Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Shepherd University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 03/31/2017

    Reviewer is A past student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Wasn't super happy with my time here. It could have been muxh worse, but I had professors who seemed dismayed to be there, didn't really seem to care, financial aid office was doing the minimum it seemed. But other than that it was pretty great.

  • 12/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 2 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are always events going on at Shepherd, you just have to look for them. There are bus trips to DC every month for free so you can visit museums. Take advantage of these opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have a small town kind of personality and like to know your professor, I would definitely suggest Shepherd. If you love skipping class or not getting the same professor twice - don't go here.

    Bang for the buck

    Unless you attend a community college, this is probably the cheapest in state university that you will come across. I'm very pleased with the prices. The only thing I would change is some of the unnecessary fees.

    What to do for fun

    I grew up very close to Shepherdstown, so basically unless you're a nature enthusiast there isn't much to do. I love exploring the C&O trails along with frequent trips to Harpers Ferry, but other than that you can always just hang out in town on the wall, in the sweet shop, or my personal guilty pleasure: Mellow Moods!

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat here often considering a lot of the times the food was not up to par and wasn't worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot offer any personal experience about the dorms since I live off campus, but every review that I have heard is just awful.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had the pleasure of being taught by some of the most incredible professors. Dr. Kushin, Dr. SASS, Dr. DeWitt and Dr. Hanrahan are some of the best professors I've ever come across, and their passion for their trade are just incredible. The work isn't bad so long as you put effort into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If there's one thing I can suggest to future students: look up the professors before you take them. There are certain professors that have a 90% fail rate. Don't waste your time on a class you'll have to ultimately retake.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is not only the cheapest university option near me, but also my top choice. The university doesn't have too many majors, and in academics clearly music, nursing and education are top priority, which is unfortunate. Overall I would rate the school as above average, but not extremely exceptional.

  • 06/11/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've always liked the food, though I've heard people complain of it's repetitiveness. The only part that bothered me is that I would get confused on what was in the food.

    Dorm Life

    In Shaw hall, the room is spacious and there are sometimes games in the lobby. Though the rooms tend to look dull without some posters.

    Academic Rigor

    There is plenty of work to do here. It's not too grueling if time is managed well enough, and does leave just enough free-time for other activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are some places in Shepherdstown that accepts rambler cards, if they're used it is possible to get discounts when purchasing items. Very useful for saving money in these trying times.

    In three sentences

    This school has quite the good student to teacher ratio, which makes it easier to get questions answered. The students I've met will attending are pretty friendly, even to someone who is often considered anti-social. This place is can be very inviting to anyone.

  • 11/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very, very safe campus. It is located in a small town that has been known for it's safety. You could literally walk around in a mini skirt and heels at midnight and not have anyone even say a rude remark to you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shepherd has a good number of interesting clubs, a great football team, hands-on opportunities for some majors to get a jump-start into their career (nursing students interact with on-campus pre-schoolers), and loads of activities which range from art trips in New York to math competitions.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no school that is more worth it than Shepherd. Period. If you are an in-state student who got the Promise Scholarship, you will be attending literally for free. For other students, full tuition is less than what they probably spent on a car. And what a great value for it! Shepherd has a lot of wonderful academic programs as well some great sports teams and offers a good overall college experience.

    What to do for fun

    Shepherdstown is a very historic area and the gem of West Virginia. It is an hour's drive from DC, on the border to Maryland (Antietam Battlefield) and about 20-30 minutes from 3 major shopping areas in Martisburg and in Hagerstown. Shepherd College also runs bus trips several times a year to New York and Baltimore. If you feel like staying within walking distance, go get coffee at the Los Dog, try a vegan, Indian, Middle-Eastern, Mexican, or American cuisine, go to the bookstore, see a movie at the Opera House, go hiking at the C&O Canal or at Maryland Heights, or join one of the vast club sports or other organizations run by the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Shepherd is fine, not amazing, not bad. The dining area is clean and never too crowded. However, since Shepherd is a hippie-ish town, there are always healthy options for the food-conscious as well as a few fast food chains right on the outskirts of town.

    Dorm Life

    Shepherd is not a party school. It is located in a small town and has a relatively small student population (3,000-4,000), so it does not attract that sort of crowd. Dorm life is dorm life, it is what others make of it for you and how you choose to handle it, but at Shepherd it is relatively pleasant. You probably won't be kept up at night, and in case you are, there is always ample space in the nearby library to study.

    Academic Rigor

    Shepherd's general classes are not very academically rigorous; as long as you read the chapter, know the material, understand how to analyze the sociology or know how to work the math problems, you will do fine. The class sizes are small, which almost always means that the professors will be caring and open to communicating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always sit in the front of the class and communicate with your professors and fellow students. Try to answer and ask a lot of questions during class. You may feel silly, but you are actually being smart. The professor will get to know you and will recognize you are trying, and you will understand the material better. Find people with good work ethics and make study groups as long as you can all concentrate. Write your essays early-- Shepherd has a program where you can get it evaluated online by grad students in that major for free. Work hard, have fun, and surround yourself with people who challenge yet praise you, so you get motivated to always do your best.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is a solid, very budget-friendly school which provides some very good programs (nursing, medstep, art) you will have trouble finding at other places, and definitely not for the same affordable price. The class sizes are small and it is definitely possible to have a relationship with your professor, and the campus is located in the heart of the charming, historical Shepherdstown. Obviously, Shepherd is not the number one school in the nation, but it offers opportunities that, along with hard work, can offer a great education and college experience.

  • 10/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Depends on where you eat; dining hall is usually below average in quality, but the wellness center and bistro are typically good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are depressing and there is not much to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Unfortunately the work I've had to do here has been less rigorous than what I did in high school. I feel under stimulated.

  • 05/11/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable pricing.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something close by to do. On campus and within walking distance you can see plays, listen to music, hang out with friends at the local restaurants, go biking or hiking on local trails, fishing and much more.

    Food and Dining

    There is a fine mix of casual dinning, relaxing cafes and up-scale restaurants. Many places have outdoor seating, which is a delight during warmer weather.

    Dorm Life

    2/3 of the campus commute and I was one.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging but the professors have an open door policy. You are able to stop by during office hours for one on one help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! Get to know the surrounding and enjoy your stay. There are plenty of outdoor activites to enjoy like kayaking and fishing. There are small cafes and laid back restaurants. It is an experience unlike a large campus.

    In three sentences

    This college offers a phenomenal learning experience due to it being a small college. It is located next to the Potomac river and there are many extra-curricular activites available. It has a beautiful campus in a polite town with professors that care about your education as much as you do.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing has ever happened to *me* on campus, but last semester a guy on crutches was robbed, not sure if anything else happened. However, *this* semester during the snow, some students threw ice balls at cars and vandalized them--I saw pictures of shattered windshields on facebook. Another person was robbed on campus at nighttime, and there was a fight in the basketball court in the gym. I was leaving when I saw the cops show up.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs and activities I've taken apart in were horrible. I stopped going to all of them, and am glad that I did. Program Board does take free trips to the movies though, which is a plus. There are also bus trips to DC, but I've never taken one.

    Great for these types of students

    Poor students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None. The people of Shepherdstown basically worship the location and talk about how great and historic it is. It's really not.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition for the year was only $6,300 (including my lab fees) and was covered by grants, so (despite how awful it is) for such a low cost school I feel like I shouldn't have any expectations. Tuition is increasing to $6,700 though, and I'll pay more for various class fees. Summer classes are freakishly expensive at $700 per class though.

    What to do for fun

    There's a game center upstairs--but you have to pay to use it. They offer bowling and pool, both of which you have to pay $0.89 per 30 minutes per person. They only accept cash, so don't bother bringing your school ram card. Other than that, there isn't really anything to do on campus. There's a tennis court that no one ever uses--you have to bring your own racket and balls if you're interested. There's also a volleyball net that no one is ever around--bring your own ball.

    Food and Dining

    Fortunately I haven't gone to dining hall at all this semester, although I've heard that the quality went down and the price went up. The food in dining hall is HORRIBLE. The food in the rams den is completely disgusting and unhealthy for you--most of it is fried. The Bistro is probably the only place on campus worth eating, but the food costs much more than it's worth. A cup of carrots with ranch or peanut butter costs about $3. Even though the amount of carrots they use probably only costs them a dollar or less.

    Dorm Life

    Awful. Completely overpriced and the dorms look like prison cells; it's actually cheaper to get with some friends and rent an apartment/townhouse and commute to Shepherd than it is to live on campus. Even with the price of gas calculated in.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes. When I was a CIS major taking pre-calc, I had 17 credits and math homework every night. I spent 1-2 hours per night on the class, and spent many hours studying. I ended up switching my major to CIT and withdrew from pre-calc--I haven't had a large work load since. Some classes are incredibly easy and feel like high school 2.0. There are, however, certain classes that require work. Again, it depends on the class, the professor, and your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    My main tip is to simply not go. However, if you find yourself at Shepherd, I strongly recommend learning about the professors before you take their classes (this mostly only applies to core classes). This is especially true for classes such as Biology, where your success is largely dependent on what professor you have. RateMyProfessor is a good start, but asking students around you is best. Find out who they had for the class you're taking, and then ask how it was.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is dull, depressing, and underdeveloped. I often hear students of all majors complaining about the buildings, professors, and classes. The only reason I go there is because I can't afford to go anywhere else--however, I wish I could.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty small and the police are constantly patrolling. Anytime there is an incident you will be notified right away via rave alert.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back and non-traditional students are great for Shepherd because the atmosphere isn't too fast paced or nightlife like. Shepherd also has a good nursing pro-am.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is really low and class sizes are relatively small. Sometimes you may not get into a class you want because its at capacity.

    What to do for fun

    As with most colleges you can attend sporting events. Otherwise, there is a bar called Tony's which offers a college night for any Shepherd student 18+.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall offers a buffet with a great selection. There is even options for vegetarians (veggie burgers ect...). If you don't have a meal plan the food is expensive, but even sometime the meal plan wont cover the full cost of the food. The nearby restaurants are great!

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home and commuted, but when I did stay at the dorms I didn't enjoy my experience. You can not be any sorts of loud or you will be written up! As far as the layout, the rooms are decent size. However, the air conditioning never works!

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors expect you to have knowledge of the material before they go over it. Be sure to read the chapters before you show up to class so you don't look like a deer in headlights.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever need help utilize the academic support center. The tutors are great and will do their best to help you out. Also don't buy your books until you attend your first class. Professors often do not require you to buy them, which will save you a ton of money. Finally, take it one day at a time. College in general is tough, you may have several assignments due at the same time, but don't worry you'll get the hang of it.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    cops drive around all of the time surveying the campus and ive never had a harmful encounter

    Greek Life

    I heard its great and i have friends in it however i am not a part of it

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs you just have to find what you're into

    Great for these types of students

    Art, nursing and education students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are ghost stories and this is right near a war battle field

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition is great. which is why most of the school lives right down the road and commute, however out of state is more pricey

    What to do for fun

    For fun you hang out with friends, Go to the wellness center; which is free to students, Go on walks into town and study :)

    Food and Dining

    You have 3 choices. Rams den, Dining hall, and Wellness center. Rams den is pretty good most of the time. a good place to go to in order to switch it up. Dining hall is the down fall. they run out of food often and its not very good. Wellness center has good healthy smoothies and if you find the right sandwich it is good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small. Only 2 out of 5 buildings have air conditioning, But this is where you meet your life time friends and have fun activities weekly to participate in if you would like.

    Academic Rigor

    Its no Yale. You wont have too excel in every subject. However it will become stressful, You have to stay on top of everything. Shepherd expects a lot of its students

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look deep into professors or you may end up with someone you really wont like and end off on a bad start with your GPA

    In three sentences

    The people here are great, i have met a life time friend and have had many interactions with nice people. My professors i have had so far, however, are not the best. I wish the professors here would care more about the actual student and education rather than the tests and GPA's.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at Shepherd. This town isn't really known for criminals/violence/etc. And on top of that, there's a police station right in the middle of campus. And there's Police Boxes (where you can hit the button and talk to an officer) on light posts throughout campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are TONS of different clubs/activities. You just have to make sure you keep your eye out for any info sessions or fairs that they'll be at!!

    Great for these types of students

    > Open minded > Looking for change > Likes the outdoors > Prefers smaller class sizes to have a better relationship with the professor > Appreciates small towns > Okay with imperfection > Willing to branch out

    Bang for the buck

    If you take advantage of all of your resources here, then I definitely think you're getting what you're paying for... As either an out of state or in state student. The professors are great, the people here so diverse and fun and interesting, the town is perfect, the environment around here is awesome, the student organizations make sure that every upcoming event/opportunity is known - they set up posters/boards, fliers, send out emails - you just have to make sure you're looking! The academic resources are great - our library has great people running it and a wide collection of books/movies/papers/etc, we have free tutoring that is properly trained and set up for students, there's an IT group that help out with any technical difficulties, there's a group that you can actually send your papers to in order to get a better revision from skilled English majors. As an out of state student, I am paying a bit more but it is one of the less expensive out of state tuition, and although it does cost a bit more - I think it's totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hmm. It's somewhat of a bummer that there are a lot of people who will go home on the weekends. I'm not sure why, but that's just how it is. After spending time here, I've figured out how to spend my free time... > Arcade/Bowling Alley/Billiards in the Student Center > Extracurricular Stuff (Like, I co-host a radio show!) > Intramurals - there's always something going on with that, just keep on the lookout for fliers announcing sign up for different teams, you can create your own too! > Bonfires - people are always having bonfires out near the river in the warmer months > Hikes/Bike Rides/Walks - national park right across the river which is a 5min walk > Blue Moon - there's open mic at Blue Moon every Wednesday and it's always great to go there and listen to some great local music and eat their amazing artichoke dip! > If you have a car - I believe there's a movie theater somewhat close by, and a mall(maybe?) - I don't have a car, so I stick to local stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is better than my high school's cafeteria food, but it's not like any fancy campus food. We have 3 places to eat on campus... Student Center, Wellness Cafe, and D-Hall. D-Hall is great because there's always someone making omelets/french toast/eggs/pancakes/etc right when you want it for breakfast and then they'll make pasta/wraps/sandwiches/salads there for lunch/dinner. There's also a pizza/pasta bar, salad bar, noodle bar, burrito bar, and then 2 lines; 1 for fried/junk food and 1 for your average dinner food. At the Wellness Cafe, they've got really good sandwiches/wraps and you can also make your own. They've got healthier choices there, and they're open for breakfast/lunch/dinner. And then there's the Student Center, which is made up of Ram's Den and the Bistro. The Ram's Den has more of the fast food type of stuff, but they do make sushi (that's surprisingly good) over there. And then the Bistro makes really good wraps/sandwiches. So good!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't the best, but I think they're suitable. If you're a gym rat, in the music department, art department, or involved with athletics - then living in Shaw or Thatcher may be better for you. Pros: A/C, close to gym/fields/art buildings/music buildings. Cons: further walk from other buildings where your general studies will be, further walk from dining hall. If you're not as worried about being so close to those amenities, then live in Kenamond/Gardiner/Turner. I live in Turner now and I love it. I believe we have the biggest rooms in dorm life, and we're all right near the dining hall and all of the general studies buildings. The only con is that it's far from the places that Shaw/Thatcher are close to and there's no A/C. (Fans can fix that, it only lasts a month - there is heat in the winter, don't worry) And also, say you pick a dorm that's further than you'd like to be - you always have the Pan Tran. It runs from 6am-9pm M-F, and it's so great - especially when it's freezing and you want to go work out at the gym! It takes you everywhere on campus at 30min intervals.

    Academic Rigor

    From the classes I've taken so far, I think that the academics are great. The teachers respect you as adults and that's really important. They let you know that you'll get out of the class based on what you give it, but quite a few of them will really try to make you give it your all even though they know it's your choice - they really care about how you do. As always, some classes are harder than others. Every class I've taken so far has been really great with balancing the work load and the difficulty. They challenge you without overloading you. Each teacher I've come across lets you know that they know how you feel as a student, and they really do their best to make the class work for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    > Have an open mind! > Don't be afraid to come in Undeclared. > This is a small school, so get to know it as best as you can. > Attend the activities we have on campus - foreign music shows, stand up comedy, free root beer floats, sports events, fairs! > Almost everyone is in the same boat as you. You're all new and you're all trying to awkwardly meet great people, so don't be afraid of looking like a weirdo and just go up to someone who looks like a potential friend. > Go try different things - if it turns out you don't like it, you can always stop pursuing it. But, at least you can say you tried it out!

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is a perfectly diverse community. It's in a great location if you're into small towns and great outdoors. As long as you look for it, opportunity is everywhere.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is not really that appetizing and you have to watch out what type of meal plan you get because there are some places on campus that regulate what you can buy using a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part the dorms are pretty quiet. The RAs are really good at coming up with movie nights and other programs for everyone. There isn't a lot of late night parties or loud kids.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor that you have, but most classes are easier than high school AP classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very pretty, especially in the winter when there is lots of snow blanketing the ground. The campus is also very diverse. If you live on campus, you have to watch out for the mold in the dorms.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've been at shepherd for 3 years and have not heard of any safety issues

    Great for these types of students

    Art and music majors

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of history in this area and a lot of national parks. The campus over looks the river so you can fish, tube, kayak and swim.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT TRANSFER FROM A COMMUNITY COLLEGE TO SHEPHERD. There have been too many issues with students loosing hard earned credits. So if you are interested in shepherd, start as a freshmen instead of a transfer student.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd university has a great atmosphere and student base. They offer many majors and clubs. Financial aid is also provided to eligible students.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. There are police, fire, and security that are around whenever you need them. There are also call boxes everywhere that you could use in case of emergency. Generally speaking, everyone watches out for everyone else. It feels very safe and welcoming, even at night.

    Great for these types of students

    The types of students that one finds at Shepherd are very relaxed and accepting. They are open minded, and, even if not at first, they become confident and strong. They also tend to have either an artistic talent or an appreciation for it. They are generally kind people, and anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to learn and grow and make lifelong friends would really enjoy it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    HMM... Unusual traditions... Well we have midnight breakfast and PB&J day, where the staff all serve food to the student. We also have PASS, which is a group that brings various really cool artists and groups the the campus for the students for free. There is also ShepFest, which is a yearly week long celebration with a carnival and a performer and comedians who come in. There is also the Game Zone, which is an on campus bowling alley, arcade, and billiards room in the Student Center that is open late nights. There are a lot of fun things to do, and great places to visit, like Little House (that's a cool surprise).

    Bang for the buck

    It's not as pricey as a private school, and definitely cheaper than some of the larger schools you could attend, but you still get the medium sized campus, with amazing people, a beautiful area, and a rich, inviting, involved town. Shepherdstown and Shepherd University are one, not something you'll find in most other college towns.

    What to do for fun

    There is the Potomac river, The C&O canal, Antietam battlefield, and the Oldest working wooden water wheel in the US nearby, just to name a few. The town has a movie theater, and the city of Martinsburg, WV is a short 20 minutes away, and there is a bus (PanTran) that goes there and back every day. Shepherdstown is older than the state of West Virginia, and has a lot of rich history to it that makes it a great place to explore and discover. There are also plenty of nice shops around too with good quality, merchant made items.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There are about five different places around campus to eat, each with something a little different. There are also some lovely restaurants in the town that are catered to students. Whatever you have a taste for, we have it.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are better than others, but the RA's are nice, and they are very willing to help you out. Also, free laundry! :D

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are relatively small, as we have a small campus, so the professors get to know you better. The classes are challenging, but not over difficult to the point where they are unmanageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk to people, and don't be afraid to ask questions. Everyone is nice, and has been where you are so they understand. Try the food (it's great), and try to get a feel for the area and campus, because ultimately the place you are most comfortable should be where you choose to go.

    In three sentences

    They are a very homey, beautiful campus. The staff are all extremely helpful, warm, and kind, and the other students are all very nice, outgoing, accepting and diverse. It's like I have a new family.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety on campus is taken very seriously. There are many precautions in place such as police call boxes around campus and the RAVE text alert system.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities at Shepherd, both social and academic.

    What to do for fun

    Swim, workout, or join in a fitness class in the Shepherd Wellness Center, join an intermurals team, join a club, multiple team sports for men and women, nearby attractions such as scenic hiking, fun on the river, and more.

    Food and Dining

    I am a celiac (no bread, wheat products) so eating on campus is difficult for me personally. However, Shepherd's campus boasts 3 eateries and all are nice. Outside of campus, there are plenty of other types of fare - almost any kind you could want!

    Dorm Life

    I have lived in the dorm all 3 (soon to be 4) years I've gone to Shepherd. There are also apartments and suites on campus as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Shepherd has many options for classes, and most of them are taught by wonderfully knowledgeable doctors and professors. They are challenging, but you feel like a family with the small class sizes and individual attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip is to leave your cars at home. Everything you need is within walking distance, and if something is not, make friends with an upperclassmen! Parking is very limited at Shepherd.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is located in a quaint, scenic town in West Virginia with many opportunities. The university is in Shepherdstown, the oldest town in West Virginia, and close to Maryland and right on the Potomac River. Shepherd is a mere 70 miles from Washington, DC. Close enough to immerse in metropolitan life, but still enjoy the outdoors.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work and go to school. No time for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have never lived in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I do very well at this school. My academic adviser looks out for me and keeps me on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not buy a parking pass, you'll park at a meter most of the time.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is a small school. The professors have been great. I absolutely love my academic adviser.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes located everywhere throughout campus. Although they seem to be out of order pretty frequently, the campus is pretty small and relatively safe. Nothing ever happens, and Shepherd police patrol campus often.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is definitely not a major component of Shepherd, and there is no hazing whatsoever. I've heard that it's pretty easy to get into a frat or sorority, and there aren't really a ton of choices to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Shepherd has a decent amount of campus clubs and activities to partake in.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters benefit the most from shepherd. The tuition is very cheap, plus they're not really missing out on much since over half of Shepherd's community are commuters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not exactly a tradition, but Shepherd students like to throw parties by the river when it's warm.

    Bang for the buck

    Shepherd is definitely a cheap school for what it provides, and Shepherdstown is relatively inexpensive to live in.

    What to do for fun

    Make a lot of good friends. There isn't a terrible amount of stuff to do, especially in the winter when it's cold, so having friends that you like and can hang out with is really important - they'll be your main source of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Be prepared. If you have special dietary needs, you might want to consider living in a building that has a kitchen or is near a building with a kitchen. Most vegetarian options are very greasy and not healthy whatsoever, and pretty limited too. Even those who are able to enjoy all the dining options that Shepherd provides are not too thrilled.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on what dorm building your in, but it can either be really awesome or pretty laid back and quiet. My advice is to be as close to the main campus as possible if you like having a social life - the further away your building is from campus, the more isolated you feel from the rest of campus community.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely pretty laid back and easy to pass. Many students are native West Virginians, and the school system here is not that great.

    Tips for prospective students

    The nightlife is not very great, and many people have known other students for years before they went to college. My advice is to get to know your fellow students as soon as possible - through freshman summer programs, joining campus groups, and even living on campus - or you might get left out.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is in a quaint, small town. It's pretty small, so it's perfect for those who like that small town vibe. The scenery around is beautiful, and it's located next to the Potomac River and C&O canal, providing a lot of activity options during warmer weather.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In the two semesters I've been here there have been several incidents. I feel that the campus could do with more safety. More streetlights probably couldn't hurt for instance. Like on Main st....as a female I don't dare walk down it by myself at night. The new tunnel also, may be a godsend or more trouble than it's worth.

    What to do for fun

    THere are ALWAYS thingsto do on campus. Every bulletin board you pass is covered with up coming events. THere are also things that go on weekly, like Late Night in the Zone.

    Food and Dining

    There is a good variety of places to eat and they are spaced out nicely across campus. Some of them can get pretty pricy, but those are usually the healthier choices.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know since I am a commuter. However, with that being said, I am a commuter because I felt that the dorms were still very expensive even though I am an in-state student. I do know people that live there and I have heard good and bad. I think it really depends on which building you get in.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been there for two semesters and so far I have been fairly challenged. There are a some professors that have been bigger pains than helps, but there are some that are EXCELLENT, and they cancel out the bad ones easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors. Most of them like it when you interact. Also, make sure they know who you are, even if you don't like the class. For the most part the faculty has a lot of respect for hard working students.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been to campus for an interview to the Honor's college. It looks great! Can't wait to start school!

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nature walks, rafting, community festivals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up, stay away from TKE, don't do drugs.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small, welcoming place with a very diverse community. Good teachers and very successful nursing, education and music field. Great place for people who enjoy nature and getting a good education.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We don't have security cameras in the parking lots, but our campus is smaller, so EVERYONE PRETTY MUCH SEES EVERYTHING. Our police officers are on our call so we definitely know that we have to call x5202

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in a Greek Sorority (We have them though). I am in an organization called SISTAZ. All of our clubs and activities are well represented and great to be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    IT IS A REALLY FAMILY ORIENTED SCHOOL!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a huge ram outside of the Stadium that people love to take pictures on.

    Bang for the buck

    Shepherd's tuition is very pricey but we do have a lot of activities and event to go to as well as free stuff on campus...Tuition pays for EVERYTHING on campus and you never have to come out of pocket for anything.

    What to do for fun

    We have latenight in the Zone which is like a huge Carnival about 7 times a year and they serve food (Chipotle)and have entertainment. The Bowling Alley is free on Wednesdays and Tony's is open on Thursday for the College Students (College Night). FOOTBALL GAMES!!!

    Food and Dining

    The Rams Den and the Bistro are great! They normally serve fast food like pizza shops as well as sandwiches, wraps, and salad. The Dining Hall is good for the weekend eaters...buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! We have 3 dorms on Main Campus and 3 on West Campus that sleep only two in each room and a community bathroom on each floor. The Suits normally consist of 4 people with your own bathroom and living room and then is the Apartments which are apartments!

    Academic Rigor

    The Professors here are generally nice and understanding. You always have your select few that want you to be stressed out all of the time over nonsense, but overall, they are generally on the same page as you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Shepherd is a smaller school with a lot to do on campus. If you're looking for a bigger school with a lot of student interactions, Shepherd is probably not the school for you. Shepherd always puts school first and then follows up with a lot of social events and free stuff.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is overall a great school to attend if you have gotten comfortable in the high school environment. I believe that Shepherd has a 18:1 student teacher ratio, which is a very small classroom that is great for one on one with the professors. I love my choice at Shepherd University.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It depends on whether or not you are commuting in state or out of state. It also depends on if you get grants, scholarships, or loans.

    What to do for fun

    A Lot of stuff. Bowling, racquetball, intramural sports, a wellness center with a pool and eight basketball hoops. You name it, we have it.

    Food and Dining

    We have numerous places to eat and drink around the University. We have a Dining Hall, vast restaurants, and a school store. A wide variety of dining options available.

    Dorm Life

    I commute, but I still think dorm life is active and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are polite and make classes enjoyable. haven't had a professor I didn't like. Just do your work and show up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just apply to the university. It won't hurt to give it a visit. The staff are polite and very helpful. The students make you feel welcome, and its a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    It's an amazing campus with tons of nice people and professors. The campus is enriched with nature and has a lot of tradition. It also has a lot of resources to help students succeed.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. We have a great police force, and a generally safe surrounding area.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is very popular on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities i cant even begin to describe them all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a wall on the outskirts of campus that everyone sits on and plays music and talks and laughs.

    What to do for fun

    There is rarely a night when there is nothing going on. There are programs in the dorms to get you lottery points, programs in the student center just for fun. And off campus you have Tony's, a night club, and small town resturants that welcome college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, based on home cooking to dining hall food, but it is definitely bearable.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun. Each dorm is like a giant family

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small and comfortable, and the work is difficult, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you cannot handle Liberalism, this school is not for you. There is so much liberal pride here, and a lot of gays, lesbians, and other sexual orientation. If you are judgemental of these people, you will have a hard time at this school. Also, this is not a hardcore party school and academics are taken very seriously.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is my dream school. The classes are small and have a sense of community, as does the rest of the campus. This school is perfect for anyone that wants a small, community centered school.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are legitamate police patrolling Shepherd University throughout both night and day. They also offer an escort service for those who request it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rotaract Club is really devoted to community and international service activities. For example, we were able to purchase three water filters to send to Haiti.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Young Life, a religious club at Shepherd, hosts weekly events on the Midway on campus. The activities are random and often involve dancing but it is so much fun.

    What to do for fun

    Joining friends at meal time is always a fun way to relax and relieve stress from the school day. Also, there are various clubs and activities offered daily on campus so there is no excuse for boredom.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not excellent but it's not bad by any means. Avoid the unhealthful sections of the dining hall so temptation doesn't set in.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is typically nice to one another. We support one another because the adjustment to independence is mutually overwhelming for most people.

    Academic Rigor

    There are few assignments so it is important to be well prepared for tests as they are both challenging and they account for the majority of one's class grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study material as it is presented in class or it is easy to fall behind and become overwhelmed.

    In three sentences

    The curriculum definately challenges student's abilities to use critical thinking skills. The professors recognize their students' potential so they encourage a higher performance level than many other post-educational environments require. This institution also emphasizes the importance of community involvement which builds character among the student population.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great! the on campus police department give students a very safe feeling.

    Food and Dining

    The food at shepherd is alright. The meal plan allows for many meals but sometimes more than needed. The food offered at the wellness center is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very relaxing at shepherd. It is well organized and maintained. The staff for the dorms are very helpful and they allow you the right amount of freedom and responsibility.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very well organized. They offer many resources in-order to help the students succeed.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is a very hands on university. They staff and teachers are very helpful and the small classes allows for good student teacher interaction. overall shepherd is a great university for a student looking for a real connection to their school.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 53

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is a very dynamic campus in a very small town. There are some of the greatest professors I could ever imagine at Shepherd; unfortunately, there are others who really make you rethink the price of your 'education'. There is a strong sense of community on this campus, and in each of the departments.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Call boxes are set up around campus and there are always campus police around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Allies, Rotaract, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Fraternities, Sororities, Sistaz, and so many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a small, close knit, campus that still feels like you're at a university.

    What to do for fun

    Shepherd has a lot of clubs and there are intramurals and plays and so much more. You just have to look around; theres something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I wouldn't always want to eat on campus, but there are a lot of good places right in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun! It gets you involved and you make a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but they're worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is a great school that helps you become not only a good student, but helps you find out who you are as a person. There are so many clubs and organizations on campus. I love it there!

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour police call box's around campus. No single person walking it's always groups of three or more.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 75 and more clubs. I love a lot of them that I can't choice.

    Great for these types of students

    All round students will found what they need.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Late Night in of the Zone is a free time for students to play bowling, bingo, dancing games on Xbox/WII.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there's the Wellness center for playing basketball, swimming, track, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, 4 different places to eat. I mostly eat at the Wellness Center, they have health food for good pierces.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms but many of my friends say that it's better then ever.

    Academic Rigor

    If you attended classes everyday and listen the classes are not as hard as people say. I'm in the Art Dept. the classes there are not hard at all.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency call boxes all around campus. Campus police can be called to escort you to the dorms. There is a project on campus to make an underpass to have students walk under the road to dinning hall to ensure student safety.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Frats or sorority houses on campus. However there are greek organizations on the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like football we have a brand new stadium and a great football team. Also great for students who enjoy the outdoors due to the fact we are in the mountains.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school. Personally id like elevators in the dorms and a bigger dinning hall

    What to do for fun

    There is hiking and white water rafting along with camping right near the college. School hasnt started its only preseason I dont know of much happening on the actual campus as of this time.

    Food and Dining

    Food is usually pretty good. However its a very very small dining hall they do not have much of a selection however the food they serve is good.

    Dorm Life

    I am in the best freshman dorm. I am in one of two freshman dorms with AC. I dont like the stairs in the main lobby its a spiral staircase that it honestly annoying to carry things up or walk up after practice they need elevators in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have yet to start i am here for preseason, however i saw the work load that my roommate had during my recruit trip and it seemed pretty hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a lot of scholarships tuition is not cheap. Stay on top of all applications and get involved around the school.

    In three sentences

    The campus is on the smaller side but is expanding, projects are being completed all over campus. The surrounding area is beautiful and there is a lot of wildlife not only off campus but on campus. I recommend this institution to anyone who wants a small school away from city life.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Will be new to the campus on Saturday, August 11, so I am not sure. However, I will be playing football, so that will be a great event to attend and I hear that downtown Shepherdstown has alot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    Had the opportunity to eat at Shepherd during an orientation and was pleased with the food that was offered. Huge variety for any taste and the food was great!

    Dorm Life

    Move into my dorm this weekend, August 11, 2012.

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    My experience to this point has been excellent. I have not yet started classes, but the help and guidance I have received from several departments has been incredible. They made what I thought might be a hard transition, not so hard.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy with the academic program. The staff and faculty so far have been so helpful. I will be playing football at Shepherd and am very impressed with the coaching staff and facilities.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Soooooooo many choices. It's something you should really check out if you can.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a teacher that knows you by name and classes small enough to remember everyone in them, then this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs, meet people, don't be a wallflower. The college experience is only memorable if you make it that way. And here at SU, there's soooo many clubs and organizations there's sure to be one just for you. It'll give you something to do so you don't feel like school completely controls your life. However, if you get TOO involved, you might see your grades slip, so find a happy medium.

    In three sentences

    Fantastic if you love small towns and small class sizes. It's pretty amazing; it feels like you were meant to be there and that you're part of the family. Absolutely fantastic.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    all types, athletes, art, music majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Shepfest, alumini baseball games

    Bang for the buck

    Average tuition and costs.

    What to do for fun

    Football games, many clubs and activities for all.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining has many options available to suit your individual needs.

    Dorm Life

    Mapel and Birch are nice new apartments. The Dorm life is great and have RA to help if needed

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is rewarding and challenging. With so many majors you will find your way. Help is always there when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great location, great professors, fun football games and other sports.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is a place where you can learn, grow and be successful. It's location is beautiful and close to DC. Shepherd University will change your life.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of local restaurants on campus. It's also fun to walk around and get a good look at the environment, like the C&O Canal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books and supplies ahead of time and study A LOT as a college freshman.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd University is a very small university compared to the other local universities. But it is diverse and is home to many great professors. I have enjoyed my 3 yrs here.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus provides call boxes which contact police. Rambler cards are needed for access into almost all buildings. Campus police also make this a safe college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities for any student.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking for a fun college, but also learning to receive an excellent education.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very nice university for a very small price! Tuition is affordable for just about anyone, as well as books. They also provide school based activities and food that are free for students.

    What to do for fun

    They allow you to rent DVDs, cd's, and video games. They also provide study rooms some of which are open 24/7. School events happen just about everyday leaving no student bored on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very tasty! They have a variety of choices which would make any student happy!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms do not have air conditioning. However the rooms are fairly nice and they let you doctor it up however you would like.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning many great things here is simple. The professors are student friendly and are willing to help you with anything. Small classes mean that each student can receive individual attention if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know all of your professors at college. Also make as many friends as possible so that way you will have many great people to go to for help. Lastly go to class because you and your parents are paying for you to learn not skip class!

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is a great college for any student who wants to get a great education without the large tuition fees. Shepherd is also quite small as compared to other colleges making it easy to meet and make new friends. Lastly the professors are very student friendly and make learning a blast!

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Real police dept on campus with real jail, handcuffs, police cars, uniforms, etc. These are not rental cops.

    Greek Life

    not really a lot - more academic greeks

    Clubs and Activities

    lots that I heard about

    Great for these types of students

    those who want a closer knit community where everyone kinda knows who you are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not known at this time

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent if you're not looking to pay the cost of a kidney to attend college.

    What to do for fun

    Lost of sports, intramurals activities, student govt activities, student union and more.

    Food and Dining

    It is very good food. lots of variety and healthy options

    Dorm Life

    Lot of offerings with more newer buildings and still growing.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent opportunities with medium class sizes and lots of professor support.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a serious commitment to visit the campus. You will fall in love with it right away.

    In three sentences

    A great state college in a wonderful setting. An excellent selection of majors, with Air Force ROTC available, and extra curricular activities. This school had everything I was looking for in location not too far from home and great diversity.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    very good

    Dorm Life

    friendly environment

    Academic Rigor

    very friendly

    In three sentences

    Pretty good university, experience and friendly professor and staff. helpful and academic environment .

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is as safe as can be. They have emergency buttons all over campus and police officers patrolling at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different clubs for everyone to join. Very fun!

    Great for these types of students

    Artsy students and Nursing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    They give students free food often.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to go dancing at night and during the day there are tennis courts and all kinds of fun sports to play at the Wellness Center with all the equipment you need.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has many different foods with great taste and there are all kinds of delicious restaurants in walking distance at great prices.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I've heard there's always something to do around Shepherd.

    Academic Rigor

    There are wonderful and helpful professors as well as great programs. If you don't understand something or need help there is always free tutoring by your peers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out and make friends and join clubs! Make your college experience enjoyable and memorable.

    In three sentences

    Shepherd is a small school, but it's quaint for those who don't want to be too far from home. It has smaller classes so you don't feel forgotten and can be helped. There are many places to socialize and clubs to join.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one of the safest campuses.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody, Shepherd has a very diverse student population.

    Bang for the buck

    Shepherd is cheaper than most colleges, but it will cost money to attend. Although Shepherd has great financial aid, so it is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events happening on campus, and you could always go to town. It is only a few minutes up the road and there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are choices in the dinning hall, they have a buffet set up and always change up the food choices. They have theme nights, like Mexican food, or Italian food. They also have a restaurant on campus; you have to use what they call dinning dollars on your I.D. badge.

    Dorm Life

    I liked how shepherd gave me a survey to find out how live. They review your survey and choose a roommate that will be compatible with your personality and living habits.

    Academic Rigor

    Shepherd has high academic standards for it's students. you have to be dedicated to your studies, but there is always something happening on the weekend to reward yourself for your hard work in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till last minute to turn in your paper work, everybody is fighting for that one spot such as; the best dorm room, the classes they want, and the highest paying scholarship. You will miss a great opportunity if you procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    The campus is so nice, and easy to navigate. I am in the process of applying for Shepherd and they keep me updated on any paperwork I should be expecting in the mail. The admission counselor is so nice and really easy to keep in contact with; every question I've had was answered quickly and honestly.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 38 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is small and offers well trained campus security along with call boxes throughout campus. it is well lite and clearly marked for students access.

    What to do for fun

    shepherd university has many club and organizations that allow everyone to enjoy themselves without getting into trouble. the offer their own billiards, bowling alley, coffeehouse, musical and artistic showings.

    Food and Dining

    as a person that has to deal with dietary issues, a nutritionist on staff will make it easier to handle my celiac disease.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms were secure and require to access entrances even though the floors are seperated by gender. it provides a more private or home like experience. the housing options from dorms to apartments provide options for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    i was most impressed the class room sizes and the availability of the staff to the students. i am looking into a smaller college in order to provide me with a more personal experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    as a prospective student, i was concerned about the class sizes and one on one interaction of the staff with the students. shepherd is able to accomodate small class rooms and campus while allowing students to be taught with most current options available. you want to assure that the place you will be spending your next four years of your life will allow you the opportunity to grow and the support of the staff to accomplish your goals.

    In three sentences

    shepherd university provides a small school experience with the ability to offer larger school preparation. the professors have successfully written successful grants that have provided the science wing with state of the art equipment. the campus offers opportunities for academic excellence for all its students.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have not really had an issue, it's like any place else. be sure to go in groups, there is a bus that can take you to your car. which is nice for late night courses.

    Great for these types of students

    early bird gets the worm- if your not at school by 8:30am good luck finding a parking spot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    make sure you make it to class early, parking is a joke.

    Bang for the buck

    look at the classes that you are going to be taking, and get your books of amazon. if you are going to buy a parking pass - make sure you have time to walk, 1/2 mile to and from class- parking is and issue. (don't park in residential parking it's a 40 ticket, if you get three in a day they will tow your car, also if you aren't close enough to the curb the will give you a 40 ticket- shepherdstown and shepherd college both give tickets- they are insane with ticketing.

    What to do for fun

    nothing at school, outside of school i barrel race.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay, their are not a lot of choices if you are a healthy eater, i would pack lunch.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are nice, some i feel are a little strict for such a small school, always be in class at least ten minutes before class starts-ever be late- they have zero tolerance for absences. you could be an a student dropped to a, b just from attendance.

    Tips for prospective students

    always look over what you will be going over that day in class, if you have a teacher with powerpoints, be sure to answer any questions that are on the power points before you go into lecture-this will help you to actually listen to your teach talk before the class begins, and during lecture.

    In three sentences

    if you are looking for a nice laid back college, than shepherd is a good school. yet don't think that you will be able to just set back an coast through your courses. you have to work hard for an, a specially if you are going for a nursing degree.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    shepherd university is great for those students who want alot without the stress of a huge student population.

    What to do for fun

    there are many thing to do around shepherd, from parties to hiking and everything in between.

    Tips for prospective students

    shepherd is for those students who want to be away from home and want a chill area to learn. shepherdstown is a unique place to be.

    In three sentences

    shepherd university is a fun, warm feeling place of study. the classes are interesting and keep you moving forward. shepherd is the place to be.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 41 of 53

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a bowling alley and lounge in the ram's den. there are many weekend activities also.

    Food and Dining

    shepherd offers a vast majority of choices and every choice is delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers will push you, but not beyond your limit.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you know what teacher to take.

    In three sentences

    shepherd university is a great college that cares for their students. it has a variety of majors to meet the needs of many students. the teachers do their best to help the students.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety on campus is one of shepherd's main concerns. the only problem on campus is with students and drivers. students don't always look both ways before crossing the streets, and drivers aren't always focused on the road. look both ways and you should be fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    the school has many opportunities for students to get involved. there is bound to be something for everyone, from volunteer opportunities to commuter outreach programs. i highly suggest that one participates at least once. these are great opportunities to meet new friends.

    What to do for fun

    if you're looking for fun, check out the game zone. there's bowling, pool, arcade games and even video games i think. if you're looking for action, go to the sports events. you can join a club or take a stroll around town. there is also the c & o canal if you want to hike the trail or go to the potomac river. that was a favorite of mine til winter. endless possibilities!

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria is okay. i only ate there maybe twice. if you don't want to dine at the dining hall, try out the local restaurants. i've eaten at tony's but that's all i've tried. however i heard that the other restaurants serve delicious dishes as well. try them out sometime!

    Dorm Life

    i can't really rate dorm life as i commute to and from campus. i have heard that the dorms are nice, though.

    Academic Rigor

    this all depends on your classes. i personally do not mind a challenge here and there. some professors just happen to be easier than others. don't think that just because a prof. is laid back that you don't need to give it your all; i've seen a few fail simple classes due to laziness.

    Tips for prospective students

    for commuters: parking is not so great but there is a bus that runs all day so you can hitch a ride from one campus to the next. to all: study hard and do your best. if you don't understand something, ask for help. don't feel ashamed if you don't quite grasp a concept. don't put off assignments for they manage to pile up quickly! in the end, though, always try to make time for fun with friends and volunteer.

    In three sentences

    shepherd is not as bad as some say. the university has numerous opportunities to get to meet new people, with most of these events being free of charge. it's just an amazing place to be!

  • 07/24/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Did learn a lot

    I went to shepherd while still in high school. Easy campus set up. Only downfall is parking.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 44 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a lower student:teacher ratio, a peaceful campus, and a really diverse student population

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the town and surrounding area if you don't already.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a small school in West Virginia, so depending on what degree you get and what you want to do with it, you may come out lacking contacts you would get at a larger university. But you probably actually KNOW more, from the extra one-on-one time with professors, than a graduate from a larger school would.

    Did enjoy being here

    Campus life is great for the people who participate! The student government does all sorts of fun events all year round, and the campus organizations are very active

    Did learn a lot

    The teachers mostly have a Ph. D. in their field, or at least they did when I attended a few years back. This tends to make them very knowledgeable in their field.

  • 06/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 45 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, even for out of state students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Small town living, small campus, and close classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers seem to care about the students. Care if they aren't doing as well as they should.

  • 04/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 46 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    For incoming art majors: this isn't high school and As are not just handed out. It takes a lot of work, creativity, and time, but it's worth it to stick with it. Don't let the Visual Thinking class scare you away, no one particularly enjoys it.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely as an in-state student Shepherd University is a great place and readily affordable compared to other schools.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are hundreds of activities and opportunities on campus to get involved. There are free bus trips into Baltimore or Washington DC several times through the school year, and opportunities for traveling to New York City. It's in a great location to do virtually whatever you enjoy.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a fine arts major here about to enter my senior year. I have had the benefit and pleasure to learn from amazing professors and artists. Each (art) professor is an encyclopedia of knowledge and amazing resources to tap.

  • 03/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The price is reasonable, and there are many opportunities to receive financial assistance.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is small and a lot of students leave on the weekend, but when you do find a group of people you fit in with (and you will!) you will have a great time.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes challenge the student but they do ensure that you will learn a lot. Most of the classes are small which provide relationships with the professors and help when needed.

  • 03/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 48 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Music, History (namely American), and nursing. The engineering program is very small, so you'd be better off going to UMBC or something for that. They have a fairly prominent art program as well so if you're into photography or visual art this would be a good school. If you want a smaller college with a nice campus, this is definitely the place for you, especially if you still want to be close to civilization (Martinsburg and Hagerstown).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work your butt off. It's gonna happen wherever you go, but if you want to do well you're going to have to put your best foot forward. If you get in (which you probably will), do NOT live in Kenamond hall! That's where all the crazy people who party hardy like to go and trash everything; I've heard enough horror stories about it to know that much. Also, Shepherd is pretty easy to get into, so if you just need to get in a college, you can easily get in here, and it's a great place anyway so go for it!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great place, and it's cheaper than other places...unless you're out of state. As soon as you go out of state the tuition increases obscenely, so it gets a bit pricey. But hey, if you're paying for a college already and you know Shepherd is a good school like I did, you'll be able to pull it off, and it's a great college. Plus a lot of features are included in tuition, like meals, movies, concerts, shows, and going to the gym; a beautiful gym, if I might add. So it is definitely worth it. However, if price is really an issue and you're out of state, you might be better off finding a cheaper school, or maybe doing community college for a year or two til you can save up or something.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living on campus is great, and it's given me, personally, a chance to establish myself as a person and what I believe. The dorms are fun because you'll meet tons of people you'll like, but there's always the people you're going to hate, namely the ones who like to party and trash the place. That, however, is to be expected everywhere, so don't worry about it too much. The freshman dorms aren't great since they don't have any AC, but you'll get over that really quickly.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has great music, history, and nursing programs. I myself am a music major, and I assure you that if you're going into music, you will definitely get a good education here. The faculty at the music department is great, and under their direction you'll get the tools you'll need to be a successful musician. From what I understand, this is true of the nursing and history programs as well, but I can't attest to that myself. The General ed classes are great too, assuming you have the right professors. If you go on professor review sites you can figure out which ones those are, or ask upperclassmen.

  • 12/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 49 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shepherd University is great for students that want small class sizes, Even the general studies classes are fairly small; don't want to be in the middle of the city, there is everything that a student needs in walking distance, but the mall is a 15 minute drive; a car on campus, if your like me, you need a car to get home and back cause it's a few hours; majoring in education, nursing, or art, Shepherd has amazing programs for each of these majors and you won't be disappointed.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students that plan to live on campus, Shepherd's freshmen dorms do not have air conditioning! But there is an upside. You can request to live in the two dorms that do have air conditioning. In my opinion, living without air conditioning would be better. I lived in the dorms that had it my freshmen year, and I regret it. I didn't make very many friends because upperclassmen lived around me and wanted nothing to do with me. Whereas the freshmen are all new to each other and want to get to know you regardless of where you are from or what your doing. They are looking for friends just like you, and that's something I didn't get.

    Bang for the buck

    Shepherd's tuition definitely isn't as expensive as many other colleges/universities around. It's pretty affordable when comparing your options. You do get your money's worth if you take advantage of all the things offered. There are multiple places to choose from for food, and they each take meal plan, so your not eating at the same place everyday either. Many schools don't let first year students have cars on campus, but Shepherd does. Although the parking pass does cost $65, it's very affordable when you look at another college that doesn't let students have a car till sophomore year and their parking pass is over $100. You will definitely get your money's worth here at Shepherd if, and only if, you enjoy being here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Shepherd University. It may seem like it's in the middle of nowhere, but it's really in the best spot. There is a small town right up the street that is less than a 5 minute walk where you can go to the bakery or get a green smoothie (they are amazing)! Plus it's only a 15 minute drive to any major city, such as Martinsburg or Charles Town. Another reason I love it here are the activities on campus. There are many extracurriculars that you can participate in, such as dance team, marching band, or almost any sport. Plus, there are free activities on campus such as Late Night in the Zone where you can win some cool prizes (like an ipad!) and have fun dancing or even making crafts. There is a bowling alley on campus as well. There are so many things to do!

    Am learning a lot

    Shepherd offers so many classes that can be taken even if it's not your major. Plus, it is a liberal arts school, so there are multiple classes that are required to graduate. Although theses general studies classes may seem like a waste at times, you actually learn more than expected. I dreaded taking sociology, but it was actually one of my favorite classes thus far. I am a biology major here, and my classes started out pretty easy letting me get into the flow of college life. But now my required courses are getting more difficult, and even though it's getting harder, I'm learning more and more and enjoying every bit of it.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 50 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shepherd is a Liberal arts school which means it is great for all types of students. As I have stated earlier I believe that the art program is exceptional. Shepherd is also ideal for music majors, there is an amazing music program here, and there is also a great nursing program at Shepherd. There are all types of people here too, computer people, party people, mostly people that are friendly and want to have fun while getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking you might want to come to Shepherd I would encourage you to come and tour the school, that was when I fell in love with the school. It is wonderful if you love small schools, and if you are not sure what size school you prefer, go visit both to decide. If you get in and you decide to come here I would suggest to apply to live in either shaw or thatcher hall for your first year. There are other freshmen dorm rooms but the others do not have air conditioning which is a pain during the hot months. Good Luck!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like this school is an amazingly good deal. Like I mentioned above there are a lot of things that the university offers that is included in tuition so you don't have to pay for it. They have everything from film festivals to concerts to art shows to plays. The gym is free to students, the library is huge and very helpful, you may check out movies and Rosetta Stone's from the library free with your I.D. The meal plan is wonderful and very worth it to use all your meals every day. All in all I feel that Shepherd is a wonderful deal.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy my life here at Shepherd. I started out in marching band my first semester and it definitely helped for me to be in an extracurricular activity right off the bat because it really helped me to meet a lot of my friends. I also met a lot of people through my art classes which are all relatively small because of how small the university is. All of the buildings are pretty close to everything which makes it easy to walk around campus, but there is also a bus system that goes through out campus. There are a variety of places on campus to eat. As a freshmen you get a meal plan which works at the dinning hall which is similar to a buffet, and the student center which is like a cafe, and the brand new gym which has a healthy eating cafe. There are so many amenities on campus and all or most are free to students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an art major, and I have some amazing teachers who really know their stuff. I am learning so much here. I am only a freshmen but I feel that when I get out of school I will really know my stuff and be ready to be in the real world and be on my own. This school was one of the first to require everyone to take business classes so that we will be prepared to be in the real world. They have business of art classes that teach art majors how to find and keep a job. I feel that I will be able to find a job and be making money soon after graduation.

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 51 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any type of art major or nursing major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school atmosphere then Shepherd is the place for you. Be prepared and submit your application early.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that the dining hall packages could be lower priced for the quality of food you get.

    Did enjoy being here

    It is a beautiful campus on the Potomac river. You are an hour from Washington, DC.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors are always there for you when you need them and they know every student by name.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 52 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for small public school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a real small town feel and the the professor to know your name.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 53 of 53

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy your individuality in the arts, one-on-one attention with your teachers, and the hometown feeling with big cities only fractions of hours away, Shepherd University is certainly for you.