Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinity Western University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 04/01/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Lots of options at Sodexo, but it's sometimes tricky when you hit the rushes because then the only quick options are the unhealthy ones. My advice is to go grab food a bit before or after the lunch and dinner rushes so that you can get the yummier, healthy stuff without waiting forever!

    Dorm Life

    You get to make amazing new friends, learn how to live in community and experience personal and spiritual growth through conversations and great leadership! Plus, you have tons of fun events to go to, so take advantage of all that dorm life has to offer!

    Academic Rigor

    University can be a lot of work, but the cool thing is that the profs are very willing to help you out and answer your questions. They are often available to meet with you one-on-one and they care about your success not only in class but in life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to dig in to life here. The more you put into you time at TWU, the more you'll get out of it! And trust me, there is no other school that is as warm, closely-connected, and designed for your success and growth than Trinity!

  • 07/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety has actually increased during my time here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots of variety - from intramural sports to an outdoor club to swing dancing to outreach ministries and bible studies...

    Great for these types of students

    Trinity has so much to offer in terms of spiritual development and growing in your relationship with God, growing in your field of study, growing in your friendships, growing as a human being... basically Trinity has something for everyone because of the growth it offers combined with the amazing, highly-ranked academic programs it has.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's something called the Banana Challenge (which is as ridiculous as it sounds) - it's a relay race where you do different things and pass off the banana to the next person.

    Bang for the buck

    I completely believe that the investment in your education at Trinity is completely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    At Trinity, you can go for walks around the pond or in a forested area, you can slackline, you can chase geese... and in the local area there's a local movie theatre, we're not to far from a few different malls, and there are lots of great places to eat!

    Food and Dining

    Between the three different places to eat on campus, there's a decent amount of variety! Plus, it's all good quality, they work with allergies, and who doesn't like a great Hot Chocolate?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. There's always something going on, so if you have to do homework you can know you're not missing out because there will be something else to do tomorrow! Community is a big deal in dorm life (and just everything at TWU), so you build tight relationships that last your whole time here.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor can vary from class-to-class or even program-to-program, but in any class and any program you will find yourself challenged. Professors get to know you personally and so they know what you're capable of! While the classes are challenging, overall they're also fun and engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to have fun and meet lots of people, but also come ready to study because the classes are great!!

    In three sentences

    TWU offers a variety of programs paired with lots of fun events. It's a school where you meet the kind of friends you'll have for the rest of your life. Langley is a great place to live in because you're close to both the city and the mountains.

  • 07/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to grow in their relationship with God while also pursuing their education will be absolutely at home. You will constantly be pushed personally, spiritually, and academically.

    Bang for the buck

    Trinity gives an absolutely incredible experience for those who want it. If you come here your life will be changed. I can't think of a better place to prepare you for life after school.

    What to do for fun

    There's so many people on campus to hang out with, you'll never be bored. Catch a movie at Colossus or the drive in theatre, grab some sushi, or go for a walk in the back-40, there's tons to do!

    Food and Dining

    The caf gets a little old after a while and it's not as cheap as it could be, but there's a pretty big selection of stuff.

    Dorm Life

    The campus community is far and away the defining characteristic of Trinity. Living on campus you'll constantly be a part of awesome events and there will always be good friends to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors are top notch. You'll be expected to work hard, but there will be a lot of help from your proffs along the way. The small classes and one on one attention from your professor will really pay off when your struggling with an assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged. When you're here you'll take classes that will push you, you'll meet people who want to grow alongside of you, and you'll study under professors who want to challenge your beliefs in the best way possible! Get involved in student leadership if you can! It's a great way to make some money, get direct mentoring from a staff member, and gain some really invaluable experience!

    In three sentences

    Trinity has an incredible community that will totally shape your university experience! I've made awesome friendships here and am constantly being shaped into a better person. Coming to Trinity was the best decision of my life!

  • 07/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, I feel confident walking to the parking lot at night that I am safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of ways to get involved on campus! student Life is a great place to start!

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent investment. You are worth investing in!

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the campus pond, go the mall nearby, explore Fort Langley. Late night Tim Horton's runs.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious food and can accommodate many different food allergies.

    Dorm Life

    Best way to build community is to live in the dorms!!

    Academic Rigor

    A top notch University with a high standard of academic, you will surely be challenged to learn and grow. The professors really care about you and desire to meet with you in their office hours if you need clarification or a little extra help. They want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open mind and a desire to grow.

    In three sentences

    Trinity Western University (TWU) is a safe place to grow in your faith as an individual within a loving, caring community. The professors love to teach and take an interest in getting to know their students. You are so much more than a number or face in the crowd here at TWU.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is probably the safest campus in Canada! The buildings are small and close together, so you never find yourself walking miles to get somewhere. The school is located out of the way so there are never any random strangers on campus, especially at night. I've never felt so safe walking around by myself!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs, activities, and ministries to get involved with at Trinity Western. From outdoor recreation clubs, academic clubs, ministries with the homeless, children, or old folks, you'll find exactly what fits you.

    Food and Dining

    You'll definitely get tired of the cafeteria, but the daily specials usually mix it up. There are healthy options such as wraps, soups, stir fries and salads, and everything is made for you. There are not many other options on campus besides the cafeteria. There are two coffee shops, each serving the same coffee as the cafeteria, as well as a sub sandwich shop, and Jugo Juice for smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    Living in dorms at Trinity Western is the ideal experience for this school. Without living in dorms, I wouldn't have met the friends I have today. You become a very close knit community with not only your hallway, but also your entire building. Dorm dates are always fun!

    Academic Rigor

    With core classes, you'll find yourself taking a large and widespread course load at TWU. The classes are fast paced and you'll go through an entire textbook over the course of a couple months. Most classes are based the same way, one midterm, one research paper, and one final.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to preview weekend first. TWU will even reimburse you if you have to travel to get here. You never know how much you will enjoy being at a school until you visit. You get to meet amazing people, experience the dorms you'll be living in, eat the cafeteria food, and there are always activities planned for you.

    In three sentences

    Located close to Vancouver, Seattle, and many other areas that can be traveled to during weekends and breaks. Beautiful scenery including a pond and forest on the property. Amazing friendships are built here, the entire school is like a community.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt anything but safe on campus. When I think Trinity, being unsafe is not something that crosses my mind.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    TWU has tons of clubs and activities students can get involved in! I play for the Rec Women's soccer team called The Titans. I absolutely love it! It's a great way to exercise and I've gotten to know girls I wouldn't have know otherwise.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year we have Fort Week which is this crazy intense week of dorm challenges, games and banquets!

    Bang for the buck

    I've never regretted coming to TWU. Everything from small class sizes, to Profs that actually care, to great dorms and student leadership- Trinity is definitely everything you pay for and more.

    What to do for fun

    Anything from shopping in Vancouver to Hiking to events on campus! There is really never a shortage of varsity games to go to, or festivals, farmer markets, live music shows...

    Food and Dining

    Trinity's Cafeterias have tons of variety- different dinner specials, wraps, sushi, etc. The food is great and there is always fresh coffee!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! A lot of the students who go to Trinity live on campus- from Freshman to Seniors and it makes for a really fun atmosphere. There is always an event going on, from varsity sports games to concerts, it's always great to get to go to things with the friends you make in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at TWU really invest in their students. They expect you to work hard but they also are always willing to talk after class if you don't understand something! I've found that Profs are fair and really want their students to love what they are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a taste of University before you fully commit to it! One of the things I loved was going to a Preview Weekend and experiencing Trinity with other prospective students. It is definitely important for me to visit TWU and see what it was all about!

    In three sentences

    British Columbia is definitely one of the best places on earth to live! Whether you enjoy hiking or snowboarding in the great outdoors or riding your biking or long-board in the city- we have it all! The scenery is breathtaking and the people are wonderful!

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every body is very nice and the campus is not that big so always people around.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    so many are offered and you will have fun in any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    any one

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Banana challenge, an obstacle coarse where dorms dress up and compete with a banana.

    Bang for the buck

    All school is expensive but if you get a scholarship it definitely is comparable. I am going to graduate on time with awesome experiences.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in my dorm lounge, walk to chevron for Slurpees, go to the river, or walk around fort Langley(fun little small town, with shoppes).

    Food and Dining

    It is a little expensive but large serving sizes and delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    Awesome community, I get along with all of the girls in my building, even go out together and have so much fun.

    Academic Rigor

    this really depends on what classes and how many you choose but it is easy to be challenged or take a lighter load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to get involved, there are so many clubs, intramural, ministries and sports.The first few days are a bit overwhelming because of all the people you meet and fun things planned, take time to breath.

    In three sentences

    The community atmosphere makes moving into university life and finding friends seem easy. I have had dessert with one of my professors and have a student leader who showed me how to do everything. The small christian school is amazing and is even a liberal arts school!

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is daily Chapel and at the Catholic College on campus there is Mass everyday. There is an event called the Banana challenge, its an obstacle course that you have to do with a banana in your mouth. The teams are made up of dorms. Also an unusual tradition is that you must not grab a tray in the Cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    The small classrooms. You're not just a number in a classroom.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater at about a 10 minute drive. There are always activities going on such as, karaoke night, square dancing etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is provided by a company called Sodexo. Everything is made on campus. The food is very good and there is a variety of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms are great. They have separate girl and boy dorms. The RAs are always thinking of ways for your dorm mates to connect,

    Academic Rigor

    All the programs have the necessary tools for life. They push you to be your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is an amazing school for those seeking a Christian School. Everyone is very welcome and it feels like a small town. All the programs are top notch.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus and has very natural scenery. They teachers aren't impersonal. It is a place to go if you want a university experience without being lost in the crowd.