Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Seattle Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/23/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i attended seattle central community college this 2016 winter quarter with the thought that i would be given excellent care. i went to the disability department to get my accommodations for winter quarter and from what i recall i got the documentation to give to me teachers to sign but, apparently i had to go back to the disability services office because they forgot to write my accommodations it just gave test time for my teachers how strange. the teachers just got lost on what my other accommodations where. there was no reason why they did that and from what i know and i never had that happen to me before where i was given a blank accommodations letter. this winter quarter i took a cmst &101: introduction to communication class that was taught by marian lyles and this class was the strangest one i have ever been in because first off the teacher bounds the students like me to follow a contract called syllabus that none of us legally signed. i came to her communication class and never asked for a syllabus she forced it on me and i never agree to anything on that paper or papers once so ever. this below explain what a bidding contract is by the usa law. with certain specific exceptions, a contract is not required to be in writing, let alone signed, in order to be binding. as long as there has been a clear offer by one party, an acceptance of that offer by the other, and an exchange of consideration between them, a contract exists. and sometimes you can be legally bound by your promises even without these elements. let's talk about the day i literally was almost seconds away from dying on school grounds at seattle central community college. it started on march 17 2016 thursday when i missed my bus it came 3 mins early in west seattle and i live in the central district so i am not used to that bus schedule at all. i was staying at my dad's house. i got downtown and got on the bus it took me to the seattle central college i was a little late to the last day of class so i ran to the class room, when i got to the door one of my group members who was a guy got up out of his seat to open the door his hand hit the nob. the student sat back down he did head and hand gestures meaning ms. marian lyles said no because her claimed contract which is a syllabus says "if you miss class the day you are expected to perform an oral presentation (on presentation days, the door will close at 8:00 a.m. or 9:00 a.m. and will not open again until the last speaker of the day has presented". noticed how it says the day you are supposed to perform i was not performing that day because i had already presented so why did she illegally refuse a student with a disability out of the class room which violates my rights. students have complained about the teacher doing this the whole entire quarter because like i said it's illegal specially for a student with a disability. i went to the administration office that was a few steps and i explained my situation i asked for the vice president to see if they can get the teacher to open the door. i waited an asian lady came out the situation was explained at the same time i explained i feel sick like i was about to throw up and even pass out i remember saying help i can't breathe from what i can remember we can't help you and trying to push me away from their office. go to the dean's office is what i heard i kept saying i don't feel comfortable walking i need help i need help i am having trouble breathing can't you hear me. i had to leave or i would have died there i made it to the humanities office and an asian guy talked to me i explained the best way i could what happened no resolution was getting resolved so there was an agreement to go to the disability services department i walked there passing out back in forth and so my eyes kept on closing. i made it there and asked can i speak to alfred souma the disability person i work with they wanted to set up a meeting with him i said i have trouble breathing and i need help right away they knew i needed urgent care so they called brian from across the door he is some type of international doctor guy. he calmed me down where my breathing got a little better until alfred souma got there we talked about what happened and what i am studying for he was very helpful. i went back to the disability office to wait for alfred souma, he finally got there and we talked about what happened. he said he would talk to the teacher to see what he could do. i went to swedish hospital that day to see my doctor and he said my breathing was way higher than normal and that i could have died if i did not seek help fast and he can't believe how the administration treated me there at the school. he said you are lucky you made it to the disability services office and they were able to help you. we were both wondering who trained those administrators because they should be trained to deal with all students specially if they need help.

    In three sentences

    very poor and not safe

  • 12/02/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good... No problems so far personally.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working, Transfer bound, Trying to save money, Looking for smaller class sizes, Looking to be in a great location.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The performance Hall. All of the classes are in the basement really... But the building is beautiful. It was a part of a high school that used to stand there - torn down in the 70s - beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty great school. Lots of transfer options. (the three stars is because of the financial office.)

    What to do for fun

    You are practically in the heart of Seattle. You can do whatever you want. I personally like taking the 10 and walking down to the waterfront and the public market. Its really beautiful down there at night.

    Food and Dining

    Great! There are a million different places to eat, for any diet.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers, they really make you think. Of course you have a few teachers that would obviously like to be somewhere else (or make you feel like wanting to go somewhere else) but you can always swap classes in the beginning. Do so, it is important that you feel like you are getting the education you are paying for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for financial aid. Make sure you stay on top of everything involving your file. Enjoy the area! Food is great so eat, and take advantage of the services.

    In three sentences

    Good School in a great area. Nice teachers. Financial aid office is terrible, everything about it.

  • 10/18/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a movie theater right next to campus, and its a 20 minute walk to downtown Seattle.

    Food and Dining

    It is located on Broadway Ave, allowing it to offer a lot of different options for eating out.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, the only dorms are for international students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick classes early and complete the compass test early, so you can get into the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    It has a great variety of class options. The English department has some really cool teachers. The overall vibe is very relaxed.

  • 12/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security station inside the building. But in the evening, lots of homeless and crazy people around the area so be aware!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse Clubs and activities. The clubs makes the student more active and know each other a little more. They usually have volunteer activities that are really fun

    Bang for the buck

    The class is cheaper than universities. I hope the knowledge I get from SCC will help me to be more prepared for university.

    What to do for fun

    Luckily Seattle Central College location is near downtown. There are several stores and boutiques to shop or window shopping. Also, so many good food in pike place market. If you want to do outdoor activities, just go to Cal Anderson Park across the school!

    Food and Dining

    You can buy pastry and foods made by culinary and pastry students from the cafe inside SCC building. It has good quality and affordable prices. Outside the building there are many good and delicious restaurants too.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on the dorm on my first and second quarter. There are no activities from the dorm so I don't really know people who lives there but, it is really near from the school. You can just walk across the street to the school so I think living in the dorm makes you more concentrate about the school.

    Academic Rigor

    The lecture wants the students to be independent. They don't like lazy students who did not do their homework, or projects. Overall, to get a great grades you have to show your effort in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join several clubs so you can make friends with other people from varies country and it is really good for your student development transcript! Enjoy your life here in Seattle Central College

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central College gives me an arduous, yet an enjoyable experience. They offer numerous diverse classes and I was able to choose classes that suit with the major that I want. Seattle Central College have students from many country so,it is really interesting to study here.

  • 12/05/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few sexual assaults once in a while.

    Greek Life

    It's a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    A good amount of clubs and activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    The design program there is top-notch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that i can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing education for the price. Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    The school is located in the middle of Seattle. There are millions of things to do and millions of people to meet.

    Food and Dining

    Poor food choice. but there are tons of other places close by to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join theta kappa phi. it will definitely show your leadership skills.

    In three sentences

    Decent education with very cheap tuition. Very diverse students. All the resources you need to succeed.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security walks around school. Although there is homeless wondering around at times.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    Hardly any clubs or activities

    Great for these types of students

    International students because many clubs and help with translation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dental clinic is at a different school.

    Bang for the buck

    School has a huge gym across the street that's free! It comes with free personal trainers.

    What to do for fun

    No time for fun currently.

    Food and Dining

    An amazing culinary restaurant in school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Dental hygiene program is very difficult. Great teachers that want to help but tough material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid office is hard to get straight answers, so start very early.

    In three sentences

    Great school that prides themselves on diversity. Many different nationalities and everyone including staff is friendly. Academics seem up to par.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Asian club Christian club Full gym and classes

    Great for these types of students

    Those students that desire an education that will provide them the tools for a good job and career in a relatively short time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Asian clubs have wonderful bake sales and fun activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and check out the local sights.

    Food and Dining

    Check out Square One and One World school restaurant venues that are run by the culinary students--it is wonderful gourmet food at a very reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are well within reach of any student who is diligent in their work and desires success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start by talking with your academic adviser to determine the career path that best suits your abilities and interests. There are many academic tools they have to help you. Once you are in your program, If you find that something challenging take advantage of the tutoring that is available. Take computer classes! In today's world computer expertise helps you get hires in all fields.

    In three sentences

    This is a college filled with instructors that truly care about students preparation to be successful in their chosen field in the real world. I am involved in the culinary and computer science programs. Both are excellent. These teachers push hard for excellence while doing all they can to ensure success.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel like there should be more security. Sometimes there are bums that come into the school and take up desk space. But there are security officers around so just notify them if that happens.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities going on. There are tons of fliers everywhere so keep track if you want to be part of all the fun!

    What to do for fun

    Go out for a walk and explore the area. There are a lot of good eats and fun shops. There is also a park near by which is really nice in the summer time. There's a bowling alley called garage which is a nice hip place as well.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of great food around and as well as the cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I'm guessing it's good, but I don't don't dorm

    Academic Rigor

    My dental hygiene program is very hard but it's a great program as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your extra change for the computer lab when you do printing. Study in the library in the quiet session. Do not register or pay for things on the first week of school. Go before school starts as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Old and dirty, but they are improving their campus a lot so it's looking a lot nicer. It has a great library for studying and a lot of quiet areas and desks. The computer lab is equipped with everything you need as well.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    LOTS OF FOOD CHOICES. You'll love it here if you enjoy good coffee; for there are plenty of coffee shops in the vicinity. The students that are in the culinary art program run the bakery and cafe, which serves delicious food. Also has a cafeteria which sells the run of the mill stuff like sandwiches, fries, breakfast, etc. and also overpriced snacks and bottled beverages. If you have time, walk to walgreens or rite aid which is like a 2-4 minute walk to save yourself some money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorming is for international students only, I believe.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher but overall, nothing too difficult unless you decide to take a math class. Even if you're on the verge of dying, go to class, and don't skip a day of math class, you'll get lost eventually. Some teachers are lenient, some come from UW, and there's one who's a former VP of Finance of T-mobile, who teaches accounting. Most of the teachers that I've encountered here have a lot of passion, but some also might not be the best at teaching too. So a lot of learning comes from asking questions and reading your textbook

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there have been a few accidents, overall, the campus is pretty safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Leadership Department does a really good job in organizing clubs and activities at school. There are a lot of them for students to check out.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who really want to learn and are not able to afford a general four-year school, Seattle Central is a really good choice for you to start. It's much easier to afford and you get better attention in class than in a four-year school. Most of the credits are transferable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sorry that I can't think of any right now. :(

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle Central is a community college. Compared to most colleges, it is fairly affordarable.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle Central has a student leadership department where the student leaders help organize many fun activities for students. Definitely to check out the Unity Fair in June every year. It's the biggest event on campus and you will have a great time enjoying the good food, music, performance, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at Seattle Central is not very big but they do provide really good food. You can choose from Teriyaki, pizza, Vietnamese sandwiches, etc. The prices are fairly reasonable. Besides, a lot of really good restaurants are also available around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Seattle Central only provides dorm for first year international students. So it's not much for me to say. However, there are a lot of affordarable apartments around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the time, it actually depends on the instructors. Some instructors tend to be very rigorous and you will learn a lot from them. However, a few instructors could be very easy. But as long as you are following in the classes, you are going to learn a lot no matter how rigorous the professors are.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school has a lot of resources helping students to succeed such as the tutoring center, career center, writing center, co-op office, etc. Be sure to check out these resources while attending Seattle Central. You will benefit a lot!

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central has a great diversity of student body. Most of the credits you earned from Seattle Central will be transferable to four-year universities. The classes are generally small so that you will be able to gain a lot of personal attentions in classes.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe within the campus, it is in the center of Seattle though so close by is not safe at night areas. But the campus is probably the safest place in the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs and activities. Very easy to join because there are workshops on all of these clubs that are easy to attend and teachers will take you to. It is also easy to start a club, from a spanish study club to a cultural anime discussion club. It is all possible and if it doesn not already exist it is easy to create.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded diverse students. Motivated individuals. Students not sure what they want to major in and need time to take fun really fullfilling and productive classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every different culture that attends can have their own club. There is very often activites and workshops on cultures from Asia, Africa, and anywhere someone wants to do a workshop on to educate others.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college I believe this is the best one. All of my teachers has PHDs and a lot of them taught at much more expensive universities close by with extrememly good reputations.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle Central has a lot of clubs and groups you can join that get you involved in the community the school and are fun. It is also so centrally located that there is so much to do around.

    Food and Dining

    It is still school food, not the best. But there is significant diversity in what is provided to buy on campus and vegan/vegetarian options. There is also a place you can eat food cooked by the culinary students. The school is also centrally located so walking to get any kind of food you want is easy.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college there are no dorms but the hallways are nice and the location in the city could not be better.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends always on what class you are taking. Some are much harder than others but they are all passable with a 4.0. I have taken some of the hardest classes in my life at this school but I have gotten the best grades of my life as well. I ended my 2 years there with a 3.8, when I had recieved in highschool a 2.7.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is one of the easiest community colleges to go to right after high school, it is encouraging and fun. If you are afraid of going to college and do not have a lot of motivation, this school will motivate you to want to learn and help you find what you want to do with your life.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central has wonderful teachers. The school creates a productive, fun environment that encourages youth to want to learn. Seattle Central is accepting of diversity in subject matter taught and students.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Seattle has so much to do for fun. Students will have to make sure to stay focused and not get too distrated by all the things to do. Check out the Experienc Music Project in downtown and also Seattle Science Center.

    Food and Dining

    The food in their cafeteria is really good and there is tons of dining around the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend taking French with Prof. Bodi. He is an awesome teacher and takes your learning very seriously and can teach you more than most because he is from France.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central C.C. is a great campus.I am coming up on the end of my second year and every professor that I've had has been awesome and helped me to succeed and become a great student. They have a great foreign languages department.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't stay on campus longer than I have to, meaning that once my last class is finished, I head home! Capitol Hill is a pretty cool, hip place to be, so I spend a lot of time on Broadway.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria food can be a bit unsettling. However, the culinary academy has their own separate cafe/sit-down restaurant, and I tend to get my lunches from there. They're great! Check out the small pastry and coffee stand towards the south end of the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus living options at Seattle Central.

    Academic Rigor

    I wasn't too serious about my education in high school until senior year, although I consider myself a fairly bright and smart individual when I am focused. As a college freshman, I was expecting the classes to be a bit more rigorous, but I perhaps could have just gotten easier teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Familiarize yourself with the campus, especially the Fine Arts building and the fifth floor of Broadway Edison. Check out Broadway, as well! There are plenty of cool shops and restaurants for you to experience. Also, get to know your teachers! Many of them are more than happy to help you in the classroom as well as outside of it, regarding letters of recommendation and help with applications.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central has a typical inner-city college campus; it's not the most aesthetically pleasing, but it offers everything a student will need to be successful in their educational journey. Besides an inconvenient and stressful registration situation, I have not had too many outstanding problems here.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is located 4 blocks from the Seattle Police Department Station. There are also security guards on campus during all school hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of clubs, organizations and causes that visit the SCCC campus, or operate out of it, monthly. My favorite is the students of color conference each year. I think that may be the most important club SCCC has because it brings all people together.

    Great for these types of students

    Generally motivated individuals. Transfer students. Culinary students. Fashion students. Photography students. Sociology students.

    Bang for the buck

    SCCC is not responsible for what you get out of your education: YOU are. The student chooses what and how much to take away from each class. The instructors are not babysitters. If you want to learn, go to class and learn. You will get a great deal of information for the price you pay to take each class. If you want to enroll in school but not truly attend, you won't learn anything and that will be your fault. SCCC is also a provider of the Pell Grant for individuals that qualify so there are many options for motivated students to get the education they want and deserve.

    What to do for fun

    SCCC is right in the middle of Capitol Hill, a very happening spot in Seattle. There are many things around to do: great dining, beautiful scenery and many parks within 1 mile of campus, a somewhat wild night life scene (if that is your thing). I like to visit the Conservatory at Volunteer Park on 15th and Aloha when I have some homework to finish up or free time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great cafeteria on campus called The Atrium where all the food is prepared by the Culinary students and delicious! Also, affordable options.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms at SCCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is really up to you. If you are motivated and push yourself to learn you will do great. If you are expecting someone to hold your hand through your learning experience, SCCC is not the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you have all the information you need and are aware of what degree, certificate, or program you are entering and desire to complete. It is important to be independent and sure of your goals!

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central Community College has been a great experience for me. My eyes have been opened to the great diversity that is the world we live in. The instructors at SCCC are all progressive, forward thinking individuals working to make the world a more functional and socially just place.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Diverse, outgoing, freethinkers, passionate, friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is host to the Capitol Hill Farmers Market every Sunday.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is relatively cheap for the quality of education and life experience it offers! Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Capitol Hill is full of entertainment, a few blocks away from school you will find amazing stores such as Urban Outfitters, American Apparel, Crossroads Trading Co., etc. There are also many restaurants, coffee shops and public parks. And if that wasn't enough, you can take the bus to the Space Needle, Waterfront, etc and be there in 10 minutes from Capitol Hill.

    Food and Dining

    Seattle Central Community College is located in the best spot for food and dinning. While our dinning hall serves amazing and affordable food for the student body, there are many coffee shops and restaurants at walking distance from school! One of my favorites are Stump Town, Broadcast Coffee and Blue Moon Burgers.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available at school. However, there is apartments and housing available all around campus and students are very good and advertising when they need a roommate or when there is a place available for rent.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which program you are attending, or what diploma you are pursuing, the Academic Rigor might be more or less exhaustive. However, every class I've taken has been extremely thorough and the teachers know what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Applying for Seattle Central is easy, but it is best to do it in person or online. The staff is very friendly and always happy to help. Make sure you check where your classes are before the first day of class, since the campus might look small, but is actually pretty big.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central Community College is the perfect for students looking for diversity, amazing programs, a taste of city life and a fun environment. It is in the center of Capitol Hill Seattle which is a great location close to all of Seattle's tourism spots.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security department.

    Clubs and Activities

    M.E.C.H.A Club, and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    There is many religious people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I havent really seen any traditions.

    What to do for fun

    I join the clubs or go to the leadership office.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good there!

    Dorm Life

    This college dose not offer any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers are really nice. They help you on anything. Students are very caring and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central Community College is a really good college they have so much to offer you. I personally rate this school a super high 10! I would recommend this school to anyone who is wanting to go to a really good community college.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important to SCCC and they are staffed with a necessary amount of security.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappy is the only organization that I know of on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The main hallways are always covered in posters and filled with tables arranged by student groups.

    Bang for the buck

    Even with rising tuition costs, the location, class size and diverse student/faculty body make this institution worth it.

    What to do for fun

    SCCC is located at the center of the Capitol Hill neighborhood. There are dozens of shops and restaurants within walking distance, not to mention the proximity to downtown and nearby parks.

    Food and Dining

    The Atrium offers a variety of hot and cold options, for both omnivores and vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Many first- and second-year classes don't rely on homework as much as you might expect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't always pay attention to RateMyProfessor. There are a lot of great teachers here who get bad reputations. Just be prepared to learn.

    In three sentences

    There are generally small class sizes. The teachers are very dedicated. Diversity is not only welcomed, but encouraged.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For being in the middle of a big city it is very safe. Lots of lighting, and the security the school hires are very personable and visible.

    Greek Life

    I have heard of a gyro place that is supposed to be very tasty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not as much as a big college, you just have to look a little harder.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking for training to get a job, or who want to transfer to a 4-year college, and want to save money for the first two years of it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a new Veterans Room which has a coffee pot and free pastries every Friday.

    Bang for the buck

    Great access to student groups and very smart people. Use every advantage you can during college, because once you enter the real world you will have to pay large amounts of money if you want advisors.

    What to do for fun

    You're in the middle of Seattle so you should already know if it's a place for you. You can do pretty much anything you can think of. Skiing and the outdoors is just a short ride away if you tire of the city scene.

    Food and Dining

    You can purchase food prepared by students at the culinary school, which is very high quality, and very low price. They focus on sustainability and have won awards. Yum, very good.

    Dorm Life

    It doesn't have one. I live 6 minutes from campus, and they have parking passes.

    Academic Rigor

    This is highly dependent on the teach you get. It is a community college so the classes do seem more on the easy side.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early. Very early, like in the first 10 minutes of being able to.

    In three sentences

    Campus is located close to downtown, so it doesn't have room to be visually pretty, but it is very functional. A great location, close to coffee places, restaurants, and grocery stores. It is a very diverse campus.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety seems adequate. It is a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    There is a faux Greek Life, but nothing truly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities, however, I do not personally participate in such things.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who wish to work hard, efficiently, and without pause.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is in the heart of Capitol Hill in Seattle, so it's incredibly beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle Central CC is a place to get work done in a timely and efficient manner, not an environment for fun per say.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to really consider your options following your time at a community college. Typically it is the first step in attending a University, so plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central CC is efficient and cost effective. The environment is clean and friendly. The faculty and students are there to get things done.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's almost doesn't have any robber or criminal activities happen.

    What to do for fun

    play a computer game, watch a movies and exercises.

    Food and Dining

    I think it's fine.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have a dorm for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    This is awesome school no need to go to other different locations.

    Tips for prospective students

    non-tips for them accept just keep going on their education path.

    In three sentences

    I think it's great. This is a normal class and perfect school to me. I will be transfer to university.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Seattle Central has so many clubs. Check out the MAC building (north of the school bookstore) to learn about clubs or even start one!

    Food and Dining

    You don't have to leave the campus to find great food at an affordable price. The cafeteria serves everything from a breakfast burrito to a salad bar to vietnamese sandwiches. The culinary department also has bake sales everyday!

    Academic Rigor

    Needless to say, all instructors teach differently. Generally, I would describe Seattle Central academic rigor to be very independent because instructors expect you to study and work like college students. If you need any further assistance after class, the instructors really imply that students put the effort in reaching out to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes fill up quick so check out your registration time linked on the college website and register as soon as possible. Even though students are recommended to see an advisor around their 45 credit mark, I would suggest to talk to an advisor the first quarter just to really get familiar early on with your goal.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central embraces individuality and acceptance. It's a fantastic college! Great instructors and a diverse student body.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police roam the area often and campus security is decent. Lots of drug addicts and homeless camp around the area. Carry protection.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of students love to protest. Get in on the action; sometimes it could be fun if you concur with them.

    Bang for the buck

    Take advantage of the tutors. You are paying for it in your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Being in Capitol Hill, there are endless amounts of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Its adequate. A little overpriced however, there are tons of great places to eat just outside the building.

    Dorm Life

    No dorming as this is a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure this school has the classes you need for your major if you are planning on transferring. Some courses are not offered.

    In three sentences

    I have been to many community colleges and I have to say that SCCC has definitely made it easy to go back to school after an eight year break. Granite the school does not offer many language courses or engineering classes, however, the school has very informative instructors and they can help you in succeeding in whatever it is you want to succeed in.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they offer internships and other fun things

    Great for these types of students

    great for the type that like to study and explore

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you're surrounded by shops and food!!

    What to do for fun

    explore, shop, clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    be patient, and follow directions. ask questions!!!

    In three sentences

    Great school with helpful advisers, counselors and other faculty. Beautiful surroundings, and great choice of classes. Helpful students and great library.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    it has a lot of them!

    Food and Dining

    great!

    Tips for prospective students

    study and have respect

    In three sentences

    I love this school and their teachers are great.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't leave your belongings unattended, this is an urban public community college after all. Cars have been known to be broken into during the nights.

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of clubs focused on diverse cultural student population.

    Bang for the buck

    classes are cheap if you are a Washington State resident. It's much cheaper to do the first 2 years at SCCC than at a 4 year institution.

    What to do for fun

    Seattle has a great nightlife scene. There are also many places to go hiking, skiing, boating, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary and bakery school are AMAZING!!!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the teacher. Do your research, some professors are better than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early, classes that are needed to graduate fill up very quickly. So plan ahead.

    In three sentences

    It's an ok junior college for those who are looking to transfer to a 4 year institution or for those who are looking to complete a technical degree. The campus is centrally located, and easy to get to on public transportation. It is very multicultural.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The UW is real close so the activities are endless.

    Food and Dining

    There are many choices and its very satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do attend if your looking for a diverse groupe of people.

    In three sentences

    The campus is expanded. You get your daily walking in and have a wide variety of studies.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 36

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a complete gym that is part of your student fees that is good to use.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have funding in order before going to school.

    In three sentences

    A great college to go to if you want to have the ultimate multicultural atmosphere with a very active student body

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is lacking. There should definitely be more security at our school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is reallly good. They use a local coffee roaster and the culinary program sells baked goods.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Seattle Central has both basic and challenging classes for every skill level. Teacher's require a substantial amount of work for every single student and also provide aid for those who are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise incoming students to schedule classes ahead of time and register immediately, otherwise you may not get the classes you want. It is also vital to attend classes for participation points and class discussions.

    In three sentences

    Seattle Central is a diverse learning instititution. There are many dedicated teachers that work hard to make sure students succeed in their classes. Central provides many student organizations and activities to integrate students.

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is an urban campus but i've never felt unsafe there even while there for night classes.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, returning, new.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel like the education i'm getting for what i am paying for is really good value. i wish i had understood this a few years ago and had gone back to school then.

    Food and Dining

    it's located on broadway in capitol hill so there are plenty of places to grab food around the campus, including a few good places right across the street. i haven't tried the school's food.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the rigor varies on teacher and class. i generally find the workload from most classes to be on par with general higher education: 3-5 hours of homework per hour of class. if something is too difficult or you need help, there are plenty of tutors and tutoring centers for any subject to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    the earlier, the better! the earlier you test, the earlier you apply, the earlier you do your fafsa, makes everything a lot easier considering how many students vs staff here. ask around about classes and professors as opposed to leaning on rateyourprofessor or another website.

    In three sentences

    a great supportive environment for student of all levels and experiences. for returning and non-traditional students, there are plenty of resources and the staff keep you informed.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as long as the school is open and there are students around there will be security and they are very kind.

    What to do for fun

    there are lounges in the area and bill's bar and grill is kitty corner from the school. there is also a full park equipped with play sets, a very large fountain, and enough room and trees that the tight rope walkers practice there. also its only one bus to downtown seattle and a bus runs ever 5 to 10 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    the school is located on broadway ave. which is a very welcoming area to people from various back rounds and it hows completely with the different variety of foods available from the quaint little bar to the free wi fi at the pizza parlor its all there.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm available on campus but the surrounding area offers wonderful views of downtown seattle and it is a very easy commute.

    Academic Rigor

    i felt challenged with every new piece of material introduced to us yet i also knew my teacher would well equip me and the rest of the students with the knowledge needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep to your grades and work or it will show at the end of the semester! also, the do give out homework by sections be careful to stay on top of that don't slack off thinking you have the time to make u for it.

    In three sentences

    i have found all teachers to come across clear and respectful without presumptions of any one student. also most teachers provide an accurate schedule of quizzes, exam, and homework's due dates and a brief summary of the way their grade charts work. all in all the curriculum, teachers, and staff are all doing a wonderful job over at seattle central community college.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they try to take care of things quickly but use common sense. don't leave valuables out, and don't walk around late at night alone.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    great way to build your resume and meet friends.

    Bang for the buck

    great way to save money on four year degree.

    What to do for fun

    hang out in cal anderson (after class not during), school clubs, going downtown ( a fifteen minute walk), shopping and eating in capitol hill, classes & sports at the mac building etc.

    Food and Dining

    super good culinary program at the school. plus you can eat cheap in the atrium. there are lots of ethnic and health food near by. also epic local food ( dick's drive-in & molly moon are my fav's )in the neighborhood. what else could you need.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms! but many kids live in capitol hill.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on what you do. some of the specialized programs are insane! if you want to transfer to a highly competitive university then you will be putting in more work than everyone else.

    Tips for prospective students

    double check everything! be early with every deadline. network!!!!!! make friends with the teachers in your major and the smart kids( in every major). stay out of cal anderson park. get a counselor and mentor. and start planning to transfer ( if that's what you want) on day 1.

    In three sentences

    you will get out of central what you put into to it. if you are motivated, curious, and determined, you will be able to meet people who are willing to help you with your dreams. if you don't care, drop out so that someone else can use their already strained resources

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The polices are not always be around campus. The fire fighters are really quick when the alarm were ringing. There is no security checking or anything at the main door

    What to do for fun

    Go to Cal anderson park, which is so close to the main campus. Also, the neighborhood that the campus located on, has so many stores and good restaurants. Students can also go to downtown, it's just 20 to 25 minutes walk, or 10 mins with bus

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria are not so good, but they have some food with reasonable prices. The tables are mostly clean. Some food stands often not open for some reasons.

    Dorm Life

    Seattle Central CC only has dorm for International Students. The dorm is really nice, it's located across the main campus. It's clean and secure

    Academic Rigor

    The school is not really strict. Some teachers, they are kinda easy to students but they are so helpful when we need their help. Some classes are more serious than the rest

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, they should know about the classes in this college. Also, they need to apply for dorm or apartment as soon as possible, otherwise they won't get the chance to rent, because it's filled up so quick. New students should be really involved in school clubs

    In three sentences

    The school is nice and the staffs are friendly. For International student, the international student center staffs are so helpful. The classes are great

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak up in class with your opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    I suppose compared to UW the price is pretty good. But I have yet to take a class and feel I got something from it.

    Am enjoying being here

    With such a wide range of students, from all over, it is more difficult to make friends and have an out of school relationship with them.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes were decent, but rather easy. I am at college to learn, not review what I learned three years ago. The teachers were okay but did not really seem to know what they were doing. The campus is great, lots of things to do between classes.

  • 09/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Totally underrated!

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 35 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Seattle Central is great for all kinds of students but especially for those who have jobs or need to save some money on college. Since an AA is easily transfered to most universities you could save a lot of money by obtaining an AA and then graduating from a major university. Also, if you have a job there are a lot of night classes and online classes that can help you get your degree while making a living.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip I would give students is to try some online classes. The online classes offered at Seattle Central are taught by great teachers and the website is very easy to navigate. Also many of the classes needed to obtain an AA are available online which makes getting an AA easier. If you are planning on transferring to a university after you receive your AA you should try and take some classes that pertain to the degree that you ultimately want. Especially if you want to go to an art school or private institution some of your credits may not transfer so you will want to try and maximize the credits that can be transfered. Also, try taking public transportation instead of driving because parking on Capitol Hill, especially around the school, is hard to find and can get expensive.

    Bang for the buck

    Seattle Central is a great value school. The classes are up to par with any university and the price is incredibly low. However, textbooks can get really expensive, even for used ones, so it would be best to try to find books online or on Craigslist before you head to the bookstore.

    Did enjoy being here

    The SCCC campus is in such a great location it would be hard to give it less than five stars. Also, the school is easy to navigate and the classes are great. The only drawback is that there are less classes offered at SCCC than at some of the surrounding community colleges so you have to be very quick to get the classes that you want or need for your degree.

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers at Seattle Central are beyond helpful and truly care about your education. All of the teachers that I had at SCCC could be reached easily for questions and were always willing to help. While I did have some teachers who were not as good as others, even the less-than-fabulous teachers were still helpful. I learned a lot from all of my classes at SCCC

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 36 of 36

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students can be first time college students, international students, returning students and high school students. I wish all prospective students the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective Students should try as much as possible to apply early. And also apply for the Seattle Central foundation scholarships and International Education Program scholarships. And also apply for scholarship outside Seattle Central.