Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Salem College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 09/30/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I felt unsafe on campus (due to one individual from off campus), public safety reacted promptly and seriously to my concerns. They'll come get you from anywhere on campus if you're feeling unsafe or if you're hurt. You'll see at least two or three a day on campus.

    Greek Life

    No greek life. There is a "secret" society (that's not secret). But you'll have to be super popular. Loved by EVERYONE popular.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was really into getting involved in clubs and stuff when I was a first year student. However, after a year, and leadership turns over in because seniors have graduated, you'll quickly find it's turned into a popularity contest to stay in it. Three clubs I had leadership roles in were taken over by one person and every leadership position was quietly handed over to someone who was her friend over the summer or winter breaks without notification to those who had been replaced. We just weren't told when meetings were anymore. And a lot of Salem is like this. That being said, if you can get into a sport team, you'll have everlasting friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Politically left leaning students, students who feel most comfortable in small classes and who know EXACTLY what they want to do in life and know that they can accomplish this at Salem. Not for those who have any doubts about where they want to go.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fall Fest is a once a year event where you get one Wednesday off to goof off with your fellow classmates in a competition to be the most spirited class year. Make sure to go visit the fountains if the temps are below freezing, and always walk around the campus when it's snowing. You won't be disappointed.

    Bang for the buck

    When I was applying for Salem, there was no full-ride scholarship. Now there is, so you should totally go for that. I did get what was called a full scholarship which just paid tuition. However, if you receive such a scholarship, you'll be required to live on campus even if you live five minutes away. This came out for me to be 13k a year and with such a scholarship, I didn't get any financial aid. Unless you're filthy rich, the about 35k a year is going to be a pretty steep price. After a year and a half out of school, I've applied to over 200 jobs and haven't been able to get one. I've tried to call and email the woman in charge of the "career center" and have never gotten a response. After graduating (and even during your senior year), Salem will be relentless in asking you for your money.

    What to do for fun

    Winston-Salem has really grown in the past couple of years. My years at Salem were very boring and downtown was shut up after 6pm, but of course, now that I've graduated, Winston has become a hub of activity and has many festivals, street concerts, restaurants, galleries, etc. to visit. Really one of my favorite places to be and only a short walk from campus. On campus, there's not much besides Fall Fest (one day out of the year), and miscellaneous programs held by RA's. But if you find a great group of friends, you'll never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Before the Student Center was built, all we had was the refectory (nicknamed the Rat) and a greasy consignment/"fast" food place that was disgusting. The Cafe in the new Student Center offers great selections, but you get a limited amount of meals to eat there. Very limited. Most likely, you'll be eating in the Rat. While I was there, I mostly ate cereal. Terrible. Except for days when we had visiting students or parents or (major) holidays. My final year there there was actually an inspection where they obtained a C and we were given some money back in the form of Cafe or "Spirit Dollars". Within the inspectors report, many of our suspicions were confirmed. Serving leftovers, storing spoiled meats/produce above fresh food, not washing utensils, not practicing hygiene standards, etc. etc.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are gross, like any university. But there are (mostly) reasonably sized rooms, great house keeping staff, and programs held by RA's to make you feel at home. There is an option to live in town homes once you reach your senior year that are very nice and that you only share with five other people. Recently, a new dorm building has been built for upperclassmen that is really beautiful and suite-style.

    Academic Rigor

    The STEM majors are very rigorous. Professional staff make sure to make it a challenge for you, but will work to make sure you understand material. Other majors seemed to be very easy with limited outside assignments and underwhelming senior projects. Be warned that there are very few options for what you can major in or even the classes that you can take because of the size of the school and the interests of the majority of the students coming here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into any interviews or essays with very socially liberal ideals. Some professors are very rigid in their political beliefs. Study hard and you'll do fine in social and hard sciences, but you'll quickly find the "coloring" majors that you could sleep through and obtain a degree in, especially if the professors tend to like you.

    In three sentences

    Small women's college with enthusiastic professors, but underwhelming administrative staff and hugely judgemental students (thus the anonymous). Very supportive atmosphere generated by professors and advisors, but limited in the way of academic offerings. Administrative staff very focused on attracting new students, but have no regard for current or graduated students.

  • 02/03/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Salem College is a small women's college where you can be more than just a number. The sense of sisterhood and support on campus is always present. Salem is a good place where students can get a quality liberal arts education on a beautiful historic campus.

  • 01/06/2016

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Officers are on point. They are awesome!!!

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life. Salem College is a sorority in itself, so everyone is in the same sorority..

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who find small class (6-12 students) important.

    Bang for the buck

    Salem offers 100% financial aid assistance, so it was nice going there and not worrying about tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Other than Fall Fest, Campus is usually boring...

    Food and Dining

    Salem College doesn't have many dining options. We have the regular cafeteria (refractory) and something similar to a fast-food restaurant (cafe). The refractory SUCKS. I found myself eating some of the same things everyday. The Cafe is great at first, but the menu never changes, so most people find one meal that they enjoy and they buy it every time. Both dining options are mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    Boring. No air conditioning in most dorms. The RA's try to keep residents active, but no one really goes to their activities. Dorms definitely aren't the best aspect of Salem College.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very nice and supportive. Salem College has a high school feel inside the classroom, so classes are easy. All of the professors are willing to help, but some give you A LOT of help without you having to even ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Salem College isn't difficult to be accepted to. Do well in school and you're likely to get in and receive a lot of financial aid. If you're expecting a party school, don't go to Salem.

    In three sentences

    Sisterhood at Salem College is shown all around campus. Big-Little events throughout all four years. Most exciting thing on campus!

  • 11/05/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cafe at the Student Center is pretty good, but we have had some recent food problems at the refectory. The food is buffet style and don't be fooled to believing that the great food served during events is served all the time. We also suffer during Jan term.

    Dorm Life

    I am staying in Babcock on the second floor and I enjoy living here. My RA's have fun programs every now and then. I have the luxury of my roommate owning an AC, that she was allowed to have from a doctor's note.

    Academic Rigor

    Salem offers so many different courses and even partners with neighboring colleges if they don't have the course at the time. If you feel overwhelmed, don't be afraid to seek out help from tutors in the QUEST Center, Writing Center, or the Library. Internships are required, so you have to have at least one to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come have a look around during fall visit, Saturday for seniors, and/or scholarship weekend. I recommend staying at Salem overnight with a current student. Check out the dorms and ask lots of questions. If you plan to stay on campus, look for potential roommates when you visit an event or two. Apply to lots of scholarship, you can never have too many.

    In three sentences

    Salem is a great school for people looking for small class sizes, strong relationships with your professors, and small college campus. You get to know everyone on campus and it is a beautiful place to live. I love it during the fall.

  • 04/24/2015

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Your car is parked at the pit. There is a cop that will drive you there and back in a go cart if you request. They also offer text alerts if you sign up for it.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life offered here.

    What to do for fun

    They offer for free for you to go to a movie that they show on weekends. You could go to the games or tour old salem. There is so mouch art like plays and music you could enjoy this as well.

    Food and Dining

    There is the cafertria where you get alot of foood like every other school and the usual bookstore as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. You will have a room mate and there are big bathrooms you share with other girls.

    Academic Rigor

    They hold you to a very high honor code. This is a very ard school to get in to and is rated highly in Forbes magizine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. Do not come here if you are very judge mental.

    In three sentences

    This is a perfect school for girls who want to be in a diverse location. The school is in a beautiful location, full of history. The academics are most important here.

  • 09/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have very very many traditions!

    What to do for fun

    Winston- Salem is blocks from campus!

    Food and Dining

    They have alot of choices

    Dorm Life

    From my visit i could tell that the dorm life is very good. Students were hanging out in other student rooms!

    In three sentences

    Salem College has a very friendly environment! They are located in a beautiful location, theres so many things to look at! They are a very small school!

  • 06/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Salem is very diverse and inclusive: be prepared to encounter new and different with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Salem College is a challenging but inviting atmosphere that urges her students to reach for their highest potentials while questioning their past assumptions. Women are the leaders on campus and inspire each other to success in academics, politics, activism, and arts. Each student who truly engages with Salem finds themselves a changed being.

  • 04/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everybody takes care of everybody. Security is competent, but not as necessary as it is at many other colleges.

    Greek Life

    Thankfully, none. Salem College is, in a sense, one all-inclusive sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything and everything. If Salem does not have it, find a few other students and form it yourselves.

    Great for these types of students

    Women! There is coed graduate school for adults 23 and older in the Fleer Center. You must not want a place to hide. Be involved and get close to everyone. Enjoy being part of a family. Your graduating class will be just over one hundred women.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Honor code, leadership curriculum and Lovefeast (a Moravian celebration with special food).

    Bang for the buck

    Average tuition, higher than average room and board. Good financial aid available. School is well run and according to Forbes magazine in very good financial shape.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the beautiful landscaping, walk four blocks into the arts and restaurant section of downtown Winston Salem. Many events available on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Better than average food. Brand new student center opening in May, 2014. I believe there will be a snack bar/cafe there.

    Dorm Life

    Many fellow sisters to become friends with. Evertyhing is nearby as campus is compact.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors want you to get A s. If you are not doing well, someone will be available to help. 4, 1, 4 semester schedule gives you January to take one course only. Choose either something you love or something you need to concentrate on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take honors and AP courses, do a lot of community service, write a great essay and get excellent recommendations. Rigorous coursework here, not for students looking to coast or party hearty.

    In three sentences

    Warm, welcoming, friendly and filled with history. Are some of the buildings really haunted? I did not see any ghosts. Salem is organized and focused on providing a world class education in a nurturing environment. The city of Winston Salem is officially titled as City of Arts and Technology. Reciprocal courses are available at Wake Forest College.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do for fun. If you have a car, then you can drive to other colleges and around town but besides that, the only place for entertainment is downtown Winston-Salem.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You have a good variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and dirty. Only one of them is presumed to not be haunted.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is high on academics. Current students seem to find it overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not listen to what the guides tell you!! I had been researching Salem for 3 years and was dead-set on attending there. Once I went on the overnight trip and was able to see what the college was truly like and hear from students that go there, my opinion changed. The guides are told what to tell you, so of course they make it sound better than what it is. Also, there is no transferring from Salem. If you do so, your credits and grades will be messed up and you will be forced to repeat classes, which could jeopardize your year of graduation.

    In three sentences

    It is more like a boarding school than a college. If you are interested in greek life, this is not the place for you. You have to pledge at another college, WSSU if you want to do so.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Salem has a great environment for those wanting to learn and gain real world experience.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very well lit, pass public safety almost every time you go outside.

    Greek Life

    The entire school is one big sorority, Alpha Lambda Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Able to March with the Wake Forest Marching band

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to work hard and form close friendships. Enjoy small class sizes and befriending professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the day of Fall Fest, classes are cancelled and each class competes in various competitions, including skits which are always hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty expensive, but Salem tends to give out a LOT of Scholarships to those who are willing to work.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Winston-Salem is within walking distance and has tons of little restaurants and shops to go to, not to mention the art district. The mall is close by and Greensboro can be reached in a decent amount of time.

    Food and Dining

    The refectory and cellar are great places to eat and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    Most dorms are quiet and peaceful places to work while also providing a good environment to make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Taking the max load is super tough while working two jobs, but is doable. Definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work ahead! The syllabuses are the key to keeping up with work.

    In three sentences

    Salem has a great atmosphere with an intimate learning environment. Classes are small making it easy to form good relationships with professors who actually care! The professors are willing to go far and beyond to make sure you succeed.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The public safety is amazing and they're very friendly.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to choose from and if you can't find one you can start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have tons of ghost stories and a long history in the community.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the academics you pay and work for

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with your Salem sisters, trips to wal-mart, gallery hops downtown, and the Hanes mall.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better. We are currently working on getting better food.

    Dorm Life

    If you live on campus you have easy access to downtown, a mall and and lots of art-related places. You'll make tons of friends with your salem sisters.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot is expected from students. The course work is challenging but the professors work with you as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for Scholarship weekend where you get to stay on campus for the weekend and attend classes that interest you on Monday.

    In three sentences

    Salem College is a perfect place to make life-long friends, receive a great education and grow as a person. It is a small school with relatively small classes where the professors learn your name and get to know you as the individuals you are. Salem College has an 85% acceptance rate into medical school and a 95% into law school.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Again, not being on-campus, I'm out of the loop on activities available but I have heard about dances, trips to the mountains, weekly shopping shuttles. Winston-Salem the city has stuff going on, you just have to look for it. There is a vibrant arts and food industry. Overall, it is pretty family friendly.

    Food and Dining

    Again, since I don't live on campus, I don't eat on campus very often. When I do, I enjoy the variety and quality of food in the Refectory (or RAT as it is commonly called).

    Dorm Life

    I'm an adult student so I don't like on campus. However, from my classmates who are traditional aged students, they seemed to enjoy dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You are definitely kept on your toes academically at Salem. I have been challenged in every class that I have had but I love it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, no matter what. It is not easy to do it when you have a lot of things to stay on top of but focus is key. Do not hesitate to get help if you need it for something. Don't forget that you are not alone.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus but that means that community is very important. You will always have someone in your corner cheering you on. History and traditions run deep.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're everywhere, and are actually really friendly. They do their job well, and are super helpful. Funny story is that my roommates friend called them around 2 in the morning to kill a bug and they came.

    Greek Life

    The school is just one big sorority, and that is to help with everyone being one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot. I wish I could have done a lot more than what I am apart of, but that would be impossible. It also helps that they allow you to do activities at Wake Forest Uni. which is how I got into marching band.

    Great for these types of students

    Well, you have to be female, and you have to be willing for these people to become your family, because they'll become that eventually. That's why we're called the Salem Sisters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moravian Lovefeast is the only one I can think of. I went to it, and all the food was so delicious.

    Bang for the buck

    They help you in any way possible, and are so personable. Plus, Salem allows you to take classes at Wake Forest so you are definitely benefiting. They also help you get advantages in internships, trips to other countries, and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are some cool places to go to off-campus, or you could explore around the school seeing as it is historic. There are also a lot of vintage stores with the best buys!

    Food and Dining

    The Refectory always has healthy choices, and tries to tailor to the needs of students, such as, by having a Vegan bar, and gluten free food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't had any problems, but that's because I like my roommate, and my hall-mates. Not everyone can be as lucky as I am.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what you're taking. I'm going to be a double major in biology and chemistry, and I've heard that the teachers are great I just won't have a life with all the work and studying that I'll have to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a school that you have to see in-person to see if it's a place that you belong.

    In three sentences

    This school has small class sizes which allows you to get to know everyone in your class, and for the teacher to know you. The campus isn't overly large allowing you just enough to get lost if needed, but be easily available, and it doesn't hurt that it's gorgeous with a lot of places within walking distance. The events and traditions the school holds makes it a school of sisters.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bike Greenway is nearby and walking around campus is relaxing.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall services are convenient to students as well as the grill for evening hours and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting Fleer Center Student so I do not live in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Salem offers Quest tutoring which can help you get through a difficult course or unit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to give your best at Salem. Breathe and have fun so you can work hard when you need to.

    In three sentences

    Salem offers a community that students can belong to. It's academic and support staff work with you to accomplish your goals. The historic atmosphere and grounds of the campus is a huge plus especially when the workload is heavy and a peaceful nature walk is right outside of your classroom.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is incredibly safe, thanks to Public Safety. If you ever feel unsafe, even just walking from your car to your dorm room, public safety will come and pick you up and escort you back.

    Greek Life

    The entire campus is essentially one big sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Salem is full of clubs and activities to choose from. Each fall, Salem will host a club fair for new students to sign up and learn about all the clubs Salem offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Women looking for a college with strong sisterhood ties and amazing learning opportunities, both on campus and abroad.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Self-scheduled exams. Walk to Sister O's Grave for the honor code signing.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel as though I get my full money's worth from my time here at Salem already. Whenever we leave, we all can't wait to get back. We love Salem.

    What to do for fun

    Located in the heart of Winston-Salem, you can find many fun activities to do on or off campus. Salem typically hosts parties and dances every month for fun, and downtown is always alive with clubs, restaurants, and shops. Salem also hosts a free shuttle to take students to the mall/wal-mart/target when needed.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is BEAUTIFUL, however the meals aren't always too appealing. However, I believe this is just about the same with any college.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the dorms are without air conditioning, except for the hallways, but leaving your door open/windows up creates a nice atmosphere in the rooms. Most of the dorm halls have nice, new furnished rooms. Occasionally, there will be a bug or two.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes never overload you with work, but each student typically stays busy. Some degree requirements are more rigorous than others and require more dedication and motivation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that no college is perfect. There will be things you like and things you dislike about Salem. However, keep an open mind and you'll find it very enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    With a warm and welcoming environment, all students are sure to feel right at home in the Salem community. A strong sense of sisterhood forms inseparable bonds between the girls and an encouraging staff creates opportunities for excellent grades.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't attend at night. During the day very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities. I am always getting an email for something new going on that I'm invited to attend or join.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who need a smaller class size to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but so far I really like it. It was rated most valued education for cost like 10 times in a row or something like that.

    What to do for fun

    Walking, bike trails sports etc. Have a bus that will take you.to run errands go shopping etc.

    Food and Dining

    I ate at 'the rat' just once. It was good. But I was told the food is usually not great. At most colleges it never is tho....

    Dorm Life

    I'm a nontraditional student, don't live in dorm. Haven't heard complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    If you miss class they want to know where you are or what's wrong. They don't want you to fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your loans and financial stuff done quickly so you can have your registration done and know where ur classes are.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small which is great. The campus is easy to navigate and get around. The professers and other students seem helpful if you're lost or have questions.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    - I don't need a security. I walk in the middle of the night just fine.

    Greek Life

    WE have no greek life. We are all the same.

    Clubs and Activities

    -International Club -Rotaract Club -Drama Club

    Great for these types of students

    -Students that likes socializing and talking. -Competitive with academics and sports -Students that like traditions and the ancient history. -Feminists or (Anti-Man)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Visiting Sister O's grave and giving her daisies. There's moravian traditions.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown= rock the block, Fiesta, and International day. Also, biking on the Salem Trail to the lake because there are pretty lavenders and they smell good especially in the Fall.

    Food and Dining

    Only good on special occasions.

    Dorm Life

    If you're lucky, you'll have a fatabulous Residential Assistant. Know your roommate really well or else things will be stressful, but you always have the option of moving out to a different room. There are curfews for guys in some dorms. In others, it is 24/7.

    Academic Rigor

    Too much homework and assignments, but some professors are great, and some are not. School is mostly focused on academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Don't give in to what admission counselors say. -If you're looking for a fun event, downtown is one of the only places you'll find. -Bother the financial aid office because they won't tell you if you have a bill or not. They like to surprise you.

    In three sentences

    Dining is great on great days.Social life depends on you.There is rarely diversity.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Do not respond in a timely manner. Are ineffective at their job

    Food and Dining

    Very poor. Do not listen to the guides, they will tell you differently.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and dirty. They have recently been adding new furniture to some dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly moderate. Also depends on the classes you take

    In three sentences

    More like a boarding school than a college

  • 08/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    salem is considered a sorority. we are gamma kappa delta. some girls on campus are really into greek life, while others are not. because salem is not a traditional sorority, there are not any initiations or huge parties. we do have big sis/little sis, which is one of the most anticipated events of the fall. juniors look for their little sister in the first year class, and vice versa. it's a really fun experience!

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you are prepared to go to an all women's college. if that's where your heart is, then go for it. salem is very, very small. it is like a miniature town, everybody will know you. if that is what you are looking for then it will be a good match. make sure that salem has what you are looking for in academics. research everything! salem has great jan-term opportunities where students can study abroad, take fun classes, or do an internship. this is something that most schools don't offer.

    Bang for the buck

    salem college is very proud of our history and traditions. every year we have a thanksgiving and christmas dinner as if the whole school is a family. the traditional christmas candle light ceremony is the most beautiful tradition salem has, and definitely not one to miss. once a student on campus, you will learn of many odd places around salem that need to be explored before you graduate. with a school 240 years old, there's bound to be a secret and hidden location somewhere on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Salem is an all women's institution. It was created to cultivate strong, intelligent women. Its environment is strictly for learning and leadership opportunities through a student-run campus and small classrooms. The women are friendly and engaging. There is a place for everyone, whether it be the arts, sports, or academia.

    Academic Rigor

    the dorms at salem are really nice and pretty clean in comparison to most colleges. both the first-year dorms have brand new furniture and big rooms. most of the time girls aren't too loud, so students can do their homework in their room without being distracted. if a student is from out of state then laundry can get expensive, and most of the campus leaves during the weekends. this is not a large university so the weekends can get pretty boring and the dorms may feel empty.

  • 05/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind attending and all women's college. Students who have good work ethic and are ready to take the time to do the work. Students who are ready to try something knew and learn about themselves!

    Tips for prospective students

    Perspective students should go to all the events that are sponsored and they should definitely join clubs and go for leadership positions.

    Bang for the buck

    Salem college is worth all of the money that is put into tuition. The campus is gorgeous and with all of the services provided to the students it is really helpful!

    Am enjoying being here

    Salem allows for students to make a tremendous amount of friends. I know I have. The small community allows for students to build personal relationships that will last a life time. The Big sis/little sis program is extremely helpful for students to get to know upperclassman.

    Am learning a lot

    Salem is an academically excellent school. I have been blessed enough to learn tremendous amounts of information. It is based on the small classroom sizes and the great experience of the professors. Also,professors are available almost anytime you need them and they work with you one on one if you need them to!

  • 10/21/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Salem is great for a young lady who wants to gain confidence and is driven to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out Salem and stay overnight for fall visit and scholarship weekend. It's an amazing place to be. I love Salem and I know you will too :)

    Bang for the buck

    Salem is a bit expensive, but they offer finanical aid to everyone which is how I'm actually here. The name carries a reputation so it will be earlier to get a job over someone who just went to another public university.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Salem. I'm so glad I chose to go here. The campus is beautiful and the students and staff are friendly. It's a very inspiring environment.

    Am learning a lot

    Because it's a small classroom setting the teachers can give you all the help and attention you need to really learn the material

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not mind attending a women's college and who love to be challenged. Salem is easy to get into but do not be fooled. The curriculum is just as difficult as many other top schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely prepare yourself for an intense workout just living on campus - the school was built on a steep hill and doesn't tend to believe in elevators!

    Bang for the buck

    Salem is pretty expensive and I wish I received more financial aid. However, a degree from this school will definitely pay for itself!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Salem's campus and enjoy the great student facilities!

    Am learning a lot

    Salem has so many great professors and I have already learned so much.