Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St Philip's College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police patrol the campus even though it isn't needed.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and your basic clubs through the school, some students create their own clubs outside of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like the fast track and a well laid out campus with friendly people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a clearing covered in trees with tables at it that is quite beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    I took the Aviation program through them and was surprised at the amount of information and preparation they gave us for when we went to take our licensing exam.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports with friends, the library.

    Food and Dining

    Good quality food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Fast paced and missing even one day will result in falling behind however the instructors(at least the ones I had) provide their presentation so as to enable you to get caught up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study the material and pay attention in class and you will be fine. The instructors are very good at presenting the information so long as you are willing to accept it.

    In three sentences

    Great school with well educated instructors. Fast and helpful administration. Interesting and engaging classes.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have a small cafeteria, but the food is the bomb dot com! Need a quick snack, go there! Hungry you can eat a horse? Go there! Most of their stuff is not expensive, you can sit inside or outside in the patio, study, and socialize with friends.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college, so no dorms. You do get to live at home or by yourself, so you don't have to worry about roomates! Wooohoo!

    Academic Rigor

    If you really want it then you have to work for it, and work HARD. Most teachers are easygoing while others are strict on what they want. If you don't want to learn teachers can see that, you are on your own buddy. You can't skip class all the time and think it'll be okay, teachers are strict about attendance at St.Philips. You get what you give, pretty much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to save money this is the place to be! Even though you might think community college sounds bad and you wanna go straight to a university think about it first. That's how I was at first, but I'm glad I decided to go here. Teachers are great! Some even teach at a university, which is always a plus and you're not paying overboard. Plus the campus and classes are smaller, so you get to really focus and see the teacher focus on you. Pretty much you're getting more than what you bargained for. Take the chance you'll love it!

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, well two, I can sum up that St. Philips College is great. The classes I attend are exactly what I would get anywhere else. It's in the area so I benefit from it a lot, nothing too expensive.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. Every time I walk to class I see campus officers ensuring safety.

    What to do for fun

    San Antonio is a big city. You can go down town and visit the River walk. Six Flags fiesta Texas is also an option and is really fun.

    Food and Dining

    St. Phillips has one dinning hall. The food is good. The food is cafeteria based.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms at St. Phillips because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are difficult and some are easy. The difficultness of a class depends completely on the teacher. my experiences with rigorousness of St. Phillips classes is mixed.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you first arrive at college don't be nervous. College is not extremely difficult as long as you give a good effort. Give your classes time and effort and you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    St. Phillips is a very good college. The teachers are their to teach and challenge students. St. Phillips will is a friendly and positive college and I would recommend attending.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    South Park Mall is close by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask around if you need help, everyone here is friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you.

    In three sentences

    A very professional college. Every teacher knows what they are doing, and go out of their way to help you. The staff is friendly and informative.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have a variety of food, have not tried but i heard it quiet well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I dont know much about there academic programs but i am pretty sure they have a great one the science areas in this school are awesome with there labs and help that is given.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and you will do well in school.

    In three sentences

    This college has the best professors and a great tutoring service that is always open when in need.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities and shopping to do, hosted by students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Go talk to an advisor and they will get you started right away! It is an amazing school.

    In three sentences

    I love St. Philip`s, they truly care about you and care if you graduate. The campus is beautiful and the teachers are great. I look forward to starting my second semester.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join and if there isnt a club you like then you have the opportunity to create your own. There is also sports teams you can join as well. There is a game room where you can bring your own console to play, you can watch TV or play pool, air hockey or foosball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely delicious! Its always freshly cooked!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In my experience, its ok. They do have torturing that helps a bunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes wisely. go to rate my teacher. com to find out if the teacher you have chosen is any good.

    In three sentences

    l have only attended for one semester so far but I can already tell you that the choice in teachers that they have are not to good, there are good teachers on this campus but the ratio from bad to good teachers is 3 to 1. But there are some attractions about this campus, for example, the scenery is very beautiful, the grass is always super green and the trees and landscape are all very well taken care of. Somethng negative that l dont approve of is where the designated smoking area is at, in order to go to a class located In a detached building from the school you have to pass through a cloud of smoke because the people who smoke are way to close to the walkway.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    So far no problems with safety issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have not had time to explore this area since i work part time.

    Great for these types of students

    For students that prefer a not to big of a student body.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't been there that long to notice unusual situations.

    Bang for the buck

    If I had to do it all overs again I would definitely return to St Phillips. The dedication of the instructors are impressive. The campus security demonstrate care and made me feel safe being there. Yes it may not be in an up scale vicinity but it is as safe and enjoyable as you make it to be. It is an affordable community college to attend if you are paying your way through college yourself.

    What to do for fun

    Get involve with study groups. Be out going and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Without academic challenges we won't succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will feel the difference just seating in the classroom. Feels like the beginning of a new life. Take advantage of all the offers with tutoring the college offers you.

    In three sentences

    Best time in the classrooms that I've had in a long time. Instructors keep you interested in their topics. Classmates for the most part were mature and non-judgmental.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out at the turbon center with other students, play ball at the fitness center.

    Food and Dining

    the food is great it is good and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    St phillips is a community college so they dont have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academics is a very important thing in st phillips it is basically on you to turn in assignments to make a grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    one of the tips i can offer to a new student is to get use to using your email and turning in assignments online.

    In three sentences

    St Phillip's is an outstanding college it has great professors that are real motivate and supportive. I love St Phillips because it has math world a room specialized for math, since math is one of my week subjects i love going there.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Well cooked meals

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Very well academics. Multiple chances to get involved with the school

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on-campus police station. There are cops patrolling throughout the day to ensure cars don't get broken into and citizens aren't breaking any campus rules.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Department runs an on-campus, fine-dining restaurant called Artemisia's. It serves lunch and dinner, and is open to the public. The restaurant is run by the culinary students, who set the tables, prepare and serve the food. The cafeteria also serves a variety of food, with different specials daily.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus dorms. However, there are many apartments near the campus. They have also just completed construction on the Tobin Lofts. They are located in downtown just ten minutes away from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very knowledgeable in their respective fields. They have all had extensive experience in the work force. A few of them have even attended St. Phillips College back when they were fresh out of high school.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I have not participated in any out-of-class activities.

    Food and Dining

    It is typically cafeteria food; similar to that of a high school cafeteria. There is only one dining facility on campus for students besides the restaurant attached to the culinary arts kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I've had have been challenging and stimulating. There are numerous tutoring and help available for those that need it.

    In three sentences

    St. Phillis's College provides an excellent education. The teachers are all former and current members in the industry which we are studying. The teachers are genuinely invested in our success.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    im a honor student who tries to excel in all that i do and i reach for the stars and at that i still dont give up.

    What to do for fun

    I work at the school, im also in 2 clubs at the school, so i keep busy but volunteering and helping others especially when they are new always is fun for me!

    Food and Dining

    The food is yummy and they will cook you what you want if you just ask even if its not on the menu!

    Dorm Life

    i dont stay in a dorm, they werent available at first but now they are!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard but if you study its worth it, just dont give up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be shy! Join all the clubs that you can! talk to your instructors they will work with you!

    In three sentences

    St. Philips is all about what you make of it. It has been amazing to me, i learn something new everyday. St. Philips is like one big family!

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. The food smells really good and it tastes wonderful.

    In three sentences

    This college is the place that I would love to study because they have been teaching me very well. They have been teaching the things that I need to know but I would love to now more through out my life. My cooking classes have been very helpful for my career.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police station on campus

    What to do for fun

    There are many events the college holds every year, to many to tell, they even have movie night.Talk to any advisor and get the scoop.

    Food and Dining

    It's your every day cafeteria food however, the cooks will aways find a way to fit your needs and there funny to.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available for this college

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for your classes before you start. having all the nessesary tools you need on the day class begins you can get ahead and never behind. Alamo.edu has tools you can use to find out what you need for a class and sites such as amazon have great deals. so u save money and time!!

    In three sentences

    St. Philips college has been very helpful in information to start my education soi can better my life in a career. The Teachers are very kind and will work with you as needed.I say this would be a great place to start, I am glad I did.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym for their free Zumba classes.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Arts program has there own restaurant with a new meal planned out every day. They also have the school cafeteria. Most of the food there is cooked upon order, so it is nice and hot when you receive it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of professors that challenge you when many different projects and homework. They want you to think.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only bump in the log was the Welcome Center. The Welcome Center is the building where you get your financial aid, student ID, advising, etc. Make sure to follow up on your financial aid because they misplace A LOT of paper ALL THE TIME, so just make copies and stay persistent! The people who work in that building are not really the friendliest people either, but if it concerns your financial aid, then you have go, get your money, and not worry about their attitudes. Do not treat this school as just a community college because there are a lot professors you may have that will definitely challenge you at the college/ university level.

    In three sentences

    Glad I choose to attend this school my first year. The people are very friendly. Lots of activities and festivals planned throughout the school year.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School police department huge and right next to the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good, they have Starbucks!!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here show the desire for the students to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class!!

    In three sentences

    I love the passion the professor have towards the students. The college goes above and beyond to help the student stay in school. Great counseling center.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love that the classes are small. Teachers are always avaliable when needed. The math tutoring program is excellent

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many clubs to join, and we are always hiring work studies

    What to do for fun

    We have a student center which is a room filled with tables, we have a pool table, foosball, and a hockey table. Several screen TVs were you can connect any electronic device such as PS3, Xbox etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria as well as a dinning room which the culinary students cook a gourmet meal every Tuesday and Thursday.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, you need your own place. But there are a couple of apartments near by.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join rate my professor it will give you a hint of what teacher will be best for you. Take advantage of our gym and swimming pool both amazing. Make sure you tour the campus you will learn so much.

    In three sentences

    St. Philips college has a great tutoring center, especially the math. The professors are great, i love they're teaching skills. We have a very nice campus, and i feel safe because of all the security

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I am on campus, I always see a security guard on duty, patrolling the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Here at St. Philips College, we have activities just like normal colleges, we have a gym and a library. On campus is the Turbon student center where students can watch TV on campus and play games on their laptops.

    Food and Dining

    Because a popular major is Culinary arts, we have a very affordable restaurant on campus. We also get class made goods from our pastry students, thus making the food very delicious on campus!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at St.Philips College are challenging at times. Professors will give you easy work, but they assign several assignments a week, thus making the class very time consuming out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Friendly! I made several friends just by speaking up. Students are nice on campus.

    In three sentences

    St. Philips College is a very helpful campus. The Teachers on this campus are kind. St. Philips College is also very affordable!

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    *****

    Greek Life

    I am not to familiar with the Greek Life on campus but I am sure all are welcomed

    Clubs and Activities

    *****

    Great for these types of students

    I think the atmosphere at the campus is great for any student attending college here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like many locations on campus one can spend many traditions available all year long

    Bang for the buck

    *****

    What to do for fun

    There are many place at the campus to keep someone entertained.

    Food and Dining

    *****

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to let any students attending college or universities not to ever give up there dream of becoming whom they want to be in the future.

    In three sentences

    I rate St Philip's College a rate of 10 because it is excellent here and I have been attending the campus for three years now and I am very satisfied with the staff here

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Participate in school clubs or activities that are done on a regular basis.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the welcome center as they have a friendly staff that are willing to help and guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly campus. Highly recommend for those who want to complete their basics. Small professor to student ratio.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have a student center that seems to be the place for hanging out

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok

    Dorm Life

    i have never lived on campus they do not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    they are ok they let things be known late and after deadlines have passed already

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is always being walked by our on-campus police department. They are always friendly and treat the students great!

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuition, you will pay a FRACTION for a degree at St. Philips compared to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on through out the school. A lot of food drives and fund raising for the community, plays, basketball, and art groups.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten a meal at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in a dorm. St. Philips is a community college and does not offer dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a variety of academic challenging instructors at St. Philips. Most will challenge you but all will make you a better student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes early, like most schools, the classes do fill up. Show up for classes early if you want to park near your last class for the day, they too will fill up.

    In three sentences

    St. Philips College is centrally located in San Antonio Texas and offers a variety of degrees and certifications. The staff is very friendly and always more than willing to help students with any situation. The library is complete with friendly staff to help guide you where you need to be.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are hardly any crime reports noted.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is a good size and they have a variety of specials everyday.

    Dorm Life

    St. Philip's doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to the culinary program, St. Philip's is very serious and dedicated to food knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those w/o cars, be sure to study the public transportation system for quick, convenient routes.

    In three sentences

    St. Philip's is one of the most reliable schools in San Antonio. Their Tourism, Hospitality, and Culinary Arts program is prestigious.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would play basketball in the gym for lunch or hang out with friends in the lunch hall.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to attended for a associate degree or even if you want to transfer to a university.

    In three sentences

    I give it 5 stars for the appearance of the campus and surroundings. Not only that but the faculty is great, they are very helpful and kind. I was a past student here and now I am returning because i know how great this school is.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of activities and organizations at the school, but the best part is that it's only ten minutes from downtown San Antonio.

    Food and Dining

    It has a great cafe, and it is a really good environment.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms because it's a community college

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but this school has a lot of tutoring opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know what kind of field you want to pursue.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start off at when you first start college. The people here at St Philip's really care about you, and they help you succeed. They have great programs and learning opportunities.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It seems to me that this college would be great for a student who hasn't been in school for a while.It's not at all overwhelming and I hear that a majority of the classes are small.

    What to do for fun

    I don't know anything about the available activities there. I do always see other students playing sports in the middle of the grounds. It looks both welcoming and fun.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know anything about the academics yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have not yet attended St. Philips College so I don't have much advice. What I can say is the admissions department is very helpful and will direct you anywhere you need to go. They've helped me come a long way over the last couple of weeks.

    In three sentences

    I have come here several times over the last 3 years to consider returning to College. Every time I am here I am given all of the information I need. I look forward to attending.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its great

    Greek Life

    its ok

    Clubs and Activities

    there different

    What to do for fun

    SPORTS CLUBS

    Food and Dining

    THEY NEED TO CUT DOWN ON THE PRICE FOR FOOD.

    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE SURE YOU ARE ON TIME TO CLASS IT HELPS TO BE THERE EVERYTIME

    In three sentences

    I love it here. They have a great nursing program. The teacher are very helpful.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security station on campus. Many emergency phones around campus. Patrols are around campus all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from. From journalism to sports clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    There are a bunch of clubs and organizations around school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not to sure what traditions are on campus. I am not that familiar with the campus yet.

    Bang for the buck

    There are things that can be purchased in bulk at the book store and some items that need to be bought in singles.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there is not much, but the downtown area is near by.

    Food and Dining

    The food at St. Philips College is really good. None like I have had before.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at St. Philips College.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small. You get to know everyone really well. And help is in all forms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your way around school. Half.com can help you with cheap books. And make sure you have the right classes.

    In three sentences

    St. Philips is a great school to start at. They help you with most things. And everyone is friendly.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I know they have Pep Rallies, and places for hang-outs.

    Food and Dining

    They Have Vending machine's, which i Like, however i've never eaten at the cafeteria.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your time and tryout for extracurricular activities.

    In three sentences

    The staff there are helpful. They also are friendly. The financial aid takes a tad bit too long though.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on every time i walked out of a class i would hear music and smell good food,

    Dorm Life

    St Philips does not offer dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early do not wait till the last minute to register or take placement test.

    In three sentences

    More than half of the professors are very involved and make time and effort for student help. Tutoring for every subject is available , the only down falls of St Philips is the lack of parking and trying to make an appointment with deans.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to spend time with family and have a great time with my freetime.

    Food and Dining

    Never eat at St. Philip's

    Dorm Life

    Don't have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    College is way easier than high school, but make sure to take notes and listen in class. Do not fall asleep in class.

    In three sentences

    St. Philip's is a great school, I love it here. Their education is great. I love the classes I am taking. I love that I'm in college and in high school at the same time. I'm glad I was offered this opportunity.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You cannot compare the tuition fees to a university when it comes to getting a two year degree, it is about one-fourth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Fun depemds on what your interest are, but the staff is consistantly sending emails on activities going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food served at the cafeteria is always good and fresh, and I guess it is tied in with having the best culinary schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    My original plan was to go to St. Philip's and take all my pre-quisites and transfer, but after attending three semesters, I have decided to stay there and get my associates. If you are going into the medical field, they have one of the best nursing programs and other great degree programs to prepare you for the medical field. All the staff are very helpful and want you to succeed, but of course it is all up to you.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending since last spring and St. Philip's has overexceeded my expectations. The instructors are great and make themselves available for students. They offer some of the best degree programs for the medical field, which is my major.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    hoping to find out what clubs they have

    Great for these types of students

    engineers, computer whizzes or culinary and more!

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable campus only $800 for me.

    Food and Dining

    tasted a burger once, was really good!!!

    Academic Rigor

    so far what i have heard is they have GREAT classes

    Tips for prospective students

    just get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    been here a couple of times, once for a field trip for my computer class and to register for classes. i must admit everyone there seems nice, i talked to a couple of the teachers i will be having and they seem to know what they are doing. overall i give this campus a +1.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the campus itself is pretty safe, it's the surrounding areas that are not the safest. I gave it a 5 star because personally I did not have any problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life in this community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    I unfortunately did not participate in any clubs or activities in the short time I have taken prerequisites at this college and the other Alamo Colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    For all types of students, if I could do it all over again, I would have gone to community college first. In my opinion, it is easier and cheaper to attend community college first versus university. As a returning college student, I can see that now.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, I used up my financial aid for the first BA I received and had to pay out of pocket for classes I took here, very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    When I am not studying, I enjoy spending time with my two kids, going to the movies, bowling, spending time with the rest of my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    I have never bought anything to eat on this campus, so I cannot say how good or bad the food is.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here being that it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience has been awesome. Great teachers and not so difficult. I am completing prerequisites for a Second Degree BSN program and managed to get an A in all my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    As mentioned previously, the campus is not in the best side of town, therefore, always keep a watchful eye. Try to always park close to the building you are going to.

    In three sentences

    Surprisingly a college with beautiful buildings and rather new. The building for Health Professionals and the Library is where I spend most of my time and both buildings are nice. The teachers I've had are great and haven't had any issues. The only downfall is, the campus is located in the bad area of town. I haven't had any problems, I simply park as close as I can to the building I'm going to. However, always maintain a watchful eye.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe, for the most part at the school. Campus security is constantly circling the campus, which is reassuring.

    Greek Life

    uncertain?

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some good clubs to join, but very few activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a good place for students who would like to students who would like to start school in a friendly environment, without a large over crowded classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not spotted anything unusual yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting my money's worth. It's a good education in a small, less stressed environment.

    What to do for fun

    The school could use more fun activities during celebratory days.

    Food and Dining

    I think the school has a good food selection to choose from, but they could use a little more variety. I do however love that they are willing to listen to the consumers complaints, it's refreshing.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no near-by dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think for such a confined school, the academic professors do an excellent job at staying involved with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to the Welcome Center. Ask questions until you feel comfortable with your whereabouts and your needs are met. Come to open house to find out more about the school before it begins.

    In three sentences

    They have some great of clubs to join. The school professors are more attentive and less stressed possibly from the reduced environment. It's not hard to find a parking spot on any given day.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, most students live in the surrounding area.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is tough, but well worth it in the end. After all, it is college!

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are ideal for all students. The teachers are willing to assist with assignments through help centers. The staff is wonderful.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During the mornings and afternoons there are security patrols supervising the entire campus- especially in parking lots. The school also keeps students up to date with any campus crimes reports through email.

    Bang for the buck

    Eligible students for financial aid receive most of the pell grant as a refund check after tuition fees are withdrawn. With less than a thousand removed from the check, the money left over is a substantial amount to put towards buying or renting textbooks and other necessities such as a parking permit.

    What to do for fun

    The student center is available for students to spend time at socializing during breaks. With video games, comfy plush seating, and air conditioning! Plugs are also available for students that choose to bring laptops, or charge their cell phones in between classes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides satisfying breakfast and lunch foods. The price, though, is very unsatisfactory as it will accumulate over time into a major spending cost. There are plenty of vending machines located throughout the campus to hold a student over until they are completed with classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing available.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Philip's, though it is a community college, provides everything to succeed whether transferring or graduating with an associates degree. There are multiple professors with various teaching styles for all courses. In putting forth adequate amount of effort towards a class, it is very simple to pass a course successfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    The lax atmosphere is tempting. And the only advice I can really give is to not allow it to influence your academic goals. There are appropriate times to relax during the semesters, but always bring your A game for exams.

    In three sentences

    St. Philip's college is the best choice as one of the local community colleges to attend. Whether attending to experiment with various majors to make the best decision for you or attending with a specific career in mind, it provides an upbeat and encouraging atmosphere. There's always the added bonus that as a student you will receive the same basic education at a lower cost than at a university!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alamo Community College District has their own Public Safety force. Campus Alerts are released promptly to remind you and ensure you take the time to be aware of your surroundings. And, yes, St. PhilipÂ?s is in Â?the hood, so to speakÂ?, but is still relatively safe.

    Greek Life

    As stated above, the only Greek Life here is the Phi Theta Kappa Chapter, but this is not a traditional Greek organization (no sorority, no fraternity, no Â?rush week or things of this ilk).

    Clubs and Activities

    You'Â?Â?ll get campus e-mails often for opportunities to join academic organizations and to participate in activities. There is a Phi Theta Kappa Chapter here; they are very involved in the community inside and outside St. Philips College.

    Great for these types of students

    New high-school graduates, Veterans, Active Duty/Reserve/National Guard Service Members, former college dropouts (like me ;)), those who work, parents (who may or may not work). (I am a mother of three with a full-time job doing full-time course loads)

    Bang for the buck

    As I have said before, this is a cost-wise option for starting your BachelorÂ?s Degree, continuing education, a certificate, or an Associates Degree. The classes here are just as good as the same ones being taught in four-year institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Check the website often for things to do at St. Philips. There is a student lounge with a game room. This is San Antonio, so there is plenty to do outside of college life as well!

    Food and Dining

    The dining facility got a Blue Plate Award from WOAI a few years back. They now have vegetarian dining options.

    Dorm Life

    This is a two-year school, so there is no housing. This is why students right out of high school choose to first pursue their studies in the Alamo Community Colleges: so they can cut costs by possibly staying home with parents for the first few years of their secondary education.

    Academic Rigor

    You'Â?ll no doubt hear of some instructors here who just don'Â?t give a damn. This is the case of the bad apple spoiling the whole bunch. Come here with a desire to learn what is being taught and your learning experience will be rich. There are many tutors here who will help you on your learning journey if you get stuck!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don'Â?t listen to others when they say that your credits won'Â?t transfer to four-year schools. Most will! I have my A.A.S in Medical Laboratory Technology and because of this, I am halfway towards my Bachelor of Science in Clinical Lab Sciences (Pre-Med track). If your program has a Â?2 + 2 option (get your degree at St. Philips, then go to a participating four-year institution for the remaining two years for your BachelorÂ?s), take advantage of it!

    In three sentences

    St. PhilipÂ?s is a very good place to start your educational path. Their library is a very relaxing and quiet place to study. St. PhilipÂ?s also very Veteran friendly!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    .....?

    Clubs and Activities

    Great guitar community

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary arts and automotive

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    What to do for fun

    Theres the Turbon Center where students can go to do homework or unwind with friends and play with the available gaming systems as well as play pool and watch cable television.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms, Community College

    Tips for prospective students

    Do Not Slack and get ahead on homework, if possible.

    In three sentences

    The school is a very nice place and is decently small, so its easy to find your way to your classes. Theres a bit of construction going on but is nothing that isnt improving our learning expericence, overall the school is Good.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had an issue with safety on campus. But I'm pretty sure the campus police would be able to assist anyone in need. I do remember that if you parked to far out in the evening, campus police would escort you to your car. I thought that was great.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Philip's College has a diversity of students attending this school. You get the opportunities to meet different students and their culture life. Lets everyone know, that we seek to have higher education any which way we can.

    What to do for fun

    The college does have a lot of extra curricular activities in the gym or they have a reck room to enjoy time between classes. A lot of students do take advantage of this extra commodity.

    Food and Dining

    The food was okay when I went to school. Majority of the time, we just snacked through the vending machines and went to class.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2 year junior college and their is not a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Well through my experience at St. Philip's, Academics is some thing you need to have in good standings. Yes, classes were very challenging when i went to school , but being able to make the Dean's list is an overall accomplishment. I feel the instructors are really there for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Well for the new prospective students entering St. Philip's College, the experience would be a great one. The school has been renovated with new buildings to support the amount of students entering college. The atmosphere is so relaxed, but the classes are very challenging, depending on what line of major you study for.

    In three sentences

    I've attended St. Philips college since 1994. I love the smaller classes and you get to have more one on one time with the instructors. Everyone that I have encountered at school is extremely nice and willing to assist you. I think that is the reason i chose to return back to this college.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    PHI BETA KAPPA

    Great for these types of students

    The medical training facility here is great. And I am a Business Major. The Accounting program is better here than the other colleges here in SA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A group is ALWAYS selling food on campus for a fundraiser.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening here. This is San Antonio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take math or science courses in the summer unless you are very sharp in these studies.

    In three sentences

    St. Philip's has a very diverse enrollment. The Professors/Instructors are easy to get a hold of. The tudoring department is friendly.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Philip's College has an officer on duty 24/7. Also there are phones threw out the campus to get in contact with the campus police department if you may feel unsafe. Our crime rates are slim to none and everyone is really friendly.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greeks

    Clubs and Activities

    At St.Philips college they have multiple clubs and activities for the students. They have clubs for minorities, handicap and sport clubs. The one thing I like about the clubs at my school is that you have to have a 3.0 GPA, which pushes students to work harder to keep there grades up in school while having fun.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Philip's College helps anyone who needs help and has tutors on duty for all subjects from 8am-8pm. Also if your disable(like me) they have a great disability service center. The people are very patient and will help you until all your questions and concerns are answered.

    What to do for fun

    At St.Philips College there are a lot of organizations that do a lot for our community. Therefore, you are never left with nothing to do during the semester, if your in an organization. Also they have study groups were you can meet new people and study, which is pretty fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining facility is great. The food is always hot and the dining facility is never dirty no matter how crowded it may be. St. Philips takes a lot of pride in keeping there campus clean.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I absolutely love the teachers and the passion they have for teaching at St. Philips College! If you have concerns and questions about the material that your learning, the teachers will be happy to help you no matter what.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a college student, your GPA is very important to keep up. At St. Philip's college, they offer a lot of free money to students who have high GPA's. Therefore; if you keep your GPA up, you will see schools contact you to attend there school for free.

    In three sentences

    St. Philip's community college is a great school to attend your first two years of college. The staff and teachers really care about the students and will do everything they can to help you be successful. I'm so glad chose to attend St. Philip's college before going straight to a a university.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the police department at st. philip's, i think has done an excellent job on keeping the students and the campus safe. since becoming a student i have only know of three incidents in over two years.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are currently over 30 different clubs on campus.

    What to do for fun

    there is always some sort of programs going on around campus. there is a center for you to do everything from play pool, video games, cards, dominoes, or just watch tv. there is a gym and an indoor pool as well as a weight room that students can use anytime.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good. but, the culinary departments lunches are always on point.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    academics are very important but should you have trouble with classes, there is a tutoring lab to help. math world is the largest recognized tutoring center in san antonio. there is also a writing lab that helps as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    the one thing i can tell prospective students is to be prepared and any questions that you might think about, write down and never be afraid to ask. another message would be to not procrastinate when it comes to your financial aid applications and forms, to ensure you receive your funds when you need them.

    In three sentences

    st. philip's is a great school to prepare you for a four year degree. st. philip's has many activities for the students to do and organizations for students to join. st. philip's has the only 5 star chapter honor society in san antonio.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much

    Food and Dining

    If your hungry .

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early.

    In three sentences

    This school is a good school to get ready for a real college.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are trying to watch expenses. Students that need to get their basics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. If you want or need financial aid, you really need to get that done early. That's what will hold you up. Take your Accuplacer test early, so you have time to retake if you need to. This test determines what type of classes you will be put in (eg Remedial or College courses.)

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper than most schools. It's okay for basics.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the teachers don't seem to be familiar with a lot of the new technology. However, the teachers will email you information that you need. They will also answer questions by email if you are confused about something.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    with F.A i amble to come to school

    Am enjoying being here

    its so much fun

    Am learning a lot

    its amazing what i am learning here

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The college is affordable. Money wise, it just depends on what you want to do like your major and the program you will want to get into.

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is real lively. The students here are outgoing and very helpful. I am sure that you will make friends no matter what. There are friends that will help with work and they are people that you can talk to about anything.

    Am learning a lot

    At this college the teachers are real nice and they will work with you on what ever it is you need. They are easy to obtain information from and you will learn a lot because they will do anything for you to understand. Of course not all of the teachers here will do this but most of them will.