Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St. Joseph's College, New York - Brooklyn Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/10/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Yeah i will get to learn about what I want to learn.

    Will learn a lot

    It looks like a right college for me.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never heard of a problem occurring on campus ever. it is ran and secured very well.

    Greek Life

    i will be the first to pledge in our national frat that will be coming next year. there are local greek clubs; however, the national one will be joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    so many options.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes and open minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the red room hang out spot or the cafeteria. you can always seem to find who ever you are looking for in one of those two hangout spots.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap

    What to do for fun

    always something going on around the school to become involved in. many clubs and activities always.

    Food and Dining

    i usually tend to go out for lunch, there is way too much fried and unhealthy foods available.

    Dorm Life

    freedom. the only thing that is unfortunate about the dorms is that it is two miles from the school. to avoid public transportation expenses, i ride my bicycle daily.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the professors are not the most intelligent; however, you will have that any where. most of the professors are highly knowledgable in their individual fields.

    Tips for prospective students

    come in with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    i love this college. it is full of so many opportunities, and is located in the best area.

  • 01/19/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are approximately eight buildings that are part of the school. Security guards are stationed at the entrances of each building daily. Every student and faculty member are required to swipe their I.D. cards at the front desks when they come into the buildings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A very special thing about my college is that FREE food is always guaranteed to be provided at social events.

    What to do for fun

    I am currently a member of Social Thinkers, a newly created club on campus. This club is ideal for Sociology majors, but students with different majors are welcomed to join. This club allows students to become in touch with extracurricular affairs. For example, a few other members and I volunteered at the New York City Coalition Against Hunger Foundation to fill up folders with poverty awareness pamphlets and statistics. These folders were to be distributed to politicians during a political event in order to encourage them to pass anti-poverty legislation. There are nearly forty clubs and many other sports to be involved in. One major club is the Child Study Club. My college is known for producing teachers so this club encourages the teaching profession. There are many Common Hour events. These events occur between 12:40 P.M. and 1:30 P.M. every day. Events include dances (the '90's dance) and comedy shows, plus soothing events that are scheduled during finals week in order to alleviate the stress of students. Many clubs, especially the Campus Activities Board, organize these events. Common Hour is the free time for students to eat lunch, complete assignments, or enjoy entertaining events.

    Food and Dining

    Like any other commodity, lunch prices tend to be a little expensive. But, with a little shrewdness, a sandwich, for example, could only be bought without a side dish and could be a sufficient serving of food. There are many refrigerators and microwaves throughout the school to use. Also, freshmen students receive food tokens worth five dollars after they meet during Freshmen Year Experience every Monday. During this meet, groups of freshmen meet with mentors and discuss how to properly manage during a college career. Tips that freshmen learn are how to relax, how to manage time, where resources are located in school, and how to become socially active in school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm, but know that it is located in the St. George Hotel in Brooklyn Heights (an area within walking distance of school). My school's dorms co-exist with other NYC colleges' dorms in the hotel. Bus transportation is offered between school and the dorms for students and the rent for dorming ranges between $13,000 and $14,000 per year.

    Academic Rigor

    I just completed my first semester and felt overwhelmed by the homework load, but I know that it will become progressively harder. Complete and hand in homework assignments in a timely fashion. Professors, as previously mentioned, will always lend help during office hours if students are encountering problems with any homework assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not high school! Be prepared to become fully independent (e.g. no more parental notes written to teachers). The only communication to teachers will be through the students themselves. Also, learning how to properly manage the weekly schedule and to UTILIZE the free time in between is crucial for the college career. Completing assignments during free time is sensible and so other time could be used for studying. Become involved with a maximum of two clubs/activities at first. I mention two because joining an exorbitant amount of activities may withdraw students from academic time. The benefit of joining clubs is to find social connections that could alleviate the stress of being in a new environment, while allowing friendships to be built on those connections. Students will be assigned to academic advisers who will be very helpful in the search for classes, so be on their good side! Also, help is always extended by professors throughout the semester as long as students seek it (meet them halfway).

    In three sentences

    This college is in an urban area and well-suited for students seeking a smaller sized school. Current enrollment is estimated to be 2,000 students on the Brooklyn campus (there is also a Long Island campus). BAM (Brooklyn Academy of Music) offers multi-cultural dance, and music, shows to the public and is located within walking distance of the college.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Multi-cultural

    Tips for prospective students

    research scholarships

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, sports teams, sororities, and volunteer work. There is almost always fun activities to participate in during common hour as well.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe with various food choices. Also located near other restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but fun. You learn a lot. A lot of study time needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive to class 45 minutes early to find parking.

    In three sentences

    Knowledgeable staff. Small, easy access campus. Friendly environment.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Welcome the knowledge which is showed on you by the staffs at St. Joseph College. Take the advice given and put it to use.

    In three sentences

    St. Joseph is equipped with the tools to encourage adult education. They are patient with adult learners like me, and work with younger learners to achieve their goals. On a scale of 1 to 10, ten being the highest; St. Joseph rates at a 10.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Can anyone tell me what the psychology program here is like? I'm considering this school and am going to apply but before I do I would just like to know if it's worth it.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who likes to be known by the professors and students.

    What to do for fun

    Enroll in clubs

    Food and Dining

    The food is so delicious

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and go to the open house

    In three sentences

    Its an excellent school, I love it. People are really nice. And the campus is safe.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are constantly security guards patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    Though I am not personally involved in Greek life, all of the students I know who are involved enjoy it immensely.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from, it is often hard to decide which club to attend!

    Great for these types of students

    Any students who are eager to learn, meet new people, and gain leadership skills will excel on this campus

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the most affordable schools in my area, ad the school provides many services for its students.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and attend events organized by CAB!

    Food and Dining

    While the food is good, and they do provide some healthy options, it could be a bit pricey. However, many clubs serve free food!

    Dorm Life

    I attend the Long Island commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors challenge their students to reach their fullest potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and participate in event! This is vital for students attending a commuter campus. If eligible, apply to the honors program. It was the best decision of my college career.

    In three sentences

    At St. Josephs' College, students are encouraged to go above and beyond to learn about others, and develop a better sense of self. The school motto, to be, not to seem drives professors and students to achieve greatness. When a student attends St. Joseph's College, he or she learns more than academics - the student will learn to make a difference in the world.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security in the buildings is well and any trouble in the past all students have been alarmed through e-mail or text messaging. They give us tips on how to be safe.

    Greek Life

    There is a new fraternity and sorority at this school, in which the sorority places much effort to help many good causes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Common hour is between 12:30-1:40 and there is always an event happening with free food! Speakers come to our school, and even performers.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is one of the cheapest private colleges in New York. The school has recently raised their tuition, but there are computers and printers everywhere in the school library that allows a student to privately work during breaks on campus. It provides a good work-ethic and helps students manage their time better in between all of their classes without carrying a laptop.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations in the school. The more involved you become in school, the better you do in class. There is room for every talent: music, art, honors, speaking, etc...

    Food and Dining

    The school cafeteria is very good. The staff is helpful and friendly and they will make whatever you want. Considering it is a small school, the selection is rather small, but they offer healthy choices as well as delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but many students live on off-campus housing and love it.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is competitive and it offers class in many majors that are above average than other classes. The work is challenging, but the professors are so helpful that its very hard to fall behind if you pay close attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all of your resources such as the academic center, library, and student life. The professors are always there to help you so do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Saint Joseph's College is a very good school because the faculty and staff do everything in their power to help each and every student achieve to their highest potential. The class sizes are small and so the professors know their students very well. Other services such as clubs and organizations help students feel very welcome in a warm and friendly environment.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During common hour there are comedians that attend, karaoke, dancing, and many more activites.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Enjoy every minute you spend at the college and explore different areas.

    In three sentences

    St. Joseph's college is a wonderfully diverse college. It provides students with different opportunities, from readings by best selling authors to world famous comedians, St. Joseph's has it all. They also provides a safe environment for students and great food.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Interested in attending a small college community with supportive faculty and staff as well as students.

    What to do for fun

    Many groups and clubs to join. Always an activity to attend, plays, shows, games, retreats.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like personal attention.

    Food and Dining

    Although our school is overall small, our cafeteria provides fresh, good-tasting food of all kinds.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I have heard great comments from my friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Core curriculum is very broad. The schools establishes a rigorous set of classes that aim to develop your skills as a college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you are interested in pursuing a career in elementary education. The child study program is well recognized and expanded. Not the best schools for students interested in a tech career.

    In three sentences

    A personalized attention school

  • 12/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There is always security in and around the school and there are poles outside in various places that have a button that you can push to call them incase their is an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are a few different sororities and fraternities on campus. If youre interested or curious about greek life, I would encourage you to check each one out at the club fair and various meet and greets that they have throughout the semester. The people in them are all very friendly and will answer the questions that you may have about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to choose from at the school. And, if you want to be in a club that they do not offer, you can always try and start it!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type!

    Bang for the buck

    The college has a lot of activities going on either during common hour or at night. Theres lots of events that give away free food, prizes, etc. The class sizes are also small, which I love. Plus, youre paying for a great education which you will definitely get at St. Josephs, and for a private college, the price is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in things on campus!! I cant say that enough!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has pretty good food. Its catered from Lessings. The prices can be a bit high on certain things, but not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 100% commuter campus. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work load can be tough at times, especially depending on which major you choose. But, keep in mind its college, and college is obviously going to be more work than high school. It is nothing that you cannot handle, as long as you do not leave the work to the last minute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved in something! There are plenty of clubs/sports/greek life etc to choose from. Getting involved makes your college experience so much more enjoyable!

    In three sentences

    I currently attend St. Josephs College at their Patchogue campus. The campus is fairly small, but it makes it easier when the weather is bad because, for the most part your classes will be in one building or a very short walk to the next. Its a great school to go to for an excellent education.