Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sandhills Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/15/2016

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    Unsure.

    Bang for the buck

    Sandhills has more bang for your buck than other community colleges that I have visited.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the department head of the program you are interested in. They are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Campus was beautiful and well maintained. Classrooms were up to date and clean. Met with department head and he took me on a tour and answered all of my questions.

  • 01/06/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very active on campus, you're not able to go across campus without seeing at least one of the normal police officers. I personally feel even safer knowing that they also teach EMS, Police Academy, as well as Correctional classes on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life due to the fact that it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government is the number one thing to be able to do club wise. They are in charge of all the activities going on around campus. Rotary club is also a good club to get involved in. I'm also involved with that club and its very active with cancer awareness and the animal shelters around Moore county, a new project they started to work on was working with the elderly.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who actually care about going to school rather than being forced into it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Speakeasies on Thursdays in the library were always different to me, but also very fun to see the different things people bring in.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the campus is fantastic. It has that small but connected feel while also having the teachers requiring you to do university worthy work. It's rated #1 community college in NC for a reason! It's great!

    What to do for fun

    Getting involved with the student government is the best way to be involved with the student body and the events going on around campus. The Dempsey center is their version of the dining hall, plenty of seating, a game room with pool tables, air hockey and more, upstairs is the free gym and student government headquarters. That's where most students hang out and relax between classes.

    Food and Dining

    They have the every day salads, burgers, hot dogs but they also serve a different meal every day. Friday is traditionally pizza day. If you have a food allergen they will work with you on that as well which I like. I am able to go in everyday and request a fried chicken wrap, takes them only 5 minutes or so to pull off too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms due to being a community college BUT there are apartments right outside of the campus. Within walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the teachers have previously taught at NC State and have the requirement out of the students to do their best no matter what. They have high expectations of their students but help them be able to reach those expectations. Even when students are falling behind the professors will work with those students to make sure they we excel in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect easy, the professors at Sandhills expect students to do just as good work as if they were going to a state college but are able to connect with their students more.

    In three sentences

    There's a great staff that really connects with the students. The student government is in control of all social and awareness activities around the campus and they do a great job connecting with the students in a fun and educational way. Overall small but great campus to go to school at!

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tennis courts and the track. There is also the gardens, which are very pretty. There is a reservoir behind the campus that is a great running location.

    Food and Dining

    The dining is good in the cafeteria. However, that is the only restaurant on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are amazing and the school strives to provide the best education possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save your money.

    In three sentences

    I think Sandhills Community College has done an excellent job overall. It is impressing that a community college can come across as almost a university and Sandhills has definitely exceeded my expectations in that department. I am planning to be in the nursing program, however, and cost-wise is very difficult because it is one of the most expensive nursing programs in the state.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    attending Sandhills Community college you will save money beginning your education here. your money that you invest here you can get a awesome experience and receive good education.

    What to do for fun

    club sports, intramurals, ping pong room, tennis courts, soccer field, in door and out door basketball court

    Food and Dining

    Several dining areas upstairs and downstairs in the Dempsey center.

    Dorm Life

    its a community college no dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and get ready for a great experience. Beautiful campus in the gorgeous city of Pinehurst NC

    In three sentences

    SCC is an excellent college and the staff here is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Excellent rate in my eyes.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are tons of security guards. There is also actual police officers on campus. There is also emergency boxes in different locations of the school.

    Greek Life

    Not really much of a greek life. But there is a academic organization. I do believe the gpa require for this organization is 3.5.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs at Sandhills. Each major has their own club. For instance I was apart of the Human Service Club. In this club we did community services and helped out the community a lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Sandhills is great for any student who has not been in school for years, or students who are fresh out of high school. This is a great school to go to if a student wants to better themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual tradition is the game where male students grow out their beard. Its a beard contest. The objective is to see who can grow the longest, and weirdest beard. It is funny and fun all at the same time.

    Bang for the buck

    Sandhills is a great school. I think anybody should try it out.

    What to do for fun

    Although, Sandhills is a community college there is lots of ways to have fun there. There is the Dempsey Center where students can go to have lunch, socialize and play games. There is always some activity on campus for students. For example in the fall, there's a fall festival for students. They include games, and food.

    Food and Dining

    Sandhills has a great cafeteria. The salad bar is great. I do think that it is best to just bring your own lunch. That way students can save money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, Sandhills is a community college. There are a lot of apartments me in the location. Although it is a community college it is conveniently located in a great area that has a lot of different places a student could stay.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the teachers. I have learned a lot of skills while being at Sandhills. Majority of the individuals who work at Sandhills are really trying to help you. They want to see the students succeed. My gpa right now is a 2.9 and I must admit It is not hard to keep a good gpa at Sandhills. There are plenty of tutoring services and if a student applies themselves they will not fall through the cracks at Sandhills.

    Tips for prospective students

    I feel that students who are going to attend Sandhills need to know if they plan on transferring to a University before they begin their path at Sandhills. If the student have an idea of what they want to do in the future it will really help the student's transition to a University go smooth. Students should always prepare themselves. One tip that I wish someone would have told me is to see what classes transfer to a university and what classes will only count as electives. Knowing things like this will help the student get in their program of study faster at the university level.

    In three sentences

    Sandhills Community College has a great atmosphere for anybody who wants to further their education. The school is amazing and prepares students with skills that they will keep forever. I enjoyed my time at Sandhills and recommend it to anybody. Sandhills is very concerned with the well being of their students. This community college prepares students for University Level Courses. They also have transfer programs on the Sandhills campus. Sandhills makes it easy for students to further their education. I am extremely proud of this community college.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No Stafford Loan. No payment plan options after the semester starts but you are allowed to pay on your account up until the deadline when payment is due in full.

    What to do for fun

    Small community. This college has a lot of extra curricular activities and keeps students well informed of everything that's going on outside of the classroom.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are well informed of their topic and there to assist in every way possible. The work is challenging and I've learned a great deal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college and speak with the admissions department. I've found that at times the information online can be confusing.

    In three sentences

    Sandhills Community College is a great community college for those seeking to obtain an Associates Degree or transfer to a 4 yr college.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Look for a place to live early and have your own transportation

    In three sentences

    Really enjoy the campus and classes looking forward to basketball season learning a lot in the classroom and on the court.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a bit expensive, but they do make pretty good food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for college. This isn't high school. They will not lead you in the path you want them to. You are there on your own time and money. The professors and advisors help you, but they do not do it all for you.

    In three sentences

    This school is the best community college in the area. It has a wide variety of programs offered. They really help you to move on in your studies and to prepare you for the next step.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten on campus but i have hear good things about the cafeteria. There are also vending machines for the students on the go.

    Dorm Life

    Community College doesn't offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have their share of difficult moments, but the teachers are knowledgeable in their subjects and will not hesitate to make time to help you if you ask.

    In three sentences

    Great campus offering a handful of majors. The administrative staff is always helpful. And the teachers always seem to have time to help you when you ask.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Full time campus police force.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult students and veterans

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable and the classes are transferable within all of NC Community Colleges as well as having an agreement with the University of NC system.

    What to do for fun

    A large variety of intermural sports and other activities. The area is a growing community.

    Food and Dining

    Huge selection of dining in the local area.

    Dorm Life

    Currently no dorms due to this being a community college

    Academic Rigor

    Challeging but doable for most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to your counsellors early and do not wait to register. Classes fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for adult students. Has a wide selection of online as well as resident courses. Very veteran friendly.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school pretty much has everything. I am studying to become a Paramedic and I am extremely happy they have the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hurry and apply here if you are interested. Classes here go out really quick.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're an In-State resident the price is very reasonable. Out-of State can be pretty expensive

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a very great school. My first semester was in Spring 2011. I enjoyed meeting new friends.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers were excellent at helping me when I needed it. They are willing to stop their work and help. The teachers taught very well and were easy to understand.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sandhills Community College is a great school for any student. It offers a lot of opportunities for any kind of student, and the course selection is large and varied. Local students will enjoy the school's location, as well as anyone who cannot afford to pay for a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice that one should accept is to stay focused and active in a school's community. Join clubs and apply for scholarships and financial aid as soon as possible. Setting a good foundation for a college career takes a lot of effort, but the proper care will go a long way.

    Bang for the buck

    Sandhills Community College is an excellent school that provides an excellent learning experience with a very affordable price. The offers and assistance is always available for students searching for financial aid and scholarships.

    Did enjoy being here

    The teachers and staff was very friendly and helpful. They handle each student on a personal level, and treat each individual accordingly. The activities the school organizes and the opportunities that arises from them were very thoughtful and enjoyable. Students had plenty of opportunities to interact with fellow students and meet different visitors and guests.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers kept the classroom lectures and labs as a hands on experience. Students were able to follow along with the teacher either through interactive lessons on a computer or problems on a white board. Teachers make a great effort to ensure the students are given their chance to succeed.