Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY College at Potsdam Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/01/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been researching this school for quite some time now and I am finding it to be a sufficient school. I am looking to attain a Major in English with a Minor in Creative writing; this school offers the listed.

  • 02/08/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GoodI guess

    Greek Life

    Eh- don't see much

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are alright-nothing special

    Great for these types of students

    People who like areas with a population number of 2 and people who LOVE -30 degree weather

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth the money. Schools like half emptylike come on its just not worth it, and the campus looks better online.

    What to do for fun

    The little campus activiites I guess idk i hate it here so

    Food and Dining

    This is the only good thing about the school- the food. It's great in Leehman, its an all you can eat buffet but dont eat too much or you'llget fat haha. THE ONLY ISSUE I HAVE IS THAT IT CLOSES SO RIDCULOUSLY EARLY AND THE SCHEUDLE IS SO LIMITED WHICH MAKES YOU HAVE TO RUSH TO GET THERE

    Dorm Life

    I hate it, and that's only because I ended up with a roomate who went home on the weekends- but maybe it'll be different for you? I don't know, my floormates are kinda weird and loud and the room is depressing because its small and has ugly white walls. You need a car for eveyrthing but evenif you did have a car there slittle to nothing to do in this town its literally in the middle of no where- JUST DONT COME HERE [PLEASE SAVE YOURSELF BEFOREITS TOO LATE

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are fine... if you have a science major be prepared to be stressed.

    Tips for prospective students

    PLEASE VISIT BEFORE COMING HERE- I DIDN'T AND NOW I'M STUCK HERE BECAUSE OF FINANCIAL AID ISSUES AND I'M MISERABLE. Also, try to meeta lot of people tohave connections? But be where of bitches... because some of the staff are not even nice.

    In three sentences

    Worst Experience Ever. The school does horrible advertising. Online and in the catalogues they make the school seem twenty times better than it really is. The school is ridiculously under populated. Most ofthe time that i'm here I ask myself :...Where is everybody??? There's not much campuslife so don't come here if that's what you want. ( especially if youre from the city like me- its a depressing change)

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe on campus, but U.P is more into busting people for drinking than anything else.

    Greek Life

    Greek life definitely exists, but many of the fraternities and sororities have been banned from campus. Choose your house wisely if you decide to pledge after your first semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of diversity on campus! There are so many different clubs (look on SUNY Potsdam's website for a full list)

    Great for these types of students

    Those who love music, diversity, or want the opportunity to try out a lot of different majors. Even if you are not majoring in music but still want to be involved, join any of the choirs or a cappella groups on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Potsdam Plunge is when you get dared to jump in the Raquette River when it's cold out.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY schools are cheaper and deliver a quality education similar to private schools.

    What to do for fun

    Go into town to see a movie, parties are always fun, join clubs or performing groups on campus!

    Food and Dining

    Recently added a Starbucks in the new Performing Arts center! Campus also has an all you can eat dining hall, several food places in the student union, as well as a Tim Hortons.

    Dorm Life

    Slowly renovating dorms. Freshmen should definitely stay in Bowman East or West! Bowman South, Lehman, and Draime are also good places to live (besides the townhouses of course).

    Academic Rigor

    Some students are motivated, others not so much. Do your work, and you'll earn the grade you deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! You'll either love it or hate it. If you come here, buy a lot of winter clothes because it gets cold. Make sure to have a pair or two of shorts for the random heat waves.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a great school for music (performance, business, and education) and education. The students in general are very active around campus when it comes to activities. No matter what your interests are, you will have no problem finding something to do.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and sports that someone can join.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main thing that you will need to prepare for is the winter, people come here and they like it up until it starts snowing and the temperatures get down in the negatives.

    In three sentences

    This college is great. The classes usually are not too big and the professors want to help you succeed. If you want to be in smaller college with great people this is the place to go.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Has a huge assortment of Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are smart but may not have done well on tests like the SAT or ACT. People who prefer small towns and being close to nature than the city.

    Food and Dining

    Has the best rated food in the SUNY System so you can't argue there.

    Dorm Life

    Small but nicer than dorms I've seen on larger campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Can't speak for myself since I haven't started attending yet. Many of my friends who attend say as long as you try and work hard its not bad.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam was the perfect fit for me. Its a lovely little campus with people who really feel passionate about the school. Many of my friends have attended or are attending including some of my teachers so I am happy that I chose this school.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Everything... 50+ clubs plus you can create your own club , get involved in town and there are lots of opportunities to do something.

    Food and Dining

    They are the #1 out of all the SUNY schools.

    Dorm Life

    The building a are old but they are so much fun to be in .., you get to meet new people and you have fun as a floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't that hard and they assign what is on the syllabus just follow it and you will be perfectly be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Get warm clothes... It does get cold Ask your professors if you can actually have an ebook in their class room Make sure your emails to your professor is professional Be at your class at least 5-10 minutes early REMEMBER IT IS YOU WHO IS WASTING YOUR MONEY IF YOU SKIP CLASS

    In three sentences

    Potsdam is a very diverse and loving campus. It has multiple things going on each day to get you involved. Also the campus has to be one of the best that I have seen. That is why I chose to go here.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are actually state troopers and can help you if anything really bad happens. Also they patrol 24/7, the campus is equip with phones that connects you right to U.P

    Greek Life

    I don't belong to Greek Life but all the members always wear their names on their shirts and are together.

    Clubs and Activities

    I belong to ASL (American Sign Language) and Snowboarding club. Both always keeps you in the loop of the student government. They also use social media which keeps you in the loop if their doing a mixer or changing the time their meeting up.

    Great for these types of students

    Art students! This is the school for you. Professors are top notch in this department and are completely capable to help you improve your ability to create art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maxy's Rock Wall is a very unusual place for a college. But it's useful to keep in shape and enjoy time with friends.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY CHEAP! it's honestly very affordable, but you wouldn't know that because it's a really put together school.

    What to do for fun

    Rock climbing on the rockwall at maxy, enjoying a dip at the indoor swimming pool; shooting some pool at pete's place. Those are just a fraction of what you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING!! voted #1 in the SUNY system. You won't find a bad thing on the menu whether your vegetarian, vegan or love cheeseburgers you'll enjoy the food.

    Dorm Life

    Never had a bad experience. Dorms are standard, some building just remolded with new bathrooms and rugs. Some buildings are old and need to get redone.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly it's not that hard if you stay on track with all your homework. Professors are always there if you fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aim high and enjoy every minute because it goes by very quickly. Take advantage of all the resources they have like the writing center or the career center. Get involved there's no reason to be bored because there's always something to do.

    In three sentences

    Benefits of a large campus without the large amount of people. Great people and location, filled with opportunities. Students and staff alike make it a home away from home.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are easy to contact, I see them driving around a lot, also there a poles around campus and if you push the button one of the officers will come to you. In every dorm building on every floor there is a phone in the hallway that when you pick it up it calls the university police for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs range from swing club to harry potter alliance to Beat the monster (our breast cancer awareness club), we also have a knitting club that is nation wide. There are about a 100 cubs!

    Great for these types of students

    Dance and Performance students, also music students.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is not very expensive compared to private universities. Also the meal plan is worth the food there

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun, Potsdam has many clubs, and there is always something going on, example every friday the school plays a movie and has something free at it, twice a week you can skate in the hockey rink, there is a nice gym and fitness center. Also in town there is a movie theatre and every Tuesday students can watch movies for 5 dollars.

    Food and Dining

    Rated number one in the SUNY System. It is so good!

    Dorm Life

    Knowles is the building I live in and it's not as nice as the other buildings, but it is closer to the academic buildings and the rooms are bigger.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good school

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for snow and cold. The food is so good, watch out for the freshman 15.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a small campus, which is really nice. It has great professors. The campus is enjoyable to live in.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    piotsdam has its own police force - safety is of the utmost concern

    Greek Life

    not joined yet

    Clubs and Activities

    diversified clubs and activities for all

    Great for these types of students

    if you are the outdoors type and are into outdoor sports like cycling, skiing, skateboarding, then this area of ny state is for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    have not come across any yet....

    Bang for the buck

    dorm and meal plan

    What to do for fun

    roller blade, bike ride or skate board around campus, go out to the local bars, go to stewarts for some homemade fresh food, take a walk to walmart, vacation in the beautiful adirondacks, take a trip to canada

    Food and Dining

    paces - food is awesome - something for everyone

    Dorm Life

    love my roomie - dorm life is awesome. we all get along and help each other out

    Academic Rigor

    it all comes down to the individual - the professors are excellent, but what you get out of it is entirely up to you

    Tips for prospective students

    dress warmly, bring boots, bring heavy coats, keep a positive attitude and an open mind

    In three sentences

    the staff and the current students at potsdam were extremely friendly and helpful. the campus is scenic, pastoral and rural. you do a lot of walking.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a night club on campus, Hurley's, and they have live music every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious!!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I don't know first hand, but I've heard they're very good.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are moderately difficult depending on the professor and the class, but if you work with your professor and find your learning style then you can excel in every class.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a great school all around. The professors are attentive and helpful. The SUNY Potsdam food service, PACES, is rated #1 in the whole SUNY system. The staff everywhere on campus are kind and very helpful.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am an art studio and a dance major if you want to practice after school hours the art studio is opened to any one who wants to use it until 11:45 pm. The dance studio is open until 11 pm.

    Food and Dining

    The food is AMAZING Potsdam is ranked number one in the country!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great way to make friends and start your Potsdam family. Also it's a great way to learn how to deal with certain people.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some professors that make the course difficult and there are some that make it easy. Make a connection with them and don't be afraid to ask them for help or for advice.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to have the best college experience in SUNY Potsdam I encourage you to study hard and reward yourself when needed. Also USE THE RESOURCES they offer you.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a wonderful college. The educational experience has opened my mind and helped me mature in other subjects and my concentrated area of study. I have also matured socially, meeting the people I have in Potsdam have taught me to take a more mature approach about life.

  • 04/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops are all over campus.

    Greek Life

    Lacks diversity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not enough school spirit.

    Great for these types of students

    Country side students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an obsession with a silly game called vampires and zombies. Students who sign up for this game basically carry guns around like 8-yr olds hunting each other down.

    Bang for the buck

    Good financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Friday movie night in the main cafeteria. Few fun frat parties off campus

    Food and Dining

    Great food. The one best thing about the school. Dining is rated # 1 in SUNY

    Academic Rigor

    Fair

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to spend about 10 hrs on the bus if u live in NY city. Bring heavy winter gear. It snows and rains a lot!!!!

    In three sentences

    The weather is always cold makes it depressing. Fun activities if one enjoys outdoor activities. Food on campus is great. Classes are good. School lacks diversity and students are mainly in cliques. It gets boring after awhile.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are not as efficient as other colleges. SUNY Potsdam is not a gated campus but students tend to feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    SUNY Potsdam is a huge lover of clubs. There is many club events that are free! The Student Government program funds these clubs for what ever that clubs wants to do. students travel to different countries during their summers or even different states for the weekend. If this is not enough there is always the off campus bar/club Duffs that is great for dancing and music.

    Bang for the buck

    Although foods on campus are very expensive. There are plenty of opportunities to get food for free through campus events.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to choose from and events that are run by the SES (student entertainment services) club down at club Hurleys. if your not sure what to do with your Friday nights you have the option of going to see a play or concert in Crane, a school most famously known for its devotion to music.

    Food and Dining

    Although there are many different entrees to choose from. You do tent to get bored of eating the same things over and over but there is always the option of ordering chinese or going off campus to the local McDonald or subways. Campus food prices are very expensive even with a meal plan. i suggest apply for all flex and bear when you reach your sophomore year.

    Dorm Life

    Usually quiet and very open. many activities on campus are created for dorm residents to enjoy time together with there neighbors or room mates.

    Academic Rigor

    Here you will find that there are many students who apply themselves and are very focused and their future. The staff and teachers are always available because of the 15:1 Student/Faculty Ratio.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student who a plans to attend Potsdam must be open to new and different things. staying isolated to ones self prevents many opportunities to learn new things. Do not be afraid to join a club. The creative ideas and unique spirit of the college students are what keeps SUNY Potsdam running towards the future. Here we are allowed to have a voice. Though we are miles away from the city, many people believe that we do not exist but we are here and we are no less determined that any other college students. anyone who attends Potsdam must have an open mind and i guarantee that you will learn something new about yourself. i myself learn something new very day.

    In three sentences

    A very small community that is seems to be isolated from the rest of the world. Many people are very friendly and willing to be the first to say hello. Although it gets very cold most of the time and fashion does not become a priority, there are many beautiful sites to see in this peaceful little town of Potsdam.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Dorm to gain an experience of being on your own and always do a study abroad!

    In three sentences

    Great Professors, small community horrible weather.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of choices. They have healthy foods. They have great food.

    Dorm Life

    I love Draime! It is a great dorm. It is very close to everything.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers and great classes offered.

    In three sentences

    Great school with alot of things to do. Great professors who actually care about your grades. Great places to eat.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety always on the lookout for people that need help or doing the wrong things.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is amazing here. I would definitely recommend this school if you want to live it the way they do in college.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities such as Zumba, Potsdam Pitches which are singers in a group that perform they also have an all male acapella and girls too. They also have Frisbee, Rugby, Latinos Unidos, Black Student Alliance.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love Greek life Potsdam is the place to be !

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One location everyone loves is the Quad Its in the middle of the freshman dorms and some sophomores. We hangout in the summer and play Frisbee, Hula-hoop, and do pretty much anything.

    What to do for fun

    Go to town and eat Little Italy's which is the best pizza after a lot of beer, Watch a movie at the Roxy, Party, Go skiing and snowboarding, they also have cute shops and the thrift shops here are the best for when you need to go to a party theme.

    Food and Dining

    Number one rated out of all SUNY schools !! They literally have the best Sandwiches ever !

    Dorm Life

    They are co-ed pretty spacious. In your second semester your allowed to move into a suite.We always have events going on like spirit week,bear pride and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard you have to take them seriously or you will fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to apply Potsdam may have it's ups and down but overall I have made a group of friends that will stick forever.

    In three sentences

    Best Greek Life !

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of show, or concert, or activity that's planned. A lot of the clubs do social events, along with the Greek life events. There are also intramural sports. There's plenty of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There are so many options, and it's all readily available. We were rated number one in the SUNY system!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is average. Some of the rooms are nicer than others, but I know they're going to be redoing a lot of campus, so that will probably change in the coming years.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that it's not stiflingly hard, and in some cases it's a bit easy, but it all depends on the professor and type of class. Personally, being in Crane, there is a certain standard you have to meet that's not super challenging, but it's not something you can breeze through.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd definitely say be prepared for the cold weather. It gets mighty chilly up here, and you'll definitely need the extra layers.

    In three sentences

    I think SUNY Potsdam is a very good school because of the opportunities you have here. Not only was the food rated number one in the SUNY system, but there's a plenty of chances for first-class entertainment from the Crane School of Music, along with various clubs and activities going on around campus. It's so easy to feel involved and get into something, which is just as important as the learning aspect of college life.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life doesn't run the campus, but is alive and well. No one looks down on you if you aren't Greek, but there is definitely a great bond between the brothers and sisters of the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are interested in the arts, this school is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY prices, great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your applications in when you can, make sure they are complete. Admissions is very friendly and willing to help get you moving in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam really cares about it's students. I always feel comfortable walking around campus at any time of day or night. The professors are willing to help you if you ask for it.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They are many college events on campus and sometimes in town.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Were number 1 in the SUNY system for food.

    Dorm Life

    My roommate is my high school best friend so we had no problems and they provide the basic things.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate! There are many events going on and friends you can make, but you also have work. Do the work first, play later. It will pay off.

    In three sentences

    At SUNY Potsdam the professors are very nice and helpful. There is many different kinds of students and you can make many friends. The small student to teacher ratio definitely helps out in the learning process.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are amazing and the campus feels safe. You don't have to worry or feel paranoid if you are out after dark.

    What to do for fun

    The campus holds a lot of events for students to attend to so you never get bored.

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Potsdam was voted number one in the SUNY food service system.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly. If you are an incoming freshmen I suggest trying to get into Bowman. If you are going for Crane, Knowles is closer to that area of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early... you might get more aid that way.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing. The food is great. The campus is pretty.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police... Always on the prowl.

    Greek Life

    Find your right group of people. If Greek life isn't for you, don't live it. I plan on Pledging Sophomore year.

    Great for these types of students

    You should really be prepared for fun, random, weirdness. Doesn't hurt to be friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a beautiful campus. Hanging out in the Bowman Quad is always fun, easy way to meet other freshman living in the Bowman area,

    What to do for fun

    ANYTHING! Get out there and try EVERYTHING!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Potsdam is amazing!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. It really just depends on who you are surrounded by and where you are living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. The parties and the friends are fun, but they won't help you pass and no one likes being on academic probation.

    In three sentences

    My first semester at SUNY Potsdam was amazing. It's definitely what you make of it. Some love it (like myself) and others hate it.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In the arts/music/dance field.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms suck. They are really small, most have bad reception with the wi-fi.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class, but you won't find many students who slept well through the semester

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring the heaviest winter coat you can find. Become familiar with the fitness centers, because you will gain weight without them.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is nice in the small ratio between students and professors. There are some great professors here and quite a bit of poor/mediocre professors. The food is good, and the environment is nice, excluding the freezing winters.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police lights everywhere, so if you're afraid to walk back to your dorm after a late class or you feel threatened, you can call and will be taken care of quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you're interested in it, there's a club for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't afraid of putting themselves out there. It's a lively campus, which encourages participation in many aspects.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Library study rooms are so nice to relax in!

    Bang for the buck

    I wish the cost was a little lower, but you still get a lot of stuff for a (relatively) cheap price.

    What to do for fun

    There's always tons to do- from Bowman Brew, to Coffeehouse, to catching a movie at the Roxy, to even just playing X-box in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    There's always many choices, which is nice. Some dining places (like Dexter's) only take flex or bear, and not meals, but it's still affordable. The Union alone has 8 places to get food.

    Dorm Life

    I'm in Bowman South, which happens to be the farthest away from the academic buildings, which is a minus. However, the building is newly reconstructed in some areas, which is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I'm taking are challenging, but do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply! Although it's in a smaller area, there's still lots to do, but you don't feel overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    Potsdam is a small, but not too small, campus. The choices for food are excellent. There are always many activities going on.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very well lit, and there are police boxes within reach at all times. University Police has a presence when needed. There is also a new night guide team that you can call to walk with you place late at night.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't really a big part of the campus, as they don't really have a strong presence. SUNY Potsdam however does have a lot of them, and from what I hear some of them are really nice and can be a good experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many! I'm a member of lots of them, and even if you aren't a member there are lots of events to go to that they sponser.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for outdoorsy students and also those who like small schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SUNY Potsdam is more known for the Crane School of Music. It is a big deal here, and there is a bit of a separation between the two schools. When non-Crane students go to the Crane buildings it is noticeable.

    Bang for the buck

    SUNY Potsdam is a relatively cheap school to attend, as long as you get financial aid. I have been receiving loans to pay for about half of every bill, and so it gets pretty rough.

    What to do for fun

    The area is really nice for hiking if you are an outdoorsy person. There are also a lot of clubs to join that do a lot. There are often trips to go on through the school as well, such skiing trips in the winter.

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Potsdam is rated the best food in all SUNY, so it must be good. It's not bad, but they do have a lot of variety which can be very important when you start to get sick of eating campus food. There are some really nice places that have café or bistro type food, and those are the best.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived on-campus all 4 years I've been here and haven't had any problems. The nicest place to live is Lehman, where you can have a suite of a few people. As a freshman they generally place you in Bowman. Bowman has just had lots of renovations so it's actually nice there now too. They provide some kitchens to share in the buliding. My complaint would be that there are lots of fire alarms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors require more academic rigor than others. I am a Biology student here and it requires a lot of work. However, SUNY Potsdam is not really known for this department, and because of that the academic rigor is not as bad as it could be. Most professors are extremely helpful with working with you in your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be far away from home. This isn't a problem for some people, but Potsdam is pretty far from most places. That being said, it is worth it to be so far. Find something you might be interested in doing here, like a club or hobby, and be active in finding them here.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a wonderful and friendly place. It is a fairly small school, but there are also countless opportunities so it is not limiting. Faculty and students are all extremely helpful and friendly.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our campus police do their job wonderfully.

    Greek Life

    their are also alot of sororities and fraternities around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    great for music and education students.

    What to do for fun

    Visit market street to catch a movie at the roxy, join plenty of clubs. Have fun at a weekend sporting event.

    Food and Dining

    be ready for loads of unhealthy food.

    Dorm Life

    so far so good although the janitorial staff does not do their job properly.

    Academic Rigor

    So far the classes have been easy at least for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your from a warm place make sure you bring plenty of winter stuff it gets very cold here early. make sure you stay on top of your email and work.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff here are absolutely wonderful. The area is beautiful and the classes are decent. there are plenty of fun and entertaining things to do here.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are actually sheriff's, not mall cops so they take an issue seriously. Easy to contact if needed and really care about the students.

    Greek Life

    Great greek life but it's not a forced thing to be a part of. The people who are involved obviously love it but it's not a huge thing either.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many awesome opportunities and it's easy to set up your own if the one you want isn't available! Even as a freshman!

    Great for these types of students

    Great option if you can't or don't want to go to Juilliard for music and great for theatre and dancer students. Also big on education programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this Find a Bear game every year where they give you clues every day about a wooden bear that's hidden on campus. If you find it you win $500 towards the college bookstore. We also have a Humans Vs. Zombie game which a lot of people seem into and have a lot of fun with.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth more than state tuition but it's perfect since you don't have to pay more than that for an amazing college experience.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and there's at least one for everyone. There are also constant auditions for performances for dancers and/or actors. And there's the typical greek life of course.

    Food and Dining

    VOTED #1 FOOD IN ALL THE SUNYs and there's a reason. The food is the best and the food plans are awesome for first year. It seems confusing at first but isn't once you get on campus.

    Dorm Life

    My suggestion for first year is Bowman East or West FYE. I love my floor and all the girls on it. Our RA and mentor are the greatest and I hear it's the same on all of the other Bowman East and West floors.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great. That's from my point of view and others. Just make time you need to study, get it done and you have the rest of the time to do what you want. Take advantage of the FIGs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Potsdam has so much to offer for anyone. Take advantage of all that you can

    In three sentences

    As soon as I visited as a senior in high school it became my number one choice. It's a perfect size, everyone is friendly and there is a lot of support for students. Great for anyone from any background.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many camps events to attend. You can join a variety of clubs and organizations. There are also places you can just hang out it and play pool or darts or even video games.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, defiantly better then high school cafeteria food but still miss home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    The school is being renovated and I was lucky to live in one of the newest buildings but not all the school is up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    Its very easy to get overwhelmed with classes and homework but there are many services the school offers to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and make sure your ready for the transition in environment and weather.

    In three sentences

    SUNY College at Potsdam is very quiet and a good learning environment because you have less distractions. Is is very different from the city and if your not involved on campus there's really nothing else to do. In the end it is a good school but a shock for me coming from the city.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. They have the blue light phone boxes everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    Our Rugby club is awesome. It's my life at Potsdam. The friends you meet through it are some of the best. It's the best decision I could have made

    What to do for fun

    Joining a club or intramural can keep you busy and engaged. The school also provides weekly things to do. And the little town of Potsdam is within walking distance

    Food and Dining

    There's a lot of places to eat on campus. We are known in the SUNY system for our good food. We have multiple places that are like a la carte or all you can eat buffet. The food services really cater to the students and stay open late for some midnight munchies!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are really nice! And then some are nothing special, but no matter what you can make the best of what you get and look forward to getting in nicer buildings. The R.A's are very helpful and understanding. There's no curfew or anything. You may come and go as you please. Also the R.A's put on weekly activities to help the floor bond.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes vary from like 20 people in the classroom and up to 250. I like more one on one environments and thats what I got in most of my classes. Ive meet some teachers I really enjoy and can't wait to take more courses with them

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give to a prospective student, join a club or organizations! That is the best thing you can do when you are new to a college. It will help you meet people that have your similar interests.

    In three sentences

    Potsdam has a great atmosphere. Its not too big or too small. The food is excellent

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not a lot, honestly. Usually there is a show to catch on campus of some sort. With Crane right there, there's always a concert. Hiking in the area is excellent! There is also a nice Market Street with a few shops and bars.

    Food and Dining

    We have excellent dining options for the size of our school. We only have one traditional buffet style college dining hall, the rest have plenty of great tasting options and lots of vegetarian/vegan and gluten free options. I eat very well!

    Dorm Life

    I loved my time in the dorms here! The RA's were great and helpful and they schedule plenty of group activities so you get to know your dorm-mates.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for a place where you can just pass classes with minimal effort then I suppose you could go here if you wanted. But that doesn't mean you can't learn a whole lot. With small class sizes the professors are always there to help you out one on one!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to find ways to amuse yourself here. Potsdam is not a big place and there doesn't always seem to be a lot to do. Be creative, join a club, go for a hike!

    In three sentences

    Potsdam is really a place where you get what you put in. It's great to find amazing and knowledgeable professors at an affordable school. I love it here!

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an ongoing competition called Humans Versus Zombies that never seems to end.

    What to do for fun

    Go outdoors. Its a great environment about 45 minutes from the Adirondacks. Look at the 4 local waterfalls or take a stroll along the Raquette River. It is truly beautiful up there.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get outdoors and get moving

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your option open. Enroll in scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the distance from home. The professors. The campus.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, outdoors, great activity for active students.

    Food and Dining

    Rated second best in the SUNY system. Names have its worth.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best but they stay pretty.

    Academic Rigor

    Great varied of classes to attend and excellent staff members.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be always prepared.

    In three sentences

    Splendid opportunity for academic success and diversify group of people. Engaged with the faculty and professors to carve your way to the future.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus. University Police are there to serve you and keep everything under control.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't the biggest deal at SUNY Potsdam, but a great experience! They're all very fun and contribute a lot to campus and society. If you feel up to it, RUSH and have a great time with your new brothers/ sisters!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a gratuitous amount of clubs and activities! From gaming to business to organization to religion to a cappella, there are really too many to even name. And the great thing is that they're all very flexible so you can absolutely be in more than one!

    Great for these types of students

    SUNY Potsdam is great for any type of student. It's great for those focused only on studies with great educational experiences. It's great for those musicians, whether or not you're in Crane with many opportunities to show off your stuff. It's great for sport players and watchers, those who like to be apart of any and all types of clubs, outcasts, fit- ins, and with how cold it can get in Potsdam, it's also great for Eskimos!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Around Halloween there's always a haunted Knowles tour where the Knowles North Resident Assistants have a tour around campus share scary (and very possibly true) experiences that have happened to them personally or they've heard from friends. There are plenty of other traditions that are too long to list on here!

    Bang for the buck

    With SUNY tuition, Potsdam is definitely a smart choice to save money. With professors from so many different backgrounds you get a unique experience learning from quite prestigious professors. They're also very dedicated to what they do, and they're always willing to help with any problem you have.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do in Potsdam. Campus is always holding events for students whether it's a sports game, a Crane concert, or a party at Hurley's. There's something literally almost everyday of the week to do for fun. Outside of campus there's also a cheap movie theater, some shops, and some more food places if you ever feel like switching it up. There's tons to do and tons of fun to be had!

    Food and Dining

    SUNY Potsdam has AMAZING food choices. I eat better there than I do at home! From Dexter's Cafe to Lehman Buffet you're sure to have a unique and delicious dining experience.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really very great! Living next to people makes for new friends and a great experience. It isn't always to cleanest depending on where you live, but always acceptable standards, I think. And SUNY Potsdam is building and redoing it's entire campus so it's soon to have all beautiful and brand new dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are all pretty great from what I've experienced! Yes, you're going to have to work in college in each and every class so don't think otherwise. But if you keep up with your work then you'll get by just fine. Just push to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get caught up in socializing too much that you forget about your studies! The work load is a slap in the face if you don't pay attention and evenly disperse your homework and studying. Also, don't stay in the library all day and miss out on the great social events going on!

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a valuable college where there is always something going on for the students. They have so much to offer and it's a wonderful environment. More importantly, the education I'm receiving there is top notch!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    cost of attendance is very reasonable it does not break the bank

    What to do for fun

    There are over ten to hundred activities, sports and clubs which are very entertaining and educational.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and very spacious dinning rooms

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorm rooms with friendly and caring Resident Assistants, mentors and Resident Directors

    Academic Rigor

    There's a great exhibition of academic rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Schedule your time at all times 2. Study ahead and ask questions before lectures and exams 3. Avoid procrastination and plagiarism 4. Don't be afraid to take on any challenge that comes your way

    In three sentences

    1. Beautiful campus 2. Great and fun courses 3. High hospitality level

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's UP all around, and they have these pole things within sight at all times that can be used to contact them.

    Greek Life

    Ehh, greek life isn't too big here, at least not that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    PERFECT STORM ULTIMATE FRISBEE!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to major in any kind of education, and music!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE BAGELRY. it isn't on campus, but it definitely has some amazing bagels!

    Bang for the buck

    Its pretty cheap, so its definitely worth the money

    What to do for fun

    There's almost a concert every night, and of course there are parties!

    Food and Dining

    Burritos. Are. Amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Crane is a challenge, regular Potsdam academics can be challenging, but not always.

    Tips for prospective students

    Splurge on a good winter coat, it will definitely be worth it. A decent raincoat wouldn't hurt either!

    In three sentences

    Excellent music, Crane is absolutely amazing and I love it more than anything.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The town police office is inside campus, right in the middle!

    Greek Life

    So much fun and they sponsor many fun activities .

    Clubs and Activities

    too many for me to name them all!

    Great for these types of students

    For independent people!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this tradition that on the buildings where the freshmen live there are spirit competition who has more bear pride (bear the school mascot) lol.

    What to do for fun

    In the summer you can go swimming to the pool, or the lake. In the winter you can still use the indoor pool, play games, go to the movies in town or ice skating in the school gym building. and there is a park just to relax there.

    Food and Dining

    EXCELLENT, unlike other colleges there is a wide diversity of food. more than 3 food facilities inside of campus and their staff its very friendly. you can always order delivery from the Chinese place in town.

    Dorm Life

    Its a very fun place, will feel like home in no time. the rooms can be a little bigger. and what i love the most its really cozy in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are very focus on what they are doing. Teachers are great helpers. The environment is helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Socialize with the campus community by going to club meetings. Use most of the campus resources. Go to class everyday!.

    In three sentences

    Great college is you want go away form home. Friendly campus community. students from all over the world.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have actually police on campus, UP, who protrol all day in their cars around campus and keep everything safe!

    Greek Life

    There are quite a few here if you're into that sort of thing, however alot are being dropped from expected frats because of drinking related things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Almost to many to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    All types, diversity on the campus is wonderful and don't worry about not fitting in cause with the amounts of clubs you'll find something.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Movie night in the Union. It happens around every three fridays during the year, they play a movie in the Union dining center and there's usually some sort of craft you can make at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    As a state school it doesn't cost as much as other schools, however I feel like I get more for my money here then I would at the private schools I had been also looking at when applying.

    What to do for fun

    There's something here everynight of the week! Also Hurley's in town has a great band competition which is alot of fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    PACES does a great job providing something for everyone, even vegetarians and vegans. Also people who cannot have gluten.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are really nice. Then for your second year there's a wide range of rooms to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try out a FIG if there is one that's close to what you want to do. You'll meet a lot more people with similar interest to you and also be living with only freshman, which can be a big plus. Since you all are in the same boat.

    In three sentences

    Great school full of friendly people. I was nervous about being so far away from home, but all the people here can be truly wonderful. The programs that are set up for freshman are brilliant.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The University Police are prevalent on campus and are readily available if you need them. There are very few incidences of violence or assault. If there is a problem, such as a increase in stolen property, then they will notify you via email and make sure everyone is aware of the problem and taking the steps to prevent them.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very prevalent on campus anda great way to make friends, not only with the greeks at Potsdam, but also at the neighboring universities, such as Clarkson.

    Bang for the buck

    To get the bang for your buck, you should really get to know your professors. Talk to them and make connections with them, because it is they who will be writing recommendations for you, nominating you for awards, and offering you internships and jobs. Also, take advantage of the activities offered at Maxcy, the fitness center. The ice rink is always there, and so is the exercising room, and there are zumba classes offered on various days of the week. If you want the bang for your buck, get out of your room.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of physical activities that you can do. There are tennis courts, a basket ball court, a racket ball area, an indoor and outdoor track, and an ice rink where you can rent skates for free. There are lots of events, such as plays or concerts. Hurleys is open underneath the Lehman dining hall and it usually has music or comedy acts going on. Off-campus, there are some stores on Market street. There is a beach a few minutes away, as well as a waterfall and hiking trail. Watertown is an hour away and has a mall. There is also the Roxy move theater on Main street.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food in general is nothing compared to a home cooked meal, but Potsdam has a lot of food options. There is the Lehman Dining Hall, the Union Dining Court, Becky's Cafe and Becky's Place, the Crane Commons, and Dexter's. There are many meal plan options, from weekly plans to semesterly plans, and they range in size so if you are a hungry buddy then you can get a bigger meal plan. There are also lots of good off-campus food options, from Maxfields, a fancy restaurant, to Little Italy, a pizza place. I would also recommend Billy's deli sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    There are lots of activities within the dorm for people to get to know each other and have fun. Overall, people are friendly and usually respect quiet hours. However, there are some exceptions. Also, after a weekend there may be a few obscene pictures drawn on the walls in the stairway or in the basement. The most extreme case of vandalism I saw was the exit sign ripped from the ceiling. Fire alarms also tend to go off a lot in Bowman and Lehman, usually in succession, then it's quiet for a few months. Besides those usual disturbances, dorm life is fun and I love my floormates.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class, but so far I have not had any classes that I have not been able to do well in. If you pay attention and do your work, the professors will like you a lot better, and getting connections to professors is the first step towards acquiring an internship.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rainboots. Potsdam doesn't have puddles, it has lakes. Park were your supposed to. The university police are not lazy when giving out parking tickets. Buy a doormat, especially for the winter. It's amazing how much dirt can get tracked into your room. If you are a light sleeper, avoid living in the buildings that are currently under construction (Bowman South).

    In three sentences

    SUNY Potsdam is a good sized campus in the middle of nowhere, but Clarkson University is nearby if you need to see new faces. The atmosphere here is friendly and there are lots of food options. Overall, SUNY Potsdam is a great college, despite the long winters.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful. However, I wish there were more lights because if gets really dark sometimes on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs you can join on campus. Anything from Spanish club to the outing club.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun. The movie theater is about a 5 minute drive from campus. There are many plays and Crane concerts on campus that are available to all students. For warmer weather, kayaking, hiking, and camping are all fun to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good, especially there flat breads. However, they serve the same types of food over and over. I would like a variety. Overall, the food is extremely good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! However, I had to switch roommates the second semester because of issues we had. Sometimes the halls at night get a little hectic, but other than that it is fine. The rooms are pretty well nice sized.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not back talk to your professors. They are the authority. If they tell you to do something, you better do it. Also, make sure you complete all outside class work. It will prepare you for upcoming classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, make sure you study hard for all of your classes. Do not slack off. It will catch up with you. Also, when you go on breaks, bring your outside of class work with you, it is essential.

    In three sentences

    Overall, the school has a really good education program. They, however, make you take courses that I feel are unnecessary for certain people with certain majors. Campus life is very good. All the people are very friendly.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students going into early childhood and secondary education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    at the foxy roxy, potsdam and a near by college, clarkson, have a pancake eating competition.

    Bang for the buck

    tuesdays are half off for students at the local theater.

    What to do for fun

    there's a near by park, lehman park, which is on the racquette river. the school provides canoes and kayaks. the student centers puts on movies every weekend with crafts or activities. there's snowball and other dances. you can go to plays put on by the drama department and concerts by crane school of music, which are amazing. and you there's snowboarding and skiing trips, parties when the weather's nice, ice skating, awesome hockey games and really active greek life.

    Tips for prospective students

    bring rain boots and snow boots! and mattress toppers.

    In three sentences

    potsdam is fun and small college. its a great education and there is plenty of activities to do. the towns people are friendly and main street is with in walking range of the campus.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in potsdam, you can always go bowling, go see a movie, or visit many of the parks close to campus. on campus, you can always go swimming, rock climbing, or play volleyball in maxy hall, or see a play, take an acting workshop, or practice your music in satterlee hall. also a short drive from canada, you can always tour the canadian wilderness!

    Food and Dining

    the dining experiences at suny potsdam are ones that you will never forget. with just about any type of food you are looking for, you will always be satisfied by what they have to offer.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms on campus are affordable, clean, and extremely student orientated. they have many floors, are quiet, and are filled with different and interesting people.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic work is difficult, but also mentally stimulating. while in attendance, i have been able to broaden my horizons and grasp concepts that i never would have thought possible. i also know that if i ever am in need of assistance with my coursework that i can always get help at the writing center.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the student union for any type of help and get acquainted with the crumb memorial library for all of your academic needs. also don't be afraid to go to your professors for help! all of the educators at suny potsdam i have encountered are beyond able to help you with just about anything.

    In three sentences

    with a freindly staff, bright campus, and wide subject range suny potsdam is the perfect school for anyone who is serious about getting their education. while attending, you can get involved with the numerous school organizations, greek life, or sports. all in all suny potsdam is just a really great school for just about anyone.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the response time for a fire alarm is very fast. they are there for the students in most cases.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a ton of clubs to join. many of these clubs hold a bunch of events.

    What to do for fun

    there is a nightclub on campus named hurley's. there are plenty of groups to join for many different interest. also there are ton of events on campus to attend.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great. it was ranked #2 in the nation.

    Dorm Life

    the building are in good condition but pretty old. only some building have thermostat control.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to work because the professors are very smart and expect you to work. make sure you are prepared to put in the work and sacrifice some of your free time for school work.

    In three sentences

    the college is very diverse. the faculty is nice and wiling to help. great professors

  • 12/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a small town kinda feel but there is still stuff to do. Not to much competition, teachers are very good and willing to help, not hard to get a one on one. Big music department that is demanding and competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here if you want to be a teacher or going for music. most other departments lack funding

    Bang for the buck

    It's a state school so does not cost much at all, unless your in crane.

    Am enjoying being here

    It get's kinda dull eventually, try being active in student groups and activities to prevent that.

    Am learning a lot

    If you pay attention you will learn, teachers are very willing to teach and help you

  • 12/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Nice atmosphere.

    Am learning a lot

    Great academics

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type SUNY Potsdam is extremely accepting of any person

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends with your teacher. Do you homework, do NOT procrastinate. Join a few clubs to make new friends. Go to the many activities held on campus =D

    Bang for the buck

    The college is slightly expensive but definitely worth it and will be the best experience of your llife

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is so small and you really get to know every one. It is just like my town so I enjoy it. Also everything is in a 15 minute walking distance and is just beautiful. All friendly people =D

    Am learning a lot

    The college is wonderful. A lot of the teachers are close to their students and really know how to teach. They explain things that you wont understand too. I have learned a lot, especially from my COMP 101 class since I am not that great of a writer. I have also become a little more accepting of public speaking due to COMM 100.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone. I can honestly say no matter who you are as a person or a student there is something for you here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded, there are a lot of different backgrounds here. Don't let your personal assumptions stop you from experiencing new things. Also, get out there and meet the faculty. There are so many opportunities to better your future that you can only find out by talking to people.

    Bang for the buck

    I would have to say the experience here is worth the money. I keep coming back because there is a certain atmosphere that makes you want to stay through the easy and the hard times.

    Am enjoying being here

    People are great. Food is better than most colleges and a lot of outdoor stuff to door,as well as indoor games and activities. It can get pretty cold during the winter but activities and nature is plentiful.

    Am learning a lot

    Every professor I have had has been competent in their area. On occasion I have had problems understanding certain preofessors method of teaching and I utilized the schools tutor programs.

  • 02/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who aren't fond of large cities and who love adventures outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a SUNY school, the cost of attendance is reasonable.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a nice, small town. Great if you're looking to get away from a big city.

    Am learning a lot

    The smaller class size allows for individual attention. Most of the teachers are friendly and very helpful.

  • 12/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    A lot of people I've met are attending Crane School of Music...others are planning on becoming teachers or are attending the 3-2 program with Clarkson or SUNY Binghamton for engineering. But there's a great variety in majors considering it's a liberal arts school.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to visit this college before attending because you'll either love the atmosphere or you'll have a horrible time. For most, it's an all or nothing experience considering the extreme temperatures and location.

    Bang for the buck

    The educational cost is like any other SUNY school. Its WAY cheaper than Clarkson University or any private schools, but the price to live there is approximately the same if not MORE than the cost of classes. For this reason, I am continuously seeking scholarships to continue my stay. My parents are helping me with the educational costs, but the cost of dorms and board are excessive like any other school. While you're there, you'll say It's so worth it, but once you get home and see your savings balance, you'll wonder how you're going to get by without having to spend over $300 a month in loans when you graduate. Still, I don't regret moving away for school. It's an experience you can only live ONCE…and one you’ll never forget.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a small town. You wouldn't know it was coming on you drive up because all you see is forests, fields, farms, and the Amish with their vegetable stands. Then out of nowhere, the Potsdam sign rises and it becomes a college town with Clarkson University, SUNY Canton, and St. Lawrence a few miles apart. The roads are mildly busy and the atmosphere is calm. It's not the city life, but it isn't deserted. There's a newer Super Wal-Mart (within 15 minutes) where you'll find more college students buying mostly milk and cereal supplies. And the busier part of town consists of some coffee shops, a movie theatre, book store, and assorted restaurants. The people are friendly and closely knit. You'll find something to do if you’re looking, but when it gets cold you're not going to want to leave your dorm or apartment unless you're used to the weather. But from what I hear, it only costs $10 to go skiing/ snowboarding with the school at the end of each week! It’s home sweet home if you ask me.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are exceedingly helpful. They are always available by phone or office hours and show concern for your grades. They even cordially invite you and other students to their houses for smores and pizza! It's a reassuring feeling to be able to enter a classroom knowing whether you learn this material in the 50 minutes of class or not, you're going to learn it by the end of the week because your professor is on a tag team with you to achieve the grades you are capable of!

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like personal attention from the professors in a small classroom setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and observe the atmosphere. It's very welcoming.