Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shasta College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 01/01/2017

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety guys are always around the corner or patrolling the campus in their little golf carts. It's really nice, and honestly, I feel super safe with them around.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have a friend who's in Tech Club, and he's always doing way cool things over there. He really really enjoys it. Plus, the clubs are student run, so if there's a club that you want to have, but it doesn't exist, then you can just start it up yourself!

    Great for these types of students

    Social Students who want to meet people Shy Students who want to blend into the wall (we have a huge library btw!) Cheap Students don't want to use too much of their college savings Students who are afraid of going to a huge school Students who are afraid of going to college in general

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Finals week my first semester, Haven Humane brought these adorable dogs on campus and let us pet them as a stress reliever. It's really thoughtful, and a good way to advertise these dogs so they can find good homes. Plus, come on, who doesn't like dogs???

    Bang for the buck

    Shasta College is super cheap (I could even get my whole tuition covered in one scholarship), and it's an excellent stepping stone from high school to college. Honestly, I'm very happy with it. The only thing that I would say that I wish was less expensive would be the dorms. But really, everything else is wonderful.

    What to do for fun

    The Sundial bridge is about a ten-minute drive away, and at night, it's usually pretty empty other than the occasional drug addict who will just hobble on their way. It's really pretty there at night too, and is located right next to Turtle Bay, which has a bunch of animals and an aquarium. Oasis Fun Center has laser tag, go cart racing, mini golf, and some little arcade machines inside. It's usually for younger kids, but it's a lot of fun to go in and play laser tag with two buddies. It's especially fun when it's you versus a whole swarm of ten-year-old kids. It's the pregame taunting of kids calling me a 'poopoo head' that really makes the whole thing worthwhile. If you're into it, there's usually a party at someone's house almost every weekend (it's college, that's just the way it is), and if you're of legal drinking age, I've heard they're fun. There's a club somewhere around here too, but since I'm underage, I can't vouch for how good it is. There are tons of college football games at the beginning of the year and basketball games towards the beginning of the second semester. They're decent to go watch, though, again, the food is very expensive. The Mount Shasta Mall actually has some very comfortable seats for studying on, and a nice little cafe in the center. The coffee is actually pretty good, though the muffins are my favorite. It's a nice place to go for just a change of scenery. The Redding Civic Center usually has all kinds of conventions or live shows going on. We even had Alton Brown come in once. The Cascade Theatre usually has some kind of live show that you can catch as well, especially around the holidays. There are other little places too that aren't too shabby, like the bowling alley, the Cinemark, and some trails that you can walk on. Honestly, there's a lot to do if you just go out and look for it.

    Food and Dining

    It's super expensive, and the food isn't even that great. It costs four dollars for a poorly made thrown-together hamburger, and an extra two-fifty if you want fries with that. Add another three dollars for a drink, and you've just spent almost ten dollars on a meal that you could've bought for five at In N Out, and would have enjoyed much more there. Their vending machines make you want to cry, though if you really need to eat something, the vending machines don't all cost the same amount for the same thing. From my experience, the vending machine in the 800 building seems to have the widest variety, and the vending machine in the 400 building has the cheapest. Don't ask me why, that's just the way it is.

    Dorm Life

    It's awesome. It really is. Curfew is kinda early, but you can always hang out in the commons. There's a ping pong table, a kitchen, a tv room, and all kinds of cooking supplies and movies that you can borrow from the office. They also hire students who live in the dorms to work as Resident Advisors, and if you're looking for a job to hold you over during the college while you live at the dorms, I'd really recommend this one.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty easy. None of the classes are more difficult than you'd expect them to be, but not so easy that you feel like you didn't learn anything. It's really a very nice stepping stone to get you from high school to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly, you don't have to do much. Just be a decent student, and make sure that you have some place to live. The dorms are about $4,700 per year, which is more expensive than renting an apartment, but puts you right next to the school and gives you an amazing social aspect. However, if you do decide to live in the dorms, check in with the faculty-- a lot of the things on their packing list aren't actually allowed anymore (for instance, you're not actually allowed to have microwaves due to the strain on power, but it's still on the list). Also, bring a bed mat, since the beds here are made with this plastic canvas that your sheets will slide right off of if you even look at it funny. As far as classes go, if you're registering, try to do it early, especially if you want to get into a class like a hands-on art class. Those spots disappear faster than a pizza at a Weight Watcher's convention.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College has a wide array of classes, all of which are taught by teachers who are at the very least passable and at the very most amazing. I live in the dorms, which are moderately expensive as far as dorms go, but being able to live with my friends and see them on a daily basis makes life as exciting and social as it could ever be! The only regret I have is that the cafeteria is ridiculously expensive for some very mediocre food, and it's use of student workers means that it should be able to drop the prices drastically, even though they don't.

  • 10/18/2015

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs available for a variety of different interests.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of sports that you can participate in. Plus Shasta College dos have a horse arena and they do hold some horse shows.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is not really big but it's nice. The food is alright.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms are small, they are somewhat nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not heard a lot about how hard the classes are so I'm afriad I cannot answer that question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your counselor about what classes you need to take for your degree or major. Also, don't stress too much; you'll do great.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with lovely staff. A really nice pool area for swimmer and a 90 acres area dedicated to the AG program. A good variety of classes are offered at Shasta College.

  • 06/10/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Redding as a city is not a safe town. There's lots of homeless people (who tend to be mentally ill of some sort), people involved in selling drugs, and let's be honest - sexual predators. Over the past year I've been at Shasta, there were two abduction attempts (made by the same person), but emails and flyers were posted and security escorts were offered. It's not a safe environment, but the school DOES do a lot to make up for that. Also, every now and again there's a mountain lion scare, but nobody's ever gotten harmed.

    Greek Life

    Um, I was invited to the organization at Shasta College but I haven't responded. But there is indeed a greek life!

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally have never been to a club, but I know they're out there. They could be a little better advertised, but on the website there's a directory to find out where they meet and who leads them. There's a club for most anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone. As far as I know, it's a campus with a lot of diversity, education-wise. Although Ag students and of the like might appreciate a focus on their line of work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I'm aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing!!!! Very cheap school, but the education you receive is not cheap itself.

    What to do for fun

    At the college? There's many clubs and events that take place. The music scene has dance, symphonic, choral, and theatre recitals/plays/etc that are worth looking into.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious, hand-made food, but pretty expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't ever lived in the dorms, but they have many amenities and are relatively economically priced.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not a specialty/expertise school and even though there are great professors, it's not a university like Berkeley or Harvard or something, but what you're learning is just as good as it would be there. I think because it's a 4-year deal (and not a graduate school kinda thing), you won't be seeing those upper level, majorly serious classes. Basically, it's great, but there are better schools, simply due to size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into the financial aid and career centers! They really help. The counselors are useful, too - they know of many tricks and tips that can get you a better education for a cheaper price.

    In three sentences

    Good professors, nice scenery, a variety of classes available. The food is a little expensive BUT delicious. For being a community college, the knowledge and skill levels of the profs are excellent. I've had some who previously taught at MIT and Stanford and other such prestigious universities. So don't think you're being cheated out of a good education just because you're not at a fancy school. ;)

  • 10/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I have no idea.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take, but I am taking a lot of science classes so studying is definitely necessary to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take anatomy with Dr. Abts under ANY circumstances! Take it with Croes, or even drive to Red Bluff to take it. Believe me, if you take it with Abts, you WILL regret it.

    In three sentences

    I actually like going to Shasta College. The teachers are great at what they do and very approachable if you have any questions. The courses they offer do a great job of getting you prepared for moving on to the next level of education.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has very nice priced food both at the grill and the Bistro. They even include the students to help those in culinary classes gain experience and to give jobs to those who need a little help financially.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely amazing, and extremely convenient. The price is a bit high, but it balances out compared to gas to and from school.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers know exactly how to run a class. They come prepared and know the information that they are teaching us.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Likes card-games, RPGs and video games. Like outdoor activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Scary how few traditions it has. There is very little culture.

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive and will get you far in life.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, basketball, lake trips. There are too many recreational activities to write down. If you like doing stuff outdoors, this area is for you.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food selection. A little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Worst dorms ever.

    Academic Rigor

    Super easy. Go to class and you'll pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to be. Don't give up on your goals.

    In three sentences

    It has a beautiful campus, filled with grass, trees and flowers. The teachers are very cool, but even-handed. Tries its best to help its students succeed.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure campus with friendly security officers. The campus also has safety texts and emails that go out if anything out of the usual is reported.

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many options to choose from and most that do exist are somehow related to Jesus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that is not fully ready to immerse themselves in a university or is unsure of where they intend on going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is an older school so there are some neat hidden nooks and cranny's that you don't usually see in modern architecture.

    Bang for the buck

    Great choice for saving some cash, especially if you are a California resident.

    What to do for fun

    Not the most fun campus really.

    Food and Dining

    The food is cooked in the cafeteria and tastes pretty decent. The downside is the lack of working hours. No nights and no early morning options.

    Dorm Life

    Very little options and availability.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor can vary greatly depending on professors. The professors can make or break a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always arrive with extra time to look for a parking spot near your class. Use the learning centers, they hire great tutors.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a great school for easing into college education. The difficulty level is a nice middle ground that helps ease the differences between new students and students planning on university transfers. It is a great school to start out at.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Shasta College gives you so much options other than basic classes. If you go to the students account they will provide a lot of information about different clubs and activities in the school.

    What to do for fun

    I am a very country gal. I live on a ranch. I love the out doors and just getting my self in messy situations. I love learning new medical theories and anything about the basic medical field. I want to be able to hunt and snowborard.

    Food and Dining

    Very good meals. You have variety of meals to fill you up.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms, but i have not lived in one.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know what this means.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never fall behind assignments or even think about ditching. Ask for help and sigh up, before last minute and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful for me to get started in my General Ed studies. Full of information and will accommodate to your needs. It also great for career planning.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus call phones for emergency that will sound a siren.

    Clubs and Activities

    If they do have clubs or activities they do not advertise them very well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not sure about unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Staff is excellent and are willing to help you with any questions you have.

    What to do for fun

    I'm am not apart of the student community because I do classes online.

    Food and Dining

    I have had the food in the cafeteria and it is a little bit above average but, not the best food I have ever had.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment because I do not live at a dorm on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had contact with the teacher online only and so far they are helpful but, I have not started classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read Financial Aid information on their website I was not aware of some of the grants and scholarships that were offered and had to do a little bit of digging.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this college a 3 out of 5 based on the fact that it is so small and the range of degrees is not all that great. Financial Aid office is very helpful and they will help you get everything in order as long as you ask the right questions. Lastly, I like that they offer classes online because of my busy schedule.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have personally talked with campus security and they have been willing and eager to help every time. They really have your best in mind and are willing to work with you personally in order to insure your safety.

    Greek Life

    Awesome!

    Clubs and Activities

    Great for any type of student! I was always a little shy and was never really interested in groups of any type! Shasta College never hounded or pressured anyone yet was involved enough for your preferences. They have many clubs and ways to get involved in the college community.

    Great for these types of students

    Academically anyone can go to and succeed at Shasta College.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shasta College has a group called LUNA where Latinos/Hispanics meet together and do fun things for the campus and for themselves to create a community of bilingual people (although any race and any language is invited!). Next week they will be doing face painting for the student body as well as creating a fun environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome!

    What to do for fun

    There are football games, tennis, swimming, and open track for anyone! I would also recommend taking a picnic onto the beautiful scenery of Shasta College. Sitting in the cool grass and having a Shasta College meal is one heck of a day!

    Food and Dining

    The dining in Shasta College is superb. From the bistro with freshly cooked meals to the stores there is quality food that is delicious and affordable!

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I do not live in the dorms here at Shasta College, however I have several friends who live in the dorms. They are amazed at the fantastic prices. Everyone knows college can be overwhelming and expensive, but my friends love the price that allows them to pay rent and be healthy in every aspect.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is academically strong and requires your dedication and attention, however it is flexible and offers many free tutoring help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on it right away! Shasta College offers enough financial aid to pay for everything! I have not paid for one thing here out of pocket and I am just a typical person! Research your professors we have some amazing ones here at Shasta College.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is amazing! It allows for a flexible schedule and quality education. It combines affordable education with the comfort of working from home or on campus!

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Shasta offers a variety of clubs, sports and activities throughout the school year. Anything from playing football, to attending the games, to being a part of the student senate.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is delicious, being that it is made fresh daily. They also have power bars and juices for an on-the-go student.

    Dorm Life

    Personally, I have no experience living in the dorms, but I've heard positive comments about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a community college, many people would argue that the level of school work isn't as high as other colleges or universities. Shasta will set up its students to be as successful as they need to be to move on to a four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students will fall in love with Shasta College. Stay on top of your work and be involved with as many sports, clubs, and events as possible to make the most out of your experience.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is an exceptional community college with a multitude of educational classes and activities to be a part of. Located in a sea of trees, it presents itself as, not only beautiful to look at, but also contains numerous classes within its aged hallways. Shasta is a college that students near and far attend because it sets up the students with knowledge and confidence.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    well it's Redding. it's hot hot in the summer so cooling off at the Lake is not a bad idea: Shasta Lake or Whiskeytown both are great! Movie theaters, preforming arts theater check out Redding.com. Be creative and you'll find something fun:)

    Food and Dining

    It's okay. I mean if you're in need of food you can get it there. I usually don't eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure... I hear they are nice. I live off campus. they are available

    Academic Rigor

    Shasta College is full of very passionate instructors. The course work can be hard if you allow it to pile up. It's fun stuff! on a side note take ENGL 1A with Ben Daw. it is what it is or good luck with that <----- take him and you'll understand

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour, ask for help when needed, and find a group of people with similar career goals.

    In three sentences

    A great learning environment, full of very passionate instructors wanting to teach. It's a pretty campus with the second largest redwood forest, ha! It has been a pleasure going to school here.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always security around and there are specific security phones on the walls in the classroom buildings so when you pick up the phone it is immediately dialing security's number.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about every club you can think of.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cinco De Mayo we always throw a huge campus party.

    Bang for the buck

    Always good specials and deals on food and books and classes for students to save money.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Sundial and Longboard, go on the Sacramento River and go kayaking, go fishing/camping, go to the lake, go see a movie or go to our mall.

    Food and Dining

    The bistro is Great! As well as the regualr cafeteria food and they have great specials all the time.

    Dorm Life

    All newly remodeled.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side to life on Shasta College is exquisit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the different teaching styles and techniques of the different teachers on campus.

    In three sentences

    The school is very open and I love the surrounding environment with our red wood forest that is the second biggest red wood forest outside our our national red wood tree forest. I love how friendly all of the students and the teachers are, if you ever need any help everyone is happy to help. I like how this school really tries to get their students involved with the school and tries to help as well through the work study program.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the whiskey town lake, many clubs, and roam around the farm.

    Food and Dining

    they have alot of options.

    Dorm Life

    pretty fun except the curfew hours and not co-ed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    These are community college teachers, still hard though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your classes, easy to get stuck in shasta college.

    In three sentences

    Shasta college is one of the least packed community colleges i know of. They offer many tutoring options no matter what subject it is. Whether you want a one on one tutoring or a fellow student to tutor you.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a security guard everyday.

    Greek Life

    Next to extinct at this campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I know of none.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is trying to get their general education done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their is a LDS institute of religion here that has a kitchen and arcade games to play. it is a ton of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Good education at a low price with great staff.

    What to do for fun

    Their are many national and state parks around for you to enjoy. Plus many other outdoor activities. Their is a bowling alley, golf courses and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know. I do not live at the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The general classes are challenging but not more then expected, but the degree specific classes are tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much done on this campus as possible. The staff is their to help.

    In three sentences

    Has a very diverse rang of classes covering various degrees. Staff that is willing to sit down and help you. Also the campus is beautiful.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Redding area has various activities in any sport. Wanna ski/snowboard? Mt. Shasta ski park is only an hour away!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has two really good cafes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have been challenging, but the faculty has been fantastic about helping you one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of your work. There are a lot of challenging courses offered, and getting behind will keep you behind.

    In three sentences

    Shasta has been a great experience! I was thrilled with how easy the staff is to work with. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a small school with the highest intentions.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    With tuition only being around $1,800, I'd say you definitely get bang for your buck. Most kids are just getting their general ed out of that way and this is the best way to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get into Fast Track! Take your assessment test early and schedule your orientation early. This will ensure that you get the classes you need and when you need them.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is great for people who want to save money. With Fast Track, you are able to get out as soon as possible to transfer to your four year school. Or if all you need is an associate's degree, Shasta can help you with that!!

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of Clubs and sports teams that you may do for fun. Also, the campus itself is quite pretty and an enjoyable location to take nice walks.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with great people preparing the food. A little more pricey than some may prefer.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard from friends that the dorms are quite nice and comfortable. I myself do not live in the dorms so i can not go into to much detail about them.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load isn't very much, but the work can vary in difficulty. If you pay attention in class and do the homework, there shouldn't be too much of a problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with your teachers as much as you can, because they are willing to help you and work around any conflicting schedule you might have. Also, stay focused and on track with your goals. it is very easy to fall behind especially if you aren't working hard in the class.

    In three sentences

    A great community college to start out at, because it isn't to overwhelming. They work hard on making your experience there productive and memorable. Great staff and nice teachers who truly care about their students education.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police LOVE to give out parking tickets and that's it all day. They aren't anything more than glorified meter maids.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of clubs that once or twice a semester put together a fair of sorts in the quad. They organized a rocky horror picture show for Halloween.

    Great for these types of students

    Older folks going back to school and young people who can't afford a 4 year school right away.

    Bang for the buck

    I've taken 65 semester units for under 5000 dollars including books and lab fees. It's exceptionally inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is nonexistent. Make friends here and hang out elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves pizza and sandwiches everyday with a themed meal for every day of the week that never changes.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commuter school, very few people live in the dorms less than 80 people. There is however a drinking culture in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a chemistry major and it requires a ton of work. Many of my professors have their phd. They demand hard work for good grades. There is no such thing as grade inflation here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors and faculty are here to help. Take advantage of office hours and free tutoring. Have a plan and work towards your goal. Graduation rates are pathetic don't blow off school just because it's community college.

    In three sentences

    Shasta is a community college, there isn't much in the way of student life. It's useful for getting prerequisites done cheaply and with a solid faculty its a smart way to go for most students.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is great. Although the campus is a bit far from town making it potentially frightening at night, Campus Security will escort anyone who wishes it to their vehicle. They also provide free jump starts to anyone who finds themselves with a dead battery.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the outdoors. Also, the music department's faculty is great so music students will likely have a great time at Shasta.

    Bang for the buck

    Cost of tuition is reasonable, although because of the large area that the campus services transportation expenses to get to school (like gas) can be fairly high.

    What to do for fun

    Located in Northern California, there are plenty of outdoor activities available, from Hiking in the summer to skiing and snowboarding in the winter. There are also many historical sites in and near town.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options on campus for food, from the cafeteria and Bistro restaurant to the vending machines. However, the campus is a bit far from town, so without a vehicle getting food off-campus can be a challenge.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms nor have I ever been to them, so I cannot provide worthwhile insight into them.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall the courses are as difficult as one would expect from their respective material, although there aren't as many essays required in non-language related courses (like math), which I feel leaves students planning on eventually completing a PhD a bit unprepared.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take STU-1, college success course early in your time at the school. Also, everyone should take MUS-11 History of Rock and Jazz with Dr. Grandy, there aren't many classes as fun (and also educational) as this one.

    In three sentences

    A good school with a friendly atmosphere and very enthusiastic instructors. The campus is very open and great for people who like the outdoors. The music department in particular is very good.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Never participated in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Redding or on the campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Constantly check your myshasta documents if you attend this school. Things get posted there without your knowledge that the financial aid office expects you to turn it without ever notifying you of that paperwork!

    In three sentences

    Shasta College has a great campus. The only issue I've ever encountered with the school is in the financial aid office. Other than that, the school has been great!

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure of a major, or on a budget who are self-motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are groups in the cafeteria that are made up of not only students, but also non-attending locals that use it as a regular hang out. If you're not outdoorsy, Redding doesn't offer much in the way of fun or free hang outs.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is fairly isolated, so there is no fun to be had nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty decent. There is a student run dining option that I've not tried, but have heard good things about.

    Dorm Life

    I have no personal experience, but the on-campus accommodations are limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Decent academics, but many of the teachers are jaded and fellow students uninterested. It's pretty important to be self-motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your plan is to transfer do keep up with a counsellor, but remember that it's your future and don't be afraid to go your own way.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a very low pressure and accommodating school. A very low cost way to explore your interests or get general education credits before transferring to a four year school. Being a low budget option the buildings aren't very impressive to look at, but the campus is well maintained with pretty landscaping.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated, outgoing.

    Bang for the buck

    Good place to go if you're not looking to spend a whole lot.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the lake, go snowboarding on Mt. Shasta, hang out.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on campus security at all times who can assist you with any need.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if this pertains to Shasta.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shasta college offers a lot of clubs and is open to any new ideas!

    Great for these types of students

    In coming Freshman and Returning Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We recently just celebrated Dia de Los Muertos there it was great!

    Bang for the buck

    I would highly recommend this school for incoming freshman who are looking for a smooth transition into the College lifestyle.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the student lobby and have study groups or take a break and have cub meetings or just socialize. Also there is a computer lab for quite reading or doing work.

    Food and Dining

    They have convenient vending machines on the off campus sites which is perfect for on the go and it is not expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I cant give ratings for this

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate this school a 3 and 1/2 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would suggest is if you are a high school senior to get all of your financial aid applications and school applications done asap to get our financial aid on time.

    In three sentences

    I would say that Shasta College is a very clean and nice campus. The staff there and faculty are amazing. It is a smaller campus which is slow pace and perfect for freshman students.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus activities to participate in that Shasta college has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options but they don not very day to day.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    If you can just attend school, that is the ideal situation for a full time student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check out all of your financial opportunities such as, EOPS, CARE, FASFA, and any scholarships that may be available.

    In three sentences

    This campus has gave me the resources to get the education that I will need to get into my goal career. They have an excellent math, and writing lab that I have used many times. They also have provided plenty of computers on campus that are available to all students during school hours.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Run or workout in the school gym or ride your bike around the beautiful neighboring woods and forrests.

    Food and Dining

    Large variety of lunches and snacks offered in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but those who do say they are dirty and very compact.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers give loads of homework and very little hands on teaching. Wished they made the learning experience more personal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get into the class conversation and try to discuss your own ideas and points of view with the class.

    In three sentences

    Enthusiastic teachers that are willing to help students succeed. Not very difficult criteria and course studies. Some classes were very challenging as others were very easy.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are learning to live on their own, want to work, and are not sure what they want to study.

    What to do for fun

    One can attend sporting events, plays, and concerts for cheap prices.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a lot of variety and the food is a little expensive, but tasty nonetheless.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't many options for dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very challenging while others are not.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a good school for students that want to save money and explore majors. Shasta college also has great services for students like writing centers and transfer centers. Shasta college is a great place to attend if one isn't ready for university life.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus area located downtown for dental and business majors is in sort of a bad place. Some girl got mugged there last year but the main college campus is fine. I've never had a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't have time for clubs, so I wouldn't know but there quite a bit of range from Agriculture to Latino, to recycling clubs and even a gay alliance club.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a lot of older people on campus but for the students coming straight from high school, its a great place to start and get yourself set up with an educational goal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite spots on campus is the science learning center. They always have tutors there willing to help. Its nice to know that you can ask someone other than your professor and get a lot of help.

    Bang for the buck

    I do feel like I could be learning more but I feel like (because the type of people who attend) the professors dumb it down a little. Most of the classes are not challenging enough in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Redding has a lot of really nice parks by Sacramento River, there is the Sundial Bridge which is really pretty, and you are very close to Shasta and Whiskeytown lake which are beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    They just started to accept debit/credit which makes it alot easier when you are starving.

    Dorm Life

    My friend lives in the dorms and in my opinion, I dont know how she does it. They are small, packed, and you never get any privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes you take. Zoology was the hardest class Ive ever taken and hoped to get a C at least but ended up with an A. Other classes like the general History class and general English along with Physiology are a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up what which professors you plan on taking on www.ratemyprofessor.com, this will really help because not all the professors are that great depending on how you learn.

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty good place to start out and get a handle on what you plan to do later. It is very affordable for me, the classrooms are small so you don't feel overwhelmed, and its nice to be able to stay in my hometown. I am pacing myself by working and taking a few classes but being there for three years starts to make you feel like you have to move on.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Shasta College we have lots of extracurricular activities along with sports that students can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a very nice cafeteria at Shasta that has some really good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is small, and there are only 60 units.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to register for classes early because they go fast!

    In three sentences

    Shasta College has incredible teachers that are there for you to succeed. I feel at home going to class everyday. I am happy to be a Shasta College student.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    not really sure what this means

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with some of my fellow class mates

    Food and Dining

    The food is good

    Dorm Life

    I am living with roommats and driving to and from school

    In three sentences

    Its a great college I love all the people that work at Shasta College Its a pretty Campus

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Talk to other students.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends upon the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, stay at it, you will achieve it.

    In three sentences

    A good school. It has good dorms. And a great selection of courses.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Decent bang for my buck.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out and chat with other students between courses.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, not so good prices.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know, I have lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends upon the instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your forms, and check you my Shasta page for forms to fill out.

    In three sentences

    Its a decent Jr. College. It has dorms. And vast amount of courses online and on campus.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security roaming the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Shasta is a very low tuition college and it is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    There are concerts that feature local bands, sports games, plays, and choir concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms. However I have friends that do and they love it!

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip would be to ask other people about instructors before signing up for their classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great community college. It is a beautiful campus. Shasta has staff that is willing to take the extra time to help you.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many places located on campus where students can acquire some sort of snack, meal, or drink. There are vending machines located in certain buildings that provide drinks, snacks, and even individually wrapped sandwiches. There are three different places to purchase meals from including the grill and the express food place, all located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally seen the dorms in person, but I hear they are very nice. I hear they have a rather large television in the living room, and there is a conference/meeting room you may put on reserve if you need use of such facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    I am still in the beginning stages of my courses, but they are packed with homework, reading, notes, information, lecture, hands-on experience, etc; however, I am enjoying the classroom environment and work so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you purchase your books through websites, or rent them, somewhere other than the bookstore on campus; you pay for convenience. Also, make sure you know when the registration date is or you will end up getting the bottom of the barrel pick of classes and schedule choice.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a small, yet largely resourceful school. The environment is very welcoming, especially for incoming freshman, and they offer a wide variety of courses to register for. Tuition is relatively low and there is a significant amount of financial aid available to all; this is a great school to begin earning your degree, or even to earn an AA degree.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    35 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit and does not have much crime. It's wise to keep car windows up and doors locked but break-ins aren't reported often. There are cameras set up and campus security can be called to report suspicious activity or for an escort to the parking lot after late classes. However most students feel safe practicing basic safety precautions.

    Greek Life

    There is an honors society Phi Theta Kappa- Beta Mu Mu chapter that admits the top GPA students and offers resources to help with the transfer process. Also Phi Rho Pi is a club dedicated to public speaking that is helpful for future politions and people pursuing a career in the performing arts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several campus clubs available including Student Senate- student government that puts together campus activies, Intervarsity Christian Fellowship for like-minded Christians, and the Intercultural Club for meeting other cultures especially foreign exchange.

    Great for these types of students

    Certainly a campus for those less interested in the college experience and more looking for a good place to get ahead in units without falling behind in finances. Also great for those looking to get a certificate rather than a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I mentioned before, the cafeteria can be a hotspot for the more unique students. There are often students dressed in interesting outfits and typically at least one table of people playing Magick. It can seem sketchy but the randomness of some people makes the stupor of boring work fade a bit.

    Bang for the buck

    The college charges per unit and while the price has gone up recently it is still far better than taking the classes at univerisity costs. At Shasta it's possible to complete a lot of coursework especially in science majors before transferring to much more expensive UC's, CSU's and private universities which can be a big saving. The financial aid office is horrible and hated by most students but they do a list of many local scholarships that are easy money and BOGG fee waiver can waive per unit costs for low-income and veteran benefitted students.

    What to do for fun

    Redding is a little notorious to the local youth as being a boring place to live but it can be fun. In the summer there is usually live music and food at Maxwell's Eatery downtown; Marketfest Thursday nights have fresh foods and music; and there is hiking, boating, and swimming at the two huge lakes-Shasta and Whiskeytown. In the winter movies are a go-to at the two Cinemark theatres- one plays major films, some in XD and the other plays the same films a few weeks later for a dollar each. Bowling is another frequent winter choice especially Shasta Lanes. The local Cascade theatre puts on plays along with the highschools and Shasta College which can also be fun to see.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has suprisingly very good food. They have the basics like coffee, hamburgers, french fries, and pizza but also have chinese, salads, a made-to-order fresh sandwich bar, parfaits, fresh fruit, and even odwalla smoothies for sale. It isn't advisable to buy food everyday since packing from home saves money but the prices aren't high so it's a great place to grab a snack between classes. There is a lot of seating inside which tends to be noisy and there are also benches all over campus outside that are great too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms on campus are small and dated. There aren't many who live in them as the college has mostly local students but they are adequate and comfortable and very convenient for getting to class in minutes. There is also a dorm club that tries to put together interesting things to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Several classes are best described as fly courses but there are some harder subjects in the sciences and math especially Anatomy, Calculus 5A and 5B, and Physiology that require more time and attention for high marks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of the proffessors let in a lot of students off the waitlist because class enrollment generally shrinks by the first test so don't be discouraged if you sign up after a class is full. Take advantage of the labs on campus- the Math and Writing Center and the Science Learning Center are both realy good assets for extra help. Also don't be afraid to ask the library staff for research help; they are excellent. Be aware that while the school is good, the campus crowd can be a little quirky. Don't be put off by the likelihood of running into Elvis impersonators in the cafeteria.

    In three sentences

    Many of the professors are very adept and encouraging, which can be rare at a community college. The campus is small but very beautiful with fountains and a redwood grove. Rather than being strictly for general education, the campus offers many great programs in subjects ranging from nursing and firefighting to archaeology and GIS.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Trio! PUENTE, EOPS, Christian Varsity, science clubs, dance, and arts, music orchestra, etc!

    Bang for the buck

    THE FOOD! and Science courses!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library, you meet lots of interesting people there! There are also different events and shows throughout the semester, so always check the theater announcements.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually pretty delicious! I don't know about the pizza, but try the fresh meals and Food of the Day :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to register for your classes early, otherwise you'll have to wait until the following semester. Try to get to school early, because Shasta is highly popular and parking wise, you'd end up all the way near the trees and running later than expected.

    In three sentences

    Great science professors, budget amiable class prices, surrounded by lots of trees, which is good if you like nature.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not much of a problem so you can feel safe.

    Greek Life

    nun

    Clubs and Activities

    not a lot of clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a cool running trail ask someone were it is it is a little hard to find.

    Bang for the buck

    The books can be a lot but rent them or get them used.

    What to do for fun

    I am a family man so just like everyone go to the lake we have a great one.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and not to pricey but watch out for ATM fees.

    Dorm Life

    The school is fare from the city so transportation is going to make hard on those that live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you put in the hard work the teachers will be helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    The math and English lab is a great way to get help or find out witch teacher are the best to take.

    In three sentences

    As a Jr. College it has been a good, as for the teachers they can be very caring and helpful. The school is out a ways from the city so if you live off campus you will want a car.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 38 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at the school all the time. There is always students and teachers around watching making sure we are all safe and there are cats everywhere so it would be hard for people to sneak around.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is never really noticed that much by students. It's very down to earth and always interacting with other students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple types of clubs and activities, but for me I am not part of any right now, but i would like to get started in one this coming semester.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all types of students. A little bit of everything is taught at the school. So one semester take business classes than the following semester take cooking classes. There is always options to change.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always having to talk to new people and just to always be outgoing and when some students aren't they get picked on until they are outgoing like the rest of the students. We also are all apart of the School itself and always try to take part of things going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Shasta College is a pretty area with the trees around and just the atmosphere is amazing. I love this school and have planned to go to Shasta College since I was little.

    What to do for fun

    There are always things to do. Shasta College have a poster building setup so anything that is going on at the school or off campus its all put up on the building. Students are also really interactive with each other and able to plan things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is open all day while there are classes going on. They also have snack machines all over and drinks. They make sure students are about to get a snack to go and a drink.

    Dorm Life

    I am not really sure about the dorm life at Shasta College, but from what I've been told by others the dorm life is pretty good as long as the roommate is down to earth.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic part of the school is good and is all about keeping the students going and able to succeed in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only do classes that you know you can focus on and don't get side tracked by everything else that goes on in the college lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    Shasta college is a great school for all types of people. Shasta college is all about the students and helping us find our paths. The college is all around a good school to go to for all types of degrees and being able to make new friends.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 39 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have great campus saftey. Help phones in every building and campus cops always on partol.

    Greek Life

    We have one greek club and it is for straight A students with a 4.0 or higher.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity or club throwing something fun in the quad.

    Great for these types of students

    Agriculture, Music, Medical, Athletes, fire fighters, police, mechanics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an Agriculture department that basically has its own farm and barn, they rise their own animals and the food they harvest goes to the cafeteria. We are known for our beautiful trees and lovely redwoods.

    Bang for the buck

    Units are cheap, it just went up to 35$ a unit. It is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and extracurricular activities. There is also an amazing trail that i love to run on my off time. It keeps me in shape and also has a beautiful view of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    It is very good food but if you are on a tight budget, then you might be skipping a few meals.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rules are very strict, you cant choose your dorm roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a school that teaches you how to be an independent scholar.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time for studying, it will be your life. Give yourself a break in between classes. Take advantage of the small class sizes.

    In three sentences

    Verry beautiful campus. Great Teachers who are very personable. Shasta has a great learning envronment for students.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I've spent less in two year than in my first semester at university, so I am very happy I went to community college.

    What to do for fun

    Find friends.

    Food and Dining

    Never really ate at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I know we have them.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it a three cause its based on what classes you will be taking. I spent the majority of my time in the 800 building (social sciences building) and in my opinion were easy for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    I found some of the guidance counselors to be less than helpful, but once I found the one that worked best with me I got on the right track.

    In three sentences

    It was a good experience for what it was, a community college. I went to high school in the area and it seemed almost more similar to that than my expected college experience. However, I found the professors to be engaging as well as inspiring.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has phones in every building where you can call security if needed, or if you would like someone to walk you to your car after dark.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a lot of clubs and activities, and because it's so close to other things in town the activities are not limited to just being on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good variety of food and restaurants are nearby as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are constructed well, and the professors take time to talk to you during office hours if needed. If you don't know what your major is yet, the classes give you a good enough general perspective of the major it represents, without being too over-powering.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes early, and sign up for them as soon as you're able to, that decreases the chance you won't get the class you want or that you'll be waitlisted.

    In three sentences

    Shasta is a good community college, the staff there really cares about you and what you want to do, as long as you make an effort to reach out for them if you have questions or concerned. The classes range from thirty to three hundred depending on the subject. It's a good college to go to if you need General Ed taken care of.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Concerts, both symphonic and choral.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice bistro where everything is made by the culinary arts students, very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    I hardly put in any effort and have gotten a 4.0 the last two semesters. The only way to fail is to not attend classes as the teachers put a high percentage on what they call participation even though we all know it is attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes that interest you along with the classes necessary for your degree or else you may get burnt out.

    In three sentences

    The performing arts classes tend to be the best quality classes of those that I have taken. Some of the English teachers are lazy and need to do more research on what it is they are supposed to be teaching. The campus is nice, with shaded areas and green grass.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Felt safe, plenty of parking out of the city.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not yet joined any but plan to and recommend other students to, as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to commit to coming to class every day, not sleeping in and who have the time it takes to succeed. Most of my classmates dropped part way through the semester, which was sad to see.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are going up and course selection is staying the same. As a young person I did not receive any financial aid whatsoever despite the fact that I'm currently unemplyed (in a small town with high unemployment) and had to take out max loans just to get through. Extremely disappointing for a committed college student who needs assistance.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs on campus, a pool and sports courts and a farm too.

    Food and Dining

    I visited the Cafeteria a couple times but left without food, it seems gross to me. There is a restaurant on campus that usually smells very good.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I was very busy with my four classes all semester and felt pushed by most of my teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll as early as possible, small campus with limited selections. Commit to the classes you start and join some extracurricular activities.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College has the benefit of relatively small class sizes, personable staff and extremely helpful couneslors. The campus is well maintained and beautiful and even has on campus dorms. It is, however, a small campus with what seems to be a small rentention rate and almost half of all my classmates did not finish the semeter.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cars get broken into, but that is all i have heard. i'm really not sure about safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    natural resouces

    Great for these types of students

    just starting out at shasta college.

    What to do for fun

    there is a little recreation room. events on shasta college website. not much really. the city has pool halls, bowling, and movies.

    Food and Dining

    food expense at the college. get food at the dollar tree a few miles from the college on masonic ave.

    Dorm Life

    Campus is beautiful. Living on campus is pretty cheap, except food wise. food is expense in my opinion. campus is far from main city thou.

    Academic Rigor

    Any class with two units or less is un-nesscessary.

    Tips for prospective students

    when looking for a class explore the different teachers that offer it. it will make all the difference because teachers teach differently and have different expectations.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college to start your higher education at. It is a very cheap school, but you can still get a great education here. It has the cheapest rates i have ever seen honestly.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like walks in the park? Then this is a perfect place for people who like to have open space. It seems like another world for it is very spacious and relaxing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not a lot of unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun. There are theatrical plays, clubs you can join, sports you can try out for, and a lot of friendly people you can meet!

    Food and Dining

    This place offers a variety of food on campus. You can choose to either eat from the cafeteria where you get a lot of different selections of food. It is made fast so you do not have to spend much time waiting for your food, or you can order it to go. If cafeteria isn't your choice, you may also eat from the culinary arts classes who offer a really nice and relaxing lunch that they make themselves. The food is brought to you and gives a vibe as if you were at a fancy restaurant. Everything is cheap and great!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice. They are comfortable and relaxing. The great part about this is, that even if you don't have a car, which may be a reason for why you live in the dorms, you can always take the RABA bus. It takes you to several places around the area. The dorms also have a place to hang out. They have super comfy couches and televisions. There is also a pool area to play pool with friends and roommates. Great place to hang out with friends and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my professors have been great! Super entertaining and fun during the process of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like any other college, you must stay focused on your work and complete your courses well; however, this particular campus offers much help and a lot of extracurricular activities. If possible, i recommend you participate in any of the clubs available that are of interest to you.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a wonderful college to attend. It's natural beauty makes you feel relaxed and at peace, making it seem as if you were at a park and not an actual college campus. The community itself is very friendly and the professors there are great. I definitely recommend this community college for anyone.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 46 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club or go to sporting events. They are great.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't bad if you Are between classes and is pretty reasonable too.

    Academic Rigor

    It's very easy to get an A if you just try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your in class as much as possible. Don't slack, try your very hardest.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very good and understanding. Especially if you have medical appointments and need to make up tests, they let you make them up. Great school to begin your further education

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important at Shasta College. For this reason, security officers do their check-ups frequently and are always at alert. The school security officers also do rounds in the residence halls to ensure safety for dorm students. Once a student violates the rules in the dorm or the college at large, he or she faces disciplinary actions.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at Shasta College is very active. The Phi Theta Kappa organization which is on-campus, meets every week to discuss their activities and how they can help students at Shasta College. They carry out events like snow cone selling and chili cookout.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 40 clubs on-campus. These clubs are formed mainly for students however staff are also involved in them. Each club has its time and place of meeting, and ideas are brought together to achieve various goals in the college. For instance, the student senate is an organization of students who represent the student body at Shasta College, and gears to achieving better conditions for every student on-campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Shasta College is definitely a great college for students who are pursuing careers in automotive technology construction, or welding. The college is excellent in those areas. Shasta College is also a great college for athletes who want to join Division I teams in four-year colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location on campus is a bush behind the residence halls. It is isolated and scary sometimes.

    Bang for the buck

    About 80% of students are satisfied with what Shasta College offers. A survey completed by the Research Department at Shasta College in April, 2012, supports the fact that the majority of current students and graduates of Shasta College are satisfied with the value of education at Shasta College, do not regret their times at Shasta College.

    What to do for fun

    Students hang out with each other at different location on-campus during leisure hours. During the sporting season, students can also watch various teams on-campus as they play their different games: basketball, soccer, swimming, volleyball. Furthermore, there are several clubs and organization on-campus, and most of them are formed for students to attend and to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Everyday, students and visitors flood the Cafeteria at Shasta College. This is due to the quality of the food served there. There are two methods of payment; students could pay in cash or purchase a meal card. The Cafeteria is open from 7:30am to 6pm, Mondays through Thursday, and from 7:30am to 2:30pm on Fridays. For the students who live in the school dorm, they can make their own food or purchase food from the school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls have a capacity of 120 students; 63 men and 63 women. It is often calm and quiet in the residence halls because of the various regulations in the dorm. However, activities like table-tennis, pool, and volleyball tournaments are organized by the dorm officials sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    In Shasta College, student success is the priority, therefore the school management does everything in their reach to ensure student success. The academic calendar is strictly followed, and instructors adhere strictly to their syllabi. Homeworks, quizzes and tests are given frequently, and these lead to student success.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is an outstanding interaction between students and instructors, therefore students can relate with their instructors easily. Resources abound for students to use. There are numerous clubs and organizations on-campus, and students can relate with their fellow student through these clubs and organization. Athletic events are also done on-campus.

    In three sentences

    The student body at Shasta College is highly diversified with parents adolescents and teens from different cultural backgrounds. Academic success is the priority of Shasta College students. In order to assure academic excellence, Shasta College has numerous resources available to students at any given time.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 48 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's mostly safe here, but there are occasional problems, just like anywhere.

    Greek Life

    I don't know. I think all we have is Phi Theta Kappa, and I don't belong.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't ready to leave their hometown, students who are broke, students who want to live in a smaller town for a while.

    Bang for the buck

    At $46/unit, it's much cheaper to start out here than it would be to start at a four year college. If you choose your classes wisely, you can make it a decent start to your education.

    What to do for fun

    Redding has a limited theatre/music scene, a couple bowling alleys, a lot of bars, and some restaurants. If you like nature, there's a lot more to do, since we have the River Trail, Mount Shasta, Lake Shasta, Castle Crags, and dozens upon dozens of other outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary kids work very hard, and prepare mostly delicious food, some of which comes from the campus's organic vegetable garden.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know. I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are more rigorous than others. Some teachers are more demanding than others, and their classes are rewarding and interesting. Some teachers make it very easy to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look very closely at the school's accreditation status for next year. Do not come here if you need a program that takes an extended period of time (such as music theory). It may be the right choice if it can keep its accreditation status, which is purportedly due to a paperwork issue.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a small school in the boonies with a high concentration of teachers with either a PhD or DMA. Overall, it's not a bad school, the administration building needs to get itself together. It's not very organized, its accreditation status is threatened at the moment, unfortunately.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 49 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is great and there are a large variety of meals.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms because I still live with a supportive family.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a good course plan for students that want to transfer to another school. This makes it easily possible to transfer from Shasta with your general education completed before even going to a regular college.

    In three sentences

    Shasta College is a great school for students who need to go to a community college before they can get into a university. The teachers and councilors are great at helping the students in order to achieve the best grades possible. If you are thinking of going to a community college and live close to the Shasta campus, this is the right place for you.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 50 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    In three sentences

    shasta college is decent.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i do not eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    i am only enrolled in one class and it is fairly difficult

    Tips for prospective students

    i strongly encourage prospective students to look into shasta college. it is great for freshman that have just graduated high school and returning students that want to further their education.

    In three sentences

    i love shasta college because it is set into a great community right outside of the city of redding. the instructors are very sociable and treat us students with respect. they are very cheap and understand that not all of us can afford a quality education.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 52 of 58

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun around the community college - most of which happens to be outside. The campus is beautiful so taking a walk in any weather is always a joy. And there are plenty of student clubs to sign up for to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Due to recent budget cuts, Shasta Community College has had to limit the amount of hours the cafeteria is open. The food is great - usually very fresh - but availability in the time you can go eat tends to be an issue.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't personally experienced the dorm life but I have yet to hear anything bad about it.

    Academic Rigor

    It might just be me but I find that when you pay attention to the material and participate in the class, the workload isn't strict. Teachers there help you with anything you don't understand to the best of their abilities as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are familiar with all the student resources around the campus. I would also suggest getting on a friendly, open relationship with the teachers so they can help you as much as you need.

    In three sentences

    The community college has an easy going and friendly feel about it. The students are helpful and the teachers are more than willing to help you learn any material you did not understand in class when it's convenient for the both of you. Overall, it's a great place to start from.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this campus is great for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is time to be responsible and time to let go of Mommy and Daddy's hand. Make sure to not procrastinate because it will definitely affect you in your classes. It is time to step up and get the grades you want so your future can be prosperous. You are not getting a high school diploma anymore, you are fighting to get the ticket for the rest of your life.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for Shasta is appropriate. Thankfully I have a job; it is really helping me get by.

    Am enjoying being here

    Shasta College is nothing like the high school I attended. There is new faces, people of different ages and culture, and I did not know anybody. It is hard not to be with the friends one grew up with, but that's what happens once you get older. It personally made me open my eyes. There are more people than just the people from the high school I just graduated from. Shasta college has an amazing campus and actually has very friendly people. I made new friends that helped me with my educational learning, and new friends that helped me get by when I was feeling down.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a freshman in college, and I took 13 units this semester. I am also working part time so I didn't want to take too many classes. I took Chemistry, Psychology, and Math. I was scared in the beginning about Chemistry because it did not go smoothly for me in high school. Thankfully I learned to study on my own time and work hard to understand something. I got A's in all my classes and I feel a lot smarter.

  • 12/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who like small class sizes and trees. It's also great for those who wish to save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strive to do your best in each of your classes so you do not have to repeat classes. Then you can move on to bigger and better places sooner! If you need help in a certain subject, meet with your professor during his/her office hours. Class sizes are relatively smaller, so it is easier to meet one on one with your professors.

    Bang for the buck

    You can save loads of money by getting your general ed done here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors I had were funny, nice people.

    Am learning a lot

    Among the many useful classes I've had here, my favorite was Interpersonal Communication. I learned a lot of useful communication skills that I can apply to my everyday life.

  • 08/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    55 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you're a person who loves cement/concrete and the hustle and bustle of city life with concentrated amounts of people that herd their way in and about the campus, then this college is not for you! This college is for students who like trees! grass! flowers! squirrels! and wood peckers!!! Can't forget the lovely wood pecker. On this campus, it is far from an endangered species. The campus buildings are nicely spread out, with various types of foliage nicely planted in-between. So, walking around campus between class times was always pleasant and relaxing.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is: If possible, check out each teacher's teaching style. Learn about them from other students or check out their websites (if they have one). Also, even if your teachers are awesome, much of learning involves personal effort, so be sure to do the homework and pay attention in class! It's very important.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is super inexpensive compared to many of the colleges out there! Definitely cheaper then the ones I have only dreamed of attending.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes, I really enjoyed attending this college. The campus is beautiful and the people are nice.

    Did learn a lot

    Did I learn a lot? I sure did. I think what greatly helped my process of learning was finding teachers who's methods of teaching were comfortable and comprehensible to me.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students... there are great programs for everyone and tons of way to get help along with free tutoring

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in student senate and clubs... students have the power to make the school what they want so take advantage of it and get involved with your future

  • 12/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 57 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who need to save their money!

    Tips for prospective students

    I'm serious about meeting with a counselor, they know whats going on and how to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Get your general here and then transfer. Best way to save money!

    Am enjoying being here

    I've met many people and most everyone actually wants to be here, so the atmosphere is way better than high school.

    Am learning a lot

    Some teachers know what they are talking about, some don't. Talk to your counselor because they will help you.

  • 03/25/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 58 of 58

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study and stay focus, only you can sit in that college class and learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Enough is said!

    Will enjoy being here

    Will make the best out of it.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan too.