Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

The American University of Paris Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 11/16/2016

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Am interested in this university because I think is good for me. Good ranking. Good care.

  • 02/15/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After the November 2015 Paris terrorist attacks, AUP was equipped with full security across campus-- the faculty and staff have gone to great lengths to assure students safety.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities to join! We have great student extracurriculars- from a printed magazine to environmental clubs. You are also always welcome to start your own club. There's also a music room, bar/cafe, art gallery, media production room, art room, and loads of cozy spots to study or just hangout with friends.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for an urban university that does not have greek life and is full of people from around the world then AUP is the place for you! Also if you're a more independent person then you'd be a good fit at AUP because university life and the city of Paris can be really difficult to adjust to at the same time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We host a World's Fair day which is really fun. We have numerous tables set up for students to try a range of different foods that other students have prepared from their home countries. It's really a great day spent sharing different cultures and customs with your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it's pretty expensive once you add up the cost of living and tuition but again, it's also what you make out of it. I'd say it's worth the money if you take advantage of the opportunities the university and Paris provide for you.

    What to do for fun

    There's something for everyone in Paris, I can promise you that.

    Food and Dining

    It's Paris.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms, which is one of the best parts of AUP

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and faculty are phenomenal at AUP. All the professors are from different backgrounds and speak multiple languages. I study art history, and it's really the opportunity of a life time to go on study abroad trips all over the world and have class in museums around Paris.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class... that's my biggest advice for prospective students. I remember as a freshman, I would skip class without any regret, but the bottom line is that you're only hurting yourself and waisting a lot of money in the process.

    In three sentences

    I have fully enjoyed my experience at AUP so far, and I've made life long friends along the way. Paris is home to some of my most memorable experiences, and I'm so happy to have chosen the AUP community as my home for my undergrad education. Unlike large college campuses, AUPs urban campus and lack of dorms pushes you to grow up a lot faster than expected.

  • 02/08/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The sports area is lacking but its relatively easy to start a club and the people who get involved are really lovely.

    Great for these types of students

    People interested in Communications or Marketing probably would enjoy it the most. People with an international mindset/background.

    What to do for fun

    The school activities are great! We have lots of amazing speakers, film producers and authors come to visit frequently!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded! Bring spices from your home countries cause they are hard to find and expensive here unless you feel like taking a bit of a metro ride

    In three sentences

    AUP is great for making connections and getting internships.The location itself opens many doors but the classes are also really interesting due the the large diversity of professors and students.

  • 01/24/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Amex is wonderful, so eat there when you can. But there are so many delicious options around campus so make sure you try those too!

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know too much about dorm life at AUP considering I arrived here before the Comforts of Home system was put in place, but all the friends that I have who are a part of it truly to love their housing. Also, the apartments are super beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and professors at AUP are wonderful. There's always a lot to chose from and I often find that the classes I'm the most nervous about are the ones that surprise me and end up being the most enjoyable. Classes at AUP can get very challenging, but the professors are great in that they will readily make themselves available to help you when you need them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Two things: stay organized and get involved on campus. Classes and student clubs really are at the heart of AUP and to at least attempt to immerse yourself in those things will really help you get comfortable (especially in a new city!)

    In three sentences

    It's an incredibly inclusive and inviting campus! Coming from a very small, tight-knit high school I was a bit nervous to come to AUP at first, but the moment you arrive all of your fears simply disappear! It's wonderful.

  • 01/18/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is extremely safe on campus and we have security guars that are checking every single student's belonging.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student media is highly developed, we have a TV, a magazine and a website. We have a lot of sports such as BOX, Zumba, Volleyball, etc. There are a lot of clubs and activities that you can choose from and you can never be bored in AUP.

    Great for these types of students

    For multicultural and open minded students who want to study in English, but at the same time learn French and immerse themselves in the french culture and traditions.

    Food and Dining

    We have Amex cafe, which offers a lot of things. However, as we are located in the 7th arrondissement there are a lot of restaurants and cafes around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The first year, you should choose either a home stay or Comforts of Home which is the agency connected with the university. It is great because from day one you get the chance to meet a lot of people and you never feel alone. Also, most of the apartments are close to the university and before coming to Paris you will receive a list with your roommates, how to get to the university and a metro map.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but at the same time if you organise your time accordingly, you will have time for everything! The variety of subjects is very big and AUP is one of the few schools in which you can actually study ART History at the Louvre or at Musee D'Orsay. Studying in Paris will definitely expand your horizon and AUP understands that and that is why you can study Philosophy with Economics at the same time or Communications with ART. You have the right to choose whatever suits you best and to choose the best subject for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Start your application early and contact people from the university and tell them that you are interested in studying in AUP 2) If you want to apply for financial aid, it is crucial that you prepare early and have good grades at school. 3) If you want to be in an international university with very strong academics, come to AUP!

    In three sentences

    Located in the heart of the world, AUP combines the best of both worlds - an american style of education in the most beautiful European city. By having students from over 200 nationalities, AUP is one of the most international universities in the world. It is an amazing opportunity for me to be a student here because not only did I meet people from all over the world, but every day I am learning from two different classrooms - from the AUP and from the city of lights.

  • 11/30/2015

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe on campus in the 7th arrondissement, and after the recent events in Paris, security is almost cumbersome as every student must have their bagged checked and student ID checked and scanned multiple times. But it's for the goal of safety. Paris as a whole, it's a big city. Beyond campus, commuting home or out wherever, it's not any more dangerous than any other big city.

    Greek Life

    Not present and not needed. Americans already stick out like a sore thumb in Parisâ??no need for organized ways of being loud and disruptive to a culture.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and many ways to be involved in the community. The coolest part is that some are on a global scale. Helping Syrian refugees, programs involving UNICEF, bilingualism, international sports tournaments, international academic tournaments.

    Great for these types of students

    Explorers, risk takers, do-it-myself type students who are self-motivated. Students can get away, like at any school, by flying under the radar. But to get the most out of AUP and the experience of living in Paris, you've got to put the most into it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricy. Definitely challenging to live in Paris on a student budget instead of a tourist. But it's possible and students find ways to enjoy their time.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything in Paris. It's a big club/bar/concert scene, huge night life. I'm not into that; for me, it's a huge museum/exposé/exploration life. AUP does host many events, something is always going on every day of the week whether a diplomat is lecturing or there's an open mic in the Amex. Something for everyone. Also, the ability to travel all over Europe and beyond is great.

    Food and Dining

    No food and dining meal plan like a typical university. Campus is quite small, but it does have a student café, the Amex. They serve hot meals, cold salads/plates, inexpensive drinks, and baked goods. The best part though is the French foodâ??bakeries, patisseries, and boulangeries on our main campus street, restaurants, cafés, barsâ??the city is our dining hall. Much better than my friends' meal plans back in the States. I mainly cook at home though, which none of my friends can do in freshman dorms.

    Dorm Life

    No typical dorms, but a company called Comforts of Paris/Comforts of Home works with AUP to house all incoming students in apartments around Paris. It's great to have a full apartment with a kitchen, washing machine, bathroom, multiple rooms, etc. I can't imagine living in one room without any personal space in a dorm. It's overpriced, especially because freshmen sign a full year contract, but at least all housing arrangements, landlord issues, and expenses are handled by others.

    Academic Rigor

    I came from an International Baccalaureate program, and I find the work easy and light compared to the rigor of the past two years. I can't complain because this allows me some free time to work and also to travel. But then some students, even IB students, are sufficiently challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Examine yourself as a student and what type of person you are. I personally thrive here, but there are a good amount of students who came before they had considered what it's like to live in a foreign country, not being able to come home on weekends like their friends can back home, adjusting to not only life at university, which everyone deals with, but also city life, specifically Paris life, French, managing an entire apartment instead of a dorm, budgeting without a meal plan.

    In three sentences

    The unique strength at AUP is its ability to educate outside of the classroom. Its character is built on the foundations of Paris. Academics, student life, and the campus are all intertwined with Parisian culture.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a large city, but all of AUP's building are located within the 7th arrondisement (or district) which is very safe. Every student is given an ID card to use for opening all University buildings/classroom doors.

    Greek Life

    None whatsoever.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association AUP Student Media AUP Politics Association (AUPPA) The Debate Club Wine Society Roots & Shoots AUP Music and Performing (AMP) Runway Fashion Club AUP CARES

    Great for these types of students

    Intro/extro/ambiverts Academics Artists Athletes Thinkers Dancers Yogis Writers (many comfortable nooks and crannies for putting pen to paper) Passionate people Politically-inclined Fashion-enthusiasts

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On the first Tuesday every month there is Open-Mic night at The Amex Cafe. Every spring, AUP hosts a World's Fair where students run booths about their country's culture/food/music. Upon leaving the library on Rue Montessuy you can see the Eiffel Tower (it's a block away) on your left.

    Bang for the buck

    All depending on your situation. Students usually fall into two categories-- students who pay up front or by fixed scheduling or loan/scholarship students. There are many great opportunities for internships/work study, so it really depends on the person and whether or not they're making the most of their time here.

    What to do for fun

    PARIS IS YOUR OYSTER! The American University of Paris has a largely active community with all kinds of clubs and associations. Besides the student-run activities, go check out a play with reduced-price tickets! Have a crepe in front of the Eiffel Tower! Study for mid-terms next to the Notre Dame! So. Many. Art Galleries. Museums. Events.

    Food and Dining

    Students are invited to visit the Amex cafe which is located within the Bosquet building. The Goody's company is now running the cafe and if there's one thing the students come for it's the delicious burgers. The menu also includes deals (for example sandwich+drink+fries for one price) and vegetarian options. Besides this, there are vending machines in all of the other AUP buildings which have coffee, water, snacks, etc. There is no formal dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Student advisors and the housing department assist students to find an apartment once they're arrived in Paris. Although there are dorms available (called Campusea), they are quite expensive. According to the administrators, starting next year all incoming freshman will be required to go through Comforts of Paris which is a third-party company that sets students up in pods of 4.

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on your major and professor. I found all of my course materials to be riveting and very challenging. Professors are from all over the world and offer a different insight into the subjects they teach. There are strict late/cheating policies.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not from a big city, strip yourself of fear and doubt. The first few months will be a challenge between learning the language, learning how to handle a landlord, bills, etc. Paris is truly worth all of the frustration! It's scenic, cultural, and full of experiences waiting to be had.

    In three sentences

    At home in the world. A small community in a huge city. A liberal-arts approach to learning with classmates from all around the globe.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 people found this inaccurate. 8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe area of Paris, and we have doorman at each building.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the clubs are a joke, but you get to travel around with them.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're extremely rich and don't want to work while at school, then come on down.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No traditions or anything because this school is boring. But there are a lot of little secrets to get to know about the campus and the people.

    Bang for the buck

    It's extremely expensive for an awful education.

    What to do for fun

    It's Paris. This is the best city in the world for students, and it's the most beautiful. If you can't amuse yourself in the city of lights, I'm not sure what to tell you.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes they offer free wine and cheese at events.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, you have to find an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Absolutely no challenge what so ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn French before you go, because you're not going to be speaking French when you get here.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Paris in general is very safe. Also, the campus is located in the best possible neighborhood of Paris so it is very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The are several clubs and activities but there is also a lot of money donated to this field each school year. So, if AUP doesn't offer what you are interested in then start your own club! AUP is really great this way!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Go to the AMEX cafe and have a burger!

    Bang for the buck

    AUP is extremely expensive. The school is still growing and expanding so at the present time it is going through some growing pains and kinks that I believe will only get better with time. All and all that school is fantastic, the teachers and education is wonderful, and the experience is incomparable. Even though the tuition is expensive, I personally believe it is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Paris offers everything anyone could possibly want from restaurants to bars, museums, to night clubs, operas to comedy shows, and every type of person in the world.

    Food and Dining

    The food and wine doesn't get any better than in Paris!! The best part is you are walking so much that you don't have to feel guilty about indulging in the croissant for breakfast every morning.

    Dorm Life

    AUP doesn't have dorms so you really are renting an apartment on your own. This is great because you get to choose the neighborhood you live in, the type of apartment you get, etc. It really thrusts you into a life of living on your own. It is an awesome way to learn!

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the degree you are seeking and your classes. It is really as hard as you make it. If you want to really come out of college having learned a lot then set your mind to it and you will. If you just want to get by without really learning a whole lot and spending a lot of money in tuition then you can get away with doing that too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for culture shock. Don't expect to have the same living conditions that you had growing up (i.e. big apartment). See and experience as much as you can while living in Paris. It is a once in a lifetime experience!

    In three sentences

    Great school with a student body that represents every country around the world! Professors are equally as diverse and knowledgeable. The school setting is in the heart of Paris giving you access to the best of the best to round out your education.

  • 10/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 out of 31 people found this review useful. 10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Optimistic --- tedious possible challenges like conversing with a landlord, asking for help, becoming lost, cultural differences... - Open-minded

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply early to have a better chance of receiving better financial aid. 2. Ensure that your reasons for attending is truly worth it - especially for 3-5 years. 3. Begin refining budgeting skills earlier on.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, there is the social life, exceptional professors, student support, and of course, PARIS! AUP may be more or less of a problem when it comes to financial matters. I find AUP costly compared to U.S. community and state schools. I have also found that the living expenses may sometimes SURPASS the tuition expense for many students because life in Paris for those who are newly independent, while financially dependent, could definitely propose a burden. I am not sure how qualified I am to make such a statement because this is only my first semester as a freshman in college. But perhaps that while make me more qualified? Nonetheless, I have encountered students from many cultural and economic backgrounds who are here because of the education. One more thing to mention - AUP has really great career development programs like internships and career supports.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because of the quality of the education. There is everything from educational trips across the world to a social life which the student government facilitates very well. I have noticed that there are some students who do not really prefer going to pubs and night clubs or some who do not prefer outdoor activities - even those who prefer different things! Regardless, AUP has things available for each kind of student. Besides, since the students are an integral part of facilitating matters of the school, many students of every character are empowered to create smaller communities with interests in the community of AUP. It is great!

    Am learning a lot

    I did research prior to applying for the American University of Paris. I also did study abroad for about six months during my senior year of high school before coming to France. However, this experience was very enriching in ways that I did not imagine while applying. Here, if a student is not used to being around many cultures and an absolutely foreign language it may be more challenging but nonetheless empowering to be a part of. When one says something about learning outside of the classroom, the American University of Paris is definitely one of these. I learn so much outside of the classroom because the classes are small and interactive, the teachers are passionate, and the support is incredible. For example, my French class may mean going to a grocery store one day and a museum later in the semester! The quality of the curriculum is exceptional. The professors have their own ways of keeping students motivated while staying relevant. The school has roughly around 1,000 students and it is truly a school that has students at the core of everything. Yes, one may refute that schools are FOR students so why shouldn't students be part of this core. Here, things are initiated by students - the yearbook club, the sports club, sports competitions, student support, student representative to the school officials, and etc. AUP is developing an interactive sports program. Initially, clubs were passionate enough to where the student athletes push to be local, regional, and international competitions. Now, there are two competitive teams that either have already participated in international tournaments or have tournaments in their itinerary. It teaches the students to be motivated for AUP doesn't do for you but rather teaches you to do for yourself. Outside of the classroom, the school motivates and encourages students to be active in the community. I was encouraged by my French teacher to volunteer with the French Red Cross - something which I sought while beginning the Fall semester. I did not travel much prior to AUP. Being here, they gave me the tools to learn and represent myself while in the community. Also, students are housed in local places because there aren't any dorms - it teaches independence among the students.