Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore Albuquerque. Amazing weather. Amazing people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus events, clubs, and committees. Build life long connections with your fellow Native brothers and sisters.

    In three sentences

    Amazing opportunity for Native American students. Opens doors for minority students and is an amazing start for any college student.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SIPI is located near a dollar theater where movies are only $2.50 and $1 on Wednesdays and wal mart and the cottenwood mall is less then a mile away

    Food and Dining

    food is okay but lunch is the best

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is alright mostly quiet

    Academic Rigor

    academics depend on your field of study

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College is gated. Campus security riding around on bikes during the day. Facilities are easy to reach and are friendly.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for non-traditional students. Small class sizes make missing class for family obligations a little easier to make up work. Teachers are in tune with the culture of family first. Also great for students that need a little extra help. Here you are surrounded by professionals that want you to succeed, all you have to do is ask.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are Native American, this is the best deal. At under $300 a trimester, includes books, fees, dorm, food, and transferable credits. What else can you get for $300??

    What to do for fun

    Lots of very active clubs that perform community service, throw dances, have movie nights, yards sales, inter mural sports teams. Also Clubs to get invovled academically like Phi Theta Kappa, American Indian Science and Engineering Society(AISES), for chances to travel and network with native leaders and professionals in the STEM field. Tons to do around Albuquerque, museums, parks, hiking, shopping, movie theater a quick walk away. A lot of the time SIPI will have free movies passes or passes to special events, like the Balloon Fiesta or to Ride the Tram. You get a lot of perks here

    Food and Dining

    Food is great for the price! Comes free with full-time status. The best days are when the Culinary Arts Department cooks for the students.

    Dorm Life

    I am a non-traditional student. I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering is definitely challenging and the classes are very rigorous, especially the maths and upper level sciences, but with the smaller classes and open door policy of most of professors, it is easy to get help when you need it. They offer tutoring free to students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus activities. Being a part of a smaller community has helped me develop leadership skills that will benefit me for the future.

    In three sentences

    SIPI is a tribal college. SIPI is a great community to learn in. Small student population is a plus because then there is a higher student to teacher ratio. Smaller classes mean more time for the students. And also there are tons of way to get involved in what you are interested in. The laboratories in the science department rival those in the bigger Universities in NM and I have access to them when ever I need, I just ask the staff. The staff especially those in the Engineering Department are eager to help with any needs and are very encouraging.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a zero tolerance school

    What to do for fun

    what i do for fun in that I tutor other students and I go to church. I spend time with activities that the school puts up for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your homework done and no drinking on campus.

    In three sentences

    It's a small school but I get a lot of help with homework. It's a great location for all students. The school has a dorm for both boys and girls.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    watch out for the geese. they bite.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of clubs on campus and they are very active.

    Bang for the buck

    Do not worry on campus there is always a indian taco sale.

    What to do for fun

    there is a dollar movie theater that you can walk to and the bus system is a very popular means of transportation here.

    Food and Dining

    The cafateria food is very unhealthy. there is a salad bar but the only dressing they serve is ranch.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged by the work load that I am given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to bring all of your proper documents and the file for your fasfa two weeks before you come and register.

    In three sentences

    SIPI is a good school with some awesome instructors. But it is a school run by the government with government employees. The teachers are great but the administration staff are lazy and always at lunch.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    i am currently in the new optical image club.

    What to do for fun

    i hangout with friends and have a couple of laughs. i go watch a movie off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is a great school for natives students.

    In three sentences

    its a good school

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is federal facility so it has cameras and security 24-7. The security personnel ride bikes and patrol. They have a zero tolerance on the campus with no alcohol.

    Greek Life

    Nothing there with this sorry.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs. But you must join and free time.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for people who want to start over and start small. There is always the younger crowd but the older people make it a great place to be we tend to keep the kids in line. Lead by example.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is the best the clubs have invited the Apache Crown dancers and they have events throughout the year like Powwows and Native traditions that happen. Its educational and great for those who participated in these events.

    Bang for the buck

    I get to complete all my prerequisites here and move onto a larger college with my little classes out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    Much to do for fun they always have scheduled activities for the Dorm students and the Commuters. Movie night and mall outings, and even local games, free tickets. etc... They have many activities and clubs so there is plenty to do. Also the town has many shopping places within walking distance and the buses run all day. Movie theatre across the street.

    Food and Dining

    The food is like any cafeteria food, its free and you eat a well balanced meal along with a salad bar. What else could you ask for?

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter so I have no idea about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    This trimester I am taking 3 English Courses and that in itself is challenging but I am maintaining my GPA so it has it ups and downs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework and strive for excellence. Attend class as much as you can in the end if you miss you only let yourself down.

    In three sentences

    Genuinely authentic to the Native American People,. A stepping stone for those who want to start out small and get a feel for the 4 year colleges. Great to see all other tribes from all over the US and Canada.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    bia is always there. police substations 5 minutes from campus. gated all around.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    many to choose from. way too many to label.!

    Great for these types of students

    native american.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a lot of native american traditions combined. nothing unusual for native students.

    Bang for the buck

    open to native american students for both living and commuter students. both under 300 dollars a trimester and great quality education for cheap.

    What to do for fun

    anything. the whole campus is fun with students around. go to the gym on campus. play tennis. hangout anf have fun with fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    good ffod sometimes..but all meals are included with tuiton. breakfast, lunch and dinner available. fun atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    don't stay at dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    introduction to engineering as well as intro to cad. math and english everyday. active aises member.

    Tips for prospective students

    get a dream, study hard to achieve, live your dream to its full potential.

    In three sentences

    great programs to choose from. great student to teacher ratio. small class sizes for better interaction.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the students of Native American ethnicity, who want to further their education and don't exactly have enough money to pay for a standard 2-year college. They look for applicants every spring, summer, and fall trimesters.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you apply early or before the deadline, and also have proof of Indian Blood, your physical, it explains it all on the website: http://www.sipi.edu

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not sure what bang for the buck is, but i think that SIPI has a great tuition rate than most colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because an individual can meet not only those of their own tribe but also other tribes from across the nation.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned a lot so far from this school. They explain what they teach pretty well.

  • 11/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There are alot of different Native Americans from all over the United States.