Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Schoolcraft College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/07/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the two and a half years that I have attended Schoolcraft College, not once have I felt unsafe. This college has police officers who frequently patrol the campus, as well.

    Greek Life

    The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is a wonderful group for students who have a 3.5 GPA or higher. It presents scholarships for transfer students that are only available to its members, gives opportunities for volunteering, hands on experience, and a lifetime of incredible memories.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that this school deserves every honor of recognition that it gets! It is an affordable option for students, has a very safe campus, challenging classes (in a good way!), and resources that will give you the experience that you need in order to succeed in an academic career.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to keep a student well-entertained here at Schoolcraft College; there are clubs of every sort, the Lower Waterman of the VistaTech Building hosts many activities, as well as dances, charities, and much, much more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Schoolcraft College, Henry's, is spectacular! The staff in the cafeteria are wonderful, as well. Try the mac & cheese when they serve it at 11 o'clock AM--it is to die for.

    Dorm Life

    Schoolcraft College does not currently have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Schoolcraft College has many classes that require a student's total dedication, time, and effort, in order to be successful in them. There is an extensive amount of class choices; it is important to pick the ones that you will truly attempt to do your best in, and that will help you reach your career, or academic, goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to prospective students is to get involved in the thrill that is campus life--there are various clubs to join, activities to participate in, and so many different people to talk to. Take a chance and step outside of your comfort zone, you will not be sorry!

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is an excellent institution for students who wish to experience college with the comfort of more intimate class sizes, or for students who wish to prepare themselves for universities. The professors, academic advisers, and staff of this college are some of the most friendly, helpful, and sincere people I have ever met. Here at Schoolcraft, you will be surrounded by people who truly care about your success in life, and will have all the resources you will need in order to succeed.

  • 06/07/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of activities and events throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    amazing cafeteria also there is a 5 star restaurant located on campus

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    awesome professors and classmates

    In three sentences

    amazing college always something fun and safe to do. has great learning activities and areas all over campus. there is always some kind of event going on also!

  • 12/07/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always felt protected never had a problem infact I had to leave my Jeep they once over night but it was intact when I returned to next morning to get it! They do a great job in keeping the campus safe! I would Schoolcraft for any person looking to further their education starting in a smaller college setting, it truly worked for me!

    Clubs and Activities

    The Honor Society has lots of volunteer functions to attend as well as meetings to help spread the word about acedemic excellence and how hard work pays off!

    Great for these types of students

    Yes... For a small community college is what I knew would work for me! You muist find what college scenerio works best for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have days where they have hot dogs and chips and you can mingle with both other students as well as the professors and some office staff to get to know them better! They also have science fairs and art fairs which I personally attended and enjoyed.

    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft College was very affordable for me and recieving a scholarship helped me as well!

    What to do for fun

    They do have activities on the campus unfortunately, I was unable to participate because of my schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    I earned my place in the Honor Society because I worked very hard working over a 40 hour work week and I took advantage of all the assistance that was afforded to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    First take a tour talk with second year students and ask why they returned to the college. Ask questions about the staff more importantly about the professors; are they willing to help before and after class are tutors available for all courses. And are scholarships available for those who work hard. Being rewarded as a older college student was a feeling like no other- very proud!

    In three sentences

    I attended Schoolcraft College as a older student returning to college and what a wonderful experience it was. The professors' were all very passionate about their craft. They were all very honest and patient in helping me reach my greatest potential there and was the best choice I could have made choosing Schoolcraft College for my A. A. S. as a returning to older college student!

  • 09/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, nontraditional, dual enrollment, those seeking training for a career change.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value, costs are about 1/3 the cost of attending a 4-year institution, and the first two years of a bachelor's degree are basic liberal art requirements. So why pay the higher tuition when you can save money by getting your first 60+ credits at Schoolcraft, then transfer for your last two years?

    What to do for fun

    Various clubs and organizations you can join if you're interested.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of choices on-campus for good food!

    Dorm Life

    No on-campus housing, this school is for commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    Just what I was expecting for Freshman-level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save LOTS of money by staying home your first two years and attending Schoolcraft College. Talk to people in your classes to make new friendships. Get to know your instructors by asking appropriate questions and participating in class discussions. Visit the career center for help in researching occupations related to your intended major. Freshman are required to take and pay for a one-credit Study Skills class, no matter what your ACT scores are or your high school GPA. I found out too late that you can avoid this requirement by taking an online class the semester before you start regular on-campus classes. Had I known this before hand, I would have taken an online class the summer between finishing high school and starting college.

    In three sentences

    Close to home. Good instructors. Nice campus.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    STUDENT ACTIVITIES, there is always something going on. They also make free popcorn down there as well.

    Food and Dining

    Henry's Food Court has a wide range of food and snacks for the hungry student.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms availible

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, learn where the Student Activities are. Many students spend time there and it is a great place to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft has small but great campus, it is easy to navigate and to find where you need to be. They have many outlets for students to hang out and study. Every administrator is helpful if you have any questions, many know the answer or know how to find it.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The soccer field is useful for a run therapy while helping you stay fit!

    What to do for fun

    There's book clubs, organizations, volunteer work, dances, multicultural fairs, and many more!

    Tips for prospective students

    Writting fellow helped me out so much with all my essays in both english 101 and english 102. Also, the math seminars. Do not miss those seminars! If you attend them they will give you an attendence sheet that can earn you extra credit points for your courses form your professors. Lastly, Stay on track with all assignments don't let the lable of community college stop you from putting a great amount of effort into your work. Nothing good comes easy!

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is on a scale from one to ten a ten! The tutoring center is incredibly helpful--it is worth every minute. Above all the academic resources at Schoolcraft, Schoolcraft provides a welcoming admasphire!

  • 03/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police, minimal incidents, even help you when you've locked yourself out of your car.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Cappa, recognized as an honors program for community colleges across the country.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different opportunities, including honors programs and things just for fun.

    Great for these types of students

    The all inclusive, not just the elite. Very diverse with very accommodating schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    Trust me when I say I have experienced the bad side of community colleges, and this place has been nothing but helpful every step of the way. I also KNOW I have received better education and teaching standards.

    What to do for fun

    They always have events posted around campus for weekly or monthly activities. This ranges from program specific events to all-campus movie nights, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety, plenty of seating. Friendly students.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life rating available, this is a community college with no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn the campus, it's not very big so it shouldn't be overwhelming. Take advantage of talking with advisors, They helped me immensely, along with student groups. I am now a Phi Theta Cappa member, which allows me to graduate with honors!

    In three sentences

    I transferred here from a different community college due to residency status. I am beyond satisfied knowing the difference in education I received. I would recommend anyone I talked to for Schoolcraft College.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of things you can do in your free time. They have video games, a pool table, a pool, gym, tons of clubs and teams to join.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft has a culinary program with five master chefs and a really great cafeteria so you don't have to worry about having to go hungry or eating bad food.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You need to keep up with homework/assignments wherever you go to school, there are professors who won't accept late homework no matter what (especially when you get into OE/OE classes).

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what you want to do in your future first if possible so the counselors can be of the best assistance to you and so you don't spend extra money and take extra classes you don't need.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft Community College is a great place to go for an Associates degree or if you're trying to save money on your basic classes before transferring. The professors are nice and helpful and the classes I've taken haven't been too large. The counselors are really helpful with helping you develop a plan and figuring out what you need to transfer to a 4 year university.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fitness center

    Great for these types of students

    Schoolcraft is great for students who did not do as well as they planned in high school. This school gives you a second chance for getting into the University of your choice!

    What to do for fun

    At Schoolcraft I like to go to the gym for fun. Their fitness center is very nice and up to date!

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft's cafeteria is amazing. They have such good food and great prices! They also have a restaurant where all the training chefs make the food and that is also amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I live about 5 minutes away from Schoolcraft so I just live at home with my parents.

    Academic Rigor

    Schoolcraft has great academics and professors.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is a great school to start out at. It has helped me become more mature and start to become independent. Schoolcraft is a great college to start out at if you aren't ready to leave home yet.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    sffaf

    Tips for prospective students

    teachers but a few of the nursing instructors.. my question is has any african american student been through this program and actually pass the RN program with no problem i just want to know bc im hearing it alot

    In three sentences

    I just want to know.. Iv heard a lot of things about this campus and my concern is I want to go into the nursing program but people say that the nursing instructors make it hard for african american students to pass and that they are racist not all

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a pretty small campus, and there's always someone around. Workers are constantly passing by in their golf carts, so I've never felt unsafe (except for the possibility of Death by Golf Cart).

    Clubs and Activities

    There isn't much selection when it comes to clubs, and with the clubs there are, they aren't well established.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Since Schoolcraft is known for it's Culinary school, you can always find great food to eat at Henry's.

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a Commuter College, there is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are well planned and fairly graded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for Financial Aid EARLY. Talk to an adviser at least once every semester, to make sure you're taking the right classes to graduate and/or transfer. Take advantage of the free fitness membership, the gym equipment is still new. Also, there's a pool for swimming laps and such.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft is great. Easy registrations, you can sign up simply for classes online. It's a small campus, so you don't have to trek around everywhere when it's -20 degrees, just to get to class.

  • 09/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent Campus security on top of everything. I have seen them on campus numerous times. Also they have helped students if the students lost something.

    Greek Life

    Yes they have Greek Life. But I do not know the greek symbols for schoolcraft.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs like young republicans, study aboard or interact with the schools newspaper.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the type of students looking to improve their GPA's. Or people searching for cool degrees. For example they have Homeland security degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unfortunately I don't think there is any unusual traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft is a little more expensive especially when your out of district. Because of the the online classes.

    What to do for fun

    Schooolcraft has many clubs like newspaper, student government and ski club. Also many restaurants but pricey so be careful.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft main degree is culinary. The students learn about cooking and serve to other students looking for a bit of food.

    Dorm Life

    At a community college there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really care about you and want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard but don't forgot about your social life. Make sure your on the professor good side. Because they want help you become a well rounded individual.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft try to help the students. The consolers and job placement officials really want make sure your in the right fit. Good community college to get your foot in the door.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student that wants to stay local. Also for single working parents!

    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft College is one of the most affordable colleges that have many very high demanding career fields. They have a variety of class schedules and a lot of online classes as well.

    What to do for fun

    They have many sports teams. They also have activity groups and a gym for students.

    Food and Dining

    The food court has delicious food and at very reasonable prices. They are also multiple vending machines in every building.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to work hard to earn your grades just like at any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend talking with your counselor. They will help guide you along the right path that you are looking for.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is a very rewarding college. The professors are helpful and the class sizes are small. Even the counselors help you out when you need them.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, they have a two day event called School Daze, where you can learn about all the clubs and activities that happen on campus. There are tons of fun games and contests you can participate in. And local restaurants and businesses show up with free food, and coupons.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student, you can use Schoolcraft's fitness center for free with your class schedule. You can also find times that there are free meals in the student center.

    What to do for fun

    Schoolcraft has a student center in the basement of the Waterman building. There, you can play ping pong, watch movies, play video games, and or even just hang out with your friends. The best part is that sometimes there's even free popcorn there!

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants located around the school, that give you many options, from McDonalds, to P.F. Changs, and even Applebee's. Located on the campus is Schoolcraft's cafeteria called Henry's. which has amazing food that is made by the students in the culinary arts program, and everything there is amazing, and is available at reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Because Schoolcraft is a community college, there aren't any dorms, but meeting people on campus is fairly easy.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy as long you put in the time to go to class. As long as you feel you understand what's going on in the class, homework is easy and quick to complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advice from other students on what teachers work well with your learning type. The professors here want to help you learn, and most of them love what they do, so they aren't afraid to really help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is a nice community college with a small campus, which make it easy to navigate. Schoolcraft is full of friendly people, students and staff, who make you feel welcome.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unsure

    Food and Dining

    Unsure

    Dorm Life

    Unsure

    Academic Rigor

    Unsure, I haven't taken any classes as of yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know where you need to go ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Campus is nice, user friendly. The staff is helpful. It is very busy though so you need to have a plan when visiting the campus and looking for information.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus police are everywhere. There are emergency phones posted at close intervals. The parking lot is huge, but well lit and well maintained. I always feel safe there.

    Greek Life

    No clue.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities, but as a night student. I am out of that loop.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults going back to school which is what I am. I work during the day and attend classes at night. It works great with my schedule.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a brand new health club that is open to all students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie club that shows movies for free.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat here. There are vending machines, but no restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is like a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I have gone to one other college in the area, and Schoolcraft is academically a bit harder. If you study hard, you will do fine though. I had a math class last semester, and math is my most difficult subject. I worked hard and pulled off an A. It was the first time in my life that I understood math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated about registering to attend this school. The staff is friendly and helpful because they want you to succeed. If you want to go to school, just go to admissions and they will get you on your way.

    In three sentences

    Scoolcraft is small and easy to maneuver. Everyone is so friendly and the teachers are wonderful. I really enjoy going here,

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there shouldn't be any problems, the campus is near a very busy plaza so there aren't any bad things happening and there are cameras inside the building.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure of this subject.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs at Scraft, unfortunately i didn't participate in any but they very from Drama club to LGBT clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a smaller campus with smaller classrooms and want to get to know other students for longer periods of times. Its a quite place and there are a lot of friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Biomedical building, towards the back there is an outside patio/sitting area. It's great for people who want to go outside on a nice sunny day and relax and read a book or something.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices at Scraft are great, and very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of parks near by so you can go for a run or play soccer with friends. There are a lot of restaurants of different kinds that you can go to. There are ice cream places, and it's near DownTown Plymouth that is an older city filled with small shops and lots of cafes.

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food and lot of vending machines. There are some stores a short drive by, like mexican food and Potbelly's, my favorite!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Schoolcraft

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are average, there are some that make you want to pull your hair out of your scalp but some are awesome teachers. The work load is very manageable just plan your time right and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an academic advisor before singing up for classes and ask them a lot of questions, like where can my credits transfer too, if you have a university in mind. What kind of a job can I get, and always ask for scholarship opportunities. Make use of the library and free tutoring.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and friendly, with not a lot of walking to do. Some buildings are older than others and they need a little of TLC. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the prices are reasonable. Great way to start the next step towards a career after high school.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun from sports to yoga classes. You can also take a class and get a credit for those activities.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate at the Livonia campus so I wouldn't know what it's like there, but the Radcliff (garden city ) Campus is average. Nice variety though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be prepared and have all documents when dealing with the counselors and financial aid office.

    In three sentences

    It's a good good. Community College with Campus experience. Nice people.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's very affordable, and the education you get is on par with local universities. Many of the professors here teach at four year universities as well.

    What to do for fun

    Livonia and Northville have a lot to do, and there are parks and activities nearby and in Detroit.

    Food and Dining

    It's a culinary school too, so it's got really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms currently available are for international students.

    Academic Rigor

    It's generally not hard, but not an easy A school either. It isn't hard in the sense that the grading is fair, and the testing is based on what you're taught, for the most part, and not on another level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to ratemyprofessors.com before enrolling. There are some really excellent professors, but some aren't as good. Make sure to check out the LAC in the Library for tutoring. Make sure to visit your professor during office hours with questions. Go to ALL your classes, and do all your assignments. It's a great school for learning-I should know, I've been to 7 colleges! This one has been the best for really teaching me what I want to learn.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful place to learn. Tutors, involved professors, small classes. Nice campus, really great fitness center, and excellent cafeteria (it's also a chef's school!).

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college, most classes will transfer. It's a good idea to get your gen ed's done here.

    Food and Dining

    great food in the cafeteria and some good local restaurants

    Dorm Life

    Most students commute

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were difficult, just stay on top of your work and you'll be fine.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security 24/7. If you need any help with your car or if you need any help security is there to help.

    Greek Life

    There is only one Greek for anyone that has a 3.5 GPA or higher.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone. You can even make your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    All types!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really don't know much about any of the traditions, since I've only been there for one semester, but they have out door events when the weather is warm and the sun is shining.

    Bang for the buck

    I have no idea.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of extracurricular activities happening all the time! But there are also clubs that you can join for all types of people. Plus they welcome you with open arms.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has amazing food. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Plus there are affordable snacks sold all day long. There is also a restaurant in the Vista tech center open to the public!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, wish there were though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are always there to help you just have to ask for it. Do your homework and study at least 30 minutes a day, you'll get a 4.0 in no time.

    In three sentences

    The teachers want you to succeed, plus there are many programs/volunteers/students that will help you with any class you may be struggling in. The classes are affordable. Helpful for beginners.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The cost per credit hour is a big savings over universities. It is a great way to save some money for the first 2 years of college.

    Food and Dining

    They have a very nice cafeteria/restaurant.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out Schoolcraft for your general studies. It is a great place to start and saves quite a bit of money while completing your required classes. The classes transfer to most universities.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft has been a good school so far. I've enjoyed the classes and the teachers have been good. The campus is not really large and it is very easy to get around.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is top notch. I have never witnessed a single issue with security nor have I ever felt unsafe at Schoolcraft.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Schoolcraft. The only thing I know of is Phi Theta Cappa which is an academic achievers program.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated previously, the clubs at Schoolcraft put on an incredible festival called School Daze twice a year. It previews all of the clubs and activities on campus to pique the interest of incoming and current students alike.

    Great for these types of students

    Schoolcraft is great for students who really want to apply themselves but do not have a lot of money to spend. It's a great school to get you on your way.

    Bang for the buck

    You really do get a lot for a little at Schoolcraft. Tuition rates are very reasonable and you really do learn a lot in class.

    What to do for fun

    The School Daze festival is one of my favorite things about Schoolcraft. It's a great time to learn about all the clubs and activities that Schoolcraft has to offer to a student like you. Plus, there is free food! What could be better than that?!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food at a great price and is an awesome place to hang out and do homework or just to meet up with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Schoolcraft does not have any housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Schoolcraft can definitely be challenging at times but it is extremely rewarding to know that you have worked hard and succeeded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Learning Assistance Center!! The tutors are 100% there to help you succeed in whatever you are having trouble with. Also, as long as you pay attention in class and do your homework, your time at Schoolcraft will be a breeze!

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft is a great place to complete your general education requirements. Not only is it affordable but it offers many ways to get connected with other students and has an awesome Learning Assistance Center if students need help with homework. Schoolcraft has become like a home to me and I am so grateful for the time that I have gotten to spend attending this school.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just from my surveillance of the area, there is numerous of shopping plazas and stores, restaurants, even a AMC movie theater. As far as on-campus activities, I haven't had the opportunity as of yet to research more into that.

    Food and Dining

    Around the around of the college there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I can't fairly evaluate this area, being that I am a older student, a single mother of two girls. I'm not even sure if Schoolcraft has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a new student to Schoolcraft, so I can't give a fair evaluation as far as how extensive and in-dept courses are taught. I am enrolled in on-line course and so far, so good. My instructor even quizzed on orientation information that was helpful in navigation and successfully completing the 7 week online course.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, allow yourself ample time to go through the complete process of enrolling, financial aid and such. And if you can have some type of support, please lean on all sources of any type of support during the process.

    In three sentences

    I am a new student at Schoolcraft College and haven't experience the class room setting much, but with brief interaction with a few instructors, they seem very helpful. But during the enrolling and registration process, it was a lot more tedious than I expected; staff made it a little more different through such challenging time.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very calm and safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs if you are interested in

    What to do for fun

    They have a Fitness center for all current students.

    Food and Dining

    There food is not that bad, they have couple of restaurants at the student center.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately they don't have any dorms

    Academic Rigor

    If you put in study time for every course your currently taking you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Show up to every scheduled class meeting 2. Get all assignments turned in 3. Last but not least, study and you will be successful

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is a nice place for any typical student to go and get an education. The teachers there are very supportive to each and every student seeking help. I recommend to anyone to go there in search of finding a career.

  • 12/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 26 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I like this college for studies and i will prefer students to come here and study here this is excellent college

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 46

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a great student activities center with cool hangout areas and a lot of clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The Vistatech center is a great place to get food. always good and cheap!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Schoolcraft.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be difficult but all of the teachers I've encountered have been a great help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule your classes as soon as possible, they fill up! Apply for scholarships early, they are very generous.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for students just getting started. inexpensive, great staff, and you will never get lost. A lot of fun activities take place here as well.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off. College is different from high school, no one is going to make sure you get your work done except you.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is a great school. I've been very pleased with everything so far and I'm excited to be receiving my education from there.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus as well as cameras all over.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty to do with all the athletic facilities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working students or students that have not decided on a major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of yet

    Bang for the buck

    You can afford Schoolcraft because it is under $100.00 per credit hour and the school is tied to many 4 year universities so you can transfer as a Junior providing you took enough transfer credits

    What to do for fun

    There is a full scale workout facility, basketball courts, tennis courts, soccer fields etc

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft has one of the top Chef programs in the country taught by some master chefs so the food is better than almost anywhere else.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    There is a wide variety of classes depending on what level you are currently at

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with the admissions staff and arange to take a tour

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft is a good fit for those who work and want to go to school and are not sure what they want to major in yet

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 46

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft seems to be a warm and welcoming school that gives any and every one the chance to learn. My sister attended schoolcraft and she was really excited about the small class sizes and low cost. Schoolcraft has a nice atmosphere that just captures your heart and I'm really glad I get to be apart of such an extraordinary campus.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is amazing here a Schoolcraft. You'll always see security driving around the campus. There are also always a security guard walking inside buildings keeping a eye on things.

    Greek Life

    Schoolcraft is apart of the Phi Theta Kappa. But there are strict qualifications to join. One being a 3.5 g.p.a and another is a one time fee.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Clubs and Activities. We have clubs based on religions, music and many other factors. There are always some form of activities going on as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Schoolcraft is great for all types of students. Students with many different backgrounds come here. You'll probably meet a veteran, Muslim, Christian, Hindu and foreigner all in one class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Henry's food court located in the VisTaTech center is a location where many students meet up with friends. You can have a good meal working on assignments or just relax. It's a good area to take a break.

    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft is a good price compared to other colleges. It's a place a lot of students go to take their general courses and then transfer to a university to pursue a degree. They have good scholarships for students who qualify as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities through the semester offered. From movie nights too school plays. They often have a radio station come and host different school functions sometimes as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Schoolcraft College is very good. We have a food court called Henry'Â?Â?s Food Court. The American Harvest restaurant and Main Street Cafe are really nice.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms at Schoolcraft College. But it's still a great school! You'll have so many opportunities to meet new people and join clubs.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the academics are pretty demanding. The teachers want you to know as much as you can on the subject. You tend to get more assignments toward the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take your classes seriously. Some teachers will not tolerate tardiness or late assignments. Don't use or have your cellphones out during class time.

    In three sentences

    I love the diversity in this school! The teachers are quite helpful. The main campus is very pretty.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit Schoolcraft College once and you get addicted to it!

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College is not just a school but a home for every student to feel comfortable in. It not only elaborates on every aspect of your intended education, but it also builds up your hopes, skills, and personality constructively. It is the most deliberate bow that compels your targeted arrow to strike its aim.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 33 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter where you are on campus, an officer is within shouting distance. Notorious for riding their bikes around campus, the officers are always willing to talk and go the extra mile for an Ocelot.

    Greek Life

    While Schoolcraft doesn't necessarily offer sororities or fraternities to it's students, it does have a National Honor Society, Phi Theta Kappa, that looks just as impressive on paper.

    Clubs and Activities

    As an avid snowboarder, I was thrilled to find that Schoolcraft's Student Activity Board is home to one of the state's largest snowboarding clubs. With trips out to Colorado every winter, who wouldn't want to be an Ocelot?

    Great for these types of students

    Did you struggle to obtain your high school diploma? Was high school a breeze for you? Or perhaps you were the person who skated by off the kid who sat next to you? If you identify with any of the previously asked questions, Schoolcraft is the right fit for you. With such a wide variety of classes to choose from, Schoolcraft can accommodate any person, at any level, from any place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    While Great Harvest isn't unusual, how many colleges have the ability to boast a world-class restaurant? Not many. That's the Schoolcraft difference.

    Bang for the buck

    After paying for a semester at a four-year-university with money I'd saved during high school, I knew my bank account was going to run dry. Schoolcraft offers classes at exceptional rates for local residents, and rates nearly as exceptional for those from out-of-state.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is everywhere you look on campus! If you're an athlete, Schoolcraft has a club team you can join. If you want to relax and play video games with friends, Schoolcraft's student activities center is state-of-the-art, and pops free popcorn all day long! Play tennis? Don't become star-struck when you run into Rich Kynast on the courts; the tennis pro runs camps all summer long.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft is home to one of the highest acclaimed culinary arts programs in the country. The campus boasts a student-run restaurant that has seated celebrities, and local congressman, alike. You won't find better 'caf' food than at Schoolcraft, I guarantee it.

    Dorm Life

    If you're looking to live on-campus, unfortunately, Schoolcraft does not offer dorms. However, there are many apartments within walking distance from campus that can be rented by potential students.

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework is manageable, if you are motivated. Professors are more than accommodating, and truly will help you become successful - both academically, and on the streets.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're debating between attending a four-year university, or a community college first, choose Schoolcraft. Having attended both, I can contest that the attention you receive from professors on campus is far more than you'll ever receive at a university. Not only will you save thousands of dollars, you'll build relationships that will last a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    In all honesty, I never thought I would end up studying at a community college. After spending a semester at a large university, my family and I decided that it would be in my best interest to come home and focus on my studies in a more relaxed atmosphere. I've been at Schoolcraft for three semesters now, and look forward to spending another three working towards my second Associate's Degree.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft charges more per credit hour depending on where you live, even though I live less than a mile from their Radcliff campus I do not qualify.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary program at Schoolcraft is supposed to be excellent although I have never ate on campus, I have heard nothing but good things.

    Dorm Life

    Schoolcraft does not offer dorms, although they could set up contracts with near by apartment complexes, but they have not yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Schoolcraft are sufficient for a community college, and should be treated as such. You have to remember it is a community college not a university, or technical school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to consider all options before deciding on a college.

    In three sentences

    Overall my experience at Schoolcraft has been satisfactory. I think that there is a lot of room for improvement. I also think that Schoolcraft should offer more technical degrees and certificates.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 35 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 out of 5

    Bang for the buck

    1 out of 5

    What to do for fun

    go off campus

    Food and Dining

    1 out of 5

    Dorm Life

    1 out of 5

    Academic Rigor

    1 out of 5

    Tips for prospective students

    over look everything

    In three sentences

    Not very helpful for grants/ financial aid. Had me pay for sschooling than needed for a associates degree. Have bad dept due to loans for mislead information.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is good. Schoolcraft College has a Public Safety Academy and is located in one of the safest communities in the nation.

    What to do for fun

    There are various Clubs that students can participate in with various interests.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft College has a Culinary Arts Program, so the food offerings are above average.

    Academic Rigor

    Schoolcraft College has an above-average rating for academics compared to other Community Colleges in the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any college curriculum, It's important to establish good study habits. Give attention to each course constantly. Don't cram or wait til the last second.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft College like any community college provides first two years of college at a discounted price compared with Universities or Colleges. College courses transfer to most in State Universities.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure and localized. The parking is very close to all the academic building and well lit at night

    Clubs and Activities

    They were available but I did not get involved in any

    Great for these types of students

    Schoolcraft is great for the student that does not want to travel far away from home, or the student that wants to live at home and get a good education at a reasonable cost before moving on to a larger university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Schoolcraft was similar to high school and I did not encounter any unusual traditions and campus was very localized and close to my house

    Bang for the buck

    Schoolcraft is a great place to start your academics it is very reasonable in cost compared to the education. Most universities are in the $400/credit hour and schoolcraft is around $80/credit hour. It allowed me to complete some of my education without incurring large amounts of debt.

    What to do for fun

    I lived at home while attending Schoolcraft so what I did for fun was not directly connected to the College. I lived locally all my life so I had a few friends that did not go away to school and we continued our friendships

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat on campus, but I mostly ate at home or while I was traveling either to or from my classes

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at schoolcraft college

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors expect your very best, they expect you to attend class and participate in daily exercises

    Tips for prospective students

    You must be disciplined and work hard to achieve your goals. Make sure you set personal goals for yourself. Make sure you set both short term and long term goals for your education and your career.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft was a great place for me to start me college studies. It gave me a similar atmosphere as high school and allowed me to transition to college easily. Schoolcraft is a great learning environment and all the instructors had a vested interest in my learning

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is everywhere. I do not believe they should have guns, but they do. So i would say it is safe here.

    Greek Life

    I do not believe there is a Greek Life here.

    Great for these types of students

    Students working, saving money, not ready to move out, or adults coming back to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lounge on the bottom floor of the VistaTech center that has video games that not many people know about.

    Bang for the buck

    This is my main reasoning for attending. The credit hours are extremely reasonably priced and depending on your family income, state grants can send you to Schoolcraft for free!

    What to do for fun

    Schoolcraft has a number of sports teams, along with the Phi Theta Scholarship Program and a new state-of-the-art gymnasium.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft is recognized as a top culinary school in the state of Michigan. There is also a floor in the VistaTech center with a cafeteria and ample seating area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe there are dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are on top of your assignments and attending class, you should be fine. Schoolcraft College uses an online database for most assignments too, so it is important to stay up to date.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay ahead on your work, depending on the amount of credits you take it can get overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft Community College is a relaxing environment. This college provides very flexible class schedules for students who are balancing the rigors of work and school from the ages of 17+. The teachers there are knowledgeable and provide assistance outside of class.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Koji Sushi or Laurel Park Place or AMC or Phoenix Theatres, all within 10 minutes of Schoolcraft.

    Food and Dining

    Schoolcraft rents out spaces to the neighboring restaurants- mmmmmmm! :)

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college- no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors do an excellent job teaching; the classes just require some effort and dedication on your part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join University Bound if you intend to go to a University. There are tons of scholarships here, you just have to find them.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft offers an open and inviting campus. The professors are kind and professional. There is tons of well advertised campus support for the students here.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around.

    Great for these types of students

    Students should have access to a vehicle and be prepared to do a lot of their work independently.

    What to do for fun

    I only attend classes at Schoolcraft. I don't participate in any on- campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students cook meals, entrees and dessert in 2 on-campus restaurants. Prices are reasonable, but I find the food a bit bland. There are quite a few decent chain restaurants less than a mile of the campus: Macaroni Grille, PF Changs, Wendy's, etc...

    Academic Rigor

    I've found that I've earned all the grades I've received. The work isn't hard, just very time consuming so you must manage your time to complete s=assignments in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some popular instructor's classes will fill up early so have alternative schedules ready when registering. Also try some of of the more unusual classes.

    In three sentences

    Schoolcraft is known for its excellent culinary arts program but it offers a lot more. It has a good Music department, and lots of competent and caring instructors. You can get a lot of bang for your buck!

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the american harvest restaurant is a great place to have five start quality food for a three star price.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you register for classes here, make sure you know what teachers you are going to have. some of them don't put in as much effort for their students as others do.

    In three sentences

    the campus is small, but most of the buildings are nice. has a decent library and student activities are. the culinary section of the school and their food is just outstanding.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i've always felt safe on campus, and there are always guards driving around.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus including a photography club, a newspaper, and a dance club. you learn all about them at school daze, a festival that takes place twice a year (fall and winter) on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the bio-tech center is a very cool designed space with a large lounge to hang out in before class.

    Bang for the buck

    much cheaper than a normal university.

    What to do for fun

    the student activities center always puts on things to do.

    Food and Dining

    henry's as a fantastic selection of all kinds of food for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers are challenging, others are easy. it just depends on who you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    community colleges are great for getting general education classes out of the way, and make sure to get a transfer guide from a counselor to whatever 4-year university you want to make sure your classes will transfer and you aren't wasting money.

    In three sentences

    schoolcraft has wonderful teachers, classes and people. everyone makes you feel welcome and on equal ground when you first start. people don't judge you there.

  • 12/26/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 43 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Schoolcraft is great for those students who like smaller schools, smaller classroom sizes, would like to have one on one with the professors, and who would like to earn credits that may transfer to a university to further their education, while saving money at the same time. It is also great for those looking to go into the Culinary Arts field.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for those prospective students are that they make sure that they are prepared, they work hard at everything they do, and stay focused. They should try not to get side-tracked. Students should also look into what their interests are to try to find out what it is that they want to do in life.

    Bang for the buck

    This school really is a bang for the buck because it is inexpensive. The financial aid I received paid for everything I needed which allowed me to go to school fall and winter semester for free. Students are able to earn credits at a cheaper price, and still get a quality education, while still having all the extracurricular activities, groups, or organizations that students would like to participate in.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the school is just what I like. It fits what I like in a school, the school is small, it has small classroom sizes, students are able to get one on one with the professor, and students can meet new people and have new experiences everyday just from walking around campus. It has what's called the Vistatech Center, which has the food court, a basement where students can hang out, play games, and watch tv; and upstairs is the American Harvest Restaurant, where the food is prepared by the Culinary Arts students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot at Schoolcraft. The professors help to make understanding the material easier. They answer questions students have when they have difficulty getting the concept of the lesson. Students are able to learn a lot because the professors take the time to make sure the students know what they are discussing, to get the material down-packed.

  • 01/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want or need to stay close to home, aren't ready to leave home yet, can't afford going away, are undecided as to what they might want to major in, or just graduated high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes early, they fill up really fast. Talk to the counselors, they are a huge help. Make sure the classes that you take will transfer to whatever university that you are planning on going to.

    Bang for the buck

    I wanted to go away to school my first year, but I am so glad that I couldn't. I am taking all of my general ed classes for so much less than my friends who went away and are taking the exact same classes. I have to say that it's probably one of the smartest moves I've ever made.

    Am enjoying being here

    The class sizes are very small, most of my classes in high school were bigger, so we get a lot of personal attention and class discussions are very easy to have. People are very nice and respectful towards you. You do get some of that college feel without it being too big or overwhelming.

    Am learning a lot

    All of my professors have had different teaching styles, but I can honestly say that I have learned a lot from all of them. Some of them go out of their way to help you out if you need help on anything.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 45 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing Culinary Business Applied Science

    Tips for prospective students

    When your in the culinary program try and stay with your group through out the rotations. Running a kitchen is like sailing a ship, by keeping with the same crew the ride will be that much easier and enjoyable. Also, take the time to get to know the sous chefs and second year aids their insight is invaluable and you could be in their position in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    There are too many cynics that say community college is not for them. Well community college is for everyone. My humanities teacher teaches the same class at Schoolcraft as well as at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. As far as I'm concerned, I am getting the same education as the big name schools. And I am getting it for less money.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a wonderful learning environment. The kitchens are fully equiped with all the latest culinary gadgetry and the class sizes are small. Students get the one on one attention that the crave as well as develop close friendships working in smaller groups.

    Am learning a lot

    As far as the culinary arts program goes Schoolcraft college has one of the best in the country. The staff are friendly, informative, and well trained in field of culinary arts. The school features four Master chefs, a sundry of executive chefs, and numerous sous chefs willing to guide you on the same path that they were on only semesters before.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 46 of 46

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to save money, are planning to transfer to University, who prefer small class sizes, who are planning to commute and are career bound.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early because classes fill up fast!

    Bang for the buck

    Since I am paying for college myself I can honestly and wholeheartedly say that starting off here was the best decision I could have made. I have never payed over a thousand dollars a semester and I go full time (15 credit hours this upcoming Fall). Schoolcraft also offers scholarships, payment plans and other financial assistance but tuition is so inexpensive I haven't needed to seek out any extra assistance to afford it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is smaller since Schoolcraft is a community college but it is very welcoming. There are always students and professors walking around, having lunch on the benches or intently studying all over the hallways of buildings. The students range from early high school graduates to mothers and fathers to people over the age of 60. The school offers tons of groups and activities allowing friendships to be built between commuter students from all over the Metro-Detroit area.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors I have had are each different from the next. I have had new instructors and less experienced ones. A lot of my professors teach at another institution, have travelled a great deal, are from other countries or have worked in a career previously or while they are teaching. They bring so many fresh ideas to the table.