Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Touro College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/21/2016

    Reviewer is A current student here. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great, and stimulating.

    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security by all entrances, and I.D. are always required.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Touro College Los Angeles is located in the center of Los Angeles with beaches, amusement parks, and restaurants all within close driving distance.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but manageable, and the teachers are very helpful

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak to previous students to buy books from them. Stay on good terms with the teachers.

    In three sentences

    Touro College is an all-girls Orthodox Jewish college. It offers a variety of majors and excellent courses. There is a feeling of community and an all around great environment.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Travel around NYC!

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't reside in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm currently in the Computer Applications course and it's a bit tough to be honest!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a current student about which classes /professors they recommend.

    In three sentences

    It's a wonderful place for students who appreciate the wealth of support provided by the faculty and administration.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I was told by my united federation of teachers union representative that Touro College is very supportive of their students. I went to the campus for the first time recently and the staff was very happy and helpful. I think that it is the right fit for me.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    Clubs and Activities

    dont attend any

    Great for these types of students

    hard working, determined, respectfull

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    religous

    Bang for the buck

    I am very determined, hard working, Polish, working my way up for last 10years to sucess academicly once we came to US.

    What to do for fun

    Sit out and enjoy sun and fresh air

    Food and Dining

    very good

    Academic Rigor

    4 star

    Tips for prospective students

    study, be determined, be chllenged, dont give up

    In three sentences

    Best family oriented school community Great professors Challenging academics

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a gym, lounge and pool table available. The library is a nice place to study and talk with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not particularly fond of the meal plan available on campus. However, tools to make your own meals are provided. The dining options in the community are also limited (especially if you do not have access to an automobile. And if you have an automobile, the parking availability is limited).

    Dorm Life

    There's a great dormitory. There's great people. It's great, but it's not exactly your average campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult, but not overly easy. It's a fine institution. Lots of the academic rigor is solely dependent on the particular instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many Touro College campuses. Discuss individual classes with student who are currently enrolled for further details.

    In three sentences

    Touro College is a wonderful opportunity to specialize in various fields on an undergraduate level (I cannot yet attest to their graduate school. But I've been told by other students who are apart of the graduate program that it is an excellent program.) Touro College has given me the tools to succeed and to continue to succeed in Psychology.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Manhattan Campus is very safe as we are in 23rd st and 5th ave.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college, so be prepared to shell out some serious dough. I think it is still very much worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines mostly.

    Dorm Life

    I live near, so I don't use their dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are really there to help you all the way. You can easily book a tutoring session and the library is very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get early to class. Come prepared to class. Do your homework on time. Participate in school functions.

    In three sentences

    Touro is a respectable academic institution. The professors really care about their students and make sure they are achieving their personal goals for their major and overall lives. I would recommend this school to students that are serious about getting an education and preparing for their careers in general.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    School is very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't have time for that

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it is a jewish school, so they have a lot of day off

    What to do for fun

    student club

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on cumpus

    Academic Rigor

    the school is very stick with plagiarism

    Tips for prospective students

    don't buy your books at the bookstore. They are expensive

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school. Teachers are friendly. I receive a good education

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is located on Mare Island, so there is only one road that leads to campus, which makes it a bit safer. There is also an excellent campus security team that patrols campus throughout the day and night. They will also escort students from buildings to their cars at night if students do not feel comfortable walking to their cars.

    Greek Life

    No greek life at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens of clubs offered to students, and students can see what all these clubs are at Club Day, a full day devoted to learning about and enrolling in different clubs during orientation in August.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in pursuing a career in one of the various health professions offered: Public Health, Physician Assistant, Pharmacy, Physician (DO).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Touro is a Jewish-affiliated school, so all Jewish holidays and traditions are obverved, and the campus closes accordingly. In addition, all food prepared on campus is kosher.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, the tuition is quite high. But not any more than other private schools offering the same degrees. In doing price comparisons, I've found that Touro is sometimes less expensive than other private schools with similar programs.

    What to do for fun

    Being in bay area has its perks as far as things to do in the area. San Francisco is only a 40 minute drive or 55 minute ferry ride away from campus. The Napa and Sonoma wine country are 30 minute drives away from Vallejo. The beach and Pacific Ocean are less than an hour away, and skiing in the winter or hiking/swimming in the summer at Lake Tahoe is about a 3 hour drive away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are not meals for lunch on campus, and the food is good and relatively well-priced for the generous portion sizes. There are also sandwich bars and several vending machines around campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently no dorms on campus. All students live off-campus and commute.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet started the medical program, but did just complete the MPH program. It is a relatively young program, so the school is still in the process of securing long-term faculty for certain courses. I suspect it is not as difficult as other well-established programs nearby (UC Berkeley), but it is less than 10 years old. Some of the faculty are very knowledgeable and lead very interesting class lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop a good relationship with the admissions office. They are a lot more responsive to applicants phoning/emailing them with questions/concerns, and you can get a lot more done by keeping in regular contact with them. I went in directly to the admissions office and was able to secure an interview date for the medical school by speaking with them directly in person.

    In three sentences

    I currently attend Touro University - California, a satellite campus of Touro College. The school is convenient for those wanting to stay in the bay area in Northern California, as it is located just north of Berkeley in Vallejo. The school is great for those wanting a private education on a small campus with small class sizes.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I don't eat their food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in line and then it all goes well.

    In three sentences

    I find it to be a good place. They seem to be accommodating and well run, as long as you do what your supposed to be doing. So fare everything has been going smoothly.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I enjoy most is socializing with my peers. The campus is also located in a great neighborhood so there are many museums, parks and attractions near by.

    Food and Dining

    There is plethora of off-campus restaurants in the close vicinity. The food is very tasty and the prices are great.

    Dorm Life

    Most students live in close vicinity of the campus I attend, however there are nice dorms at other campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the courses are intense, however if you find a field you enjoy, you can work and still have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to registration early! Be dedicated to your studies and don't be afraid to ask questions. There are plenty of faculty members and friends there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Touro College is a college of high academic standards, with professors and a faculty dedicated to help students achieve excellence. The is an array of courses to choose from, allowing each individual to chose a suitable major. It is a perfect atmosphere for one to peruse a career goal.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    shopping

    Dorm Life

    I dot know much about the dorm life because i live in the city.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know whats your goal before you enter any college not just Touro.

    In three sentences

    Touro is a great college or students like me that are looking for an opportunity to get their degree in a small classroom environment.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very strict with who they let in the building. You need your picture ID in order to enter.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very big Jewish population at some campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    Have fun when you have free time

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of activities going on. You could shop, go to plays, go to Central Park.

    Food and Dining

    They have a store come in with fresh food everyday to purchase for your convenience.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing. people are very nice and friendly

    Academic Rigor

    depends on your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for financial aid. Keep copies of EVERYTHING. Make friends with the secretaries. Do the work study program.

    In three sentences

    Touro offers a decent education if you are in specific majors. They are highly unorganized so you should keep copies of everything. Touro is very generous with scholarships and financial aid.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go out for a walk and explore the area. Play basketball with buddies. Go to the library and read

    Food and Dining

    Restaurant take-out provided by college. Mostly meat foods and lots of deli.

    Dorm Life

    Convenient location! Beautiful well kept dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are quite small: pros- individualized attention from professors cons- less collaboration with other students

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead for courses you may be interested in so the counselors can better help you when signing up.

    In three sentences

    Great school Academically challenging small classrooms

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They don't sell any food. There is a vending machine, and a lot of great stores in the neighborhood of my branch.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in programming, which is extremely difficult, but there are easier tracks.

    In three sentences

    Touro is a private school with students who are mostly Orthodox Jews. Other students are accepted, of course, but definitely a minority.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Clubs and Activities

    not that many which is good

    Great for these types of students

    Parents want want to go back to school also young people who pretty much know what they want in life

    What to do for fun

    play basketball with classmate

    Food and Dining

    great area, affordable restaurants

    Dorm Life

    student can always find a roomate. affortable renting is available

    Academic Rigor

    excellent for student who wants to work hard

    Tips for prospective students

    fewer students in Class room excellent for learning individualize setting

    In three sentences

    positive environment for learning, great schedule for those who have a family

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always at least one guard in the lobby.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not seen many clubs or activities in the division I'm in but Touro has several other divisions that have plenty of student activities and societies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Touro has quite a few building all over NYC

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private college so tuition is higher than a CUNY or community college. I think it's worth it. I prefer to know my teachers and have them know me, instead of being in a lecture hall filled with over 50 students.

    Food and Dining

    plenty of restaurants close to the school. After all, the main campus is in the Financial District!

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure of the housing since I live in NYC.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very difficult but with supportive teachers, the material and subject learned is bearable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask for classes intended for you major and ask for help if needed. Don't be shy if you're not sure about something. Everyone is there to help you!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love this school. The teacher student ratio is small and you really feel that the teachers are interested in helping you better your grades. The relationships built with teachers have helped me develop and expand my networking, which will be crucial in my career.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Too expenisive and you don't get your money worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are no extra activities to pursue Touro.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a lot of patience and leave off any expectations.

    In three sentences

    A school with lots of potential; however has a long way to go. In order to be a level of average schools Touro needs to restructure it's administration as well as operation department. Things take a long time before they get done.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is safe. ID is checked for all entering the various buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    Encourages opportunities to network in the classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students more focused on academics, not a lot of offering outside of the classroom.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    14th Street Union Square is within 10- 15 minutes walking distances. This is a nice walk to do in the fall and summer.

    Bang for the buck

    Less expensive than other private school.

    What to do for fun

    Make connects with other students in the program.

    Food and Dining

    Could be more varied in house, but opportunities are available outside the building.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor varies depending on the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget your time. It is better to take the bulk of your classes in the summer sessions and ease up in the fall and spring semesters.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Touro College 4.0 out of 5. The population of students are diverse in the graduate program I am in. The hours available for computer use definitely be longer and more consistent.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe in Touro.

    Greek Life

    .....

    Clubs and Activities

    none that i know of...

    Great for these types of students

    More interactive classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't any unusual traditions.

    What to do for fun

    I walk to 32th street and go shopping at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    I do not really buy food around there, but there is a Jamba Juice place an Avenue away which I love to go to.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do give us enough academic work and it is definitely rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Real life experience is what really prepares you. The internship can definitely help you for the real field.

    In three sentences

    Touro College has a lot of potential. The teachers can use more hands on interactive activities. The students and teachers can be very helpful.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you firstt enter touro there is a security gate that checks your I.D. card when entering. also, since some classes end at 10 pm, there are many streetlights in the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities in touro. they have many schoold drives and food donation. one of my favorites is the annual Blood drive. they have programs where students can learn about cpr.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really unusual ( i think) but there is a student lounge located in the college. all students go there to play air hockey or fuse ball.

    What to do for fun

    As a college there is not much time for fun. But when i do get the chance i like to go to the movies. its like a release for me.

    Food and Dining

    Touro college is located on Union blvd in bayshore and just the next street up is main street (where there is a ton of fast food restaurants and restaurants).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms with in the college but just 1 block over there are apartments that the school is affiliated with and will help anyone with housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken mostly sciences in Touro. The professors are great so they are willing to help their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a good idea to start studying for the class before the semester starts. There is an online bookstore where students can purchhase any textbooks they will be using in the course.

    In three sentences

    Touro College is a really small school, all the students and faculty know eachother. The professors are willing to help any student with anything. The faculty is very kind.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is a top priority for Touro College. The campus is well monitored and very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Council, Drama, Choir, and more!

    Great for these types of students

    Jewish

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Touro is a Jewish college. Some campuses are not solely for Jewish students but since it is a Jewish college there are certain accommodations that the school makes for the students. Some of these accommodations include days off for Jewish holidays and no school on Fridays for the Sabbath.

    What to do for fun

    Touro offers many different clubs including Drama, choir, student Council, and many others. Students have the option to join any of these clubs and participate in the programs. Touro also has occasional after school programs. In addition to the entertainment offered by Touro College, Touro is also conveniently located near lots of different city entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Touro does not offer a meal plan but they offer many different options of foods to buy for lunch. No food is offered in the dorms but Touro has beautiful, newly renovated kitchens for students to cook delicious meals for themselves.

    Dorm Life

    The Touro dorms are conveniently located just five blocks from the school campus. They are beautiful, spacious, and newly renovated. They have very sweet dorm counselors who are there to help the students get acclimated to the new college experience. It is a very pleasant, warm, fun experience! I really enjoyed the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Touro has a few different locations with different types of programs. Some of the programs are more rigorous than others. Touro also offers different tracts including both honors and a less intense tract. Depending on the major that the student is pursuing, the courses will be easier or harder. Some of the Touro campuses offer a duel curriculum of both Judaic and Secular students. A student who is doing this tract will have a slightly more rigorous schedule. Touro offers the flexibility for students to choose for themselves the intensity that best suits them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Touro is somewhat disorganized. This could be frustrating, especially for new students. As long as a student is laid back and does not let the disorganization bother them, it should not interfere with their overall college experience. A student who has patience and drive should easily succeed! Touro has the best of the students at heart. They are concerned about each students success. If the student wants something that the school does not provide, students should know that if they request it, it is not unlikely that the school will make the necessary accommodations to suit their needs.

    In three sentences

    Touro is an excellent, academic, fun, exciting college offering a duel curriculum. They are concerned with each students success. Touro is a beautiful, warm, safe student environment.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    some.

    Clubs and Activities

    criminal law, family law, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nice selection of clubs-but limited access to these by evening students.

    Bang for the buck

    Study groups are over-rated.

    What to do for fun

    Too much drinking!!

    Food and Dining

    Favorite flavfor-salt.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work very hard and still may not receive the grade you worked for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek recent articles, books, and related publications about how to be successful in law school.

    In three sentences

    There is a diversified student body. However, there is clear favoritism toward those students who have connected parents and/or relatives. There is limited support for students to be academically successful.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    All students who want to study computers

    Bang for the buck

    It is an excellent school.

    What to do for fun

    Study

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out youre financial aid if you qualify

    In three sentences

    It has multiple campuses. There is little minorities there. The tuition is expensive.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, they have very vigilant security guards that do not let anyone in unless they have ID.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for orthodox Jewish women. It is also great for working women, as they offer many night and Sunday classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is that after the customary Jewish fasts, the college provides danishes and drinks for us. Also, they gave out doughnuts on Chanuka.

    What to do for fun

    There are various classes offered that are more fun. Additionally, it is fun to hang out in the lounge with fellow students. Also, one can taken entertaining professors.

    Food and Dining

    There is a student lounge but no hot food sold on premises. There is only snack and soft drink machines. However, the campus is centrally located with many fast food stores with a few block radius, so it is not such a problem.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on campus. If individuals are from out of town and need to stay nearby, they will have to find their own accommodations. There are advertisements in the college for such accomodations.

    Academic Rigor

    In general, I feel that I am being academically challenged. I like my professors and feel like they know their course material well and teach well. I feel like I will come out with a firm academic foundation for my future schooling.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to come in with friends as it makes the experience a lot more pleasant. Additionally, a student should make sure to check out a professor with previous students before enrolling in a class. Also, the student should take the summer semesters so that they can graduate more quickly.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great choice for orthodox Jewish women like myself. They give us off for our holidays. They are very understanding of our orthodox mindset and religious practices.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students and faculty must have school ID anytime they enter the building checked by security. There is also an Emergency Preparedness Committee, consisting of on-call students who are trained in CPR/AED use for any on-site emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs including the Pre-Professional Health Sciences Club, the Art club and the Alpha Nu Mu Chapter/History Club associated with the National History Honors Society/Phi Alpha Theta among others.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want careers in the health sciences professions.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants and eateries along Avenue J in Flatbush where the campus is located, all within a 4 block radius.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms in the Flatbush campus, but it does however have dorms in the New York city campuses, which I do not know much about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Touro college has fewer majors so check to make sure that your career goals will match what majors are offered. In addition, guidance counselors do not always know what courses you need to graduate or enter into the graduate program that you want so try to find a senior or junior classman to help guide you. Finally, be prepared for registration that is still done by hand, with triplicate forms, in person where you must wait in line to visit advisement, bursar, registrar etc.

    In three sentences

    Touro college is a small school with smaller classes which allows the professors to build individual relationships with students. The professors are interested in the students overall and display enthusiasm for their area of study. The campus is also very centrally located and conducts all classes in one multi-level building.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Bang for the buck

    it has some medium size classes and some small size classes.

    Food and Dining

    no food provided

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    perfect

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the site before you register to see if you will like it. it is a small college.

    In three sentences

    very nice people very nice teachers very nice program