Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Florida State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at SFSC and my personal favorite is the Performing Arts Club. This club performs improv, dances and sings, travels to see plays and much more.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly, you will not find much to do around Avon Park except if you like fishing, four tracks, or simply swimming in the lake. Less than 20 minutes away from the campus is the city of Sebring in which you wll find two movie theatres, shopping malls, more lakes, veteran's park, and the Hammock Park.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at our campus is quite small but you will always find it filled with students and teachers who are friendly and social. Most athletes will be found in the cafeteria during lunch hours because their meals are included in their scholarships. There are also plenty of vending machines all through campus and in every building.

    Dorm Life

    The only dorms available at South Florida State College are for the athletes. The Hotel in which they stay in is quite massive and beautiful if you ask me. It is an extroardinary sight as you drive down Main ST in downtown Avon Park. It is not far from the college yet it is not walking distance exactly. If you are an athlete going to SFSC, it will be a great experience for you.

    Academic Rigor

    At South Florida State College it is so easy to focus on your academics because there are simply no other distractions. Avon Park is a small town in which there are not many things to do and therefor you will find yourself completing your assignments on time and even getting additional help from professors if needed. The classes may be challenging but it is all certainly possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people in your classes and especially your professors. It is so helpful to know people that can help you in studying for upcoming exams and getting a group of students together and studying. Also, join clubs and be active in the community. It makes things so much more fun!

    In three sentences

    South Florida State College is the greatest, small-town college to meet people in and really get to know who your class mates and professors are. The professor to student ratio is ideal because everyone always has the opportunity to get to know everyone else. The campus is very different from other colleges because it smells like lake and makes you feel like you're in a different world when you're there and to me it's quite exciting.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    South Florida State College is a great place to learn, but the student also has to keep in mind that it is not all fun and games. There might be some very attractions within driving distance, but school always comes first, and as long as the student keeps that in mind South Florida State College is the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    there is a mall near by with a theater, and a bowling alley to levilate the stress after a hard days work.

    Food and Dining

    local food available within a 5 min drive.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms available since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    College life is challenging, but as long as the student as the will power to overcome its obstacles college life should be easy. South Florida State College is challenging, but teachers will help the student as long as the student is able to put in the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    South Florida State College is a very warm hearted place, where teachers will help the student and as long as the student is determined then there is no reason any student should fail.

    In three sentences

    I have learned greatly throughout my first year in college, and have surpassed what I actually believed I could not have achieved. Teachers at South Florida State College will do there best to try and help you, as long as you are willing to put the time and the effort into class the assignments. I truly believe if a student is as dedicated as I am to their studies they could achieve great things at South Florida State College.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    everything here has its values and makes the days of college life flow well

    Dorm Life

    i live in my own apartment no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    nursing-rn

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Fair on their prices, especially for Florida residence.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is pretty good, and made fresh.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Fair amount of rigorous work, but well worth it since, it teaches you a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek help from the guidance counselors, they really guided me in the correct path for my goals.

    In three sentences

    Great college. Great professors. Great all around.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    plenty to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    close to home, dont want to travel, have a family and/or job

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing unusual

    Bang for the buck

    yes,definitely

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of sport teams,gym, study hall and other activities through out the year.

    Food and Dining

    OK for campus food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Start registration early.

    In three sentences

    Campus has a very welcoming feel. The staff is very helpful. Campus well maintained.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security 24/7 regardless of if there is or isn't classes that day. The campus security guards will help you as much as they can, they will even walk you to your car if you have a night class and there is almost no cars in the parking lot. The campus security office number is posted all around the campus and there are call boxes in parking lots and between buildings if the students need access to them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everybody, you just have to look or experiment with them. The people that are involved with the clubs, or leading them, are very kind people and they will help you work your way into the life of the club. There is no obligation to stay in a club, but once you are in, you wont want to leave.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at South Florida Community College is reasonable. Some colleges are very expensive, but South Florida Community College works with the students who have students themselves or students fresh out of high school and needing a degree to get somewhere better. South Florida Community College definitely gives the students their money's worth in classes and books.

    What to do for fun

    South Florida Community College has great clubs to join, there is something for everyone. No one is left out.

    Food and Dining

    Open places to eat and Kelly's Corner has great food and its not super expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really care, but we, as students, have to show forth the effort as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for prospective students would be: become friends with your teachers, have a group of friends that are taking the same, or similar, classes so you can help each other study, and never take an outstretched hand for granted.

    In three sentences

    South Florida Community College is a great campus to be a student on. It has a community feel to it than most big universities because most of the students that go here have grown up with each other most of their lives. South Florida Community College also has amazing staff that will help us as students as much as they can to see us succeed in our academic career.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs/activities after school

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria with a variety of foods kind of like a gas station but also like a fast-food restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes could be more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just don't get behind on your studies. The work isn't hard, just time consuming.

    In three sentences

    Overall it is a great school. The teachers really show that they care and are there to help you. The parking is never too crowded, and the students are all very nice and friendly.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basebal, fishing, and working out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly recommended

    In three sentences

    Great school and a great environment that is perfect for the process of adjusting to the college life.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join as many groups as possible.. Get involved. If you don't someone else will!

    In three sentences

    I believe South Florida State college is a great college. They have wonderful staff including teachers and advisors that have made my time here worth the while. There are many groups that you can join to glorify your experience through this college I have had the opportunity to be a member of three, which are SGA, PTK, & PBL.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an area to relax where you can shoot pool. As well as many areas to just hang out between classes.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a cafeteria on campus, but there are vending machines so you can always get snacks.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but I hear that it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends what classes you are taking on how hard it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, the college expects you to alot on your own so that you can better yourself for the futer

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful and understanding. My instructors have all worked in the field they are teaching. You learn alot of real world experience.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good clean environment, there is a pool that is open to students on campus (work out only)

    Greek Life

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have to watch a baseball, volleyball, and softball game. Just to support

    Bang for the buck

    Bowling ally on Thursdays nights usually does $1 games, after you rent your shoes.

    What to do for fun

    Run, play sports, spend time with family and friends, read, try to go to the beach. Meeting new people.

    Food and Dining

    Same just about anywhere you go, everything is made to order for the most part, typical ala cart food from any in house cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Gotta love the Jacaranda, old 19th century hotel... Still has the same carpet in the main dining room, half of the building can still be rented by visitors. Also has the original elevator, that still works!! Has a ton of character.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors care about the students ability to learn and retain what is being taught. The schools is looked at from surrounding universities as a tough community college to attend, reputable for their academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good choice for a community college, small class sizes are nicer to have the ability to ask questions and get the answers you need. There is always help when you need it.

    In three sentences

    South Florida Community College has a great environment, the instructors care about the students, the campus is in great condition, the whole community comes together to support the school, as well as the school providing support in different ways for the community.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Several chapters.

    Great for these types of students

    Freshmen.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Highlands County has a mall, pool halls, and great restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    This campus currently doesn't have a dorm location, however it's very easy to find cheap starter apartments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to asses your college plan with a counselor.

    In three sentences

    SFCC staff made it very easy to get my classes started. They also helped me with completing my Financial Aide and even mentioned some scholarships I was eligible for.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are really not that much fun things to do around here, but if you get with a group of friends, going to Orlando is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Well, for those of you that know Avon Park and Sebring florida, places here are pretty much the same as any other place. Chili's. Outback Steakhouse. Ruby Tuesdays, Starbucks. etc.

    Dorm Life

    Since the college was really close to where I live, I stayed with my parents while attending this college. Saved me a lot of money for the university as I did that.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it was really easy. Math is hard, but if you push yourself to study you can do it. other than that, classes are graded pretty much on 4 exams. (depends what classes you have).

    Tips for prospective students

    I think if I had to give any tips to anyone it would probably be to not slack off so much, get all those A's while you can, and take classes that challenge you, because when it comes time for you to transfer, universities are going to be looking at your transcript and are going to want to see what kind of goals you really set for yourself.

    In three sentences

    I think this school is great for starters who want to get back on the school track. It helped me a lot and prepared me to transfer to a bigger University. The teachers are really nice and if you let them, they actually try and help you.

  • 08/02/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    yes ilike stady in this college

    Will learn a lot

    YES I WILL KEARN A LOT