Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Louisiana Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are not interested in school spirit and just interested to going to class.

    What to do for fun

    Theres nothing really to do for fun. The campus just has the building with classes and places to sit outside. There is also a new cafe that could be fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you schedule classes right away because times aren't good.

    In three sentences

    South Louisiana Community College is a very small, but lively campus. From a scale from one to five I would rate it a 4. The school could be more involved in activities.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security division on campus. Well lit areas with camera systems throughout. Security training and job opportunities for students who are interested in public service or law enforcement.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Gamma Beta Phi Student Government Association

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who: prefer smaller class sizes work during the day have a few courses to take to refresh before entering four year university are interested in continuing education are looking for a new career

    Bang for the buck

    If getting involved during High School, one could graduate high school with a High School Diploma, Associate's Degree and have attained an EMT Certification. This would allow for the graduate to work on the ambulance while entering the local four year University as a Junior as well as entrance into NEMSA Paramedic program. Upon Graduation, a Bachelor's Degree, Paramedic Certification and entrance into the bridged Nursing Program is available. These students have fast tracked and begin a successful career in the Medical field at only 20 years old.

    What to do for fun

    Many Festivals in the area, local events, live music, and great food.

    Academic Rigor

    SLCC utilizes many of the same Professors, courses, and textbooks as the local university. Evening classes do not involve as much busy work as they are designed for the working professional. Diligence with assignments allow for ease of content retention and will prepare students for entering a four year University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a degree plan and determine if it will transfer to your desired 4 year academic degree plan. Attend SLCC while in High School for dual enrollment opportunity. Ask about the National EMS Academy.

    In three sentences

    Contained environment allows for ease of access to services. Growing opportunities available for workforce placement. Evening and online classes create a possibility for students working full time jobs to return to college and earn a degree.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. There is security in administration and in parking lot roaming around every now and then.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. The cafeteria always smells great, there are also vending machines available to the side and in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are related to South Louisiana Community College specifically.

    Academic Rigor

    Great value of education and completely comprehensive and easy-going professors.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    WORK ON SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETING COLLEGE

    Food and Dining

    IF VENDING MACHINE WORKS

    Dorm Life

    THERE ARE NO DORMS

    Tips for prospective students

    THIS COLLEGE IS A COMFORTABLE PLACE, IF YOUR JUST ENTERING THE COLLEGE ENVIRONMENT, IT'S A RECOMMENDED CHOICE.

    In three sentences

    THE INSTRUCTORS HAS BEEN VERY BENETIFCAL TO THE DEVELOPEMENT OF MY EDUCATION, THE OPEN DOOR CONCEPT HAS BEEN REWARDING, AND THE COLLEGE SUCCESS DEPARTMENT HAS TRULY PULL ME OUT OF SOME ROUGH SPOTS.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an unmistakable presence of security on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Although I have been out of school for some time, I am glad I choice South Louisiana Community College to begin as the first step to continuing my education. They have helped take the intimidation out of education. They even have a fully functional, well organized program that prepares high school students for a 4-year university. You get wonderful, knowledgeable instructors, friendly staff and a soothing atmosphere at a very economical, affordable price. Therefore, when you graduate you are not overwhelm with student loans that make you feel like you have thrown your cap and gown into an ever-growing sink hole.

    What to do for fun

    Of course, there is the student government association, the newsletter staff and he yearbook staff. I do mostly online classes and have a full time job, so I'm not an expert in this area.

    Academic Rigor

    Always room for improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I can give perspective students is to meet your deadlines. If you do your part, SLCC will greet you 2/3rds of the way. They have on-site and online tutoring sessions to charge that dead battery cell. Their teachers readily make available to you their educational contact information for any outside educational dilemma concerning one of their class-enrolled students. Please make time to take advantage of the services offered by the Career Center that will help prepare you further for future employment.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the highest, I gave SLCC a 9; there is always room for improvement. However, the staff at registration demonstrated love in their eagerness to help, their welcoming open arms hospitality and their friendly hospitality. Each staff member, I came in contact with was knowledgeable of campus procedures and willing to assist with the help I needed to get out of the maze of registration confusion.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun here.

    Food and Dining

    There are vinding machines at the school with a wide variety of foods. Also the book store sell snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The college does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are very easy. Everyone that I know does not have a problem with their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a student that wants to experience the college life, I would not reccomend this school. There is not much activity going on.

    In three sentences

    South Louisiana Community College is a very small school. I love the school because I have gotten to know a lot of people. Everyone is very nice, and friendly.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, rent a cops are everywhere.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life at the community college, sorry!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at SLCC, including a cheerleading club!

    Great for these types of students

    Young and broke!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Crawfish!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is cheap, thank God.

    What to do for fun

    Homework.

    Food and Dining

    Does not exist.

    Dorm Life

    No thanks.

    Academic Rigor

    The bar is set amazingly low at South Louisiana Community College, so never fear of inadequacy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your financial aid and admissions forms in the 7th grade, perhaps then they will be completed for a smooth entry into the system at SLCC, when you are 18.

    In three sentences

    South Louisiana Community College is a sweet and small campus, relatively new to Lafayette, La. My math teacher is fabulous, my other two teachers are embarrassing for SLCC.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe there! its in a good part of town, there's always campus security and parking lot security around! The students are very nice and help out went needed (like finding classes)

    Great for these types of students

    Any one! There's many programs and different degrees! Like the transfer degree

    What to do for fun

    Its in the middle of Lafayette so these so many different things to do! Shopping, eating out, ect!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Rooms

    In three sentences

    I Love It! Everyone is so nice and patient. I feel comfortable there and confident i can get a great education by going there!

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security and a proven track record.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost effective especially for the quality of the education I'm getting here.

    Food and Dining

    Could use more of both.

    Academic Rigor

    Use of online message forum and student email helps me stay up to date with current assignments and any changes. Extremely useful tools that help me to remain informed and on track.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small and there is plenty of parking. The faculty is very receptive to the needs of the students and are always available to help or answer questions. The campus is clean, safe and welcoming. I have not had a bad experience there yet!

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Like more of a home-ish scenery.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized and relax. Meet deadlines and become one with the main office.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not bad at all!Very easy on the pockets.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is small which allows it to feel more like home. It makes it easier for you to gain friends and create new relationships with other people.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are excellent and are there for you when you need them. There are many tutoring facilities available for you.