I do is live locally and drive here, one thing tho it's very hard to find parking but if you go a few blocks away from campus you will find parking.

    Academic Rigor

    not that strict. as long as you do well on tests and homework you will get good grades.

    In three sentences

    A clam, peaceful, and quiet environment.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's about 5 sororities (all super friendly and against hazing) and 6 fraternities. All of them are extremely diverse but they're also respectable (and they know how to throw a good party or two!)

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to talk about and they're all so diverse!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    QC used to be a juvenile detention center. You can still see a barred cell by one of the buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable and they offer work study. No complaints from me!

    What to do for fun

    QC has a big Quad. Lots of events take place here, most include DJs (depending on the weather). We also have a gym, pool, and soccer/track field.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of variety. Quesadillas are the best. Unfortunately, food is a tad expensive for a college student budget.

    Dorm Life

    I can't complain because I don't dorm. Dorms tend to have occasional parties.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard; but hey it's college! The professors make the material much more interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Club Day; get involved on campus. Don't be a boring commuter student. If you start becoming active during your freshman year then you'll reap in the rewards sooner. You'll meet great people, have awesome connections and you'll know what you want to do in life earlier than those that just come to class and go home. Work hard and have fun while doing it. Most importantly, enjoy the ride!

    In three sentences

    I love Queens College. The atmosphere is so friendly and there's so much diversity. Most of the professors are really interesting and they know what they're doing.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Queens College, CUNY offers many things to do on campus for fun. From arts performances to many clubs, there is always soemthing to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food by Chartwell's is excellent. Pricey, but great food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The graduate school of library and information studies offers a very rigorous master's program. You can't work AND take two classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a diverse student body. Students from all cultures, many of which are Asian, enjoy the campus.

    In three sentences

    Queens College, CUNY is a wonderful place. As part of the City University of New York system it is teeming with great students, faculty and staff. The master's program in library and information studies is great.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The neighborhood around 2 blocks away from the campus does not look that safe, though there hasn't been a problem about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is really fun talking to people who share the same interest. You can talk or debate for hours about that specific topic.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym which has swimming pool and basketball courts. Also the tennis courts are around as well. The clubs are open all day which makes it a good social area. If you are a studious person then the library with 3 floors is the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. They have a wide variety of choice from your typical fast food menus to Asian style such as sushi.

    Academic Rigor

    It is just like any other college, nobody will tell you what to hand in or when. You just gotta do everything yourself just like an adult.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly recommend anyone to come here, you can easily make friends since there are a lot of social butterflies

    In three sentences

    The teachers and the students are really friendly. The school is really big and clean. It is just your typical normal everyday school.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Saftey patrol and rules and regulations

    Great for these types of students

    Clubs definitely you should join for your interest,

    Bang for the buck

    The school is big and offers various majors which many students are interested in. The school also have a clock toweer and a foundation, which is the major attraction of the college.

    What to do for fun

    I read and I walk around the campus taking in the views of the campus, which is very beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    There are very few restaurants around the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that you students should come to this college because you can meet new people and have fun at a different environment.

    In three sentences

    The school environment is exciting and enjoyable. The teachers are also very helpful to students. In addition, the school's campus is really beautiful with trees and flowers everywhere.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't check ID.

    What to do for fun

    There are pool tables, lounges, and a great campus for people to hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Queens College offers a variety of classes, but like other schools, students are forced to take a bunch of unnecessary classes. The teaching program is well known, but other than that, it is a general liberal arts school.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The great thing about Queens College is that there are many places off campus to get food. If you want Chinese food, pizza, burgers, donuts, bubble tea, salads, sandwiches, or basically anything else, it's all within a short walk of the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in getting a great music education, definitely consider the Aaron Copland School of Music!

    In three sentences

    Queens College is one of my favorite places. The faculty have great background experience and are dedicated to their students. The music, math, and honors programs have exciting and interesting classes and can be a lot of fun.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not like Fort Knox, but you would be stupid to do something stupid here..

    Greek Life

    I'm not in a sorority, so I'm not even going to comment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Knightly News (school paper), campus blogging, dance team, fencing...you name it, we have it.

    Great for these types of students

    All types are students are welcome. Because anyone would fit right in!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On sunny days, the quad on campus is usually jumping. They are sorority and fraternity sponsored parties.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great school for it's value. Plus there are so many unique classes and great professors.

    What to do for fun

    NYC is 30-40 minutes by car. Enough said.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks and it's overpriced. Good news there are restaurants all around the campus and they deliver! And they are absolutely so much better than campus food.

    Dorm Life

    It's clean. It doesn't smell like old spice and sweat. And it's clean.

    Academic Rigor

    Writing research papers can be a excruciating, Queens College has an excellent writing center. You know, for those last minute students who need a pair of fresh eyes. There is a math tutoring center for students who struggle in math- like me for example. It's really great if you ever need to solve a mind boggling problem in calculus. And your professors are always there for you, and are so helpful. So don't be afraid to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at ratemyprofessor.com for good teachers. Usually there will the a student or more who has something to say. Buy food off campus, it's considerably cheaper and better. First day of class, don't be afraid to approach people, the students are friendly and so are the professors.

    In three sentences

    In addition to Queen College being a diverse community, students are motivated to work hard and play hard. The professors are witty and smart, class discussions are encouraged and unforgettable. The only bad thing about Queens College is it's long lines for bursar and its food.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At least twice a day (of a 5-hour day) I see either a Public Safety vehicle or an officer or two patrolling around campus. As of last semester they are enforcing no smoking anywhere on campus which I am very appreciative of. I can't stand being stuck behind someone when I'm walking to class and having their cigarette smoke trailing behind into my face or walking into a cloud of smoke before I enter a building because people are standing outside smoking.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition seems to go up a little each year; however, because Queens is a CUNY school, the rates aren't as horrific as they could be for the high level of education that is supplied by the Professors. I think the prices for some of the textbooks in the Book Store are ridiculous, but there are websites to go to for used textbooks, and like I said before the library offers a lot of the books that are required for class.

    What to do for fun

    Either in between classes or if I have an hour break I enjoy sitting under a tree in the quad or off to the side on a bench in front of Powdermaker Hall. It's not fun per se, but it's rare for me to have a break, so I don't mind relaxing and reading a book or catching up on school work before going to my next class.

    Food and Dining

    I tend to bring my own food because I don't want to spend the money and I don't think the choices they offer are very appealing. My friend has gotten salad a few times and it looks okay. The pizza she had was disgusting, even though I see a lot of people buying it. My favorite thing to get is the assorted fresh fruit cups. There are other restaurants that I have yet to venture in to, so I can't say much more about the dining hall food. As it is with most campuses there are vending machines in almost every building. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a bag of chips or a candy bar, and I can count on Queens to have the machines stocked every day. There are a lot of seating areas both inside and outside of the dining hall and all around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate dorm life from my own opinion because I don't dorm, I commute. However, I've never heard anything negative and it seems like there are a lot of people that continue to dorm each year.

    Academic Rigor

    Not every Professor is going to give you the same workload, so it's hard to give just one rating. Overall I would say that the classes are more on the higher end of assignment difficulty. As an English major, the classes I have been taking are very dependent on writing assignments (whether they are 4 page essays or a short response due the next class) and a lot of reading (whether they are novels or short articles). You really have to plan ahead and not leave everything until last minute or you're going to get overloaded with work and you will see your grade suffer because you aren't giving the assignments your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the writing centers and tutoring centers that Queens offers. Don't be afraid to meet with your Professor during their office hours if you're having any difficulty with the curriculum; they are always more than happy to sit down with you and give any guidance they can. My biggest tip is not to be afraid to ask questions. I didn't know about the numerous computer labs that are open daily or the extensive collection of books (including text books) that the library offers until I stopped to ask someone where I could use a computer.

    In three sentences

    Having already completed my Associates Degree at a local Community College, I'm attending Queens College for my BA and eventually my MLS. The commute into Queens from Long Island is 100% worth it for the attentive and helpful professors that are always willing to go the next step for their students in the classes they teach. I'm looking forward to returning there this Fall and having the opportunity to expand on my knowledge of literature and to better my writing skills.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to participate in during free hour. Students can join different clubs and play any sport they want.

    Food and Dining

    Many places to choose from, but the prices are a little high.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm are reasonable in price. Clean and fully equipped.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is very good. Queens College provides you with the opportunities to intern in the field you are studying. It provides the students with hands-on experience,

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and leave sometime to enjoy the campus.

    In three sentences

    Queens College has a beautiful campus and great professors. there are many different majors to choose from. The clubs are very interesting, it's a great college.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    It exists. And it exists plentifully in the back of the dining hall.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do a lot on campus. Go to club day in the beginning of the semester

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back students who aren't all about the frat life and who are a bit more mature

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Breakfast from Tozt

    Bang for the buck

    There are lizards living in the shrubbery surrounding the Rosenthal library!

    What to do for fun

    The SU is actually really bustling with cool things to do. And there's a pool hall / lounge right on campus.

    Food and Dining

    VEGAN OPTIONS! Kosher, wide array of choices. But veryyy expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Safe (security guards), but you have SO much freedom. RA's are incredibly lenient, spaces are HUGE, and at the same time, they;re relatively quiet and calm (read: not loud and annoying) like typical college dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not difficult so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try the dorms! They're a relatively new addition to the school, but they've already really changed the demographics of the student body and added a lot to the campus itself. Work is plentiful around campus. Lots of food options. Isolated study lounges are your friends!

    In three sentences

    CUNY Queens has an immensely diverse student body, providing all students with the opportunity to meet and bond with other students, advisers, and professors who fit said student's individual needs. Professors are all helpful. Administration works with students on a personal level.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    SFC - Students for change. PSA- Pakistani Student Association MSA- Muslims Student Association Sikh Club

    What to do for fun

    There is a Student Union you can stay there, in different building usually there are events, and there is free hour every Monday and Wednesday where you can do whatever you want.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that great, but better than others.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty competitive, but a great school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your classes, study, and go to tutoring if necessary. They have a lot of activities on campus so enjoy them as well!

    In three sentences

    Queens college has a wonderful campus. The people there are very helpful and organized. It's a wonderful school.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The most that campus safety seems to do is check if cars in the parking lot have appropriate documentation to be there.

    Greek Life

    There are several fraternities and sororities who occupy one of the dining halls because they do not have houses on or near campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs revolving around religion.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for introverted, serious academic students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Outside the library is a beautiful place to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition keeps rising, but they are not hiring new or better professors or faculty who actually know what they're doing.

    What to do for fun

    There are small barbecues and a carnival hosted on the quad, usually one campus-wide event in the fall and another in the spring.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really expensive. There are two cafeterias to choose from on opposite ends of campus serving things from prepackaged Entenmann's goods to burgers to kosher everything. All buildings have vending machines in case you're hungry in the middle of class.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new, so they are very clean, but there aren't any activities or events established. Everyone lives there but keeps to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    In just about every course I really had to work for a good grade. It could have been more challenging, but the professors did their job and taught me what they were supposed to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a major as soon as possible because they change graduation and degree requirements almost every semester.

    In three sentences

    I only had a few professors that I did not like in my four years as an undergraduate student. The general faculty, however, are never able to answer your questions and have you running in circles. Since it is a commuter school, it's hard to get a personal college experience here.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of the school work provided. The transition from high school to collage is usually taken lightly, but that does not stop the workload that has to be completed. Put you're priorities in order.

    In three sentences

    CUNY Queens College offers a great learning experience for incoming students. They have a wide range of majors and clubs that allows one to explore many options. The professors are attentive and willing to take time to help students feel comfortable with the material being taught.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love this college. It is beautiful and full of nature at it's biggest. The professors are amazing and the class sizes are great as well. I will recommend at visit to this college, you won't regret it.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There aren't too many security guards. Not that they are needed. It's a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities to join, great ways to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is very diverse but there is an especially strong/lively Jewish community at QC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus quad is very beautiful during spring and summer months. An outline of Manhattan can be seen from the campus. And QC also has a beautiful clock tower that if eye-catching as well.

    Bang for the buck

    As it is a commuter school, some students might find it difficult to make friends. But joining clubs and activities usually helps with all that and helps tone down the commuter vibe Queens College has.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities to join. And a few times during the semesters, even fairs.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, though overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm, The Summit. The building is relatively new and the dorms are great. Queens College is not exactly a party school though, and most of the students who dorm go home on the weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    As in all college level courses, to get a good grade one must put the time into it. The average course is actually not to rigorous, putting an effort helps a lot. the maths and sciences are as always, especially difficult though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Queens College has a site that has reviews for certain professors. These are good to check out while choosing classes. At the end of the semester a teaching evaluation is put online for the students to fill out. Completing all the evaluations will allow to print up to a hundred free pages the next semester.

    In three sentences

    Queens College is a very diverse campus. The classes are at times difficult to get into. The professors there seem genuinely interested in their respective fields and the tuition is as good as it gets.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn

    What to do for fun

    Hangout around campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging, but prepares you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the classes and the opportunities Queens College has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Queens College is an excellent choice. Queens offers excellent academics and dedicated teachers.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Boring

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to go to class and leave

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing. You can join a club if your deathly bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a school that you can really get involved in don't come here.

    In three sentences

    People there are not really open or friendly. The professors are OKAY. You have to make the school interesting for yourself.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't care about greek life.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Main street flushing. Explore Queens, eat at places, shop, movies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to CUNY Queens bc it is cheaper. Make use of the gym and the space around the campus for exercise.

    In three sentences

    It's friendly. It has a beautiful campus. A decent education can be attained here.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is never a problem there. There are multiple security posts/booths around campus, at every entrance/exit gate. Whenever events are in session, there are campus security officers standing by just in case anything were to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Student Association clubs to choose from and join. They all have events of their own which are open to other students as well. It's fun being a part of these clubs, as I am part of one myself. It's great to interact and find others of your own race and/or religion as well.

    What to do for fun

    During free hour on Mondays & Wednesdays, there are many different events going on where students can interact and be social. Also, on other days of the weeks theres always something going on in the evenings, which are very entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    The have multiple dining areas with a variety of food from burgers and fries to chicken and pasta. Not to forget the famous Halal carts around campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm but from what I've heard from multiple friends and family, dorm life is pretty good. The place is clean and secure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have a fun filled but educating time at this college!

    In three sentences

    This college is a great choice to consider while looking into colleges. The campus is absolutely beautiful and peaceful to study during breaks! The administration and faculty is really helpful with all students!

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It's a great idea to join honors clubs and even run for positions. I went to great Hillel events and helped plan some which was fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Top floor of the Library is a great place to study!

    What to do for fun

    I joined clubs and so had great events to go to.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm but I hear it's not bad.

    Academic Rigor

    One downside to Queens College-in my experience, not the most challenging college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on Campus and make sure to network.

    In three sentences

    Queens College has tons of fun events around campus. In addition, I am finding that Queens College offers a lot of great opportunities for its students. Things like paid mentoring jobs or TA positions are great!

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    That's Greek to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Environmental club.

    Great for these types of students

    Multi-cultural.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoyed my night classes. In particular, the Astronomy class where we got to go out and view the stars & constellations we were studying.

    Bang for the buck

    QC is a wonderful campus. You don't even feel like you're in the city. It has a wonderful view of the Manhattan skyline. The professors have always been supportive and understanding.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Student Union.

    Food and Dining

    I bring food from home - usually fruit or granola. I don't eat fast food, ever!

    Dorm Life

    I travel from my home in Massapequa, and I work in Manhattan.

    Academic Rigor

    QC challeneges your brain. You never know how far you can go if you don't try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carpool or take the bus. QC is not car friendly.

    In three sentences

    I love Queens College! I am resuming my education after 16 years of raising my 2 sons and I am excited to be back! QC is a wonderful campus with a diverse demographic.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is playing court in the campus. One play of billiards is just $1. So much fun!

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food item is served including chinese, mexican, american and so on

    Dorm Life

    I commute and I feel its better to commute than dorming because of expenses

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of classes and programs are available for any students. Honors program, SEEK, .... Computer science, education, STEM....

    Tips for prospective students

    Although you have advisers, be your own boss. Self help is the best option I know!Learn your material, and make yourself open to use provided opportunities.

    In three sentences

    I really recommend Queens College. Highly rated professors, free to answer the subject, open to take questions and easy to access. Many academic supports are given which will help you to finish degree successfully.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The education is good and is more or less is worth the price. The social aspects of campus could use improving.

    What to do for fun

    Talk and meet people. Enjoy small classrooms because while they are few, they allow you the best chance to meet knew people.

    Food and Dining

    Satisfactory, although the Kosher Cafe could use improvement and expansion.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived there myself to be fair, but have visited and heard first hand account; while the dorms are nice themselves, the campus and atmosphere does not promote a more social experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies from class to class and program to program, but I have been pleased with the academic rigor Queens College has shown.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not worry about not having a major or even a minor in mind. Choose your classes carefully and do so with a purpose. Do not just choose a major because you think it is what everyone else does or because you may find it easy. Challenge yourself!

    In three sentences

    Diverse amount of classes. Intriguing programs. Small campus.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security guards are not top notch but then again we dont really experience much threat. there is never a day that i dont feel safe.

    Greek Life

    is it like a real university? no not really. but the advantage of that is that pledging isnt that hard. we have a handful of frats and sororities. aepi throws great parties and have at least two a semester. i personally havent pledged anything but i'm considering a sorority because you really do gain a social life and long lasting friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs that it is so easy to find one that you like.

    Great for these types of students

    queens college is great for students who want to save money and are planning on going to grad school. queens is an easy way to save on money and still get a great undergraduate education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    try finding honors hall. its basically a little trailer under ground. its in the oddest place but theres a lounge and library there and you can get some really good studying done.

    Bang for the buck

    you one hundred percent get what you paid for and even more. queens is very very cheap and there are many classes you can take.

    What to do for fun

    i would suggest being active in some clubs and consider pledging a sorority or frat. even if you dont pledge, go to their parties and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    there is always food everywhere but the on campus food isnt too great. the best snack machine is located in remsen. however, because of the convenient location, there are other options off campus.

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not live in the dorms but i know people who do. they enjoy it but queens still isnt fully there on the real university social life as opposed to a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    in the honors program the classes can be very difficult. in regular queens classes, the classes are moderate. it all really depends on the professor so make sure to check out ratemyprofessor before signing up for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't take on too many classes at once and if you are taking a difficult class like a science or math, give yourself a break with a fun class like intro to acting with kevin schwab!

    In three sentences

    queens college has a wide variety of majors and minors to choose from. you have to work hard to have an active social life. however, queens college offers an fyi community which places you in the same class as thirty other kids and helps you start out and make friends.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    students can hang out on the quad and have a catch when the weather is fun. you can also sit under a tree and read. there is also pool tables and ping pong.

    Food and Dining

    the food is somewhat expensive but they sure follow health regulations by keeping everything clean.

    Dorm Life

    i don't dorm, but i heard its a warm and cozy place. it is newly constructed so it has a modern look.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the professors i had love to challenge students because they work for us to better our writing. some are difficult depending on the subject, but it is all worth it because they are preparing us to the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure all of your work is completed on time. make sure that the work is grammatically correct when it comes to writing papers and seek help if you have to.

    In three sentences

    queens college has a humble environment. the staff is very helpful although some departments aren't in tact with other departments so it can become tough on the students. the professors like to challenge student abilities.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is everywhere !

    Clubs and Activities

    many different clubs, sport clubs, intermural sports, religious clubs etc. and the best activities are sporting events.

    What to do for fun

    go to athletic events and go to events that they have in the quad.

    Food and Dining

    food is not amazing but it isnt bad either. i love the breakfast!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are 3 years old (new), very expensive and not like most dorms in other universitys. there are no parties, they arent loud or dirty for the most part. they are apartment style which is great and they are very pretty.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to do everything on your own. pay all your bills, keep up with when all your payments are due. also, stay up with your classes and registration.

    In three sentences

    great atmosphere along with a variety of students from all around the world with different backgrounds. the school itself is beautiful especially in the summer with all the cherry blossoms on campus and most of the professors are super helpful.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a fraction of the cost it would take to go to a private school. The tuition is affordable for low income students, which is like 70% of the population and being ranked at #8 in the best schools to attend, you know you are getting more than what you are paying for. Great price with an even better education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Queens College is a great school with such diverse people. You learn about different cultures and societies just by walking around in the campus alone. The campus itself is beautiful since you can see Manhattan from the quad on campus. The environment is wonderful since it is full of nature which I personally love. Everyone I have met is extremely friendly and warm, always helping you when in need. I love this school and will surely miss it when I graduate next semester. If you get accepted, don't miss out on a great opportunity to attend this school.

    Am learning a lot

    The education I am receiving here is fantastic. So far I have great teachers since freshman year. The education system is simply amazing and since QC is ranked as a top notch school to attend education wise, who can miss out on an great opportunity like this? I really am learning what I'm suppose to and my education here will lead me further after graduation.

  • 10/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Now Queens College believe it or not has a great sports team and a great dorm. People who play tennis or basketball or swims can try out for teams. It has a great sports team ! Student who wants to get by college can also come here are obtain a degree to become a teacher. Many of the students graduate here with a teaching licence. One more thing, This school has a great music program ! Its not very hard to get in if you have a level 5 in royal music and theory, but the program is very competitive. There are a lot of music performances from the QC orchestra and other performance from great orchestra. The music department received a great amount of donations just last year for a make-over at the auditorium. The school is cheap, affordable for a decent music education. Students with performance major can take 1 hour lesson a week, music- ed major get 30 min a week. The requirement for music major is 120 credit ! so there is basically no room to take other classes if one were to major in music. Music students who want to get a cheap music education can certainly come here and can look at other majors at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Must pick a major immediately, because the school provides absolutely no Council-ling service to picking a major. They don't tell you all the required courses and they are not helpful because there are too many students in the office all the time. Don't take science classes here, first too many students, second professors are busy, third, the labs are taught by graduate students and are absolutely unhelpful. Even when there is a good professor, they cannot provide too much work to inter grade the material given. Philosophy professors demands a lot of work from a student when the work needs to be taught basic philosophy writing skills, while others just let you get by the class by spit-back format.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very cheap compare to many other schools, but its not worthy it. It is just not, because in the end you only earn a degree that has no implication of effort. The science classes are a waste of time, because the teachers basically talk from the slides. Other classes are a waste , because no integration or intelligent conversation ever occurs. The library provides good services from e-journals to a huge cuny books collection, but overall the school is not worth attending. It should be a school for high school students to attend for college now.

    Am enjoying being here

    The classes remains silent all the time. Students seemed to only be motivated to get a degree or get a job afterwards, but there is not too much learning going on here. Not many people go to clubs and since most student commute to school and not many people are not interested to stay after school. I am commuting, but I have seen the dorms around here, they are pretty nice to live in.

    Am learning a lot

    There is not much too learn in this college because the professors are too busy with other students. Many of the professor have 300 students to take care of and many science professors have even more than 300! So many of the professor can only give 2 exams, some or almost no homework at times. Professors are nice and accommodating, but they are very limited in what they can teach you. In most cases you can learn the material without even going to class !!

  • 10/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types!

  • 09/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who love options and close to home.

    Tips for prospective students

    look to see all the programs they have and the reviews .it really helps

    Bang for the buck

    its a great price and they also ofeer financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    from what ive heard nobody has had a problem about this school.

    Will learn a lot

    this school has so many options here and its close to where i live.i have to visit this college.how can they go wrong?

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Queens College is great for all types of students; from the very social student to the strict studying student. This school is diverse in every aspect possible and it's a great opportunity to learn about other cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Interact! You will have the best college experience by making friends and going to events. Also, do not be afraid of your teachers. They are always willing and can be very helpful to you, especially for deciding your major,

    Bang for the buck

    As an out-of-state student I do pay a significantly higher amount for my tuition, which has become very inconvenient. Nonetheless, from talking to students who are in-state, they agree that QC provides a fantastic education with caring teachers for a very affordable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love how this school has events throughout the year including Fall Fest and Spring Fest. There is also Midnight Breakfast during finals, which always proves to be a great time. QC likes to make their students active by constantly having student groups interact with other students. There always seems to be something going on and campus is never too boring.

    Am learning a lot

    Queens College has really great teachers who are always available to assist you. The courses I have taken for my major are really interesting and have me very excited to continue with this major. There are quite a few general education requirements that need to be accomplished, however they are easy to get done so you can focus on your major.

  • 01/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any students that have a desire to learn and broaden their education

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is very laid back and welcoming to all of their students, attending and prospective. It is important to get to know your professors well and participate during classes. This will only make your college experience more enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    Very low tuition for such the amount of credits one can take during one semester

    Am enjoying being here

    They hold several events for the students to socialize and to enjoy during our free hours

    Am learning a lot

    They have a great variety of classes

  • 03/23/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, smart, don't want to spend a lot of money for a great education in one of the best places on earth.

    Tips for prospective students

    I've heard it was mostly a commuting campus, but it seems like there is a lot to do if your live in the new housing complex, The Summit (BEAUTIFUL dorm rooms, by the way, you can see the city skyline from some of the windows!). You just have to keep busy and find something you feel you can pursue and have fun with.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the least expensive schools anyone could attend, other than the community colleges. Spending five grand for a whole year of tuition is only a fraction of what I would have to pay if I had taken offers from some other schools in the surrounding area, which is a relief because I won't graduate up to my eyeballs in debt.

    Will enjoy being here

    Very close to the city and several other attractions, who couldn't enjoy being here?

    Will learn a lot

    Queens seems to offer many different classes, all in different buildings depending on what kind of class it is. The fact that it's been more diffcult to get into CUNY schools the past few years shows how many people are applying, and how many are qualified and accepted to attend. Being close to the city, and even in Queens, it can be distracting with all of the life around you, but it'll add to the experience.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. Queens is largely a commuter school so it is great if you want to stay close to home. But if you don't like commuting, Queens built new dorms in August 2009 so that is always another option. 2. Students who like medium-sized schools - Queens has a lot of students but it never feels like that because many of the classes are small (at least in my experience). 3. Students who like diversity 4. Any student - I was told that Queens is known for its liberal arts education, so I was very worried because it is not as well known for its pre-med program. But once I took Biology, I realized that the rigor is not any less... I had to work just as hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply for the Honors program (Freshman Honors or Macaulay) - it is a great way to make new friends... you'll be seeing the same people in three of your classes for the first semester and two classes the next semester (for Freshman Honors). Also, you'll either be getting a half-tuition or full scholarship if you get in -- what could be better? There are also a lot of other perks to getting into the honors program. 2. Know what kind of atmosphere you want in a school - Queens is great because it has both a suburban and urban feel... you can see the city skyline from the quad, but the campus is partially surrounded by apartments. 3. Apply for as many scholarships as possible and look into financial awards that the school is willing to offer. 4. Remember that you don't need to go to a name brand school to get noticed (i.e. Ivy league schools). The CUNY system is equally known for its education. I used to think that I should only apply to Yale and Princeton because I wanted to get noticed by med schools, but my parents and teachers convinced me that the name doesn't really mean anything.

    Bang for the buck

    Queens is definitely a bang for the buck - it is one of the main reasons I go there. You are getting the same quality of education at NYU as you are at Queens, only for $20,000 less. How could you pass that up? And if you don't believe me, my Comparative Literature professor told my class once that for a while he used to go to NYU but then transferred to Queens... it ended up being that he saw the same professor from NYU at Queens! He told us: Why pay $20,000 more for the top-notch professors when you can find them in the CUNY system at all? Queens still hasn't gained its reputation for its education, but soon it will...

    Am enjoying being here

    Queens has been fun... beautiful campus and there is tons of things to do. I haven't had time to explore around a lot, but from what I've seen, Queens has a lot to offer. There is over 100 clubs to choose from, a variety of sports, etc. Queens has a great feel, although it is still largely a commuter campus. And I love having small classes... in the Freshman Honors Program (and probably Macaulay Honors), there are about 20 people in your class, and you stay with the same group for the three honors classes for the semester, so you really get to know other people and it's a great way to make new friends. Queens also has a lot of events going on - the Student Association always has events planned for us. There are always a lot of parties/entertainment Thursday nights and they try to mix it up during Free Hour also. The reason I gave it four stars was because of the fact that Queens is still largely known as a commuter school - meaning that students do not always stay on campus; they come and go as they please so you don't always see the same people because everyone is on their own. So it is harder to make friends because it is a commuter school, but if you make the effort to join clubs, etc., then you'll do well.

    Am learning a lot

    Queens definitely does not get the rep for being an amazing school because it is part of the CUNY system... but believe me, you will not be disappointed in the quality of education here. Being a second generation Queens College student, I've only completed one semester but the rigor of the classes I took definitely showed the quality of Queens. Some classes are obviously easier than others, but the quality of material that the teachers present are definitely up to par even with other top Ivy schools. Many of the teachers have PhDs or are in the process of getting them, so the teachers are very knowledgeable.

  • 07/10/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are striving for the best!