Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

SUNY Westchester Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/29/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The councilors are not as helpful as they should be but otherwise the school is worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs you can join and various events/music on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food and snacks are decent, they get the job done. There is a Starbucks.

    Academic Rigor

    I was here for 2 years and not once was a class too hard for me. The teachers are pretty accommodating.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not ready to commit to a 4 year school or if you are very undecided as to what area you would like to study, WCC would be a great choice for you. WCC is also a good choice if you want to improve your grades and eventually get into a better school.

    In three sentences

    SUNY WCC has a friendly environment and community. It is a great way to transition into a 4 year school. And most importantly, it is cost effective.

  • 08/28/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently the elected president of the Peruvian Club, one of the 65 clubs Westchester Community College has to offer. With a large variety to choose from, with choices that range from cultural clubs, personal interest, even clubs to support and protect minorities.

    Great for these types of students

    Westchester Community College is great for all students, from high school graduates to senior citizens. Being a community college it is a great choice for anyone who is trying to achieve their degree while working and most important for those who support their families.

    Food and Dining

    I am a huge fan of food, have been working in the food industry since I was fifteen years of age. Westchester takes huge pride in all the that it has to offer to its students and its no less when it comes to food. Their kitchen is only a few years old, and all food is cooked on campus with a large variety from a cold salad bar to sushi.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately Westchester Community College does not provide dorms for their students, even though the campus has plenty of room to do so.

    Academic Rigor

    Westchester Community College has a very large choice of classes to pick from. Whether you know which your major will be or if you aren't sure yet, Westchester Community College gives you the freedom to pick any class of your choice. Not only for a specific major, but also allows you to navigate through a series of classes of your personal interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not belittle the school simply because it is a community college. Most people have the wrong idea when it comes to community colleges, with a notion that it can be similar to high school. Whether you attend a four year institution or Westchester Community College, I suggest you change your mentality or you'll have a rude awakening.

    In three sentences

    Westchester Community College has a gorgeous campus compared to most community colleges in the area. Located very close to major highways, it makes it very easy to commute. in case of not having personal transportation, the campus has several bus stops for those who depend on public transportation.

  • 10/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe here except some students are a little sketchy.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many great clubs and events! You are bound to find numerous clubs that interest you.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wishing to save money and then transfer to another school without being drowned in debt.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't go wrong with the tuition. Practically nothing compared to State Universities.

    What to do for fun

    A group called WEB and other clubs host events throughout the semester and they are really fun and you get free food sometimes.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good and there is a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing available at WCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not that challenging if you know your stuff. Like most colleges, the course load depends on which professor you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your professors wisely and get involved in school events or else you will be greatly missing out! Stay on top of your school work and you will do great.

    In three sentences

    This school is such a smart decision if you want to save money.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are securities, and guards who assure safety. I haven't heard of incidents of any type, and also the state/ city police patrols the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there are innumerable clubs. depending on your interests you can join as many clubs as you want. WCC's student body is multicultural, great to meet and learn from other cultures.

    Great for these types of students

    students who know that education is important and are going to college for education and not for fun

    What to do for fun

    there are many teams and clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    It offers a variety of foods, from healthy to not so healthy meals. however, I would recommend to eat at home and take a snack for between classes like some fruit or nuts, since you don't really know how the food is prepared. there is nothing better than homemade food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to classes everyday. do your assignments. ask for help, if needed.

    In three sentences

    it is the a great school to star college at. The tuition is affordable and it has great academic programs.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are campus police cars driving around all the time on the campus streets and through parking lots. There are also security guards everywhere, mostly in the library. They perform fire drills, also.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities, but there are a few academic Greek clubs. There is one greek club called Phi Theta Kappa, which requires a 3.5gpa to be accepted, that provides a lot of scholarships, and opportunities. (looks good on your transcript).

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs you can join, and you can join as many as you want. Depending on the clubs there are different opportunities such as field trips.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you want to save money! Tuition is roughly $5000 a year. Then after the two years you can transfer to another school. For the first two years of college you have to take basic classes anyways, the same that you would have to take in an expensive school. So $5000 is a lot better than $40000 for the same credits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is usually full and the place where all the students hang out. Then it would be the cafeteria. The financial aid department is pretty bad, they get the job done but the process is annoying. Lines can take up to two hours wait. Then the employees are rude and unfriendly.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, they are fun and you can create new friendships. They have a wide variety of clubs, from dance club to criminal justice club to art club to asian club to greek clubs. Other than that there's not anything else you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it is very expensive. I advise bringing a snack or sandwich. They sell sandwiches, pizza, soup, salads. There is also Starbucks, which is really nice.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here. You must commute which can be difficult if you have no car. And if you have a car parking can be a problem, especially during the morning when everyone has class.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are helpful because they want to help students succeed. The material is in between too easy, and too difficult. The class is very easy to pass, unless you don't attend or don't do you work. Depending on the professors some are really easy-going with everything, such as extending deadline and accepting assignments late, so it's almost impossible for you not to receive an A. Usually they take off the lowest quiz or test grade.There is a Honors Program that has challenging, discussion classes, which I recommend. They are interesting, and the students in the classes are students who want to learn.

    In three sentences

    SUNY WCC is not as bad as people think it is. There's great professors who want to help students, many resources such as computers, and a lot of clubs to join! Also, you save a lot of money when you attend this college for the years and transfer, rather than paying tons of money for the basic classes.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you must interact. Getting involved is one of the biggest parts of the social life on campus. Being involved in groups, work studies, relationships and etc we'll lead to fun!

    Food and Dining

    A great mal is important for a rigorous work study. Being able to balance the dining and your work goes hand in had. You will never go hungry at Suny Westchester.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is optional. To be a Suny Westchester student you don't need to dorm you can become a day or night student depending on yourself. Its best to work on your schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is just like any other college what you put in is what you get out of the program. In order to successful complete this program you must maintain a GPA of a satisfactory level. Furthermore, there are an assortment of advisors to assist you on the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective sudents should take full advantage of this institution. Again with the low tuition the opportunity to grasp a full college education is there. It is totally up to you to seize your education.

    In three sentences

    Suny Westchester is a cost affordable program. By still getting your eduation you can still minimize your tuition. Furthermore, this institution is welcoming to many students.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security makes its presence known. They are helpful and friendly. Haven't seen any issues on campus.

    Greek Life

    I guess they're living?...Really?

    Clubs and Activities

    I had been part of the student government and the book club. Now Ii am an officer in PTK (Honor Club). They are very active on and off campus and make a difference.

    Great for these types of students

    If you just want to graduate, its OK. However, if you want to learn and push yourself, its pretty good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club Day on Wednesdays. All the clubs meet at a specific time.

    Bang for the buck

    There are some very influential professors on this campus, I am talking about what they do in their regular lives off campus. The level they teach from is the level you would hope to attain.

    What to do for fun

    On campus? Well. thry have a student center, a gym, a pool, and the clubs offer a variety of events for the students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Little pricey, tastes good though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Prepare to sweat.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study.

    In three sentences

    Its a good school with some pretty amazing professors and students. I would recommend it for any one considering it. Get active in the clubs too, its great.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can head out to the City of White Plains, that where all the actions is.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't try it lately because the update the dining area.

    Academic Rigor

    I was night school and online student. I think that WCC as hard any other college in County .

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waiting last minute to register for your course , they do fill up quickly. Take advantage all the service they offered.

    In three sentences

    Westcheser Community College campus is beautiful and easy to navigate to find your class. The website is so simple and easy to register course and you don't need advisor because system tell what course to take. The Academics support center is wonderful.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When walking to and from class I always see campus security. In my short time at WCC I have felt fairly safe, school was non-threatening.

    Bang for the buck

    School is fairly small, but for the amount of money you pay per semester its a great deal.

    Food and Dining

    The tuition is cheap the food is not. I find it outrageous to pay six dollars for a sandwich or 3.50 for a bag of peanuts... But with that said the quality of the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on how hard you try and the level of difficultly of class you choose. Some classes are harder than others but many of the professors have multiple office hours to meet one on one with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Due to the cheap tuition take advantage of all the classes you can. Take multiple classes to get the full bang for your buck.

    In three sentences

    Overall I enjoyed my stay at Westchester, the teachers were kind and would always make themselves available for help. The campus is small and easy to navigate around. The food is decent, would love a drop in food prices.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would suppose the school is very safe, there is a lot of campus security and police driving around and checking the parking lots etc. Therefore, I feel safe. I would suggest maybe more security walking around campus and checking things out because you never know. Overall, each building in the schools has several security guards and as mentioned the police is usually roaming the school.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Westchester Community College, takes pride on the wide variety of clubs that are currently in function and the student body seems to enjoy the friendship that comes with being a part a club and the overall campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    Orientation leaders and peer advisors, Phi Theta Kappa, Westchester Events Board, Student Government. Join clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our old Student Government Constitution. About 100 students debating about what to vote on.

    Bang for the buck

    You want a fresh start! Westchester Community College is the school for you if you are willing to commit and give it a chance. You just have to discipline yourself and get your priorities straight. There are a lot of chances for scholarships, financial aid, continuing education, and many beneficial programs.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons to do for fun at Westchester Community College; however, you must join a club! Many times the fun occurs in club activities. A quintessential example is the Westchester Event board, the purpose of this club is to create event for the student body and it ranges from a diverse category of activities; from bringing programs, events and speakers to campus to field trips.

    Food and Dining

    School food could improve, I mean it is good when you are hungry but sometimes not very provocative. But it is a very clean and spacious place and it is a good place to meet and socialize with your classmates or club peers. The Cafeteria is connected to the student involvement center so you could grab a bite whenever you feel like, and it is just a walk across.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm life in my school.

    Academic Rigor

    Westchester Community College, I believe is one of the most competitive schools and many of my personal friends are just as high achieving as I am. However, we work together in different programs and projects so we are supporting each other along the way. Even though, many students are attempting to go for that perfect score, many times we are there for one another to tutor or help explaining anything that needs explaining.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage you to not be afraid to get out and become involved in a club, program, or project. Do the thing that scares you the most because the gain from the experience would be so much more than the fear itself that the end result would be beneficial for you growth as a professional. Do not be afraid to ask, SPEAK UP! and I am sure you will find people you will be more than happy to help you in any way they can. You want a friend, be a friend!

    In three sentences

    Westchester Community College offers a great opportunity to start fresh and connect yourself with competitive students from all over the world that want to achieve higher education. It is a place to create your foundation that you will use throughout your educational career. Moreover, the campus has many different clubs in which students may be able to get involved, make friends and meet new people that may share their goals or interests.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great and friendly Campus security

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of Clubs from Judo to Art to Salsa Dancing

    Great for these types of students

    Undecided Majors, Students looking to improve their GPA

    Bang for the buck

    For anyone unsure of what to major in or people not ready for a 4 year institution, this is the school for you. You can make mistakes here, and the teachers will help you pick yourself up.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of Clubs to join, ranging from Judo to Art To Salsa Dancing club. State of the Art Student center and impressive library and Computer labs.

    Food and Dining

    Top Notch cafeteria and Student Center

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, Commuter School

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers hold high expectations, students will take what they learn and apply it to their lives well after graduation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to the commute. Get everything you can out of your teachers, they will welcome it. This school prepares you for 4 year schools.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful Campus, Passionate Teachers and alot of bang for your buck. For Art students, the Professors take a special interest in students that seek help and will help you succeed. This school is a perfect first step in an academic career

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Depends what your definition of fun is, for me i like to spend time conversating with a beautiful female or read a book in the top floor of the library.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little expensive, but the deli makes some of the best sandwiches I've ever tasted.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention in lectures, study enough to grasp the concepts you are being taught, then you should be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and put to use the many various resources available to you, Westchester Community School is a great place to start for anyone who is determined to succeed.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great support system with counselors and workshops to help students clarify and pursue any endeavors they desire. Most of the professors are geuinely interested in the students academic preformance and are willing to help in any way they can. The social aspect of the campus is diverse and people from all ranges of life can easily find a niche.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely, the best decision I have made.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym and excercise or to the pool. The student center.

    Food and Dining

    Outstanding

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is key. As well as taking classes that go hand-in-hand with your major. The professors may give you recommendations for your performance throughout the semester.

    In three sentences

    WCC is a comforable and affordable college. It offers tutoring to help build your GPA. As well if you'd like to transfer their are colleges who stop by give information to students on the criteria of credits needed to transfer.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play sports, hang out with friends, go to the library and use the computers or read a book, and also go to the academic support center for tutoring.

    In three sentences

    This college has flexible hours for the students. The people and teachers are friendly. It is cheap for people that dont have too much money.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they plan trips . the last trip i went on was to fright fest!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early get involved!

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent school to start out with. I love it and they make it very convient

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    WCC offers great professors who are willing to take their time to help you. The school also has great transfer program opportunities after completing your two years. The campus is beautiful and WCC is probably one of the best community colleges out there. Definitely worth the money

    What to do for fun

    There's game rooms in the Technology building where you can interact with others, a lot of close by restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. They have a variety of foods to choose from, but it could use some improvement.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be your self no one will judge you. The school offers so many things and you should be smart and make use of the services offered.

    In three sentences

    WCC offers great professors who are willing to take their time to help you. The school also has great transfer program opportunities after completing your two years. The campus is beautiful and WCC is probably one of the best community colleges out there.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for anyone who wants to do their best and proceed on taking a 4 year college. For the price of tuition and the quality of learning giving it is amazing. This college can give you 2 great years of service, as long as we take advantage. Perhaps obtain a scholarship with the grades you obtain, making it easier to attend a better, more renowned college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I havent really found anything unsual because this is an area that is very diversified. All traditions and cultures can be found in this city, it is a melting pot. There is something for everyone, im sure. Seek and you shall find, music, religion, languages, we have it all.

    Bang for the buck

    Money wise it is the best community college to attend. The campus and the professors are worth a lot more in my opinion. The facilities they have to accommodate all the students are also top notch and not to mention the new facilities that are currently being built. The professors really care about the student doing well and i think that is the key to the students success, and we have that.

    What to do for fun

    Since i just started, all i have been doing is going to the gym and making it useful for me. I have also been using the basketball court a lot to play basketball. I plan to use the swimming pool and the fields for running as soon as i get a chance. There is plenty to do and i hope to take advantage of it all.

    Food and Dining

    Even Though the cafeteria is under construction, the environment is still great for food and dining. It is equipped with all the right necessities and it provides great choices for eating. It is definitely a place to regain your energy and relax before heading to your next class.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately my college doesnt provide the students with dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The college expects all students to work at their highest level. I challenge my self to learn well because the professors also give their best effort for me to learn. Homework is given and is expected to be completed on time or else they wont accept it, things are done for a reason and that is to become responsible for the real world,

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be to apply for financial aid to see if they are eligible. Also to take adavantage of every program such as immigration or money management for example. Dont be afraid to use all the resources the college gives you, for example the library and the free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion is the best community college out there to attend because of the campus and its professors. Every professor is willing to help and it is noticeable that they want the student to succeed. I enjoy attending my college because it gives me the sense of security that i will make it and graduate.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from and some of the clubs offer really great trips for members at deeply discounted prices.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I do not know. I am a commuter student.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is okay. There is not much options and it is overpriced but what they do offer is sufficient.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on your major. Majors related to the health-care field are quite rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what major you want to pursue. This is not a school to come to and discover yourself. Know what you want to do and what are your plans after completing an Associate Degree.

    In three sentences

    Westchester Community College is an affordable institution with many majors to choose from. The campus is beautiful and there are many transfer opportunities to four year institutions. However, the administrative office is terrible especially the financial aid and bursar offices.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't been to the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Well for the school, they expect you to maintain good average. For me, i expect to maintain an average above a 3.0 as long as im in collage.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide that you want to take school seriously then come to WCC.

    In three sentences

    WCC is a great college for students who wish to bring their grade average up and start fresh. It's a school good for starter's who wants a good change in their lives. Also it's a good preparatory school for students who wants to continue their education elsewhere.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are securities and laws to protect the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to join and have great times.

    Great for these types of students

    No matter the type of student you are, WCC make exceptions and plans to suit your learning style.

    What to do for fun

    I am enrolled in some curricular activty like early childhood club and it is fun and educative. The college also have several sport competitions to watch, the theater student also have some shows to watch over the weekend just check out the college website for what's happening and i bet you wil always find some thing fun.

    Food and Dining

    Tasty, healthy and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I have always been an off campus student though I don't really know much about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very flexible and the professors are willing to assist you. The courses are flxible as you can register for day, night, weekend or online. WCC also has some extensions which would be a plus if you live close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love WCC because it is conducive and convinient. It has alot of accademic support centers and personels ready to assist you any time and any day. You can easily assess the college website for any information and be sure to be satisfied.

    In three sentences

    It is a community college that is accademic friendly. It has alot of extra curricular activities that are very educating, informative and fun too. WCC is truely a place to be because the staff really care about you.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    After school clubs. After school swimming. And tennis.

    Food and Dining

    Very clean. Awesome place, and you get your moneys worth. Just amazing.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are astonishing. They're amazing people who help you in any way they can! Loved the school!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Like any campus, you may experience some assault, but from what I know and have experienced, it is very minimal and not common.

    Clubs and Activities

    The different honor clubs are great. They have activities for all different type of individuals.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working students, students with families, older students, and students who can't offered pricey colleges and universities.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and again you get a lot out of it!

    What to do for fun

    Students and faculty are always putting something together to entertain the students. Shows, drives, etc...

    Food and Dining

    I never ate there myself, but I hear the food isn't bad.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers, although laid back, do expect a lot out of you as I stated previously. Excuses, such as full time jobs, kids, etc, are ignored if used more than once. Study, do you work and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take Westchester Community College as a joke. Everyone there expects that you put the same amount of work and attention that you would at an ivy league.

    In three sentences

    Westchester Community College has been a great experience so far. It is easy to find your way around campus, it is small and cozy. Everyone is very helpful. I have yet to feel lost or confused there.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never encountered anything questionable happening here.

    Greek Life

    Ummmmm. I don't know if they have any of those.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm looking forward to joining the future nurses club.

    Great for these types of students

    Young and old. People with kids or with out. Just everyone really.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on campus or in the cafeteria during the week. You might spot someone singing and playing the guitar.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome. They also have a cafe in the new gateway building that I've yet to visit.

    Academic Rigor

    They take their science classes very seriously, so be prepared to hit the book. That goes double if you have professor Casella but you will learn a whole lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go for a walk round campus some time. It's lovely. Also don't shy away from online math classes, even if you aren't good at math. The teachers are very helpful and so is the tutorial center. Just be prepared to work and you'll be getting A's in no time.

    In three sentences

    This school is awesome. They have very supportive staff, who respond quickly to your needs as well as some of the best teachers I've ever encountered. Their campus is also amazingly beautiful and I feel very welcomed there.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are always around and the campus is pretty much empty at night since there are no dorms and night classes end at around nine.

    Greek Life

    No frats or sororities that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was in the Premedical Professionals Club and the Chemistry Club. Both offered catered lectures from people in the field and field trips. We went to the Pfizer Pharmaceutical plant in Rockland and saw how they make Centrum vitamins. We also had an expert in forensics from the Westchester County Medical Examiners Office show us how how he solved a few murders.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want an Associates degree in something or want to complete your core courses before transferring to a four year school this is the place to go since you will save a lot of money. It's also great for people who already have a degree and need additional academic experience in order to enter another field or to apply to graduate school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Gateway Building is the newest addition to the school and has a very modern vibe to it.

    Bang for the buck

    You'll get your money's worth, academically speaking . The cost of a full semester course load at WCC is equal to one course at a private school. I have met plenty of people who are transferring to Ivy league schools.

    What to do for fun

    Not much on campus. Sports facilities are sub par, but the city of White Plains is close by and there's lots of stuff to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty bad and limited in variety. Even the coffee is so so.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commuter school. No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the science courses to be extremely rigorous, but that is because I have no particular knack for it. I cannot speak of other subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    See your professors for extra help as well as the science tutorial. Also, make friends in your classes who are doing well so that you can study in groups.

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors for the science courses are very good and are willing to spend extra time outside of class to help you. The Science and math tutorials are also great resources, but they occasionally do not have enough tutors.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There havent been too many cases of insecurity on campus that i know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs to be members of, many activities weekly fpr all types of students and majors.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that live in the westchester area and want to start college not spending so much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i know of.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that organize parties, movies, plays, musicals.

    Food and Dining

    Food has gotten much better, with different options and healthier choices.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not such a hard school and you need only a 2.0 gpa to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved on campis activities and make connections with students and professors.

    In three sentences

    The college is great, have many different types of majors, clubs and things to be involved in. Professors have experience, are willing to help if you show interest. The school has grown a lot the past few years and continue to improve.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't have any classes on campus but I have friends there and I don't hear no complaints .

    Greek Life

    I don't think they are any

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and many areas you may like such as music.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student , lots of diversity and different kinds of personalities

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Art Gallery Location

    Bang for the buck

    Good prices , and well rounded classes.

    What to do for fun

    Sign up for clubs , look at the art gallery , and tutor if your really good in a subject to share your knowledge with someone that needs help.

    Food and Dining

    The campus have a cafe . The extension center in Cross county has lots of food around to buy since its in an outdoor mall. Many varietys of food at that.

    Dorm Life

    There's no dormotories but the campus is big and pretty .

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easy and some are hard , just do as much work possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a planner and actually look in it ! Professors assign different things that may not be on the syllabus so stay in Tact.

    In three sentences

    Great First Start

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on-site police and in my years of attending I have not witnessed anything drastic.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    They have clubs ranging from Computer Clubs to Salsa (dancing) Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    It would be great for those type of students whom want to complete an associates degree or those who want to transfer to a 4 - year school. It's especially helpful if you want to transfer to a SUNY school since its part of the SUNY schools most of your credits apply to any SUNY University.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so the price of tuition is very cheap compared to universities but you get a campus full of action and fun. There is always something to do there.

    What to do for fun

    I would highly suggest joining some clubs or you can hit the fitness gymnasium.

    Food and Dining

    there are a couple of restaurants and fast food places around but you would need a car.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus or near

    Tips for prospective students

    Some helpful tips I would give to prospective students would be if you drive, to at least arrive an hr early to find parking. Also to attend extra-curricular activities because the students there are very friendly.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself is huge and very attracting. The teachers are very helpful and want you to succeed. I am glad i attended this school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never heard of any kind of problems... in fact, the security officers are very nice and kind. after a while, you just become friends with them.

    What to do for fun

    more than 70 clubs to join with a broad variety of themes. huge campus with many many trees and green areas.

    Food and Dining

    there are 2 cafeterias here. one is very fancy and the other one is not. however, i find them to be both quite expensive.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus...

    Academic Rigor

    there are many stricts professors as there are many flexible ones as well. there is an interesting mix in terms of that.

    Tips for prospective students

    be positive! keep yourself motivated at all times. do not hesitate to ask for help, you will get help here. there are more than 70 students' clubs to join, thus do not miss the opportunity. be respectful of the professors, faculty, etc, this will take you far!!!

    In three sentences

    there is a great sense of community in this college. there are also many opportunities for better yourself in academic terms because of all the tutors and volunteers there. bring a smile and a positive attitude and you will get the same in return plus a diploma or certificate in your way out!!!

  • 07/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students that have a learning disability and also for students that are looking to benefit from their education.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking for a school that will help you save money and is worth paying for it's def WCC because they are willing to work with you to the extreme.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a excellent school and it's really what you make of it.

    Am learning a lot

    To be honest I love this school. The professors are great and they are very willing to work with you based on grades. This is a great school for those new students that would like to raise their GPA up.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven, self sufficient, hard workers, commuters

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get help from the teacher's if you need it, they're yu're lifeline in the class and they know what their doing. Also, try to find a few people in your class who you can study with, it helps to have friends in multiple classes to hang out with between long stretches of no classes.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm in the Nutrition Associate's Degree program at WCC, and I love it! My teachers are so helpful, and I knew I could always get extra help if I needed it.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    BEST SCHOOL EVER!

    Tips for prospective students

    See your program advisor for your schedules or make your schedue yourself.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the college and check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Sure

    Am enjoying being here

    Very good choice on my part.

    Am learning a lot

    All there is to be learnt and more. The program is interesting so far. Very high expectations and faculty who go out of their way to lend a hand.