Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Reading Area Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/17/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i love this school so much. i have been attending for approximately 2years. i got my ged at racc and i have started college. the teachers are amazing, patient, and caring. keep up the good work! i just wish the school has athletics because i am really interested in basketball.

  • 04/20/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they're quick to react to many situations, but many are unhappy in their positions and they don't really have much power to do anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a student government association. they run a lot of the events on campus and are always happy to help. we also have an environment club, an honors society, a psychology club, a multicultural club, a christian club, a school newspaper, and a student journal club. each club is very open and they help out with a yearly community service project called raccy olympics.

    Great for these types of students

    we are very diverse and its great for commuter students, older students coming back to school, students just wanting to get some training, and even traditional students who don't have a lot of money.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is greatly priced. i've never had to pay out of pocket for any of my classes. it is pricey for international students though, which is tough on them.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of great clubs and events through out the year, but we don't get many students at them because a lot of times their in class or simply don't know about them.

    Food and Dining

    our food sucks. it's like gas station food.

    Dorm Life

    we are only commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are amazing at their jobs. i've never had a problem with my classes and have had a great appreciation for what i've been taught. the teachers are always around to help and are just great people in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a great school and i recommend you get involved. but, be careful for as many people that are kind and amazing there are many who are two-faced and won't help you depending on how you act toward them.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are amazing and so is the general staff. it is administration that bothers me the most as they don't think about the students at all. decisions are made without thinking about where the money is coming from or if it effects other people.

  • 12/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many safety guards. They are more than willing to walk with you to your vehicle. However, very few people feel the need for that, as RACC is a safe place.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs are available. From the art club to the international club to the student government association, anyone can become involved in a club. Activities are also available throughout the semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone fits in at RACC. There are many religions and multicultural backgrounds. No one judges another person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tower in the Yocum building is a special place that can be reserved for studying.

    What to do for fun

    The college has a student lounge, where you can go to relax or play games. The college also has special activities from time to time. There are clubs you can join.

    Food and Dining

    I do not get anything to eat there, but many people enjoy their special deals on sandwiches and coffee. One girl described to me that it is a bit like Wawa.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, and I commute each day.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, requiring studying. However, they are not impossible to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although the classes are difficult, teachers and tutors are always available to help out.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy with the college. The teachers are caring and willing to help. Tuition is cheap compared to many other colleges.

  • 12/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. Our security guards are more than willing to walk anyone out to their car when asked. Personally, I have never felt unsafe anywhere on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Personally, I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for 2 year colleges. We also have a Student Government Association, Multicultural, Environment, Veteran, Front Street Journal (newspaper) and several other clubs. There are many opportunities for students to become involved on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types! I am a non-traditional student, older than typical age. We have all ages and types of students. It is a great way to experience diversity in a positive, non-judgmental, learning environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Tower Room in the Library is marvelous. Some classes hold study groups there, beautiful view and very conducive to learning as well. Also, the SUB or Student Union Building, has been remodeled and now contains an area with several entertainments for students, such as games and they host regular events there as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of RACC's Library - or more to the point - the Library Staff. They are absolutely amazing, always willing to assist a student with helping to locate resources for a paper, or any other academic project. They are especially willing to help with genealogy sourcing. The staff gets my vote for helpfulness with a smile (you know it has to be nice when the sign on the door says Interrupt me, I am friendly!)

    What to do for fun

    RACC is full of clubs that are fun as well as educational! There are literary, student government, newspaper, and Legacy; RACC's award winning publication of student works. We also have regular events hosted by the different groups; such as comedians, singing competitions, holiday parties and contests, as well as some big name events at our local Miller Center.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not bad, but this is a day college so there is no meal plan option. However, there are a number of local restaurants available within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dormitories, so this category does not fit RACC.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is not difficult. It will teach you what you need to accomplish, but does not set you up to fail. Through their developmental course program, one can succeed with appropriate effort. I highly recommend starting at a community college, it is a wonderful way to acclimate yourself to a new environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor; they know what they are doing and will help if you ask. Be prepared, look over the catalog and have some ideas about what you want before you go in! Attend an open house - it is a great way to meet the current ambassadors and other students. Don't think you are too old to do this - you can!

    In three sentences

    RACC is definitely an underrated treasure in our community. Not only is it a reasonably priced institution with a strong handle on what is needed here, but they are always striving to improve. The professors, faculty, and staff are all willing to go the extra mile to assist a dedicated student in reaching their educational goal.

  • 11/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does their of keeping students safe. Whenever there are recent incidents reported, there is an email sent out to all students describing the incident and what can be done to stay safe.

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers a very good academic education for a low price. Starting here and then transferring can be one of the smartest thing someone can do instead of paying for the same class at a higher cost at another university.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are many things that you can do in the city. One example is visiting the pagoda where there is a beautiful scene of the city.

    Food and Dining

    Although all the foods come already made, the cafeterias offers food that one can pick up when in a rush. There are a variety of healthy foods that are offered such as salad, yogurt and oatmeal bars.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Getting things done and doing all the work is something teachers make sure of. There are consequences such as failing the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the many clubs and activities that they have to offer. There, you can meet new people and also gain experience in a art. There are many tutors and advisers that can help you along the way if you have any questions. Do not hesitate to ask any questions.

    In three sentences

    Reading Area Community offers so many resources that more people should be aware of such as one one one tutoring session. Many teachers want their students to succeed and really do well. With the many transfer agreements they have with other universities, it makes transferring a easy process and attending this school prepares you and gives you a head start to a better future.

  • 05/01/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Undecided - Commuters - Financially smart students

    What to do for fun

    RACC always has some kind of student involvement activity most weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Stay on top of your course work or you will fall behind very easily. - Ask for help when you need it, because there are plenty of people around to help you

    In three sentences

    RACC is a great college to start at after high school to transition into the college atmosphere. Most of their online classes are awesome and can easily be worked around your work schedule. There are many tutoring centers throughout the campus.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you have night classes there are multiple security guards in the parking lot watching you to make sure you get to class safely. I always see a decent amount of security around, I think they try to keep it as safe as they can.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer so many different things to do. Many ways to meet all kinds of people. They put up a lot of posters to advertise when these activities will be held, so you have plenty of notice.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for a student who doesn't know what program they want to enter, so they can get some general classes out of the way. Someone who does know what they want, but can not afford an expensive university. Good for any one who wants to further their education but has a budget/supports themselves financially.

    Bang for the buck

    I am really happy I chose this college, I met some great people and I am being challenged academically. You do a lot of the class work on your own, like reading and understanding, but it helps you retain the information better. They expect a lot out of you but it helps you in the end to be better. The teachers really do help you out the best they can with bringing your grades up to be the best they can be.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and hangout with them. But they have a fitness center and they are always having fun classes like yoga. They also have bingo for some awesome gift cards and live singers that come to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of vending machines, and a decent variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    RACC does not have dorms, so no life?

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a bit more difficult then I thought they would be, they are challenging but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to anyone that works there, they are very helpful and will give you directions and advice, whatever you need. Look through all the majors, they offer so many, it is hard to chose.

    In three sentences

    A very great school that offers a lot of different majors. Always has a variety of activities going on. You will meet some really great people.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the class sizes are smaller so there is more one on one time with each student. also material isn't just thrown at you during lectures, its explained in detail with examples and process. more importantly the teachers in my opinion seem to care more about each student and his/her progress in the class

    What to do for fun

    there is actually to my surprise quite a bit to do on campus. activities vary from a student union to a on campus gym. as well as a student run coffee shop with live entertainment and a very diverse library.

    Tips for prospective students

    study,study,study. do your homework and assignments. cut back on the parties and going out save that for Saturday nights. take advantage of your opportunity and do your absolute best, because it will later dictate they kind of life you live

    In three sentences

    I am currently attending RACC and i believe its a great school. Any help i needed regarding registration, financial aid or my academics was readily available and offered. also my instructor was very informative and and an excellent teacher, i enjoyed every class

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the foods very taste and healthy, but if your on a tight budget stay clear. Its very pricey, over $6 per sandwich

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    A great school to go to, the teachers really work with you in helping you make the grade

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend events etc etc if you want to have fun.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor exists for learning in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    RACC is a great for starting out. If someone really wants to excel teach yourself further than demanded. Learn to love learning because if you hate learning or school in general then you're wasting your time. Read heavily.

    In three sentences

    RACC is an affordable and decent community college. The school is what one wants it to be. It truly is somewhere to begin.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards located in parking garages. Guards patrol grounds. They even walk you to your car if need at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are offered. They range from reading to study clubs. EC activities listed in wide range such as ball room dancing.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student looking to learn. Welcomes all cultures. Very diverse school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything located close together.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are affordable. Many plans are set to help with financial aid. Straight forward you are not required to take a lot of useless classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many electives offered. There are also clubs and programs. All are benefits to students.

    Food and Dining

    Food in cafeteria is good. Many locations in area to get food as well. It is located close to many places.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are not avail. Many apartments in area to stay at.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many options available to you. The classes pertain to the important information. Offers many programs to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and make sure you attend class. Seek advisor if you need any help. Registration is simple and easy.

    In three sentences

    Getting started is simply. Advisors really help. Classes are easy to understand.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on guard at all times and they will even escort you if asked

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a quality education

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and organizations to join.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, because theres no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your ready to take on the responsibility, and make sure your prepared and on time for class.

    In three sentences

    Reading Area Community College is a great college for students of all kind, from age sixteen to over fifty. They help you with everything then can and with anything you need. RACC is reasonably priced for the quality education they provide.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as directly on campus RACC's safety is probably a 4 star out of 5. But because it is located next to a city where the safety isn't as highly rated you still need to be smart and vigil.

    Clubs and Activities

    RACC has very little club and activities for their students, this is really an area they should invest more time into.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for home school students, private school students. and those who took breaks from school after graduating high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RACC's campus strives for diversity, something I haven't seen in to many other areas.

    Bang for the buck

    RACC definitely is ranked high in the bang for your buck category, cheap classes and a great educational experience.

    What to do for fun

    RACC itself doesn't offer much to do for fun, the fun you have is up to who you meet and what you all like to do outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at RACC is really poor, alot of heat lamps and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This community college has no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics wise this college isn't difficult, stay on top of your work and you'll have straight A's!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to have a fun first college experience.

    In three sentences

    This college is helpful for students who aren't ready for the big four year university straight out of high school. Reading area community college or RACC is very close knit and very friendly, you can get to know your professors and classmates. RACC does lack in extra curricular activities for students but I believe this is because they're a small school and also a community college.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Recently RACC has been trying to improve their campus safety. They've been creating new initiatives and hiring some new people. RACC has a fairly low crime rate, though once outside of the campus the crime rate goes up. Students should remember to practice safety and there are red phones on campus that are linked to security which can be used if a student is uncomfortable and would like to be walked to their car or if there is a problem security should be notified about. Also there is a red flag system in place where students can report suspicious or odd behavior and remain anonymous.

    Greek Life

    While there are no dorms we do have one greek chapter at RACC: Phi Theta Kappa. PTK is the honors club that students are invited to once they've reach a 3.6 and have taken at least one semester of classes at RACC.

    Clubs and Activities

    RACC currently only have a few clubs, however new clubs can be started. There are minimum requirements to becoming a RACC club, though there are students and staff to help with the process.

    Great for these types of students

    RACC does not have any fully online degrees, however they do offer a variety of online classes as well as hybrids that have students in class for only one day a week, in addition to the lecture style classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really are no unusual locations or traditions, though Berks Hall (the main building) used to be a Holidae Inn and We used to have a river and a train running through campus (the river is no longer part of campus).

    Bang for the buck

    Though RACC's prices have increased this upcoming semester (Fall 2013), they are still one of the cheapest schools around. Add to this their commitment to helping students learn and it's a pretty good place to go.

    What to do for fun

    RACC offers some clubs and organizations to get involved in. The Student Activity Board also hosts a multitude of fun things to do throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The school recently (within the last year) got rid of their full service cafe. Now they have an over-priced cafe that reminds you of a quick-mart. The prices are not labelled anywhere. There are some local eateries that are quite wonderful though, and fairly inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at RACC, and the city is not the safest place to live, however there are apartments located close to RACC as well as a fairly reliable bus system. Students should take proper precautions, however this should not be a deterrent from attending RACC.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part the academics at RACC are top notch. Students should take their classes seriously and plan to spend time outside of the classroom working on assignments and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should start their process as soon as possible. There are some introductory items that need to be done before registering for classes. To get information about the school and the process students can come on a walk-in basis to the Welcome Center and there are professional staff as well as students who can talk to you and help you.

    In three sentences

    RACC is a great place to start off; it's not 13th grade or a joke. The teachers take their jobs seriously and are there to help their students, even if there are problems with a teacher there are ways that students can get the help they need. RACC offers diversity and a great experience for anyone who is looking to attend college.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Reading Imax is within walking distance. There are always plays and musical fun things going on!

    Food and Dining

    Basic college food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it easy. Enjoy your time here. Get to know your professors!

    In three sentences

    Easy to maneuver. RACC has a friendly staff. Racc also has a very clean facility.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am studying to be a nurse, its a very competing course with a lot of demands. This course is great for people who are not working a full time job and who are not parents of preschool children.

    What to do for fun

    There is a well equipped gym for exercise as well as other recreation activities such as music and drama

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school has free tutoring center, making use of the center helps a lot. Also forming study groups is very beneficiary.

    In three sentences

    The tuition fee is reasonable compared to other schools. There are great tutors The environment is conducive for study

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always have a security guard by student parking. I always see them patrolling campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the city and wanna cheap education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is in the city. So getting around is hard.

    Bang for the buck

    It is free with finical aid which i like but i do not like there organizational skills in there offices being close to one another.

    What to do for fun

    They various clubs and organizations that allow students to do something productive.

    Food and Dining

    The way students pay for food is not productive. I would pay for it in various methods including cash. They only accept racc id's as payment in the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have any dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be a challenging work load, if the student does not do the work. Teachers are very helpful which makes the academics less rigors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to be prepared to take a placement test if you are transferring from a 4-year college.

    In three sentences

    It can be a helpful school. They offer students a lot of benefits. I would rate it a 8.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    Less cost and you get the best buck for your start to a college career!

    In three sentences

    A great place to learn and 4,300.00 a year not a bad price. Great profs are willing to help and they have nice writing and Math tutors. Great place to start your college career.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    High crime rate the city of Reading has. Luckily they have security on staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student union club

    Great for these types of students

    On a budget? Don't mind inner city? Want diversity on the campus? This is the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very cheap college and the class learning is adequate

    What to do for fun

    there are student activities to participate in like a dance club, or fitness stuff at the gym, or ....

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very sub-par.

    Academic Rigor

    Most instructors are moderate in their expectations; a few are flexible and very few are completely dogmatic.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there are reviews you can view before picking a class with a particular instructor, do so! This will ensure you won't get a lousy instructor.

    In three sentences

    The institution values efficiency, but falls short on the little things. The instructors are either highly motivated or are condescending and trite. Overall the school is effective because most faculty put their heart into it.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Location of parking means a lot at RACC. There have been robberies down by the river, so it's important to park in the safer lots or go to and from class in a group.

    Clubs and Activities

    RACC has an honors program, an honor society, school newspaper, student government club, and many other activities. RACC has a lot to offer, especially for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    RACC is great for students who are unsure of the direction they are heading, students on a limited income who may not be able to afford tuition elsewhere, and older adult students who are returning to college after years away from school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my family

    Food and Dining

    Since changing the food service, it is awful. There's no way to sugar coat it. It's just that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    There are different levels of courses provided to meet the needs of incoming students. The Honors Program is an excellent way for intellectually motivated students to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Fill out the financial aid forms early and register for classes early. Many students are aware of the benefits of attending RACC and classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    RACC is an excellent community college. There are many opportunities for students to get involved and to excel. RACC serves as a strong foundation for students looking to transfer to a four-year college or to simply complete a two-year degree.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My only concern about that is it's not a closed campus, but there is security.

    Greek Life

    I know they have different organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't started school yet, but I know their are many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who just want to take classes and get it, it's accessible and to the point type school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual, it's just rather small.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Join different clubs around campus.

    Food and Dining

    I wouldn't be able to judge, I haven't ate their.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't a dorm, but if you just want to take classes and go home you can. They have school activities, fraternities and sororities.

    Academic Rigor

    Reading Area Community College is a slight step up from high school. The teachers still hold your hand and help you through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always be on top of their financial aid and credits, there's no need to fall behind because of negligence. Make sure you check out the campus, get a general idea of where you'll spend most of your time.

    In three sentences

    Reading Area Community College is very small and accessible. Classes would be easy to find, and there would not be a need to rush from class to class. Class sizes are not big, you are able to interact with the teacher.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are guards both posted and patrolling around campus as well as emergency call boxes which connect you with campus security in the event of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association Multi-cultural Club Student Newspaper Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Great for these types of students

    Living in or around Reading Financially challenged

    Bang for the buck

    You cannot beat the price of this school. Completing your first two years here saves a lot of money. The technology used all over campus is pretty impressive and easy to learn.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun both on and off campus. RACC has an art gallery on campus and an IMAX theater next door.

    Food and Dining

    Basically it's like eating at a small gas station.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms/ campus housing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions. Take advantage of all the available help. Make a plan early and stick to it.

    In three sentences

    A small school with small class sizes for a more personal education. Very friendly and helpful faculty and staff. Modern technology in use all over campus.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    RACC offers campus safety by having guards on call in every building. If there is an incident on campus or even nearby off campus RACC students are notified by email.

    Greek Life

    RACC does not offer Greek Life. I do believe this college will soon offer greek life because of its diversity and advancement.

    Clubs and Activities

    RACC offers such clubs as the International Race Club, Phi Theta Kapa, Journal Writting Club, as well as a unique leadership program. Racc also offers events regularly that promote the involvement for students to join together for great causes.

    Great for these types of students

    The TTC is great for students who have reached the peek of their associate degree career and want to receive knowledge and advice from higher level professionals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most useful locations on campus is the Schmidt Training and Technology Center that holds many unique events for such events as inspirational guest speakers to leadership programs.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe RACC offers people more bang for their buck because for the low priced tuiton it offers the same academics and activities universities do for half the price. RACC also cares greatly about their students future and helps students every step of the way to success.

    What to do for fun

    RACC offers many fun things for students to get involved with such as Zumba, fundraising events, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    RACC offers reasonably priced dining as well as friendly and helpful dining employees.

    Dorm Life

    RACC does not offer dorms. They are working on creating dorms for out of state students. Many out of state students still attend RACC but live in apartments in the city.

    Academic Rigor

    RACC overly prepares students to be successful in the next chapter of their journey. Racc also goes above and beyond to help students realize that we can be above average. I am a former member of the leadership program which taught me what my true potential is and what I was capable of but never noticed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give for other students would be to take advantage of the resources RACC offers. They have many services such as the tutoring center, transfer center, and workshops that many students do not use or take the time to find out about.

    In three sentences

    Reading Area Community College helps inner city people achieve there goals both financially and inspirationally. RACC shows students their potential. They guide students in the process of how to become successful.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around though not at all in your face.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional, returning students. Part-time, working students. Anyone who can't or doesn't want to pay for a private college.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value for money. Students transferring into four-year colleges are often better prepared academically than their own students. Tuition is much lower, too.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of extra-curriculars availble for those who are interested; some of the best include the newspaper and journal.

    Food and Dining

    Food is fair but not great, and the prices are rather high.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    In most courses, students are expected to complete work on a par with four-year colleges. There are a few RACC-specific courses that have been developed to meet certification needs, and these aren't always as thorough as one might wish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet your academic advisor, and take advantage of their knowledge when it comes toscheduling and choosing classes. For the specific courses, your teacher will be your best friend when you need help understanding material. For math classes, the folks in the tutoring lab are the absolute best.

    In three sentences

    RACC is a small college by any standards, and the facilities won't win any awards. What really makes this a good place to be is the faculty. Almost every professor and assistant that I have met is passionate about helping students learn and grow.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get their general education requirements out of the way or students who do not know exactly what they want to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely perfect price!

    What to do for fun

    Hit the gym or take part in some yoga classes. Or travel a mile or so away and hit Dunkin Donuts!

    Food and Dining

    The food at this college is very low quality but the cafeteria workers are very nice!

    Dorm Life

    There is none!

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes! Sciences are very challenging!

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyprofessor.com for ALL of your classes...some teachers are unavoidable due to having such a small school but worth it! Some teachers are absolutely fabulous!

    In three sentences

    Very good college! Such a small campus but the education that you will receive here is very rich and comes at a very manageable price! I definitely suggest starting your education at this college!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat in the cafeteria so I do not know how the food here is.

    Dorm Life

    RACC does not have any dormitory.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the syllabus which is handed out at the beginning of the semester.

    In three sentences

    I am not happy with the transfer center here. I did not see them helpful at all. However, the class size is small, so students can feel comfortable to ask teachers, and teachers here are very helpful.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is not an issue at RACC. There are security cameras and security at the college and at all parking lots and garages.

    Great for these types of students

    RACC is a great place for parents to attend due to the location of the college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a student you learn that there are many traditions on and off campus, many students have different types of cultures, which helps make your time spent in class more interesting.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education at Reading Area Community College for a great cost.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers many program and has them listed on the calendar of events and activities. You also have IMAX theater and Goggle Works near the college.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe has pretty good food with a nice size cafeteria. Vending machines are also available.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors expect a lot from their students and are very tough. They do what they can to help each student acheive their goals to either continue their education or start their career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out with a community college so you can increase your GPA and get all the prerequisites out of the way then transfer to a four-year college.

    In three sentences

    They are continuously making new changes to help provide students with the best education possible, but it would be helpful if more online classes were offered for those students who have families and need to work.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While each community college campus has its own unique safety and security protocols, most schools provide students with fundamental officers, resources, and security measures.

    Greek Life

    Students have an opportunity to join: Student Government Assoc., Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society (Alpha Sigma Rho Chapter), Student Activities Board,Front Street Journal, International Club, Health Professions Club, Legacy, Environmental Issues Club or Gay Straight Alliance

    Clubs and Activities

    My school offers a variety of clubs or groups. Each has a unique group of students and all are helpful to explain it to you. You also can organize a new club and seek approval for it. Our clubs vary in diversity as does are student body.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of the people in RACC are mothers and fathers. The classes are managable for family based people. RACC offers campass classes, hybrird, and online classes, so everyone can find the right course for them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a mix of traditional and non-traditional students from many ethnic backgrounds. This affords us the oppurtunity to view the world from differing perspective and allows us to become a more rounded individual that is sensitive to many cultures and not just our own.

    Bang for the buck

    The most frustrating part is the financial aid office. It is an absolute nightmare working with this office. There isnt a single time of the day when it is properly staffed and there is a line out the door and down the hallway. I had to constantly be on top of the game because if I hadnt I was told I wasnt going to receive any aid at all. They never answer their phones and continually tell the employees not to answer the phone when it rings, as I have heard them say while I was waiting in line. Although their are several financial aid plans, and loans offered to students to help pay for school it is not always enough.

    What to do for fun

    When you log into the RACC website they offer under the Activities and Events tab all announcements, events calendar and the college is located near downtown and an IMAX and Goggleworks theatre- you can also ride the BARTA and go anywhere in the city to see and explore what Reading has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    On the whole, the food is quite good. I remember complaining about it often enough, but that had more to do with frustration at not having more control over my weekly menu. Some dining halls are better than others (and the informal rankings change nearly every year), but you'll never be left without some option. Each dining hall includes a vegetarian option, and there are plenty of carbohydrates (rice, noodles, potatoes, bread, etc.) Additionally, there's a meat-based dish (except in Pom, which is vegetarian and Kosher), at least one cooked vegetable dish, a soup selection, an extensive and typically well-stocked salad bar, a desert (or two), and then an alternative option. In some dining halls, the alternative might be a specially-prepared grill or pasta dish, it might be sushi, it might be build-your-own-soup, it might be something else entirely. But it's different every day and offers nice variety. Some dining halls have specific restrictions. One is peanut-free. One is veggie/Kosher. One has more health-conscious meals (less frying, more baking). The other three are standard dining halls. You'll get coffee, tea, soy and rice and regular milk, at least three kinds of fruit juice, and a regular assortment of soft drinks in each of the halls.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    It is widely agreed that an academically rigorous curriculum should in all cases be coherent across grade levels and teach analytical thinking, learning, comprehension, and writing skills. I believe that RACC stands up to all this and more in every diversity of cultures that attend here.

    Tips for prospective students

    The career center at RACC is very helpful in finding a place for each student. I know that the people there work hard to ensure that you get the best place that will fit you in right away.

    In three sentences

    This school has quite a bit of diversity which sets it apart from other schools I have attended in the local area, and this isn't a problem for any students. Everyone gets along very well.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's security guards around the campus at all times ensuring the safety of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's all kinds of clubs and activities for students. Free classes, different clubs for pretty much any interest, and a gym for students to use.

    Great for these types of students

    RACC is great for students who have a low income or those who don't. It's a wonderful option for students who are undeclared in their major; it allows them to get their prerequisites and general education classes out of the way before decided on a major.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you're paying for. You're not putting out money for classes where teachers don't care about you or your education.

    What to do for fun

    There's an abundance of clubs you can join. There's a free gym for students and faculty. There's also free classes such as yoga or self-defense that students can go to.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors have high expectations for their students. Just because it's a community college doesn't mean they don't push you to do your best. They really want to see their students succeed in their academic dreams.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's open admission so it saves you the stress of worrying about if you'll get into the school. Ask questions if you have them, if you need help you need to seek for it. If you need time to decide your major talk to an advisor about getting your prerequisites and general classes out of the way first.

    In three sentences

    RACC is a wonderful in-between or starter school to go to when you're figuring out what you want to do and become. The teachers are helpful and always available to you when you have questions. You need to seek help in order to get it, especially with the financial aid and record department.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a low price, trying to pay for college themselves, or get their foot in the door while they work

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    the price is great compared to other colleges, especially if you want to get your basic classes in and transfer, they appear to transfer credits to many schools.

    What to do for fun

    they post monthly specials and activities if anyone is interested in bathroom stall where you will see it.

    Food and Dining

    unknown, i do not use

    Dorm Life

    unknown

    Academic Rigor

    the classes seem to try to bring students up to expectation, not bombard them right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you ask for help and direction in scheduling and where to find that information.

    In three sentences

    racc is a decent starter or inbetween school. there are many option start dates and times to make taking classes fit to your own outside school schedule. racc's employees will help, but you need to seek to get it.

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good classes for an awesome price. This is a great place to get your prerequisites out of the way, cheaply, and still get a valuable education.

    Did enjoy being here

    The library had a good amount of places to do work and outside the school there were tables and benches where you could relax or do some reading before class.

    Did learn a lot

    The classes that I took were great. The teachers had high expectations for all of their students and wanted them to truly succeed. My teachers were always available for extra help, and if I need additional help or just more time with the material, the tutors at RACC were sooooo helpful!

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot about study habits and what to do to prepare myself for a four year school

  • 04/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Reading Area Community College is great for any type of student. Whether you are just starting out fresh from high school or returning to college after already accomplishing a house and children. If you're undecided about what you want to major in well then great, RACC will help you in figuring out what you would like to do as an occupation while guiding you towards working on your general classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is your obligation as the student, to make sure you are in class on time, as well as complete the required assignments to the best of your ability. A key thing to remember is that time management is an essential thing to have. It is said, that every hour you spend in class, three hours of studying is required to get an “A”. You should be sure to fit studying into your life outside of school, cutting back on your social life might be a good idea. College Success Strategies is a must take class. This class has helped me out so much as I began my first semester of college, without it I would never have known where to go to get help on my English, or how to even begin registering for my classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Choosing RACC was probably one of the best decisions I could have made. I was always searching for a college that could meet me needs of an inexpensive school that I could fit into my budget and at the same time get my general classes finished and obtain a degree. What could be better than a deal like that? Even through high school, I was always very conscience of how I spent my money. I never wanted to be in debt because my college was costing me an arm and a leg.

    Am enjoying being here

    Attending RACC really helped me see what path I wanted to choose in life. Once I heard that RACC was opening up a Culinary Management program I knew that was the school I wanted to attend. Choosing RACC was probably one of the best decisions I could have made.

    Am learning a lot

    Some things I have learned over my first two semesters is that it is crucial to listen to what the teacher is talking about and to take notes. You always want to have something to refer back to when you are at home trying to study out of the textbook. Some other great ways to study is by making yourself some flash cards, making an outline of the chapter or by reading through the required material. Studying on a full stomach, with a good amount of sleep and in a quiet room away from family is the best way to study. Teachers are very helpful and each have their very own style of teaching.