Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Richland Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 05/26/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well maintained and security is always on-hand.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join and ways to get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of all ages attend classes here.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    RCC has lots of clubs to join and student activities to attend. Your experience is up to you. Get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Between the cafeteria and the coffee house, there's always plenty of goodies to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tougher than others but you'll get out of it what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even the toughest teachers love active and interested students, so come to class interested and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    RCC is a great place to start college right out of high school or to jump back into college studies as an adult. The teachers are great. The campus is easy to navigate and is well maintained.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot of thing to do for fun. But there is international day which is very fun,because there are students from all over the world. Other than that their is sports activity like soccer, basketball, and flag football.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one food place inside the campus.subway is the only thing that their is in the school. but there is a grate coffee shop too. even thought its very expansive the coffee shop have every kind of coffee and donates.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm since its a community college everyone that attends Richland community college live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Even thought its a community college the classes i take are very challenging.The professors are very demanding and they expect you to know your material very well. They are willing to help you if you try your very best.Over all i think the academic rigor is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Richland college have a lot of good professors that prepare students to a four year college. there is a lot of tutoring labs for students who need help in there classes. for example the science corner, the math lab, and the art lab.

    In three sentences

    I think Richland community college is very good college for students who can't afford to pay for university. The campus is very clean and also there are a lot of people from all over the world.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Richland has several security gaurds patrolling the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a Christian club on campus that called Senior Varsity that I am a proud member of and we welcome anyone and encourage everyone to be apart of it.

    Great for these types of students

    If a new student is struggling there is a Student Learning Center that can assist you with your homework to help your understanding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I just recently found out that Richland offers a hip hop dance class, so that is a unusual tradition for me.

    Bang for the buck

    There are different groups having bake sales and raising money for different organizations, and you can find a bang for the buck at most of them.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is free Internet most places all over campus with your student login identification.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Richland is good, however it can be costly if it turns into a everyday ritual.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms or rooms on campus at Ricland.

    Academic Rigor

    Richlands academic rigor consists of you have to maintain at least a 2.0 grade point average to be able to qualify for assistance with funding. Some classes a student will not pass if the get a D grade in that class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell a prospective student that plans on attending Richland to be ready to work hard and when teachers and other students see your hard-working ethnic they will be eager to assist you whenever they can.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    secure

    Clubs and Activities

    lots

    Bang for the buck

    cheaper than the last college i attended.

    What to do for fun

    there are activities going on all the time

    Food and Dining

    available affordable and good eats

    Dorm Life

    not interested

    Academic Rigor

    above expected

    Tips for prospective students

    Let an advisor advice.

    In three sentences

    RCC is awesome and very accommodating. The staff has your best your interest at heart. They also understand that life is life.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap to attend; I got paid to go there by getting grants.

    What to do for fun

    Last year they had Rodney Atkins come to the campus to perform.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Student Success Center. Keep in mind that the teachers are there to help you; you will always get a good grade just by communicating with your teacher.

    In three sentences

    This is my second year at Richland and I love the people there. Everyone in the offices are extremely nice and very helpful. Since it is only a two year college it is a lot like a High School. I would only recommend this college if you were just trying to get back on your feet.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top notch. The security guards are always somewhere throughout the building walking around making their rounds. The security personnel is very friendly, and are very helpful and nice.

    Greek Life

    There are a few greek lettered organizations on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of options for clubs and activities. Every area is covered when it comes to clubs. Campus Life office does a really great job of providing various activities for students to get involved and get free stuff.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any type of students.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is fairly reasonably priced to attend. The education you receive is above and beyond the price of attendance.

    What to do for fun

    every Friday evening, there is a family movie night which is usually a newer movie, and its free to attend. There is always some sort of event going on, on campus. Free food giveaways, free items. WE have an event for almost every possible holiday or natural event. Every two years there is a farm progress show. Every fall there is a cookout with free food, welcoming back students. and then there is usually occasional sales, with realy good foods and sometimes items from Kenya.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria inside the school. WE also have a coffee house, that has some really good coffee and other drinks. The coffee house is ran by the culinary students. The culinary program every now and then makes up some dish and passes it around campus for students to try what they make. WE are also close to fast food restaraunts.

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms on this campus, as this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I dont really foresee any challenges that one would be facing on this campus. This campus is a pretty well oiled machine, and the campus life always has things going on to keep students interested.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to at least have an idea of what you wanna study, or know what you wanna study when you come here. Exhaust all options before coming to a final decision. Learn about all the resources available to you on campus. Try, if you can, to not have your parents take care of things for you, as you are now an adult when in college.

    In three sentences

    Richland community College has a great set of faculty members. The teachers, whether they are full-time or adjunct, always manage to find the time to help a student that needs the help. I have had no issues whatsoever on campus with anything.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Who are unsure of what they want to major in and for those with low income families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Richland has different activities go on every month for students to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing, you will enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, which saves you money.

    Academic Rigor

    College is hard but people, students make college harder on themselves if they do not prioritize their time properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to start, and is cheaper tution fees, besides your getting the same education at a four year university during your freshman and sophmore year.

    In three sentences

    Richland is a great community college. Such wonderful staff and teachers to work there with a decent tution cost. If you are a student whose family doesnt make enough to send you to a four year university or dont know what to do in life, Richland is the place for you.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have good cops.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't an over abundance of clubs, but the one's that do exist do good things. Hope club is the charity club that helps raise money for the less fortunate and Ecoland is the environmental club that works to raise awareness on campus about alternative energy. Check out the shows and constantly changing activities in the student center, you may find a Kenyan jazz band, a movie trivia game, belly dancers, or free pancakes on any given day!

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for students who have been out of school for awhile, working students, or students who didn't do well in their earlier education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the new east wing a great place to study, which doesn't get a lot of student traffic, is the entrance hall with all the glass windows and the huge banana trees. The natural lighting is energizing and the banana tress make you feel like you're anywhere else but this industrialized college.

    Bang for the buck

    Much more affordable to go here than to start your college experience off at a University. With a few small scholarships I have graduated Richland with no debt.

    What to do for fun

    The school was always having game shows, musical performances, and contests in the student center. Bake sales and craft tables provided students with a shopping outlet. Although there aren't many fun student organizations or clubs, lots of non-credit courses are offered to try different things.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria lacked a lot of fresh foods and healthy options, but they did have the best cookies and their cafe served good coffee at an affordable rate.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there was no on-campus housing, but I preferred it that way.

    Academic Rigor

    I sometimes think that the work load could have been more challenging and that some teachers are inclined to give you a break, but you do learn some good skills with the homework. Richland academics are good for transitioning students who have either been away from college life for awhile or didn't excel in high school. The work load they provide is beneficial in teaching students to plan, organize, multitask and develop introductory critical thinking skills. Since they primarily provide 100 level and some 200 level courses, I think they give a good job overall of providing an educational foundation that fosters curiosity and further exploration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the resources Richland provides. They want you to succeed so they make it easy for you to get tutoring assistance, find resources in the library, and talk to a faculty member if you need help (whether it be with finances, academics, or starting an activity). Take advantage of the student activities and try and stay involved, the more you do the more interesting the school will be. And when it comes to class work, go to class and listen to the teacher, 95% of what they say defines how the exams are laid out.

    In three sentences

    A building-block school for anyone. Staff members that care about the development of their students. There is diversity in the student body.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt threatened nor has there been an incident to make me feel that way. There is security that walks around all day and covers the parking lots too.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone that helps you bond with the professors that host them and to meet many people around the school that have the same yearn for helping others or partaking in different activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, punctual, scholars, people who don't mind mild and low-key surroundings

    Bang for the buck

    They have the best tuition fees for a community college. The classes and professors and the resources are all worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and event happening on campus. A very big event for Richland would be the Farm Progress Show including a large country stars performance each year with a huge turnout from all around the state.

    Food and Dining

    One cafeteria with higher prices, a brand new coffee shop, and vending machines. However, there are food joints in the surrounding area such as a McDonald's and Subway.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned and retained so much more information than I have in any other form of education. The curriculum meets all educational standards in the class that you signed up for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for teacher's who care and for classes that will leave you with valuable information. Attend every class and use the resources provided by the college, including your professors.

    In three sentences

    At first I was hesitant about attending a community college, however, RCC proved me wrong. I wouldn't change my decision and I wish they offered the opportunity to achieve a bachelor's degree. The staff and classes are fantastic.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus security varies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Available clubs and activities through My Richland Calendar

    Great for these types of students

    RCC is great for all types of students. The full and part-time employees seeking degrees for future employment. The college student that chooses to stay close to home and then transfer to a 4 yr college. Homemakers and stay-at-home mothers that want to broaden their horizons. Displaced workers that are forced to change their careers. The person that needs a 'new' hobby. RCC offers a wide variety of classes to meet each and every need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I especially admire the sculpture standing before the entrance of the college. The scupture is made from stainless steel and stands approximately 25 feet tall. It had a box at the base that has diamond shapes to reflect the sun and represents the grain bins of central Illinois. The long strands of metal reaching towards the sky signify the prairie grass that inhabit Central Illinois. At the top of the sculpture are pieces of metal resembling flowers and plants, signifying the growth of food and engergy sources of Decatur, Illinois.

    Bang for the buck

    I was skeptical about going back to school to complete my nursing degree for so many years. Working full time and raising four children as a single mother was challenging enough i thought. The children are grown and have family's of their own now, so I've decided this is 'my' time to fullfill my dream. After walking through the door of the college and talking to some wonderful people that made me feel at ease, I walked out the door an official college student! There will be obstacles and hurdles to endure, but I promise myself I will succeed. I will be an RN one day. I will have shown my children that anything is possible at any age if only you 'walk through the door'.

    What to do for fun

    Check the RCC website for scheduled activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make check lists of criteria to meet. Listen to your counselor and don't be hesitant to ask questions. Remember, the only stupid question is the one that remains unasked. Tour the campus and get familiar with the surroundings.

    In three sentences

    RCC staff are pleasant and very informative. The campus is very accessible to all needs. The 'My Richland' website has every aspect of the school at one's fingertips!

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great way to start

    Bang for the buck

    I love the fact that you are able to get a great education and not go into debt!

    Will learn a lot

    I'm very excited about going here.

  • 01/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a fun and friendly environment. There career driven course makes getting a degree fast and easier. Once you complete the courses you actually feel like your ready to get out there in the work field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to past and present students, they can give you the run around on all the teachers and best classes to be in.

    Bang for the buck

    As an in-district student you cannot beat their prices!! And recently they have started allowing students to rent their books so you save even more money!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the people and the surrounding at Richland! Everyone is so friendly. There career specific classes make me feel like I heading in the right track! I feel like I have more of a hands-on learning then just book learning.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my teacher are very knowledgeable, and they demonstrate that in each class. The ways they teacher makes going to class enjoyable and they are very eager to help all the students learn.