Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St Cloud Technical and Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCTCC is a small campus so I feel very safe going to school there.

    Great for these types of students

    SCTCC is great for a lot of students. If you don't think you are ready for a 4 year college, this is a good place to start. They have a transfer program that allows you to complete general credits that will transfer to other colleges. It is also good for busy students or those who work full time. They have a lot of online courses necessary to complete your degree. They have small class sizes too so you can get the attention you need.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a tuition freeze right now so that makes it an economical choice for students.

    What to do for fun

    SCTCC has lots of clubs you can join!

    Dorm Life

    I feel that this is not applicable since SCTCC doesn't have dorms, but I do find that getting an apartment is very easy to do in close proximity to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    I take solely online classes to complete my degree. Online classes can be hard because you have to pay strict attention to deadlines. Regardless of this, I find my online classes challenging. You have to read and study. You have to be self motivated. They provide the right level of challenge you need to learn the material. When I was in class at SCTCC, the teachers would give you the knowledge and tools you needed to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan out when you need to take your classes. Sometimes there are prerequisites and they might only be available in fall or spring semesters. Ask your teachers for help. In my experience, all they want is for you to succeed. I have communicated via email, telephone and even face to face with advisors and teachers. Their flexibility and consideration for my unique circumstances has convinced me to come back each semester to complete my degree.

    In three sentences

    I think SCTCC is a great college where you can complete the credits necessary for a higher degree at a better price. I have done both in class and online learning and I have had exceptional help from all my teachers. SCTCC has the flexibility I need to complete my degree.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students who are very determined, and like to be independent.

    Bang for the buck

    Colleges are often very expensive. Thankfully St. Cloud Technical and Community College is one of the least expensive, but offers great programs at an affordable price!

    What to do for fun

    I will be playing softball, and volleyball next year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and affordable!

    Dorm Life

    I don't currently live in a dorm, but everyone that I have heard enjoys it.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not too challenging achieving an A grade is not too difficult as long as you are wiling to work hard and put the time in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are having a hard time understanding something make sure you ask the teacher they are there to help you and their goal is for you to be successful.

    In three sentences

    I am a Post-Secondary student. I really enjoy spending my senior year of High School at St. Cloud Technical and Community College. The teachers are willing to give as much help as needed. Going Post-Secondary has helped me get a huge jump on my college future!

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    work, hang with friends, video games, watch movies.

    Food and Dining

    amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    no set dorms to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    pretty easy classes but teachers make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips are to show up for every class, apply early for admission, choose classes you are interested in not because your friends are in the classes.

    In three sentences

    Saint Cloud Technical and community college is great for getting generals out of the way. They also have easy admission and it's hard to get lost in. The teachers are also very friendly, caring, and will go out of their way to help you.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Does not apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    In three sentences

    Enjoying my courses here. The teacher are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I am taking prerequisites for a program at another school. The quality of the courses are great and the price is low.

    What to do for fun

    St cloud allows for a lot of activities in the area and surrounding area. Great restaurants, recreation activities in the area, located in central MN.

    Food and Dining

    have not ate on campus but have heard good things

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus and I am unsure of the housing...

    Academic Rigor

    Courses were challenging and instructors were fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know the requirements of the program you are looking at enrolling in. It is also a great school to get prerequisites for other programs and schools.

    In three sentences

    Admissions and registration was a breeze. Instructors care about your learning and experience. Would recommend.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCTCC is great for undergrads, but it also offers vocational programs.

    Bang for the buck

    SCTCC is a great value: small classes and an enclosed campus. The professors are often Phds who teach at the 3 renowned local universities. For undergrads the tuition is lower than at the local university, yet the student is likely to have the same professor.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in a metropolitan area of 125,000 people, so there are many parks and seasonal recreational opportunities. The campus is only an hour away from the Twin Cities. There are local theater and sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Not much variety. Less than average cafetria food. The cafeteria does not even make hamburgers.

    Dorm Life

    I do not believe that there are dorms at SCTCC.

    Academic Rigor

    Grading is not standardized so each class ome classes are difficult and require extra outside of school time for research and writing. There is enough variety in the transfer curriculum to keep students compelled to continue toward aquiring the necessary credits for transfer, and a local university is in the same city.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any local prospective student I would recommend SCTCC because a transfer curriculum or AA degree curriculum are a great value, prior to transferring to SCSU. The campus is all located in one building so not bundling up to go outside for the next class. The class sizes are small and the professors are likely PhDs.

    In three sentences

    SCTCC is a great educational value. Most of the professors have a Phd and teach at the 3 renowned local universities. Classroom sizes are small, and student support is excellent.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. They even offer jump starts for students with car troubles, as well as security.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have no experience with clubs or actvities at SCTCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional students who are career oriented. Students completing an AA degree to transfer to a four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many different cultural events.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for transfers at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    St. Cloud is a diverse city with many restaurants, malls and activities to do!

    Food and Dining

    I have little experience with the food options.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    For specific programs like the one I am applying to the rubric is strict and vigorous, which makes it very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep checking in with your academic advisor!

    In three sentences

    I give SCTCC a B grade. I find the teachers and advisors to be exceedingly helpful. I wish there were more online programs of study.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The classes are small and the teachers are friendly. The teachers also get to know their students on a first name basis.

    What to do for fun

    There are sports (softball, volleyball, basketball) and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten at SCTCC because my class schedule allows me to eat at home or grab something elsewhere, however I do not believe SCTCC has much of a selection.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm, nor does SCTCC have them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes have been challenging, however I do believe they have a tutor group that can help.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are now on your own. There may be people that come in and out of your life who help guide you but what you choose from here on out will shape your life, there will be no one to hold your hand and tell you what path to choose, that is for you to decide.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed meeting new students and teachers at SCTCC however when I first came here I did not feel welcome and no one seemed to sincerely help me. I chose to continue my education at SCTCC because it was close to my home. Upon continuing here I have warmed up to the school and I have, for the most part, enjoyed my time here.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working students, parents returning to school, fresh out of high school students, adults looking to change careers.

    Bang for the buck

    To get the same degree at other institutions, it would cost over $40,000. I'm getting my degree for half that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your advisor. They are there to help you. Make sure you tell them all of your concerns so they can direct you accordingly.

    In three sentences

    I was really worried about going to school after not attending for over 10 years. My advisor is amazing and directed me into three classes that I absolutely love. The instructors have been amazing so far and I can't wait to continue my education!

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play sports and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! They have a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college but there are apartments you can rent.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are set to your pace and if you need help, it is available.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school for sports and for small class sizes.

    In three sentences

    This is an awesome college because it gives you the small town feel. Your classes are all in the same building, so no going out in the cold. It gives a student who doesn't have the greatest GPA a chance at having a great career.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not enough.

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive and barely open.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. I don't know about how good or bad the apartments near campus are.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard classes. It's almost like high school level sometimes.

    In three sentences

    The professors are great. The classes aren't that challenging, though. Overall, I like it here.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, Student Success Day, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Decent. Kind of spendy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work your hardest, and care about your education, you WILL succeed here!

    In three sentences

    Typically amazing teachers who care about your educational acceleration. Many options for classes and course types (in class, hybrid, online.) Easy registration and financial aid process.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good. I feel 100% safe there being a woman and doing night classes

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are very fun and full of fun poeple

    Great for these types of students

    Really all types of people can go

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None really

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting what I am paying for

    What to do for fun

    They always have something going on at school. I do enjoy knowing whats going on.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food. Nice place to eat

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Very happy with all of it

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything ready when you are ready to go to school and do not wait to go.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the staff very much. I feel like I can get the help that I need. Everyone is there to help.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You do this yourself... your on your own get used to it!

    Dorm Life

    I LIVE IN A HOUSE

    Academic Rigor

    HAVE NOT ATTENDED YET

    Tips for prospective students

    When you apply bug them, because otherwise they will forget about you and your application will disappear despite any visits you have previously taken.

    In three sentences

    Helpful staff, but they made it difficult for me to enroll. While waiting for my application to be accepted it was discarded with out notice to me or explanation why. After re - applying, I received a 24 on my ACT flagging the acuplacer test as exempt, there after my application was deleted again! Over all frustrating experience for someone who could easily get into a community college...

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    When you go in to apply, ask to talk to the program Advisor of the program you are hoping to go into. I did and I got alot of good information.