Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Sterling College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Campus while school is in session. Come with questions on areas of interest to you. If you want to play sports tryout you'll probably make it.

    Bang for the buck

    Sterling does cost a whole lot, but they will try to work with you and help supply you with scholarships. But there is a certain amount of effort on your part to search out for scholarships to help you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I do enjoy this college. It is small so you shouldn't get lost, but if you do you can ask anyone and they will be glad to help you. I am apart of the women's basketball team and that has been probably the best experience I have had since being here. The girls care about each other and enjoy being together. The coaches are great, I think a team will follow in the attitude or character of the coach. I think our team has great attitudes and good sportsmanship. Coach obviously cares about each girl.

    Am learning a lot

    Learning a lot is a understatement. The teachers love what they do and that is evident in the classroom. If you need help they make time and really try to help you understand the material better.

  • 04/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian/Protestants/Catholics Music Sports Buisness Pre-Med Education (Sterling was founded on their education department) Psychology People who like relational learning Outgoing Shy EVERYONE!

    Tips for prospective students

    When coming to college try not to room with someone you have known before! Its such a great experience to live with someone you don't know, experience something completely new! PS. Sit in the front row... I know in high school it might have been dorky, but you really do learn better and professors see that you take their class seriously!

    Bang for the buck

    Small Christian Colleges sure are expensive, but Sterling is pretty affordable. It can be expensive, but it really is an investment. One fantastic thing about sterling is you can get scholarships for almost anything. I have an academic scholarship, a music scholarship, and a theater scholarship (and I'm not even apart of the theater department, I just take part in plays or musicals every so often). Many people receive sports scholarships or major scholarships (for example my friend Brianna has a biology scholarship because that is her major). The thing to remember when looking at colleges isn't how much the tuition is, its how much the tuition is after scholarships. Get out there! Check out schools and apply for scholarships!

    Am enjoying being here

    Sterling College has an extremely welcoming and friendly environment! Coming from a huge state like California to a little town smack dab in the middle of Kansas was a big step for me! I felt out of place and lonely. I didn't have any friends or family around; but the people at Sterling really helped me with the homesickness. Everyone here is so friendly and the teachers do everything they can to be apart of your life. To have such amazing encouragement from teachers, coaches, RAs, RDs, and friends is what has really gotten me through being so far from home. I wouldn't rather be any other place in the world!

    Am learning a lot

    The best thing about Sterling College is the fact that it is a small college. I am currently a Music Major which is a tough field to enter into. My experiences at Sterling have only helped me. The class sizes are extremely small, which makes it easier to have a relationship with your teachers. Coming from a graduating class of 750 to a school of 728 makes a huge difference. It is easier to concentrate and the teachers really go out of their way to help you out.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is such a small town that it is 100% safe on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town and family oriented people. We also have a very great Christian environment throughout the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a women's step team.

    What to do for fun

    Many people enjoy attending the sports games, movie theaters, there is an exotic animal farm, the state fair is 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    We just got a brand new $1.5 million cafeteria put in. It is beyond gorgeous.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many activities and hall events going on that they leave you no time to be bored.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intense but with 5-25 people in an average class you get unlimited amount with your professor. Your professors also do begin to know you on a personal basis and then they only want the best for you and to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an absolutely amazing school to attend and I would never go back and change my decision to be here.

    In three sentences

    Everyone knows everyone and takes care of each other. Such a nice atmosphere to constantly be around. The whole town supports the school and the sport teams.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorms are always locked. But no other real measures to keep us safe.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics brings in the most amount of students to this campus. The clubs are ran well and organized.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians, Theater Students, Music Students, Athletes looking to play

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some pranksters but the campus administration is very strict and usually puts an end to that quickly. The best tradition is TAG (Total Assination Game) which is an on-going water gun fight.

    Bang for the buck

    This is not the school for the typical college experience. The price is outrageous for the quality of life here.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing in town. The town is VERY small with only one stop light. The nearest town with a movie theater, wal-mart and anything else to do/eat is 30+ minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    We just got a new cafeteria which looks great but the food is very average, sometimes below.

    Dorm Life

    No boys can be in the girls dorms on Monday or after 11pm on Tuesday-Thursday and Sunday. Friday visitation is only allowed 6pm-1pm and Saturday 2pm-1pm. There must be a shoe in the door if a member of the opposite sex is in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are easy. The teachers are very willing to help students succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just a heads up, there is mandatory chapel and visitation rules. The school is full of athletes from around the country which is fun, but the strict rules can put a damper on the college experience.

    In three sentences

    A Christian school that focuses mainly on the spiritual growth. The college is in a very small town. The teacher-student ratio is perfect.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very strict. We have security that drive around our campus to help secure the safety of our students and to make sure that all students are protected. They know each student and there faces. If they see something unusual they are right there on the job.

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is club week where students participate in different activities with there clubs. They have activity night with there clubs so that they can build relationships amongst there club. There are many activities which also fall under intramural where there's a sport that people participate in like, basketball, softball, flag football, dodgeball and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something specific for each student to enjoy. They could find at least one thing that may spark there interest. It's a campus filled with so much joy and fun. From the staff to the students and all the fun activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions on campus that we do. There are ring ceremonies where if someone is being proposed to they do a ring ceremony. Another would be spirit week where students go all out and crazy to participate in for homecoming week before the big football game. There are plenty others but would want you to see for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is filled with a whole bunch of fun, but also being at a small Christian college it gets a little expensive, but the academics staff here always helps you find ways that you can help pay for school or can figure out a payment plan that fits your needs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities around campus so that the student can attend, there are football games, baseball, softball, soccer, and other intramural activities for non athletes to participate in. It's very cool and you get to bond with other people and to socialize. There's never a weekend without any activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is good, and also healthy. There is a selection to choose from every single day. You most definitely will find something you like and after a great meal desserts are served as well and are freshly cooked by our staff.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. Each dorm has a variety of activities that they do to keep students engaged. I enjoyed them all and just made me feel like I was wanted there. Great living, they try to keep it clean for all the students to feel like they are at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here at Sterling. They want to see you succeed and have a future set for you before leaving the college. They will help in every way possible to help you with anything that you need help with.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is very open. So don't be afraid to take risks and be open to other people. They will love and care for you and will be there through your lowest valleys and high mountains. Go in with a positive mindset and everything else with fall into place.

    In three sentences

    This college has changed my life, not only physically but spiritually. I was welcomed with open arm from the students and also the staff. These people are really loving and take the time out to sit down with you and guide you through your school year.

  • 12/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt more safe in my life. The college is located in a quaint, small town with a low to no crime rate. The dorm doors are locked until residents unlock them with their student ID's. It is a small campus, monitored by security guards and easy to navigate. It is located in a beautiful area.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, but also so many opportunities to start your own club. Activities are top notch. I am never bored because there is always something going on. Boredom is not an issue at Sterling College.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are passionate about Jesus, sporty, wanting a community, diligent, social, creative, musical, artsy, and simple.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sword in the stone is in the middle of the campus for all to see. It represents strength of the warrior. Smisor stadium is big because it is the largest structure on campus and it is where a large amount of events happen. Cornerstone is a cozy lounge for performances, events, eating, and hanging out. It is actually my favorite place on campus because of the vibe it encompasses.

    What to do for fun

    What isn't fun about Sterling College? There is always something going on. Events are put on by student government: bonfires, movie nights, karaoke nights, concerts, games, dances, and so much more. There are sporting events to attend: soccer games, football games, volleyball games, and more. People make their own fun: pool parties, playing sand volleyball, going out to eat, bowling, clubbing, and more. The list could go on and on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. I wouldn't say I like it better than my favorite restaurants, but it is healthy, hearty, and keeps me alive.

    Dorm Life

    Holy guacamole! I love the dorm life at Sterling. Everyone is required to live on campus, so it is one big party all the time. You are never alone. People are always hanging out, doing homework, learning, and having fun together. I couldn't ask for a better living situation.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but the teachers are not only extremely qualified, but available to have personal connections with students because of the size of classes. I have had beneficial homework and no busy work to keep me on task toward achieving my goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Realize that who you are surrounding yourself with will make all the difference in the world. The people are what makes the college experience so special. I believe Sterling College does it best by inviting the most quality people to come aboard and enjoy everything it has to offer. It has so much to offer! Ministries, sports teams, leadership, events, and so much more. I would seriously take a step to check out this college.

    In three sentences

    Sterling College is a christ-centered, safe haven in the middle of Kansas. The community and people are what make it so special because of the fellowship they provide. There are so many opportunities to grow your faith in Jesus Christ, but they open their arms welcoming people in, not forcing them to learn.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians Football Players Music Art Track/Field Cross Country

    Tips for prospective students

    As Sterling is a Liberal Christian College there many non-Christians here. I suggest that you make the right friends fast or endure hardship for the rest of your years.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private-Christian college it is expensive. However the Financial Aid Office will help you with your money problems to their best of abilities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sterling is a small Christian-oriented college in a small town in the middle of nowhere. There is not much to do around here, however there are many activities that the activities board does that makes the weekend go by faster.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college so it is expensive but it is a great experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are so nice! Everyone says hi to everyone! It is like a small community.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here definitely encourage deeper thinking in the subjects.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    While sports are in season, you can always go and watch and support the Warriors. We also have a couple smaller restaurants in town that you can dine at. However, more options are available within a 15-30 minute range. You can go enjoy a movie within 30 minutes, bowl in town or within 30 minutes, and also enjoy shopping within 30 minutes.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't bad at all! And Sterling is also getting a cafeteria makeover along with all new food options coming in the 2012-2013 academic school year.

    Dorm Life

    As a private Christian college, Sterling wants to engage students in Christian values. Therefore, some of the dorm policies are strict, but they're nothing you can't live without. There are visitation hours, and if you have a member of the opposite sex in your room within those hours, you have to have a shoe in the door.

    Academic Rigor

    Sterling can challenge you in academics, although it's not so hard that you won't be able to have a life because you're constatnly trying to study or pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sterling College is in a small-town of 2,400 people. While this may seem like a turn off, it's a great community and they really support the students at SC. The town and the college of a small-town since of community. While many people may be leery about SC, there are always students from out-of-state, and out of town who stay during the summers, and have stayed in Sterling upon graduation.

    In three sentences

    Sterling College is a place where you can start or grow your Christian faith. You are challenged academically by diverse faculty. You also have many opportunities to get involved with campus activities, and participate or support athletics.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a texting sytsem just in case a shooter gets on campus.

    Greek Life

    Non that I know of, actually.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not in one myself, but there are plenty of them of different types.

    Great for these types of students

    Studios, yet carefree students; the library is open late night and has special, soundproof rooms, as well as campus events (which are awesome, by the way; things like raves and movie nights).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition is the cheer groups on campus, organized by students. There are two well known locations on campus: Cooper Hall, the castle featured on the website, and Sputnik, the clock in front of the library.

    Bang for the buck

    Dollar General right across the street; I feel like I picked the right College.

    What to do for fun

    They have many on campus events, and two towns 10-30 mins away with various museums and attractions. The State Fair is only 30 mins away, when it's going on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fairly good; the downside is that you are not allowed to bring food out of it, aside from ice cream cones.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorm community; R.As and R.Ds are super involved with our lives.

    Academic Rigor

    The Athletic Trainers program is the most rigorous here; my roommate is in it as a Freshman, and she has to apply to continue in it. Many of the other programs, like the Education programs, have GPA standards; for most, it is 2.7 or higher, depending on which program you are enrolled in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be around Christian students, both the judgmental and accepting kind, but also be prepared for non-Christian students. Go into it with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Sterling College is an incredible vocational school with a great community. It's a lot of fun and hosts many different events for students. One thing to keep in mind is that it is a Christian school, which means that there are a number of Christian Gen Ed courses, such as Chapel and Old Testament/New Testament.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Be creative

    Food and Dining

    For a cafeteria, it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I loved my experience

    Academic Rigor

    My major was super difficult. I know some of my friends who took some majors that were veeeery easy, but mine was very rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to everything you can, whether that is events or other activities

    In three sentences

    Sterling is an awesome place with awesome faculty and people

  • 11/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Probably the weakest point of Sterling College.

    Academic Rigor

    Some majors are a lot harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not make a decision to attend Sterling College until you have first visited the campus.

  • 03/20/2015

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never locked my car door or my dorm room. The college has put certain things in place to help with safety but its such a safe environment they don't really need to do much, although they could.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics and the fine and preforming arts are big and everything kind of revolves around those activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Theatre enthusiasts, Art students, students looking for a Christ centered College and most importantly Friendly people. If you are looking for a party scene this is definitely not the best choice but of course its College so there are still parties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rowdies at Football games! The Gleason Goonies at Basketball games! When a couple gets engaged (which happens a lot) the girl has a ring ceremony and the guy is tied to a chair in his boxers and left in front of the girls dorm. On the first snow of the school year people go streaking, and weirdos watch them. Pranks lots of pranks.

    Bang for the buck

    Relative to other Private and Christian Colleges Sterling is one of the most inexpensive, but with that said it is more expensive than your state schools and jucos. It is going to be what you put in, if you mess around and just get by you're not going to get as much value as you would like. Something that you should keep in mind is the the value of a Christian College and the value of resources you have a Sterling.

    What to do for fun

    Sterling is a small town with not a lot to do but I was never bored. Most people end up being too busy if anything. On Campus: Sporting events Campus events - Monte Carlo, Talent show, Bingo night, Halloween Dance, Formal and lots more. In Sterling: Bowling.... thats about it. Other Cities: Hutchinson is about 25 min. away and has a bunch of things to do and Wichita is only about an hour and has almost everything any other big city would have.

    Food and Dining

    Here is the deal about the food, IT IS A CAFETERIA! People all over the country at almost every college complain about the cafeteria food, it's not because the food is bad it's because you eat there 3 times a day 7 days a week. Now if we are comparing apples to apples Sterling has one of the best cafeterias for a small college. It was recently remodeled and has had an upgrade in the quality of food. When I talk to people who have eaten at other colleges cafeterias they are always saying Sterling's is way better.

    Dorm Life

    I loved living in the dorms at Sterling, the only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because some of the dorms are old and not in great shape. Although Sterling is a small town with not a lot going on I was never bored because the dorms always had something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Sterling can be difficult or rather easy depending on the program your in. The content was much more difficult than high school but I did better at Sterling because of the small class sizes and the fact that I had professors that were willing to work with me.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Visit Campus! Sterling is a great place but it's not for everyone. I felt at home on my campus visit and it sold me on Sterling. 2) If you are from out of state be open to change and a different culture. 3) Understand that it's a Christian College, with that comes a lot of great things but also means that Sterling has different rules than other colleges. Chapels are required, and there are certain visitation hours that the opposite can be in your dorm. For a Christian College the visitation hours are not super strict, and 14 chapels a semester is not difficult to get at all. 4) Don't count Sterling out until you have received your total financial aid package. Scholarships, grants, and loans can make Sterling very affordable for certain people.

    In three sentences

    Sterling College is awesome! It's home to the best people in the world and I would do it all over again if I had the chance.