Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ripon College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 08/06/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    much like the small town it is in, in the dorms everybody knows everybody. it's always easy to find something to do wether it's a study group, a board game, or a bunch of people just hanging out there's always something to do.

    In three sentences

    small town school with a very welcoming environment. very helpful and friendly staff and students. provides a great individualized education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unlike almost all colleges i've been to, ripon is very involved in the community and the town loves the students. there is a potluck held by a local church every year on the first week of school. giving students free food which is always a plus when you're trying to pay for college.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs and activities on campus you'll have a hard time choosing which ones to join, i've never heard of anyone not being able to find a club that interests them.

    Campus Safety

    i have never heard of anyone being in actual danger at ripon, in such a small town the police are always willing to do whatever they can to make students and anyone else feel safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    go to as many events for prospective students as possible. it is a great way to meet more people on campus and get any questions answered, even ones you did not think you had.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty decent, definitely not as bad as some colleges i've stayed at. one down side though, is everything closes by 10.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is super high, but you're getting a great education and ripon helps out alot with affordability based on financial need

    Great for these types of students

    ripon is a great school for anyone with multiple interests that wold like to pursue multiple areas of study, or anyone who does better with individualized academic attention.

    What to do for fun

    there's always events going on in town or at the college, and if not there's always friends willing to do whatever. there's a great trail to hike on through campus.

    Greek Life

    being that ripon is a smaller school, sororities and fraternities live in the dorms, which is much different than the typical college experience where they each have their own house. however all sororities at ripon work directly with certain charities such as the ronald mcdonald house to help those in need.

    Academic Rigor

    there are many tough assignments that require extensive research. however, classmates and especially professors are always willing to help

  • 08/02/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    in my one year at ripon so far, i have lost my phone three times and found it an hour later in the exact same spot i left it in. i have not heard of any incident occuring that risked someone's safety or wellbeing. but like any other place, we do have stereotypes that come by and passive aggressive comments here and there.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are multiple extra curricular acticities that spread from cultutral traditions, to socialism, polities, academics, environmental, and sports. we have the multicultural coalition formed by launida, cultural diversity club, feminist group, black student union, and the gay straight alliance

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have one fun weekend called spring fest. the student run organization, ripon live, hires musicians and rock bands to play throuighout the day and carnival type games and attractions. we also have a color run, international fashion show, mock quinceanera party, las posadas, condom fashion shows, i have yet to attend more.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is really high and there could be better equipment and food for it, but ripon helps out alot with financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    there is is always an up-to-date calendar but the mail room that lists all the activities on and sometimes off campus. there are things like club meeting time, party times, musicals, shows, and more. the best thing to do is to find a group you identify with and stick in, go to different events with them and then branch out. socialize and attend different activities. also, always read your emails! there are always events that happen almost daily where you can win a gift card, money!! the only way to get them is to participate and attend. each club sets up activities for campus either as a cultural activity, or a random fun night.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not fantastic, but it is not terrible either. there are three dinning areas on campus and each place has its own menu. you can learn to love it when you deside to try it all and get fun with it; mix up what you get every now and then and try some combinations.

    Dorm Life

    before move in day it is great to attend some programs in the summer like summer orientation to get to know some of your classmates. then, you can select who you think is best fit to be your roomate. one key note is to be one hundred percent honest on your roomate contracts. do not put that you are an earliy riser when you know you like to sleep in. you could end up with a roomate who gets up early and accidentaly wakes you up on their way out. also, you set up a roomate contract when you are both settled in, make sure to establish rules so if there is any trouble, you have that contract to back you up. otherwise, dorm life is great if you role with it. geting to know your hall mates makes is fun to for when you have floor games and actities and for when on that boring night, you ccan do something together in a room or hang out and watch movies in one of the loundges.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your class level and professor, there can be a lot of research for a single assignment, multiple page essays and readings. in some classes, it is essential that your do the readings and assignments in order to understand what is going on. most of your time there is based in self responsibility.

    Tips for prospective students

    come ready with questions and some fsacts. research the school first before arriving and get a basis on what you would like to do there as a full tiime student. visiting when these ideas are already set make it easier for your tour guide or overnight hosts to direct you to the right people and places. again, the best way to make the school great is to take on a lead even before you begin.

    In three sentences

    a small liberal arts school with a small minority population. in proportion to the size and location there are a lot of things you can do for fun in and out of campus. ripon allows for a strong connection with other students and professors, creating a thriving learning enviroonment for those who prefer to actively participate.

  • 01/02/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The small campus is very safe for all people. Campus security is easy to get a hold of if there is an issue and drive around campus occasionally each night.

    Greek Life

    There are a total of 8 greek groups on campus. They live in the dorms and host a variety of charity events and fun activities throughout the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of campus groups and it is easy to start a group. The Student Senate funds organizations and group activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small schools or who performed poorly in a large school with large class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student leave their backpacks in a huge pile outside the Commons when they eat because they trust that no one will steal their stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    The professors and small classes allow students to succeed even in hard classes.

    What to do for fun

    Residence Life offers a lot of events during weekends and SMAC, a campus group, often hosts movie nights, day trips, and games for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Ripon College contracts with Sodexo Food Services. There are three dining areas across campus. The Pub and Terrace only serve meals at certain times of the day and are closed on weekends so the only place to eat on campus is the Commons. The Commons offers a variety of food options each day and is buffet style. Students often feel that the Pub and Terrace do not offer enough food for a meal swipe and should be open during the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has pros and cons. The showers are small but clean. There are a number of bathrooms on each floor so waiting is not a problem. Every building has a variety of study spaces so students don't have to be locked in their rooms. Their are also kitchens in the buildings and students often leave their cooking supplies and food in the fridge because they trust other students. It is not uncommon for people to leave their rooms unlocked because the dorms are truly a safe place.

    Academic Rigor

    Each department is different. The Spanish Department really works with students as they struggle to learn and better their Spanish skills. The Communication Department is rigorous but the information one learns in each class is rewarding. If a student is struggling in any class but does all the work and makes a lot of effort, the professors are great at helping them to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to understand that Ripon College is a small school. It is true when they say everyone knows everyone and if that's not your style then Ripon College isn't the place for you. There are a ton of opportunities to be involved in the community and on campus and the Student Activities Fair at the beginning of the year will help you find clubs you are interested in.

    In three sentences

    Ripon College has given me so many unique opportunities that only a small, liberal arts college can offer. The professors and staff make it a priority that each individual student is doing their best work, both in and out of the classroom. The professors truly want to give students opportunities outside of the classroom with internships, jobs, community services, and research projects.

  • 10/14/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The application and search process ended up being a very nice and personal experience. I received a postcard from a tour guide after a campus visit, and the director of admissions wrote a congratulatory note on the bottom of my acceptance letter. Decisions are made very quickly.

  • 04/21/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small, private school with a friendly environment than this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    I love the way Ripon has treated me throughout the college search process. They really know how to make you feel like one of them even before you have made your final decision. They really make you feel like you count, like you matter to them.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe. Security is willing to give you a ride if you want or need one.

    Greek Life

    They seem fine, but there are rumors like everywhere else.

    Clubs and Activities

    More than enough clubs to satisfy anyone. Activities in some could be more frequent.

    Great for these types of students

    People preferring a really small school, good interaction with professors, and opportunities to work on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our Lincoln statue tends to get a toga every so often.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is going up because we don't have enough people applying, but I love it here.

    What to do for fun

    Find a good group of people to associate with. Many of the events that are set up for us are not as fun as you might hope. The people make it fun.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of options, though not all the time. The commons food quality isn't the best, but you can survive. We have a Starbucks, too.

    Dorm Life

    It can be loud on occasion, but people quiet down if you ask them to.

    Academic Rigor

    You get stressed, but you're supposed to get stressed. It's college. If you're overwhelmed, though, just ask a professor or two for an extension. They're really pretty nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit and talk to students! Talk to professors! Get a feel for the campus. You want to know how you feel here before you make your decision

    In three sentences

    I love having such a small campus. All the teachers are helpful and willing to make sure you can do your best. The community is also one of the most pleasant ones I've found.

  • 02/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great about driving students across campus at night and checking to make sure everyone is safe!

    Greek Life

    Personally, a key selling point. Greek life is a lot of fun and you get a whole new family!

    Clubs and Activities

    GET INVOLVED. There's a lot to do. If we don't have a club you're looking for, MAKE IT!

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a cemetery on campus! Some are freaked out by it, I thought it was a key selling point.

    Bang for the buck

    I could probably be getting the same education for a whole lot cheaper somewhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs or sports and find things to do around the community. There's an ice rink across the street!

    Food and Dining

    It's not the greatest food around, but our action station and bread bar are amazing!

    Dorm Life

    The rooms aren't big, but they're livable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't nearly as hard as I thought they would be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with professors before making your decisions and look at the courses they offer in you intended major.

    In three sentences

    Is a typical liberal arts school. Its small class sizes are fantastic! I would recommend Ripon College to anyone interested in the arts.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college pays a ton of my tuition, so I get a lot of bang for the little buck that I pay.

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with friends, build forts, and watch movies while eating cheesy bread from Domino's. There will be dance parties now and then, but the real fun starts when you and your friends come home from all the partying and get some nice SLEEP!

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, compared to the rest of the colleges nearby. However, school food get old real fast. You'll miss your mama's cooking! But don't fret, every now and then, the chefs will take it up a notch by incorporating a theme in their foods, for example: Argentinian cuisine, French dinner, Vietnamese lunch, ect.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. My room is bigger than my room back home. My building has an elevator, which is great. We have free laundry machines and a kitchen at our disposal. Did I mention free WiFi? What more do you need?

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging enough. I have learned more in one semester of college than I have learned in four years of high school. It's amazing!

    Tips for prospective students

    You will quickly find a group of friends you can count on. Everyone here is really friendly. Ask anyone for questions!

    In three sentences

    Ripon College is most notable for its rigorous academic program and its friendly student body and staff. I decided to come to Ripon, despite the weather change, because I felt like I could fit in well. The number of students here is small, but the students themselves are so diverse that anyone is bound to find a group of people they can relate to!

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Couldn't be any safer.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life on Campus is actually pretty surprising. Movies normally display people in fraternities and sororities to be mean people, but not here at Ripon College. Everyone has a chance, if you want to join they're happy to accept.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated before the clubs are phenomenal. Theres many you choose from and if you're unsatisfied with them all you have the opportunity to start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    For student who like to be involved on campus Ripon's small size allows you the opportunity to get elbows deep in whatever you want as long as its provided.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not many unusual places but if you're looking for a good burger Zuzaks is the place to go!

    Bang for the buck

    Ripon College I like a second home. I've experienced a little difficulty with financial issues but I couldn't see myself being any where else. I come from a big city where many of are just a number, but at Ripon College I feel like a person. My peers are nice and my professors are wonderful. I love this place!

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in many organizations on campus. I am the treasurer for both the groups College Democrats and Black Student Union, an I participate in Rrumba, Cultural Diversity Club and the Blue Mountain project. Ripon also provide its students with two gyms, so when I get bored I can go down to the gym and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a very specific person when it comes down to eating. The food to me is ok, and horrible to some, but the desserts are always amazing. Can someone say freshman 15?

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing! Carpeted floors, nice windows and I you've had enough of eating cafeteria food you can take a stroll to the kitchen an chef up some stuff! The dorms are a great place to hang out and if you love music you can go down to one of the lounges and play the piano (one of my daily routines).

    Academic Rigor

    It's a private liberal arts college so of course it's extremely demanding. But as long as you study you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself while you're here. Take a look around; make your tour guide show you the prairie and please try some of the Ripon good cookies before you go!

    In three sentences

    Ripon College is by far, one of the greatest colleges in the world. The small school size provides an easy environment for connecting with peers, staff and professors. Everyone here is friendly and welcoming, I'm glad to be called a Ripon College student!

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, even while walking alone at night. Campus security is always around if they're needed, but that isn't often.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is active, and a productive part of campus life without causing the disturbances stereotypically define greek life on college campuses. Our sororities and fraternities support charities with their events and provide a second family to students who decide to join a greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are almost too many clubs on campus, but if one doesn't exist that a student thinks should, it can be easily created. There are intramural sports, volunteer groups, outdoor clubs, and those for every type of special interest activity.

    Great for these types of students

    Ripon College is great for students who want the small college experience; when they want to be taught by a professor who will know his or her name because of the small class sizes. It is a college for those who want all the opportunites of a big school, but with more indvidualized attention. It's also a great place for students who prefer a small town feel and a close-knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best part of campus is the Ceresco Prarie, which is a nature conservancy that the college owns and maintains. It is beautiful and a good place to escape from campus for awhile.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school when you just look at the proce tag, but it's worth it. Generous cholarships and grants make tuition affordable, and even though it may still cost more than some other schools, you won't find a better education for the price anywhere. Students are taught by knowledgeable and caring professors who are available to help. There is a student help center, including a place where students can have their papers proof read and receive help revising them.

    What to do for fun

    There's not too many things to do in the town of Ripon beside going somewhere to eat, but that lack is made up for by the activity on campus. Students here are involved in a plethora of extracurricular activities and most students are involved in multiple activities every semester. Play intramurals or join a club or volunteer in the Ripon community if you have some free time.

    Food and Dining

    There are 4 places to eat on campus, including Starbucks. The main dining area, the Commons, is all-you-can-eat which is fantastic, and there are other dining locations where you can snack or grab food during hours when the Commons is closed. The hours of the dining areas aren't as long as at a larger university, but the quality and caring staff can't be beat.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is awesome since almost all students live on campus. There are 7 dorm buildings, and offer something for everyone. Some of the buildings are older and the kitchens aren't the best though.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not impossible. Professors are approachable and encourage colaboration among students. It takes work, but it is entirely possible to get good grades here and learn important lessons in the process.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit Ripon. If it is the right college for you, you will fall in love with it almost immediately. When you visit, take a tour and see about sitting in on a class; that's how you can really get a feel for this place.

    In three sentences

    Ripon College is an incredible place, and I am honored to be a student here. The atmosphere here is unbeatable; everyone is friendly and willing to help others. Our motto is: More Together, and we do just that as a college community.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great!

    Greek Life

    many opportunities

    Clubs and Activities

    too many too count

    Great for these types of students

    those who want a strong liberal arts education with the ability to have small class size and leass big box lectures

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Huge community involvement in the College

    Bang for the buck

    world class science department

    What to do for fun

    sports, rippin good cookie outlet!, hiking, biking, fishing, ice skating- you name it!

    Food and Dining

    great!

    Dorm Life

    looks good!

    Academic Rigor

    good

    Tips for prospective students

    Go early- competitive placement and small class size makes the spots fill up early

    In three sentences

    Top notch faculty with small classes.Very nice campus- compact, easy to navigate. Great student body and surrounding community!

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can walk alone at night and not fear for your safety! Plus, campus security is on-call during the evenings and nights so if you have to walk somewhere you can call an escort, and all the security members are very friendly!

    Greek Life

    Can't really say, I haven't had a lot of experience with the sororities and fraternities on campus, but all the students I've met who are a part of these organizations are very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ripon has a fantastic variety of clubs and activities, and if they don't have what you want, you can start your own club! That's how the school's fencing and equestrian clubs got started.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated students who want a challenge!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Instead of calling incoming students freshmen, they are first-years.

    Bang for the buck

    Great financial aid options, and you certainly get what you pay for, but some loans will probably be necessary.

    What to do for fun

    Ripon has some great shops downtown, and a party or school-sponsored activity is always going on during the weekends, and most weeknights as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it gets very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    The school tries to match up compatible room mates, but they don't always succeed. Also, freshmen can get suites, with three other people, but after your first year you get just one room mate and a double room.

    Academic Rigor

    Great professors and interesting classes that challenge students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your work, go to class, and be smart about your choices, and success will come your way!

    In three sentences

    Ripon College is absolutely wonderful! The professors are knowledgeable and willing to help, and the class variety is immense. The only drawback might be that getting approval to live off-campus is difficult.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe. Every night Ripon College vans can be seen driving around the campus making sure everyone is safe and they can even be called if you don't feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs it's hard to keep track of them all. Every Tuesday the school has a Golden Hour which usually has fun activities that help develop the learning experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who enjoys focusing on school during the week and partying on the weekend would love it here. There are still things to during the week if you join clubs!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ripon actually has a Pub that used to serve beverages before the drinking age was made official and is still being used today as a place to get food.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Ripon is basically connected to the college, everything is within walking distance. There are so many clubs on campus and there are often a lot of dances hosted by the school and other organizations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is edible but can get tiring after a while. Don't be afraid to check out the other places around campus. All the dining areas are cleaned and well maintained.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are normally quiet during the day and after 10 o'clock at night. On weekends there is obviously more noise but it quiets down on Sundays. The dorms are cleaned every week day and it is easy to get a hold of any cleaning supplies needed.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic prospect of college is very important, but don't get overloaded. Allow some down time for your mind between papers and reports but make sure they are all done when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get out there. College life can be pretty scary at first but once you meet with an amazing group of people, time flies by.

    In three sentences

    Ripon College has a fun enjoyable atmosphere with teachers that make learning fun. The advisers are very understanding and knowledgeable about all majors. All buildings on campus are within walking distance and the grounds are always very well taken care of.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY seldom does anything bad happen on campus. I've been here for 4 months now and I have never seen anything serious happen.

    Greek Life

    Many different Greek life. All Greek life live in dorms so that they are more involved with other students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs. From volunteer work, to club sports, theater and cultural activities, endless activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students will fit in at Ripon. Ripon is very accepting and there is no separation between students.

    Bang for the buck

    Ripon is expensive, but they always offer amazing scholarships. They will help you make it very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do. There are always activities going on on campus. There are plays, games, sports and clubs, and if that doesn't interest you, there is always something to do with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not equivalent to home cooking, but is definitely not as bad as it could be. Most of it is pretty decent.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part the dorm life is pretty decent. Not a whole lot of trouble, but if something does happen, the residence assistants are on it.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are strict on completed work, but if you ask them questions, they will always help. If you need an extension on an assignment, most are flexible and will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask anyone for help. Whether it be a student or Staff, they will help you, or at least point you to someone who can. Also don't be afraid to talk to Professors, they are extremely helpful and they will never treat you as a number. Most professors I have know my name.

    In three sentences

    Very small, private college. A lot of one on one with the Professors, very friendly atmosphere. Unlimited help everywhere you go. One of the best colleges in my opinion.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have really good secturity guards, and a lot of them know you by name!

    Greek Life

    Three sororities, 4 fraternities, and one co-ed fraternity!

    What to do for fun

    Join the groups! I never thought that I would ever join a greek organization, but I ended up joining Theta Sigma Tau, a co-ed fraternity, and I love all my brothers and sisters!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have the money for this school, and join lots of things!

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school, with a lot of good classes, but super expensive!!

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. Security will escort you anywhere on campus if needed. There is also a lot of trust among students- backpacks can be left almost anywhere without fear of theft.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for every interest you could want, and if there isn't than there is definitely room to create one.

    Bang for the buck

    Ripon is expensive but there is a lot of financial aid available on campus. There are a lot of resources on campus, as well as a close knit community because the student body is only 1000. The beautiful grounds and buildings, friendly professors and numerous resources and events are definitely worth the expense if you want a liberal arts education.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty varied- there are three places to eat. The Pub serves fast food, the Terrace serves pizza and sandwiches, and the Commons is a basic all you can eat cafeteria, that's open for all three meals, every day.

    Dorm Life

    At Ripon, living on campus is mandatory unless you petition the dean and housing director to live off campus. The dorms are not incredibly new or up to date, but are very well kept and are a pretty good size. There are quiet hours every night as well. Parties do happen, but nothing crazy.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic setting at Ripon is non-competitive and professors are very open and friendly. One on one time isn't hard to come by. The freshman classes aren't overwhelming, especially because class sizes are kept small. There is a stringent academic honesty policy as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    A visit to the campus is definitely a must, you'll know for sure if it's the right school for you the moment you step on campus. Also, make an appointment with the financial aid office and/or the head professors of your prospective major, for more information on whether Ripon fits you and your budget.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like one on one time with professors and want to me a science major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a freshman live in the tri dorms and get a suit because you will be able to meet many people all at one time. Try new things but be safe

    Bang for the buck

    Every penny I spend is worth it. The professors are always there to help and make sure I graduate and will be able to continue to be successful in the future

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small so everyone knows everyone and because of that people are kind and become close friends. There is always something to do and the college has different events ever week that students can participate in so you never have a chance to be bored.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors help me and want me to get every piece of information I can get out of the class that I am enrolled in. They try to do anything they can to make sure I am learning everything possible

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Biology, Chemistry, and Anthropology departments are wonderful. I've also heard many good things about the History department. Those are only the ones that I've taken classes in and not previously mentioned. There are many wonderful teachers. If you are a geek (like me) you will fit right in. The college accepts all types of people. Since it is a small college, students don't have to specialize and can be involved in many different organizations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for the FYS (first year seminar) courses. Some are amazing, and some are...not. Pick ones you think you would enjoy and go for it. Also, during the first week, get out and participate in the activities that the Orientation Committee offers. They sound dorky, but they're a lot of fun. Watch the posters around the school, and actually look at the calender of events e-mail and you will always find things to do. For visiting students, go sit on the couches below the commons. There's a fireplace there, they the couches are some of the most comfortable around. There are always people sleeping on them. Especially during exam week. Ask your guide anything, and I mean anything. Don't be shy. We're all nice people.

    Bang for the buck

    Ripon is expensive. There is no denying this. If you don't receive ANY scholarships, it is probably not worth attending. However, that is very rare. Most students receive quite a few scholarships and grants. The application is free, so I'd recommend applying and seeing what you get. You can always simply not enroll if it is too expensive, or not enough financial aid is offered.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the college. The people are really friendly, and the campus is safe. I left my door unlocked all year and nothing happened. The food is decent (it's still mass-produced, but it could be a lot worse) and if you are on the 20 meal plan, there is no way you will ever go hungry. Even though Ripon is a small town, there are always events going on, and I have never been bored.

    Am learning a lot

    I just finished my first year at Ripon College, and am still in the midst of many introductory courses, but I am learning a lot. As a helpful hint to all future students, Ripon does not require its students to take a course in mathematics. However, if you do choose to take these courses (especially Calculus I and II like I did) be wary. They are difficult, and what math isn't, but if you maintain a good work ethic you learn more than you would think possible. In all, the majority of the classes are interesting and informative.