Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southeast Community College Area Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 10/19/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Lincoln Campus just updated their commons area and they have a good selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    They do not currently have dorms in Lincoln but are drawing plans for Dorms on campus in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are only 10 weeks long so at times the course load can get a little crazy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, show up.

    In three sentences

    SCC allows students to get the college experience without having to pay a bunch of money. If you are unsure if college is right for you, SCC is a great place to decide. They also have a great transfer program with University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

  • 04/27/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SCC is affordable and well rounded. If you are on your own there is an Aldi right by SCC which has extremely cheap groceries, and they have a wide array of groceries too.

    What to do for fun

    SCC has a lot of fun free days and events like free wax hand sculptures, movie nights and bowling like events.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to lie the food isn't the best. It is mostly gas station food.

    Dorm Life

    SCC doesn't have dorms, but they do have an apartment complex right next door.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends on the kind of classes you take and how hard you try.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip to new students is that there is about an 85% chance you are going to switch your major at least once. Community college makes that indecisiveness cheaper. Also you may think college is just about partying and getting away from your parents, but my cousin decided that was how he would spend college and he flunked out in the first quarter and is living at home working at a fast food establishment.

    In three sentences

    Southeast is a very decent school. It offers all the basic that transfer to more extensive degrees. SCC also is affordable and full of helpful people.

  • 11/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Doors lock after hours and security is present in an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There is one Greek organization for high academic achievers-similar to National Honors Society in high school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an array of clubs at SCC. Students are also encouraged to start their own clubs if nothing seems to interest them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students seeking two-year degrees. Students seeking cheaper tuition on their general education courses. Students seeking continued education services.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SCC has three locations. I attend the Lincoln campus.

    Bang for the buck

    SCC is a community college so it is cheaper than attending a four-year university. However, because it is a community college, SCC does not provide any degrees beyond a Associate's degree.

    What to do for fun

    SCC has sports leagues (right now there is volley ball and basketball) The Student Activities council also puts together activities for SCC students on a regular basis. They also get discounts on activities around Lincoln for Students. Event calendars are posted everywhere. Some activities include: free popcorn, tie-dye shirt making, ping-pong tournaments, movie nights, pool tournaments, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a convenient spot. The food is OK, for cafeteria food, and hey always have drinks to quench your thirst. There is also a Burger King across the street if you want to mix it up sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    SCC Lincoln does not have on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your desired workload, and your major. You can take a one credit hour class a quarter or you can take 20 credit hours. Sit down with an adviser, if need be, and decide how much you can handle and what is appropriate for your program of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to SCC with a play. Just like with any college, you can get sucked into general education and not go anywhere. If your plans change, great, but try to have direction. Also, don't be afraid to ask questions! The faculty and staff are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the Lincoln campus very much. SCC has valuable resources available to students at reasonable hours and the staff s generally helpful and friendly. I always appreciate that is seeking improvement and upgrades to their programs and their physical environment.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The locations I have been to (Lincoln east and downtown) are very well-tendered and have a very good policy for safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot to offer-sports, theater, agriculture, nursing, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking into getting a college degree should look into SCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My traditional has never failed of getting lost in the eastern part (new addition) of the school. There are a lot of winding hallways and I just get lost every time! Carry a map!

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are well worth the price. The best community college I have attended.

    What to do for fun

    SCC hosts free zoo days, academic days, blood drives, sporting activities, and more. They do a great job at keeping you occupied.

    Food and Dining

    Although the downtown center has multiple businesses within it, there is still a central shop for food, and you are close to everywhere downtown. The east campus has its own cafeteria with friendly staff and a wide selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but they seem very easily accessible to the Lincoln campus (east).

    Academic Rigor

    SCC is no joke of a school. The classes will challenge you and put you to the test, and you feel as though you have accomplished a lot quarter-by-quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most classes are available in Lincoln at the 84th and O location. Select classes and labs are available downtown. Parking is rough sometimes downtown, so I recommend biking or walking if you live close by.

    In three sentences

    SCC is the college that got me interested and engaged in furthering my education. The facilities are easy to use and the faculty are all very helpful. Applying and taking classes here is a breeze.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All students could find interest in this school. There is something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I mentioned before, the student center is great. You go in and you can find a couch or a table and get on your computer and do some homework or read. But if you are having one of those days and just want to hangout they have pool tables and video games all over for students to partake in! Its nice to know we can venture off to a stress free part of the school every now and than.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing I loved was that when I first started I felt very overwhelmed with classes, all my teachers supported me. They really helped me and they want nothing but the best for me I can tell.

    What to do for fun

    In between classes they have student areas where you can play pool or video games and hangout with other students. We also have many free activities for students such as zumba, yoga, reading, etc. They also give away free tickets for things if you have your id. Such as upcoming Halloween activities here in town that normally you would have to buy a ticket for if you didn't attend the school.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet attended the lunch at the school, I prefer off campus but the school has vending literally everywhere you need it. Also they always sell popcorn and such to students for fundraisers and I love that.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live the dorm life! But I bet its swell.

    Academic Rigor

    I went in for registration as soon as possible and the counselors helped me so much with my schedule, I couldn't be happier with it. They helped me with any questions and gave me great suggestions. I haven't found any problems yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip I have for upcoming students is when you register for classes and go to orientation, try and meet your teachers. Sometimes some are busy around that time but find there email and shoot them a message! They are the people who are going to be GRADING you, and helping you with your success! And a first impression is always important. Also, make sure you find your classes and maybe even figure out the best route to and from each. Especially if you've never attended college before, sometimes the schools can be confusing and you don't want to risk being late to class your first day. I don't think you can be over prepared for class. Bring any supplies you think you might need, don't second guess it. You could even ask your teachers when you meet them or email them. Make sure you have all your financial aid stuff figured out before class or other payment options. Education is important and it would really suck to have that messed up because you forgot a form of payment or to sign something.

    In three sentences

    My college Southeast Community gets me involved in the classes I attend. I never go there with regret or a bad attitude, the environment is very enjoyable. The support I receive from the staff is incredible.

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think campus safety is high at SCC. Everything is modern, up to date and if something is broke it is fixed right away on campus. Everything is wheel chair accessible and there are sidewalk paths to the different buildings. Also RA do a good job of room checks and checking for broken doors, windows etc and fire alarms.

    Greek Life

    There isnt greek life on SCC campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There isnt too many clubs at SCC but many classes are hands on and fun learning. There are also lots of activities always going on, I would rate the activities highly because so many people like to attend and have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are from small towns and want a cheap way to get their general educations done or just a two year school like farming or business, SCC is perfect!! Its inexpensive and a great school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few different things but lots of students like to go to free bowling on Wednesday nights every other week with your student ID. Sports teams always go and support one another during games!

    Bang for the buck

    If you want something that isnt too big, isnt too small, cheap, easy accessible, great help and friendly people.. SCC is the perfect way to start your education.

    What to do for fun

    There are always on campus things for fun that RA's get students involved in! Some of the fun stuff to do is bowling, swimming, or carving pumpkins. It just depends on the time of the year but there is always something going on!

    Food and Dining

    SCC cafeteria may be small but their food is awesome! They are quick and theyll be sure to have your food cooked fast and on your way for class. They are also very friendly and students work there too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great apartment stye dorms! They are not tiny one bedroom dorms like most colleges. You do not have to share a bathroom and kitchen with the entire dorm, you have your own for you and your roommate(s). Also they are nice and up to date, and furniture is provided which is very helpful to incoming freshman.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great at SCC. If you are every having a problem with anything teachers are great about being helpful in class, after class or have set open hours they are in their office to come ask questions which is helpful for success and academic achievement

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class and try, if you put in effort your teachers will notice and be willing to help you out more. Dont be scared to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    Southeast is a very well structured, organized school. Southeast helped me achieve my General education for cheap! Southeast community college is just the right size so that teachers can have a name on name based relationship with their students which is very helpful in the learning process!

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities! It's like they never end. Look at the Student Board, the sheets of paper with events ALL over them. They're almost everywhere you look. Free events like skating and movies, as well as cheap events like Laser Quest and Boo at the Zoo are offered. You can always take 3 guests with you, but you must have your student ID.

    Food and Dining

    They have several vending machines around the building in student areas. The cafeteria and the student center there both have them, along with microwaves to warm your food. The varieties of foods there is quite extensive. The cafeteria also has Mr. Goodcents and other deliveries, as well as their own food and have a menu on the student board every week for the whole week.

    Dorm Life

    I actually have not lived in their dorms at Southeast Community College, but I do know that they are always available at affordable prices. The doors for their office are open to anyone interested and will answer any of your questions. They're good at that!

    Academic Rigor

    The tests are difficult if you do not read your studies or keep up on your work. The books are there for a reason and take notes so that you can remember. If you can't remember or have difficulties understanding it makes it really hard to keep on top of work and really pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you keep up on homework you'll do great. Email the teachers if your ever gone, they'll understand and help you back into place. Online classes are a little hard to stay on top of if you are a hands-on learner, so, I advise for you to try for a class in the school itself.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and people there are great! The opportunities are endless and are affordable. The energy is great there, you can be comfortable anywhere there.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC is located on the Edge of Lincoln which provides a private campus. LPD is fast and great in handling all college incidents. College also has text alert system.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus. UNL how ever has a lot of Greek life and is close to SCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are very limited clubs and activities. Most of the activities are intramural sports, available limited times of the year. Most Clubs are hobby clubs, limited volunteer clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    If your from a small town, SCC is small. If your a person who likes small classes SCC is great. If you like online classes SCC is also good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This community college has limited or no traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    SCC is the cheapest community college in Nebraska. Credit hour price is 68$ an hour and many scholarships and grants available. SCC has tons of used books for low textbook cost.

    What to do for fun

    SCC is located in Nebraska if you are not 21 its boring. After football season there is little to nothing to do the rest of the year. Most underage students go to the movies or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    Food that is available at the school is average. At the cafeteria the food is bought by cash only. Most students go off campus to fast food chains.

    Dorm Life

    When attending SCC Lincoln there are no dorms. You must either live at home or rent an apartment. The apartments around SCC are very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes at SCC seem to be at or near high school level. Again SCC is a quarter term school giving less time to learn more information. To make the academics harder take more classes at one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for scholarships. Make sure you test out, so you don't waste your time. Take advantage of online classes.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your general requirements. Good for a person who likes small classes. Best College for using a quarter system.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafe is the place if you want to eat lunch. Their aren't any fast food places located in the school but the cafe has low prices and very good food, but if you do want something else their are food places close by the school

    Dorm Life

    I cant really comment on dorm life because their aren't really any dorms at all in the Lincoln area. Unless you count the apt next door

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all very tough and you should not try to take too many credit hours because if you do prepare to be swamped.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because the tuition is low it does not mean the teachers are second rate. They know what they are doing and you are going to get a quality education.

    In three sentences

    Its really a good school to go to. The tuition is the lowest in Nebraska maybe even one of the lowest in the USA.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southeast Community College has provided lots of events for students such as golfing, a trip to the museum, movie nights and so much more. There is a lounge where the students hang out to play pool, ping pong, or watch t.v.. If you are an athletic person there is a gym across the hall from the student lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Southeast Community College has a cafeteria that is fairly cheap in price. They have a study area and dining area for students. If you don't like cafeteria food you can go out to the many restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    Southeast Community College has dorms and apartments by the school. The rent at Southeast Community College is fairly cheap. Also it is a convenient walk to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Southeast Community College has helpful instructors and staff that help students to manage their schedule. Also the instructors and staff help make sure students are on the right track with school. They will help you to figure what classes to take and how to manage them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southeast Community College provides school help, flexible work-study jobs, and mini lounges to help you study for tests. Southeast Community College lends anyone a hand to better their education at Southeast Community College. They are fair at price and provides the best education.

    In three sentences

    I think that Southeast Community College is a great and inexpensive two year college you can go to. They have free services for job placement, tutoring, and work-study positions at the school. Also they have friendly teachers that are always trying to help out.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone really...there's always a friend or two in the hall for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Hard, and make sure whatever you do, you do it with a purpose and passion not just at SCC, but in life in general.

    In three sentences

    Costs are cheap. Teachers are knowledgeable. People are down to earth.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is a very safe place!

    What to do for fun

    The school always puts on fun activities for the students, there is a student section with a game room, the gym and work out center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely amazing and it is very well priced.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly do not know because I have never lived in one, but from things I have heard it is a good time, you make several new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a good academic rigor almost all the people that graduate from here have no problems finding jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask many questions.

    In three sentences

    Southeast is a wonderful school full of many wonderful opportunities. The staff is all extremely friendly and are more than willing to help with anything that may be sent there way. And the curriculum is well off and organized.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus personnel patrolling, even on nights, weekends, and holidays. I always felt very safe getting to and from my dorm room.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any Greek Life at Southeast.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs on campus, and they are always hosting activities to keep the students busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Southeast community is great for any and all students. There isn't really a typical demographic for the school. There are just as many non traditional students, as there are traditional students. There are just as many athletes, as there are non athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are very affordable, and transfer to a four year institution if that is what you plan to do.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Senate on campus always has different activities going on, making it really easy and fun to get involved. There are many repeating weekly activities that allow students to plan their weeks around them. There is always something going on, and always opportunities to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a real cafe or food service provided at the school, but all the dorms have full kitchens so you can work around it. There is a snack bar, open from 9-1 during the week. The snack bar is conveniently located in the student center, which is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a really fun place to live, and they help you meet new people. The dorms at Southeast are probably the nicest in the area. Housing is always having activities to keep residents involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Southeast classes really make sure you are always learning in the classroom. The teachers are excellent in making sure you stay on top of your studies, and stay focused. Southeast is also really good at having classes that you need, available when you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know you're advisor. Meet with your advisor and come up with a plan of action to graduate. Get involved in as many campus activities as you can.

    In three sentences

    It is a very well rounded college. The employees go out of their way to help you achieve your goals. I would definitely recommend Southeast to friends and family.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good. Well lit parking lot.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Haven't looked into it.

    Great for these types of students

    Tech degrees, transfer progams, 2 yr. degrees and a lot of hobbyist type of classes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent tuition, good value for the money and most classes will transfer to another college if you're pursuing a 4 yr degree.

    What to do for fun

    They have a student hang out area, but because it's a community college, they don't have student activities as a reg. college may have.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food, or get a snack in their food service area.

    Dorm Life

    I'm living at home. They don't have on compass living accommodations.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been taking classes for a few days so it's hard to say, but so far I've been able to keep up fairly well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Sometimes the sections you want to be in fill quickly due to small class size, but you can usually get into a different section if you are willing to be flexible. Also, find out where your classes are before the first day because the building is bigger than it looks.

    In three sentences

    Easy access, small classes, helpful staff, onsite bookstore, no designated parking, so easy to get a parking place.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    more than you even thought about

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to seek help if needed, they offer alot of assistance

    In three sentences

    its a great college just like any other. lots of oppertunities to succeed. lots of options for reassuring that you will successfully graduate

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    No Dorms in Lincoln

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms in Lincoln

    Academic Rigor

    Class work is reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make it. SCC will be as good to you as you are to it.

    In three sentences

    I am on my second degree. SCC is very affordable, and the teacher are nice. The way to go if you like small classes.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Well maintained

    Great for these types of students

    Any Type of Student

    Bang for the buck

    Great Prices!

    What to do for fun

    I like to work out in the Fitness center and help out at the Day Care.

    Food and Dining

    Love the Pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Love this College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great teachers and friendly staff members are always welling to help you.

    In three sentences

    Best College for Mother's. Southeast provides many types of classes to help students work with their children's classes and Day Care's.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There is currently construction going on but I do not feel like I am in danger of debris falling or anything like that. Rooms are closed off when being worked on as well as bathrooms. There is an elevator accessible for people who can not take stairs. There are many exits out of the school on both the upper and lower floor. Alarms are tested for weather and fire.

    Greek Life

    none that I have seen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of activities that go on like I mentioned above, movie nights, bowling, free food/drinks, games to try to win prizes and a lot of sponsoring that goes on. There is sports teams, student council, you can work in the book store and cafeteria.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who do not know what they want to major in or who need general education. Also great for the academic transfer program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are family events that go on like movie nights, bowling, etc. You can buy tickets to things going on in the area like to haunted houses and such. Many of the hallways have outlets so a lot of students sit there to charge their phones (and it is a quiet place to study!).

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are helpful and friendly and are always there. They have offices and are accessible by email. Online courses are also available and are easy to fit around a busy schedule. There is a great student center and LRC. There are mentors to help with homework, take advantage of them.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities going on almost daily. You can win prizes, play games, and get free food/drinks. There is so much going on and it makes everything light hearted and fun.

    Food and Dining

    I usually bring my lunch or buy from the vending machine.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know because there is not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes really isn't that hard, at least the introduction courses. It may be that the other courses are more intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you pay attention in class and do the work, you will easily get an A. The courses are much like high school classes, and some are less stressful than what I had in high school. Focus on your education and try to challenge yourself as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Southeast Community College is a very easy school to get into and the coursework is not that challenging. I think that it is a nice start to college but you don't gain much from it. I feel in no way prepared for a University. The variety of classes is nice though and for students who are not sure what they want to do it is a good school to go to. As well as for the academic transfer students.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tutition is inexpensive and most of the books and other materials are pretty affordable.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am very happy to be attending college here. The teachers are nice and very helpful and so are the students.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot of things that I didn't know before. The subjects are very interesting.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking to start their college education at a low price.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools, tuition here was very inexpensive. You complete the same kinds of classes you would at a four year school in a shorter amount of time and for a lower price. I believe that I have been well prepared in my education from Southeast Community College at a great price. A lot of students take general education classes here before they transfer to another school because the bang for the buck here is almost a steal.

    Did enjoy being here

    My experiences at Southeast Community College were great! I lived on campus and was given several opportunities to meet new people and get involved in activities. The small campus atmosphere made it easy for everyone to know each-other by a first name basis. You always knew there was someone around if you needed help with anything, whether it was free tutoring or needing to borrow something as simple as note cards or cooking utensils.

    Did learn a lot

    I had great teachers that were always available if I needed help. The teacher to student ratio was great and classes were small so it was easy to have class discussions and learn from other students as well as the instructors. In high school I had never learned anything about some of the subjects I was studying. Accounting was my main worry at first, but the material was thoroughly taught and I felt confident moving on to the next level.