Cappex.com - College search made simple.
Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Trinidad State Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

Add your Review
  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who dont want to spends lots of money but still get a good quality education. For somebody who doesnt want lots of classmates but someone who want a strong relationship with their professor. Who loves the outdoors because we have two mountain ranges in the San Luis Valley and the Great Sand Dunes National Park in our back yard..

    What to do for fun

    Adams State University carry's small intramural sports activities with the TSJC of Alamosa. They also share their fitness and exercise gym with us as well. A few bars to chill and meet new people. One bar and club on main street. I huge public library to study and do research along with Adams State's Library that is open to everyone. Plenty of restaurants to dine out and a nice movie theater outside of town. A family recreation center and fitness gym.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria or food court dinning area's. There are food trucks from time to time and a small store to by small microwaveable foods. Snacks and drinks available.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in Dorms and the Valley Campus doesn't have any of their own. They have a cooperative with Adams State University and their dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Have never ever been super loaded with homework or assignments but most of the work has been challenging. Not too easy or hard of an academic rigor. Just about the right balance in between. Lots of resources for personal and professional career objectives and goals. Plenty of tutoring resources and average campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a lot of hands on education and small student body and not a lot of activities and clubs. With small class sizes and close relationships with students. Very low tuition rates compared to many other Colorado colleges and a good education for your buck.

    In three sentences

    Trinidad State Junior College in Alamosa is a small class size college with teachers wanting to help you succeed. People know you on a first name basis and many just keep to themselves but a lot of friendly faculty and students. A small student store to purchase most of your books and supplies. Also snacks, drinks and microwaveable foods available.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to get their geneds out of the way, or someone interested only in trade schooling.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college - it is what it is.

    What to do for fun

    It's Colorado! There's plenty to do as long as you love the outdoors!

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria, but plenty of restaurants near the campus as well as a grocery store.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot comment, I am a non-traditional student living off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an art department. As each artist is different, so are their teaching methods. Sometime this can be a good thing, but is also hard for student as well.

    In three sentences

    Great small class ratios. Departments are unorganized. Administration is hard to reach unless you show up in person.

  • 04/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The new student center, conveniently nestled amongst all the dorms, has televisions, board games, a ping-pong table, a pool table, a computer lab, and a kitchen for student use. A fair warning: the chairs are incredibly comfortable and you may not want to leave them.

    Food and Dining

    For the price you pay, the cafeteria is very nice. All-you-can-eat buffet for a set price (including the main entree, desserts, salads, sandwich bar, a grill, pizza, and a free fountain with coffees, teas, and sodas). I suggest bringing spices with you to your meals if you're used to specific seasonings, because they err on the side of caution with spices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are often unclean, and the supervisors (RAs, DAs, etc) often bend the rules or ignore them, especially in the case of girls dorms,

    Academic Rigor

    As for any school, this really depends on the teacher - but TSJC's policy dictates that 2 hours of out-of-class work must be done for every hour in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet Admissions in person. Phone calls, email, and fax are futile endeavors.

    In three sentences

    TSJC is a small, quaint college. The programs are excellent and your instructors are more like than not to care very much about your success.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    future students should have all their financial aid applications done ahead of time. the financial aid department is slow in getting aid secured for the their students'. plan on a long wait until you receive any aid, due to slow processing and poor office personnel initiative

    In three sentences

    Trinidad state junior college is a great opportunity for individuals that want to secure a degree or certificate without attending a major university. i chose to seek an associates degree in the science of aquaculture. i believe that Trinidad state's aquaculture program is a great choice because of all the hands on experience we do.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot of things to do, but the big things i would suggest is going to the home games. They're also study groups to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    I have only ate in the cafeteria once in the morning but it was very good and well priced!

    Dorm Life

    I'm not currently in the dorms so it is hard to rate them.

    Academic Rigor

    My grades my first semester were great! All A's and B's because the small classes make it easier to focus. Big universities have classes with up to 200 students in them, but my classes had about 20 in each class (expect my math). I never was good at math, but I love the way it is set up at Trinidad State because they let you go at your own pase.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be nervous because it is a lot less stressful then teachers in high school make it out to be. The campus is small and close together so your not going to have to worry about being late for class! Also, don't do what I did, don't wait until the late minute before you apply for scholarships!

    In three sentences

    I personally rate Trinidad State Junior College a 10 because the size of the school is perfect for me. The professors are great about taking time to help students when we need it and will make sure they get back to us as soon as possible if they are busy at the moment. Overall, I believe Trinidad State Junior College was a good choice to start my journey through college.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I highly doubt you'll feel unsafe anywhere on campus.

    Greek Life

    wha?

    Clubs and Activities

    Definitely could be more, but with a small student body hard to judge.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students in cosmetology, counseling, ect. Basically 2-year students seeking licenses who are eager to start working in their field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's definitely a great value, but leaves something to be desired.

    What to do for fun

    Alamosa is kind of pitiful when it comes to finding fun things to do locally. However, if you're willing to expand your search within a 2 hour drive, then there are a ton of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate any food there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, but far from overwhelming difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    It all depends on what you're looking for. Trinidad State Junior College had the program I was looking for, affordablity, and everything I need for success. If you want a big school, big campus, ect, then don't come here.

    In three sentences

    It needs some updating. The school is smaller than I'd like it to be. The teachers and staff, however, are excellent.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE.

    What to do for fun

    I read.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing is good for you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are absolutely horrible. Some of the worst I have ever seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Its decent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Unless you want a blue collar job, or play a sport, TSJC has little to offer.

    In three sentences

    The faculty is nice, but the ability is lacking. I feel I am not getting what I need to pursue a career in the performing arts. All the money goes straight to sports. I feel very left out

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is absolutely phenomenal. There was not one single attack or even close to one on this campus.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    NONE

    Great for these types of students

    TSJC is great for students who aren't sure what they want to major in or who struggle for academics. It is also a great athletic program for those who have the ability but maybe not the brains to succeed athletically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    TSJC from the academics to the students that attend is a solid ten out of ten. I have met lifelong friends there, and I have learned more than I ever have before. I feel that I am rooted for at that school by the teachers, the administration, and all of my peers.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is every direction you look in Trinidad. The town itself does not have much to offer, and realistically either does the campus, but being that it is so small you make friends with every person that attends that school and you make fun with them!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food at TSJC is ranked up there with the big dogs. Salad bar, grill, sandwich bar, main dish, desserts, and soft serve ice cream, what else could you ask for? The food is great and the cooks are some of the nicest people around!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life in its self is quite the experience at any school. With community bathrooms you learn to keep your area clean, and others do the same. The amount of common courtesy is phenomenal at TSJC, and with that, it makes living in the dorms enjoyable. It is not co-ed dorms but there is a lot of flexibility that fit your needs in that aspect.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at this school are based on you, and your ability to complete and leave the class with full understanding. There are free tutors and every chance to have one on one with the teacher at any point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the amount of work, but with free tutors and just about every teacher giving you opportunity after opportunity to succeed you are set up at this school for achievement.

    In three sentences

    Trinidad State Junior College is a small college that packs a huge punch. There is just no other junior college in comparison. To start your college experience at a college such as this one is more than a blessing.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always a security watching out for the students and there is on campus video cameras.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of activities that the school would provide for us. there was dance nights, movie night, bowling night, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be great on some days and not so great on others. the key is to not a another statistic and eat the healthiest you can. i sure didn't want to gain 15 pounds my freshman year.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is exciting. you get to meet lots of people from all over the world.

    Academic Rigor

    i had a 4.0 last semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know your professors and always take the extra credit they give you.

    In three sentences

    i like the way the professors here take time to help when you are in need. it makes learning easy.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Sports volleyball, basketball and baseball are ggod. But as for me I am older and just not being the only old person in class was great and refreshing

    Tips for prospective students

    Didn't do great in high school or been so long since high school TSJC is a great starting point.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a two year and the ability to transfer. The small learning environment is super.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone makes you feel like part of the group.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are very helpful all you have to do is ask.

  • 01/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is great for these types of students because being finantially stable will allow the student to concentrate more on their studies and not have to worry about bills or money problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am going to keep my 4.0 GPA average and study to the best of my ability.

    Bang for the buck

    I am getting a great education and will show my gratitude when I become a successful It Technition and have my own business.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to school very much. I am 39 years old and am ready to persue an education so I may start my own computer business of my own. I want to be able to help people with their computer problems.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently going to school at TSJC in alamosa Colorado, I got a 4.0 GPA this last semester. I am enjoying going to school and am learning a lot. However, I need help financially because i am raising two children who are both in school, If i am financially stable then I could concentrate more on my studies.